Love, love, love our Barrier Reef Pool

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 28, 2018

10 years ago we owned our first house and decided to put in a small pool at the side of our house, the Barrier Reef staff were amazing in all the help that they gave us in installing our first pool. Their knowledge and advice was greatly appreciated and we loved our pool. We lived in that house for 8 years and never had a single issue with the pool, it had no fading even after all those years. I think that was due to closely following the care instructions given to us by Barrier Reef. So when built our new home we didn't even consider to look at another brand of pools. It is Barrier Reef all the way for us. Not only is it a great product but great customer service. Thanks Barrier Reef

Was this review helpful? Yes

New pool going swimmingly!

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 08, 2018

My hubby and I chose to go with BRP as we were impressed with the quality assurance they offered. We can't fault them at all- from the first interaction, to the install, right though to the finished product- their staff are so helpful and professional and we are so pleased with our beautiful pool. Thanks BRP!

Was this review helpful? Yes

MANGO HILL

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 2 answers
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Highly recommend - Venice 8.5m X 4.5m

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 27, 2018

We built our New Home in 2017 & after much pondering, opted for a Barrier Reef Pool. From start to end Barrier Reef based at Burpengary & Logan were BRILLIANT to deal with. 1-year on they're still helpful (had issues with the Dolphin Robot) they came within 24-hours & rectified, what more could you ask for.

We would HIGHLY recommend & would certainly use again for the next build.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Quality Product and Great Service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 24, 2018

Barrier Reef Pools installed our pool over two years ago and we just had a minor issue with our pump. I contacted them on monday and the issue was fixed two days later. This is good old fashioned service that very few companies seem to uphold these days. Thanks again Barrier Reef for the excellent after sales service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Fantastic product

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 12, 2018

My 3rd fibreglass pool and still the same great product and service. Highly recommended.
Cameron has been fantastic, the install team were complete professionals.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Best in business

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 12, 2018

Great service amazing product, did my research and very happy , they delivered on time no hassle, Steve was amazing

Was this review helpful? Yes

Thanks barrier reef for another great experience

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 05, 2018

We have installed 2 pools with brp now and both times were a great experience. Thanks to the whole team for making our back yard something special.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Melbourne

  • 1 review
  • 2 comments
  • 8 helpful votes
Private message

Pool gel coat fading and patchy

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 21, 2018

We installed the billabong fibreglass pool in 2015.
The pool is just over 2 years old and the gel coat is fading. We can now see spray marks and the pool looks patchy and faded. The shell feels chalky and a little rough under the waterline. We opted for infloor cleaning which has kept the pool sparkling. Water chemistry has always been excellent and this is evident with all our water test print-outs from the pool shop. Have contacted the pool installer which has forwarded our email and contact details to barrier reef pools.
Absolutely devastated. Our life savings are in that pool!
Thought we were buying the best. Obviously Not!

21st January 2018. As an update we have had a rep from the gel coat company come and inspect our pool. He stated that it was due to chlorine bleaching. We have water test results from the day of installation and find this very hard to believe as for our local pool shop who has all of the water test results on their data base and has looked at the ph and Chlorine levels.

We were provided with a marine cutting compound to try to correct the problem ourselves with hard rubbing. This is not an easy thing to test let alone drain the entire pool and fix.

We will now provide all of the information we have to our lawyer to attempt to have this major faulty problem corrected. As we have seen many other people have the exact same problem so I dare say that this is a widespread and known problem that BRP is deliberately attempting to cover up and refuses to acknowledge that they have a serious fault with their gel coat.

8 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Barrier Reef Pools Australia Official

Brp are a very honourable company and unfortunately not every one looks after there pool like they should. if u can supply some form of pool records we will be more that happy to assist you with a warranty.

