Filter By:

Verified Customer Build Location: New South Wales Construction End Date: Nov 2017

What an experience!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 21, 2018

This was my second time building with Adam Sturt from Hotondo Southcoast and it was better than before! After building a friendship during my first home with Adam and his team, building my second Hotondo home was even better. Their knowledge of building designs and modern styles are fantastic and makes it easy to create your dream home. I met with several other local builders and by far, can recommend Adam Sturt from Hotondo Southcoast! A big thanks to Adam and his team.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Andrew, Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're so glad you chose to build with the South Coast team again and are pleased to hear you had an even better experience! Thank you... read more »

Verified Customer Build Location: New South Wales Construction End Date: Nov 2017

Home Perfect

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 19, 2018

We would like to thank Adam and everyone at Hotondo South coast for helping us build our home for our family! They made the whole building process stress-free and enjoyable for us. Right from meeting Adam for the first time to discuss our options, the colour selections with Kayla, to organisation of trades with Dan, everything was handled extremely professionally. Whilst there were a few hiccups along the way, every one of them was addressed and quickly rectified. During the last few weeks we were under a time pressure and they really pulled out all the cards to make sure that everything was ready for us, and it was perfect! We could not recommend them highly enough to anyone wanting to build on the south coast. It was a very memorable experience for us, building our first home!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Danielle, Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes and congratulations on building your first home! We're thrilled to hear Adam and the team exceeded your expectations and we thank yo... read more »

Verified Customer Build Location: New South Wales Construction End Date: Dec 2017

Hotondo Homes South Coast -AMAZING

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 19, 2018

From start to finish, Hotondo South coast went over and above to help us. They continued to stay in contact with us throughout the paperwork side of things as well as keeping us updated during the building process. Adam and his team were always so helpful in every way possible.
Today we were handed the keys to our duplex and like promised, the quality of the build was amazing! We would definitely recommend Hotondo Southcoast to anyone looking to build their dream home or even an investment property. We cannot wait to build with them once again next year

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Kristie,
Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're so glad to hear your experience with the Nowra team was so exceptional and we thank you for your fantastic recommendation!
Kind regards,
Hotondo Homes

BRISBANE

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 answers
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer Build Location: Queensland Construction End Date: Aug 2017

A disappointing and frustrating building ex perience

2 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 11, 2018

NB: the comments below are specific to Hotondo Homes Sunshine Coast (Matira Dev.) and should not be generalised to other Hotondo Home franchise holders. They have been crafted in good faith to enable prospective clients to perform their own due diligence in relation to the construction of their new home.

How was the workmanship and build quality of your property?
• Mixed, some parts were excellent such as most of the painting, tiling, flooring and carpentry.
• Other aspects were poor such as an uneven floor resulting in crooked window/sliding door, gaps under door (where there should be none), blocked sink, crooked and chipped tiles. These 'defects' along with the poor presentation at handover, gave an otherwise good job a sloppy, un-professional feel. This also fueled anxieties about what other aspects of the build might not have been done properly (for which we might become liable) or nasty surprises that might greet us at a later date i.e. when selling the house!
• Design decisions were difficult due to the lack of transparency around pricing/tendering process (design decisions are financial decisions and visa versa). Initial design/specification session was chaotic and disorganised leading to issues later on in the project as per below (see comment below re: kitchen cabinets).
• Design decisions were reinterpreted or misinterpreted due to lack of process around these. E.g. kitchen cabinets finished in black instead of white because our preferences had not been properly documented.
• Internal steps are unsafe despite being built to code and will have to be replaced/revised by ourselves because the contractor says “they are to code”.
• Have spent 100s $ post-build re-configuring site to ensure that when it rained, water flowed away from house rather than toward it as per care instructions for waffle-pad constructions.

