Verified Customer Construction End Date: Aug 2018

Mixed feeling !

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 15, 2018

Overall quality of build and customer service was excellent however what really let Clarendon down is the responsiveness and follow through but the Construction Manager. He was not only rude and unprofessional i.e. never returning our call and talking over us when trying to give our feedback.

Our Customer Service Consultant was the opposite, very responsive and got the job done and when she was away on leave, her supervisor made sure job got done.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Jun 2019

Building_Our_Boston

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 12, 2018

We chose Clarendon after preferring the designs and finishes of their display homes over the other builders available. We have been happy with both Clarendon and the process so far and we hope that this continues through construction. We have found that Clarendon have continually asked for feedback throughout the process.
We are building the Boston 34 in the Lower Hunter (Job# 29912952).

Sales, Tender, Contract
Our sales, tender and contract process ran smoothly overall.
It really paid off to visit multiple display homes and chat to each of the sales people. We found that a visit to the Boston 36 display at Calderwood helped immensely. The Calderwood sales consultant (name initial removed) had particularly good knowledge on the Boston design and was able to recommend changes to the build that our own sales consultant didn’t know were possible.
At contract stage we were not offered any discounts and I believe that had we put off signing we may have been offered an incentive. We paid the full 5% contract deposit, we have learned that we could have negotiated this down and held onto most of the 5% until construction began. It would pay to see if Clarendon will take a smaller deposit until you’ve moved to construction. Our sales consultant informed us that our build would be via CDC however it was via a DA through council (the reason for this was not explained at contracts but added about 8 weeks to the approval process).

Pre-construction
We were introduced to our pre-construction CSC (name initial removed). (name initial removed) set up our expectations and we felt that she was looking out for us straight away.
Our lifestyle studio consultant (name initial removed) was lovely. (name initial removed) and (name initial removed) set the tone for the two days at the colours appointment in which Clarendon put us up overnight in a hotel and made sure we were always fed and caffeinated. We needed to sort childcare to stay overnight which was challenging for us, however we’re glad we did as bringing a toddler to the colours appointment would have been more challenging. (name initial removed) stepped us through the process of picking our colour choices with ease. The other consultants were professional. We found the quotes for upgrading anything on the pricey side and the cost to make any alterations to the kitchen were way too high. This is something that Clarendon should address as it forces the customer to either stick with a cookie-cutter kitchen or pay a hefty fee to have a kitchen that even closely resembles those that are on offer in the display homes. Clarendon didn’t allow the option of using another kitchen mob, so we were stuck paying for an overpriced kitchen through Clarendon’s in-house supplier.
(name initial removed) helped us wrangle in all of the suppliers and she stepped us through the rest of pre-construction as quick as possible. We have found communication was great and all of our questions and requests were answered and dealt with quickly. (name initial removed) was the highlight of our pre-construction process.

Construction
We were moved into construction 4 days after getting our DA approval and will provide further feedback of this process once completed.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Aug 2018

Clarendon Homes worth the build

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 09, 2018

Building with Clarendon homes was a great and easy process. Starting with the sales consultant Ray F (Newport display homes). He was great and very informative. Our site supervisor, Dean B. was great too. We didn't have much issue with our build but any of our concerns was handled well by Dean. Thank you guys and Clarendon homes team for doing a great job on our home.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Feb 2019

Excellent Service So Far!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 09, 2018

It has been great dealing with Clarendon Homes QLD so far in our build process!
We are currently awaiting construction to commence and so far everything has been smooth and relatively efficient.
[name removed] the sales consultant at the Coomera (now Pallara) display was tremendous - so approachable, friendly, knowledgeable and easy to get in touch with. He made picking Clarendon instead of other builders such an easy choice. [name removed] our customer service consultant has since been terrific to deal with also - helping us get all our small questions answered and making more small modifications to make sure the home we build is the home we will love. We are very happy with how customisable Clarendon's home designs are - it has been a great experience tailoring our chosen design to suit our needs and wants. The only area for improvement we would suggest to date would be allowing more time for customers during selection appointments and/or providing selection brochures/catalogues earlier in the process to allow more time to think and plan. While understandable given the amount of material to go through - the selection appointments felt mildly rushed and many choices we made we did not feel we had adequate time to reflect on. Otherwise so far so good, I hope I can leave a 5 star after construction and handover!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Sep 2018

