Verified Customer

Do not waste your money, Stay away from them.

1 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 24, 2017

It is going to be a waste of your money, try another site. Things to know :
- The company is actually based in Germany, So it is very hard to get in contact with them and you are not protected by Australian Consumer Laws.
- Their membership auto renews and there is no facility to switch this off. I had to cancel my credit card to stop them from charging me again.
- You spend all this time filling in your profile only to discover that their matching algorithms are crap. Your preference, you wants and likes are not taken into consideration. They just send you everyone they have in their Database, which is not much. For example I asked to meet people close to where I leave (30km - 50 km away) and I ended up getting matches from Canberra and Rural NSW. Nothing wrong with that, unless you are keen to travel for over 2hr for a cup of coffee.

There is a reason why their reviews are so bad. Do not take the risk, spend your money elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Appalling!!! It is absolutely a total con!!!!

1 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 19, 2017

Do not use this site!!!!!!
3 days to decide if this site is worthwhile is pathetic, as is the site, it is absolute rubbish.
Forget about a partial refund, the customer service is arrogant, demeaning and not worthy of the energy expended in pressing your fingers on the keyboard.
I am embarrassed I wasted so much money on this farcical site!
Negative 10 stars is my review!!!

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

A total con

1 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 17, 2017

seemed like a genuine helpful site.However when you sign up you are only given a few days to decide whether it is a worthwhile site.And ask for a refund .The only thing they are good at is collecting money .The service is appalling.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer

Elite Singles Misrepresentation

1 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 16, 2017

They are misrepresenting their offer.
They show their membership prices in monthly amounts.
When I signed up for 6 months they immediately charged my card for the full 6 months.
This is a con.
I emailed and asked for a refund but was refused as I was outside their 3 day cooling off period. All in the fine print of course.
I have made enquiries today about how their Australian website can be shut down. It is able to be done and this company needs to be shut down.

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Brisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 helpful votes
Private message

Scam - how to tell a scam a mile away

1 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 14, 2017

These guys require payment upfront using a credit card for a minimum 3 months all paid in advance and auto renewing in perpetuity after that. You dont ever see a picture unless youve paid a minimum $445, gone, whoosh, sayonara!!
Many of the so-called elites dont exist, interestingly one clearly extremely frustrated customer has changed their profile claimed to be a circus clown in Germany - and remember that I wanted to meet people within 25km of Brisbane, Australia! So dont waste your money and READ the other reviews on this site BEFORE giving them your credit card details - or live to regret it.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

melbourne

  • 15 reviews
  • 3 answers
  • 7 helpful votes
Private message

scam

1 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 13, 2017

How did this scum get my email address as I did not sing up for this crap? what happened to privacy?????

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Site hard to access and no matches take money and even when cancelled sent to collection agency with

1 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 10, 2017

Dissatisfied with the service do not do what they contracted to do we fork out money the site is not worth the money or time better service with RSVP simple affordable and give you what they commit to better than this scamming company shame shame shame on you never get caught they will take your money and with a smile on their faces rip off

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Elite Singles Australia.

1 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 09, 2017

Very few people are members in Adelaide. Total waste of time and money. RSVP much better. Don't waste your money on Elite.

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

narellan vale

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 comments
  • 1 answer
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

this is the biggest scam ever

1 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 08, 2017

this site is shocking no real matches ..... no reply's ...so called matches live miles away it goes on and on.... just make sure you have ticked not to renew or they will renew . i have ticked the box but told them i will not renew .. keep all the emails in case you have to fight them . they are based in germany so what can you do .....Do not sign up on this dating site . FREE ones are OASIS .....and Plenty of fish .....both 100% free.

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments

i can't work out How this site is still going. and it is in the top 5 best dating sites OMG who does these ratings. .whoever it is i wish someone would look into it .

  • 1 review
  • 1 answer
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

Total scam - worst dating site ever, don't waste your money!

1 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 04, 2017

I am appalled by my experience with this website and have become convinced that 'Elite Singles' have created hundreds of bogus profiles to make it look like they have members. It's the only explanation that makes any sense. It's just a dead site?! Nobody's ever online, no smiles/messages/requests for photos EVER returned. Very few new members ever join. Very few upload photos or much info at all. I ask the question - who would spend this extortionate amount of money on a dating site and then never upload photos of themselves? Or ever seem to be online? I'm certain it's a scam, and their 'automatic renewal' policy and the extremely difficult cancellation of membership seems a breach of all legal terms. I literally had to search for ages to work out how to cancel my auto renewal. Someone on this thread mentioned class action - I'd be in! In the meantime I'm reporting them to the watchdog authorities - something fishy is going on here.

