Filter By:
  • 7 reviews
  • 22 helpful votes
Private message

Excellent

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 16, 2011

We completely enjoyed working with Hotondo and are looking to build an investment home with them as well. The Hotondo builder we went with is in the Sydney area and had built a number of homes that we could go and drive by within the estate we were building in. They provided us with a beautiful home and a very unstressful experience which particularly after reading some of the other review for other much bigger builders, we are incredibly grateful for. Thank you hotondo! Anyone looking to build, do not hesitate to go with a hotondo builder!

+ Being able to change the floor plans. With other builders, they either were not going to let us do this, or were going to charge an arm and a leg for the privelage of not having a sausage factory churned out home. We had the ACTUAL builder on our site, and could contact him at any time. We also had direct contact with his wife and two other staff members in the office through the whole build - this was from design stage right to when we got handed the keys. It has been amazing to us to read about the poor people who could not speak to their site supervisor, and are given a customer service person that did not really know the job!

- Hotondo seem more expensive up front, but we have not had the 'variation' suprises through the course of our build. We did have one for piering, but they had explained that to us from the beginning, and had covered a majority of the cost within the tender/contract, so we only had a small amount to pay on top. So I guess it isn't really something we dislike is it? hhhmmm - I guess we didn't dislike anything!

28 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

Build Location: New South Wales

Great design, flexibility and servic

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 20, 2012

Hotondo Homes, Blue Mountains offer a service that few offer in the upper mountains area. We were able to design our own home in consultation with their draftsman, choose inclusions and designs to suit our budget. They were flexible without the added expenses of other building companies and the qualilty of most of their work was excellent.

+ Flexibility and good communication

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 6 helpful votes
Private message

Build Location: New South Wales

home sweet home

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 09, 2012

the team at hotondo, faulconbridge were very helpfull from the first meeting to handover.
the standard house design that we liked would not fit the block but they altered it to fit and still retained the feel and look of the original design.
phonecalls and emails were always returned promptly, we were always kept informed of progress and the build came in on budget with no extras.
we would like to say thanks to [names removed] and every one in the office who always made us feel welcome and important and thanks to [name removed] who's job never seemed to stop and who couldn't do enough for us.

+ easy to deal with, finnished product

- build went a little to long

6 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Build Location: New South Wales

Absolutely beautiful!!! We Love our hotondo Home!!!

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 09, 2012

Hotondo homes on the south coast did an AMAZING! job of our home! We absolutely love our home and the help, support and professionalism from Our site supervisor, office staff and the owner of that franchise was brilliant! we would not hesitate in building with them again or recommending to family and friends!!
the finishes in the house are beautiful and like any you do get problems but only minor ones in our whish were attended to immediately!
Thanks Hotondo!

+ Nothing was a problem, value for money, beautiful finishes throughout house! GREAT site supervisor

- paintwork was not that great but this is common when building any type of house, it was attended to immediately too.

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 13 helpful votes
Private message

Build Location: New South Wales

Slow But Good Quality

4 out of 5, reviewed on May 09, 2012

I have been frustrated by the slowness of progress to lockup stage, but things seem to be progressing more swiftly now and the signs are good that the second half of the build will be completed in a much shorter time. Overall, the great strength of Hotondo Homes is their flexibility. We have changed the plans twice since construction commenced and on both occasions they were very accommodating to our requests and very quick and efficient in drawing up ammended plans for lodgement with council. If you are not in a hurry to build and move in, they are a good option to consider.

+ Very friendly staff. Professional design team. Fast, efficient communication. Very flexible. Reasonably priced. Good quality workmanship so far.

- They are definitely not as fast as standard project home builders. It has taken us 6 months to get up to lock up. But the quality of the workmanship seems quite good so far.

11 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 20 helpful votes
Private message

Very dissapointing building experience

1 out of 5, reviewed on May 09, 2012

Received flash brochures about how professional Hotondo Homes builders are, no hidden costs and what great service they offer.
Unfortunately, hardly any of the promoted items on the brochure were delivered.
I was not advised that all household items (kitchen, lights, carpet etc.) was costed on lowest possible price. I would call this a hidden cost.
I felt that my satisfaction and expectations came in last while the priority was always the convenience of the builder.

