Filter By:

Generation: AH (2004-2009) Body: Wagon Badge: CD Engine Size: 1.8L Petrol Transmission: Manual Date Purchased: Jan 2016

A car from Germany with excellent design and engineering and SH$% Build quality!

3 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 09, 2018

I have had my 2006 Holden Astra Station Wagon for 2.5 years. I purchased this particular vehicle because it is a small wagon with heaps of boot space.

Overall I enjoy driving this car. With the 5 speed, the gear between 2nd and 3rd is short meaning you need to get the revs up to around 2800rpm to drop it into 3rd at 2000rpm for the right speed. Mechanically the car is very fuel efficient. On 98 Octane, it will do city driving around 8.2L/100kms. On country driving I have got just under 7L numerous times.

In the wagon, the rear seats can be moved so you can completely fold the rear seat flat. It allows you to store a lot of stuff!!!

Being a German designed car, the handling is very very good along with the brakes. It's responsive in sharp turns and holds the road well on the standard tyres. It has saved me several times in avoiding cars suddenly coming out of driveways to veer off with no body roll. The engine has good torque but requires some additional push in traffic and on hills (perhaps due to the extra weight of the wagon vs the hatch). It isn't quick by any means.

The body quality and interior parts are pretty poor for a car built in 2006. The factory clear coat has completely peeled on the roof and is starting on the bonnet and right side of the car (both drivers and RHS passenger door, front bumper). The left side has no peel. I've seen the clear coat come off other silver wagons but also other AH Astra's in various places (wagon and hatch). It seems to be a problem with early AH models imported into Australia (2005 - 2006). Another common problem is the steering wheel material coming off. You can still use the steering wheel, it just looks like it is falling apart.

The ventilation control behind the heater wouldn't turn the heater flap soon after I purchased it. I figured out this was because of a loose electrical connection. I resoldered some wires and it fixed the problem. The power window button for the driver snapped and I also replaced this (part is about $15 for 5 buttons).

Lastly, turn on the headlights and beep the horn. If it doesn't work, an Body Control Unit may either be not functioning or the connections are loose. There is a fix where Holden / Opal put connectors to push the wires together. I had this done out of consideration as I purchased the car second hand.

You can understand how General Motors who owned Opal are going broke, just not enough attention to the car overall !!!

Would I still buy one? Considering I'd have to get a 4WD to supplement my needs (where this car will put to shame many 4WDs for storage space ) I'd say yes...but only if the paint and trim didn't fall apart!

Was this review helpful? Yes

wollongong

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: AH (2004-2009) Body: Hatch Badge: CD Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Apr 2013

wonderful fora little car

4 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 22, 2018

this car is just enough for myself , small but is put down the back seat the room is big enough for any loading. I service the car once a year but never have problem , i can not believe this car allready been 11 years. never have any big issues,

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Brisbane, QLD

  • 17 reviews
  • 1 question
  • 4 answers
  • 7 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: TS (1998-2005) Body: Convertible Badge: Bertone Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Sep 2017

Ok for the price, especially being a convertible

3 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 14, 2018

There are not many convertible 4 seater cars in the market for the price of an Astra. convertible roofs are complex and prone to faults. Astra is not exception. but finding parts for this car is easy in Australia.
My car had these issues since owning it:
- roof stopped working. busted hydraulic pipe cost around 1k to fix
- leaking engine once from rocker gasket and once from oil pressure sensor
- wheel hub and screws and nuts needed replacements
- shock absorbents needed replacement

lots of issues for a car done just 130k. but still cheaper than trying to buy a let's say golf convertible.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dunsborough

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: TS (1998-2005) Body: Hatch Badge: City Engine Size: 1.8L Petrol Transmission: Manual Date Purchased: Oct 2016

