??!
1 photo
Yates Weed 'n' Feed Liquid Hose-on

Yates Weed 'n' Feed Liquid Hose-on (page 3 of 5)

2.5 from 97 reviews

Reviews

2.5

97 reviews
5
(17)
4
(17)
3
(9)
2
(6)
1
(48)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Sal

SalTaupo

Water everywhere. Did the weed and feed do any good?

published

We did the weed and feed this morning so now will wait 4 weeks to see if this works. Neighbors lawn looks great. By reading the reviews I am not sure if product any good. Could end up with weird summer lawn for playing croquet on and summer bbq time

Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates

Fix for nozzle not mixing with hose water

published

As mentioned in an earlier review, anyone unable to get the weed and feed nozzle working will likely have one or both of the prongs still stuck in the air holes that are meant to be clear to allow the hose spray to distribute the product. Just pull out the offending prong(s) with pliers and away you go.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
Mary

MaryBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Terrible

published

I couldn't say if the product works because I couldn't get it to come out of the bottle. Will be taking it back and buying a different brand. I followed the instructions and even opened the bottle to check for blockage or poor connection and tried different water pressure but it wouldn't work.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
Garden Maintenance Products

Find out how Yates Weed 'n' Feed Liquid Hose-on compares to other Garden Maintenance Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lilac

LilacGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

It works.

published

I have been using this for years. It works after a couple of applications. Wish I didn’t get wet using it, but it works and is much cheaper than the sulky man who used to do it. It is quite an effort doing it. Weed and feed works for my three lawns.

Date PurchasedJan 2012
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
melb30

melb30Victoria

  • 21 reviews
  • 13 likes

Weed remover

published

I sprayed this product over the front area that basically contains a vast number of weeds over 3 weeks ago and I have to agree that it is a VERY slow way to kill weeds. I'm thinking I might have to respray the areas to give it an extra boost. I've noticed only a few weeds slowing dying and that's about it. We'll see. I'm not sure if I'd recommend this product as yet.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
boland

bolandWellington

  • 2 reviews

Works really well! Need to do it twice a year.

published

We are in an area with some forest, and there are a lot of weeds in our lawn. I use Weed and Feed about twice a year, and it works well. I don't see the weeds turn yellow, but they just stop growing. I spray the entire lawn with one 4L can, and mow the lawn one week later. After that, it's almost weed free for about 4 months and then it starts again.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates

Kills everything but the weeds

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
Russ

RussSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Dead Lawn

published

used the granules and spread it on the lawn as per instruction. left it for two days and watered the lawn. now the lawn is black and dead in patches only. Watering the dead patches hasn't helped and my lawn looks like a mess. Im not happy. I have sent an online complaint to https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates

Don't buy it

published

As for all the earlier reviews, once hose is attached to the bottle, no "weed & feed" comes out. What a waste of my time trying to resolve this to make it work and what a waste of money! I don't understand how this product is still being solved. You say that you are working on the issue - but obviously nothing has changed!!!

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
Garden Maintenance Products

Find out how Yates Weed 'n' Feed Liquid Hose-on compares to other Garden Maintenance Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
kdog

kdogAdelaide

I found the solution to why the level never changes (for me at least)

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates

Same same - nozzle issue

published

As many other reviewers, I purchased 2 packs. After following the instructions regarding attachment and use, I sprayed for 1 hour with no change to the level. I will have to get a spray pack now. Not happy. Chose hose attachment bottle ad I have MS and the quickest, easiest method of delivery was chosen due to limited energy.
Please fix this issue or do not sell the packs with hose attachment.
Sarah

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates

Useless

published

The hose on the bottle dispensing system is basically rubbish... it doesn't work...
The level in the bottle remains the same...no matter what you do.
Hold it upright... sideways, up, down, every degree... and NOTHING.
Unless there is a magic word i need to say... this system, in a word... USELESS.
Why market and sell a dodgy product?

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
Bazz

BazzBundaberg

  • 2 reviews

Reverse Gear

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates

Yet to use...

published

After reading these reviews, I'm a bit hesitant to use the product, I pride myself in keeping a nice lawn, so never had used it before, can someone reassure me please... I see a lot of the product in Bunnings getting brought, so it must be ok right? Have been happy with Yates products in the past..

Date PurchasedDec 2017
2 comments
Yates
Yates R.Yates
John M
John M
Natania Z

Natania ZAU

  • 2 reviews

It kill my buffalo lawn

published

My small garden buffalo lawn is now dead because of this product ... i purchase two bag of 10 kg weed and feed buffalo pro ..event hough i use the buffalo pro one.. i try to keep watering it and still it dying ... can yates team check it for me??it make me sad because its good buffalo lawn

Date PurchasedNov 2017
2 comments
Yates
Yates R.Yates
Natania Z
Natania Z

Its made my lawn black it hasn't grow since last 2 month

Garden Maintenance Products

Find out how Yates Weed 'n' Feed Liquid Hose-on compares to other Garden Maintenance Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Dodgy Delivery

published

Have used this product several times in the past with mixed results. Does work well when it mixes with water but have suffered yet again from a dodgy delivery of product following instructions. Will have to break open and use through backpack sprayer. Decided to give it one more go this year as I trust Yates as a range of products but will now buy competitor's weed n feed products from now on until I find one with an effective delivery mechanism!

