??!
1 photo
Yates Weed 'n' Feed Liquid Hose-on

Yates Weed 'n' Feed Liquid Hose-on (page 2 of 5)

2.5 from 97 reviews

Reviews

2.5

97 reviews
5
(17)
4
(17)
3
(9)
2
(6)
1
(48)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Kalie

KalieSydney Surrounds, NSW

Horrible product

published

This product is a waste of money, time and especially water. It took 45 minutes for one 2litre bottle to empty. And the other bottle has barely reduced it's liquid after 40 minutes of spraying. The so called help centre only offers to send a new cap but clearly it's a design fault as the cap and internal straw is in tact. I personally don't see how it can scientifically work anyway as the water comes out horizontally but the fluid comes up diagonally with no pump I can't see how it works

Purchased in September 2019 for A$25.00.

Splendid_12

Splendid_12Sydney

  • 4 reviews

Useless (would give it 0 star if I cud)

published

I had used them recently to treat my lawn, didn't do anything, rather killed my lawn (and yes I had the right kind for buffalo grass), it's a complete waste of your money. Stay away.

Purchased in August 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$36.00.

Use Vaseline if hose connection leaking

published

I had trouble with the connection, with lots of water leaking around the connection to the hose, with resulting insufficient suction such that no product came out of bottle. I had it all the way on. I applied a little Vaseline to the male connector on the bottle and it worked a treat - no leakage, product coming out as required. Likely that the rubber had perished a little.

Purchased in January 2019.

1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
Garden Maintenance Products

Find out how Yates Weed 'n' Feed Liquid Hose-on compares to other Garden Maintenance Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gay W

Gay WSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews

Awful, won't come out of the bottle.

published
Nathan

NathanSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Save your money

published

Yates Weed 'n' Feed Liquid Hose On (for Buffalo grass) is about as useful as politely asking the weeds to stop growing on your lawn.

This product doesn't weed and does not feed.

Purchased in January 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Rach W

Rach WSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 21 reviews
  • 4 likes

Awful. Don't bother

published

Hose connector is a major issue as per all the other reviews. I was covered in it.

Apart from.that, it doesn't work. Sprayed.the lawn as per directions and although.weeds initially died off, they came back with a vengeance, especially the Bindis which is the main reason this.was purchased. Have done.a second application.as we had leftovers but the.bindis seem immune

Purchased in June 2019.

1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
Linda

Linda

  • 2 reviews

Nozzle problems

published

Like many of you, I had trouble with my connection, until I read these reviews. Now I know to lift the top off the nozzle (I used my car key to life it up) and it works great. You just have to make sure you aren't directionally challenged and spray it over yourself first. Hoping the results are good.

Purchased in July 2019 at Porters Mitre 10 for A$18.00.

1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates

Thank you for your message Linda,
Yes its very easy to use, we are creating some video content on how to open the nozzle to help with any confusion on how to use the product.
Have a great day.

Worked fine

published

I had no problem spraying 4 lots of it but I have new snap connectors on the hoses. Have learned to avoid cheap hose fittings as they are not good fits or don't last.

Purchased in May 2019 at Big W for A$12.00.

1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
Mehdi Asgharzadeh

Mehdi AsgharzadehPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Piece of rubbish by Yates and sold in Bunnings

published

I just came back from Bunnings with this garbage Yates product in my hand and forgetting the last horrifying experience I had spraying my lawn. I'm so angry writing this review even before washing my whole body off the weed and feed chemicals. There is no way you can spray the chemical off the container without massively contaminating your whole body, face and eyes. Other than the plastic nozzle leaking so terribly bad the entire container is faulty by design and you will never by able to get the last half of the product out of it.

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$16.00.

4 comments
Yates
Yates R.Yates

Just red how many people are frustrated with the nozzle on the container and you are saying my nozzle might have been damaged? How dare you ignore many similar reviews down in my review? fix it or stop selling this garbage.

