Filter By:

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria

Communication issues

4 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 15, 2016

We recently built with Hotondo Hallam as we liked the display home we saw. The process was mostly smooth, however, a few issues marred the experience.

We are very happy with the quality of the house built. Tim & Marg were really flexible and helpful with bringing our dream home to life. However, communication was poor especially at the beginning but this improved towards the later part of the build.

A few things to highlight. As we were first timers in home building, we would have appreciated more information and consultation. As it is, we ended up with a retaining wall that we do not like - had we been given visuals and options, this issue would not have arisen.

Another major issue was the size of the alfresco. We had specified that the house was to be as per the display home apart from some changes we specified. We assumed that the alfresco would therefore be the same. However, when we saw it being built, there were 3 pillars rather than 2. Turns out this was on the plan but we missed it. At no point were we expressly informed that the alfresco would be different from the display home. Hence it had three brick columns instead of two, and the columns themselves were larger than the display home ones, which significantly cut off the view of the backyard. Ultimately we were able to compromise and turn the third column into just a wooden post, but this variation should have been highlighted to us at the very beginning.

Our heating zones were also not done to our specification.

Apart from these issues, there were a few other things but Hotondo Hallam fixed them up which we appreciate. The build itself went smoothly and quickly. We were notified of any changes that needed to be made, and the site supervisor was great in providing suggestions for a better result.

We moved in a couple of months ago, and have a few small issues to sort out. Things tend to happen slowly at this stage and several times, we had to chase up to get things fixed. Lots of emails going back and forth before things are resolved. Getting a quote on a required fix takes far longer than expected - this should be done within days, not weeks.

Overall however, we are happy with our new home, and would build with Hotondo Hallam again. Would have given them five stars apart from the issues mentioned above.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Skaur, Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're pleased to hear you're happy with your home and your overall experience. We definitely take on your feedback in regards to commu... read more »

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria

Hotondo Homes Wallan

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 14, 2016

The quality of our build was exceptional. The fact that they took there time ensured us that things were getting done correctly and with care which was super important to us. We were made to feel apart of the whole build process and were kept up to date with every step. When we had questions Waydon Builders did everything they could to get them answered . The level of customer service we received was again exceptional, they made our process as smooth and easy as possible. We had spoken to many other builders/consultants but were very daunted with the experience until sitting down with the guys at Waydon Builders. We already cant wait to build again with them. We have referred two of our friends to them who have since gone ahead and built, both happy with their experiences too. Thanks again guys

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Terri, Thanks for your fantastic review. We're so glad to hear you had such a great experience with the team in Wallan. Thank you for your referring us on to your friends and we hope you love l... read more »

Port Lincoln, South Australia

  • 2 reviews
Private message

Verified Customer Build Location: South Australia

Hotondo Homes, Port Lincoln SA

4 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 30, 2016

Our home was built in May 2014, customer service was excellent and it was a speedy and carefree process.
Only complaint would be that our house slab is not quite 'square' where we have had to compensate when doing paving outside along the house. Hearing more of our options to do with additions would have been great too.
Builder allowed us to have our own tiler and roofer also which was great for budget!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Amandapaige,
Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're glad to hear you were pleased with the service provided by the Port Lincoln team. Thank you for your feedback, we'll pass this on to the team.
Kind regards,
Hotondo Homes.

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria

What a Fantastic Team - Hotondo Homes Torquay Vic.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 23, 2016

What a Great building experience. Thanks to all the team members at Hotondo Torquay. From the time we bought the block to completion we found Hotondo to be very helpful and the quality of work was excellent. The whole building experience was trouble free and very exciting. We also love the design of our home.
We would not hesitate in recommending Hotondo Torquay to do your next building project.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi BriSan, Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're glad to hear you had such a great experience with our team from Torquay. Thank you for the great recommendation. We hope you l... read more »

Verified Customer Build Location: South Australia

My Build

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 20, 2016

I choose Hotondo Homes because of the friendly reception I received when walking into the office, everyone was so helpful. I found the workmanship to be of an excellent standard, the builders always checked work that they had completed and always notified me if they felt there any changes made to be made. I feel that the build was managed very well, it was built to schedule and the communication I received was of good standard.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Chris,
Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're glad to hear you had such a great building experience and we hope you love living in your new home.
Kind regards,
Hotondo Homes.

