Review rating:

Contacting me asking for someone else about debt. Either a scam or very incompetent debt collection

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 05, 2018

I keep getting texts asking for a different name than my own regarding debt, asking me to call 1300971286 and quote a number. This happened to me a few months ago and so after while I did call them and say they have got the wrong person (unfortunately to do so I had to give them my full name and address) and then I stopped receiving messages. Now it has started again, with the same name they asked for last time. I am going to block this number, either it’s a scam or very incompetent debt collection party.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Numerous calls every day for a name we don't even know of

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 03, 2018

Acquired this Telstra number in October 2017 after we purchased a new house in a different suburb (sadly we couldn't take our previous number of 14 years with us which NEVER got unsolicited/harassment calls).
We have NOT given out this current number to anyone as we use our mobile phones for all inbound and outbound calls. The number is simply there as a requirement of Telstra as part of our Fibre to the home broadband. (Telstra are the only supplier of telephone and broadband services into this area sadly, so we have no choice to go elsewhere at this time).
We chose our number to be unlisted from the get-go, and I updated the Do Not Call Register with this number within hours of Telstra informing us what the number is.
To add to that, I/we have NEVER made even one outgoing call on it since obtaining the number and in fact, the phone I connected to the line just for emergencies (should the mobile phone be down for whatever reason), I have the ringer turned off all the time. I only know there has been an incoming call due to the flashing red light for "new call".

The number must be recycled, as we have received daily calls from various numbers at all times of the day and night. Most are silence calls, some are hang-ups (for the few I actually answered) and on the rare occasion, an automated message is left on the Telstra Message Bank facility that comes with our services. The message is as follows verbatim...
"This is an important message for [name removed].
Please return this call on 1300 554 191 between 8:30am and 5pm Melbourne time Monday to Friday and quote reference number 10 million three hundred and twenty thousand one hundred and seventy two.
It is important we speak with you as soon as possible.
Thank you."

Never has anyone, or the automated voice message as is the case, announced who or where they were from.

I suspect scammers from overseas (always are aren't they?!) are masquerading as Dun & Bradstreet and their previous name before that.
And now, I have just discovered they have changed their name once again which I wont mention here at this time to safeguard their new name.

For your reference, I personally have never requested any credit check reports online or face to face with whoever deals in those, nor have I defaulted on any debt or even been late for a payment.
In fact, I/we are very fortunate to have a perfect credit score and have no debt.

Either way, I can certainly clarify my name is NOT... [name removed]. Neither is my wife. Or our little fluffy white dog for that matter.

It seems [name removed] (whoever she is) is a naughty minx, and we sadly seem to have inherited her old landline number from good old Telstra.

I won't be calling any of the numbers that "[name removed]" is being asked to call. And I haven't and wont be calling any of the spurious numbers that appear on my caller ID numerous times per day.

However, I just found a number on the idiot website (yeehhaaaa) that I am going to call now and see if they can advise on if their previous business name(s) have been targeted by fraudsters.

More importantly, I'm getting onto Telstra today (yeah, that'll be fun... not!!) to request they supply me with a new number. Brand new in fact. Unused and fresh.
Ok, stop laughing, that’ll never happen will it? But a man has gotta try.
At best, knowing Telstra, I have a feeling they will only be able to offer me some kind of “add-on service” at MY expense that may or may not give me the ability to block numbers at will. Hmmmm!!

Anyway, wouldn’t it be great if someone in government made it law where we all could be given the details and locations of these annoying scamming fools, free return flights / transport to the front door of the mongrels and complete immunity from persecution for cracking their stupid little heads open like grapefruits and sending bits and pieces of their bloodied bodies to their verminous family in cardboard boxes, whilst the remainder of their nasty annoying corpse rots in a ditch somewhere?
Oh what fun eradicating the earth of these vermin. Vote Paul for Prime Minister / President.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wow

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 03, 2018

My husband Contacted them and gave them my reference number, He is a lawyer, he knows what to say and they immediately freaked out and said that the sms was and 'accident'. GUYS PLEASE, NEVER CONFIRM OR FIVE YOUR DETAILS. frauds!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Same name wrong person

3 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 30, 2018

I recieved several SMS from Milton Graham saying I owe Nimble $1325. Thinking this is a scam I contacted Nimble and they confirmed I never had an account but they do use Milton Graham as a debt collector. So I called Milton Graham on 13 23 33 not the 1300 number in the SMS ( to be sure ).
Spoke to a Lady who seemed polite, gave her my ref number, name and address and she confirmed I was not the person connected to the debt and (hopefully) I wont be getting any more messages.

