??!
2 photos
SMA

SMA

4.3 from 132 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
89
4 star
22
3 star
8
2 star
3
1 star
10

  • Verified purchase

Good product

published

We have used it for years our daughter and son have both grown up with this formula, good nutritional product, affordable and both kids have liked it. Would recommend to any new parent. Good product.

Purchased in December 2019 at IGA for $13.00.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child No
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Honnie-bel G.

Honnie-bel G.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Love this formula

published

I love this formula, worked really well for my first son but fast forward 6years to my now 6 week old 2nd born and it unfortunately doesn't agree with his I think due to his silent reflux and colic, it also made him constipated. With a heavy heart we had to change it which is unfortunate because it really is a great formula and amazing value for money.

Purchased in September 2019 at Coles Supermarkets for $13.00.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child No
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness Yes
See all answers
Bel

BelPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Fantastic substitute for breastmilk

published

Ive used this formula on both my babies now and never had an issue. It gave the nutrients they needed, very tried and true product. And more affordable then other brands that do the same job.

Purchased in October 2019 at Coles for $13.00.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child No
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Hana

HanaSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Cheap, my daughter don’t have problem with it.

published

The most important it is cheap and doesn’t gave any bad reactions to my daughter. I mix feed with breastmilk too.
Formula easy to prepare.
My daughter actually didn’t picky about milk, she ate everything.

Purchased in December 2018 at Woolworths for $13.00.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child Yes
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Jadey2210

Jadey2210Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great value for price

published

My little girl struggled with so many formulas but we found sma to be best for her. The price made it so much better. It is just as nutritional as more expensive brands.

Purchased in August 2019 at Woolworths for $13.00.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child No
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No
See all answers

Sheridan J.

Sheridan J.Victoria

  • 2 reviews

Best budget formular (after 5 months)

published

For medical reasons I could not breastfeed, my baby had extreme colic and was unsettled on many formulas we tried. even the SMA wasn’t good the first 5 months but after 6 months it’s the only thing we can use.very happy with the cost, and quality of this product.

Purchased in April 2019 at Woolworths Physical store for $14.99.

Breastfed Child No
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No

Cody Seaborn

Cody SeabornCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Perfect

published

Never used this formal with my older child but started using for the next and he any has taken to it instantly with no problems or spewing or reflux and I haven't had to change formulas yet

Purchased in April 2019 at Coles for $13.00.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child No
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No
See all answers

lauren j

lauren jSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

love this formula

published

nice smelling formula. hasn't given my bub any trouble. available pretty much every where including at my local iga so convenient. and the cheapest on the market. but still better then the most expensive brands.

Purchased in March 2019 at Woolworths for $13.00.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child Yes
Easy to PrepareYes
Caused Unease / Sickness No
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Baby deserves better

published

The formula contains fillers and other crap that shouldn’t be hidden inside a babies formula. This product made my baby scream and constipated. Cheap for a reason. The tin doesn’t have a level thing you can use to ensure equal amounts per scoop given and the formula has a yellow colour that concerns me.

Purchased in February 2019 for $13.00.

Value for Money
Breastfed Child No
Easy to PrepareNo
Caused Unease / Sickness Yes
See all answers
1 comment
Aspen
CarelineAspen
Fran

FranGosford

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Same as S 26.

published

SMA is made buy Wythe. Wythe make s26.
If you read the back of the tins s26 infant and SMA are exactly the same. Same company, same ingredients and same factory.
All my children have been on SMA. No problems. One child got constipated, I was told to change. I did and it made no difference to the constipation. So I went back to SMA after a few months.


Pacewah

PacewahMelbourne

  • 6 reviews

Baby takes this formula well

published

Baby takes this formula well and seems to enjoy the taste of this one! Had no issues at all with any side effects or concerns from this formula and would recommend to anyone. Also cheaper then other products on the market. Had no issues with preparing this product and will continue to use till baby no longer requires.


Rian C

Rian CAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Best Value! Couldn’t have survived without it!

published

After having my first baby, finding a formula that worked was a roller coaster ride! After trying the big brands from being a textbook Mum, my daughter suffered from severe constipation from quite a few brands. After researching the market, I came across SMA. From just 3 days of using this formula, the changes were great! We went back to having normal bowel movements. This product gave us back our sleep, and our happy daughter! I would recommend this to everyone. After having baby no 2, we started him from week 3 and it was magical. He loved it. And I never have an issue with the supply in supermarkets, its always accessible.


wendlle

wendlleAU

  • 23 reviews
  • 10 likes
  • Verified purchase

Love this baby formula

published

Our first baby was a nightmare to feed, we went thru over a dozen formulas before finding the right one. She had silent refux and got colic.
Thank goodness our second baby is so much better. We used SMA from the beginning - her very first feed was SMA and she has had no issues on it. I love that it is so cheap compared to other baby formulas and it is just as good - all baby formula in Australia is highly regulated so it really makes no difference in terms of price as to quality.
She does have a little wind but we use wind drops and have had no real problems, currently she is 5 weeks old and going strong on SMA, very happy chubby baby.


Court

CourtWindale

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it

published

Sma formula is excellent my daughter loves it and the fact that it stays in my daughter's tummy and she can keep it down is good she usually vomits all her bottles up but this this is good. And at least now I can see it... all the other formulas I barely could see

Cait

CaitMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect formula

published

We used this formula from the get go, as it was the only brand I had heard of from Europe, bub took to it straight away never had any issues and kept him full for so long in turn gave us a full night sleeper in just 6 weeks. So easy to prepare it’s effortless. Would highly recommend this formula also the pricing is amazing which is always a bonus!