Manual 2000 Holden Astra Hatch. Great little first car

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 29, 2018

Bought it when I was 16 as a learners car, it’s great on fuel economy (I get about 7L/100km Maximum km is 700km and minimum is 450ish km with spirited driving) and very cheap as well ( $50 for full tank depends on fuel price ) With one full tank I can go from Dunsborough to Perth and still have half a tank left! It handles and feels like a big car, the noise on freeway driving is little to none, interior is a bit plastic-ish but it doesn’t bother me, leg room both front and rear is amazing! I can fit 5 people easily, and when I need to haul stuff I just put the rear seats down. I live in the country/coastline and I do take her off-roading/soft-roading every time and she does the job! Very reliable if maintenanced regularly, only thing to look out for when buying is the timing belt/water pump, change it every 50xxxkms. I’ve had mine for nearly 2 years of doing Learners and 18 months of P-plates and did 47xxxkms before breaking down when water pump gave up spunning the timing belt, piston hits the valve. Other than that is great reliable car.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Highett

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Purchase Generation: BL (2017 - Present) Body: Sedan Badge: LS+ Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Jun 2018

Very smooth

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 06, 2018

We brought our Astra in June. I’m super happy with it. We originally owned a Cruze and as much as I like it this car is better. The smoothness of it is what I love he most and it’s turbo. The features in it are great (apple car play) the old system was a bit slow but not any more I connect straight away. The boot is large which is great with a pram the back seats are roomy. Have had two adults and a car seat and everyone was fine. For what I paid and what I got I’m over the moon thanks Holden

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Melbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 answer
Private message

Generation: BL (2017 - Present) Body: Sedan Badge: LT Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Sep 2017

Perfect car

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 17, 2018

I absolutely love this car! Great space in the boot as it’s a sedan, plus it also has all the extras you might need in your every day driving apart from an electric engine. Average fuel consumption is around 5.7-6.5l. Really comfortable, easy to use interface, huge screen and wheels which help you to focus more on the traffic rather than worrying about how to operate what.

Purchased at: Holden Dealers

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 12 reviews
  • 8 answers
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: BL (2017 - Present) Body: Hatch Badge: R Plus Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Apr 2018

Great car heaps of features

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 09, 2018

Very impressed with this vehicle for under $20k, have compared with other vehicles, has day time driving lights, rain sensor wipers, stop start, Emergency Bracking, lane keeping assistance, auto lights, reverse camera and rear sensors, Apple car play, DAB radio, Seven inch touch screen, seventeen inch alloy wheels, leather steering, 1.4 litre turbo very fuel efficient, made in Europe. Great styling with piano finish. Seriously most expensive vehicles don't gave half the stuff. Also 7 year warranty with 3 year roadside (RACV)......

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Perth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 2 answers
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: TS (1998-2005) Body: Sedan Badge: City Engine Size: 1.8L Petrol Transmission: Manual Date Purchased: Mar 2016

Easy fix for Holden Astra !!!!

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 06, 2018

If your Astra overheats,
goes into limp mode,
or just plain and simple runs like crap, then call me in Western Australia to fix or perhaps improve the way it runs. My mobile is 0400501037. I have had two TS Astra sedans over the years and since I made this simple modification no limp mode or faults have come and both cars have been driven by learner drivers constantly stalling.....

Purchased at: Gumtree

Was this review helpful? Yes

Nowra

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: AH (2004-2009) Body: Hatch Badge: CDTI Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Jun 2014

DON'T BUY THIS TRASH

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 29, 2018

Bought this car in 2014 for $7000 however, I had to spend another $4000 repairs
The car shakes/judders when driving at 60km or higher. The sports button makes the car undrivable. Another typical European Holden, nothing but problems.


Avoid at all costs especially L and P platers as we don't have that much money to spend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Adelaide

  • 1 review
  • 1 question
Private message

Generation: AH (2004-2009) Body: Hatch Badge: CDX Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Jan 2009

Better now Holden dont touch it

2 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 28, 2018

I could have boght a new car with the money I've spent on it. Without fail every 6 months it cost between $800 and $2000 at dealership to fix. Dudded me an ignition barrel under warranty as they couldn't get it to fault until warranty ended that is. Electrical fault twice a year like clockwork UNTIL I STOPPED GOING TO DEALER.

Been great since taking it elsewhere, no fault liggts just regular servicing and maintenance. Coincidence???? Not likely!!!!