I then told her that I thought the SMS might have been a scam and had read many reviews indicating the same thing and she replied saying they are just trying to track people down.

I did find the SMS's quite concerning the way they are writen especially when someone is accussing you of such a large debt you know nothing about.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Perth

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Harassment

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 26, 2018

I received a message quoting a reference number to talk about something important, came on here to check what the heck it could be about. Decided to block and delete.

This was not the end. I have received a phone call every single weekday whilst at work, all from different numbers, leaving voice messages that are silent. When I ring them back goes to Milton Graham automated message.

I've had enough! I don't even know if I should call them back as I'm scared from what others have said!
blocking doesn't work.. they'll harass you from other numbers! I don't have any debt!

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Disgraceful

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 23, 2018

Incompetence at its highest they dont even have access to emails I was asking questions regarding an email they had sent and he said they dont have access to emails sent uuummm seriously they are also short on information or have incorrect information they don't listen and if you ask a question there's a 98% chance they dont have answers they will just keep repeating themselves oh and the way they speak to you is disgraceful. Be careful they will try to get as much information out you as possible (previous address etc...) and they'll try using that against you. Extremely annoyed.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer

Name changing affairs

2 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 21, 2018

Recently all my information was taken on line these people who work in this company have been scamming people for a long time, tip of the ice burg all other complaints . I’d start with Investigating this company’s shareholders and see how many times their names have been changed.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Chasing debit I don't have!!

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 19, 2018

I received a number of messages from Dun & Bradstreet and then a threatening text saying things had bee escalated. I don't have any outstanding debt so checked here before I called. I won't be calling them and giving ANY details.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Alstonville

  • 1 review
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Continual harassment via SMS for outstanding accounts that aren't even mine

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 14, 2018

For the last 6 mths or so I have been receiving messages on my phone about outstanding accounts in names that I do not recognise for companies I have never dealt with. I rang D&B about 3 mths ago and they said they would look into it and remove my phone number and I have since received another 3 such messages. I just tried to ring D&B or Milton Graham whoever they are and the guy just would not listen to me (quite obviously loved the sound of his own voice) he kept talking over me and in the end I told him to just shut up and listen to me and he hung up.

Not sure if this is a scam or not, or complete incompetence as D&B used to be a trusted firm now they are crap. I suppose I'd better give them one star as there isn't any provision for zero stars.

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Incompetent debt collectors

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 05, 2018

Absolutely incompetent staff ..requested details of debt owing and received text message asking me to contact. Did so and back to square one..did not have details??? Asking me to pay a debt with no knowledge of what the debt is for?? Incompetence at the highest level ..I suggest the staff apply for a career in a field they would be able to manage...Ie..Mcdonalds; hungry jacks etc....

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Melbourne

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 1 question
  • 3 answers
  • 7 helpful votes
Private message

Telco ask me contact DnB

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 01, 2018

I went online looking for DnB because Optus declined my online application.
Google it, took me to unsecure site- dnb.com.au. I click on Standard Credit Report Free.
It took me to www.checkyourcredit.com.au. Fill up personal detail, address, employer name, secret questions, also upload id document, so i did. It say free online copy in 3 days.
Once click NEXT at the end, i gave me reference number. I also received email on my reference number.

Now i see all this comments. I am getting worry whether i just gave all my details to fraud party. Not sure they will ring me. But i think i will avoid ringing them. I will re-post my comment if i received my credit report.
Thanks.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Scammer's stay away

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 26, 2018

Yup add me to the list of potential people that have been scammed by this company. Just received a message just like all of the other posts here. I foolishly called them and supplied them with the reference number. They asked for my name, I gave a fake one (John Smith) and they, ok john, if you can give us your mobile number then we can remove you from our database. So I did and was told they would remove me from their database, and apologies from the IT department. Also as previously stated, I spoke to a female singaporian accent if that's of any use. I guess I'll now just wait for the slew of spam messages and calls from fake companies as my phone number is sold from company to company.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Brisbane

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Harrassing text messages sent every day

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 25, 2018

I got tired of receiving text messages every day for weeks, so I rang the number. The lady (foreign) tried to tell me that i had a debt with the ATO. I laughed, telling her that I don't work, and haven't in a long time as I am disabled. She refused to't give me any further information because she couldn't verify who I was even though i gave her my name, dob, phone number, etc. I told her I was reporting them to the Federal Police.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Burnside

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Scare tactics and harassment

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 25, 2018

They sent a message with a reference, I rang and asked what it was about and they wouldn't tell me without giving my FULL name, address and D.O.B.

