Filter By:

Insurance claim made

Could be Better

3 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 16, 2018

I have been with this Insurance Co for a couple of years now. My daughter researched companies and found Bowwow.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Bow Wow Meow Pet Insurance Official

Thanks for the feedback Irene. However, we would love to hear where we went wrong and how you think we could improve. Please can you send further details to insurance@bowwow.com.au. If there was a ... read more »

Verified Customer Insurance claim made

Absolute scam

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 15, 2018

My puppy went into the vet and had to stay in for 48hours due to severe gastro, submitted claim however they refused to cover due to 2 months earlier my puppy had her 3rd booster And I mentioned she has a small touch of an upset stomach, vet said it was because of introduction of new food but bow wow meow feels that was the first sign of gastro even though the vet disagrees. Stay away from bow wow meow I should have gone with my gut and recommendations from others and taken policy’s out with Petplan, safe to say I will be cancelling all 6 of my policy’s.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Bow Wow Meow Pet Insurance Official

Hi Dave G, I am very sorry to hear that you have had a poor experience. We would like to assist with this. Please can you e-mail your policy number to insurance@bowwow.com.au so that our resolution... read more »

Verified Customer Insurance claim made

Claims process is fantastic!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 13, 2018

We have never taken out insurance for our animals, but after losing both our rotties to cancer within 9 months of each other, we decided that with the next dog we will definitely get insurance. We took insurance out with Bow Wow in January 2016 after we got Samson at twelve weeks old. I compared a lot of insurances and Bow Wow ticked the most boxes. Of course, taking out insurance is the easy part, the hardest part is getting claims paid.
I did not claim anything for quite awhile. I made my first claim after Samson had an ear infection which resulted in quite an expensive bill. He is quite a big Rottweiler cross, and as weight plays a big part in dosage of medication, it always cost a lot of money. I followed the instructions online when I lodged my claim, made sure I had a full medical history from the vet and all my bills attached to the claim. I was reimbursed 80% of the cost within three weeks. The first claim took the longest. The second claim lodged about a month ago was paid within 5 working days. Samson had been diagnosed with atopic dermatitis and the bills for this from the dermatologist ( yes there is an animal dermatologist) is quite expensive.

The claims process was even better this last time as they had improved the process of lodging a claim online. Very impressed with the whole process.

I am very glad I went with Bow Wow for pet insurance. As long as your pet has no pre-existing condition, there is no issue with getting the claim paid.

Having the insurance also means peace of mind knowing that we can give Samson the treatments he needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Bow Wow Meow Pet Insurance Official

Hi Monique, I am glad the new claims process is working well. We did spend a lot of time upgrading it. Glad Samson got the treatment he needed and you have peace of mind with our cover. Thank you for the review. It is appreciated.

Insurance claim made

WHAT A SPEEDY RESULT - THANKS SO MUCH xxx

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 12, 2018

We have been with Bow Wow for approx 6 years and this was our 1st claim - Claim was received by Bow Wow via post on the 9th Oct 2018 and was processed and refund in our bank on the 12th - what a great result - thanks - will recommend Bow Wow to any friends who are thinking of taking out pet insurance - good work guys!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Bow Wow Meow Pet Insurance Official

Thanks for the review Carol. Glad we matched or exceeded your expectations. Have a great weekend!

Insurance claim made

Great so far keep up the good work

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 11, 2018

12months
I have made a couple of claims now and they have gone flawlessly. Love the convenience of doing on line.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Bow Wow Meow Pet Insurance Official

Good to hear. Thank you for sharing Phillippa

Insurance claim made

happy bow wow customer

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 11, 2018

I have been with bow wow for 12 months now and very happy with this company. have made 3 claims and found claim process easy and quick, staff are helpful and advised me of policy suitable for my dog. glad I took out pet insurance

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Bow Wow Meow Pet Insurance Official

Appreciate the review Harvey and glad your claims have gone through smoothly

Insurance claim made

Dog poisoned rushed to emergency vet - Not covered???

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 09, 2018

Not been with them long, was with Bupa before who were excellent and only moved because it just got too expensive.
I am really disappointed as at the time I needed them most they were not there to help.
My dog was poisoned somehow in the garden we think as he came in hiccupping/chocking and his eyes started to close. He ended up at the emergency vet having his stomach pumped.
This was not covered as an accidental injury - although spider bites, snake bites, burns, car accident etc is! How is this not an accidental injury? I am really upset and shocked they would not cover this.

