Verified Customer

HQ17- love it!

4 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 10, 2018

We picked up our HQ17 a few months ago, we purchased it based on the layout for our family and with a budget in mind. We have just finished an 8500km trip through SA, NT and western Qld. The van was great. We had a couple of little issues with it in the road I patched up, and have since logged warranty jobs for. GIC have been most helpful in resolving these for us. The team also took time to listen to a couple of things that can be improved, and genuinely took an interest in what I thought could be better. We love our van, and are happy with the overall finish and very happy with how it tows. It is heavy, but we knew that when we bought it, and in turn we are conscious of how we load the van.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
GIC Official

Hi Justin Thank you for the fantastic feedback. It is great that you and your family are using and enjoying your Black Series HQ17 Caravan. If you could kindly, at your leisure, contact me on ale... read more »

Verified Customer

Black series Sargent

4 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 08, 2018

The Sargent Camper trailer is exactly what my family and I were after. Easy to set up and tows really well. Had 1 issue with the sink drain. Filled out the warranty page on the website. Had a prompt reply and the part replaced and posted within a week. Also was asked if pick up or post was more convenient. Thank you Gary.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
GIC Official

Hi Scott
It’s good to hear that our product is exactly what your family needs and thank you for the review. I will pass on your gratitude to Gary, who will appreciate your kind words.
Kind Regards
Aleks
GIC Black Series

Hurstbridge

  • 1 review
  • 1 answer
Private message

Our first big trip.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 06, 2018

We brought our Dominator in December 2017. We took away a couple of weekends just to get used to it. Then on the 12/07/18 we travelled to Simpson Desert with camper trailer. It did not miss a beat. No dust in any cupboards (not like other camper trailers). Not dust whatsoever ever in trailer while travelling. Sat behind car and towed beautifully. We are very happy with camper trailer.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sale

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 comments
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer

Faild to repair under warranty and Emotional Distress

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 16, 2018

We bought a 2017 Black series Alpha last year, well after a couple month of owning it we started noticing some surface rust on the draw bar so instead of whinging about it I just bit my tongue and did some surface rust repairs and painted it, as I got underneath I had noticed a crap load of surface rust some parts were worse then others to the point it was starting to eat into the frame and under courage, so I rang them about it and all they said I had to spray it with fish oil, I then said that this is a brand new camper and that it shouldn't have no rust, after arguing and back and forwards with phone calls I decided to fix the issue myself, so after spending money on doing repairs thought that was the end of my issues., then after repairing the A frame and under courage, I then started finding more rust in the tool box, so again I started making more emails and phone calls, after a month of arguing with this mob they decided to get the campers toolbox repaired in my town, even that took months to arrange that, but the story doesn't end there, so after weeks of waiting, I took the camper down to get repaired, so it had been in the repairs shop about a week when I get the phone call the guy said he didn't want to touch it, by this stage it was already 2018, so I rang black series and explained to then that the repairer down here doesn't want to touch it, so they said to leave it with them and they would ring me back, well that was at the start of the year, I sent them a message a few weeks ago and they said someone would call me back, well no one did, this isn't the only issue either, when we went to weather the canvas we noticed that the annexe had foot print marks and mold we also reported this and they didn't want to do anything about that, it has been one big nightmare, I could go on and on about the nightmare we have had including the loan process, when we rang about getting finance we gave them all our details after a few days there finance broker said it wouldn't be worth us putting in for the loan because a few issues and that we would get knocked back and that nobody would give us a loan, because we were so interested we decided to go through a strict loans company because of what the broker at black series told us, after the loan got approved we found out there was no issues at all, so now because of that we are paying $16000 instead of $9000, if they had gone and put the loan through they would of seen that the issues would not if affected the loan in fact after doing some enquiries we found out the issue we thought we had didn't even existed,
We have no other choice but to now take legal action because they are not going to repair it, they have put so much un needed stress on the whole family, we had already has a lot of stress due to me being in and out of hospital having 8 major spinal operations, this camper was for us to go away with the whole family and get away from all the stressors of surgery and hospital but instead its caused alot of stress on us all, we have photos and emails of the communications,
Marco

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
GIC Official

Hi Marco Sorry to hear the issues you have been facing. I did try to find your account and I failed to do so. Can you please send me your personal details and order number to my email aleks.a@blac... read more »

I have emailed you but I think its a bit late now as we have already sent our report to the ACCC.

