Verified Customer

Great

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 19, 2018

Great staff. Friendly people. Fresh produce. Yummy cakes, deli section, clean and tidy. That's all you want when food shopping.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wurtulla IGA is my favourite place to shop. The only drawback is sometimes parking is a problem

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 05, 2018

The staff are so welcoming and I've got to know some of them. I love supporting their local business. Parking can sometimes be an issue however as the entry to the shopping centre is precarious and narrow. I like to buy my nuts, chocolate, milk, vegies and yoghurts. They have a wide variety although some things in the fridge section are close to use by date.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sydney

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 3 answers
  • 9 helpful votes
Private message

Annangrove IGA loads prices

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 30, 2018

$5.65 for a day old loaf of Helgas Bread. A small packet of gelatin $7.00....... that speaks volumes.
It seems that there is no price control or regulation across IGA stores,
and some just inflate prices because there is no competition for 5km in any direction.
If they were reasonable with their prices, people would be loyal rather than just going there when they are desperate.
This surely gives a poor name to IGA as a chain.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Sydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer

more inferior quality fruit and vegetable

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 10, 2018

a great product some weeks. But my Last purchase of organic potatoes had sprouted , and mouldy clusters through whole bag. as these are an unwashed product, there should be no moisture to cause mould. they feel soft to the touch so I think are old produce???another of many cases of inferior fruit n veggies - does no-one check them?
wondering who puts the use by date on what appears to be a store brand. is it a supplier issue or an Iga issue. the same product appears on the shelf week after week but with different use by dates. and products that dont have a use by date seem to stay on the shelf for way too long

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Tamworth

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Shopping with iga

3 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 05, 2018

I've found alot of the dairy products are always close to the used by date also have found some of the fruit taste disgusting like the oranges

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Melton, VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Supports OZ Small Goods Manufacturing

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 20, 2018

I like the availability and array of smaller brands especially in Dairy/Deli aisles. Y'know what you don't get in the big stores but were brought up with. Some homebrands are just duds.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Heritage Not so Delite mini meringues

1 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 17, 2018

Where's the No Star? Bought Heritage Delight mini meringues. Horrible. Ruined desert and wasted my strawberries, passion fruit and cream mini pavs. All sugar no egg whites crumbled mess. What happened to the quality from last year? Will try Woolworths brand next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes

a new store, but opportunity lost

1 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 13, 2018

Poor store presentation, low quantities of stock, not faced up, limited range, overpriced.poor meat selection, a lot of open space could be used for more shelving. Poor quality veges, limp & discolored. I will drive past this store and travel 14klms to yarraman iga. In future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Winchester Hampshire

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Excellent service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 05, 2018

Was in your store on Tuesday evening & purchased a clivia plant which was in a very heavy pot -a fact which your assistant, Anthony noted & he very kindly offered to carry it to my daughters car. A very courteous & thoughtful young man whose assistance was gratefully accepted.
Thank you so much.
What a pleasure to have such an observant assistant.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Melbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Goods and services

4 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 05, 2018

This is a new store in the middle park area the staff are very friendly and helpful the range of products is great prices reasonable also available which you don't find in many supermarkets is a fresh orange juice machine you buy the oranges then make delicious fresh orange juice they also sell packaged alcohol and the have a great cafe good for that catch up with friends or informal business chats the food is great the coffee is very good it's open for lunch and breakfast Monday to Friday till 3pm you'll be great by the warm welcome smile of Max the trading hours of the supermarket itself is 6am -11pm seven days a week with alcohol sales available after 11am ? Till 9pm so for a great supermarket and cafe experience head to DANNYS MILL ST IGA LIQUOR XPRESS COMMANDER RAYBETTERIDGE

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Melbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 comments
  • 2 questions
  • 11 answers
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer

Premelted

2 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 29, 2018

Most times i get icypoles or icecreams from this shop they are either melted or pre-melted. Doesn't matter if i get them from the top or the bottom. Many years of this. They will give money back but that doesn't make up for the effort it takes.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Get away with it if you can.

1 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 13, 2018

Yet again, IGA Bexley exceeds expectations with close to use by date stock on its shelves, hoping the customers need reading glasses that they have left at home!

Great special on Peanut M&Ms 440 gram box. IGA says normally sells for over $16!! On special for $5, saving over $11. WOW!

Only problem is 3 days only till use by date expiration and chashier thinks that’s fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes

sydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Romeo's IGA in Martins Place, Sydney

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 11, 2018

I like this shop because the staff are friendly and willing to help, the place is clean and there are fresh foods. On the numerous occasions that I was shopping there, I have not seen yet stale foods. Yes the prices are a little bit high but I think it is the premium you pay for the freshness of the food items.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

A great grocery buying venue

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 17, 2018

Been shopping at this store over 20 years, has gone through a lot of changes, no more photo processing kiosk for starters. But they always seem to have maintained a unique range of products i don't often see somewhere so its always a good place to visit for a little variety!

