Filter By:

Verified Customer Build Location: South Australia

Outstanding! Hotondo won't disappoint!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 22, 2016

It was the 1st time that we built. We decided to go with Hotondo homes because they took the hard work out of building. They had all the contacts with all the suppliers and all we had to do was just rock up and decide what house to build. Glenda and Ian were up front, easy to talk to and very professional. Chelsea, our sales and colour consultant was amazing. She helped us through every choice and was very patient when I asked a billion questions. The construction began in July 2014 and two days before Christmas we got the keys and moved in. Ian and Glenda took the time to tell us about every part of the construction stage and when things would be done. There was no stress and I can't believe how easy it was. We are extremely happy with our home. The workmanship is excellent and I have no complaints. I would use Hotondo homes again if I was ever to build again and I am always saying to everyone how fabulous Hotondo are and what a great experience we had with them. Thanks so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Cazgray, Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We are so happy to hear you had such a positive, lasting impression of Glenda, Ian, Chelsea and the team in Port Lincoln. We hope yo... read more »

Verified Customer Build Location: South Australia

Hotondo Homes review

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 20, 2016

This was the first time building and it was a great learning experience. The quality of the house is amazing, the time frame given to move into the house was great we had our hand over a month prior to the actual date and have not had any problems since moving in. The sales consultant at Hotondo Homes in Port Lincoln at the time "Tahlia" was excellent to work with she was so professional, helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Antoinette,
Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We are so happy to hear you had such a positive first build experience with our Port Lincoln team. We hope you love living in your new Hotondo Home!
All the best,
Hotondo Homes

Verified Customer Build Location: South Australia

Fantastic customer service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 20, 2016

We decided to go through hotondo homes as they had great customer service and management, they were a great help when it came to picking a house design in our budget and also supportive of any changes we wanted to make to the house throughout the build.
I could call them at any time during working hours to ask them any questions.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Nomze,
Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We are so happy to hear you had such a positive customer service experience with our builders. We hope you love living in your new Hotondo Home!
All the best,
Hotondo Homes

Verified Customer Build Location: South Australia

Fantastic Value from Hotondo Homes Port Lincoln

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 18, 2016

Excellent workmanship and a great quality buy from the team at Heath Home Building Port Lincoln. Fantastic experience from start to finish. Changed a few things on the design and had no problems what so ever. Would and have highly recommended to my friends and family. Also they were fantastic on the follow up calls and emails to make sure every thing is going okay. Thanks very much!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Azza,
Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We are so happy to hear you had such a positive experience with the team in Port Lincoln. We hope you love living in your new Hotondo Home!
All the best,
Hotondo Homes

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria

Hotondo Homes - Lara

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 18, 2016

Michael from Hotondo Homes in Lara was invaluable in helping us through our first build. He was transparent, honest, understanding and clearly communicated to us every step of the way! There were no sneaky costs or adgendas and we felt he had our best interests at heart in delivering us a fantastic home. He listened to what we wanted, took the time to explain things we were unsure, and went above and beyond to deliver. He was always friendly, open and flagged issues immediately before they became a problem. He made sure his trades were accountable for both the quality of work, tidiness of the work site and delivering on schedule. He always updated us on progress by giving us a quick call, regularly arranged site inspections and often sent through photos to fill us in on some of the big milestones. The quality of finishes was beyond our expectations. His attention to detail resulted in a beautiful home, of a very high standard, within our budget and time frame. Even after the build the customer service was maintained with him promptly actioning any tasks involved in the settling of the house. We have heard many horror stories about building houses but Michael made it so easy. I could not recommend Michael more as a builder.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Renae,
Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We are so happy to hear you had a such a great first build with Michael from Lara. We hope you love living in your new Hotondo Home!
All the best,
Hotondo Homes