Previous review mentiined front tyre wear is excessive and I'd agree with that but I do like a softer ride and use a bridgestone rally tyre which never lasts the suggested kms but they drive well.

If I had my time over I would NOT buy an astra and definitely NOT take it to holden.

I always thought a holden would be the best car I could have as the family have had them for generations. WRONG.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 answer
Private message

Generation: BK (2016-2018) Body: Hatch Badge: Limited Edition Engine Size: 1.6L Turbo Petrol Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Jul 2016

Astra must mean a Star.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 25, 2018

My Astra Hatchback 2016 is one of a kind and I seriously rarely have seen another pass me. The sat nav is not great to use in a hurry. Twirling the dial back and forth and over and over for each letter is very tiresome. I end up using my Google Map app on my phone. Side vision is limited, but the electrics have not let me down more than once. Warranty covered that sad little affair. ( Whatever a broken front camera is, it stopped working)

Was this review helpful? Yes

Generation: TS (1998-2005) Body: Convertible Badge: Bertone Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Jun 2015

Fun Fun Fun in the Sun

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 31, 2018

Great all rounder car for cruising etc
Good on fuel consumption, Performance & handling on the road with the power when you need it Perfect.
If it rains while enjoying the roof down, going 50km or more you do NOT get wet. Back seat is roomy for all passengers.
Bertone interior looks stylish with sports seats that are so comfortable, even has heater in the seats for warmth in Winter

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: BK (2016-2018) Body: Hatch Badge: RS-V Engine Size: 1.6L Turbo Petrol Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Feb 2018

A real surprise! Great value, comfortable and fun to drive

4 out of 5, reviewed on May 29, 2018

Had never considered an Astra but when my circumstances changed from driving 20kms return to work, to 170kms, I needed a small efficient and comfortable vehicle. 3 months and 13000kms later, couldn’t be happier. Quiet, comfortable and great on fuel (averaging 6.3l mixed city and HW). Fantastic stereo- sound connectivity and simplicity is amazing. aircon, heated seats and steering wheel all work great. Car feels solid and well made, soft touch materials and well fitted panels. Safety gear works well and not at all intrusive like a lot of other manufacturers offerings. Engine is sporty and has fantastic flexibility due to the torque in the lower revs and between 0-100kmph is very quick. Loses a little steam higher in the revs but only an issue when going very quickly. handling very good when needed but ride is still supple enough for day to day driving, heaps of room for 4 adults and boot is a reasonable size. Love the remote starting, never knew what I was missing until I had it! Start the car on the way out to the car and nice and cool when I get inside.

Negatives- factory tyres ordinary, and gearbox can be a little clumsy at low speeds. Leather seats although comfy and supportive, feel is a little plastic and cheap. Engine is great however can be harsh and noisy above 4500 revs. Due to the low down power is does torque steer when giving it the beans. All in all small issues but nothing is perfect!

In summary, if your after a well sorted small car with all the bells and whistles with plenty of grunt, without the pricetag of the other manufacturers top spec offerings, give the Holden a go. Great deals currently from holden, very underrated and highly recommended for a great all round commuting, family and surprisingly fun vehicle.

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: BL (2017 - Present) Body: Hatch Badge: Turbo Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: May 2018

Great little hatchback

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 20, 2018

Great little car. We were looking for something that performed similarly to our VW Golf, but with improved reliability. (We spent more on repairs for the Golf than it was worth!).

The Holden Astra ticked all the boxes. It was affordable, small, but also provided a good driving experience.

1) Excellent handling and performance, low noise, nimble around corners, good acceleration (considering it is a 1.4L engine).
2) Simple, clean interior. Nothing too fancy, not 'gadgety'.
3) Economical. Costs $50 AUD to fill up.
4) Looks nice enough, considering it's a small car.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: AH (2004-2009) Body: Hatch Badge: CDX Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Oct 2017

Favourite car!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 28, 2018

My car got written off and I bought a second hand Holden Astra and have never looked back! It feels so good to drive it’s so smooth, not too big on the outside but spacious five seater on the inside and best of all it’s very cheap on fuel! It’s honestly the best car I have ever owned!

