Filter By:

Verified Customer Build Location: New South Wales Construction End Date: Nov 2017

Investment Home

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 23, 2017

I have built many homes but this has been the best experience I have had. The whole process from start to finish was handled by efficient, friendly and quality conscious professionals. Everything ran to plan and the home was finished on time and with no alterations needed. Well done to the team at Hotondo Kempsey. I will certainly be using you on my next build.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Collin, Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're glad to hear you were so pleased with your experience with our Kempsey team. Thank you for your great recommendation. We're loo... read more »

  • 1 review
  • 1 answer
Private message

Verified Customer Build Location: New South Wales Construction End Date: Mar 2017

Great team work

4 out of 5, reviewed on May 24, 2017

A big thank you to Adam and the team (Linda, Kayla, Chloe, Stefanie, Dan and Bill) at Hotondo Nowra. We are very happy with the end result. A new learning curve with building a duplex and Adam and his team were there to help with any issues we had. Any small issues were dealt professionally and we are now almost ready to rent them out

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Beth,
Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're so glad to hear your experience with the team in Nowra went so well. Congratulations on completing a new investment property!
Kind regards,
Hotondo Homes

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria Construction End Date: Oct 2016

My second Hotondo home.

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 18, 2016

This was my second home with Hotondo.Jeff, at the sales office, was very helpful and Colin and his team were very approachable, always returned my calls and were happy to meet me at the site whenever I asked.The reason I chose Hotondo was because they would modify any of their home to suit me. I wanted a small house and they were happy to oblige.The workmanship was as I expected for a budget home. I wanted a solid timber floor which gave me a few headaches, but Hotondo tried hardest to sort out any issues. My only complaint would be that there was no site clearance on completion. However, this was quickly sorted out. Would I build with Hotondo again? Probably yes.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Judith,
Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're so happy to hear you had a great experience with the team in Shepparton and your concerns were quickly addressed.
Kind regards,
Hotondo Homes

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria

Communication issues

4 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 15, 2016

We recently built with Hotondo Hallam as we liked the display home we saw. The process was mostly smooth, however, a few issues marred the experience.

We are very happy with the quality of the house built. Tim & Marg were really flexible and helpful with bringing our dream home to life. However, communication was poor especially at the beginning but this improved towards the later part of the build.

A few things to highlight. As we were first timers in home building, we would have appreciated more information and consultation. As it is, we ended up with a retaining wall that we do not like - had we been given visuals and options, this issue would not have arisen.

Another major issue was the size of the alfresco. We had specified that the house was to be as per the display home apart from some changes we specified. We assumed that the alfresco would therefore be the same. However, when we saw it being built, there were 3 pillars rather than 2. Turns out this was on the plan but we missed it. At no point were we expressly informed that the alfresco would be different from the display home. Hence it had three brick columns instead of two, and the columns themselves were larger than the display home ones, which significantly cut off the view of the backyard. Ultimately we were able to compromise and turn the third column into just a wooden post, but this variation should have been highlighted to us at the very beginning.

Our heating zones were also not done to our specification.

Apart from these issues, there were a few other things but Hotondo Hallam fixed them up which we appreciate. The build itself went smoothly and quickly. We were notified of any changes that needed to be made, and the site supervisor was great in providing suggestions for a better result.

We moved in a couple of months ago, and have a few small issues to sort out. Things tend to happen slowly at this stage and several times, we had to chase up to get things fixed. Lots of emails going back and forth before things are resolved. Getting a quote on a required fix takes far longer than expected - this should be done within days, not weeks.

