??!
4 photos
Zodiac CX20

Zodiac CX20

MPN: NAI-ZO-RO-CX20-WR053
3.4 from 133 reviews

Reviews

(54)
(14)
(18)
(20)
(27)
  • Build Quality
    2.7 (27)
  • Value for Money
    2.2 (27)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (27)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (26)
  • Pool Size
    • Average (16)
    • Large (9)
    • Small (1)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (24)
  • Verified purchase

A terrible Experience! Poorly made product that has barely ever worked with no customer service at all!! Buyer beware!

published

Purchased in February 2017 at Direct Pool Supplies.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Pool Size Large
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
1 comment
Zodiac
Fluidra AustraliaZodiac

Hi Nic,

Terribly sorry to hear of your experience. If you paste this review into an email and send it to productsupport.au@fluidra.com I'll be in touch right away to allocate your case and see how we can help. Thanks!

Kuailan

KuailanSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Rubbish product. I have own this for 2 years now. Definitely not the worth the price tag. Always have issues.

published

It works well on leaves or bigger debris, not sand or small particles even you have the optional 100 micron cartridge. The worst part of this device especially considering the price is the cabling. Get tangled often and impact how the robot clean.

Purchased in December 2018 at Pool and Spa Warehouse Online store for $800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
2 comments
Zodiac
Fluidra AustraliaZodiac

Hi Kuailan,

It sounds like you may have had a faulty unit. Could you please paste this review into an email and send it to productsupport.au@fluidra.com? I will make sure our Customer Service team contacts you. Thanks!

Kuailan
Kuailan
GregMac

GregMacNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Great Machine when it is working!

published

We have had our Zodiac for 3 years. Initial cost was $1099. But it has been the disgusting cost of never ending repairs that makes this machine a lemon! Within 14 months (Yes 8 weeks out of warranty) the cable that connects it to the control goes - $300! Last week the wheels stopped turning - we are not even told by the "authorised Zodiac dealer" what was wrong they just went ahead and put in a new motor - $500.

It has spent more time being repaired than in the pool!

When I saw one on Ebay for $98???

Don't like them or there doggy dealers!

Purchased in September 2015 for $1,099.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Robotic Pool Cleaners

Find out how Zodiac CX20 compares to other Robotic Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Matt N.

Matt N.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Machine was good, Product warranty and Support is bad

published

Purchased in October 2016 for $800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Large
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
5 comments
Zodiac
Fluidra AustraliaZodiac
Matt N.
Matt N.

Hi - what is the point of emailing again. i spent 6 months going backwards and forwards with your support team and supposed "Platinum Partner" - your team washed their hands of any responsibility to the product.

Zodiac
Fluidra AustraliaZodiac

Hi Matt,

Is your cleaner still in need of repairs? If so, I can ask a team member directly to contact you to see what we can do.

Dion

DionPerth, WA

Parts

published

Loved our cx20 however the fact that when things go wrong with the unit parts are soo expensive. The motor has gone on ours and will cost over $700 to repair when the unit only cost us $800 new. Also do not like that Zodiac have now only made this unit available online at a premium price where there is limited warranty.

Purchased in January 2018 for $800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Large
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
1 comment
Zodiac
Fluidra AustraliaZodiac
willlotto

willlottoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Better than cleaners that cost four times the amount, but fragile.

published

Purchased in October 2016 for $845.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Large
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
1 comment
Zodiac
Fluidra AustraliaZodiac
Fixit

FixitSouth East Queensland, QLD

Cable Fault CX20

published

I recently had a problem with our CX20 and I’m sharing how I fixed it. It would only operate in one direction and when it went to go the other way it would stop and a red indicator light in the control box would flash slowly. This started out as an intermittent problem. I totally dismantled the robot. After testing the cable with a multimeter I found a fault with a short between two of the terminals. Which made sense as the cable has three wires, one an earth in the middle and the other two power/signal for forward and reverse. Replaced cable and up and going again. Hope this helps.