Roble

RobleWA, 6102

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Not bad and it is really cheap

published

Gem

GemNewcastle

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great and affordable

published

SMA was the only formula my 9 month old would take once I returned to work. This formula has been gentle on his stomach and is very affordable. I definitely reccomend this formula when swapping over from breatsfeeding due to it being so kind on little bellys and helping my little one sleep longer throughout the night.


Kan

KanAdelaide

Very bad constipation

published

My 7months son start using SMA (13$ AUD, 900g Mexican) after he was happy with NAN comfort 1 (17$, 800g French ) for the last 3 months. The reasons for changing the formula type is it cheaper and the very good review of SMA. However, since my little one start drinking SMA (which he liked it’s sweet taste) he has no poo for 3 days. Therefore he start struggling very hard and become upset. We decided to back to NAN and give him a suitable medication to make it easy for him.finally when he excreted the faeces was too much and too hard (similar to adults one) accompanied by bleeding and crying..
I found that SMA CONTAINS 80% Casien protien, this is too high comparing to other formula


Brooke

Brooke

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

This is a good product

published

We used this formula from birth, mainly because it's what my mum gave me as a baby. My baby loved it, no reflux, easy to prepare and transport. We didn't have any issues with constipation and it seemed to keep her full. We mixed this formula with cereal until we moved her to cold cows milk.


Julie

Julie

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great

published

Very easy and quick yo prepare. My 2 kids havent had any problems with this formular and for the price i believe good money for value thats for sure. No side affects very healthy chubby children thats really enjoy there milk. Good money value thats for sure. Def worth buying to save some extra dollars for much needed other items


Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Leiza H.

Leiza H.asked

Is sma a thick formula when made up and it it light on the stomach Ive tried several different formulas but they are harsh on my sons stomach

1 answer
Aspen
CarelineAspen

Hi Leiza,
Thanks for your question. Please give us a call on 1800 552 229 (Mon- Fri 9am-5pm AEST) and one of our Careline team member would be happy to assist you with your query.
Warmest regards,
Careline team


TriciaRuby

TriciaRubyasked

In 1987 my younger daughter could not tolerate S26 milk and I was advised by a doctor at the manufacturers, Wyeth, to change to SMA because it did not have a certain casein in it. Can you tell me which cows provide SMA milk?
Kind regards,
Patricia Radenkovic
zivadin@bigpond.net.au

3 answers
Fran
Fran

Your doctor didn't do their homework as SMA infant and s26 infant are the exact same formula only different tins.
Same ingredients.

Aspen
CarelineAspen

Dear Patricia,

Thank you for your query.

In order to assist you more effectively and provide a more individualised response, could you please call our Careline on 1800 552 229. The Careline is available on Monday to Friday between 9am to 5pm AEDST. Alternatively, please provide your contact details via email at your earliest convenience.

Warmest Regards,

Careline Team
Aspen Nutritionals Australia Pty Ltd

Aspen Nutritionals Australia respects your right to privacy. To view the full privacy policy, please go to https://www.bubbahood.com.au/terms/ and https://www.bubbahood.com.au/privacy/

Aspen Nutritionals are a signatory to the MAIF Agreement (Marketing in Australia of Infant Formulas: Manufacturers and Importers Agreement) which governs the marketing of infant formula for infants up to 12 months and it mandates that we can respond to issues or questions raised, provided the response includes a statement to the effect that breastfeeding is best for babies. Important mandatory statement: Breastfeeding is best for babies https://www.bubbahood.com.au/feeding/benefits-of-breast-milk.

TriciaRuby
TriciaRuby

Dear Sir/Madam,
Well at the time there was definitely a difference in the composition because my daughter went from chronic diarrhoea to the opposite within 24 hours. I understood that the milk was from Jersey cows and at the time was imported from England.
Thanks. I shall ring during next week.
Thank you.


AnneMaree

AnneMareeasked

What is the difference between SMA newborn & infacare both recommended for 0-12mths?

2 answers
Rian C
Rian C

Hi AnneMaree,
I’m not 100% sure, ive only ever used SMA. But Idid research it shows the same thing, so maybe they have just changed the name and kept the product the same.

Aspen
CarelineAspen

Hi AnneMaree,

Aspen Nutritionals Australia are in the process of transitioning SMA to a new brand “Infacare”. As part of this transition you would have noticed the introduction of Infacare to our SMA branded can. No formulation changes were made. SMA Infacare remains a source of complete nutrition for babies from birth and suitable for continued use from around 6 months of age when solids are being introduced.

If you have any further queries, please call our Careline on 1800 552 229. The Careline is available on Monday to Friday between 9am to 5pm AEDST.

Warmest regards,

Careline Team
Aspen Nutritionals Australia Pty Ltd

Aspen Nutritionals are a signatory to the MAIF Agreement (Marketing in Australia of Infant Formulas: Manufacturers and Importers Agreement) which governs the marketing of infant formula for infants up to 12 months and it mandates that we can respond to issues or questions raised, provided the response includes a statement to the effect that breastfeeding is best for babies. Important mandatory statement: Breastfeeding is best for babies https://www.bubbahood.com.au/feeding/benefits-of-breast-milk.


Get an answer from our members and Aspen representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.