Overall however, we are happy with our new home, and would build with Hotondo Hallam again. Would have given them five stars apart from the issues mentioned above.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Skaur, Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're pleased to hear you're happy with your home and your overall experience. We definitely take on your feedback in regards to commu... read more »

Port Lincoln, South Australia

  • 2 reviews
Private message

Verified Customer Build Location: South Australia

Hotondo Homes, Port Lincoln SA

4 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 30, 2016

Our home was built in May 2014, customer service was excellent and it was a speedy and carefree process.
Only complaint would be that our house slab is not quite 'square' where we have had to compensate when doing paving outside along the house. Hearing more of our options to do with additions would have been great too.
Builder allowed us to have our own tiler and roofer also which was great for budget!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Amandapaige,
Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're glad to hear you were pleased with the service provided by the Port Lincoln team. Thank you for your feedback, we'll pass this on to the team.
Kind regards,
Hotondo Homes.

Verified Customer Build Location: South Australia

Hotondo Homes review

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 20, 2016

This was the first time building and it was a great learning experience. The quality of the house is amazing, the time frame given to move into the house was great we had our hand over a month prior to the actual date and have not had any problems since moving in. The sales consultant at Hotondo Homes in Port Lincoln at the time "Tahlia" was excellent to work with she was so professional, helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Antoinette,
Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We are so happy to hear you had such a positive first build experience with our Port Lincoln team. We hope you love living in your new Hotondo Home!
All the best,
Hotondo Homes

Hampton

  • 1 review
  • 1 comment
  • 1 question
  • 1 answer
  • 6 helpful votes
Private message

Build Location: Victoria

Hotondo Hallam - update on earlier review

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 13, 2015

We did a review in 2013 before our Hotondo Hallam home was completed and nearly 2000 people have read the review. We rated it at 3.00 mostly because of delays. We eventually took possession of the house in March 2014. It seems like a good time for an update.

We have now been in the house for more than 12 months and we feel more positively now about the experience of building with Hotondo Hallam. The design of the house, the general finish and the quality of the build is all that we expected. Pretty much everyone who has visited us has commented on what a beautiful house we have. The follow up by the site supervisor and Hotondo staff has been pretty good. In fact one occasion Darren the site supervisor did some Friday night repairs to the roof in the dark and the rain so that it would be fixed before the weekend.

Despite the comments in our earlier review we would certainly consider building with Hotondo Hallam again if we were to build another house.

Chris and Joan

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Chris and Joan,
Thanks so much for the updated review!
It’s great to hear your home is exactly how you want it and everyone that has visited your place loves it.
We hope you continue to love living in your home.
Kindest regards,
Hotondo Homes

Build Location: Victoria

great from the start

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 15, 2013

We are building a new Hotondo house in Maffra Vic. We are only in the planning stages so far.The First meeting was very welcoming, nothing is a problem for them to change things, they have done so much for us so far.Very professional and great customer service skills.Will let you know on how the build goes.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Davey78,
Sounds like you're off to a great start with building your new home. We look forward to the updates as the home progresses.
Kindest Regards, Hotondo Homes.

Happy with Hotondo!

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 06, 2013

We were happy with the overall experience of building with Hotondo Kingaroy. Right from the beginning Clint and Suzette were very understanding and patient with us. We very much appreciated the way the building work was supervised and the communication provided by Caylen in the office. The office and showroom is very conveniently located on the way into town and everything is presented in such an organised professional manner. We have no hesitation in recommending Hotondo Kingaroy to future home builders.

+ Understanding and Patient staff. Quality Building. The showroom.

- Would have liked to see a bit more flexibility in fittings and fixtures choices

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Clinton and Michelle, Thank you for your lovely review about the team in Kingaroy. They are lovely people who build top quality homes. We're glad you loved their showroom; it won our 2012 Best C... read more »

Build Location: New South Wales

Building our New Home 2 Miriam Rd, West Ryde DA 2011/0553

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 03, 2013

We are extremely pleased with our new house and the efficient and prompt service we received from Hotondo Hornsby. The house was built in 7 months despite a great deal of wet weather. Everything was done in accordance with the specifications, and we were kept well informed at all times re the building schedule.

We were always able to speak to Graham Dowd who handles the financial and administrative aspects. Any information we requested was provided promptly and any variations we requested were fully costed out for our approval.

