Filter By:

Renewed policy against my request, withdrew funds, then only partially refunded.

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 04, 2018

I've had health cover with Bupa for three years and never made a claim. My premiums were going up regardless and I emailed them several months before my policy was due for its annual renewal. I told them I was looking at other packages and I did not want to renew. They took nearly 2k from my account anyway, which were funds earmarked for my mortgage repayments that I then couldn't pay - bad for my credit rating. I emailed again trying to get the money back and so far have only succeeded in getting 1.3k refunded nearly three months later. The only email response I've ever received is them wanting to confirm my membership number.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Insurance claim made

Sneaky, money stealing, poor customer service

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 03, 2018

Have been with Bupa independently for 4 years and when deciding what plan to go with I specifically requested a level that will cover any sporting injuries. Four years later I require surgery for and because the surgery is scheduled after 180 days of the accident, Bupa refused to cover the cost. Firstly, having a cap on the time frame of surgery is very unreasonable as the injury has since progressed to the stage of needing surgical intervention. Secondly, Bupa did not even try to accommodate or compensate for poor recommendations by their staff in the first place. Which is just simply poor customer service. After not making any claims in the four years of paying thousands of dollars, how can this not be covered. Absurd. You've lost several customers due to this incident, as well as a poor reference in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

SERVICE CENTRE

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 03, 2018

The worst experience ever. I waited for more than one hour even when there was just 2 person ahead of me in queue. Don't waste your time with them they are trash.
I signed and paid for my mother's policy and then they won't talk to me. I said it was who called to sign up and now when policy is done they can't talk to me.
A total scam and nonsense.

Was this review helpful? Yes

11 years of loyalty needs to END !!!

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 28, 2018

My worst experience today at the dentist, I discovered that I had dishonoured payments which I paid in the past as direct debit (after receiving MSG), surprisely Bupa didn't bother to take the money or to let me know.
TODAY I had to paid upfront $1,500, can't believe it.
Why I need to pay corporate top level cover ( when I go twice a year to seee the dentist and maybe one major treatment) and when I need to use it I can't because of Bupa bad communication around payments. SHAMED on you .... you are going to add more customer lost ( 10% is not enough)
#althinsurancecomparison enough is enough
I guess some company to check the market to see what is happening aka Telstra ....
Service design ... time to do something.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rip off completely

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 23, 2018

I have been with them for last four years. Wanted to renew the current cover, called them, they told me the price thats different to what i found online in their site. Their explanation is the premium goes up as you are more with us. REALLY? Thought its the other way round....Had enough, time to switch to a new one...

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer Insurance claim made

Cancelled my policy and notified me after 4 months

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 23, 2018

My Bupa direct debit failed in May 2018. I contacted them and made a payment via their automated phone payments service. I was naturally under the impression that my payments were up to date. Received a letter on 9th of November that my policy was cancelled in June. When I called the customer service they demand a payment of $1500 up front to resume my policy. I asked for a payment plan and they refused. And the cherry on top was how sarcastic and unphased they were about losing a customer. They just don't care. A bunch of arrogant staff

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Gold Coast

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer

Bad Bad Bad !!!!! It all makes sense why they have bad reviews

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 23, 2018

1 week!!! After reading all the bad reviews I decided to cancel my policy.

I called Bupa and said that due to the bad reviews they had online I would like to cancel me service.

He was really upset I could hear it in the tone of his voice, he started talking about Medibank telling me how bad their reviews are and that I won’t find another fund that does not have bed reviews, I told him that I understand that though I want more good then bad reviews like Bupa.

He basically told me that the refund would take up to 10 business days and hung up the phone with attitude! Extremely bad customer service they should be ashamed of them selves. Im just glad im getting my refund.

I guess as it had only been a week he did not like that I called to cancel my policy due to the bad reviews! Though from they way I was just spoken to it all makes sense why people post reviews like this. I’m not the type to post reviews on line though I’m not happy at all with Bupa.

I highly recommend you look elsewhere before you sing a policy with Bupa

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Horrible

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 21, 2018

Been with them since April 18. Bupa changed my cover because of their staff's finger mistake, took a week to acknowledged their mistake and they said they will correct the mistake. I just login to check something else on my account and noticed they haven't correct it yet after months!!! Plus, i suppose to get virgin frequent flyer points, still no points being added!!!