- Hidden costs and poor warranty service

20 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 12 helpful votes
Private message

Quality home throughout! Professional and reliable Project Management Team.

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 09, 2012

Hotondo Homes have recently built our family home meeting our high expectations with ease. Staff have been friendly, efficient, reliable and flexible in ensuring that our needs were met. A professional project management team allowed the building process to flow with minimal disruptions. They allowed us to share a sense of ownership throughout the building process. We were well informed of all costs and timeframes. They offered a range of modern and stylish inclusions and gave us the option to upgrade with no hidden costs. Would highly recommend Hotondo Homes to anyone interested in building a home!

+ Quality Homes, personalised service, modern finishes, cost effective - no hidden fees.

12 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 15 helpful votes
Private message

Build Location: New South Wales

hotondo builders newcastle

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 09, 2012

This is my first time building & after shopping for many builders I decided on Hotondo. They seemed a little more expensive at first, but once you read all the fine print it was sooo much cheaper. I paid a deposit with Coral however the final tender price came back $50 000 more expensive + I had to do the retaining myself (quoted at over $20 000), hotondo did it for $5000.

My bushfire also level came back at a 12.5, rather than a 29 (which my neighbours came in at..building with another project home builder). Coral also charged extra for "h" slab, when hotondo's came back at an M class. Clearly another way of making more $$$.

Little things like making changes throughout is also a big one for me. Coral wanted to charge $100/change after contracts signed, Hotondo nothing.Oh & also they are local builders, so understand council regs,areas etc.

I can not rate them highly enough so far & oh so quick( they started digging one week after it had come out of council.)

Will def. be building with them again

+ I call or email a question & have an answer promptly or the end of the day asthe owner is in the office. The admin & other staff are so friendly & helpful, making building a pleasure rather thean stressful.

- In the building process, yet to have one

15 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 answer
  • 17 helpful votes
Private message

Build Location: New South Wales

Excellent

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 09, 2012

I would highly recommend Hotondo Hawkesbury. They were honest and realistic. They provided what they said they would provide when they said they would provide it. We built a Castlereagh and are very happy with it. We think the design is far superior to comparable competitor designs. It is not 'frilly' but it is spacious and suits our family perfectly.

+ - Everything was included (except fencing and clothes line) - Home, tiles, carpet, drive, grass, vertical blinds, dishwasher, water filter, TV.- Dealt with only 3 people - Sales Person, Builder, Admin Person - They knew who we were and where our home was up to.- There were no hidden costs.- They were quick to build (Decided to build in April, through council in June, slab laid in August, moved in in March).- They adapted plans quickly and easily to reduce costs.- They have excellent designs - There is no wasted space - they are practical and functional - there are enough walls to easily fit furniture.

- - We are just waiting on 3 things to be completed.

17 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 15 helpful votes
Private message

Build Location: New South Wales

Good

4 out of 5, reviewed on May 09, 2012

We would recommend the team at Hotondo, Blue Mountains as a great team to work with at a very cost effective price compared to other local builders...and in the end we got a great home! Thank you Hotondo, we are still getting great feedback from passers by.

+ We had a great experience building our new home with Hotondo, Blue Mountains. We designed our own home and took the rough drawings to them, they helped right from the drawing up of council / builders plans, through council submissions and documentation which turned out to be a nightmare for both them and us. It is a large home on a site which required a lot of work and even with all that in mind they completed the project to an excellent standard in a month less than quoted. Every question has been answered and every issue raised dealt with by a very helpful team. We were able to choose the finishes, determined what to include or exclude and personalised it fully to meet our requirements. Nothing was too hard.

- Nothing really to add here.

15 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 answers
  • 48 helpful votes
Private message

Good

4 out of 5, reviewed on May 09, 2012

We found the staff pleasant and courteous and willing to help solve all issues to our satisfaction. Whilst building a new home was very stressful I think it all went pretty smoothly. The builder had a good knowledge of BMCC requirements and was able to negotiate with them in our favor. So far we have had only a few small issues that required fixing and all have been dealt with satisfactorily. I think that we have been reasonable clients and therefor we got the builder on our side. We love our new home and would happily recommend Hotondo.

+ High quality finishes. Got what we were after.

- Building a new home is stressful. Probably the same with any company.