Garden Maintenance Products

Find out how Yates Weed 'n' Feed Liquid Hose-on compares to other Garden Maintenance Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Athol

AtholCanberra Central 2601, ACT

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

This stuff sprays easily

published

After neighbours recommended this product to kill bindiis I gave the liquid hose-on version a go. It’s too early to tell if it works, but neighbours with the same bindi problem swear by it. I see people have posted negative reviews about the spray nozzle not working. Well I can report that the spray nozzle works a treat and consistently creates a strong and even spray that’s dead easy to apply, despite my water pressure being average. I applied 13 x 4L bottles of the stuff which all sprayed consistently and no problems. My garden is huge - not a suburban block. Now to sit back and see if it works!

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$15.00.

1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates

I'd give it zero if I could

published

Spray attachments and I used 3 different. Water sprays everywhere and no product is expelled.
Rubbish. Don't waste your money on Yates product.

Thousands of litres of wasted water.
More words needed. Don't buy it

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings for A$15.00.

1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates

Great stuff

published

Took care of all broadleaf weeds and clover in my lawn. Definitely use it again, made a difference to the colour of the lawn as well. My neighbours have used it since seeing the results in my lawn so I am very happy with the results. application is easy by attaching it to your garden hose.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
Dan

Dan

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

instructions on label be helpful

published

Reading through all the troubles people had with it spraying everywhere when u connect your hose to it, I was in the same boat! Always thought these spray connectors were stuffed, until I read a reply by Yates that mentioned the top flat plate to be removed. I never knew that had to be removed to use.....hence always spraying water everywhere when I connected it. Soon as I popped off the top plate with a knife it worked perfect and spayed out all the product. This is not mentioned on the label at all. Now I know what to do there’s no more going off my head and blaming the product. To save many more people the same fate, I suggest you add that as an instruction cos most people think you just connect the hose and away you go.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Trying to help

Trying to helpSydney

  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great product, so simple

published

Easy to administer, just clip the hose on and water away.
I have been using this product for many years now and it does work.
It leaves my lawn green and kills bindi's clover and other weeds but makes my grass grow better.
I use it on a hot day, then don't water the lawn for about a week afterwards.
It takes a few days for you to notice the weeds dying.
Its quite cheap for what it is and Yates I find to be better and more effective than other brands.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
Lorentz

LorentzBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

It works! Slowly

published

After reading the review online I was getting a bit skeptical about the product. However my lawn is infested with bindi weeds and dendalion weed

I tried the granular product to get rid of most dendalion weed but not the bindii , sow thirstle weed. Tried the hose on weed and feed and it got rid of most bindii, wire weed over 2-3 weeks but most of the remaining dendalion, sow thirstle survived. I am trying the second treatment last weekend and will update on progress.

The product is easy to apply and cover large area, reasonable priced too. Not so sure about the “feeding” part of the product, lawn still looks dry and yellow after applied the product unlike the granular weed and feed the lawn turns green after 3 days

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
Garden Maintenance Products

Find out how Yates Weed 'n' Feed Liquid Hose-on compares to other Garden Maintenance Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
RC1

RC1Sunshine coast

Won't come out of bottle

published

Level in bottle didn't change even after putting bottle down with hose on and walking away for 20mins came back to same amount in the bottle useless waist of time and money. Now at what ratio do I mix it with water so I can use it with a pressure spray pack

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates

Delivery Worked just fine! Not sure about results yet

published

Just cracked it open today, plugged it in and sprayed, water pressure in my neighborhood isnt great yet the delivery mechanism worked fine or as good as expected, keen to see how well the mix actially works now! Also wondering if more than 1 application is require post the inital spray

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates

This product is the best and cheapest, it works wonders, those who have had troublle with the nozzle

published

I Love The Product, the price and it works, make sure to open the end nozzle completely while hose is connected and under pressure

Date PurchasedOct 2004
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates

Fix the nozzle!!

published

I buy this product and decant it into another spray dispenser bottle so that I can use it. It's very frustrating. The hose inlet spurts water everywhere no matter how many different hose connections I try or how I vary the water pressure. I'm looking around for a product I can self mix into a watering can so that I don't have to buy this product ever again!! How hard is it to design a nozzle / connection that a) dispenses the product and b) doesn't spurt water all over the user.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
sean

seanAdelaide

Does not spray

published

As with many other reviews this product does not work as advertised. Attach a hose and spray, only nothing comes out! I have confirmed that both holes are open and tried different water pressures.