5 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 answer
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Scammers

1 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 04, 2017

Hungry scammers who promise the world and deliver nothing. Immoral, unethical and they pay no attention to search criteria. Don't wate your money

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

No access and then no further access!!!

1 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 02, 2017

I've had the same issues today, server forbids access. I have just joined and I can't see pictures or emails from any contacts, which I quickly figured out you must pay for these. I'm starting to think that this a waste of time....

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 7 helpful votes
Private message

Shocking site

1 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 01, 2017

I was so stupid joining this site! Over $50 a month for what?! There are just not enough members. The quality of phone app is terrible as well. Rip off. I will send a complaint to ACCC.

7 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Booragoon

  • 1 review
  • 9 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer

Elite Singles are Shonky and Want Your $$$...no matter how they get it.

1 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 01, 2017

Don't use 'ELITE SINGLES' for meeting people. It's a ripoff.

They deducted $479.70 without prior notice as part of a so-called automatic 6 MONTH renewal.

It's in their terms and conditions...which is....wait for it....15 pages long containing over 4600 words.
There is no mention made of the automatic deduction of money from your bank account/credit card.

Guess where the automatic renewal (and withdrawal conditions) are? You guessed it! Page 15!!!

I am a businessman and this is a clear breach of ethics. It would also fail in court because the information pertaining to renewal (including automatic deduction of monies from personal accounts) is deliberately obscure and buried amongst thousands of words contained in the terms and conditions.

I'm going after them. Class action anyone?

9 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

Can't access the website

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 20, 2017

I joined up in 2016 for 6 months. I met one really nice person who has become a friend (nothing romantic) but otherwise I found the site really frustrating (not being able to search profiles and no pictures etc.). Over the past couple of weeks I haven't been able to access my login, and today even when I clicked on the website it keeps giving me a message "forbidden" you have no access to this server. I immediately contacted my financial provider and I have blocked them in case they try to debit my card like they seem to have done to so many others. Is this site even still operational or have they gone bust?

July 26th 2017 Update: One date in 12 months, and now have debt collectors chasing me for subscription I never asked for

Joined in April/May 16 for a 12 month period, and during that time I only met one person that I could even have a cup of coffee with. This site was absolutely useless. Since the subscription has expired they have kept sending me emails demanding payment for a second year's subscription that I did not agree to. Stay away from them! If you are already a member block your credit card details so they can't debit it - which is what they tried to do to me.

5 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 6 helpful votes
Private message

This dating site is not genuine

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 17, 2017

There is no doubt that many of the profiles you see on this website are not genuine. There are some genuine people but the 'pool' is very limited within the context of your match settings. So proceed with real caution. You join ES with excitement but you will be very, very disappointed. Cheers

6 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 6 helpful votes
Private message

Filthy Scum Rip Off - How dare they bill me without authority.

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 12, 2017

I have just lost $470 and probably have no way of getting a refund back.
No notification, no opportunity to opt in again for another six months.
For other people after me and reading this - don't go near this site and don't hand over any money!!
This is an expensive lesson so make sure if the site is not working and/or not meeting expectations, make sure you cancel your subscription and be done with it otherwise they claim to be able to automatically bill you on some pre-approved basis and kiss any refund good-bye.
Oh and read review sites before you sign up, not after you've been unexpectedly and intentionally ripped off.

6 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 answer
  • 10 helpful votes
Private message

Are the profiles real?

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 10, 2017

Don't waste your money on this rubbish site.

Firstly, you cannot search profiles, they send you matches. Except they don't, so you literally pay for nothing. 3 months into a 6 month period, I am being sent no matches at all, though there is message on my home page that many members are waiting to meet me. Great, let me have their details. I get no profile visitors. They obviously have very few members.

Whatever time you join for they take the full amount upfront, not monthly as quoted. Then they auto renew without notice- it's on the last page of their ts and cs. I've cancelled the card I paid with so they can't scam any more money out of me.