Almost Perfect

4 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 09, 2018

We couldn't be happier with the service we received from the time we started our journey with Clarendon at the display house at Cronulla all the way through to our CSC ([name removed]) and SS ([name removed]). We received weekly updates from SS plus extra some weeks and could always contact CSC with very prompt replies. Questions were always answered and if not at the time, would come back as soon as possible. We finished ahead of schedule even with minor delays in the beginning with a shortage of bricklayers.

We love our house and the style we chose, it suits our family perfectly but some of the workmanship isn't what I would call perfect. Its not until you move in and have to look at things day in and day out that you realise that they haven't been done correctly. Painting is a big one, either they don't take pride in their work or they are too rushed to finish it off completely and seeing its one of those things that stands out like a sore thumb, its just a little disappointing considering the money you pay for these homes.

However, the small negatives are definitely outweighed by the positives. We would definitely build with Clarendon again and would recommend them to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Jan 2019

Clarendon homes build review

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 08, 2018

We are at the beginning of building stage, our salesman [name removed] was great with us. He made what was a stressful time for us as first time builders very enjoyable and was very helpful.

Also knows the product well, his estimate of cost came to about $500 difference to contract cost.

Our customer service consultant [name removed] has also been amazing with the pre build process, always contactable and always happy to help, no matter what problems popped up.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Sep 2018

Home Sweet Home :)

3 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 04, 2018

Thank you Clarendon for our brand new home!

We received weekly phone calls from [name removed] to give us updates, he didn't make any promises he couldn't keep. He takes pride in his work and pointed out defects that we couldn't see. We had [name removed] as our point of contact who always got back to us in an applicable amount of time even if she could not supply an answer, we were kept up to date.

The only negatives were - The construction date went slightly over with still a few minor things that still need to fixed. Paint through out the house isn't 100%, walls/ceilings had to be repainted several times and skirting has a few chips. Attention to detail wasn't a strong point for some, there were a few instances where holes were being put in walls and ceilings where they were not specified to be.

Overall we had a good experience with Clarendon. As overwhelming it can be building your fist home everyone was very helpful and gave there advise/recommendations professionally.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 1 comment
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Aug 2019

Poor Communication, filthy tradies used and dodgy handover

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 04, 2018

We started our Clarendon Journey signing up in July 2016, with excellent pre sales consultants at their Kellyville Base and a very good tender presenter. It took approximately 1 year to demo the existing house, clear the block and have the slab finally poured in or around September 2017. There were issues with our DA process (this was the fault of Clarendons) but this is a minor issue compared to what has followed.

We were not given any contact details of the site manager and in the 12 months of the build process, would have received 3 or 4 telephone call updates from him in total! As we lived very close to the site, we could keep visual tabs ourselves on the progress and on occasion, we could personally stop and see the Site Manager and ask questions. But had it not been for that, we were literally kept in the dark the whole time. Many emails to our numerous client Services Consultants (we had 5 different ones in the period!!!) went unanswered for days/weeks & required multiple resending or follow ups.

Our site manager was approachable (when we actually saw him) and friendly, but when you are paying over half a million dollars for a product, you expect to be able to contact them directly! We would see no activity on the site for 3-4 weeks, then all of a sudden 12-15 workers from various trades, all hussling and bussling each other for access to get their tasks done at the same time. Extremely poor scheduling of tradies.

The site was constantly left in a disgraceful site (other than when no activity was conducted). Our neighbours were constantly complaining to us about the high levels of rubbish that was blowing across their yards (not just building materials, but KFC/Macdonald's rubbish, empty drink bottles and cans, milk cartons etc. Just total and utter slobs. We also fielded complaints about the foul language used on site by the workers when children were in close proximity. Internal & external lights were regularly left on all night, leading to neighbours complaining to us when they saw us there.

