Your trust is our top concern. Companies can't alter or remove reviews from ProductReview.com.au.

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2016

Great extension. Happy to recommend Addbuild.

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 16, 2017

We have a first floor extension and ground floor alterations that was completed in November 2016. This was the first major renovation that we have undertaken and overall it was a positive experience. We chose Addbuild based on another renovation they had completed nearby, and the fact that we could live in the house while it was being renovated.

We found the design process to be somewhat frustrating. The main reason for this was that changes that had been agreed with the designer didn't seem to make it through to the relevant office sta
ff and it felt as if we had to ask for the same changes several times before they were reflected in the finalised plans.

Once the build started, it was pretty stress free and the initial stages were completed very quickly. Our site supervisor, Frank, was professional and helpful and explained the process and any potential issues well. He was always available to answer any questions and followed up on any queries that we had. All of the tradespeople involved in our renovation were great (except one) - professional, friendly, helpful and clearly very good at what they did. We also found all of the office staff to be very approachable and helpful in dealing with any queries/issues that we had. Our only small gripe is that the last few items to be completed seemed to take a very long time and lots of following up.

Overall, very happy with the workmanship and quality of our renovations using Addbuild. We have had lots of positive feedback on how good the renovation looks from family and friends. I would definitely recommend Addbuild and use them again for any future renovations.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Addbuild Additions Official

Thank you Demi for taking time out to pass on your thoughts. We appreciate your comments about the time taken to finish off the last few items. We will put plans in motion to minimise the time dela... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Sep 2016

Very Happy!!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 25, 2016

We had a first floor addition by Addbuild completed in September 2016. It was a very positive experience for us and we are so pleased we chose to go with Addbuild. It was pretty much a stress free build thanks to the Fabulous Frank, our supervisor for the build. We highly recommend them for additions to your home. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Addbuild Additions Official

Thank you Karen. Frank is an important part of our hard working team and we appreciate your time to pass on your positive feedback

From The team at Addbuild

Verified Customer

Great extension

4 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 12, 2016

The extension that Add build has been a great success
But more impressive has been the after build service we've received
We had a few issues that were complicated by extreme weather , Add build have a several occasions been very helpful and professional when addressing any issues
The staff have always been very approachable and empathetic when I needed their assistance .
I can't recommend Add build enough

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Addbuild Additions Official

Thank you Wal. Our customer service department prides itself on quickly resolving any customer issues.

Verified Customer

Happy to recommend Addbuild Additions to my relatives and friends

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 20, 2016

We had a really great experience with Addbuild from the design, building and up to finishing stage. Special thanks particularly to our design consultant Raewyn whose main focus is to provide help on a more personal approach and to our Site Manager Frank who really kept us informed of any issues and made it a point that we can get in touch with him whenever a problem arises. He even makes himself available during weekends "You're the man!". We love our new addition, issues will always there but all staff were helpful, friendly and approachable - we couldn't be more happier. Thank you Addbuild!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Addbuild Additions Official

Thank you for your comments. All the team at Addbuild bend over backwards to solve any problem, no matter how small. We wish you and your family many happy years in your new home.

The Team at Addbuild

Verified Customer

New space for our growing family

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 29, 2016

We have been generally very happy with Addbuild and the work undertaken. We found the contractors used to be very pleasant and professional, the only very minor complaint being that completion of the final few parts of the job towards the end of the build seemed to drag on (but maybe this was just compared to how quickly the initial stages of our upstairs extension were completed). Nevertheless, our overall experience with Addbuild has been very pleasant, stress free and positive and we are glad to have asked the company to complete this work f or us. Thank you to the office staff for all your personal assistance and understanding and we’d particular like to commend Frank, our building supervisor, on his willingness to attend to all matters personally and respond to our calls promptly and efficiently (even on a Sunday night). All of the contractors clearly respect him and he was so easy to work with throughout the process.
We love our new space and it fulfills the brief that we started with perfectly!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Addbuild Additions Official

Hi Sarah It is a pleasure to read your happy comments. The end of any job always seems protracted due to the number of different trades required to finish off small amounts of work. Your constructi... read more »