Verified Customer Build Location: South Australia

Excellent service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 17, 2016

As a single woman deciding to build a home seemed a huge task so finding a reliable trustworthy builder was important. That's what I found in Hotondo Homes Port Lincoln. Their face to face customer service was second to none. They explained detailed information well and had prompt reliable service with good quality workmanship and my home was build in good time. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Sims,
We're glad to hear you had such a great experience with the team from Port Lincoln. Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes and we hope you love living in your new home.
Kind regards,
Hotondo Homes.

Verified Customer Build Location: South Australia

Great build

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 16, 2016

As a First home builder I was very pleased with the level of help and flexibility I received from Ian and Glenda during the planning stages. Also for the help that I received from Sara while going through all of the selections which made things easier, and for answering the many questions that I had. The outcome is a home that I am very pleased with. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Truckiejas, Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're so pleased you had such a pleasant experience with Ian, Glenda and the team. Building your first home is such an exciting t... read more »

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria

Duckling to Swan

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 02, 2016

Delighted with the quality of finish of works and the overall result of our renovation project. Importantly the company operated in an inclusive and collaborative manner which allowed us a sense of involvement and participation throughout the process.
Professional, communicative and competent organization in all aspects of our interactions from design stage through construction to handover. No hesitation in recommending.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi POB893,
We're glad to hear you had such a great experience with the team from Hotondo Homes in Torquay. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope you love your new Hotondo Home!
Kind Regards,
Hotondo Homes.

Harrington Park

  • 1 review
  • 5 comments
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer Build Location: New South Wales

Hotondo MacArthur Disgraceful

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 28, 2016

We have just finished a build with Hotondo homes in the Harrington Park area, although the build did start well the lack of communication from supervisor to client was non existent, I found myself calling the supervisor weekly asking for updates.
Mid way through the build is where the majority of the issues happened. We were continuously delayed by waterproofers and tilers only to be advised by the supervisor weekly that the trades were booked in and than to be let down was quiet frustrating. After raising concerns continuously with the supervisor with no result I seek further assurances that my issues will be raised and atleast considered with the owner of the MacArthur franchise, his dealings with myself onsite I found him to be quiet arrogant, dismissive and down right disrespectful to his clients needs and at one stage telling myself to grab a paint brush and paint the downpipes in which I was not happy with the quality of only being only half painted, again the communication from the owner was disgraceful and to go with it a bad attitude.
Here is a list of just a few issues we have with our Hotondo home:
-Quality of brickwork and compliance issues
-round downpipes being painted as close as possible to brick work leaving white unfinished pvc pipe visible.
-Bedroom doors and robes binding on carpet
-internal garage door still not installed.
-broken electrical box lid.
-defective painting throughout home inclusive of plasterboard patching and joints in ceiling.
-Discontinued stone in kitchen. Having to downgrade, I spent endless weeks searching for stone without the help of the supervisor at all.
- kitchen bench has been built to high. Our freestanding oven is to low and sits lower than stone.
- kick boards to kitchen not cut to size for installation.
- scratches/chips to aluminum Windows
- Cleansliness of home, final clean was messy at best. Instead of cleaners returning to site the supervisor and owner returned to clean the home to leave just as bad.

In conclusion I would not recommend Hotondo homes to anybody, in our dealings we have found them to be disgraceful with the lack of communication, empathy, attitude towards myself and wife, the lack of finishing details provided to us with certain things within the home and the fact it took 9.5 months to build a single story home with no landscape, driveway or finished floors within the home showed Hotondos lack of time management and unprofessionalism.

Do not use HOTONDO MACARTHUR!!

Daniel.

5 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Daniel, We're sorry to hear about your negative experience with the team from Macarthur. We do take this kind of feedback very seriously and would like to discuss this further. Please contact o... read more »

Hi,
I have contacted head office approx 1 month ago. I did not recieve one return phone call from you guys.

Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Daniel, We’ve looked into this matter and our records show the builder contacted you on the day you raised a concern with the Support Office. Our builder has met with you on several occasions i... read more »

See all 9 comments

Verified Customer Build Location: South Australia

Outstanding! Hotondo won't disappoint!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 22, 2016

It was the 1st time that we built. We decided to go with Hotondo homes because they took the hard work out of building. They had all the contacts with all the suppliers and all we had to do was just rock up and decide what house to build. Glenda and Ian were up front, easy to talk to and very professional. Chelsea, our sales and colour consultant was amazing. She helped us through every choice and was very patient when I asked a billion questions. The construction began in July 2014 and two days before Christmas we got the keys and moved in. Ian and Glenda took the time to tell us about every part of the construction stage and when things would be done. There was no stress and I can't believe how easy it was. We are extremely happy with our home. The workmanship is excellent and I have no complaints. I would use Hotondo homes again if I was ever to build again and I am always saying to everyone how fabulous Hotondo are and what a great experience we had with them. Thanks so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Cazgray, Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We are so happy to hear you had such a positive, lasting impression of Glenda, Ian, Chelsea and the team in Port Lincoln. We hope yo... read more »