How well managed was your build?
• The build ran over time by 2 months.
• Above quality issues reflect poor project oversight. Never sure who had oversight? The contractor or Site Manager?
• Our project was put on the back-burner while the contractor focused attention on the new show home in Pelican Waters - questionable task prioritisation and time management?
• Communication (esp. by way of email) deteriorated as build progressed - become more confused and disrupted e.g. contractor spent most of time on mobile phone during site visits rather than discussing the build with us the clients who had driven two hours to attend the meeting.
• Site visits were poorly planned and unfocused (as per above) e.g. not structured purposefully as an opportunity authenticate of stage completions prior to payment and discuss outstanding construction issues.
• Poor documentation of variations and inattentiveness lead to errors.
• Deceptive, sloppy paper work/invoicing/tendering practices. E.g. Initially, supplier quotes and contractor’s mark-up were seldom included in final quotes - were often well-above the market price e.g $11k for a driveway which we had re-quoted and installed for $5k. Correct invoicing and quoting provided eventually but only after these were actively sought by us. Not billed for some items (after we asked to see the invoice), were incorrectly billed or not refunded for others e.g. cavity slider and door payed for but not included in final build.
• Contractor adopted an adversarial approach during times of conflict as per below.
• Completion and handover was mismanaged and became adversarial due time over-run and contractors unwillingness to commit to completion date (while still demanding final payment). Forced to seek advice from QBCC and requested that Hotondo head office intervene to enable us to take possession of an (incomplete) build due to our having to move out of existing home (despite having organised 90 day settlement to accommodate time over-run . NB: Hotondo head office were very professional but ultimately sided with the builder saying that people sometimes take possession then default on the final payment. Although sympathetic to this scenario - we felt a bit insulted by the implication that we were being cast as one of 'those people' esp. when it was the contractor who had failed repeatedly to meet their obligations and in accordance with Queensland's Code of Ethics for the Building and Construction Industry (2000).

How was customer service and support?
• Contractor appeared unaware of obligations under the terms of Queensland's Code of Ethics for the Building and Construction Industry (2000) which emphasises the importance of ‘trust’, ‘cooperation’, ‘equity’ and ‘honesty’.
• Started out good but deteriorated as build progressed consistent with a business model that privileges 'sales' over 'service'.
• Notable Imbalance between ‘sales and service’, ‘strategy and operations’ in favour of sales and strategy. E.g. construction of the show home was bumped ahead of ours, which was already underway and paid for, Hence, the show home, although started after ours was completed sooner and completed too a much higher standard.
• Trust in the relationship was compromised by the contractor telling mis-truths, sloppy business practices and over-quoting (? to re-coup losses associated with mistakes made during the build .g. wrong frames ordered, damage to termite barrier, wrong window installed). Trust was completely destroyed when the contractor went behind our backs to contact our mortgage broker seeking information about our financial situation after we refused to pay for unfinished work (on the recommendation of the QBCC and HIA contract). Up until that time, we had always paid promptly except for work that had not been done.
• As above - aggressive in pursuing payment for incomplete work.
• Seemed inadequately informed of some common building products e.g termite protection, the terms of HIA contract and National Construction Code (2006) relevant to the build e.g. the need to provide variation orders, correct tendering processes, retaining walls and storm water management, respectively.
• Because of the domineering stance taken by the builder on occasion, we felt at times, that it was not our home but someone else that we had funded!

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Carole34, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We take this kind of feedback very seriously and are concerned with your review. The Sunshine Coast team are one of our award-w... read more »

Whitlesea

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria Construction End Date: Dec 2019

Don't Do It!

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 27, 2017

Don't do it.

I started this process 17months ago with South Morang. Their service was all over the place from day 1. Only there estimator [name removed] knew how to speak to a customer and actually did what he said he would.

The rest of them have been feeding me stories and lies ever since.

This build it taking forever. Months to get permits, months for frame, over 3 months to get the bricks done. The contract time is just about up and there isn't any sign if them getting on with the job.

So i go directly to Hotondo head office and they don't care and have done nothing to resolve the problems.