.........

See all 4 comments

Verified Customer

Excellent Service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 10, 2018

We picked up our new black series dominator camper yesterday and couldn't be happier. Came with all the bells and whistles so we don't have to go purchase any extras it was all included. Excellent customer service and a special thank you to Aleks (Campbellfield Store) for all your help. It was an extremely smooth transition from purchase to delivery. Would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
GIC Official

Hi Shell D
Thanks for the kind words, I really appreciated it. We hope you have lots of fun and you create many happy memories on your travels in your new camper trailer.
Kind Regards
Aleks
GIC Black Series

Newcastle

  • 1 review
  • 1 comment
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer

Delivery Delays

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 30, 2018

I placed an order for their new classic 12 caravan a few months ago and was told it would be ready in a month. Then a week later i was told 2 months and then after those 2 months i was told another 2 and a half months. Now i wouldn't of minded waiting 4 months or so but i'd already been let down twice so who is to say it wasn't going to be longer wait again?

Now i have cancelled the order and deciding to spend my money elsewhere. I am currently in the process of trying to get my $500 deposit back which i was told they would pay. Been told multiple times that accounts team will contact me but has not happened yet. (Been 4 days so far) Now i am going through to voicemail.

I have received confirmation the order is cancelled but they still keep the deposit.
Quick to take the money and sell you fake promises but take days to process a simple refund.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
GIC Official

Hi Bartee1992 As per our conversation, I did explain that our supplier did not fulfill their promise and we had a delay of that particular product which was completely unexpected and unfortunate. M... read more »

I believe the 1 star is valid. For customer service at least. I had to contact to find out about the extra delays. Yes the order was cancelled but there was no communication after that about the re... read more »

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer

Buyer Beware - worst customer service

2 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 22, 2018

I purchased a Patron after about 4 months of research. The experience through the sales process was terrible as I couldn’t get any feedback which should have scared me off. I stupidly preserved as it was thinking trailer I wanted.

4 months on I am still waiting for the extras which form a dominant part of their marketing after numerous broken promises.

I have left Multiple phone messages, emails and facebook messages (thinking about resorting to sending a carrier pigeon). Worst customer service I have experienced in a very long time.

It is a great camper trailer but it was damaged on delivery and they promised to fix. I am forced to go and pay for all the extras which were promised as i require for the next trip.

I wish I had gone with either the Mars or MDC.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
GIC Official

Hi Tim , Thank you for the review and honest feedback , sorry to hear your experience has not been the best, we pride ourselves on our customer service and are always looking for ways to improve ou... read more »

Perth, Western Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 question
  • 4 answers
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer

Sales department need some improvement

3 out of 5, reviewed on May 31, 2018

In November of 2017 we ordered a Dominator camper trailer at Black Series. We live in the Netherlands, so we bought it after exchanging some e-mails with one of the Sydney salesmen. Our experience with the sales department of Black Series is not good. We had a delivery issue (delivered later than was promised) and the two salesmen that said to help us were too bad in communicating with us (like not calling or e-mailing back when promised). There were some other issues as well: We didn’t get any instructions on how to set-up and put down the trailer (we received our trailer in Perth and the location there was just closed so there was nobody at the pick-up). There were also some minor things, like a missing mudflap and some of the reflectors fell off in the first hour we drove our trailer.

However, after putting a bad review here, we were approached by someone of customer support from the Melbourne department of Black Series. He helped us out very well! He sent us the missing/broken parts and also some extra stuff, answered all the questions we had still had and he also seemed to really care that we ended up as happy customers. When two weeks ago our gas stove stopped working he also helped us to get it locally fixed (since we’re on the road).