We had our driveway included in our tender - at walk through, it was not even started (the Site Manager 'forgot' about it) so this was done after handover by another group of dirty and foul mouthed tradies. It is still unfinished, and we have received no notification of when it will be completed (and sealed). They were kind enough to leave a present in my garage of their half eaten KFC bucket and several half drunk bottles of drink for me to clean up. 3 weeks later, my front yard still contains their rubbish materials which they have not taken or cleaned up.

On the build itself, we found a number of defects - some of which still remain unfixed. Most serious is a leaking roof, which they have told us was fixed, but obviously is not the case, with the front foyer & rugs covered in water from the light rain 2 nights ago. We have sent 2 emails including a video of the leak and still wait for acknowledgement of receiving the emails and a response. They 'forgot' to install a blind in the front void, giving the whole street a birds eye view straight through our house (this has been fixed/rectified, about a week after we moved in). The hot water did not work for 1 week and when we unplugged the bathtubs, the outlet was overflowing. When we flushed the toilets, the bowl was banking up with water. After making a number of complaints, a plumber was sent out, who discovered the toilets and main ensuite were never connected to the sewer in the first place!!!!!! So we were asked not to use the upstairs bathrooms (but never told by Clarendon when this was fixed - we only know work was done because a neighbour told us that a tractor had been brought on site a couple of days later).

They had cleared the pipes in the bathrooms and found coke cans and other rubbish had been stuffed down the pipes by the tradies who installed it! We only learned of this, because we had an independent tradie working for us on the day, and he overheard and saw this. Again, no explanation from Clarendon.

We are still waiting for a response for the leaking ceiling - some 3 weeks since handover. I guess we are lucky it has rained since we moved in, otherwise we would never have known about the dodgy ceiling/roof & we are still under warranty. Just very frustrating that there is no priority for this.

I think all in all, Clarendon are too busy for the staffing levels they have. It's not good enough that you do not have a contact number with the site manager (when most other project home builders do give you that). As said, ours was a nice enough guy but he would disappear constantly when we would ask questions or show him something before we could finish. I realize he is looking after multiple jobs and we are just one of them, but to spend the sort of money we have to build our dream home, I feel the service has been sub standard & disappointing.

UPDATE 25/9: We withheld publishing this negative feedback towards Clarendon as we received an automated comments that someone would contact us. Nearly a week on, and nothing and with heavy rain forecast this weekend in Sydney, I would expect our front internal foyer will be covered in water again. We have not even received the courtesy of acknowledgement of our reported complaint from last week from Clarendon. It really seems once they've received your final payment and handover is made, they really do not care. Disgraceful customer service!

Update 2 - (4 Oct): after being contacted by our now 5th customer service rep, the leaking roof still has not been fixed nor has anyone been sent over or any contact made by the site manager. Our foyer has flooded 4 times now since handover, we have sent Clarendon 5/6 videos as proof & still no one has bothered to come and fix their dodgy workmanship.

The driveway was finally sealed yesterday (3/10) nearly 2 weeks after the concreters said they’d be back. These guys were a lot more polite & professional than the ones who poured the concrete & actually cleaned up after themselves!!!!!

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Clarendon Official

Hi Tiger C. We are very sorry to hear about the issues you have been having issues with your home. Would you mind contacting us so that we can escalate the matters direct to our State Building Ma... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Oct 2018

Cant wait to move in!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 03, 2018

Since [name removed] has taken over as our consultant I have found the management of our build to be well organised and stress free. Answering most of our questions with ease and quick to get back to us with answers in regards to any concerns. As of date we have had no major concerns and have been happy with the progress. Before we started to build we had our concerns with friends and family constantly saying they would never build again, with clarendon it has been a breeze and would defiantly recommend or build again with them in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Feb 2019

Clarendon Homes staff very helpful

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 02, 2018

Our experience with Clarendon so far was very friendly and special mention staff whom we dealt with were very helpful and they answer all your queries / concerns in amicable manner immediately. They worked out the best design possible to suit our budget and being first home buyers with limited knowledge they always willing to provide us with suggestion when we ask them. we are very happy with their service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Aug 2018

