• 1 review
  • 1 question
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Aug 2019

Absolutely Heartbroken Over Failed First Home

1 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 21, 2018

My girlfriend and I have been in tender with Clarendon since late last year. After being passed from person to person when we prefer to deal with just one person, we decided to cancel our tender with Clarendon. A few days later, our original sales rep called us and said that he would like to meet with us to see if there was something Clarendon could do to keep us as their clients. After meeting, he called and said that we had two hours to decide if we would like to take a $10,000 discount if we continued to stay with them. We accepted, he confirmed the offer via email and our land registered. This is where the real problems began.
Our Clarendon consultant explained to us that we required a re-site survey. Upon this being carried out, we were told in writing that there were NO additional site costs or site requirements outside of the standard inclusions. Our BAL rating was also lower than anticipated. This meant that we were to have a substantial proportion of provisional allowance deleted from the tender (as this prov. allowance was for potential site costs and BAL compliance). $21,000 in fact. We were told that an estimator was completing the final costs and we would be lodging our plans with a private certifier that week. Next week came around and we were told that they were still organising final costs. In total it has been 7 weeks since our land registered, as Clarendon reps bought up an old rainwater tank issue which had been resolved months ago, to further delay time. A few days ago I emailed our consultant and asked when we were lodging our plans. She replied that she could not speak with us, and that the original sales rep would call us the next day. We had to call him as he did not call us. This man told us that Clarendon would not be meeting their profit margin with our build. When I asked what he meant by that, he said that because they had offered us the $10,000 discount (to persuade us to stay on), and we would be removing the $21,000 provisional allowances from the tender, that Clarendon would not be making enough money from the building of our home. We told him this wasn’t our problem, and that we had everything in writing, and he replied that we had two options. First option was to receive the $10,000 discount, but we pay the provisional site allowance and provisional BAL cost amounts of $21,000 for Site and bal costs which aren’t needed and won’t be physically going into the build! Second option was “If you don’t go with the first option, Clarendon will not be building with you”.
We have been completely scammed by Clarendon. My girlfriend is in constant tears and devastated at the prospect of our dream family home being taken away from us- especially when all of the discounts were in writing! She is not sleeping, and feels betrayed by a company we put so much trust in.
Just to rub it in even more, today they sent the final variation of costs. There was no $10,000 discount on it, and there were suddenly additional site costs of thousands of dollars (after being told in writing that there were no additional site costs). Our land is completely flat, yet apparently we need to pay for the import and export of soil, and additional PIERING in excess of 80lm! On a flat block! This variation of costs was sent to us today (Friday), but is dated as the previous Monday. We have only five days to respond to it otherwise we are in breach of our contract and Clarendon can pull out of the contract without refunding us our deposit. Interesting that they send it today, but date it five days ago. How convenient for them.
Seriously thinking of going to the media about this. Will wait to see if it will be rectified in the next few days.
Heartbroken and devastated.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Clarendon Official

Hi Tee W, we are very sorry to hear about the issues you are having. Would you mind contacting us by email at productreview@clarendon.com.au so we can follow this through with our Management team.

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Mar 2019

Design concept and helpfulness of staff is great. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is expl

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 20, 2018

Our customer service consultant was very thorough and was extremely helpful. Questions answered in a good timely manner. Lifestyle studio is great and would certainly reccomend a separate visit to one of the tours they do on Saturday mornings before your appointment. The whole process was seemless and all consultants are extremely knowledgable. Overall a great customer focused service and choosing what you want couldn't be easier. Job number 29912738

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Aug 2017

Warranty Department are letting the whole company down

1 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 17, 2018

After building the Crestmead almost a year ago and having the substandard quality towel rails fall off the walls multiple times, Clarendon agreed to a refund for them and we purchased our own. HOWEVER 2.5 months after being told we would receive the cheque the next week, we are still waiting to see our money despite multiple phone calls and emails. Since [name removed] went on Maternity leave the rest of the team can’t seem to get one simple task done. Not impressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Clarendon Official

Hi Jessica. We are very sorry to hear about the delay in the refund. Would you mind contacting us by email at productreview@clarendon.com.au so we can follow this through with our Warranty Manager.

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Jan 2019

Very Happy With Progress

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 14, 2018

After app. 3 years of back and forth with architects and draftsmen, will we renovate or move, knockdown and rebuild, we finally decided to have Clarendon Homes build our house.
Despite being held up by a ridiculously mental neighbour, our build is progressing well. [name removed] as our site supervisor has been outstanding. I hear from him every Friday, with explanation/s of due process and works completed, an explanation of work to be done and it seems that mistakes that are made are dealt with swiftly and efficiently.
I look forward to the internal works starting and the detail thus far continuing.

