From 14 December 2018 to 28 February 2019, JG King Homes is offering a $100 Coles e-voucher to customers encouraging either a positive or negative review based on their build experience. It is possible that some reviews were written by customers who received this reward. These reviews adhere to ProductReview’s Incentivised Customer Reviews Guidelines and may explain a spike in review numbers. For instructions, on how this incentive is claimed please click here.

MELTON SOUTH

  • 2 reviews
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Jul 2019

Great experience

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 10, 2019

I have found that the whole building experience was made easier with jg king as they go through every stage thoroughly and are always available for queries. The building is progressing on time and i have had no problems as yet. The cost has been what was expected and I haven't encountered any unexpected expenses. Would highly recommend this builder

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Jul 2019

So Far its going greaat

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 07, 2019

The process till the start of the building phase has been smooth.

The best thing i like about JG King so far is the communication. I never had to ask JG King for any questions.

Our timber was not available and we had to choose a second option which was smooth as well.

All the information was shared every point in this phase.

Hoping to get through the building part as smooth as this has gone.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Apr 2019

Moving forward

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 27, 2018

My 2nd Site Supervisor [name removed] was helpful. He presented at the building site when necessary, and provided me with periodic updates.

I think it is natural to have some anxiety as a customer to go thru the building process, and to be kept informed and explained the process well.

Thanks to site supervisor [name removed], site manager [name removed], and area manager [name removed] responded to some recent queries.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Love our house in the end...

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 21, 2018

I'll start with any negatives first but keep reading...
We had a lot of trouble finding the right floor plan to suit us and eventually found one that worked with JG King. After modifying over and over and finally settling on the Odyssey 2 to fit on our block (28 x 16) we went home satisfied we had found the right design that included everything we needed and happily decided to sign up. When we went back to officially sign up, it wasnt until the last minute that our consultant decided to check that the house size percentage wasnt over the maximum 60% of the block coverage, and it was over at 63% which then meant the only way for us to build this design was to leave out the alfresco which was disappointing and something that couldve been checked a lot earlier.
Throughout the contract stage they were pretty good although sometimes a lack of information for people that have never built before became a bit of an issue. At one point they hit us with a 'Salinity report' issue from the council to do with our soil, saying we needed to chase this up with the local council, as we did only to find out the council had little idea of what it was all about anyway? In the end JG King sorted it out themselves, something that could've and probably should've been done without stressing us with it. Another issue was that during the build we realised we had not added enough soundproofing to the media room. To change a couple of walls to acoustic plaster they wanted to charge a $1000 admin fee to redraft the plans for what essentially was changing a plaster order?
To the good... our building supervisor Adam has been awesome and has really looked after us throughout the build with weekly progress updates and making sure we got a good quality product that we are happy with in the end. There have been a few issues with tradies not checking things off properly (like the installers not connecting and testing the ducted heating properly) none of which were his fault, but he has been straight on to making sure things are corrected. At times we've had his number on speed dial and calling him several times a day with questions and he has gone beyond company requirements to help us out with whatever we have needed of which we are very grateful.
In the end and after some of the dust has settled (pardon the pun) we do love our house, its great! Very happy with the build quality and the products used, it feels like a quality home and not some cheap quick build. Fearful of blowing out the budget we are happy we didnt go crazy with upgrades, but did just enough to make the house look nice. We did get some really good inclusions with their value packs which helped a lot. Our advice for people in similar circumstances is to upgrade to just the next tier which doesnt cost much more but is really worth it. For example, we upgraded the bathtub for about $100 extra (well worth it its great), the rangehood again upgraded for about $100 to the next tier and looks great, did the same with carpet and flooring etc... no need to spend a fortune to get a quality house, unless you want to of course?
After the initial few months wait to get started our house was built in Officer in about 5 and a half months which was great and well under time. Things moved very quickly once started. With everything considered I think we got a good quality home at a fairly decent price too.
Would we recommend JG King Homes? Yes, but we've never built with anyone else so its hard to say, but we are happy in the end with our new home and expect every builder is going to have its positives and negatives when embarking on such a full on project as building someones dream? Overall we're happy with what we got. :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
JG King Homes Official

Hi Brownyn, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Building can sometimes be a stressful process and unpredictable at times, but we very pleased to hear that we helped you overcome certai... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Aug 2019

JG KING PRE-BUILD EXPERIENCE

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 21, 2018

The team at JG king have been fantastic in making our dream home a reality, the customer service team have been quick and brilliant to respond to the issues we have encountered through out the experience. However, the sales consultant that organised the colour selection wanted us to rush through selection and did not have the right attitude, this was extremely disappointing as this was meant to be an exciting process. Our recommendation to Future customers is to ensure they take their time during colour selection and ask the staff to be patient.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
JG King Homes Official

Hi Danche, We are delighted to read that you had a good experience with the customer service team, however, we are disappointed that you didn't have a positive experience at the colours selection. ... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Dec 2018

Our experience with JG King was great.