Verified Customer

First Floor Addition With Addbuild Additions Strathfield South 2015

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 31, 2016

Our First Floor addition was completed last December & we were extremely happy with all aspects of the process.
All the admin & office staff at Addbuild were excellent to deal with & more than willing to accommodate any requests from us.
The building supervisors & tradesmen were all very good to deal with & we would especially like to mention the two builders assigned to our project Luke & Simon who were not only very easy to get along with but extremely professional & produced very high quality work.
We are a family of five & Addbuild trans
formed our small two bedroom very tired cottage to a four bedroom "new" home giving us much needed room to grow, we now have two bathrooms and a spare room for visiting family members to stay in!
One of our family friends have begun a similar project with Addbuild on our recommendation as we spoke highly of the overall process.
Thank you again Addbuild we are really enjoying our "new" home!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Addbuild Additions Official

Thank you for your recommendation and review. Our best enquiries come from our satisfied customers, and I am pleased to read that you have achieved your goal with your addition. Not only satisfacti... read more »

Verified Customer

Perfect Addition! Has made such a difference for our large family.

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 23, 2016

From the initial consult to the final walk through, I was extremely happy with Addbuild's professionalism and expertise. Addbuild's price quoted is the price paid, no hidden extras! All trades on site were courteous, helpful and always maintained a tidy worksite. Both the site manager and office staff never failed to answer our questions and kept us up to date at every stage of the build. The finished product has far exceeded our expectations. Addbuild Additions made renovating easy! I would highly recommend Addbuild Additions. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Addbuild Additions Official

Thank you for your kind words. Our staff endeavour to satisfy all of our customers’ needs and appreciate the encouraging feedback.
The Team at Addbuild

Verified Customer

All is well that ends well.

4 out of 5, reviewed on May 06, 2016

We extended our smallish 3 bedrooms house with Addbuild. We added first floor extension that comprised of 2 bedrooms, living area and 1 full bathroom. We also had other renovations to the ground floor to expand internal space by enclosing the front porch and removing a large stud wall that was obstructing our living room. We are happy with the end results and we love our newly extend home.
When we inquired the other addition builder, their proposal was fairly restricted and price was high. On the other hand initial consultation with Addbui
ld was very open and our needs were all accommodated, most importantly within our budget. We also liked the arrangement that we select and supply all bathroom and electric fittings except for shower screens, and we were given the option to paint the internals and do the flooring ourselves.
Once the construction started everything went into a totally new dimensions. It was quite adventurous experience with many dramas, however it was expected as we were removing 2/3 of roof and adding another floor onto 50+ years old house. We had many pots, pans and cups on our living room when a storm hit, and we lost power for few days as our electric wiring in the ceiling and switchboard were too old. We were glad that the supervisor organised electricians soon and got it re-wired throughout the house and installed a brand new safety switchboard.
All trades were good, sub-contracted carpenters worked even on Saturdays, one of them was an English working holiday maker and they did a good job. Electrician, plumber, roofer, renderer, tiler, gyprocker etc. had good skill, friendly and got the job done.
While we mentioned positives, we must say it tested our patience sometimes. Some people wrote very negative reviews about Addbuild and we understood where they were coming from. However we observed that the site supervisor was looking after number of sites at the same time and he was getting constant phone calls from his clients and tradies all the time, so he could have forgot an issue or two. We therefore ensured to address our issues or concerns by Email, SMS or phone calls without hesitation. At the same time the supports from other office staff were good.
We also note that the progress of construction really slowed down towards the end and some minor works were left unattended for weeks. It may be a norm in the construction industry, however it was difficult as family members were all squeezed into small rooms with full of stuff.
In any case, Addbuild fixed up all issues at the end and completed the project at the contracted fixed price. So as we say “All is well that ends well” and we are now enjoying our upgraded home. Thanks for Addbuild.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Addbuild Additions Official

Thank you for your constructive comments. Doing an addition is a stressful time and we do understand the inconvenience. In fact, at our Pre Construction meeting with your building supervisor we act... read more »

Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 1 comment
Private message

Verified Customer

Transformed our house!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 27, 2016

