??!
4 photos
Zodiac CX20

Zodiac CX20 (page 3 of 8)

MPN: NAI-ZO-RO-CX20-WR053
3.3 from 146 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.3

146 reviews
5
(56)
4
(15)
3
(20)
2
(22)
1
(33)
  • Build Quality
    2.6 (40)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (40)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (40)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (39)
  • Pool Size
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (37)
Previous
Next
Josh

JoshSydney, NSW

Keeps breaking down

published

I have the zodiac CX20 - bought in September 2016
Broke down and needed to be repaired in Jan 2018.
Now needs to be repaired again as has the same fault.

The fault is that I start the pool cleaner and it will start for a couple of seconds then stop with the error light flashing.

Seems to only last just over 12 months and needs repair - I have emailed apac.technicalsupport for assistance again.

UPDATE
Called Zodiac - they repaired it for me.. Service was quite good. Anyone with issues i recommend call the 1300 number ...

Exero

ExeroSydney, NSW

Tracks come off on edges of pool steps, does not clean into rounded corners.

published

Tracks come off on sharp step edged. Does not clean rounded corners. It also has trouble covering a thorough clean pattern.

Just out of warranty and it is now broken :(

published

Purchased the CX20 Oct 2016 and it worked perfectly well. Very pleased with it but not until yesterday we tried to use it and it goes for a bit then suddenly stop, then it seems it is trying to move until after a few minutes it goes again for a few seconds then stops again. I hope zodiac can help us out with this as it is just outside the warranty period and we can't afford another 1k at the moment.

Robotic Pool Cleaners

Find out how Zodiac CX20 compares to other Robotic Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steve_N

Steve_NMelbourne

  • Verified purchase

Just out of warranty and its broken! :(

published

Had this unit for 3 years, the first two seasons it worked well and now when it's turned on it runs for 10 seconds and stops!! Of course it is now out of warranty!! Considering it was nearly $1k you would think it would last a lot longer than it has.. Very disappointed, I hope Zodiac can help!

Date PurchasedDec 2015
whaley

whaleyworongary

  • Verified purchase

Top Notch Customer support from Zodiac

published

We have had our CX20 for nearly three years now. First two years fantastic, best cleaner we have had. We had an issue with flashing control box 1 month prior to 2 yr warranty end. Returned the unit to Zodiac and they repaired and returned within a week. Just one year later (last week) we had a second issue with the flashing controller box. The unit was just 12 months since its last repair. Rang Zodiac support (all be it the wait was long) the team organised a repair agent to visit our house. He came, repaired the unit and now back to working like a charm. Cant speak highly enough of the level of service and the no issues approach to just in or just out of warranty these guys take.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Thank you so much for your 5 star review! Happy Swimming.

Christine

ChristinePerth, WA

  • Verified purchase

Not working and getting runaround

published
Date PurchasedApr 2016
2 comments
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Christine, Sorry to hear about these issues. Looks like we have given you some wrong information and for that we are sorry. Can you please call us on 1300 763 021 or send us on a message on Facebook (inbox) and we will get back in touch. Thanks.

Christine
Christine

Happy update! Zodiac have repaired/replaced the unit at no charge and now I have a working pool cleaner again. Very happy with Zodiac's customer service! Thank you :)

  • Verified purchase

Great Cleaner

published

I’ve only been using this cleaner for a few weeks but very impressed to date. I purchased the optional 100 micron filter basket as our pool is more prone to fine dust rather than larger twigs and leaf litter. Does a great job and very easy to empty and clean.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Mick, Thank you for your 5 star review. Happy Swimming!

Vic D

Vic DHobart

Very disappointing

published

Worked well but only just out of warranty and stopped working ( as live in Tasmania it prob has only been used 6-9months in total). Contacted company by phone found the team member quite dismissive and rude. Took to local pool shop as advised and has been told by zodiac it is discontinued and no parts available to fix motor. Very disappointed

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
2 comments
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac
Vic D
Vic D

Waiting for reply

Rob Brisbane

Rob BrisbaneSouth East Queensland, QLD

Worthy of review... which I never do

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Rob. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this 5 star review. Happy Swimming!

Robotic Pool Cleaners

Find out how Zodiac CX20 compares to other Robotic Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
cath

cathadelaide

Useless for fine dirt

published

Cheap, easy to clean filter ok job on larger debris completely useless for fine dirt blows straight back into pool through filter mesh. Bought the extra fine filter for fine dust exactly the same. Was told by seller I should have bought a different cleaner. Now stuck with a pool that's either cloudy from stirred up dust or bottom covered in fine silt. Never had a single issue with our old Admiral cleaner wish I had bought another Admiral.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Pool monkey

Pool monkeyKallaroo

works well but only a 2 year lifespan

published
Date PurchasedAug 2016
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi, Thank you for your review. Sorry you have had these issues. If we can offer any help, please contact our Call Centre on 1300 763 021, Thanks.

Peter

PeterMelbourne

Broke Down

published

Purchased in May 2016 (winter in Melbourne so did not really use for 4-5 months). The unit has dad minimal use and started playing up when used again in October 2018. Began to only clean 3/4 of the pool and now the motor has died. Cost around $1,000 to purchase and have been advised the repair will cost (with shipping) over $700. Very disappointed with the machine and service from Zodiac.

Date PurchasedMay 2016
2 comments
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Peter, Sorry that you had these experience regarding your Pool Cleaner. May I ask if you spoke with us directly? Thanks.