[name removed] and [name removed] from the Forsetville display home have been of invaluable help and it seems that we are there on a regular basis, checking this and measuring that. We are building the Fairmont 41 on display and as it stands - [name removed] actually built that house! I'm glad for their easy going approach and good management.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Sep 2019

My Dream Home with Clarendon Homes

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 11, 2018

My pre-construction journey with Clarendon Homes has been faultless. From the first enquiry with the sales team at the Display Homes Centre to our relationship with our Customer Service Consultant, [name removed]. [name removed] helped me through every step, was friendly, professional and informative. She made the process easy and seamless and everything went as planned. [name removed] was also extremely responsive in returning calls and emails and I felt at all times I had someone on my side to take me step by step through the journey. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: May 2018

Very Happy To Have Chosen Clarendon Homes AGAIN ( 2ND HOUSE BUILT BY CLARENDON IN 10 YEARS)

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 11, 2018

Workmanship by Clarendon tradesmen was simply exceptional! Could not ask for anything better.
The project was very well managed from start to completion by [name removed] and the customer service ladies were simply amazing with their support, very quick and positive response with every request or enquiry that we made.
Given the chance to build another house, we would still prefer Clarendon Homes and will definitely recommend to our friends ( Clarendon has built the house of Mr and Mrs [name removed] in Stonecutters Ridge, Colebee few years back upon our recommendation).

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Oct 2019

NEW BUILD | CLARENDON BOSTON 36

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 10, 2018

We are about to embark on our new build and will share all notes, updates, progress etc on our blog if you are curious to learn more. https://iamnevie.blogspot.com

To date our experience has been wonderful with easy to deal with, flexible and knowledgeable staff. We are hoping this is a sign of great things to come. We will keep you posted on the blog.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Jul 2018

New beginnings in our family HOME!

4 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 09, 2018

We are finally in our family home & overall pleased with the result. We are pleased with the end result/quality of our new home, although a long process & at times a painful one! Communication was initially very poor but much appreciated improvements came with changes to our site manager and Customer service consultant.
We are so glad to be settling into our forever home now!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Apr 2019

Great customer service!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 08, 2018

Clarendon have been super helpful and easy going to allow such a big job a dream for us as we are first home builders. We are very excited to begin construction and hope that goes as smooth as this pre-build stuff has been. Thank you to the people at Clarendon so far for being so accommodating to us and being so helpful and responsive.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Sep 2018

Jon number 29911605

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 04, 2018

Just wanted to say a big thank you to [name removed] the northern beaches site manager. [name removed] did a first class job building our dream home. He is very informative, personable, professional and first class work. Finished on time, had everything organised and left property in immaculate shape. Highest praise and no hesitation in recommending [name removed] and Clarendon for future work for our friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Sep 2018

Fabulous builders and brilliant and best site manager of all time

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 04, 2018

Our house which is under construction in "Marsden Park" is due to be completed in approximately 3 -5 weeks time.

When our construction started we only talk very highly of the experience. Our site manager- [name removed] is amazing and he is always reachable if we had any questions throughout the build process, and ensured that they were dealt with and we were always happy with the end result. The whole process has been amazing and we would highly recommend "Clarendon Homes" to anyone looking to build their quality dream home. Thank you to everyone at Clarendon Homes especially [name removed], for your excellent customer service and support throughout our awesome journey.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Mar 2019

Great Customer Service - Pre-Construction Stage

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 04, 2018

Job No: 29912240

This is our first home build, and we decided to choose Clarendon as our builder based on them having a great home design that matched our needs and also the good reviews/experiences other homeowners have had. So far our experience with Clarendon Homes has been hassle-free and the initial pre-construction service has been great thanks to our CSC. Queries were responded to promptly, and the general stages of pre-construction, especially relating to design, were pretty straight forward, and also made less overwhelming due to our CSC.

Construction has now commenced on our property, and as all homeowners who are building naturally will, we hope for this service from Clarendon to continue.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Jun 2018

The Best builder with best site Manager

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 04, 2018

We really enjoyed the construction process with "[name removed]", for useful advise, great co-operation and good help throught.
Great builder Clarendon Homes,
The guys always turned up on time and have positive & professional attitudes! Couldn't ask for anything more. Their workmanship was constantly praised by other trades that came onsite. Most importantly, no request was ever too hard, a real can do attitude.
Thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Sep 2018

First Home Build - Great Site Manager

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 01, 2018

Job No 29911753. Our house is due to be completed in approximately 4-6 weeks time. It has been somewhat nervous but also exciting journey being our first build and we are happy we decided to build with Clarendon. The drafting team were very accommodating as we were able to make a few structural modifications to the design of our home. The Customer service consultants, of which there have been a few, are easy to deal with and they respond to our questions in a timely fashion.
Our site manager has been fantastic - very knowable and experienced in his trade for which we are thankful along with the regular updates.
We are looking forward to the handover and would defiantly recommend Clarendon.
Thanks Clarendon.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Apr 2019

Great customer service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 30, 2018

This was the first time we have built a house and wasn't quite sure what to expect.
Clarendon's sales and customer care staff are phenomenal and made the process very easy.
[name removed] our personal customer care consultant was an absolute gun and responded to any questions we had promptly. The only negative I had during the experience was the delayed start to the build time.. but I think this is fairly common among builders and dealing with council.
I cant wait to finally move in.

