The Bugaboo Donkey has been replaced by the newer Bugaboo Donkey 2 model.

Models:

Model: Twin

Headache.

2 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 27, 2018

I read all the reviews before buying the bugaboo donkey and thought it would be great, However it's just a big bundle of stress. Don't get me wrong it has its perks, it looks great and comfortable to push around, but if you like to browse around shops or even around the streets it's so difficult. Heavy, you need a very big trunk in your car and bearly fits in doorways, shopping aisles or anywhere for that matter. Wouldn't recommend this for anyone living in a city centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Bugaboo Official

Hi Johnaldinho, Thank you for sharing your review. Your feedback is really important to us as it helps improve our products. We will pass your feedback onto our design team at HQ as we are conti... read more »

Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 1 comment
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Model: Duo

Worst purchase I have ever made! Quality is absolutely rubbish for the price

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 28, 2018

I had a bugaboo cam3 with my first born and absolutely loved it so when I was expecting my second child there was with no doubt I was going to purchase the donkey. I purchased my pram in July of 2017. At the beginning I wasn’t to sure if I had made the right choice and since then I have had my frame replaced as it was crooked, underbasket, seat fabric and a seat frame! The foam in the frame started to split after only a few months and the fabric stiching was coming undone not to mention the frame was tilted to one side and the basket was playing up and would catch everytime I collapsed the pram. when I met with the bugaboo rep even she admitted all my issues were not right for the age of the pram! I had my frame replaced with a 2016 frame when I originally had a 2017, my basket was replaced with a donkey2 basket and now my pram looks all mis matched and like a fake! the stiching is coming undone again and I can see the same little splits in the frame! Not to mention my phone holder which is $50 alone is broken. Please beware just because you are paying more doesn’t mean you are getting the best! I like to keep my things neat and look after my pram but not the quality you would expect on a $2 thousand + product.

Purchased at: Baby Kingdom

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Bugaboo Official

Hi Thalia, Thank you for sharing your review. We’re sorry to hear you have not had a positive experience with your Bugaboo pram. We understand that you have previously been in contact with ... read more »

Ofcourse bugaboo respond on here and send you 1 response and after that nothing. I sent another email asking what was happening with no reply. They are not as willing to help you as they make out

Bugaboo Official

Hi Thalia, We have spoken with our service team, who have been in correspondence with you and understand some issues you are experiencing fall under wear and tear, however any issues covered und... read more »

Gold coast

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Model: Duo

Amazing!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 11, 2018

How amazing is this pram!! It has every feature you could ask for, looks stylish and rolls easy. The kids fit perfectly in it and looks comfortable. I would recommend this pram to everyone and definately think it’s worth the money paid. A lot of people don’t like the price but you get what you pay for

Purchased at: Baby Bunting

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Bugaboo Official

Hi Sian S, Thank you for sharing your review, nothing gives us a kick like hearing you’ve had a great experience with your Bugaboo Donkey. We believe in an easier stroll, an effortless turn,... read more »

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Model: Duo

Love it

4 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 06, 2018

The bugaboo donkey duo is a great pram. As I only have one baby I have used in the mono version and the side cart has been a lifesaver when it comes to shopping and being able to store nappy bag and toys at arms reach. When in duo version it’s great as u can change the seats facing options and the capsule attachments are super handy with a newborn

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Bugaboo Official

Hi CJR, Thank you for sharing your review, nothing gives us a kick like hearing you’ve had a great experience with your Bugaboo Donkey. We believe in an easier stroll, an effortless turn, a... read more »

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Model: Duo

Yes and No

3 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 20, 2018

Bugaboo Donkey.. oh my bugaboo donkey..
I had to have this pram, it was sitting in the store all high and mighty..

This was for kid 2!
Sold it to my hubby that you could put the baby in the basket and turn the bassinet into an esky! Lol.. joking but I did say that!

Best pram I could think of for 1 kid! I think it has a certain ‘status’ when pushing it through centres etc that people get outta your way!

Love the basket attachment, very great way to hide a bit of a crappy design

Now we had a 3 year old, and then pumped out 3 kids under 2, which I am glad we got the bug because it was not expected.. lol

As a heavily pregnant woman with 2 toddlers, it was HEAVY! So so HEAVY and I had to lift it high! The locking mechanism broke on ours the first week we had it so I have assumed that it how it was meant to be, you try being 8 months pregnant and that thing open as you’re lifting into the back of a Ute and slam you.. heavy!