All i wanted was a schedule of what they expect to do when so i can have an idea of when they might get this place done. What i get back is "i will do it when I feel like it"

Then there's the quality. The builder cuts corners. Cuts corners on the engineering. Doesn't build it to the drawings and then hates it when i pressure it to be done correctly. Windows in the wrong spot...

Look at these reviews. This franchise has only been going about 2 years and it already has so many poor reviews.

So Hotondo Homes, don't bother giving me the same line that you do others on here about contacting customer support, iv tried that. Try putting up, for everyone to see, what your builder is going to do and when. That way everyone can see if you even care and that i might get this house built in a reasonable time frame.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Stressedout,
Both the Support Office and South Morang team will continue to work with you as per correspondence prior to Christmas.
Kind regards,
Hotondo Homes

Verified Customer Build Location: Queensland Construction End Date: Oct 2017

First home build was a pleasure!!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 13, 2017

Right from the start Anthony and the crew were ready and willing to make building my first home a pleasure. Any request I had was never to much to ask and Anthony was more than willing to help out to make my dreams a reality.

Anthony is genuine and really cares about the clients' outcome and builds to his high standards without any compromise. He always promptly responded to my question and I am extremely happy with the quality of the building that has been completed.

From beginning to end they were only a phone call away and regularly kept me updated on the process.
Great communication, quality finishes and very easy to deal with. Highly recommend to anyone whether you are building your first home or dream home these guys were excellent.

They built my first home and hopefully they will build my last one.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Luke, Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're glad Anthony and the team from Mackay exceeded your expectations. Congratulations on completing your first home. We're happy we c... read more »

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Our forever home

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 30, 2017

Our experience with PJ Scott Homes Torquay has been great. We started the process with sales consultant Peter who was extremely hopeful and knowledgeable. We were able to custom design our home to suit our needs. The selections consultation appointment was made easy with the support of Margie's knowledge and friendly manner. Our site supervisor Grant was amazing, he was contactable when needed and provided a great level of access to our home throughout the build process. The show room staff were always very helpful with returning calls, progressing invoice payments etc. There was a high level of detail focused on the finishes which was important to us. We have been extremely happy with the whole progress and would highly recommend PJ Homes.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Lyn, Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're so glad to hear you had such a wonderful experience with the team in Torquay. Thank you for your fantastic recommendation! We're h... read more »

Geelong

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria Construction End Date: Sep 2017

Fantastic Builder -Geelong Building Solutions

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 28, 2017

When my partner and I set out to build our first home, we knew that we wanted something different, something unique and something which lent itself to its environment. Aaron and his team at Hotondo homes (Geelong Building Solutions) enabled our dreams to become a reality. From a rough sketch on a piece of paper, Hotondo have captured our thoughts and transformed them into a space which we are so incredibly in love with.

Building on a large, undulating rural block, we knew that keeping within our budget whilst maintaining the integrity of our design would be a challenging task, one which Aaron went above and beyond to make happen.

The process was easy, stress free and we were kept up to date throughout the entire build. The quality of finishes and exceptional customer service made the whole experience of building our first home so incredibly enjoyable.

Given the opportunity to build again, we would be sure to engage with Aaron and his team.

We strongly recommend Geelong Building Solutions for anyone looking at building their next home.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Sinclair, Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're so happy to hear you had such a great experience with Aaron and the team from Ocean Grove. Thank you for your fantastic reco... read more »

Verified Customer Build Location: New South Wales Construction End Date: Nov 2017

Investment Home

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 23, 2017

I have built many homes but this has been the best experience I have had. The whole process from start to finish was handled by efficient, friendly and quality conscious professionals. Everything ran to plan and the home was finished on time and with no alterations needed. Well done to the team at Hotondo Kempsey. I will certainly be using you on my next build.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Collin, Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're glad to hear you were so pleased with your experience with our Kempsey team. Thank you for your great recommendation. We're loo... read more »

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria Construction End Date: Nov 2017

A great experience!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 23, 2017