Altogether we are happy with the trailer. It’s an easy set-up (especially the basic set-up) and it’s spacious enough for us (two). It’s not the best quality, but hey, it’s the cheapest forward fold camper trailer you can get. If you have laid eyes on this camper trailer, just don’t order it when being in a tight time schedule. Be aware it might take a few weeks longer. And do not order at the Sydney department if you want a trustworthy salesman, then you’ll be fine!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
GIC Official

Thank Heleen for your review. All your comments and remarks will be taken on board for our future training. We will continue to work hard in not only improving our products, which are the best valu... read more »

Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 1 answer
Private message

2018 patron warranty

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 24, 2018

Purchased a 2018 patron camper and after afew small trips away noticed i had 2 shock absorbers leaking aswell as a faulty battery charger faulty rear latch handle. Contacted Jade in after sales at Sydney who talked me through the steps for a warranty claim and processed the claim within minutes and informed me that they would replace all failed parts as well as replace the 2shocks which werent even leaking.
TNT had a few issues and after a week i contacted Jade again and we arranged a time to pick up the parts. Jade couldn't be easier to deal with and I'm more then happy with the outcome. Definitely deal with Jade directly if you have ant concerns/issues highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
GIC Official

HI Mark Thank you for the great review. We appreciate your honest feedback, as Jade and the rest of our team spend countless hours to make the whole after purchase experience as great as the initia... read more »

Verified Customer

Love Black Series

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 22, 2018

We brought our Alpha trailer last year from Black series and love it. We love the storage, space and easy set up of the alpha. All these things are very important to us as a family of 6. We had one small issue which black series where extremely helpful in repairing under warrently. Thanks to Jade and the team at Black series

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
GIC Official

Thank you, Jodie, for the kind review. We are pleased to hear that you are happy with our product, The Black Series Alpha camper trailer, and our service. Enjoy your camping and please feel free to... read more »

Surry Hills

  • 1 review
  • 1 comment
Private message

Verified Customer

Good camper - after care is a concern

3 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 24, 2018

I'm impressed with the camper (Extreme Commando) but I am very frustrated at the after care. I completed the customer support form over 3 weeks ago, provided all of the necessary information and photos (one of my tent peg anchors has come off). I've called up the Sydney office 3 times now. Each time I have been assured I would hear back from someone - still no response. This is very frustrating. Above all, I wanted a response from someone, and to know what the next steps were to resolve the issue. Just basic customer service.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
GIC Official

Hi Sweets and thank you for taking your time to write us a review. We are pleased that you are impressed with your camper trailer at the same time I’m sorry to hear that you haven’t received the ri... read more »

Thanks Aleks.

I'm pleased to report that I'm now booked in to have the canvas repaired and GIC have been very responsive in assisting with this.

Verified Customer

Happy camper

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 21, 2018

Upgraded from hard floor which done job for 10 years look around for months at all options kept coming back to black series campbellfield dominator ticked all the boxes and price couldn't be beaten so the dominator was it forward fold, nice sitting area and got all the bell and whistles picked it up and loaded all my gear in toes excellent behind my FJ cruiser of camping I go couldn't be happier it's like a caravan that I can take anywhere handles all the rough stuff I'm a happy camper .had I slight glitch with one stabilizer leg but when a got home the boys at campbellfield took care of me couldn't be more satisfied..... thanks black series ...

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
GIC Official

Hi Jeff and thank you for your kind words and great review. We are pleased to see and hear that you are happy with your camper trailer. Our support is always here, should you require it, and feel f... read more »

Verified Customer

Fantastic camper in its price range

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 19, 2018

The camper dominates all other campers in its price range, the dominator is a fantastic camper. I highly recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
GIC Official

Thank you Troy for the great review. We are delighted to hear that you are enjoying your camper trailer. Happy camping.
Kind regards
Aleks
GIC Black Series

Verified Customer

Great camper and fantastic value.