Most of the 'matches' are uncontactable. That's because they are non premium (unpaid) members. A lot of people think the site creates fake profiles. Most profiles have no pic and very limited information. I doubt people pay so much, and don't bother to do a proper profile.

Save you money, time and heartache and join another site. And read reviews first, and make sure you understand how it works.

13/3/17 Update: I sent them an email last night telling them to refund my money because they are in breach of the contract, i.e. they are not sending matches and as I'm not getting any profile visitors, which means they are not sending my profile to anyone. Surprise, surprise this morning I have 3 'matches' and 5 have you met.

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Adelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 answers
  • 9 helpful votes
Private message

This site is a scam

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 06, 2017

Very expensive and very few genuine singles on the site. It is impossible for you to search for members; you have to wait for 'matches' to be sent to you at 1-3 per day. The genuine matches quickly run out and then they send you fake profiles. These are quite amusing to read, as they are obviously composed by someone in their German office using google translate. Certain catchphrases are repeated frequently and hilariously, but not funny when you remember how much you've paid.

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

MONEY hungry monsters

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 28, 2016

So.. I joined Elite Singles for a few months. I was certain at time of jointing that I didn't want to continue my membership beyond the time agreed (due to the heavy financial burden) so I went on to their "how to cancel" page straight away and followed the instructions. That included: de-registering my PayPal details and emailing the company to let them know I wanted to terminate my contract after the initial membership period expired.

Time came around for my contract to be terminated. I continued to receive "partner suggestions" however. I contacted Elite immediately- genuinely confused about why I was still receiving such emails considering I had cancelled my membership. I then got a WARNING notice saying I was behind on my payments. I emailed the company again- this time angry that I was being threatened with debt recovery action when I had done everything right.

I was advised that the company had never received my email and that I should have known it hadn't been received as I had never received a confirmation email back!

I pleaded with the company to recognise my intention to cancel the contract immediately- willing to show them how I had cancelled my PayPal link immediately.

Miranda from "customer service" would not budge.

So... I now have been forced to pay an additional $500 for membership I can't afford, don't want and don't need!!!

PLEASE- Join another dating website. Let companies like Elite know they can't treat people like this!!!!

5 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

6 of 14 pages


Questions & Answers

How can you check they have deleted your membership? I cannot find details of when my subscription end

Max asked on Jun 14, 2017

Answer this

It was in the e- mail they sent saying they wouldn't refund me. I have reported this site to pay pal and my bank fort their scam all the best Max.

I have asked that they remove my profile, however they have not. My question is can they get the debt collection agency to track me down and make me pay up when I have tried to
cancel after the next payment is due ? They seem to threaten people if they can't get the money through a direct debit, as some cancel their credit card.....
Has anyone had to pay them ?

I went to my bank and reported them for scamming their members check the reviews they aren't very good. I also put a dispute payment into pay pal, ignore their threats go to your bank and put a block on them..

See all 4 answers
Like almost everyone, I did not check reviews before signing up for a premium 6 month membership. Luckily I decided to read the reviews almost immediately after (within hours) and emailed their customer support asking to cancel and get a refund stating the cooling off period. I also canceled the credit card I used. To anyone that was successful in this cooling off period loophole, did you have to "cancel" your membership via the cancellation page on the site in addition to sending an email? If so, please let me know as I only have 24 hours left to do so. Jeez, what a way to start the new year.

LCK asked on Jan 03, 2017

Answer this

No I didn't know about a cooling off period. It was at my 6 month end. But remove and cancel on the site, don't trust they will. ASAP. They continued after I deleted my profile. It's no better than any other site after my 6 months got nothing!

Hi Lck, I would cancel absolutely everything to do with Elite...they are nasty thieves! I hope you get out of it quickly and successfully! I didn't....absolute waste of time and money. Good luck!

Simply dispute the payment with your credit card provider. The cost will be refunded and Elite will not take any further action.

See all 6 answers
Has anybody cancelled this site and they refuse to recognize it and put the debt collectors on you?

johne asked on Nov 12, 2016

Answer this

Having the same issue with Elite myself Johne. Will keep you posted.

Have refused to pay this as the company in question is a scam If we all do this maybe they will get the hint and stop doing this john e

No, they are running a scam and simply rely on what they can get without effort.

See all 7 answers
See all 12 questions about Elite Singles