Verified Customer Build Location: South Australia

Hotondo Homes review

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 20, 2016

This was the first time building and it was a great learning experience. The quality of the house is amazing, the time frame given to move into the house was great we had our hand over a month prior to the actual date and have not had any problems since moving in. The sales consultant at Hotondo Homes in Port Lincoln at the time "Tahlia" was excellent to work with she was so professional, helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Antoinette,
Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We are so happy to hear you had such a positive first build experience with our Port Lincoln team. We hope you love living in your new Hotondo Home!
All the best,
Hotondo Homes

Verified Customer Build Location: South Australia

Fantastic customer service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 20, 2016

We decided to go through hotondo homes as they had great customer service and management, they were a great help when it came to picking a house design in our budget and also supportive of any changes we wanted to make to the house throughout the build.
I could call them at any time during working hours to ask them any questions.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Nomze,
Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We are so happy to hear you had such a positive customer service experience with our builders. We hope you love living in your new Hotondo Home!
All the best,
Hotondo Homes

Verified Customer Build Location: South Australia

Fantastic Value from Hotondo Homes Port Lincoln

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 18, 2016

Excellent workmanship and a great quality buy from the team at Heath Home Building Port Lincoln. Fantastic experience from start to finish. Changed a few things on the design and had no problems what so ever. Would and have highly recommended to my friends and family. Also they were fantastic on the follow up calls and emails to make sure every thing is going okay. Thanks very much!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Azza,
Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We are so happy to hear you had such a positive experience with the team in Port Lincoln. We hope you love living in your new Hotondo Home!
All the best,
Hotondo Homes

Lara

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria

Hotondo Homes - Lara

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 18, 2016

Michael from Hotondo Homes in Lara was invaluable in helping us through our first build. He was transparent, honest, understanding and clearly communicated to us every step of the way! There were no sneaky costs or adgendas and we felt he had our best interests at heart in delivering us a fantastic home. He listened to what we wanted, took the time to explain things we were unsure, and went above and beyond to deliver. He was always friendly, open and flagged issues immediately before they became a problem. He made sure his trades were accountable for both the quality of work, tidiness of the work site and delivering on schedule. He always updated us on progress by giving us a quick call, regularly arranged site inspections and often sent through photos to fill us in on some of the big milestones. The quality of finishes was beyond our expectations. His attention to detail resulted in a beautiful home, of a very high standard, within our budget and time frame. Even after the build the customer service was maintained with him promptly actioning any tasks involved in the settling of the house. We have heard many horror stories about building houses but Michael made it so easy. I could not recommend Michael more as a builder.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Renae,
Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We are so happy to hear you had a such a great first build with Michael from Lara. We hope you love living in your new Hotondo Home!
All the best,
Hotondo Homes

Verified Customer Build Location: South Australia

Beachfront knock down & rebuild, Port Lincoln

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 16, 2016

Residing in Darwin, with one visit to Port Lincoln Hotondo, the use of internet, email and assistance from Ian Glenda and all the team, we were able to build a new two story house, replacing our 60 year old shack on the seaside at Tulka. They went out of their way to ensure the house satisfied requirements from the local council, complied with gov regulations and kept the neighbours happy during the knock down and re-build. There were a few times we thought things were not going right but any issue was quickly resolved with minimum of fuss. Workmanship from individual tradies and contractors resulted in an excellent final product, which will last a lifetime, that has been built to suit our lifestyle and retirement. We are more than please with the result which allows us to spend the summer months on the sea front down south and the winter up north in the tropics.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Nev, Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're so happy to hear you had a such a positive experience with Ian, Glenda and the team in Port Lincoln. We hope you can now relax and ... read more »

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria

Our amazing Hotondo home

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 14, 2016

Workmanship and build quality is fantastic, all of the tradesman were very friendly and helpful. As this was our first build, we had lots of questions along the way and they were all answered by Frank and his tradesmen in plain language that was easy to understand.
The build was managed very well and very efficiently by David and Frank. The only exception was the spreading of fill in front of the garage, just before lots of rain.
Customer service from Frank & Sandra Miccio was excellent and very helpful at every stage of the process.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Rob,
Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're so happy to hear you had such a great experience with Frank and Sandra from Corowa. We hope you love living in your new Hotondo Home!
All the best,
Hotondo Homes

Sunshine coast

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 6 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer Build Location: Queensland

Dodgy builder and poor franchise management

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 12, 2016

Build workmanship and quality was terrible, in fact deemed defective by QBCC with 24 separate repairs required. Franchisee builder went broke as Hotondo did no checks prior to allocating franchise and builder had licensed cancelled 8 times previously. Hotondo wiped everyone that was building with them and provided no support or customer service when they were fully involved with the franchised builder. A terrible experience building with a franchise that offers no certainty or security purchasing through them.