4 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 19, 2018

We've done over 2,200 kms in our Dominator and it's a good news story. We have just been on the rough and dusty stuff (Flinders Ranges) for Easter as well as the smooth on a few occasions and the camper has given us nothing but enjoyment (and has remained 95% internally dust free). We've done a few mods to make it even better and will no doubt do a couple more as we use it more and learn from our experiences, but nothing we've done has been forced or from something broken. For the money we paid we couldn't be happier. Looking forward to many years of enjoyment. Happy to recommend Black Series to anyone. Aleks was also great to deal with in the Melbourne office.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
GIC Official

Hi Baldy and thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you are enjoying your camper trailer. Please feel free to tag us on any of your camping photos through any social media. I look f... read more »

Cairns

  • 1 review
  • 1 comment
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer

Black Series Campers - Alpha

1 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 15, 2018

This has been the worst customer service experience. Organising our finance was a breeze no issue taking our money....10 weeks after our Camper was paid in full we are still waiting on our product. Each call and email sent...we get "we will call you back" OR "........ is in a meeting". So unprofessional and incompetent. If we knew what we would face once we had paid in full for our Camper we would not have continued with this sale. To date we have made several email complaints and are now in the process of filing a formal complaint with the Office of Fair Trade. Nothing but a nightmare! Go to MDC! If we could rate this in the negative we would...only by default they get a 1 star rating from us!

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
GIC Official

Hi Scott, Really disappointed to read about the troubles you have had with your GIC Black Series Alpha camper trailer order. Unfortunately, we did encounter some unforeseen delays that were beyon... read more »

Its a bit to late to be apologising on a product review forum when you ignored our calls and emails Alex, you make your response sound like you had no idea which couldnt be further from the truth. ... read more »

GIC Official

Hey Scott Once again, I am sorry about the inconvenience you have had to deal with. I am afraid that you have mistaken me for a different person. I am in Melbourne and my name is Aleks, my num... read more »

Verified Customer

Sergeant camper

4 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 14, 2018

When I purchased the camper I had a few issues. Thought it was hard to get the dealt with until I found Phil. He took over and made sure all issues were resolved in a timely manner. Took the camper for a long drive from Sydney to Surfers. Towed beautifully. I got to say I was surprised. The car used hardly any extra fuel and the trailer was smooth to tow. Only silly me needing to break hard because I did not see the round about and the breaks with the tow pro worked wonders. Took me less time the second time to pit it up. Hubby told me took me longer to put up the camper shelves I bought than the camper it’s self lol. I did it mostly my self as hubby is recovering from major surgery. If you consider the camper trailer make sure your fit enough to put it up and down. Rows great and Phil in Sydney is the man to see.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
GIC Official

Cheers Brenda and thank you for the positive feedback. We at GIC Black Series appreciate your kind words. We hope that your Sergeant camper trailer brings you many years of happy camping. Feel fre... read more »

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 question
  • 6 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer

Dreadful experience

1 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 02, 2018

Despite paying a deposit, we were lied to about the whereabouts of our trailer that we thought we were getting before Easter. Brisbane blamed Sydney, Sydney blamed Brisbane. Took 2 weeks to get our deposit back and the Customer Service was so bad that they have supposedly implemented mystery shoppers and more training for the employee that we dealt with. Absolutely dreadful service in Brisbane and honestly not much better from Sydney. Reading some of the reviews about the product and after-sales service we've dodged a bullet and we'll be happy to give our money to someone else. Would not recommend this company if they were the last camper trailer company open.

5 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
GIC Official

Hi Candy S I am sorry to hear about the issues you have encountered. We are working on improvements at GIC Black Series and your feedback is much appreciated. If you would like me to help you with ... read more »

Verified Customer

We love it!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 23, 2018

We were looking for a middle of the road camper trailer, with the aim of getting the family out and about into the bush more. After looking at a range of soft floor campers the Sergeant offered the best value for money combination we could find.