On the construction side John Stein was always helpful and efficient and with the site supervisor on the site daily, was always fully informed about what was happening.The logistics of deliveries of materials could not be faulted and the site was kept tidy at all times.

The trades people on the site universally spoke positively about working for Hotondo Hornsby and told us that everything was straightforward when dealing with this company.

We would definitely recommend Hotondo Hornsby to anyone planning to build a new home.

Allen and Susan Hissey

+ Efficient reliable and straightforward people to deal with.Good House energy effficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Allen & Susan, Weather can heavily affect the built time of a home so it's great to hear that your home was built efficiently even with all the rain! Graham and John are a great team and work ve... read more »

Mulgoa

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Build Location: New South Wales

Dream Home Built!

4 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 24, 2013

We had a sloping block, so it was difficult to find a builder that was flexible and could meet the challenge of building on such a block. Hotondo were very flexibly throughout the whole process. They were honest and we knew upfront the cost of the build - there were no hidden extras. We are very happy with our family home. It was the first home we built and would recommend building a new home as opposed to buying and renovating an existing home. We enjoyed meeting and communicating with all the Hotondo staff (Faulonbridge office) as well as the trades people they used.

+ The site manager was very flexibly and easy to communicate with

- We should have updated to three coats of internal paint. Especially with children and the walls being a light colour

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Ocean Grove

  • 1 review
  • 6 helpful votes
Private message

Build Location: New South Wales

Fabulous Service!

4 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 15, 2012

My husband and I chose Hotondo Homes Ocean Grove to build our family home almost 5 years ago. The reasons we chose Hotondo were many and varied but most importantly to us Hotondo use a network of local contractors to undertake most of the works, which meant in a lot of cases work was completed by local tradesmen that we either knew or least were aware of their reputation. We therefore didn't feel as though we were just another number with one of the larger project builders. From our initial discussions with our local sales rep through to dealing with our specific builder Hotondo were always friendly, helpful, flexible and efficient. Being pregnant during the entire build process it is fair to say I may have been a little indecisive and changed my mind on more than a few occasions. The end result was a beautiful 5 bedroom home which is a combination of one of Hotondo's existing designs with some additions and design changes of our own.

Our builder was incredibly patient and nothing was ever a problem. Having said that we now have a home that if given the option we would not change a thing. It is also worth noting that our block had a considerable slope on it and required extensive excavation works and retaining walls - something that some of the larger project builders were less enthusiastic about. We would have no hesitation in recommending Hotondo Ocean Grove to any perspective clients.

+ Efficient, helpful, friendly

6 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

MELBOURNE

  • 1 review
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Build Location: Ocean grove Kingston Build Location: Victoria

An excellent job.

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 19, 2012

From the start we had a positive experience with this company.We had a close look at all the major companies but finally decided on a local builder who knew the area.They managed to fit 2X 3 bedroom units on a
680 sq m block.Andrew was professional in all he did and advised.
We first built one and some months later the other.
The forman was always available when we wanted to inspect the project,
and was willing to go the extra mile on many occasions.

+ reliable/prompt and friendly. Reasoble costs.

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 comments
  • 15 helpful votes
Private message

Good

4 out of 5, reviewed on May 09, 2012

Overall very happy with service, all problems were rectified very quickly except for rainwater tank. Would recommend the local franchisees.

+ Finished on time, good quality bricking and plastering (no cracks when 2 tremors hit last year, flexible with design,

- A bit pricey. Plumbing ok but had trouble with rainwater tank pipe which will never be quite right. Septic tank was left sticking out of the ground right outside my back porch without consultation - what a view....Wiring good overall but again had trouble with septic.

15 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 answers
  • 41 helpful votes
Private message

Good

4 out of 5, reviewed on May 09, 2012

We found the staff pleasant and courteous and willing to help solve all issues to our satisfaction. Whilst building a new home was very stressful I think it all went pretty smoothly. The builder had a good knowledge of BMCC requirements and was able to negotiate with them in our favor. So far we have had only a few small issues that required fixing and all have been dealt with satisfactorily. I think that we have been reasonable clients and therefor we got the builder on our side. We love our new home and would happily recommend Hotondo.