As stated above we have already supplied water tests and had the gel coat representative attend our premises . We take huge offence to your comment about not looking after our pool. Very unprofessi... read more »

Barrier Reef Pools Australia Official

Hi Chantel, we apologise for the above comment. The staff member who replied was not aware of your file and they have been spoken to about such a response. We will continue to work with you and th... read more »

See all 4 comments

Kilcoy

  • 1 review
  • 2 comments
  • 1 question
  • 2 answers
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

Inferior product, poor after-sales support with potential warranty issues.

2 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 24, 2017

To anyone thinking of installing a Barrier Reef Pool: Caveat emptor!

Please take note of all the very similar complaints here on this site. More than co-incidence perhaps?

My husband and I had quotes done from both Barrier Reef Pools (BRP) and another manufacturer of a concrete pool, (who had been the maker of the pool in our previous home and which we had been very happy with) before deciding on BRP.

The salesman made the BRP product sound so superior to others and made claims about the end result being level and so on so we decided to go ahead bearing in mind a slightly lesser cost and a quicker total installation time.
If we could turn back the clock, we’d show the salesman and BRP the door!

The deal included the pool being filled. Sadly some of the water brought in was brown and muddy and totally unacceptable. Once that was rectified (not using our filter-as suggested by BRP!!) and the pool was filled, we were extremely disappointed to see that the pool was not level, but around 25 mm higher at one end. The tilers appeared one day unannounced to do the pool surround. We had a pressure switch swim jet installed. The switch failed one year ago.

Now we are 3 years down the track and the grouting is falling out of the coping joints, the gel coat is rough with the colour fading and chalky, and also most recently noted something similar to what Michelle describes: round indents (not wax build up as suggested to Michelle by BRP-she quite clearly stated twice “holes”) in the gelcoat in 4 areas of the pool.

When we first approached BRP to report our problem, (with photographs) 8 months ago, their immediate response was that there was a water management problem. Luckily, the testing results were all saved online to show to BRP the records since installation 3 years previously.
We have all of our water testing results since installation, so we dispute that there is an issue with water management.

Despite being assured someone from gelcoat manufacture would come and assess, we will now be waiting until 2018 until the rep returns from holiday. The only date of inspection offered was unfortunately not suitable as we were not going to be home and could not rearrange to suit. BRP has not exactly been a prompt respondent nor enthusiastic investigator to our problem and we feel very disappointed to say the least. We also feel that their attitude is to apportion blame to the owner at the mention of such a problem with allegations of poor water chemical management, despite evidence to the contrary.

If it is no problem to get a salesman, an installation team and tiler organized by BRP so rapidly once you’ve signed the contract; why is the crucial-to-business importance of after-sales resolution such a neglected area with them? (As apparent from this site and others)

So, we await the gelcoat manufacturer’s assessment and if no further forwards after that we will have no other recourse than to seek legal advice.
Would anyone with similar gelcoat issues be interested in a private discussion?

Lesley

5 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Barrier Reef Pools Australia Official

Hi Lesley, an email has been sent to yourself and your husband in relation to the above points. As this issue is still being investigated we will not be making any further comment on this site unt... read more »

Hi ???? from Barrier Reef Pools, (you did not leave your name). Thank you for your reply anyway! I think I will also not make further comment other than say with all due respect, our ideas of pro... read more »

Barrier Reef Pools Australia Official

Hi Lesley, we have been in touch with your husband this week and advised where it is up to. I would suggest that you consult with him as he has been accepting of the emails that have been sent to date in relation to the inspection.
Thanks

See all 4 comments

Gosford

  • 1 review
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Inexperienced and unprofessional

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 21, 2017

Very disappointed with the NSW office. Their poor product knowledge, lack of manners and inexperience made us change our minds about proceeding with them.