Since purchasing last year we've done a couple of long, and a bunch of short trips with NSW and Victoria. The trailer has performed with no issues, and it's been great to be able to hitch it up to the car with a minimum of preparation. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
GIC Official

Hi Martin, Thank you for the great review. We at GIC Black Series appreciate a positive feedback and more importantly we are very happy to hear that you are enjoying your Sergeant camper trailer. ... read more »

Melbourne

  • 1 review
  • 1 comment
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer

Black series Delta Camper

1 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 12, 2018

Very disappointed in the lack of service. Once a problem has been identified, GIC really don't care. We bought a Delta camper sitting here that is not right and has never been ok since we bought it. Some of the products with the camper are inferior. GIC don't want to know. Supposedly stainless but yet there is rust. Stitching coming apart as not been sewn correctly, frame is not straight and so tent doesn't open and set up properly. Solar panel and battery issues or maybe it wiring. The water pump and LED lights supplied with camper drain the batteries even though we follow the guidelines supplied. There is moisture in clearance lights an we were being sent replacements and that still has never happened. They have replaced the first faulty solar panel and had 1 small area of stitching repaired. Far from fixing all the issues. All expected to be done at my expense.
Some of the stitching was repaired by their warranty repairer however it was a brand new camper, shouldn't have needed fixing.
Blow holes on the welds of the boat racks. Dodgy batteries, crappy wiring, sharp edges on stainless finishes, bad finish on the bedroom area, twisted camper frame so zips cant be done up. The list keeps going. I have sent email after email and I get nothing back. I call and not get answered. It is ridiculous and I think GIC hope that all these unhappy customers will just go away. Next stop VCAT.

Buyer beware, its not worth the money when the after care on faulty products is less than satisfactory. I hope you too wont be left with a camper that you have nothing but trouble with.

5 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
GIC Official

Hi Kylie, Thank you for your product review. I am sorry to hear about the issues you have encountered. We are working on improvements at GIC Black Series and your feedback has been noted. I am mo... read more »

Nearly 2 years on and I’m still fighting to get the camper sorted EVEN though they have admitted the canvas is faulty! I have wasted so much money and time running around to try get my lemon fixed. I am so disappointed

Hobart

  • 1 review
  • 2 comments
  • 1 answer
  • 7 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer

Black series dominator

2 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 02, 2018

In all we are very disappointed with our dominator, after sales service is shocking, after our first trip in tassie the sink plug assembly fell apart, floor inside the camper lifted up, 5 reflectors fell off, and when in contact with management in Sydney I'll accept that first response was very fast but after 7 weeks no more contact, ringing or email not a soul wanted to know, the management I am dealing with is a joke.

7 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
GIC Official

Hi Benn,

Sorry to hear about this, if you could private message your details, we would love the opportunity to have this corrected for you.

The Black Series Team.

0427215300

Good to see gic keeping with its standards still not resolved ACCC was very interested in this case, next step lawyers... Not a company you can trust

1 of 8 pages


Questions & Answers

GIC dominator How big in millimeters is the 2nd bed after table folds away?

Jack B asked on Aug 08, 2018

Answer this

Not huge, for small kids only. Might be a bit over a metre. We only have 2 kids do it’s not a drama

I recently bought an alpha, but am having trouble with the battery system. I've plugged it to mains but nothing seems to be happening. Could someone plz help ?

Johnno asked on Aug 06, 2018

Answer this

Hi Johnno

I am sorry to hear that you are experiencing a bit of difficulty in charging the battery in your Black Series Alpha camper trailer.

To enable us to assist you promptly please email me your contact details to aleks.a@blackseries.com.au

Also, please feel free to contact Jade on 1300 226 737 option 3 for service & warranty.

Kind Regards
Aleks
GIC Black Series

In answer to your question have you checked the amp gauge it should be I’d range and fan on opposite side should be operating when battery charger connected to battery and 240 mains power.

Hi, I recently purchased at Dominator, but am finding it hard to find anywhere to purchase a wheel clamp for it. Can anyone advise where in Sydney I could get one? Have tried, Autobarn, Super cheap Auto, BCF.. No luck?? Cheers.

David S asked on Aug 03, 2018

See all 115 questions about GIC Camper Trailers