Second story extensions are Addbuild's core buisiness, which is why we originally chose them. 2 years after construction I am so glad we did: we love our renovation!
Addbuild did a good job from the design, through construction and post construction.
They drafted an efficient, simple design - we had some grand and expensive plans, but their designer Steve gently suggested we look at some alternatives: he came up with a larger but cheaper design that satisfied the real needs of our family - his experience made all the difference.
The team sta
rted really quickly, and worked hard. We were able to stay in our house which they built above. Living in the house while building went on above was a little difficult a times - waking up early every weekday - but they finished on time each day and it was worth it to be on site and be able to regularly talk to the builders, as well as save a significant amount of time and money.
They finished on time and on budget (hard to believe I know!) - and the minor variations we made along the way were reasonably priced.
Recently I noticed a defect where one of the eaves was sagging - I was a little concerned as we are well past the warranty, however AddBuild came and rectified the problem with no hassle at all - and this excellent service is what prompted me to write up a review.
I have already recommended them to friends locally, who also had a great experience, and am happy to continue to do so. No building job is perfect, there are always unexpected issues and difficulties, but the AddBuild team did a pretty good job of listening to our needs and helping us work through anything that came up - and at the end of the process has built us a solid, efficient and reasonably priced second story extension that has transformed our house and given us so much fabulous space in which to live. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Addbuild Additions Official

In this age of social media, and people quick to complain, it is a pleasure to hear from one of our older customers. As one of Sydney’s leading builders we base our reputation on our customer servi... read more »

No problem! While no build is perfect, and there were problems and questions and things that don't go according to plan, being able to work through these in a positive way and end up with a great ... read more »

Verified Customer

Very happy customer!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 23, 2016

AddBuild did an extension including additional bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, attic and living room for us.
The whole process was everything we hoped for; delivered on time, excellent quality, attention to detail, flexible approach to the job and a great end result.
Everything went very smoothly from the design phase right through to completion of the build. Communication was good, trades all great quality and easy to deal with and gave us confidence in the their workmanship. Nothing of this size goes without a glitch but all issues were dealt w
ith promptly and fixed to our satisfaction.
Our site supervisor Greg was exactly what we had hoped for and a pleasure to deal with and really made the experience a great one. AddBuilds overall customer service backed up the quality of their work and we recommend AddBuild to anyone looking to do similar work.
As first time home renovators this is why we chose a company with longevity and experience in the area and we got exactly what we had hoped for.
Thanks AddBuild, job well done!
Brendan and Amanda

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Addbuild Additions Official

Thank you for your positive feedback. Your comments will be passed onto all our staff who greatly appreciate hearing from our satisfied customers. Enjoy your new extension.
From the team at Addbuild

Verified Customer

Happy Addbuild customers

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 11, 2016

We are very happy with our first floor extension. The contractors were friendly, and for the most part, respectful of our home. Yes we had some glitches along the way- however, these were always eventually dealt with to our satisfaction. We were always in contact with the on site supervisor, Ken, who assisted us greatly. The finished product has received many compliments from our family and friends and even a local Real Estate agent. We would recommend this company in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Addbuild Additions Official

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your kind words. All our building supervisors are very experienced with doing additions and strive to achieve great communication with our clients throughou... read more »

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer

Amatuer hour - from beginning to end

1 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 19, 2016

Unfortunately our experience with Addbuild was similar to those reviewers back in July/August 2015 - terrible. We experienced problem after problem after problem with this company. We continually had to chase them up for everything during the planning stages - we were always promised revised drawings, costings, etc. "next week" and in most cases we never received anything until a month later, after we'd chased them several times. They also didn't have the experience they represented in dealing with our particular planning issues. Just when we t hought the pre-approval process was surely as bad as it could get - we were introduced to our site supervisor. Our site supervisor forgot everything we told him, never wrote anything down, was totally disorganised and appeared not to have even a basic construction programme for our job. There was a number of mistakes made on our job - which the company point blank refused to fix or compensate us for - and we are not talking minor, inconsequential mistakes - we are talking fundamental, visually obvious mistakes that were incredibly disappointing and detracted from the overall quality and appearance of the addition. We also had to do a lot of work ourselves in booking meetings with Council and following them up, making arrangements with their subcontractors (who for the most part were lovely and told us we were not alone in our horrendous dealings with this company) to come out and complete works, etc. - if we didn't make the arrangements the work just didn't get done. There were times when not a single thing was done on our job for in excess of 3 weeks because the site supervisor hadn't booked in any trades. The site supervisor was never straight with us when discussing mistakes - he would always assure us that he was fixing the problem, and then he would just ignore our follow-ups in the hope we'd go away. Or he'd blame head office, or give us some other excuse. Only when we got towards the end of the build did he admit he had no intention of fixing issues he'd assured us he was dealing with. We also have a number of defects that he told us he would fix, that have never been rectified. This company's head office staff are extremely rude to deal with as soon as you point out problems on a job - they are not interested in rectifying problems and nor are they interested in customer satisfaction apparently. All in all, I would never, ever recommend this company, which is a shame as their carpenters and subcontractors are lovely people. I am disappointed to say that getting them out of our lives has been the best part of the whole renovation experience.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Addbuild Additions Official

As one of Sydney’s leading addition specialists for over 30 years we have completed 1000’s of home renovations. Unfortunately not all renovations run smoothly but our experienced team makes every e... read more »

Addbuild - of course not everyone shares our opinion - it seems a lot of your customers below who had good experiences had different site supervisors - we certainly wish we did (and we asked for ou... read more »

Addbuild Additions Official

Sorry we are unable to satisfy you.