Purchased in April 2014.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
See all answers
1 comment
Zodiac
Fluidra AustraliaZodiac

We are sorry to hear that you have had a problem with one of our products but are glad you fixed it. Please email us at productsupport.au@fluidra.com if you have any other issues.

pete w

pete wGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

The Great and The not so Great

published

I have had my CX20 for approx 16 months and had intended to review it earlier as it had been magnificent. We have a large Gum tree which is close to our pool so the cleaner worked overtime with twigs gum nuts and of course leaves and until about 2 weeks ago it had not missed a beat then it just stopped moving. I contacted Daniel at Zodiac who was super efficient in having it picked up and taken for repairs. Got it back a few days ago after a new motor block was installed under warranty and its back to normal. It does many people have had the same issue with this model so i guess i was lucky it was in the warranty period.

Purchased in September 2018 at Pool and Spa Warehouse Online store for $1,099.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
1 comment
Zodiac
Fluidra AustraliaZodiac
Bodil

BodilBrisbane

  • 3 reviews

Disappointing outcome with CX20

published

Purchased in December 2016 at Pool and Spa Warehouse Online store.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
See all answers
1 comment
Zodiac
Fluidra AustraliaZodiac
Robotic Pool Cleaners

Find out how Zodiac CX20 compares to other Robotic Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Broke down twice

published

Purchased in November 2016 for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
2 comments
Zodiac
Fluidra AustraliaZodiac
U T.
U T.
Dpek

DpekSydney, NSW

Better options out there

published

I've had the same problems as some people on here have reported. The cleaner just stops, error flashing on the control unit. Do everything as the manual says to do (troubleshooting) still to no avail.
Rang Zodiac and they told me they do no handle customers and to seek your local pool/service centre. What a waste of time.
You'd think that the company would care about its product and its customer base in regards to fixing problems. They don't.
On top of that, their website fails to locate a local dealer (within the Sydney region). Which they say to go to and locate, terrible.

Purchased in February 2016 for $1,100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Large
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
4 comments
Zodiac
Fluidra AustraliaZodiac
Dpek
Dpek

My issue has never been sorted out and I find it harder to find someone dealing with zodiac in general. I will email and let’s see what happens.

Dpek
Dpek

Email sent on Tuesday 28th January 2020. Let's wait and see

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

boxall

boxallSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Worked very very well at first....

published

Was a ripper of a unit for 3.5 years and then it just stopped. Cleaned very well and got to most parts of the pool. Just hope I can get it going again.

DM sent to Zodiac as it should last more than 3.5 years.

Purchased in May 2016 for $900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
3 comments
boxall
boxall

No response from Zodiac.

Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi, We have called and left a message for you, Thanks.

boxall
boxall

Rubber Track Coming off

published

Have had this robot since 2017, overall satisfied with performance. Recently one of the rubber tracks has been coming off every time I run the robot. Zodiac, what is the solution? Please advise.

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Large
See all answers

2yrs and 9 months until death

published

Worked very well (Not counting throwing track, maybe x 3 total) until now does the well described stopping after 1-2 minutes. Probably the motor block. Been treated reasonably well. Im neutral on whether this constitutes value or not but wanted others to know what to expect. 2 yrs 9 months or so.

Purchased for $900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers

Stopped working after 2.5 years

published

My CX20 has developed a fault in the last couple of days. It works for a couple of minutes and then stops with the error light flashing.
Zodiac have already repaired the unit once due to it going in circles. Not sure what to do as I don't want an expensive repair for a unit that is out of warranty and isn't even 3 years old.

2 comments
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Paul. sorry to hear of these issues. May I ask if you have contacted our Customer Care team?

Paul
Paul
Robotic Pool Cleaners

Find out how Zodiac CX20 compares to other Robotic Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jason

JasonSouth East Queensland, QLD

Stopped working after 2 years.

published

I was very happy with the performance of the cleaner, when it was working. Then after the warranty period expired it started cutting out and only working sometimes, eventually it stopped all together. I would have expected it to last at least 5 years for the price.

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Brian R.