Just a heads up for those looking to go with them - go in with the mindset that nothing really is covered within the waiting period and you'll be ok.

I was lucky our bill was only $330 but that is not the point.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Bow Wow Meow Pet Insurance Official

Thanks for your feedback Csp. You are correct, this is not covered under accident cover. I am sorry we could not assist. We have identified this as a change in our cover in our 'new soon to be rele... read more »

Insurance claim made

Timely refund

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 09, 2018

I have been with Bow Wow only for 6 months so I'm glad I decided to take out my pet insurance when i did! My poor fur baby accumulated a very large account in only a couple of days, which would have been a struggle without my pet insurance. The process using the portal was quick and easy and refund was in my account within days! I'm happy to recommend this insurance company to my friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Bow Wow Meow Pet Insurance Official

Thanks for that TP. Appreciate the review.

Insurance claim made

Excellent communication and no conflicts with what our policy offered and what we received. Very hap

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 09, 2018

Approximately 7 years registered within 4 weeks of purchasing our dog. With the hope we never had to use it.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Insurance claim made

Peace of mind.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 08, 2018

I have had my pets insured with Bow Wow Meow for approximately 5 years and have been most impressed with the friendly handling of any queries I have had. Claims have been dealt with in a speedy manner. I continually recommend pet insurance to all my pet loving friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sydney, Australia

  • 2 reviews
Private message

Insurance claim made

Felt very supported

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 07, 2018

I have been with Bow Wow Meow for eight months. Knowing that I would be able to recuperate more than half the costs of medical treatment for my puppy meant I felt supported and able to afford the care he needed when he was in emergency recently with a serious stomach issue. I couldn't believe how quickly my claim was processed, and it made me feel so relieved that I had invested in pet insurance through you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Bow Wow Meow Pet Insurance Official

Good to hear your claim went through smoothly. Thanks for the review Danielle.

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Insurance claim made

Great Pet Insurance Claims Process

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 05, 2018

Have been with BowWowMeow Insurance just over 3 years. First pet insurance I've ever signed my dog up for.

Eski was diagnosed out of the blue with luxating patella and had to undergo surgery. Submission of the claim was simple through an intuitive self serve portal, and assessment and claim payment was done swiftly once all documents were provided. It actually took 3 business days to be finalized!

Impressed with the simplicity and speed of the whole process. Highly recommended!

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Bow Wow Meow Pet Insurance Official

Thank you for the review Dan. Glad it was so easy.

BURLEIGH HEADS

  • 1 review
  • 1 comment
Private message

Insurance claim made

Exceptional service and quick payment!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 05, 2018

I have been with 'Bow Wow Meow' for 2 years. They have been easy to talk to and and quick in response to a claim. 'Bow Wow Meow' processed my claim, refunding entitled amounts into my account within the week. Highly recommended!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Bow Wow Meow Pet Insurance Official

Great to hear. Thanks Simon

A pleasure!

Insurance claim made

My best friend

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 05, 2018

We have had our GSP insured with you for nearly seven years,we have been very happy
With our past claims .

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Bow Wow Meow Pet Insurance Official

Thank you for sharing Sue.

Bow Wow Meow Pet Insurance Official

Thank you for sharing Sue.

Insurance claim made

Good Pet Insurance is Bow Wow Meow

4 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 05, 2018

Good payout from claim in September 2018. Thought the amount of documentation was excessive but we were able to comply with same

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Bow Wow Meow Pet Insurance Official

Thanks David. The first claims require all the vet history. However, if you need to claim again, it will be easier as we have all the detail on file now.

Insurance claim made

Kokomo our loving Newfoundland

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 05, 2018

Our Newfoundland had a heart attack and thankfully he survived. Fortunately with pet insurance we were able to claim from Bow Wow Meow.
He takes medication now and is doing well.
Have been with the Insurance Company almost two years and this is our only claim. The staff and service has been excellent. Highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Bow Wow Meow Pet Insurance Official

Thank you Steemer. Glad to hear he survived and we were able to assist.

Brisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 questions
  • 3 answers
Private message

Insurance claim made

Great service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 05, 2018

Been with company for a year. had recent mishap at dog park. Claim for surgery was processed very efficiently.
Happy with my choice of service provider

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Bow Wow Meow Pet Insurance Official

Thanks for sharing Jay

Insurance claim made

Great Company and great customer experience and satisfaction

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 05, 2018

I have my dog insured for 3 years and ever since I have experienced nothing but great customer service. When I first joined they did not have an online claim. This process took a long time to complete and also get a claim approved was time-consuming due to the fact that everything needed to be mailed out. However, with the ONLINE option, my claims are processed within two to five working days. I would highly recommend Bow Wow Meow Pet Insurance and also there annual reviews on policies do not increase by much.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Bow Wow Meow Pet Insurance Official

Thanks Ozgur, appreciate the review. Glad to hear the online claim portal is working well.

Insurance claim made

I was surprised at the speed and ease of making a claim. It was great.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 05, 2018

Just over 1 year this month. I have been very happy with the service so far. Thank you nothing further to say.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Bow Wow Meow Pet Insurance Official

Hi LOrlj, we are happy we exceeded your expectations. Thanks for the review.

Redlands

  • 2 reviews
Private message

Insurance claim made

Happy with outcome

4 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 05, 2018

I have been with Bow wow meow for 12 months. I changed from Pet Plan after 7 years as a new underwriter had commence and my premiums with them almost doubled ! I had acquired a new puppy and had a two year old Dogue De Bordeaux and I was able to get both of them insured for less than one with petplan ! The only problem was that due to some pre existing conditions with my Dogue I was unable to get cover for some conditions such as skin, which is a common ailment in Mastiffs. Te processing of the claim was speedy ( much quicker than Petplan) and there were no discrepancies. I would highly recommend Bow wow meow to anyone but particulay with new Puppies or kittens.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Bow Wow Meow Pet Insurance Official

Hi Lee, thank you for the review. Glad we could assist quickly with the claim.

1 of 77 pages


Questions & Answers

I am considering starting a policy for our 2 dogs. I'm concerned that the premiums will skyrocket each time the policy is renewed. My dogs are 7 and 8. What annual % increase can I expect? If I make a claim, does that result in premium increasing? If so, by how much? Also, with the 10% for second dog, do I get that discount each time the policy is renewed? Thanks.

Jenny asked on Oct 13, 2018

Answer this

Hi Jenny, these are all great questions. It is difficult to answer though as premiums are also dependent on variables that are not known such as vet inflation and the claim frequency of our book. Your claim history does have a small impact on premium. The 10% multi pet discount, is a discount that is applied through the life of the policy so you do retain it on renewal. With older pets, premiums do increase. We try limit this to a cap of 15% as we like to avoid raising prices by huge amounts (it is important to note that there is no pricing guarantee and we reserve the right to increase if need be though). Hope this helps answer your questions.

Hi do your policy cover blocked gland? consult at a vet where the vet manually expresses and may have to do this regularly thanks Gary

Gary asked on Sep 12, 2018

Answer this

Hi Gary, if the glands are being routinely expressed or expressed as a preventative procedure or Elective Treatment by a vet or nurse, this will not be covered. This exclusion is listed under ‘Day to Day’ care in section 6 of the PDS. “preventative procedures and treatment (including, but not limited to, vaccinations, routine gland expression, flea/tick/worm control)”, as well as preventable procedures and Elective Treatments.
In cases where the pet requires medical treatment for the gland due to impaction, infection, abscess or rupture, we may cover the Treatment under Illness Cover provided the Condition is not Pre-existing.

Never made a claim until our beloved dog Henry died aged 9. Phoned Bow Wow Meow who said no need to put extra details in only the most recent treatment that we are making our claim for. Followed all the online prompts only to have a request for ALL vet treatment during his lifetime, pathology reports and X ray results. How come other owners have their claims paid out immediately? Very disappointed!

Henry asked on Aug 21, 2018

Answer this

Hi Henry, I am sorry you are disappointed - my apologies. Please can you e-mail your policy number to insurance@bowwow.com.au so that we can investigate and sort out for you. Thanks

See all 134 questions about Bow Wow Meow Pet Insurance