Verified Customer

Thanks for changing my life

5 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 07, 2016

As a single mother of two boys I was nervous about handing over my home to just anyone. I was very lucky to have had a wonderful designer Emmery and supervisor Ken from Addbuild who both really made me feel comfortable about the whole process. They both really looked after me and made sure that I was ok every step of the way. Ken was always ensuring that the right people for the job were working on my home. He was always available and was great at solving problems as they arose.

My build was quite extensive and for most of the time we were
able to live through the build which was great as I would not have been able to afford to rent. This is one of the reasons why I went with Addbuild and they were great at making my home secure and liveable.

The finished result is just beautiful and I just love what Addbuild have done. It is so much better than what I had imagined and my home is the much loved by my boys family, friends and most of all me!

Thank you Addbuild for changing my life!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Addbuild Additions Official

Dear Sim,
It give us great pleasure to read your comments that confirm we have achieved our aim to make this process as painless as possible. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to pass on your comments.
The Team from Addbuild

Verified Customer

Wonderful work

5 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 05, 2016

Great company, work done timely and properly, foreman and contractors always polite and respectful, office staff very helpful always and prompt replies to questions, always returned my calls and followed up with any concerns, staff were understanding and utilized problem solving to help me with solutions.
From original quote to lock up, process was smooth and payments due accordingly with all invoices detailed for ease.
Would call addbuild again for future extensions/renovation.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Addbuild Additions Official

Dear Sharon, Thank you for the positive review of your Addbuild experience. As a long established company we strive to never forget that building an addition whilst living in our home can be a str... read more »

Verified Customer

Review re Addbuild Additions

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 05, 2016

Addbuild have recently completed our second extension of our home, with both extensions having been done by this company about 10 years apart in the context of our growing family. With four children and ties to local schools it was important to Melanie and me to stay in our home during the building work on both occasions. It was also a lot cheaper not to have to move out and rent. The company's architect was excellent and was able to present solutions that were a lot better and more practical than what we had thought to do ourselves. The trades man were courteous, highly skilled and very quick in completing quality work on both occasions. In addition, a building supervisor of the company was always on hand to oversee work and sort out problems. in regard to both extensions the supervisors were highly practical men who drove the work along. Also, the company dealt with council effectively and efficiently in the obtaining of approvals and sorting out the necessary consents. It was good from out point of view not to have to instruct solicitors at any point along the way in dealing with council. The prices of Addbuild were also very competitive. Melanie and I consider Addbuild to be a professional operation and recommend the company to anyone who might be thinking of an extension to their home on a budget and who wish to live there while the work is done. In summary, this company does a good job for a reasonable price, takes care of everything, gets paid and goes. That's why we commissioned their services twice.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Addbuild Additions Official

Dear Bob, It is good to hear that you have had 2 positive experiences with Addbuild with a considerable time gap. We pride ourselves on having the best and most helpful staff and long term relation... read more »

Verified Customer

Great First Floor Result

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 05, 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Addbuild Additions Official

Dear Happy Client Thanks for the positive feedback. Always great to hear the effort our team puts in is appreciated and we are delivering a home that fulfils your expectations. Wishing you many hap... read more »

Verified Customer

First Reno

4 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 08, 2015

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Addbuild Additions Official

Dear First Reno Thanks for the great feedback on our team and our process. Always great to know we are making our clients happy - that's what makes us happy. We hope you and your family enjoy many... read more »

Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer

Very Happy

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 07, 2015

We had a very positive experience with Addbuild, as they built a first floor addition; adding three bedrooms, a shower room, and a landing. They were able to help us every step of the way, from the initial planning, to the final product. After speaking to the designer, we were given two options to choose from, which allowed us to select exactly what we had in mind. The plans were drawn up, and we had an opportunity to peruse and adjust the plans to our liking. At the contract signing we were walked, step by step, through the whole process, so we had a very clear idea of what to expect, and were made aware of any potential variations that my occur. This meeting lasted for three hours- they were very thorough, and wanted to make sure we understood everything before signing.