It is very ‘loose’ framed, I mean mine touches something uneven and it’s like NOPE! Not going up there lift me! Like I said 2 toddlers, baby in the pouch, 6 year old not too strong to help... and squat and lift..

I find as a double it is just trash! Proper trash! The hoods always fall off because the catch in one another and they are this crap design that has 6 pieces instead of clip all together, go..

The seats and design are crap, they’re hard as a rock, itchy and the lever you use to lay them back is flimsy and you really have to give it some to get it to move
Everyone think half asleep baby, shaken baby, awake baby..

Also they reckon it can fit through a standard doorway in double mode.. WRONG! Kids will lose a finger or 2, the hoods will be pulled off, your 2000 dollar pram will be damaged and so will all the door frames you walk through! .

It is bloody expensive, for a single pram great but cheaper better options out there.. for a double, nasty and expensive, seems that’s the way of the world...

I wouldn’t recommend anyone to buy one at all, and after my experience with bugaboo, I wouldn’t recommend any of their products..

I wouldn’t even sell mine second hand, I wouldn’t give it away.
Yes we have had a lot of miles covered in it, however, the only reason I didn’t buy a new one was because I spent $2000 on a pram and I had to live with the regret of my decision!

Don’t do it!!!

Purchased at: My Baby Warehouse

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Bugaboo Official

Hi Jes, Thank you for sharing your review. Your feedback is really important to us as it helps improve our products. We will pass your feedback onto our design team at HQ as we are continually in... read more »

  • 1 review
  • 1 question
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Model: Twin

Very expensive and not worth it

2 out of 5, reviewed on May 22, 2018

OK it is easy to maneuver BUT not easy to unfold!!! The front wheels was warbling from 5 months old and after 1 year the handle start peel off. I contact the shop i purchase and contact with customer service before 1 year but no one did any things about it.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Bugaboo Official

Hi Feri G, Thank you for sharing your review. We’re sorry to hear you have not had a positive experience with your Bugaboo pram. We have passed your review onto our customer service team; pleas... read more »

Model: Duo

Superb pram! But with important things to consider.

4 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 20, 2018

PROS:
First & foremost, it is so darn nice to look at. It is a VERY good-looking pram!
It's so reliable & durable. The large wheels are fantastic & allow for smooth walks without having to avoid cracks or bumps on the path.
It's easy to steer & I regularly use it as a jogging pram (the wheels can go a little crazy if you jog too fast, so you just have to adjust your speed appropriately).
The side basket is invaluable and when I see prams without one, I think "HOW DO YOU MANAGE WITH JUST THE UNDER BASKET!?" It is appropriately named, 'Donkey' because you can pile a tonne of things on it & go on your merry way!
The mechanics are straightforward & easily adjustable. The seat cover can be just as easily removed and washed.

CONS:
The pram is heavy & takes up an inconvenient amount of space in the boot.
The seat seems a bit small, my 10 month old's head (quite the tall chap) is almost touching the top!
I also wish the seat had a setting between upright and very upright. The upright position is a little too far back for my liking and I feel bub jerking his head forward to get a better view. The very upright position is awkward and looks as if bub might fall right out!
The clasp that allows for extending the handle is too close to bub's feet. He tends to muck around with it by flipping it open with his foot - very annoying.

I bought mine off Gumtree for $600 & knowing its full retail price of $2,000 I can't help but wonder if it is really worth it? If I had paid the full price, firstly, I'd expect it to be absolutely PERFECT without any floors, & secondly, I'd be too worried to leave the house with it for fear of putting a scratch on it! And that is NOT what prams are for.
The beauty of the Bugaboo name is that money can be made off it once you're done, the brand has great resale value as people will will always think it's part of the "Elite Team".

Would I spend more than $600 on a pram? No, because there are plenty of other fantastic prams out there for that price. If I had spent $2,000 I wouldn't be able to afford any extras because all Bugaboo accessories are absurdy expensive (example: cup holder, $50). If you're rolling in it and have the money, go for it, otherwise, don't be dismayed, there are other superb prams out there that simply don't have the label BUGABOO branded on them.