15 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 comments
  • 15 helpful votes
Private message

Good

4 out of 5, reviewed on May 09, 2012

Overall very happy with service, all problems were rectified very quickly except for rainwater tank. Would recommend the local franchisees.

+ Finished on time, good quality bricking and plastering (no cracks when 2 tremors hit last year, flexible with design,

- A bit pricey. Plumbing ok but had trouble with rainwater tank pipe which will never be quite right. Septic tank was left sticking out of the ground right outside my back porch without consultation - what a view....Wiring good overall but again had trouble with septic.

15 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 9 helpful votes
Private message

Build Location: Victoria

A great experience

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 16, 2012

In 2008, having only purchased pre-built houses we decided to build
on a block we owned. My wife designed the house & a detailed plan was
created with the services of a draftsman. This was submitted to 3 builders for a qotation. [names removed] of Hotondo Homes at Ocean Grove easily won the tender.
Any details we had not addressed was efficiently handled by the selection process for fitout by the builder.
As the building progressed any variations we wanted were detailed & quoted on,& acheived.
The house was completed within the promised time & we are exceptionally pleased with the finished product.
We had apprehensions about building based on friends descriptions of problems & stresses they had experienced having their house built.
Our experience was the very opposite, & put this down to the professional approach of our builder.

9 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 3 reviews
  • 15 helpful votes
Private message

Build Location: New South Wales

Very Impressive

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 16, 2012

After hearing some horrible stories about the former sales woman, I was very impressed with how great the new salesman was. Our first meeting was friendly, informative and not pushy at all. He said that he would work at our pace. There were no problems getting our design drawn up, the draftsgirl is very skilled and professional, she worked with exactly what we said and made it work! Getting the plans through council was no problem at all either.
Choosing the colours and selections for our house with the interior designer was actually brilliant. I would never have thought that something as stressful as building our first house could be made such a fun experience!
There was great communication throughout the whole building process; the administrator kept us updated every week on the progress of the building. All the staff are very friendly, light-hearted and a pleasure to deal with. We understand that there are thousands of different things which have to all work together for a house to be built, so we were understanding of some delays due to rain, and waiting on deliveries etc. That's all to be expected and there were no major problems!
Our home turned out absolutely beautiful, and we would definitely recommend Hotondo to anyone looking at building on the coast.

+ Fantastic quality for money

8 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

COROWA

  • 1 review
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Build Location: Wahgunyah Build Location: Victoria

All Round Excellence at Corowa

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 19, 2012

[name removed] of Corowa provided us with a stress free, enjoyable experience when building our first home.

After looking at what felt like a hundred floor plans and trying to design our own, Frank had an idea of what we were after, and showed us a floor plan that was perfect for us, and a facade we loved.

They were always available to us, as we both work full time Frank and [name removed] were happy to meet us after office hours, and even on weekends.

They offered helpful hints when designing and the colour selection. Great service, very approachable and kept us involved and up to date on what was happening at our house.

We are thrilled with the finished product, the standard of the home is perfect, was presented to us in excellent condition.

We were given a form to fill out if we had any problems in the first 3 months, we didnt have one thing that needed fixing or wasnt finished off properly.

The tradesman were all great, very friendly and did a great job.
Well done Hotondo.

+ Always available, Helpful, Reliable, Great Standard

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

MELBOURNE

  • 1 review
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Build Location: Ocean grove Kingston Build Location: Victoria

An excellent job.

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 19, 2012

From the start we had a positive experience with this company.We had a close look at all the major companies but finally decided on a local builder who knew the area.They managed to fit 2X 3 bedroom units on a
680 sq m block.Andrew was professional in all he did and advised.
We first built one and some months later the other.
The forman was always available when we wanted to inspect the project,
and was willing to go the extra mile on many occasions.

+ reliable/prompt and friendly. Reasoble costs.

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 comments
  • 13 helpful votes
Private message

Build Location: New South Wales

Hotondo Homes

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 30, 2012

We have had an absolute nighmare building with Hotondo on the Central Coast NSW. It took us ages to get the design of the house right due to poor communication between the sales lady and the drafts person. Once this was finally sorted out it was another 4 or 5 months to get through council.

When construction finally started the slab was poured incorrectly and then a section of the slab was required to be jack hammered out and then was left exposed for over 2 months before it was fixed.