Once the work commenced, Frank, our building supervisor, was always available to talk through concerns, would immediately respond to any questions I had, and really made us feel like he was on our side, helping us to achieve the results we wanted from the building. I spoke to him on many Saturdays, and he even took my call when he was clearly sick in bed. Frank was happy to call workers back in if we were unhappy about any aspect of work, including placement of light switches, or replacing a faulty handrail for the stairs. The workers were always friendly and considerate of us living in the house while they worked, and happy to consult with us to ensure they were doing what we wanted.

In the interest of full disclosure, there were a couple of incidents which occurred over the course of the building process. One of which was a delay from the Water Board, (out of Addbuild's control), and another was over a miscommunication with regards to the initial design. In both cases, Addbuild did everything one could reasonably expect, and both matters were clearly communicated to us, and amicably resolved. My feeling is that any project of this size is bound to run into some complications, but the important thing to me is that Addbuild always made me aware of what was going on, and were willing to negotiate through any issues. I was surprised to read of concerns over customer service in earlier reviews. At no point in the process was anyone involved with Addbuild anything but polite and professional with us.

The quality of the work I would classify as excellent. The addition blends so well, our new neighbours were surprised to hear the the top floor was an addition. In the end, Addbuild delivered exactly what they agreed to, in the stated time frame, and at the agreed price, (which was significantly less than the other quotes we got.) We are so happy with everything, and my kids are loving their new rooms!

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Addbuild Additions Official

Dear Very Happy, Thank you for you comments. We are pleased that working with us met your expectations as we do pride ourselves on delivering the best possible customer experience. As you mentioned... read more »

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer

Fantastic end product

4 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 05, 2015

We recently completed an addition to our home in the inner west in Sydney. It was the addition of an extra living area. The end product is excellent with only the painters being an issue (not friendly and not great workmanship) but the rest of the tradesmen were excellent - from the chippies and brickies to the roofers and electricians. Our first point of contact was Emmory and he was very pleasant and professional to deal with providing us with excellent follow up on our initial discussions and design questions. We also dealt with Mustafa in t he office who was also very pleasant and followed up on things when requested. We had a small issue with some paperwork but this was minor and addressed once I raised concerns.

Our supervisor was generally ok, however one area that could be improved is the communication between supervisor and client. Unfortunately we weren't kept informed when subbies would arrive and they would often arrive unexpectedly or not at all. I'm sure Addbuild will take note of this and address this issue on future projects. In saying that the works were completed within the time frame and the quality is excellent. Certainly can't complain about that.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Addbuild Additions Official

Dear Rin Tin Tin, Thank you for your constructive comments. Like all companies we strive to achieve perfection and your feedback enables us to address any areas that need tweaking. We wish you and ... read more »

Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 2 comments
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Total disappointment

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 29, 2015

Our experience with Addbuild mirrors the previous two comments and I wish we could have read them prior to our build commencing back in Feb (and still going). The attention to detail is appalling, the communication is non existent, when they do speak with you it's rude, arrogant and you're treated like a fool. Most of the subcontractors were good, the problem was mainly with the site supervisor who was keen to cut as many corners as possible. Likewise invoices were issued sometimes up to 3 weeks before the work was finished. To say we are totally disappointed and frustrated is an understatement.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Addbuild Additions Official

Dear Fed-up We have attempted to make contact through the private email facility offered by Product Review but have not heard back from you. Perhaps the email did not reach you so we will post this... read more »

Dear Addbuild Thank you for making contact so quickly. Rest assured this review is genuine and I do find it concerning that you are unable to identify us, which can only mean we are not the only o... read more »

Addbuild Additions Official

Please contact us via [email protected] or contact our Sales & Technical Manager, Tony Geary, on 02 875-1555 identifying yourself so that we can address your concerns.

See all 4 comments

1 of 2 pages


Questions & Answers

Hi what is your starting price for a double storey house with 5 beds (2 on ground level) 4 baths 2 car park on 396 sqm land? Full brick house. Also please tell what you include in your price?

DJJ asked on Apr 21, 2017

Answer this

Thank you for your enquiry. Every home has different requirements and therefore all our additions are custom designed to meet your specific needs. Please contact us by phone 8765155 or email [email protected] and we will arrange one of our consultants to ring you and make a time for a free design meeting with you at your home.