From the very beginning, Hotondo Wallan delivered exceptional customer service. We were in constant contact with our building Supervisor and were not only told but also felt that their mission was to deliver us the perfect home. We had amazing flexibility to change our plan to ensure it suited our family needs and our consultant was there to help support us. The process was easy, the flexibility actually exists and we have a home that we love. Thanks Hotondo :)

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

HI TravKar, Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're so happy to hear you have your dream home and loved your experience with the Wallan team. We hope you enjoy making beautiful f... read more »

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria Construction End Date: Nov 2017

Exceptional Builder - Hotondo Homes Lara (build2grow)

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 22, 2017

Having recently completed handover of my stunning four bedroom home built by Hotondo Homes (build2grow) Lara, I cannot thank Michael and his team enough for the seamless process, professional expertise and exceptional customer service. I am thoroughly satisfied with the whole experience and I am more than happy to highly recommend building with Michael to all of my family, friends and broader network. The communication, eye for detail and professionalism of my site manager on the practical component of my build was absolutely superb. The information, responsiveness and initiative from Michael’s supporting staff was also equally brilliant. Absolutely no surprises at any stage of the process, it truly was an exceptional experience and I am very much looking forward to working with Michael and his team on my next project. If you want outstanding value, a hassle free process and a fantastic team to work with in the Geelong region, look no further than Michael at Hotondo Homes Lara.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi David, Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. Michael and his team are very well-known for their exceptional customer service and it's wonderful to see another client of his so hap... read more »

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria Construction End Date: Oct 2017

Geelong Building Solutions made our dream house a reality!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 17, 2017

Right from the first moment we produced the hand sketched design of our ideal dream home, Aaron and his team went out of their way to demonstrate what would be achievable, what could be accomplished within budget and how we could add individuality to our design. A straight and honest approach immediately made us feel that our home could look the way we wanted it to and not just become a 'volume builder' looking product. The process of selecting colours, getting to contract and making small changes before signing meant that we all knew what to expect with the build. Drawings were produced and we began to visualise the end product. Our house began construction in April this year and we have been in our home for just over three weeks now - we couldn't be happier! Our site supervisors (Matt & Wes), kept on top of everything, maintained regular contact and answered every question we had with speed and efficiency. The whole process was surprisingly stress free, easy and enjoyable. If we ever decide to experience house building again we would jump at using Geelong Building Solutions and would highly recommend these guys to any of our friends and/or colleagues.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Carla, Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're so glad to hear you had such a wonderful experience with Aaron and his team. Thank you for your wonderful recommendation! We hop... read more »

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria Construction End Date: Sep 2017

Hotondo wallan amazing customer service!!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 07, 2017

We had an amazing experience with Hotondo Wallan. After looking at many different designs with other companies we fell in love with Hotondo's Erskine 240. We wanted to make our place unique and team were happy to take on our ideas and also made great suggestions to make our home perfect. The quality of the build was fantastic and we had an overall easy experience. Massive thanks to Wayne, Donna and the boys for all their hard work

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Juliet, Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're so glad to hear you had such a wonderful experience with the team from Wallan. The Erskine is a stunning design! We hope you en... read more »

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria Construction End Date: Aug 2017

Hotondo Homes Lara - The Only Builder You Can Trust!!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 19, 2017

My journey looking a builder in the Geelong region went on for about a month until I spoke to Michael Nikolovski from Hotondo Homes Lara.
He answered every question I had plus gave me advice on where I can save money, his quote was very competitive and he tells you upfront what it will cost without any surprises.
Compared to other builders I've spoken to and built within the past I wish there was a builder like Michael in every part of the country.
He is genuine and really cares about the clients' outcome and builds to his HIGH STANDARDS without any compromise.
During each stage Michael keeps you up to date and sends you pictures to keep you posted and responds to your queries very promptly.
Michael managed the building process with such ease it became so stress free and the final build product was exceptional.
Michael will be building my next project and all of my friends who build in the area.

If anyone is looking for a builder in GEELONG REGION you need to speak to Michael from HOTONDO HOMES LARA.
Sometimes customers are price conscious but when you are building a home with this type of financial investment we really should be looking at the 3 things Build Quality, Customer Service and Support!!