Verified Customer Build Location: South Australia

Beachfront knock down & rebuild, Port Lincoln

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 16, 2016

Residing in Darwin, with one visit to Port Lincoln Hotondo, the use of internet, email and assistance from Ian Glenda and all the team, we were able to build a new two story house, replacing our 60 year old shack on the seaside at Tulka. They went out of their way to ensure the house satisfied requirements from the local council, complied with gov regulations and kept the neighbours happy during the knock down and re-build. There were a few times we thought things were not going right but any issue was quickly resolved with minimum of fuss. Workmanship from individual tradies and contractors resulted in an excellent final product, which will last a lifetime, that has been built to suit our lifestyle and retirement. We are more than please with the result which allows us to spend the summer months on the sea front down south and the winter up north in the tropics.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Nev, Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're so happy to hear you had a such a positive experience with Ian, Glenda and the team in Port Lincoln. We hope you can now relax and ... read more »

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria

Our amazing Hotondo home

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 14, 2016

Workmanship and build quality is fantastic, all of the tradesman were very friendly and helpful. As this was our first build, we had lots of questions along the way and they were all answered by Frank and his tradesmen in plain language that was easy to understand.
The build was managed very well and very efficiently by David and Frank. The only exception was the spreading of fill in front of the garage, just before lots of rain.
Customer service from Frank & Sandra Miccio was excellent and very helpful at every stage of the process.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Rob,
Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're so happy to hear you had such a great experience with Frank and Sandra from Corowa. We hope you love living in your new Hotondo Home!
All the best,
Hotondo Homes

Sunshine coast

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 6 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer Build Location: Queensland

Dodgy builder and poor franchise management

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 12, 2016

Build workmanship and quality was terrible, in fact deemed defective by QBCC with 24 separate repairs required. Franchisee builder went broke as Hotondo did no checks prior to allocating franchise and builder had licensed cancelled 8 times previously. Hotondo wiped everyone that was building with them and provided no support or customer service when they were fully involved with the franchised builder. A terrible experience building with a franchise that offers no certainty or security purchasing through them.

6 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Pcow, We're sorry to hear about your negative experience with a previous franchisee. We take negative feedback very seriously, so if you would like to discuss this further please email customer... read more »

2 years later I am still trying to get my house certified through Council. Hotondo kindly phoned me after this review to provide fruitless advice about ringing the statebuilding commission and they... read more »

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria

A fantastic experience from start to finish!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 04, 2016

We were fortunate enough to select Hotondo Melton to build our new home in Kyneton. Darren and his team made everything so easy for us! Communication, timing of the build and the finished product were all excellent. The project manager was prompt, polite and had a 'can do' attitude. We would not hesitate to use Hotondo Melton for a future building project!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Sonya,
Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're so pleased to hear you had a great experience with Darren and the team from Melton. We hope you love living in your new home!

Kind Regards,
Hotondo Homes.

Verified Customer Build Location: South Australia

Our dream came true with this house

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 27, 2016

First thing I liked about building in Whyalla with Hotondo Homes was we had a 'fixed price' - which was true to its word - Good communication with Graeme and his staff throughout the build. Could not fault the workmanship with the house. Unable to find any faults after being in the house for 3 months except problem with the roller door but was fixed within a few days. Would recommend to anyone to have Hotondo Homes -Port Pirie - to build your house. You will be please with your home.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Bob,
Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're pleased to hear you had such a great experience with Graeme and the team from Port Pirie. We hope you love living in your new Hotondo Home!
Kind regards,
Hotondo Homes.

Verified Customer Build Location: South Australia

Hotondo Port Pirie are Amazing!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 24, 2016

We built with Hotondo Port Pirie in 2013. We had a fabulous build experience. Communication was brilliant, nothing was too small or too hard. The build quality surpasses all those around us (new division). Local tradies were used, so the $$ stayed in our regional area. After service has been brilliant, even 2.5 years on. We would build with them again but we don't need to!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Tegan, Thank you for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're glad to hear you had such a fantastic experience with the team in Port Pirie It's great to see they've left such an amazing ... read more »