The actual product works, just the delivery method is defective.

How can you sell a product that simply does not work?

Like others will have to break open the bottle and apply by a sprayer.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
See all Yates Weed 'n' Feed Liquid Hose-on reviews

Questions & Answers

michael b.

michael b.asked

What if it rains the next day after a application of weed and feed , will it affect the outcome

2 answers
Jaye
Jaye

My weed n feed did not work at all no rain.

Honest Reviews
Honest Reviews

The obvious answer is that it has likely washed off the plants, and will be less effective if at all. One should pay special attention to the weather much the same way farmers have to be very careful about the days they spray crops. Weed and feed is effective against many weeds, be aware that some take over a week to see an outcome and some weeds will need a second spray regardless. Some weeds have waxy coatings and the water beads straight off them to begin with. An all rounder weed killer may not necessarily be the best solution to a very sick and infested lawn, but after years of use (Regular once every 2 months) it most definitely keeps a lawn more clear of various weeds - when compared to my neighbors same lawn, it is night and day. A re-application in a weeks time wouldn't go astray.

Also, keep in mind if you have very specific weeds, some can be VERY hard to get rid of, particularly in the middle of winter. Oxalis is a prime example. It has waxy leaves, very fragile (can't pull out the root) has "explosive" seed pods which help it spread, and loves the dew and low light of winter. There are specific weed killers to target said weed. But even then its waxy leaf gives it a significant amount of protection from sprays and its basically impossible to get rid of once established (without damaging the lawn itself). Consider identifying the weed types you have, and then check to see if a "cheat" all-rounder like "weed and feed' is actually the best solution. (In the case of most ignorant people hoping for the best but subsequently complaining - this is usually the problem).

Goodluck.

Peggy C.

Peggy C.asked

Does Yates Weed &Feed kill sheep sorel and yarrow????

1 answer
Jaye
Jaye

Idont think it kills anything, my weeds are still looking healthy

Sue

Sueasked

I am not sure of the type of lawn/grass I have =-- maybe some buffalo and some kyikuya I need to feed and weed it but the Yates Feed and Weed says not to use on Buffalo.. Help. I also have drying circles developing which may be lawn grub or another pest. It seems there are little round lumps of dirt around the areas (bit like rabbit dropping size) but I'm not sure if that is just from worms of ???? Can you please give me some advice.

Sue

2 answers
Honest Reviews
Honest Reviews

Hi Sue.

When I used to use this product on my old lawn. It definitely had some form of buffalo in it - I don’t know exactly what it was. But it was buffalo like... It never hurt it. My advice is to take some of your lawn cutting to a nursery and see what they say - after all many of them have a degree in this field. And while your there, buy some of their product to support someone other then bunnings!

If your lawn has been very damp, you can get dirt mounds caused by earth worms. A sign of a healthy soil. If you have red wasps during the day, little brown moths at night, or the fluffy brown nests under your eves. Caterpillars on your driveway, or a small black beetle, You have grubs. You will need to treat for these ASAP. Army worm/beetle can devastate lawns within days.

Follow instructions, if you treat only once, you will fail to break the life cycle of the grub and they will be back in weeks. Multiple applications and preventative measures are critical for maintaining a healthy lawn.

All that being said. It can’t hurt to get a small bottle and spot spray a 2m squared section. Monitor it over a week and see how it goes. Failing that, there is a buffalo friendly version of weed and feed....

Patience is key with lawns. And remember. We are heading into cooler weather and therefore cooler soil temps. The time for lawn Reno’s is spring. A light fertilization now with some weed and grub control should get you through to spring.

Goodluck!

Sue
Sue

Many Thanks. Very helpful.

Get an answer from our members and Yates representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.