HOTONDO HOMES LARA ticks all the boxes!!

I strongly recommend Hotondo Homes Lara to build your next home!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Kmando, Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're so glad to hear about your fantastic experience with Michael and the team in Lara. Michael definitely prides himself on his out... read more »

Verified Customer Build Location: New South Wales Construction End Date: Sep 2017

Excellent Customer Service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 25, 2017

Adam and the team at Hotondo Homes South Coast did a great job on our new custom design home. Any minor issues that were identified during the construction phase were dealt with and rectified to our satisfaction. The team always promptly responded to our question and we are extremely happy with the quality of the building that has been completed.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Todd, Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're so glad to hear you had such a great experience with Adam and the team from Nowra. We hope you enjoy living in your new Hotondo H... read more »

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Build Location: Queensland Construction End Date: Aug 2017

Excellent builder hotondo Gympie

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 04, 2017

My wife and I were in the market to build, the other builders would give us a quote but by the time we sorted out what was in the price and what wasn't in the price you needed up with two totally different prices. But with hotondo Gympie they gave us one quote and the only time it changed was when we added something, right to the end of the build. The build is excellent the service was amazing.
They built our first one and hopefully they will build our last one.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Shaw,
Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're so glad to hear about your fantastic experience with our team in Gympie. We hope you enjoy living in your brand new Hotondo Home!
Kind regards,
Hotondo Homes

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria Construction End Date: Nov 2016

Hotondo Homes Build (PJ Scott) - Apollo Bay

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 27, 2017

Overall, we are really happy with the build (our first) and are enjoying our new 7-Star energy rated home five months later. The job was finished on time (9 months) and we had regular site inspections throughout the build, where any questions or concerns we had were taken on board and addressed if needed. The workmanship was of a high standard. The office staff were really helpful with interior selections, various last minute adjustments in addition to the initial custom design. The post-build maintenance has also been really good with a few minor issues promptly dealt with. Most importantly, the build was affordable given our limited budget, our location and our sloping block - we felt our best interests were considered throughout, including offering advice on different blocks. We would definitely recommend Hotondo/PJ Scott Homes as a fantastic and competitive building option in Apollo Bay.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Healey Family, Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're so happy to hear you had such a wonderful experience with Peter Scott and his team. We know a first build can be a littl... read more »

Chirnside Park

  • 1 review
  • 1 comment
Private message

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria Construction End Date: Dec 2016

I wouldn't build another house with Hotondo Lilydale Vic

2 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 06, 2017

We had built a house by Metricon before and this one with Hotondo has not been a pleasant experience.
Quality of the building awful. They forgot the gas point, TV point, Toilet fan. They forgot to put a two way switch for the stair light. They had admin issues and could not finish the house on time and kept blaming the weather.
When they came for fixing issues they left a mess on walls that needs fixing. They have not come back to finish. The manager is a complete disorganisation. Can write even more...
To be fair they were flexible with changes at the beginning and they offered changes for good without extra charge.
After build care? There were some holes near the cabinet that allowed a mouse to commute in the house. I did not bother calling them as hopeless and fixed it by a handyman.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Rez, We're sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your experience. It is very rare that we receive negative feedback and take this very seriously. We would like to discuss this further with ... read more »

As you see here the issue for now is pending maintenance issues that I have to chase the manager for with no answers. If you message them about this that would be enough for now.

Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Rez,
Not a problem, a member of the Lilydale team has contacted you and will be able to assist.
Kind regards,
Hotondo Homes

Verified Customer Build Location: New South Wales Construction End Date: Mar 2017

Great Find, Great team, Impeccable Performance

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 06, 2017

Experience with Hotondo Homes Southern Highlands - Mittagong
Hotondo make the claim that ‘ Hotondo Homes are a Great Find’ and the Southern Highland Team led by Directors Shaun and Brent proved this to be true for Hannah and me; this is a builder who puts value for each customer ahead achieving volume sales from many customers, which seems to be the local industry norm. From our initial contact with Sonia who is responsible for sales and design development it became clear we were dealing with a very professional outfit. A design concept had been laid out for the Barton Close development which required building to a Heritage Theme which is the reason we purchased a block of land in Barton Close in the first place.

