• 1 review
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

Bring Amazon US back please! Amazon au is a rip off!!!

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 13, 2018

Not at all happy with the Amazon Au. I was really excited at first when it was introduced but realized shortly that there are very limited option and everything's super expensive. It is a scam to prevent Australians from buying freely. Please bring free trade back and allow Consumers to buy what they want from wherever they want.

5 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Amazon Australia is rubbish

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 11, 2018

Amazon Australia does NOT work with the new Kindle Direct Publishing. Their help desk is NOT based in Australia and they do NOT know how to work with the Australian Market. They have had a dummy spit over GST in Australia which totally reduces the value of their services.

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Bathurst

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 answer
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Mixed results

2 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 10, 2018

I've had very mixed results purchasing from Amazon AU. My first few order were successful, good price and quick delivery, however this has changed rapidly, I've had an order that did not ship despite Amazon stating the item was "on its way", the item was never delivered, which resulted in a refund and recently I've ordered items that have taken several days for the order status to change from ordered to shipped, again despite the Amazon AU site stating the item would ship the next day, and this has been for items fulfilled by Amazon in Australia. I've also found that Amazon pricing isn't very competitive. For a company that sells itself as being a logistic power house, my experience hasn't been very impressive. I personally find eBay to be a better place for purchasing online, a wider variety of products, competitive pricing, accurate shipping and delivery information and more established.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 25 reviews
  • 49 comments
  • 3 questions
  • 38 answers
  • 58 helpful votes
Private message

Limited range, high prices, restrictive trade practices - and they LIE!

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 09, 2018

I agree with the complaints about limited range, high prices and blocking access to the US & UK sites.

Recently I purchased a music blu-ray disc and signed up to a trial of Amazon Prime to get free shipping.

Amazon cancelled the order claiming the manufacturer had cancelled the release of the disc. Clearly, this was untrue as people were leaving reviews on the US & UK sites. When I challenged them they admitted it was just out of stock and more stock was coming soon. They would not re-instate the order and told me I had to re-order it myself. When I challenged this I was promised a $10 off voucher. When I went to re-order the item, the price was higher, there was no $10 voucher and I could no longer get the free shipping.

Making an error and cancelling the order is one thing - lying about it is another. Amazon Australia sucks.

PS: I bought the disc from WOWHD.

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Don’t trust their next day delivery option with Australia post

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 07, 2018

Purchase an Amazon Echo and paid for next day delivery to Australia Post Parcel locker through delivery from Australia post, confirmation of delivery with tracking number "Your Amazon.com.au order of "Amazon Echo (2nd..." has been shipped". I was expecting a delivery but instead I got this message from the email "Re: Delivery attempted: 'Amazon Echo (2nd...' Sorry we missed you. We tried, but we weren't able to deliver your package today. Please contact us to arrange the pickup." I paid for next day delivery to Parcel locker.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Terrible and not even listening to requests for access to US and UK | Prices are higher and no prod

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 07, 2018

Music, no product range, no track listings. Prices are higher than UK and US Amazon. An open market it is not, forced to buy through Australian site. The GST can easily be applied and is through other sites like ebay and Discogs. Only a matter of time until they pull out of Australia and then they will want the customers back they have already lost. I ordered a CD then a month later, we cannot get the CD, it was "In Stock" when I ordered!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

brisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 10 answers
  • 8 helpful votes
Private message

their prices are more than supermarkets

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 06, 2018

the range is useless
the prices are not worth the problem
no food at all, some products lacking interests completely

Was this review helpful? Yes

Amazon rip off

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 06, 2018

No Way ...Trying to buy a book but forced now to buy through amazon AU, prior I would have paid US $16 + $4 shipping = $28 AUD. Using Amazon AU the price is $85 ...that’s $57 more...200% more ... ripoff to the max where the fair go in almost this???

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Total Scam! Kindle Unlimited Subscription

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 06, 2018

I was so excited when Amazon decided to come to Australia. My family and friends overseas all raved about it. Unfortunately, I was subscribed without my knowledge to Amazon Kindle Unlimited. They charged me every month for 9 months. When I logged into my Amazon account looking for subscriptions to see whether those charges were correct it said “you do not have xxxx subscription... please sign up”. I assumed that means I don’t have any subscriptions and so I gave them a call. When I called The first employee said that lots of people had this issue and not to worry, they will refund me. When I was transferred over and spoke to another employee, he said that he couldn’t see my subscriptions and put me on hold. When he returned he refused to provide a full refund. They say they’re making an exception by refunding several months when they took the money unwittingly from me in the first place! I’ve worked in e-commerce before and I’m in utter disbelief. This is definitely not best practice. I have purchased e-kindle books from them previously at full price and loved it but after this, I don’t trust Amazon and may get rid of my Kindle all together.

