Adelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 answers
  • 9 helpful votes
Private message

This site is a scam

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 06, 2017

Very expensive and very few genuine singles on the site. It is impossible for you to search for members; you have to wait for 'matches' to be sent to you at 1-3 per day. The genuine matches quickly run out and then they send you fake profiles. These are quite amusing to read, as they are obviously composed by someone in their German office using google translate. Certain catchphrases are repeated frequently and hilariously, but not funny when you remember how much you've paid.

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

MONEY hungry monsters

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 28, 2016

So.. I joined Elite Singles for a few months. I was certain at time of jointing that I didn't want to continue my membership beyond the time agreed (due to the heavy financial burden) so I went on to their "how to cancel" page straight away and followed the instructions. That included: de-registering my PayPal details and emailing the company to let them know I wanted to terminate my contract after the initial membership period expired.

Time came around for my contract to be terminated. I continued to receive "partner suggestions" however.
I contacted Elite immediately- genuinely confused about why I was still receiving such emails considering I had cancelled my membership. I then got a WARNING notice saying I was behind on my payments. I emailed the company again- this time angry that I was being threatened with debt recovery action when I had done everything right.

I was advised that the company had never received my email and that I should have known it hadn't been received as I had never received a confirmation email back!

I pleaded with the company to recognise my intention to cancel the contract immediately- willing to show them how I had cancelled my PayPal link immediately.

Miranda from "customer service" would not budge.

So... I now have been forced to pay an additional $500 for membership I can't afford, don't want and don't need!!!

PLEASE- Join another dating website. Let companies like Elite know they can't treat people like this!!!!

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 answer
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Purchase

Auto renew they won't relent.

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 21, 2016

Membership auto renew, can't opt out or remove your payment option. Used PayPal, on the last day I cancelled 12/10, removed my entire profile and deleted it as well. Confirmation email and it another asking for payment since they renewed on 12/10, the last day of the membership. They claim to have a prior 24 hour cancellation,
though there is no email notification as a reminder, designed to take your money. This was Saturday, no phone, no customer service,
I checked my bank and contacted PayPal and they cancelled the payment authorization.
Elite tried to collect and failed. They continue to email, I won't be bullied into paying to use a service I'm dissatisfied with. Today another email threatening and I told them to cease and desist, do I need to get an Lawyer? Told them not to contact me unless they will tell me they have deactivated my account. I would block them but am totally stressed and on a fixed disability income. Why can't they leave it alone?

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 answer
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Purchase

Read the fine print!

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 21, 2016

Elite Singles will take your money and that's about it. They offer no customer support, they are incredibly difficult to contact and you need to read the fine print very, very, very carefully. They prey on the lonely and the vulnerable...then turn very nasty and aggressive when you question them about their fine print. They will charge you twice for a premium membership and do not even have the grace to send you an email prior to this happening. The site is cumbersome and tiresome. I wouldn't recommend this site to anyone. In fact, I would tell you to STAY AWAY from it altogether. Nothing elite about Elite Singles at all.

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Melbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 answers
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

Not user friendly

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 20, 2016

Had the basic package but couldn't really do anything with it. Email communications appeared that were from people not on my match list so I couldn't check them out. Couldn't access email either (so like a hostage situation) unless I paid exorbitant price. Which says per month, but is actually taken as a lump sum according to this website which I'm sure breaches consumer laws that they must tell you the total charged and if it is charged as one sum. Seems dodgy.

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 answer
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Purchase

Greedy!

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 17, 2016

I cancelled the membership, asked them to stop taking my money and they still did until I changed my card and they still want my money. Now they're threating me with a debit collector so I've decided to take it further and contact the Current Affair.

July 7th 2017 Update: Debit collector

Don't let them scare you with the debit collector crap. It's just another way to get money out of you! They threaten me with the debit collector I told them "bring it on" then they never contacted me again. They are COMPLETELY SCAMS & will try to get every penny from you but don't fall for their scams and threats!

5 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 answer
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Scammers - beware!

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 14, 2016

This site is a scam. I signed up and paid up but there is a problem with my password access so I can't access the profile via computer and they don't respond to emails requesting help (I have sent twelve...) And when I rang the listed phone number of the parent company I was told 'they don't have a phone number, you must send a fax' !!! Please avoid wasting your money as I have.