The frames for our 2nd floor were ordered incorrectly. When the frames finally arrived 4 months after we started and were erected, it was noticed that the frames for the 2nd floor were wrong and didnt allow for the correct exterior cladding. Due to extensive delays to fix this problem we had to change the entire exterior look of the house.

The problems just went on and on, pipes not placed correctly by the plumber, so not consealed in wall cavity and false walls were needed to be built to cover these, toilet plumbing not it the right place, warped walls, gutters not level so dont drain properly, and the list keeps going.

Very poor communication between us and the office. We usually only heard from the office when there was a problem, or if they were chasing their next payment before the due dates.

Very minimal supervisor contact and in the early stages it appeared very little supervision or very poor supervison due to the amount of problems and avoidable errors that occurred.

We still have not got our keys yet, but already have a large list of things that we know will need fixing due to mistakes and also poor workmanship.

We definantly would not reccommend them to anyone. We expected paying top price for a house such as ours that it would meet the promises made by Hotondo of excellent quality and finishes, and value for money but it is very far from it.

The nightmare continues..........

+ Design

- bad workmanship, bad service, poor communication

13 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments

15/5/12 - We finally got our keys 2 months after the origional promised handover date due to a dispute of variations they wanted us to pay and we did not agree with. We ended up paying the money un... read more »

The house is sorted now. only good thing about them going bust was the builders warranty insurance kicked in so we did not need to deal with them anymore. Head office was useless. They did not want... read more »

Sydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 helpful votes
Private message

Builders are not builders just head contractors!

2 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 11, 2012

We contracted to build our prestige dream home under the Hotondo barrier. We did not realise this meant locking oursleves into Hotondo's cheap and nasty components. Everything from cheap bricks to cheap kitchen. Poor quality paint. Droopy door handles, plastic cisterns the list goes on. We have been 'renovating our new home at the builders expense for the last six years. To be fair the builder has attended our home on many occassions but his fixes are mostly bodges. Buyers need to be aware that builders these days are merely head contractors. They employ whatever so-called tradies are available at the time you are intending to build. There is no loyalty shown by tradies to their head contractor who may be unemplyed again after their current job.

+ We thought we would have the protection of a large company.

- Read the above comments.

6 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 12 helpful votes
Private message

Build Location: New South Wales

Great work Hotondo Blue Mountains

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 12, 2012

The team at Hotondo Blue Mountains built our home at Bullaburra.
It is a large executive residence and we cannot thank them enough for their patients and dedication to the task undertaken.
The block was unusual in shape with a very wide frontage (48mtrs) tapering at the rear.
The owner of the business spent many hours with us to come up with a house design that would suit the block and the budget. We were happy with some of the standard designs available at the time but our builder offered other options that made the house suit the block perfectly, it maximised the potential of the block and made our commitment to the contract easy. No other builder at the time gave this level of service and dedication to what was to us the biggest investment of our lives. His experience and advice was second to none.
The brick we chose was at first rejected by local council based on the brochures. After discussions with our builder he suggested and arranged for a small "sample wall" to be constructed on site and on inspection the council then agreed to our choice.
Hotondo showed real commitment to our home and our wishes. Everything was explained in detail and up front, the budget was met and we couldn’t be happier with the result.
There were a few small problems during construction as would be expected but all were identified by our builder and overcome in a professional and efficient manner. At each stage of construction before progress payments were made we would be "walked through" everything that has been done, issues that were overcome and what to expect over the next stage of construction.
The owner of Hotondo Blue Mountains showed a personal level of service to the construction and was always available to answer any questions or give advice even after construction was completed.
After we moved in we had an issue with a leaky shower and Hotondo had people on the job straight away. It was no easy fix - They removed tiles, re wet-sealed the floor and rebuilt half the bathroom all in a speedy and professional manner with a smile and a handshake at the end.

People often say once they build that they would never do it again but we certainly would and we know who to use.
Couldn't be happier with the result,
Thanks Guys.

+ On Budget, On time and great follow up support.