Verified Customer Build Location: Queensland

Our first brand new home

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 16, 2016

Our experience with Hotondo Homes has been great all the way thru. From the first day we met with Chris and Mary to discuss the process we have felt comfortable, and if at any time we had any concerns they allayed them very quickly.
The subbies were all great to deal with checking our requirements were being met at every stage. One special mention to Peter the painter, a rare breed in these modern times; Peter is a perfectionist and should be proud of the work he does.
I would recommend Hotondo Homes and Chris Dodt and his team to anyone thinking of building a new home, they truly are a great find.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Chappo, Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're so pleased to hear you had such a fantastic experience with Chris and the team from Gympie. We hope you enjoy living in your b... read more »

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria

Love my new home

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 25, 2016

This is my dream home come true, I was so impressed with the support I was given when designing the plan and layout of my home, any changes were not a problem to get the look I wanted to achieve. The standard and workmanship is of high standard, I have no hesitation to recommend Hotondo Shepparton to build your next home, Col and Sue and their staff delivered on every aspect. Thanks so much!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Leanne,
Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're glad to hear Col and Sue were able to build your dream home! Thank you for your strong recommendation and we hope you love living in your new home.
Kind regards,
Hotondo Homes.

Geelong vic

  • 1 review
  • 2 answers
Private message

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria

Cannot beat Hotondo Homes Lara

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 22, 2016

We could have not been happier from the time of signing up with Hotondo homes in Lara. With Michael being our 'home builder - manager' it has been such a breeze and has made the process so easy and smooth. He is so professional & dedicated to what he does and ensures that us, as clients are 100% satisfied with everything! We have been fully informed about every little stage that our home is going through, constant emails, calls, updates and the building has kept to schedule! We cannot speak more highly of Michael's work throughout this process and encourage anyone thinking of building to give Hotondo Lara a call to take the stress out of building a quality home! We cant wait to see the finished product! Thank you!

September 6th 2016 Update: Hotondo home - house completion

After only 4 months our Hotondo home was completed in Mount Duneed. Not 1 hold up, no problems experienced at all. We are just so impressed with the build by Hotondo and the work of our project manager to ensure everything went to schedule and was completed on time and the quality was there throughout. We could not fault any stage or quality of our build. Any queries we had were promptly answered by Michael and never was a problem to offer advice or help us though anything we were unsure of - always going above and beyond. If building was always this easy we would do it again tomorrow! Thank you so much to our fantastic project manager Michael (from Lara) and the rest of the hotondo team/trades for everything you have done from start to finish to complete our home we could not be happier.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Dear Ralsal, Thank you for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes in Lara. We're so pleased to hear your experience with Michael has been so breezy and stress-free. We're looking forward to seein... read more »

Newcastle

  • 1 review
  • 1 answer
Private message

Verified Customer Build Location: New South Wales

Hotondo Port Stephens

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 30, 2016

Hello,
My husband and I just wanted to give a shoutout and express our thanks and gratitude to the team at Hotondo Port Stephens.
We are due to take possession of our home on Monday and we couldn't be more excited.
From the second we walked into the display home and spoke to Paul, we knew these guys were a good fit for us. We had also looked at other companies but were put off by how impersonal the experience was. Paul was open and honest about the company and what they could deliver. He is a warm and knowledgable person and is an irreplaceable asset to this franchise.
Like all growing companies, they are not without fault and for a brief moment we experienced some small frustrations around communication.
However, we have watched Jason develop a wonderful team throughout our build and think he should be very proud of their hard work. In particular, Jaimie and Maddy who have been great to speak with despite the fact that we've been slightly clueless at times.
Keep up the great work guys.
Cheers,
Alison and Aaron.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Alison and Aaron,
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're glad to hear you had such a great experience with the team from Port Stephens. We hope you love living in your new home.
Kind regards,
Hotondo Homes.