With Sonia’s help we adopted one of Hotondo’s standard floor plans and she made a number of valuable suggestions to both the internal floor plan to match our needs and importantly made suggestions about external design features that would add to the heritage image; these design features were picked up and added to by Brent, Shaun and Kim who is the Contract and Approvals Manager. Hannah and I were pretty clear what we wanted in our new home and what we wanted it to look like; Hotondo’s internal features and the quality of their standard fixtures and fittings are second to none and we only selected a very few non-standard items; for the outside we thought the roof pitch, bagged brickwork and window design would make the best contribution to the heritage theme and sensible advice on improvements from Brent, Shaun and Kim led to a picture of our dream home an exciting vision to contemplate. And the Hotondo Team made this vision a reality and were backed by specialists in Interior Design, Kitchen Design, Electrical and Communication Design, Plumbing Layout and Landscape Design

Once we signed off on the plan and budget the Construction Team led by Cindy Davis and Jim Wilson went into action and the way in way in which our house began to appear before our eyes was impressive not withstanding delays due to bad weather. Both the interior and exterior finishes were exactly as promised, the budget was met to the letter and overseen by Accounts Manager Cherie, importantly there were no surprises. The efficiency of Cindy in ensuring a flow of product to enable Jim to manage the construction of our house in an equally efficient manner was impressive in contrast to the builder of a neighbour’s house who had internal doors delivered when the frame had not been put up.

What made this a special experience:

The exceptionally high standard of customer service from ‘all’ staff members from Jessica on reception through to Directors Shaun and Brent; clearly there are staff members we’ve not mentioned but having worked as a strategic planning consultant with some of Australia’s better known businesses for many years I can say without equivocation that the Southern Highlands Hotondo Builder is one of the best teams I’ve ever come across and they are certainly A Great Find for anyone wanting a new home. We enjoyed our interactions with this Great Find and if asked to label the culture of this Find we would use descriptors like – committed to building value homes, honest and genuine in their dealings, very likeable to interact with in fact this ‘team’ made the experience for us ‘enjoyable’; for example when we first went into our new home the bathrooms had been loaded up with toiletries and towels just in case we’d forgotten some of these essential items

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi PHerd, Thank you for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're so happy to hear about the amazing experience you had with Shaun, Brent and the team from Mittagong. They have clearly delive... read more »

  • 1 review
  • 1 answer
Private message

Verified Customer Build Location: New South Wales Construction End Date: Mar 2017

Great team work

4 out of 5, reviewed on May 24, 2017

A big thank you to Adam and the team (Linda, Kayla, Chloe, Stefanie, Dan and Bill) at Hotondo Nowra. We are very happy with the end result. A new learning curve with building a duplex and Adam and his team were there to help with any issues we had. Any small issues were dealt professionally and we are now almost ready to rent them out

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Beth,
Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're so glad to hear your experience with the team in Nowra went so well. Congratulations on completing a new investment property!
Kind regards,
Hotondo Homes

1 of 8 pages


Questions & Answers

Hi. Has anyone built with Hotondo Homes Sunshine Coast? Any feedback would be appreciated, good or bad. Thanks BJH

BJH asked on Jan 10, 2018

Answer this

Hi BJH,
We built with Hotondo Homes Sunshine Coast (Matira Dev.) in 2017. I am about to post a full-review so watch this space!

