2 photos
Yamaha V-Star XVS650 Custom

Yamaha V-Star XVS650 Custom

4.5 from 30 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Cruiser Bikes in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Yamaha Motor? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

4.5
30 reviews
    Previous
    Next
    ronald
    ronald
    • 3 reviews
    • 1 like

    I used to own a 650 custom. I loved it and put over 50,000 miles on it. Great first bike.

    published

    Yamaha makes a good bike!
    I, now ride a Yamaha v-star 950. I have put over 16,500 miles on my 950 since I bought it, (August 2017). I love this bike! It's a great looking, light and stable riding machine. It's a great second bike. It's the perfect size bike, powerful, light and stable. If your looking for a bigger and more powerful bike then the V-Star 650. I highly recommend the V-Star 950 Tourer if you are an experienced rider looking for a good all purpose cruiser/touring bike that is affordable. If you are a new rider or a rider with limited experience then the Yamaha 650 custom would be an excellent first bike.

    Date PurchasedAug 2017
    damia12345
    damia12345QLD, 4127
    • 7 reviews
    • 8 likes

    Great ladies bike or learner bike

    published

    Love my V-star 650 Custom it has the power I need plus the looks to make heads turn, It's a great learner bike as it handles well and is very comfortable over long distances. I've ridden it to Ayers rock and to Cairns from Brisbane. It has a god size tank and only needs filling after 250 km + a tank normally sets you back about $20.00 AU, I'm not tall and this is a great bike for short people. If your tall you can fit put rider pegs to give your legs stretch room. Ive seen the bike tricked out for men too and it does look good.

    Date PurchasedApr 2011

    Other Cruiser Bikes

     
     

    0.0
    (1,234)
    Becks
    BecksNewcastle

    New to riding and love the bike

    published

    Hi, I'm 46yo and have just bought my first bike, a 2017 XVS650 custom. At first I was apprehensive about buying a cruiser to learn on but had a few mates that had this bike previously and reassured me it was a great bike to ride. I've only had it for 3 weeks and have found it to be a great ride and really comfortable, there is plenty of power going through the gears and it pulls up easily. I don't have any problems turning at low speed, ie going around roundabouts or turning at intersections. It is a great learner legal cruiser and would recommend it to any new rider. My next wish list is some new pipes to give it a more unique sound.

    Date PurchasedJuly 2017
    Art
    Art
    • 3 reviews

    Good bike

    published

    The biggest cruiser available for L platers - I knew it is going to be fun and it did deliver! Easy handle and powerful enough to keep a rider entertained a few first months / years until full license. Even after full - quite a few people keep it. Did 20000k within 2 years on the bike, never had any issues.

    Date PurchasedJune 2013
    Cruiser Bikes

    Find out how Yamaha V-Star XVS650 Custom compares to other Cruiser Bikes

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all

    Had mine for 4yrs love love love it .

    published

    Very reliable never let me down have done 15000 ks never missed a bet . Lots of chrome. Paint good love my flames. If I have anything bad to say it would be the mirrors have trouble keeping them tight .highly recommended if you are interested in getting one go for it !!

    Date PurchasedFeb 2013
    Ryan
    RyanBrisbane
    • 3 reviews
    • 3 likes

    Simply..wonderful.

    published

    I bought my XVS650 just before Christmas as a gift to myself. I could not be happier with this bike. It has a wonderfully smooth, torquey engine, great riding position, decent lights and switch gear. The low center of gravity makes it a joy to ride and tour on.

    This is no café racer. It is a bike with long legs for cruisin'. It is the perfect bike for someone who would like to ride a Harley, but is limited to a LAMS bike. Having said that, I don't think that I would get sick of this machine and it could well suit me for years to come.

    (I am a rider returning after 20 years and need to go back to a LAMS machine. Previous bikes that I have owned include RD400, BMW R65, Z1100 and Ducati 900).

    Date PurchasedDec 2016

    Nice n easy

    published

    I recently purchased am XVS Custom , awesome Lams bike handles great easy to ride comfortable as, it's got more then enough grunt for its smaller engine capacity sits on 120 kph (70 mph ) no worries at all love it haven't had any clutch probs once I got used to it and it brakes pretty good I suppose it's a lot on what you're you want and what you're expecting as for me more then pleased

    Related Articles

    Previous
    Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

    With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

    Clara V.
    Clara V.15 Nov 2021
    smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
    How to be more eco-friendly when you're gifting this Christmas

    Christmas seems to go hand in hand with consumption, but that doesn’t mean you can’t be eco-friendly with your gift giving. We’ve got tips for everything from shopping sustainably to zero-waste packaging, so that you can have a greener holiday season.

    Clara V.
    Clara V.30 Nov 2021
    how-to-be-more-eco-friendly-when-youre-gifting-this-christmas
    Next
    Bobby
    BobbyClackamas

    Piece of "Doggy Doo Doo", too small and underpowered!!

    published

    Other Cruiser Bikes

     
     

    0.0
    (1,234)
    Roley
    RoleyAdelaide
    • 9 reviews
    • 16 likes

    Fun Sporty Bike

    published
    Cruiser Bikes

    Find out how Yamaha V-Star XVS650 Custom compares to other Cruiser Bikes

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    Noel
    NoelSydney
    • 6 reviews
    • 8 likes

    Great bike

    published

    Iv had my 2013 v star 650 custom for a few weeks now and I couldn't be happier its a perfect bike for learners. Its very reliable and holds its own with the big boys (few mates have Harley 48's and 883's) and mine looks fine beside them.
    If your on your L's which most people that buy these are one thing i didnt know was the classic model is slightly bigger than the custom so if your going for size go the classic! Most come with modifications done to them such as V&H exhaust and handle bars which to the letter of the law aren't legal but hey nothing cool ever is really.

    • Selected Review

    Best all around bike for me

    published

    Other Cruiser Bikes

     
     

    0.0
    (1,234)
    Scream'in Jimbo
    Scream'in Jimbo
    • 2 reviews
    • 7 likes

    Pretty good but not as good as everyone says...

    published
    Cruiser Bikes

    Find out how Yamaha V-Star XVS650 Custom compares to other Cruiser Bikes

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all

    One of my better decisions

    published

    Xvs650 custom. \m/

    published

    I own a 2010 custom. Vance and Hines short shots. 4inch risers 6 inch risen bars. Dyno tuned and re jet. These bikes are brilliant. Couldn't ask for anything better. Handling is awesome and the power is there. Has no trouble blowing a hd 883 iron from start to finish. With almost 50hp at the rear wheel who could complain. Never had a drama with it and parts and upgrades are cheap and well made. Yamaha you did a mint job.
    Everything about it is great handling. Pricing fuel consumption. A+++++++++

    Dave
    Dave
    • 2 reviews
    • 2 likes

    first cruiser

    published

    Questions & Answers

    gvik2008
    gvik2008asked

    If I put short shot exhaust pipes on my 2009 v-star 650 do I have to change jets in my carbs

    No answers
    Michael H.
    Michael H.asked

    I have a 2000 v star 650 . when I turn on my turn signals all the signals flash at once. Why is it doing this?

    No answers
    Cynthia C.
    Cynthia C.asked

    Can I put 03 Vstar motor in a 05 classic Vstar my clutch was stuck in 5 th gear couldn't get lose now found 03 motor to put in it will it work?

    No answers
    See all Yamaha V-Star XVS650 Custom questions

    Get an answer from our members

    Details

    CategoryCruiser Bikes and Learner Approved Bikes
    Engine Capacity649cc
    Release dateJan 2007
    ManualDownload manual

    ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.