Peter
Peter

Yes. I was advised to take it to the local pool shop which looks after Zodiac. And was advised by both Zodiac Rep and Pool Shop that there was nothing that could be done as it was out of Warranty

Sher

SherCanberra

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

It's ok but for $1000 you expect more

published

I've used the unit only a dozen times so far and not completely happy with it. As others have noted on this forum it does not pick up fine dust. I got round that problem by floccing and vacuuming to waste. Maybe this is a limitation of all cleaners??

When it cleans it doesn't do all the areas. It does do a good job of climbing up the walls but when going in a straight line it does veer off to the right.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Steve S

Steve SSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Worked for 2.5 years then needs a new motor $650 repair

published

Zodiac CX20 robotic pool cleaner worked well since purchasing it in Nov 2016 but it has now stopped. Warranty only 2 years so bad luck I guess. I paid $1050 for it. When you spend over $1000 for a pool cleaner it should last more than 2.5 years. The repair cost $650 new motor block, estimate means it is not viable. If I bought a Dyson vacuum cleaner and it broke after 2.5years and paid $1000 I would be as equally disappointed. I have had my Dyson for over 10 years.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
5 comments
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Steve, May we ask that you contact us directly regarding this? If you could send a DM on our Facebook page or through Product Review? Thanks.

Steve S
Steve S

Thanks for the reply. I'll DM you.

Steve S
Steve S

Zodiac have contacted me and we are trying to work through the issue at this stage.

NotNibbling

NotNibblingSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great after sales support!!

published

Bought a CX20 just under 2 years ago. Works perfectly. According to installation instructions the external controller box needs to be protected from the weather. We thought ours was protected from the weather, but some very heavy rainfall, and a blocked water drain, caused our controller box to be flooded with water and to stop working. Took the controller (water still leaking out of it) to Redlands Poolman in Alexandra Hills Qld. They sent it to Zodiac who repaired it for free, without question (even though the damage was my fault). Total cost to me was $20 for transporting the controller to and from Redlands Poolman.

Super impressed with both Zodiac and their agent network!!! Big thumbs up to Zodiac and to Redlands Poolman!!!

Date PurchasedDec 2016
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi, Thank you for your 5 star review. Happy Swimming!

Robotic Pool Cleaners

Find out how Zodiac CX20 compares to other Robotic Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
roland

rolandSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

A few months out of warranty unit has failed

published

The Zodiac CX20 robotic pool cleaner has worked extremely well since purchasing it in 2016 but it has now failed some 6 months beyond warranty period and the supplier has refused any claim or even any assistance towards a replacement. The cleaner runs in forward direction but not in reverse. When you spend over $1000 for a pool cleaner I expected it to last for many years. The repair cost estimate means it is not viable and suggest I purchase a new one. This being the case I feel I need to seriously consider other makes.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
4 comments
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Roland. May I ask if you have contacted Zodiac directly or your place of purchase. Thanks.

roland
roland

Hi
I have contacted both the supplier and Zodiac directly and obtained the same response. Thanks
Roland Smith

roland
roland
WPHSteven

WPHStevenSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Still within the 2 year 'honeymoon period' but it has been a good purchase

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Thank you for your review. Really appreciate you taking the time to leave this feedback, Happy Swimming!

CHRIS G

CHRIS GPerth, WA

Was awesome now really disappointed

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016
10 comments
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Chris, sorry to hear that you are having these issues. We can most certainly help you sort these. Could you please inbox your details so we can get this up and running straight away. Thanks!

CHRIS G
CHRIS G

Have sent an email to your APAC email address with my phone number

CHRIS G
CHRIS G

Wondering when Zodiac are going to get in touch? Clearly received my email address as ironically I received a customer service survey via email, but no response to my email detailing the above issues....waiting and hopeful of a resolution.

Ray

RayEschol Park

Very disappointing service from Zodiac

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018
6 comments
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Ray. Please accept our apologies for the experience you have received.
I have sent you a DM to get your contact details so we can rectify this issues and discuss what has happened. Thanks.

Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Ray, I have called and left a message on your Mobile, Thanks.

Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Thank you for your callback, I have now left a message for you. Thanks.

Katrina

KatrinaDubbo

  • Verified purchase

Rip off

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
8 comments
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac
Katrina
Katrina

I'm not sure how many people know what micron dust is?I know I don't. I do think most people would think that general dust in a pool would be picked up.

Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac
Page 3 of 8
See all Zodiac CX20 reviews

Questions & Answers

David G

David Gasked

Tracks are coming off. Is there a way to re tension the wheels as I am thinking this could be the problem. If not, what can I do about the track coming off?

No answers
Zed

Zedasked

The light flashes 3 times, turn on to run and goes 1 meter then stops. Filter is clean.

No answers
FXS

FXSasked

I have been in the pool inductry over 30 years.
One of my clients has a Zodiac CX20 Robotic pool cleaner.

It was not my brand of choice, nor did I recommend it or sell it to my client.

Over its 3 year life, It has been repaired once, unfortunately it was within its 2 year warranty however Zodiac deemed it was not a warranty repair & it cost my client over $400.00, They were not happy.
The cleaner has again been playing up. After calling Zodiac, they have simply advised that the product is out of warranty & they can no longer repair it (unless it is in Warranty).
They referred me to another company to get it repaired.
I rang the other company who simply advised they do not repair Zodiac Robotic pool cleaners. Back to Square 1.

Frustration setting in for my client & myself.
I'm in the pool industry. What hope has any other poor customer got.

The service is unacceptable.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Zodiac representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.