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria

My new home is a dream come true!!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 12, 2016

Such smooth sailing all the way it has been building my home with Hotondo Homes in Wallan.
The entire experience has been nothing more than exciting. Such wonderful help from experienced staff with my colour selection which made the whole experience so much fun and stress free. From start to finish I have been informed of week to week progress. I have had no problems with anything along the way. Have enjoyed every minute of having my dream home built.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Dani,
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. We're pleased to hear you had such a great experience with the Wallan team and we're glad you now have your dream home!
Kind regards,
Hotondo Homes.

Sydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer Build Location: New South Wales

Hotondo Homes South Coast

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 12, 2016

This was the first time I've done a property investment and actually built the home, so was very cautious about who I went with. From the beginning, Adam from Hotondo South Coast was the most transparent and helpful, and after ringing around I definitely felt more comfortable with them.
They offered the most flexibility with the plans and provided invaluable advice along the way. The house looks AMAZING and I've sold it for a good profit - will definitely be calling Adam when I take on my next project! Highly recommend HSC :)

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Nick,
Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes. Great to hear you had such a fantastic experience with the team from South Coast. We're looking forward to helping with your next project.
Kind regards,
Hotondo Homes.

Verified Customer Build Location: New South Wales

Hotondo Homes South Nowra.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 09, 2016

We have recently moved into our new home. Speaking as a recently retired builder of over forty years experience, I could not fault the Hotondo South Coast team in their quality of workmanship, project management, friendly and courteous lines of communication, and sheer enthusiasm for our project. As clients, we were made to feel special, and have a special home to show for it. Many thanks to all at Hotondo South Coast.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Keith,
Thank you for your fantastic review! We're glad to hear your experience with the team at Southcoast was fantastic and we hope you enjoy living in your brand new home!
Kind regards,
Hotondo Homes.

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria

Hotondo Homes Wallan

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 01, 2016

We have just completed our home with sincere thanks to Wayne, Donna and the team at Hotondo Homes Wallan. We found the team to be very friendly,helpful and professional throughout the build. They kept us informed from start to finish and answered any questions we had which made it a hassle free & very enjoyable experience. This professionalism is represented in the quality building of our home. If we were to build again we would definitely build with Hotondo Homes Wallan. Thanks again to the team at Hotondo Homes Wallan.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Rosemarie,
Thank you for your fantastic review! We're so glad to hear you had a great experience with Hotondo Homes in Wallan. We hope you enjoy your new home!
Kind regards,
Hotondo Homes.

Heathcote Junction, VIC 3758

Private message

Verified Customer Build Location: Victoria

Hotondo Homes Wallan

5 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 17, 2016

We have built our dream home with many thanks to Hotondo Homes Wallan, From start to finish the building process was hassle free. The supervisor was very accommodating and happy to help or meet onsite if we had any questions or wanted to go through anything. Hotondo Homes paid full attention to our requests and followed through with actions, we often were contacted on a regular basis with updates. We are extremely happy with what we call our dream home, completed with high quality finishes.. Thank-you to the Wayne and Donna and the team at Hotondo Homes Wallan.

- Jeremy & Amy.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Hotondo Homes Official

Hi Jeremy, Thanks for taking the time to review Hotondo Homes in Wallan. We're glad to hear you had a fantastic experience with Wayne and Donna along with their team. We're happy we've helped bui... read more »

4 of 8 pages


Questions & Answers

Hi. Has anyone built with Hotondo Homes Sunshine Coast? Any feedback would be appreciated, good or bad. Thanks BJH

BJH asked on Jan 10, 2018

Answer this

Hi BJH,
We built with Hotondo Homes Sunshine Coast (Matira Dev.) in 2017. I am about to post a full-review so watch this space!