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Barrier Reef Pools Australia Official

Hi Brad, we do not like to hear that our independant dealers have not been helpful to any potential customer. If you would like to discuss please feel free to contact the head office on 07 5541 09... read more »

Excellent value & service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 28, 2017

Everything was perfect from the first phone call to hand over - excellent value, always kept up to date, site was left clean and tidy upon handover and would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Barrier Reef Pools Australia Official

Thankyou for your Review Donna, we hope you enjoy you pool for many years to come

Newcastle

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 helpful votes
Private message

Awesome service.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 16, 2017

Had our pool measured and installed by barrier reef pools. Customer service was great and very reasonably priced. So far so good.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Barrier Reef Pools Australia Official

Thanks for your review Ian, great to hear the team in Newcastle have done a good job

Awsome team

5 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 24, 2017

Couldn't as for a a more professional team from start to finish with our pool.
We are super excited to be able to swim in our pool.
The workmanship is beyond perfect.
Cheers to the Barrier Reef team in Heatherbrae NSW

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Barrier Reef Pools Australia Official

Thanks for your review Angela, good to hear the Newcastle team have done an excellent job.

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 comments
  • 2 answers
  • 6 helpful votes
Private message

You don't get what you order

1 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 23, 2017

Be aware about this company they sell you a nice pool and the lining starts to crack and lift after 2-3 Years and they are not prepared to replace it as "they installed" it properly. Very bad attitude. later on they trie to tell you you should have read to warranty :(

6 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Barrier Reef Pools Australia Official

Hi Thomas as per previous messages and emails we are trying to work through this with you. If you want to have the matter resolved then please contact us to continue the resolution process.

I am still awaiting your results from your court case for the replacement of our pool. It was never our idea to replace the pool. Your company representative suggested this to us. As the pool get older the bubbles get more and more. :(

Barrier Reef Pools Australia Official

This isn't the platform to be discussing anything confidential. If you would like to continue discussions then you have the contact information. Thankyou

See all 4 comments

Bribie Island

  • 2 reviews
Private message

Verified Customer

Smooth and Professional

5 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 01, 2017

On time, great attitude, reassuring, got what we asked for and they went above and beyond to help us with compliance issues. We were worried with such a large purchase but everything ran smoothly and we are extremely happy with our inground pool and Barrier Reef Pools Burpengary. Thankyou very much from Cathrine and Larry, Bellara, QLD.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Barrier Reef Pools Australia Official

Thanks for your review Cathrine, we hope you are enjoying your pool as this weather heats up

  • 1 review
  • 14 helpful votes
Private message

Gelcoat faded and chalky after two years

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 31, 2017

Pool installation team excellent - pool shell not so. Paid extra for the sparkly gelcoat, that appears to have gone all chalky. The water balance has always been good, took the cover off after winter and the gelcoat is patchy, you can see spray gun marks all over it. Just looks terrible. White chalky edging on three sides of pool near waterline. Just hope it doesn't continue to break down.

14 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Barrier Reef Pools Australia Official

HI John, if you can contact us via info@barrierreefpools.com we can work through this issue with you. Alternatively you can call the head office on 07 5541 0944 and asked to be put through to the ... read more »

Brisbane

  • 1 review
  • 1 question
  • 2 answers
  • 6 helpful votes
Private message

Another depressing Christmas

2 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 23, 2016

This is our 4th miserable Christmas looking out at our cracked Barrier Reef pool and no one including the manufacturer or the agent who sold it to us has taken any responsibility. The pool was only 6 or 7 years old when it cracked.

6 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Barrier Reef Pools Australia Official

HI Tony, as per our messages below can you please contact us via info@barrierreefpools.com so that we can look into this issue you have reported.
Thanks in advance

Barrier Reef Pools Australia Official

Hi Tony, just to keep the thread updated for other people on this site i thought i would note where we are up to. On one of your previous responses (email correspondence) you have stated that you ... read more »