Purchased at: Gumtree

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Bugaboo Official

Hi Mama Bear, Thank you for sharing your review, your feedback is really important to us as it helps improve our products and nothing gives us a kick like hearing you’ve had a great experience wi... read more »

worst pram ever

1 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 16, 2018

worst pram so heavy broke my back wouldn't fit in door ... doesn't fit in my suv .. never again . I had a valco baby but became pregnant with my second child../I sold It and purchased the biggest regret .. I started using it as a single and just picking it up to put it in the car was a struggle .. I then gave birth and couldn't even fit this pram through the checkout aisle so embarrassing

Purchased at: Gumtree

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Bugaboo Official

Hi Mary, Thank you for sharing your review. We’re sorry to hear you have not had a positive experience with your Bugaboo pram. We have passed your review onto our customer service team; ple... read more »

Model: Twin

Can't wait to push my babies in this!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 12, 2018

I chose the bugaboo donkey because I really needed something that would attach 2 Maxi Cosi Carseats side by side.
This Bugaboo is ridiculously easy to steer. For the first 6 months I'll just use the frame, then move onto the seats when they're a bit bigger. I think it will be a worthwhile investment for twins!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Bugaboo Official

Hi Sahebear, Thank you for sharing your review, nothing gives us a kick like hearing your excitement for the Bugaboo Donkey - and best of luck with your twins! We believe in an easier stroll, ... read more »

Melbourne

  • 5 reviews
Private message

Model: Duo

Perfect pram for twins

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 13, 2018

I bought this pram for my little twins and it serviced very well.
With bassinets, babies can sleep during travelling and that’s what we want because we spent quite a lot of time going to different places.
Pram can just go through a standard door but with maxi cosi car seats on, it becomes very hard to do so.
Pram can be unfolded and put into a car boot easily.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Bugaboo Official

Hi Martin, Thank you for sharing your review, nothing gives us a kick like hearing you’ve had a great experience with your Bugaboo Donkey and little twins! We believe in an easier stroll, an... read more »

Model: Mono

Love my bugaboo donkey

4 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 06, 2018

I purchased the bugaboo donkey mono from david jones when on clearance for $1099. You pay extra for everything with bugaboo so also had to purchase a hood (about $100) and cup holder for $50. This is my 2nd pram having first purchased a silvercross which bub refused to sit in. Bugaboo donkey is amazingly smooth and donkey comes with a side basket which is probably my favourite thing about the pram. Note only the donkey has this side basket. Pram is big and heavy although this is pretty much the deal with all good prams which have a decent storage basket underneath.

Purchased at: David Jones

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Bugaboo Official

Hi Emma29, Thank you for sharing your review, nothing gives us a kick like hearing you’ve had a great experience with your Bugaboo Donkey! We believe in an easier stroll, an effortless turn,... read more »

Wollongong

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 answer
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Model: Mono

I adore this pram!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 31, 2017

I love this pram! It's super easy to push and steer. I chose it so when the second bub comes along, I can have them side by side (facing me, facing out of facing different ways!). The shopping basket has made life so easy - perfect for the nappy bag and saves me bending over to get things out from underneath. It is slightly heavier than other prams I looked at, but that's the pay off for all it's features (in saying that, it's not too heavy for me at all). Folding it takes some practice but is then easy. The Bugaboo customer service is also good!

Purchased at: Baby Bunting

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Bugaboo Official

Hi Beth, Thank you for sharing your review, nothing gives us a kick like hearing you’ve had a great experience with your Bugaboo Donkey. We believe in an easier stroll, an effortless turn, a... read more »

Nsw

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 answers
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Model: Duo

Loved my donkey!

4 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 24, 2017

Absolutely loved my Bugaboo Donkey. Was great to be able to change from mono to duo when needed. Loved the extendable hood, large basket, decent sized seats and to be able to add an umbrella and cup holder was awesome! My 3 year old LOVED that feature. Was a fairly heavy pram and a pain to fold away but loved the features.