Hi BJH
We have just moved into our new home that was built with Hotondo... I cannot say a bad word about them! We made the move from Sydney to Sunshine Coast & Alyssa & the team at Hotondo made the whole experience very easy! For such a huge move & also building a new home we didn’t feel any stress at all, they helped us make decisions with ease & were always quick to answer any questions we had...
Now that we have moved in we are also very happy with the finished product & love our new home!
It was also a very quick build which helped us get here before Xmas & settle in

Hi BJH
We are currently completing our build with Hotondo Homes (Matira Developments). We are extremely pleased with our choice of builder. The entire process from design to build has been seamless. Alyssa is very knowledgable and consistently goes over and above. We are interstate also and Alyssa has always kept us updated. The quality of the workmanship and fittings is excellent. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them, and will definitely be building with them in the future.

Has anyone built with Hotondo Homes Melton ( Darvale Homes Pty Ltd)? Please share your experiences.

Hafiz asked on Oct 17, 2017

Answer this

I built with Darvale Homes (Hotondo) 3 years ago.
The process was one of the easiest to go through. Darren and Vesna run the business flawlessly. From the initial consultation with Darren, he stepped us through all aspects of the build and also linked us to a mortgage broker. The build itself was extremely smooth with only 1 minor issue that was corrected early on. Darren ensured that all the products used were of a very high standard and overall, we were ecstatic with the result. During the build at frame stage, I requested a change, which was readily accepted and I was able to add my own details as applicable with no issue from Darren. Any and all communication initiated by me was promptly answered to my satisfaction.

I then returned to Darvale 5 months ago to have an addition/modification completed as their quote came under an initial quote from another company. Once again, Darren excelled in delivering a fabulous product.

I have recommended Darvale to a number of colleagues and friends, and will continue to do so. I don't intend on moving any time soon, but if I was, I would definitely be choosing Darvale to build with again. And again!

I moved in to my new Hotondo home built by Darvale Homes in July 2017 ( 3 months ago) I have included my initial review completed after handover. Since moving in I have no reason to change my anything in the review but would like to add that the "after sales service" is also excellent. I did not put an Exhaust Fan in the Butlers Pantry, first time I burnt the toast off goes the smoke detector. Contacted Rob who put me in touch with the Electrician who wired the house, job complete and matched to the existing exhaust fans in the house.


I have never written a review before but believe poor service should be condemned, good service expected and excellent service praised.
The people at Darvale Homes may believe they are in the house building business but in reality, they are in the customer service business and in this instance the service has been second to none.,
I have just moved into my new Hotondo home built by Darvale Homes Melton and the journey through the process from pre contract negotiation to completion has been great.
Anna Maria who understood what I was looking for, found a plan to suit my needs and the block of land to suit the plan. She then put up with me as I altered bits and pieces here and there, offering her suggestions along the way, many thanks Anna Maria.
Darren who is straight up and easy to work with, offering professional advice along the way on many things and going beyond the call of duty to in helping to sort out items I had not considered at contract stage. But most remembered fort the following (Ron if you mix this you will not like the result, referring to my initial plan for the butler’s pantry and he was right the finished product is excellent)
Vesna, quietly in the background, getting progress payments squared away and always willing to take a call when others were not available.
Then these was Rob, Rob the building Supervisor, always willing to take my calls, meet me on site, explain the progress or answer my concerns (I resided 1.2 k from the construction site so was on site just about every week.)
Rob picked up on things I did not see, explained them and had them rectified, I would not like to be the Tradie who tried to short change Rob. How good was Rob, on day of handover at 5pm he would not sign off until the muddy footprints had been cleaned off the driveway so went and got a pressure washer and at 6pm was cleaning my driveway. Thank You Rob!!

Hey Fon,

Really appreciate your time in writing some details.

I have made up mind to go with them. See I go with them and will share my experience later.

Hafiz

See all 5 answers
Hi what's the lowest price house you can offer in blue mountains area ie how much to build basic house ?

Fiona J asked on Oct 12, 2017

Answer this

Hi Fiona,
Thanks for getting in contact with us. Because we are a national building franchise you will need to speak to the local builder directly. You can contact Colin Duncan and his team by visiting http://hotondo.com.au/home-builders/penrith-lithgow-blue-mountains/
Thanks - Rose

See all 75 questions about Hotondo Homes