I don’t think I ll be shopping here ever again and telling all my family and friends to beware.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Gold Coast

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Cheap, quick, top service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 05, 2018

You cannot go wrong with Amazon in Australia. Great service, quick delivery, even better if you subscribe to Prime! The customer service is way better than eBay and also the returns are very easy. With Prime comes also Prime Video, so no need for Netflix or Stan anymore.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Charged for book that did not arrive

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 05, 2018

Very unhappy - ripped off. My book did not arrive yet I was charged $65. I have tried contacting them through the links on the email but to no avail. I will never order again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 comments
  • 3 answers
  • 47 helpful votes
Private message

Used to be AU$20.80 from Amazon US. Cheapest on Amazon AU is AU$62.42.

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 04, 2018

First time I tried to use Amazon since the "non shipping to Australia". Ridiculous markup. Will have to try and find it elsewhere, ebay has item for $35 plus gst. Still a ripoff.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer

Terrible company

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 04, 2018

The website is difficult to navigate and find stuff. But I managed to get some nappies and chips I wanted.

The nappies clearly failed QA for supermarkets as the tabs are not well sown, so some just break as you use them and are useless, the chips are sold in bulk pack of 12, but are short dated, this wasn’t explained in the description, how am I supposed to eat 12 packs in a few days???

Avoid buying food from them, no best before date written.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Amazing Australia sucks

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 02, 2018

I cannot find any of the items I used to buy from Amazon US. When I came to Australia, I still ordered stuff from Amazon US, now they do not ship to Australia anymore and Amazon Australia is completely useless. Please just get rid of Amazon Australia and let us buy from international websites

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Amazon Australia is useless

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 02, 2018

I have been an Amazon customer from close to the beginning - it was great - but l can’t use it any longer. It seems that GST was used as an excuse to limit the market. The assumption is that most people expect very little. Now, apart from price hikes, particular books or music for example that are only available at amazon.de or amazon.in for example, are now inaccessible. Amazon is no longer an international player. You have made a smaller, meaner world.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Melbourne

  • 13 reviews
  • 3 comments
  • 9 helpful votes
Private message

Con Artists - Be Very Careful - [name removed] is trying to use the same tactics in OZ

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 29, 2018

I was selling stuff briefly for a few weeks and then asked to cancel my account as the fees were too high and it was generally rubbish. They basically refused to get back to me and now have customers emailing me about products that no longer exist. They basically just try and extort money out of you and if you want out they don't respond. They will eventually pull out of OZ cos it hasn't worked.

Was this review helpful? Yes

SYDNEY

  • 25 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 3 answers
  • 20 helpful votes
Private message

Amazon, please shut down amazon.com.au and let us shop on .com and co.uk

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 28, 2018

Rubbish. Most stuff is overpriced, and while you can buy from resellers - shipping takes a month or longer, and items get "lost by the shipper" (as happened to me in a recent order, which at least was refunded).

When we bought from the US and UK sites, it was despatched within the day and arrived with 5-7 business days via Royal Mail, DHL, or US Post.

The Australian site is second rate and poorly serviced. Amazon probably did better from the Australian market just letting us shop on their international sites.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 answer
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Never Again

2 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 27, 2018

Recently used Amazon Au to buy a few DVD'S. Took my payment and card details then nothing. Logged back into my account shows no items purchased. Then after 2 weeks later my card shows a payment taken by Amazon AU. So I log back into my account shows no purchases. i will never purchase from them again..dodgy dodgy dodgy..

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 comments
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Confused! Amazon Australia's range limited and more expensive than local retailers.

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 26, 2018

I'm still confused! When considering foreign markets, my understanding was new entrants collect data from several sources to assess the potential of attracting new customers and improving profits. Ideally, you would utilise in-house technology & systems, replicate the existing purchase experience, partner with local suppliers, reduce delivery time/cost and provide an equal or greater service than the one your customers experience now.

So, what happened? I realise launching in new markets is challenging, however initial experiences are important. Mine was dreadful. I have not purchased anything since the launch, however, searched site recently for new runners. The brand is only available on the US site, which we can't access any longer.

I confident this will change over time, but not sure I'll be back for a while.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Melbourne

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Good service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 25, 2018

Very happy with Amazon Australia. Purchased a RFID credit card wallet and passport wallet. Amazon generously also sent an additional gift. Website was easy to follow and delivery was prompt and by the due date
Thank you Amazon Australia

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

4 of 21 pages


Questions & Answers