12 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Build Location: Victoria

Hotondo Homes Oceans Grove - Customised Homes with a friendly personalised service.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 14, 2012

Building for the first time we felt it was important to use a local builder. We wanted someone familiar with the area who could provide a personal service. This was the reasoning behind choosing [name removed] at Hotondo Homes in Ocean Grove. We have developed a great relationship with our consultant [name removed]. From our initial meeting, we have always found [name removed] to be pleasant and willing to help wherever needed, often doing more than what was required from him. He has answered every email and phone call and is always available to assist and address our enquiries.
The process to get where we are has been made easier having a smaller company to build through than using a bulk builder. Although we had the option to use one of the many Hotondo Home Designs we also had the option to customise our home to suit our needs . These options were not available with some of the bigger companies. Our block has a slope and while other companies wouldn't touch a sloping block we found Hotondo embraced the challenge and helped us to design a home that would utilise the slope of the land and also make the most of a beautiful view over the bay. These elements were as important to Hotondo as they were to us. They really listened to what we were trying to achieve. This is where Hotondo stood out from other builders for us. We spent a long time in the design phase getting our plans perfect and now we have commenced building.
We have been very happy with the construction phase so far of our new home with Hotondo and this has largely been due to the association we have had with our consultant. This friendly association has resulted in the process of building feel more personal that it may have been otherwise.... We are building next to our own home and are amazed at how unobtrusive the tradesmen have been. They arrive on site early and work hard all day. The only time we hear them is when they are returning the cups from the the coffee we make them in the mornings! Even then they bring them to the front door and are lovely to deal with.
We still like to visit display homes to get ideas and every time we walk out feeling all the better knowing we are building with our local builder and getting the personal service we are getting for a very reasonable price. We look forward to moving into our new home on completion and having [names removed] over to celebrate.
We highly recommend Hotondo Homes in Ocean Grove...

+ Personalised, customised build

11 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

1 of 10 pages


Questions & Answers

Any info on Hotondo Homes Port Macquarie? Looking to build with them

Kerrie asked on Oct 01, 2018

Answer this

Hi Kerrie
My Wife and I built with the Port Macquarie Hotondo Homes team and completed earlier in the year..
From our first contact with them we were made to feel welcome & valued, even in the early stages when were were simply comparing house plans & costings.
Dean was very friendly and knowledgeable explaining different house plans, potential costs as well as all the inclusions that Hotondo offered & was more than happy to answer our many questions.
We really value the integrity demonstrated by the Hotondo Port Macquarie team. We’d heard some horror stories about building projects with blown out or hidden costs and lengthy build times. Our gorgeous home was ready on time, and importantly, on budget.
It was no problem for Dean to meet us on our block to peg out the design we had chosen & this allowed us to plan our yard and landscaping.
To see Hotondo’s building process made it an easy decision for us to ask them to build our new home, being a local family business was important for us as well, dealing with owners with a care factor all the way through. Upon deciding to go ahead, Dean shook my hand and said “welcome to the team”
We were kept up to date with the progress of our build from Fiona, Dean and Andrew every step of the way. With regular inspections on site with the team.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stress free build & would not hesitate in highly recommending Hotondo Port Macquarie to anyone looking for a new home.
Since completion I have encountered many more of their clientele and all are equally happy as my Wife and I

Hi Kerrie,
We have not long completed our build with Port Macquarie Hotondo homes. The finishes in their display home and approachability is what got our attention initially when we were looking through the display village. We have found the whole team great to work with over the building journey and they were quite happy to answer all our questions and queries along the way. They assisted us making connections in the community to enable us to landscape shortly after the build. When we needed to change things they happily worked with us to achieve the end result. The progress was smooth through the build, was to the expected length of time as well and we had no surprise costs. We were able to build a house we are thoroughly happy with and greatly recommend them to you. The biggest thing for us is they seem passionate about their builds, proud of their work and the service after handover has been impeccable.

Thank you so much Sharlene, it is nice to know.

Kerrie

See all 9 answers
Has anyone built a house with Hotondo Tamworth?

Anju asked on Aug 31, 2018

Do you build in Apollo bay Victoria?

John asked on Aug 25, 2018

Answer this

Hi John,
Yes we do. Peter and Kerri Scott are the local builders. You can find out more about them and their team by visiting https://hotondo.com.au/home-builders/torquay
Hope that helps!
Thanks,
Rose

See all 89 questions about Hotondo Homes