Purchased at: Gumtree

Was this review helpful? Yes

Model: Twin

BEST PRAM EVER!!!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 06, 2017

A FABULOUS pram. I have used it as both a duo and a twin, and its brilliant both ways.
Its easy to maneuver...for walking/jogging/running its great - Very light.
Folding up and down is easy, and I LOVE the way it fits through a normal door way - what other twin pram does this??? :):)

Was this review helpful? Yes

Newcastle

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 answer
Private message

Model: Duo

Perfect! Easy to use- best pram of the 5 we purchased

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 21, 2017

I wish we purchased it with our first as it's the best pram ever and it has an excellent resale value too! Important note- you can tilt the seat back without lifting the chair- there's a white leaver on the back of the chairs. Basket holds a whole grocery shop surprisingly and takes more than the weight they recommend without any damage- easy to clean ours didn't fade at all either but we never left outside

Purchased at: Baby Bunting

Was this review helpful? Yes

Model: Twin

AWESOME.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 20, 2017

VERY easy to maneuver- i am SO surprised that its so easy to fold and store away, Yes its big, its just fits in my CX5 Mazda, but its a double stroller. I dont like how the handles dont spin around on the bassinet seats however the depth and size of the bassinets seats is great and also very sturdy. Very impressed that it can be made into a single stoller with the carry case, definitely worth the price.

Purchased at: Baby Bunting

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Model: Twin

Can not live with out!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 06, 2017

This pram is fantastic. I honestly would not have survived the first year with my twins with out it! The girls were in the bassinets at home and when we were out when they were newborns and when we were out I would just attach the wheeley board and pop my 3 year only on the back. The fact that I can have all three kids on the one pram is amazing!! The kids can sit up right in it and against a table so no need for highchairs at every restaurant. It fits everywhere or I usually make it fit everywhere! It's super easy to maneuver, cold and unfold!! It is the best invention for mums!!

Purchased at: Baby Bunting

Was this review helpful? Yes

Model: Twin

Our twin babies' Rolls-Royce

4 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 22, 2017

We had to look for a stroller when we found out that we were having twins. We checked and test drive many twin strollers at shops. Then we chose Bugaboo Donkey for our babies because of its easy maneuver and solidness. The basinets were big enough for them until 7 months and changed to the seats.
The problem is that it is very difficult to travel on a public transport because of its wideness. Also it use most of space in the back of a car when we travel by a car.

Purchased at: Baby Bunting

Was this review helpful? Yes

Model: Duo

Great for my 3 young kids

4 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 15, 2017

Very easy to manoeuvre! In duo it's a little bit wide which is expected for a side by side pram!
I have the pram in duo with the comfort board attached for my 3 year old! As a pram it's brilliant!
I'm not happy with how bugaboo put 'build dates' on the pram effecting the resale!
I also wish the frame folded flat for the boot instead of on a very steep angle. It's a pain taking all the wheels off to get it flat.

Purchased at: Baby Bunting

Was this review helpful? Yes

Model: Twin

Great

4 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 07, 2017

Still waiting for baby to arrive so pram isn't allowed in house yet bad luck u know so haven't had a play only in store but out of all the prams /pushers this is the best out of the bunch so to speak love the versitilty of the extra things that you can do and how it fells to push and the quality

Was this review helpful? Yes

1 of 4 pages


Questions & Answers

Duo

How can you get the capsules for donkey duo into a car seat?

Vicki asked on Jan 16, 2019

Answer this

Hi Vicki,

Thank you for your inquiry, please contact the brand of car seat/capsule you own so they can assist you. To remove the capsule from the Bugaboo Donkey please press the same buttons you use to remove the capsule from its base.

Thanks,
The team at Bugaboo

Mono

Hallo. Does bassinet(0-6month) cameleon fits on donkey construction?

Petra asked on Nov 25, 2018

Answer this

Hi Petra,

Thank you for your inquiry, the Bugaboo Donkey fabrics are not compatible with the Bugaboo Cameleon and vice versa.

Please let us know if you have any other questions.

The Bugaboo Team.

Do the buffalo fabrics fit the donkey frames?

Stephy asked on Oct 25, 2018

Answer this

Hi Stephy, Bugaboo Buffalo and Bugaboo Donkey parts are not compatible between models. Thanks, Bugaboo Team

See all 24 questions about Bugaboo Donkey

Your question will be specific to the model that you've selected.


Product Details

Duo * Twin * Mono *
Price (RRP) $2289 $2499 $1839
Product Weight 15kg 15kg 13kg
Folded Height 52cm 52cm 52cm
Folded Width 75cm 74cm 60cm
Folded Length 93cm 93cm 93cm

* Discontinued

The main difference between these models is seat configuration