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Too expensive and a pain in the neck to cancel

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 20, 2018

If you ever wanted to cancel Bupa insurance, you're going to have to print off a form and mail it by post. Apparently the conveniences of the internet have not reached Bupa HQ. They have not email address for members, just some internet form with some limited functionality.

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Melbourne

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Worse

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 17, 2018

I rang them on Saturday because my mum was in emergency and wanted to know if neurologist visit or mri will be cover? But they said I have to call back on Monday. How can it be possible for wait 2 days without deciding anything.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Kellyville

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Insurance claim made

wonderful & honest customer service.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 13, 2018

Really surprised to see all the negative reviews.I've been with Bupa for 13 years and never had any issues.Wonderful customer service and communication.comparing Bupa closly to other funds you will definitely get more for what you pay & you won't be surprised for not being covered for major health services like cardiac and renal.Customer service are thorough, helpful and honest, will not try to sell you what you don't need.When I decided to upgrade extras cover, Bupa went through my cover in details ,past claims & paid benefits and explained all the options for my needs without trying to sell me a higher policy.Thank you Bupa.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Insurance claim made

Sales was a cheater

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 12, 2018

Sales like a cheater, just want you to buy the insurance, want your money, after we make claim they don’t want paid anything.Very disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Insurance claim made

Sickening lack of morals

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 12, 2018

Like everyone else here I had to find out the hard way that my plan was downgraded. Apparently they sent a vague email which went straight to my junk inbox. You can imagine my surprise when I called up prior to getting sinus surgery to find out I was magically no longer covered. After years of being a loyal customer I ended up being out of pocket $12,000. The customer service team were cold, arrogant and heartless. Only after cancelling my policy did I finally get a call trying to get me to stay but it was comically too little too late. I’ve NEVER dealt with such a morally bankrupt, money hungry company. It’s really depressing to know businesses like this exist. Complete and utter corporate scam artists.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Don’t care about loyal customers

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 11, 2018

I had been with BUPA for 10 years and had no intention of leaving. Increased my level of cover to cover pregnancy which has a 12 month waiting period based on due date. Became pregnant faster than expected with a due date 8 days before the fulfillment of the waiting period. They were not prepared to budge at all. When I finally changed health insurers and called to cancel, they kept me on the phone for 30mins trying to lure me back with a grace period for pregnancy that would take me to my due date. Too little too late! And frustrating. If they had offered that to me when I initially called I may have stayed. Went through the public system for pregnancy/birth in the end and couldn’t be happier.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Removed major items from cover

2 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 06, 2018

I had been with Bupa +3 years. They removed certain major items from our family cover & I only realised this when I was comparing other health funds & they informed me of the changes that Bupa had made. When I phoned Bupa they said they sent me an email. I must have missed it from months ago. My family now has a 12 month waiting period for these items. I'm really annoyed bc when I suggested that they should send out something in the mail also for such major changes as double backup, they told me that they don't send out in the mail. Well since I changed health funds they have sent me out several things in the mail!! Really disappointed in them and would not recommend them at all

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer

The worst ever

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 06, 2018

Been over a year, and I fell in the trap, they have a promotion for ( FREE ) I mean free dental consultation, xrays, cleaning for a first time customers at bupa dental with no out of pockets, I even called Bupa and explained my situation before I made the appointment, they said yes it is FREE, made appointment as first time customer and did xrays but end up cleaning half of the mouth because the dentist ran out of time, BUT WAIT, There's more, we end up paying hundreds of dollars out of pocket, because the cost of the cleaning half the mouth was more than the gap, called Bupa, they just did not care at all even I said that you are misleading customers and I said if you don't fix this problem, I will leave Bupa, just they didn't care if I stay or go somewhere else, BIGGEST mistake I did.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Insurance claim made

Disaster

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 01, 2018

+3 years, quickly declining level of cover coupled with terrible customer service, so happy I have switched to a different fund. I honestly doubt anyone can be worst than Bupa!