6 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Pcow, We're sorry to hear about your negative experience with a previous franchisee. We take negative feedback very seriously, so if you would like to discuss this further please email customer... read more »

2 years later I am still trying to get my house certified through Council. Hotondo kindly phoned me after this review to provide fruitless advice about ringing the statebuilding commission and they... read more »

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria

A fantastic experience from start to finish!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 04, 2016

We were fortunate enough to select Hotondo Melton to build our new home in Kyneton. Darren and his team made everything so easy for us! Communication, timing of the build and the finished product were all excellent. The project manager was prompt, polite and had a 'can do' attitude. We would not hesitate to use Hotondo Melton for a future building project!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Sonya,
Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're so pleased to hear you had a great experience with Darren and the team from Melton. We hope you love living in your new home!

Kind Regards,
Hotondo Homes.

Verified Customer Build Location: South Australia

Our dream came true with this house

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 27, 2016

First thing I liked about building in Whyalla with Hotondo Homes was we had a 'fixed price' - which was true to its word - Good communication with Graeme and his staff throughout the build. Could not fault the workmanship with the house. Unable to find any faults after being in the house for 3 months except problem with the roller door but was fixed within a few days. Would recommend to anyone to have Hotondo Homes -Port Pirie - to build your house. You will be please with your home.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Bob,
Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're pleased to hear you had such a great experience with Graeme and the team from Port Pirie. We hope you love living in your new Hotondo Home!
Kind regards,
Hotondo Homes.

Verified Customer Build Location: South Australia

Hotondo Port Pirie are Amazing!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 24, 2016

We built with Hotondo Port Pirie in 2013. We had a fabulous build experience. Communication was brilliant, nothing was too small or too hard. The build quality surpasses all those around us (new division). Local tradies were used, so the $$ stayed in our regional area. After service has been brilliant, even 2.5 years on. We would build with them again but we don't need to!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Tegan, Thank you for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're glad to hear you had such a fantastic experience with the team in Port Pirie It's great to see they've left such an amazing ... read more »

4 of 9 pages


Questions & Answers

Wondering if anyone had built with Hotondo Thornton/Raymond Terrace? We are happy with design concepts and the staff have been amazing. I'm sure the contractors will be great to, but would value any feedback. Thanks

Aldo asked on Mar 15, 2018

Has anyone built with Hotondo logan central and surrounds?

buildingahome asked on Mar 07, 2018

Answer this

Sorry, no. I built with Hotondo Homes Central Coast in NSW. Good luck!

Hi, we built with Mark Uzzell, Hotondo Logan. Moved in just on 6 mths ago now, was a brand new build on our land at Grange. The house is beautiful, we are very pleased with the outcome. We found Mark to be easy to deal with, suggested some good ideas, focussed on the detail and as such have referred his work to a couple of locals also.

Hi. Has anyone built with Hotondo Homes Sunshine Coast? Any feedback would be appreciated, good or bad. Thanks BJH

BJH asked on Jan 10, 2018

Answer this

Hi BJH,
We built with Hotondo Homes Sunshine Coast (Matira Dev.) in 2017. I am about to post a full-review so watch this space!

Hi BJH
We have just moved into our new home that was built with Hotondo... I cannot say a bad word about them! We made the move from Sydney to Sunshine Coast & Alyssa & the team at Hotondo made the whole experience very easy! For such a huge move & also building a new home we didn’t feel any stress at all, they helped us make decisions with ease & were always quick to answer any questions we had...
Now that we have moved in we are also very happy with the finished product & love our new home!
It was also a very quick build which helped us get here before Xmas & settle in

Hi BJH
We are currently completing our build with Hotondo Homes (Matira Developments). We are extremely pleased with our choice of builder. The entire process from design to build has been seamless. Alyssa is very knowledgable and consistently goes over and above. We are interstate also and Alyssa has always kept us updated. The quality of the workmanship and fittings is excellent. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them, and will definitely be building with them in the future.

See all 4 answers
See all 77 questions about Hotondo Homes