Brian R.Gippsland, VIC

Brilliant in the beginning BUT

published
Darren

DarrenGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Do Not buy a Zodiac!

published

Bought my CX20 Jan2017, stopped working just after 1 year (vacuum worked but stopped moving) sent it back to Zodiac for repair under warranty, their cost) all good. 2 and a bit years after purchase the thing stops again, runs for a minute then the fault light comes on and starts to flash, robot dead in the water. Of course it is now out of warranty. Email Zodiac 4 times, no reply, tried to call them no return call. So I get on their website and find out that they have a repairer listed close to me. I call them and they tell me that they cannot get through to Zodiac most of the time. Anyway, drop off the robot at the repairer today 30/10/19, lets see what comes out of this.
I repeat, DO NOT BUY A ZODIAC ROBOT!

Purchased in January 2017 at eBay for $900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Paul

PaulSydney, NSW

Constantly stops, doesn't clean, electrical design flaws, poor service

published

Machine never really cleaned well - even with the higher grade micro filter leaves fine dust.
Then stops repeatedly. Needs to have electrical plugs cleaned constantly else will stop and flash.
Finally pins in plugs corroded. Can't get any satisfaction from pool shop or zodiac to fix.
Looking to have electrician mod with a marine grade plug.
Zodiac woman said they don't speak to the public on their customer service line- seriously.
Never ever ever buy zodiac

Purchased in December 2016 for $800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers

Excellent after sales service from Zodiac NZ

published

Bought on 31st March 2016 and developed a fault well outside the warranty period. After discussion with the NZ Zodiac Manager the problem was resolved to our total satisfaction. Couldn't have asked for a better solution. Highly recommended

Purchased for $1,400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

shark23

shark23asked

May I know who the warranty or repairer is for Perth? Thanks

No answers
shark23

shark23asked

May I know who and where is the warranty repairer for Perth? I am thinking of buying a unit

1 answer
Dion
Dion

I wouldn't purchase one at all. Has to be sent back over east. Zodiac also not been in contact what so ever

Steve R

Steve Rasked

My machine CX20 is 3 years old. Its been great until now. When you try and start it, the control box just switches off after 1 second. Often you cannot switch it back on without unplugging it and trying again. I have done a thorough check for blockages. Any help would be appreciated

6 answers
Fixit
Fixit

When it switches off do any lights come up? From manual. Troubleshooting 5.1 Using the Information LED
The information LED on the Control box flashes in a specific sequence to indicate one of three possible cleaner malfunctions.
LED Flashing
Cause
Solution
1 Flash
LED flashes once
Floating cable may not be plugged into the Control box correctly.
Unplug the floating cable from the Control box and reconnect.
If the problem persists, contact Zodiac After Sales Support at 1300 763 021
2 Flashes
LED flashes twice
Cleaner wheels may be jammed or brushes may be blocked with debris.
Turn cleaner wheels to ensure they are not jammed.
Check brushes for debris. Start a new cleaning cycle.
If the problem persists, contact Zodiac After Sales Support at 1300 763 021.
3 Flashes
LED flashes three
Pump axis or propeller may be jammed with debris.
Dirty filter.
Check the pump axis for debris. Check propeller for debris. Clean the filter.
Start a new cleaning cycle.
If the problem persists, contact Zodiac After Sales Support at

I had LED flashes once on mine. Replacing cable fixed it. But I did test the cable with a multimeter to discover a short in the cable before installing the new cable.

Steve R
Steve R

No, unfortunately not. It just switches off. There are no flashes

Fixit
Fixit

In that case it may not be the cable. If you disconnect the cable from the control box and press the on button you should get one red flash indicating a cable issue. If not, I’d say you have a control box issue. Also I would test cable first with a multimeter for continuity with wires and any shorts between wires. Otherwise you may replace it unnecessarily. The robotic unit can be dismantled fairly easily with a Phillips head screwdriver. If you dismantle unit you can plug the motor by itself into the control box to see if it goes. If not it will be an issue with one of three things, the cable, control box, or motor. Good luck with it.

Get an answer from our members and Zodiac representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.