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 12 reviews
  • 4 comments
  • 10 answers
  • 6 helpful votes
Private message

It depends where you shop, I have shopped at woelful IGA's and excllent ones

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 12, 2018

I will be speaking about the one that is located in Rokeby Tasmania. I doubt that you would find better service and or prices elsewhere. The area is a large older housing estate area, with 2 main Hobart suburbs in it, most people have issues buying cheaper foods. What this IGA does, is to when they can is to buy stock that is close to their expiry and or suggested due by date by the pallet loads, offering cheaper prices. When i was living out in Rokeby this meant I could buy some more extras The owneras had recently brought the entire shopping center, and now have updated the store layout to a more modern and friendly and welcoming environment.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Melbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 helpful votes
Private message

Disgusting Service Reservoir Melbourne

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 09, 2018

Disgusting service was in the deli buying cold meat the rude [name removed] asked her for thin slices she was shaving the ham. I told her its shredded she goes if you don't like it go elsewhere. I excuse me. Wow I called the manager after leaving and [name removed] rude behaviour was just as disgusting. Worst treatment never returning. I'm not the only one been spoken like this if you look at there google reviews some occurrence with other customers.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sydney

  • 12 reviews
  • 7 answers
  • 25 helpful votes
Private message

All IGA stores selling out of date & mouldy food

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 05, 2018

Every IGA store tries to get away with it. and the staff at the stores just don't care. the worst sections are dairy & bakery Next time you come across out of date or mouldy food call or contact the local council in the are where the store is The council can fine the store $880.00 for the 1st offence, Don't put up with out of date & mouldy food take action.

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Soldiers point

  • 1 review
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Overpriced

2 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 27, 2018

Most products for sale close to double the price of Woolworths or Coles . Only buy there to save a drive to salamander bay. Can buy everything cheaper at a servo. Crazy.

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

bimbi, nsw

  • 11 reviews
  • 7 answers
  • 24 helpful votes
Private message

What happened to supposed IGA price match

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 23, 2018

its a load of garbage what price match? everything in the store is 30c to $1 dearer than Woolworths Coles & Aldi the only times prices are ""cheap"" when the products are a weekly special. then after the week the price reverts back to same high price as was before the specials. IGA price match is a con. Go & shop at any other supermarket then come into IGA with your docket from the other store & walk around & check the shelf prices against your docket. and you will see how much more per item it costs to shop at IGA

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Brisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 question
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer

Gret prices

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 18, 2018

IGA South Brisbane - amazing prices and range. some things are obviously more expensive than other supermarkets however. A good deal on things that matter. e.g. bread, veges etc.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

1 of 16 pages


Questions & Answers

I was just wondering what the policy is on IGA supermarket stacking their shelves during the day? Local IGA does it during the day and make it virtually impossible to get down aisles. If I had a pram, trolley or wheelchair it would be impossible. Also it would be very easy for someone to trip over the boxes taking up so much space.

Annoyed asked on Dec 14, 2017

Answer this

This would be up to the business owner or manager as IGA's are independently operated. There would be no policy from IGA (or Metcash - owners of the IGA brand in Australia), and if there was a policy , there would be no way to police it. Based on the reviews, any policies, guidelines or standards that do exist from IGA/Metcash are not enforced.

I purchased a leg of pork on the 20th of July 2017. It was out of date reading use by the 16th. Today is the 22nd of July and I was ready to cook it but noticed it was off after checking the dates I took it back. What is IGAs policy for this situation?

Deb asked on Jul 22, 2017

Answer this

They should refund you and also give you a free replacement

Hello
A full refund plus a word to the manager about selling meat in this condition.

Yeah they have a 200% guarantee on fresh depts I'm sure. Money back plus replacement.

See all 4 answers
1 iga store best charge you $5 for milk 1 iga store is charging $3 35 for milk, are they allowed to do this? I think it's wrong. Can I lay a complaint?

Reginald Jensen asked on Dec 23, 2016

Answer this

I did wonder myself and found on the internet that Coles normally charge the same but the other two differ from suburb to Suberb and it does not mention it's not allowed.

Our wonderful government calls this "Deregulation" which is meant to encourage competition.
Milk, banks, electricity retailers etc etc the list is endless and all they do is put the price up, up up and charge what they like.
I would like to see politicians deregulated right out the front door of parliament house

See all 5 questions about IGA