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

gong

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: BK (2016-2018) Body: Hatch Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Mar 2018

Great buy

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 06, 2018

Hadn't considered one as a bit dearer than others in category. But on seeing a low km demo for $20K i had a look. Very impressed with the value and features of r+ . Drive much better than the cerato sport and i30. Cheaper too. Engine doesn't struggle on hills like the i30 or cerato. Hardly any cabin noise. 5 years warranty and 3yrs servicing included.
The car has a surprising amount of kick when you want to overtake. Can only dream about the extra grunt in the 1.6 turbo on the RS.
Safety features are cool. Lane keep assist feature is a treat.
Currently about 8.6l per 100km. But I am driving it in alot of stop start traffic and short trips.
Plenty of leg room for rear passengers.
Steering wheel feels good and the car really handles the bends and corners well.
Back seats fold pretty flat making it handy for longer loads.
so far am very happy with the amount of features and quality of the car. Especially at only $20k.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Redondo Beach

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: BK (2016-2018) Body: Coupe Badge: CD Classic Engine Size: 2.0L Turbo Petrol Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Feb 2018

Dream Car

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 02, 2018

Good for nothing. 5 weeks after I bought this car it broke down. That was one sure sign of it being a lemon. Test drive and yep, very impressed. Steering was so easy, seats comfy, spacious, all the bells and whistles except for inbuilt maps, but can get the current up-to-date maps from my mobile phone via usb cable, and that works great.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Generation: AH (2004-2009) Body: Wagon Badge: CDX Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Mar 2015

Crap car

1 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 02, 2018

Worst car ive ever owned. I cant believe there are reviews stating astras are great little cars far from it. I got the wagon 2006 model for 6grand. The horn stoped working after the first week. Then only 1 year later replaced the brake pads but there aas a major problems so from a $300 job it turned into $1000. And just only after that the coil pack went and the parts for the astra wagon are so expensive seriously guys this is the worst type of car and now i have a new problem and j dont know what has happened for ages it keeps cutting out after i try to turn it on and its not the starter motor or the alternator

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 3 answers
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: BK (2016-2018) Body: Hatch Badge: CD Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Sep 2017

Terrible

1 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 10, 2018

Good for nothing. 5 weeks after I bought this car it broke down. That was one sure sign of it being a lemon.
Second sign was when I took it for its first 6 monthly warranty service, and got told repairs would cost $880. ???
Apparently what needed to be replaced was not covered by the warranty. How convenient.
Somebody told me the Astra and the Holden Viva have same engine types. I will know to stay away from both in the future.
Please note: All the positive reviews you see, are written by Holden dealers. Customers will never have anything good to say about a Holden.

Purchased at: Suttons Motor Group

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Generation: BK (2016-2018) Body: Hatch Badge: SRi Turbo Engine Size: 2.0L Turbo Petrol Transmission: Manual Date Purchased: Sep 2017

Dream Car

5 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 05, 2018

Oh wow, I so love my new Astra. Replaced my 2004 Astra, was so happy with the old car decided to stick with Astra. Looked at a few new ones, and fell in love with this sleek black 4 door hatch back, was a demo model. Test drive and yep, very impressed. Steering was so easy, seats comfy, spacious, all the bells and whistles except for inbuilt maps, but can get the current up-to-date maps from my mobile phone via usb cable, and that works great. Sensors here there and everywhere, so many features, still learning them. My son informed me the Sport setting/button works well. Real good on fuel consumption.

Was this review helpful? Yes

1 of 12 pages


Questions & Answers

AH (2004-2009)

I have a Holden Astra 2006 turbo diesel 1.9. Where is the fuel filter. Thanks

Debrat asked on Dec 01, 2018

Hi. I have a Holden Astra 2017 rac model. I am wondering if it is possible to turn the headlights off or put the car into a accessory engine mode? Like if you were to go to the drive ins. Ps. I have a push button start Thank you!

Brit asked on Nov 30, 2018

How do I put the roof down on a 2002 Holden Astra convertible?

Jay asked on Nov 29, 2018

See all 571 questions about Holden Astra

Your question will be specific to the model that you've selected.


Product Details