HEATHERBRAE BARRIER REEF POOLS

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 14, 2016

We have just had our Slimline Pool installed from Heatherbrae Barrier Reef. Antony was our contact and provided us with excellent information and follow ups, he was always available and prompt in returning our calls. Beck, the secretary was a great source of information an help, and always available. The installers Shaun and Dan were fantastic, slaving in the hot sun, got the pool in and set up in two days, spread our dug out soil and levelled it as part of the process, explained the workings and unit etc. Try other pool suppliers if you like but you wont get the kind of service we had from Antony and his crew at Barrier Reef Heatherbrae. Also has a great list of concreters, tilers, and any other service they recommend and use. Thanks guys. Off for a refresh in the cool of the pool.... Ian Fern Bay Seaside

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Barrier Reef Pools Australia Official

Thankyou for your feedback! It is great to hear that all went smoothly with the purchase and installation of your Barrier Reef pool, we hope you enjoy it over the Summer months.

Plainland, QLD

  • 1 review
  • 1 question
Private message

Thumbs up

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 25, 2016

Burpengary branch - Everything went smoothly and on time highly recommend using this company we live in the Lockyer valley and nothing was an issue. So far no problems and the pool lols great Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Barrier Reef Pools Australia Official

Thanks for the feedback, we hope you enjoy your Barrier Reef pool over the Summer months.

Cedar Grove

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Barrier Reef Pools Friendly staff!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 26, 2016

I would like to take this opportunity to say a huge thanks to this company down at Beaudesert Qld. When I went in to have look for an inground pool, I was greeted by a lovely lady who showed me around, She was most helpful, as were the rest of the team!

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Barrier Reef Pools Australia Official

HI Nolene,
Thankyou for your review, it is great to hear that you have received such great service from our Barrier Reef team. If there is anything further we can do to assist you in your purchase please don't hesitate to contact the office.

1 of 2 pages


Questions & Answers

If a pool is damaged before delivery what happens? Do you expect your sales reps to contact the consumer to offer a repair refund or replacement or is it just repaired without consultation from the consumer?

New pool buyer asked on May 18, 2018

Answer this

Unfortunately we didn't experience this but yes, I'd expect the Rep to contact you & rectify. When our pool was delivered & was left at an empty section opposite us. It was there for about 3 days & didn't sustain any damage.

I have nothing negative about Barrier Reef, they were brilliant throughout our process.

I hope I've been of help.

Thanks

Has anyone had experience with pool installation by Barrier Reef Pools in SouthEast Melbourne - Beaconsfield, Officer, Pakenham area and worked with Josh from Barrier Reef Pools. How has your installation been and what has the Pre Installation and post installation service been like.

Ken asked on May 04, 2018

Answer this

Unfortunately we can't help as we're South East Qld. However just to share, we had NO issues. Barrier Reef both Logan & Burpengary were FANTASTIC during the whole process & continue to be (we're nearing our 1-yr installation).

Sorry & thanks

I am having my pool installed right now and concerned about the Gel coat issues on the page. How many, if any Gel coat warranty claims have you honoured, as it appears there are some unhappy customers. One appears to have all of the water tests but still the warranty claim was not honoured. What must I do to ensure there are no issues and then you honour a claim should the Gel coat fail?

prefer to be positive. asked on Jan 31, 2018

Answer this

Thankyou for your question. Our warranty states that you must have your pool water tested monthly by a registered company and the records are to be kept. This is a requirement of our gelcoat suppliers. We will provide you with a pool guide booklet that explains in detail what the water chemistry level should be and the affects on the gelcoat if they are outside of these recommended levels. The booklet is based on the Australian Standards. You also need to be mindful of the filtration system that you are installing and any maintenance/calibrating requirements that might be applicable. I can not comment on specific cases reported on this site due to privacy. If you would like to discuss anything please feel free to email info@barrierreefpools.com and we will assist further.

Don't buy it ! We had to give our pool issues to a Solicitor in Brisbane to deal with this fraudster company. They try everything not to help you and when you complain they don't even bother to write you back.

See all 11 questions about Barrier Reef Pools