+ High quality finishes. Got what we were after.

- Building a new home is stressful. Probably the same with any company.

15 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 15 helpful votes
Private message

Build Location: New South Wales

Good

4 out of 5, reviewed on May 09, 2012

We would recommend the team at Hotondo, Blue Mountains as a great team to work with at a very cost effective price compared to other local builders...and in the end we got a great home! Thank you Hotondo, we are still getting great feedback from passers by.

+ We had a great experience building our new home with Hotondo, Blue Mountains. We designed our own home and took the rough drawings to them, they helped right from the drawing up of council / builders plans, through council submissions and documentation which turned out to be a nightmare for both them and us. It is a large home on a site which required a lot of work and even with all that in mind they completed the project to an excellent standard in a month less than quoted. Every question has been answered and every issue raised dealt with by a very helpful team. We were able to choose the finishes, determined what to include or exclude and personalised it fully to meet our requirements. Nothing was too hard.

- Nothing really to add here.

15 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 13 helpful votes
Private message

Build Location: New South Wales

Slow But Good Quality

4 out of 5, reviewed on May 09, 2012

I have been frustrated by the slowness of progress to lockup stage, but things seem to be progressing more swiftly now and the signs are good that the second half of the build will be completed in a much shorter time. Overall, the great strength of Hotondo Homes is their flexibility. We have changed the plans twice since construction commenced and on both occasions they were very accommodating to our requests and very quick and efficient in drawing up ammended plans for lodgement with council. If you are not in a hurry to build and move in, they are a good option to consider.

+ Very friendly staff. Professional design team. Fast, efficient communication. Very flexible. Reasonably priced. Good quality workmanship so far.

- They are definitely not as fast as standard project home builders. It has taken us 6 months to get up to lock up. But the quality of the workmanship seems quite good so far.

11 people found this helpful, do you? Yes


Questions & Answers

Wondering if anyone had built with Hotondo Thornton/Raymond Terrace? We are happy with design concepts and the staff have been amazing. I'm sure the contractors will be great to, but would value any feedback. Thanks

Aldo asked on Mar 15, 2018

Has anyone built with Hotondo logan central and surrounds?

buildingahome asked on Mar 07, 2018

Answer this

Sorry, no. I built with Hotondo Homes Central Coast in NSW. Good luck!

Hi, we built with Mark Uzzell, Hotondo Logan. Moved in just on 6 mths ago now, was a brand new build on our land at Grange. The house is beautiful, we are very pleased with the outcome. We found Mark to be easy to deal with, suggested some good ideas, focussed on the detail and as such have referred his work to a couple of locals also.

Hi. Has anyone built with Hotondo Homes Sunshine Coast? Any feedback would be appreciated, good or bad. Thanks BJH

BJH asked on Jan 10, 2018

Answer this

Hi BJH,
We built with Hotondo Homes Sunshine Coast (Matira Dev.) in 2017. I am about to post a full-review so watch this space!

Hi BJH
We have just moved into our new home that was built with Hotondo... I cannot say a bad word about them! We made the move from Sydney to Sunshine Coast & Alyssa & the team at Hotondo made the whole experience very easy! For such a huge move & also building a new home we didn’t feel any stress at all, they helped us make decisions with ease & were always quick to answer any questions we had...
Now that we have moved in we are also very happy with the finished product & love our new home!
It was also a very quick build which helped us get here before Xmas & settle in

Hi BJH
We are currently completing our build with Hotondo Homes (Matira Developments). We are extremely pleased with our choice of builder. The entire process from design to build has been seamless. Alyssa is very knowledgable and consistently goes over and above. We are interstate also and Alyssa has always kept us updated. The quality of the workmanship and fittings is excellent. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them, and will definitely be building with them in the future.

See all 4 answers
See all 77 questions about Hotondo Homes