I would recommend Clarendon Homes

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 28, 2018

We built our family home with Clarendon Homes. It was a great experience and we would build with them again if we had the opportunity. When speaking with friends I have already recommended Clarendon Homes. We were happy with the workmanship and build quality and if ever there was an issue it was sorted and fixed. We did have a few things that needed resolving but Clarendon were great with their communication, organised in their approach, and professional at all times. I would like to especially thank [Names Removed] for their help during construction and post construction. Our Customer Service Consultant provided a great customer experience and always responded to enquiries promptly and with care and attention to detail. During the build we had two site managers and they were both easy to work with and on top of things. Thank you, we are really enjoying our family home.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Brisbane

Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Sep 2018

Our dream home made easy with Clarendon

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 27, 2018

Clarendon and [name removed] have been amazing to work with. Many people had scared us into building a new home and the problems that can come with it, however, we couldn’t have chosen a better builder. They have been a dream to work with and nothing was ever too hard or too much of a problem. Thank you Clarendon homes and [name removed] for making our dreams come true.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 1 comment
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Aug 2018

Disappointed with Clarendon Homes

2 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 25, 2018

After a long and painful pre-construction process, our home construction started in Oct last year. Again, Clarendon Homes has let us down! The whole construction progress has been very slow! 2 months of no progress on site work due to change of site supervisors and we had to keep chasing on every single stage afterwards, this is certainly not something we expected to do for choosing a big project home company!

Workmanship is disappointing too when we had inspections at the site we see dents and cracks and gaps everywhere - doorframe, window frames, between walls. We were only told by the site supervisor that they will be fixed at the end.

Our tender contract stated that the construction should be completed by mid August, however it has been over a month and a half overdue now and we are yet to receive any update or estimate from Clarendon of when it will be finished and handover. Second time of change of site supervisor made it further delayed. When we escalated to management, we only received an holding response.
It seems to me that Clarendon has either a serious shortage of tradies to do all the jobs or a bad allocation of their teams. Either way, this is unacceptable for a big building company like Clarendon Homes! We now need to re-arrange a new lease for our family accommodation until we know the actual handover date!
We still do not know how much longer it will take our home to be completed, the delay certainly does no good to the reputation of Clarendon when my watching neighbours were asking about the cause of delay and progress since the start of the whole construction!

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments

Few hours after my review was published, I got a follow up call from Clarendon and they arranged a meeting for me with the area construction manager. During the meeting, I was advised that the con... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: May 2019

Excellent Customer Service and Processes in place

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 21, 2018

Our experience with Clarendon thus far has been excellent. All of the people who have managed our case through from initial enquiry to the construction phase have been knowledgeable, efficient and always kept us informed and up to date on progress, and the next steps to be taken. Our customer service consultant [name removed] has been the key point of contact and always quick to respond, and always friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Aug 2018

The process is smooth and stuff are nice and helpful

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 21, 2018

Our journey with Clarendon is enjoyable and smooth.
My partner and I spent a bit more time on pre-build process but the stuff are helpful and replied our enquiry promptly.
Our site manager - [name removed] normally responded within 1 - 2 hours and he's happy to fix any problems before they actually come to me.

Our home is finished within the agreed timeframe even we do experienced couple of weeks rainy days.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Apr 2019

Building with Clarendon Homes

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 18, 2018

Our building home journey with Clarendon Homes has been a smooth an enjoyable process.

We were very impressed with our Home Consultant and Customer Service Consultant, the service they both provided us was outstanding, they both went over and beyond their job roles to assist us with all our queries, all our queries were responded to in a timely manner.

Construction has now commenced on our property, we have now been handed over to our Client Service Consultant & Site Manager we hope that the great service continues. So far, a very pleasant experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Aug 2019

Exceptional Customer Service Preconstruction

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 16, 2018

After 6mths since initial signing my house has finally gone to construction. I would like to thank everyone involved in getting me to this stage, from my initial Sales Consultant to my Customer Service Consultant. The service has been second to none. House came in at about 10% more than projected but I did aim high!!! One very satisfied customer so far.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Sep 2018

Happy home owners

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 13, 2018

We started our new home journey in November 2017 with Clarendon.