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

seymour

  • 1 review
  • 1 question
  • 3 answers
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Even if you cancel this site they still want you to pay

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 14, 2016

I have been on other sites and cancelled there was no problem. This site refuses to acknowledge that you have cancelled and want their money any way or they will send the debt collectors after you.

February 2 2017 Update: Again i have been threatened by this site for not paying a supposite exit fee

Elite singles have threatened me again with the same thing as last time Not paying a exit fee that does not exist

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

A scam! Misleading & deceptive!

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 11, 2016

This site is a scam. The matches they send you are hardly elite and all lived miles away from me. The terms and conditions are unfair and they make it almost impossible to cancel your membership. I eventually managed to cancel my membership. My credit card was then stolen so I cancelled it. When they couldn't withdraw the next lot of money they sent me aggressive emails threatening me with passing the debt on to a collection agency. Today I received a letter of demand from an Australian debt collection agency. I will be fighting it and reporting this company to the regulator for misleading and deceptive conduct and unfair consumer contract terms and conditions. Do not sign up, they prey on the vulnerable!

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 5 reviews
  • 14 helpful votes
Private message

Auto renewal is annoying

2 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 25, 2016

You don't pay attention and your card is charged second time!! They will make it hard for you, to discover how to opt out of the auto-renewal.
BE PREPARED to pay twice.

5 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Absolute Rubbish

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 25, 2016

This site is absolute rubbish. A second lot of money was taken out of my account automatically. A courtesy email would have been nice so I could cancel it. I do not recommend this site to anyone. I lost interest in looking at the matches after one week! Don't waste your time and money.

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Purchase

The WORST Dating Site for SOOOOO Many Reasons

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 14, 2016

I'm so upset about this dating site.
They do not allow YOU to search by your own criteria. They only send you what they think are "your" matches which include people from other provinces!!! There options must be so limited.
When they sent me a survey and I didn't respond favorably they cut my log in. You cannot get a new password and you cannot contact them except through snail mail.

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

6 of 18 pages


Questions & Answers

How can you check they have deleted your membership? I cannot find details of when my subscription end

Max asked on Jun 14, 2017

Answer this

It was in the e- mail they sent saying they wouldn't refund me. I have reported this site to pay pal and my bank fort their scam all the best Max.

I have asked that they remove my profile, however they have not. My question is can they get the debt collection agency to track me down and make me pay up when I have tried to
cancel after the next payment is due ? They seem to threaten people if they can't get the money through a direct debit, as some cancel their credit card.....
Has anyone had to pay them ?

I went to my bank and reported them for scamming their members check the reviews they aren't very good. I also put a dispute payment into pay pal, ignore their threats go to your bank and put a block on them..

See all 5 answers
Like almost everyone, I did not check reviews before signing up for a premium 6 month membership. Luckily I decided to read the reviews almost immediately after (within hours) and emailed their customer support asking to cancel and get a refund stating the cooling off period. I also canceled the credit card I used. To anyone that was successful in this cooling off period loophole, did you have to "cancel" your membership via the cancellation page on the site in addition to sending an email? If so, please let me know as I only have 24 hours left to do so. Jeez, what a way to start the new year.

LCK asked on Jan 03, 2017

Answer this

No I didn't know about a cooling off period. It was at my 6 month end. But remove and cancel on the site, don't trust they will. ASAP. They continued after I deleted my profile. It's no better than any other site after my 6 months got nothing!

Hi Lck, I would cancel absolutely everything to do with Elite...they are nasty thieves! I hope you get out of it quickly and successfully! I didn't....absolute waste of time and money. Good luck!

Simply dispute the payment with your credit card provider. The cost will be refunded and Elite will not take any further action.

See all 5 answers
Has anybody cancelled this site and they refuse to recognize it and put the debt collectors on you?

johne asked on Nov 12, 2016

Answer this

Having the same issue with Elite myself Johne. Will keep you posted.

Have refused to pay this as the company in question is a scam If we all do this maybe they will get the hint and stop doing this john e

No, they are running a scam and simply rely on what they can get without effort.

See all 7 answers
See all 12 questions about Elite Singles