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer Insurance claim made

Paid $20k+ for my own nose surgeries, x2 $500 premiums for EACH surgery only 6 months. 3 year custom

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 29, 2018

Although proven I needed surgeries to breath Bupa considered them cosmetic and refused to pay a cent.
Medicare gave me $5k of the $25,000 of total surgeries that didn't change my appearance at all!

Bupa hit me with a $500 excess for 1 hospital stay in August then hit me with another excess for the second op in January. Please tell me why I pay for cover?

Final nail in the coffin: I pay over $1,200 a year and I STILL got hit with the Medicare Surcharge....
Worst experience with any insurer. Please stay away!

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Absolutely Horrible

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 29, 2018

After +3 years of being with them, they cancelled my policy without making sure I was aware. Apparently they sent a letter in the mail (which I never received). The only reason I found out was because I got in touch with them at tax time to inquire about the annual tax statement from them, which I never received.

Worst. Company. Ever.

When I got in contact with them, and heard the news, I offered to pay retrospectively to reinstate my policy. Their "Policy" team denied the request. Why? Don't ask me why. It's free money to them for insurance they never even provided. So now I'm stuck paying a tax penalty of thousands of dollars, not to mention I was under the belief I was covered the entire time and that could have been catastrophic had I actually needed health insurance!!

Call me crazy but I believe something as serious as cancelling someone's health insurance warrants an email, which they never sent, or a phone call, which they never placed. They were happy to hide behind the excuse that the post was my selected communication choice (choice selected over 3 years ago when first signing up) and therefore could leave me uninsured.

Worst. Company. Ever. Terrible. Just terrible. I was so shocked at how they handled all this. Just awful.

In reading other reviews on here, I can see they are just terrible in general. Do yourself a favour and go elsewhere.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Insurance claim made

Absolute joke

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 23, 2018

Every year I get stupid emails telling me that they’re making changes to my policy to provide a better service. In reality they just increase the premium and reduce the rebates. What a joke. Won’t be sticking with them any longer.

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

1 of 26 pages


Questions & Answers

Hi just wonder how much for a single 20 year old female cover?

Codi asked on Aug 20, 2018

Answer this

Hi Codi, I do not know how much the cover is. I just did a product review of Bupa. All I can say is I would not choose them. I have changed to 'WestFund'. I did a lot of investigating and they were the best for me. Use product review and you will see that Bupa does not get many good reviews. Good luck....

Unless you have some ongoing health problem you are wasting your money with private health insurance. And even if you do have an ongoing health problem you won't get any benefit for at least a year's worth of payments because the problem is "preexisting". So you pay for two years premiums, then pay up the "excess" and then pay the gaps, and you will then find you were better off not buying the insurance because you get far less back than you paid. So don't do it!
The only time you need to get private cover is when you get to an income where the extra tax for not having insurance is more than the insurance premiums, and that's a pretty high income, you are not likely to be making that much at age 20.

How much do i need to pay for 2 years course for insurance?

Ngetich Edwin K asked on Jan 09, 2018

Hi all, this query relates to pregnancy cover. ive been with Bupa for a number of years now and added pregnancy cover to my policy in Jan 2016. With the 12 month wait period this means cover kicks in Jan 2017. Turns out my due date is the exact same date as when cover technically kicks in. They say they won't cover me unless my baby is born on or after due date. Seems so unfair when I have no control over whether baby comes early or late. Anyone had similar experiences?

Ash asked on Sep 11, 2016

Answer this

Congratulations I wish you a healthy and enjoyable pregnancy. See your doc and get the date of conception from scans they can tell and get them to provide a letter. Babies are born prem all the time it's date if conception if they continue to be difficult report to private health ombudsman. I was on a separated family policy and BUPA did not tell me ex deleted me they lest me uninsured and unaware and refuse to acknowledge or change their system to ensure this doesn't happen to others. They have 80% more 1 stars unhappy compared to all other stars. I went thru choose well and now with HCF. Sort and move as they do not care about their members. Good luck and I wish you the very best as you embark on Motherhood typical of BUPA to stress you at this time take care xxx

u should be alright if u got pregnant after 2 month's as its not pre existing u have no control over it

See all 10 questions about Bupa Health Insurance