Thank you Clarendon

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Aug 2018

My Home Experience

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 29, 2018

This was first home - Job No - 29912816 . I am happy to share it was great experience with clarendon.
Yes there were few changes in Customer service consultants but the process was never interrupted.
Timely updates from the site supervisor. He was very co-operative and flexible to fulfill our choice later.
I am a month away from the handover. I will surely recommend to anyone who want to build a house for lifetime.
Thanks clarendon.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Jul 2018

29911642 - Fantastic build, happy to call it our home

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 29, 2018

This is our first time build, we are very proud of our home and can not thank Clarendon enough for making our ideas and dreams a reality.

We had several customer service consultants throughout the process, all of them were very professional, courteous and quick to respond to our questions.

Our site supervisor [name removed] was excellent and carried out quality construction work and all internal fixtures are well above the expectations. We appointed an independent inspector who had 5 inspections in different stages, found no major issues and spoke highly of the quality of the workmanship and supervisor.

Will definitely recommend Clarendon homes to our friends and family

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 1 answer
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Oct 2018

Exceptional Customer Serices and Professionalism

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 28, 2018

We are very impressed with Clarendon Team's commitment to provide quality customer services. Our Customer Service Consultant always tries to promptly reply to our queries with an answer. Our Site Manager has never failed to contact us weekly with an update regardless whether it's good news or bad news. We really appreciate his attitude being upfront about the building progress.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Feb 2018

Time to review

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 21, 2018

We have moved in for almost 6 months since hand over. I think it's time to review our builder, the Clarendon home. This was the second time we used the Clarendon home. I will say after all this years things have changed a bit but we are happy with the end result. Our site manager was fantastic even though we had some misunderstanding at the beginning. But end up all good. The after sales team also very good. They follow up our issues very professionally. Building a new house is not an easy thing for anybody so to be able to have a good builder that you you can trust is very important. So thank you Clarendon.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Mar 2018

Our IOC hasn’t been finalised 4 months after handover.

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 17, 2018

Our build was great until handover.
At handover our building supervisor advised us that our Interim Occupancy Certificate IOC was organised and that it would be delivered the next day as he didn’t have it with him at handover. We made contact with the supervisor following handover to follow up with no reply. It is now 4 months since handover and we are yet to receive our IOC.
We have continuously tried to call and email our customer service representative we were provided and have had no luck in receiving. To add to this, our customer representative has changed 3 times since we first raised this issue, plus requested to speak with the manager numerous times to which we still haven’t been contacted by. We were advised by all Customer representatives that it would be looked into and organised immediately and yet It is now 4 months since our first communication on this issue and it still has not been resolved.
We have now been forced to contact NSW fair trading to rectify the issue.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Clarendon Official

Hi Anzac. We are very sorry to hear about this administrative delay. A team member from our Sydney office has contacted you by private message to ask for your details so she can follow it through.

1 of 55 pages


Questions & Answers

I am finding difficult to choose the right builder for a double storey home. Can anyone please help me? Clarendon, Metricon and Mcdonald Jones in my shortlist, not sure which is the right one.

Dharma asked on Aug 12, 2018

Answer this

Do your research, I've heard a few nasty stories from my clients regarding Metricon (gotten too big, too quickly, using cheap labour therefore quality of workmanship below par, I don't know about McDonald Jones.
My experience with Clarendon has been great.

Thanks John. Appreciate it mate.

Wondering what the procedure is if unhappy with our site manager and customer consultants response to an issue?

slmnma asked on Jul 30, 2018

Answer this

Have you tried to provide a review/comment on here and raised the concern? I am sure they monitor this website closely. Also if no success with management in Sydney, I heard someone else tried to contact the Queensland Head Office with the complains since Sydney is only a branch of Clarendon. All the best !!!

Hi Simnma, Complete the feedback form on this page with as many details as possible about your concern. A relevant Clarendon team member will respond to you within 3 working days to help resolve the issue. As a further commitment, we’ll also follow up to see if your concern has been resolved to your satisfaction.

https://www.clarendon.com.au/nsw/clarendon-customer-feedback

Kind regards,
Clarendon Homes

Hi slmnma
I have the same problem. I submitted Customer Feedback Form last week, but have not received a response from Clarendon Management till now. Not sure if their complaint handling process works.

Hi all, I'm currently building with Clarendon and visited the site with the Site Manager. Wife and I noticed that the cornice at the exterior of the house is not continuous. There are gaps at corners and at the window frames. Site Manager says it's not a defect and it how the contractor chose to do it. We asked whether this can be fixed or not and he said no as it's cosmetic and not a defect. Appreciate any feedback from the forum before we go back to Clarendon. You can see what I mean in my profile picture as I can't upload images when asking a question. Thank you. Cheers, David

David asked on Jul 21, 2018

See all 110 questions about Clarendon Homes