Date PurchasedOct 2017
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
Casey10

Casey10Launceston

  • 2 reviews

Useability design failure on nozzle.

published

The 'useability' of the product is a complete nuisance.

The hose needs be connected, the (hard to open) clip lifted and then the water turned on.
It means the product is being delivered immediately at the tap, even though your area to spray may be a many metres away from the tap.!! Older nozzle assemblies had a finger hole to cover to allow either a water or product delivery, allowing the user to get where they needed before the application began. Was any 'user testing' ever done on this design?

The label indicates I can decant some product and use in a watering can - but the nozzle assembly is not easy to get off without tools.

The stuff does knock off the weeds well, just a pity about the package.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
Costas

CostasGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Disaster!

published

First time using the product and it killed my lawn. I used it as per the instructions on the bottle and 2 weeks later my lawn was dead. I have tried calling Yates and have also left a message, no response as yet. Do NOT use this product as it is POISON to your lawn. This product needs to be recalled. I wish I had read the reviews before using this rubbish.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
jojo

jojoTauranga, New Zealand

Does weed n Feed really work?

published

I have many broadleaf weeds in my lawn. Have applied weed n feed and weeds are still alive 2 weeks later and lawn looks no better. How long should I wait for a result. I thought it would be pretty instant. Could someone at Yates tell me what I've done wrong

Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
Yates
Yates R.Yates
GardenLover

GardenLoverManly, Brisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

The clover is doing really well

published

Have been using Weed 'n' Feed for many years and it has always worked. Recently I did 3 treatments as each one didn't seem to work. Bought a new bottle as I thought something must be wrong with the formula. The end result was that the clover and every other weed did really well. So I have abandoned the product and dug out each weed individually. I contacted Yates and they said they would be in touch, but never heard from them.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
3 comments
Yates
Yates R.Yates
GardenLover
GardenLover
Yates
Yates R.Yates
See all Yates Weed 'n' Feed Liquid Hose-on reviews

Questions & Answers

michael b.

michael b.asked

What if it rains the next day after a application of weed and feed , will it affect the outcome

2 answers
Jaye
Jaye

My weed n feed did not work at all no rain.

Honest Reviews
Honest Reviews

The obvious answer is that it has likely washed off the plants, and will be less effective if at all. One should pay special attention to the weather much the same way farmers have to be very careful about the days they spray crops. Weed and feed is effective against many weeds, be aware that some take over a week to see an outcome and some weeds will need a second spray regardless. Some weeds have waxy coatings and the water beads straight off them to begin with. An all rounder weed killer may not necessarily be the best solution to a very sick and infested lawn, but after years of use (Regular once every 2 months) it most definitely keeps a lawn more clear of various weeds - when compared to my neighbors same lawn, it is night and day. A re-application in a weeks time wouldn't go astray.

Also, keep in mind if you have very specific weeds, some can be VERY hard to get rid of, particularly in the middle of winter. Oxalis is a prime example. It has waxy leaves, very fragile (can't pull out the root) has "explosive" seed pods which help it spread, and loves the dew and low light of winter. There are specific weed killers to target said weed. But even then its waxy leaf gives it a significant amount of protection from sprays and its basically impossible to get rid of once established (without damaging the lawn itself). Consider identifying the weed types you have, and then check to see if a "cheat" all-rounder like "weed and feed' is actually the best solution. (In the case of most ignorant people hoping for the best but subsequently complaining - this is usually the problem).

Goodluck.

Peggy C.

Peggy C.asked

Does Yates Weed &Feed kill sheep sorel and yarrow????

1 answer
Jaye
Jaye

Idont think it kills anything, my weeds are still looking healthy

Sue

Sueasked

I am not sure of the type of lawn/grass I have =-- maybe some buffalo and some kyikuya I need to feed and weed it but the Yates Feed and Weed says not to use on Buffalo.. Help. I also have drying circles developing which may be lawn grub or another pest. It seems there are little round lumps of dirt around the areas (bit like rabbit dropping size) but I'm not sure if that is just from worms of ???? Can you please give me some advice.

Sue

2 answers
Honest Reviews
Honest Reviews

Hi Sue.

When I used to use this product on my old lawn. It definitely had some form of buffalo in it - I don’t know exactly what it was. But it was buffalo like... It never hurt it. My advice is to take some of your lawn cutting to a nursery and see what they say - after all many of them have a degree in this field. And while your there, buy some of their product to support someone other then bunnings!

If your lawn has been very damp, you can get dirt mounds caused by earth worms. A sign of a healthy soil. If you have red wasps during the day, little brown moths at night, or the fluffy brown nests under your eves. Caterpillars on your driveway, or a small black beetle, You have grubs. You will need to treat for these ASAP. Army worm/beetle can devastate lawns within days.

Follow instructions, if you treat only once, you will fail to break the life cycle of the grub and they will be back in weeks. Multiple applications and preventative measures are critical for maintaining a healthy lawn.

All that being said. It can’t hurt to get a small bottle and spot spray a 2m squared section. Monitor it over a week and see how it goes. Failing that, there is a buffalo friendly version of weed and feed....

Patience is key with lawns. And remember. We are heading into cooler weather and therefore cooler soil temps. The time for lawn Reno’s is spring. A light fertilization now with some weed and grub control should get you through to spring.

Goodluck!

Sue
Sue

Many Thanks. Very helpful.

Get an answer from our members and Yates representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.