Absolutely ridiculous, turns out the debt wasn't even mine!!!

They NEED to change their processes, if you have a reference number and give them your phone number that should be enough.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Adelaide

  • 7 reviews
  • 10 answers
  • 10 helpful votes
Private message

Text message sent in error from a large reporting agency

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 16, 2018

With the amount of scams going around, I as very wary of the text message I received on my phone from Dun & Bradstreet. Curiosity gave way and decided to call them on a number provided from my Search engine rather than the number that was sent. Incidentally I do not have any debts owing. Got through to a call centre supposedly in Auckland NZ. He wanted my name, I said no, you sent me the text you tell me what this is about. Very rude and arrogant. Said the message should have been sent to a male, which obviously wasn't me as I am female. Very concerning that they claimed that this text message was sent in error.

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer

Scammer/Fraud

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 15, 2018

They have been harassing me for over 1 year now also giving me discounts if I call them & only once they told me in a message the debt was from Terri Scheer insurance who I've never heard off. I've blocked all their numbers and they continue to harass me under other numbers this time MiltnGraham. They email me as well with same messages. Need to be reported and shut down.

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Harassing sneaky

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 14, 2018

Had them harass me thanks to dept of housing for a debt i knew nothing about. I rang dept of housing and sorted the issue. They still kept ringing me, i told them its been sorted im not dealing with them. They told me they wanted proof i had to send paperwork to them. I said no, I've already sorted it. I get up to 6 calls a day every day, lucky its a private number so i just dont answer it, but they got sneaky and started trying to call off 3 similar mobile numbers!!

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Being harassed

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 04, 2018

I’ve been harassed for ages now over a fake debt. They places they claim I owe money too I have never been too let alone ever hearing of the place they are on about! Then they text me regarding another person in my family about an apparent debt matter they haven’t heard of either. Plus they never call and they never email.

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Awful customer service

1 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 30, 2018

I was hung upon and the lady was not only unhelpful but rude and raised her voice. Terrible. Try to avoid them.

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Scam

1 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 17, 2018

Received 2 texts today from "MiltnGraham" saying I owed money to Nimble - have never used any of these payday loan services, no idea where they got my mobile from, saying at the end that they were Milton Graham formerly D&B... scam! Avoid, do not call, text, email, click on the links etc - block and delete.

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

1 of 3 pages


Questions & Answers

Are others having trouble getting their free credit report from illion (formerly Dun & Bradstreet)? After using the online form to apply for a free credit report, I was asked to upload an ID document, which I did. I have now been waiting almost 2 weeks with no contact from illion at all. Is normal for this company?

Frequent traveller asked on Sep 25, 2018

Answer this

Update: I emailed illion to chase up my credit report and they finally did contact me after 14 days.

I am not a business...and I never heard Dunn & Bradstreet until I applied for Telephone payment plan that I discovered Brad and Dunn interfering my personal life. I was contacted by Dunn agent a young lady heavily accented, I immediately knew that this is a scam, because of the details they were chasing from me and mistakenly me a husband of somebody else. In fact the reference and the details information unheard and never knew there was. How could we lodge directly complaints to the Ombudsman so these company shall stop faking and Hoaxing vulnerable people, young and old and risking many lives in financial depression looting and scamming stripping us by these sort of HOAX AND FRAUD.

Penny asked on Jun 28, 2018

Does any body know which government agency these oxygen thieves report to? Spoke to a so called operator in Melbourne. Answers were -- its on website NO NO NO - send an email to complaints area NO NO NO they do not answer or resolve complaints (I would like that job just sit there all day and delete everything that comes in !!!!. Could not even give a phone number to contact just website emails.... The war zone looking tram line constrauction was esier to speak to.

Mick asked on Apr 23, 2018

Answer this

I called the number after another text today and spoke to someone - obviously in Singapore or somewhere - and I told him that after all these years of harassment I was going to speak to the Police and complain formally. He said he would delete my number from the data-base. I said that I'd been promised that before. We shall see what happens. As far as I know, they are not answerable to any government agency as they are a private enterprise operation.

See all 4 questions about Dun & Bradstreet