We were very happy with the service overall which we received from all the members of the Clarendon team from contract stage right through to practical completion.

There were virtually no issues with our build once it got underway and any problems were rectified professionally and efficiently by our site manager and building team. We were very lucky to have our site manager [Name Removed] who kept our build running smoothly. The final product appears to be finished well.

We still have the 6 month defect period ahead but I'm sure any problems and defects that crop up will be handled professionally and fixed efficiently just like the build.

Thanks Clarendon for our new family home!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Dec 2018

Smooth sailing from the beginning

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 12, 2018

Our build and our planning has has been a very easy and smooth process from the beginning, both our site supervisor and our customer service consultant have been very helpful in answering any queries we have had to date, we are almost up to lock up stage in our build and have had no delays with our house so far and the quality of workmanship looks great from what I have seen so far, this is our second time building and I would highly recommend building with Clarendon they have made building process a pleasant experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Jun 2019

Outstanding Customer Service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 11, 2018

We began our knockdown journey with Clarendon at the end of 2017 when we signed our contract and chose our colours. We felt we had a lot of choice with Clarendon's large range and variety of fixtures etc, and they were quite flexible with changes we requested to make. Throughout our anything-but-normal knockdown where we just had issue after issue (all our fault) [name removed], our customer consultant, was just so helpful and most of all patient with us which we appreciate so much. This made us feel so much better while going through such a stressful stage of the build. We have just stepped into the construction stage and could not be happier. Clarendon have been extremely efficient and professional throughout this whole stage.

Was this review helpful? Yes

1 of 57 pages


Questions & Answers

Hi Clarendon,my house was built sep last year. Now the lock is not working , dishwasher broken and the TV point not working either. Would you please advise how long the warranty will be for those items ? (Job Number 29911364) Thank you

Sylvia asked on Aug 29, 2018

Answer this

Thanks for your enquiry and providing job details. Customercare will contact you promptly to assist with your enquiries.

I am finding difficult to choose the right builder for a double storey home. Can anyone please help me? Clarendon, Metricon and Mcdonald Jones in my shortlist, not sure which is the right one.

Dharma asked on Aug 12, 2018

Answer this

Do your research, I've heard a few nasty stories from my clients regarding Metricon (gotten too big, too quickly, using cheap labour therefore quality of workmanship below par, I don't know about McDonald Jones.
My experience with Clarendon has been great.

Thanks John. Appreciate it mate.

Also be weary about McDonald Jones' pricing and sloping costs. We have a few friends who have been with McDonald Jones and they have slapped on costs for having to put in drop edge beams etc into blocks of land which are flat enough to not need them. All builders have their good and bad. Just remember at the end of the day, this is business for them (so they want to make the most money possible), and it is a 30yr commitment for you (so you want the best deal). Any discounts or offers they initially offer will sound absolutely fantastic, however there is more they can do if they really want your business. You just need to ask.

Wondering what the procedure is if unhappy with our site manager and customer consultants response to an issue?

slmnma asked on Jul 30, 2018

Answer this

Have you tried to provide a review/comment on here and raised the concern? I am sure they monitor this website closely. Also if no success with management in Sydney, I heard someone else tried to contact the Queensland Head Office with the complains since Sydney is only a branch of Clarendon. All the best !!!

Hi Simnma, Complete the feedback form on this page with as many details as possible about your concern. A relevant Clarendon team member will respond to you within 3 working days to help resolve the issue. As a further commitment, we’ll also follow up to see if your concern has been resolved to your satisfaction.

https://www.clarendon.com.au/nsw/clarendon-customer-feedback

Kind regards,
Clarendon Homes

Hi slmnma
I have the same problem. I submitted Customer Feedback Form last week, but have not received a response from Clarendon Management till now. Not sure if their complaint handling process works.

See all 111 questions about Clarendon Homes