Hi BJH
We have just moved into our new home that was built with Hotondo... I cannot say a bad word about them! We made the move from Sydney to Sunshine Coast & Alyssa & the team at Hotondo made the whole experience very easy! For such a huge move & also building a new home we didn’t feel any stress at all, they helped us make decisions with ease & were always quick to answer any questions we had...
Now that we have moved in we are also very happy with the finished product & love our new home!
It was also a very quick build which helped us get here before Xmas & settle in

Hi BJH
We are currently completing our build with Hotondo Homes (Matira Developments). We are extremely pleased with our choice of builder. The entire process from design to build has been seamless. Alyssa is very knowledgable and consistently goes over and above. We are interstate also and Alyssa has always kept us updated. The quality of the workmanship and fittings is excellent. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them, and will definitely be building with them in the future.

See all 4 answers
Has anyone built with Hotondo Homes Melton ( Darvale Homes Pty Ltd)? Please share your experiences.

Hafiz asked on Oct 17, 2017

Answer this

I built with Darvale Homes (Hotondo) 3 years ago.
The process was one of the easiest to go through. Darren and Vesna run the business flawlessly. From the initial consultation with Darren, he stepped us through all aspects of the build and also linked us to a mortgage broker. The build itself was extremely smooth with only 1 minor issue that was corrected early on. Darren ensured that all the products used were of a very high standard and overall, we were ecstatic with the result. During the build at frame stage, I requested a change, which was readily accepted and I was able to add my own details as applicable with no issue from Darren. Any and all communication initiated by me was promptly answered to my satisfaction.

I then returned to Darvale 5 months ago to have an addition/modification completed as their quote came under an initial quote from another company. Once again, Darren excelled in delivering a fabulous product.

I have recommended Darvale to a number of colleagues and friends, and will continue to do so. I don't intend on moving any time soon, but if I was, I would definitely be choosing Darvale to build with again. And again!

I moved in to my new Hotondo home built by Darvale Homes in July 2017 ( 3 months ago) I have included my initial review completed after handover. Since moving in I have no reason to change my anything in the review but would like to add that the "after sales service" is also excellent. I did not put an Exhaust Fan in the Butlers Pantry, first time I burnt the toast off goes the smoke detector. Contacted Rob who put me in touch with the Electrician who wired the house, job complete and matched to the existing exhaust fans in the house.


I have never written a review before but believe poor service should be condemned, good service expected and excellent service praised.
The people at Darvale Homes may believe they are in the house building business but in reality, they are in the customer service business and in this instance the service has been second to none.,
I have just moved into my new Hotondo home built by Darvale Homes Melton and the journey through the process from pre contract negotiation to completion has been great.
Anna Maria who understood what I was looking for, found a plan to suit my needs and the block of land to suit the plan. She then put up with me as I altered bits and pieces here and there, offering her suggestions along the way, many thanks Anna Maria.
Darren who is straight up and easy to work with, offering professional advice along the way on many things and going beyond the call of duty to in helping to sort out items I had not considered at contract stage. But most remembered fort the following (Ron if you mix this you will not like the result, referring to my initial plan for the butler’s pantry and he was right the finished product is excellent)
Vesna, quietly in the background, getting progress payments squared away and always willing to take a call when others were not available.
Then these was Rob, Rob the building Supervisor, always willing to take my calls, meet me on site, explain the progress or answer my concerns (I resided 1.2 k from the construction site so was on site just about every week.)
Rob picked up on things I did not see, explained them and had them rectified, I would not like to be the Tradie who tried to short change Rob. How good was Rob, on day of handover at 5pm he would not sign off until the muddy footprints had been cleaned off the driveway so went and got a pressure washer and at 6pm was cleaning my driveway. Thank You Rob!!

Hey Fon,

Really appreciate your time in writing some details.

I have made up mind to go with them. See I go with them and will share my experience later.

Hafiz

See all 5 answers
Hi what's the lowest price house you can offer in blue mountains area ie how much to build basic house ?

Fiona J asked on Oct 12, 2017

Answer this

Hi Fiona,
Thanks for getting in contact with us. Because we are a national building franchise you will need to speak to the local builder directly. You can contact Colin Duncan and his team by visiting http://hotondo.com.au/home-builders/penrith-lithgow-blue-mountains/
Thanks - Rose

See all 75 questions about Hotondo Homes