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 21, 2018

Build was well managed by our supervisor, [name removed]. The house was delivered on time, i.e before Christmas. We are happy with the quality of the house. There were no issues at pre, post or during construction. All post construction jobs were attended on time, without delay. There was a small increase to the final cost due to a variation. Our overall experience with JG King was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
JG King Homes Official

Hi Chamarinie,
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to read that each stage was a smooth sailing process. We wish you all the best with your new home.

Kind regards,
JG King Homes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Jul 2018

Worth the wait

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 26, 2018

We completed our build with JG King a few months ago. We had a bit of a rocky start and struggled a bit through the admin process. There was a lot of waiting and a lot of frustration. The build stage - also pretty slow. It was about 12 months from start to finish. That said, we had quite a few customization on our build, and no doubt that slowed down the process a little.
Now that we have finally moved in, we are very happy with the final product. [name removed] and [name removed] looked after us and made sure everything was done well. [name removed] at head office is also marvelous.
Bottom line, if you want something done quick, go with a bigger volume builder who can do it. If you want to get it done well, JG King are a good choice.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
JG King Homes Official

Hi Hayden,
Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled to read that your bad experience was turned around. We hope you enjoy your home for many years to come.

Kind regards,
JG King Homes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Very Good, our second home with JG King Horsham

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 21, 2018

Supervisor and administration staff managed our site exceptionally well. We completed two months ahead of schedule. Overall work quality was above average, but there was some disappointment in the concrete around the house. Internal errors were fixed on time. Cost were all as promised. I think sometimes there could be more time spent in the sales arena detailing exactly what is and what is not included. Sometime in the vast details of specs some basics are overlooked.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
JG King Homes Official

Hi Andrew,

Thank you for your review and choosing to build with JG King again. We will definitely take your feedback on board and improve on those areas in the future. We wish you all the best with your new home.

Kind regards,

Melbourne

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Jul 2019

Flexible and

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 06, 2018

For tender and colour appointments, the Consultants were helpful to make a better choice. They patiently answered all our questions and also made the necessary changes to the contract on time without missing any of them.

Very pleased with the service of Mary, Aditi & Susan.

Excited about the new home as the construction has commenced recently. Thank you JG King

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
JG King Homes Official

Hi Kartik, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that our team have provided you with such a positive building experience so far. We wish you all the very best throughout th... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Oct 2017

2nd JG King Home

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 29, 2018

Workmanship and build quality was excellent. It was well managed all way through the building process. Customer service and support has also been excellent. Very happy how it went and how quick it was completed. We were pleased with how the building process went last time we built with JG King, and we would have to say that this time it went even better. We would recommend JG King construction.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
JG King Homes Official

Hi Bob Thank you so much for your positive review. Our team are very passionate about what they do and its great to read such kind words. We wish you all the very best in your new home and hope y... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Aug 2017

We are half way there and So far so good !!

4 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 31, 2017

Ok, straight off the bat we had a pretty slow start but I believe JG have done everything they could to make up the time. I made it clear when we signed up we needed it done and by mid Dec and so far it looks like they are going to make it but we will see. Since the start of the project I have called the supervisor more than he has called me which is not Ideal especially as we work away. I have a close look when I get back to make sure all is good. I noticed an update hadn't been picked up for my gas bottle location which they quickly rectified and I was far from impressed about the so called reverse lock up stage, which by the way should not happen with out discussing it with the client first. It was too late when we realised this was done. The risk is far to high in the winter / Wetter months for reverse lockups. I'd rather be 2 weeks late waiting for bricks than have plaster around window and door openings getting wet from rain.

I assessed it last week and luckily all was ok. A little more communication would be beneficial. The site itself when I was there a week ago was messy in some areas Rio in the grass, offcuts from the frame stage and general rubbish which is an easy fix and should be monitored and dealt with more closely. I'm staying optimistic though and that's part of the reason I have given 4 star rating but I'd expect the finishes to be of the highest quality and being in the construction industry myself as a Tier 1 Site Manager I'll be defecting the property very closely. Demand updates and excellence.

Regards Rick Stewart

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
JG King Homes Official

Hi Rick, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Receiving feedback from our clients helps us to continually improve in all areas. We are disappointed to hear that the hig... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Jun 2017

Gol gol glamour

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 23, 2017

Very happy with JG King & the team! This was our 2nd build with king. We chose a larger home design & utilised the alpha upgrade (plus some custom design choices). Jg King have an excellent attention to build quality & helped produced a glamour finish. The build was Managed very well - there were some delays (as per tradies) but generally good. The Customer service was good & we were always kept up to date & in the loop.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2016

Quality Build

4 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 08, 2017

My husband and I signed up to build with JG King well before our land titled. Everyone we dealt with was fantastic until we changed site supervisors half way through the build. Once this happened our house basically had no work done to it for like 3 months!!! As everyone says if you have an awesome site supervisor great which we had an amazing one for the first half but then we got a bad one. By the end of the build we were so damn happy the whole ordeal was over! We love the quality and design of our home but the end of the build not so pleasant dealing with an aggressive, arrogant and unpleasant Site Supervisor who I certainly wouldn't be happy if I had a business with him worker there.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Oct 2015

Good House

4 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 25, 2017

We built we JG King and while we had some administrative problems at the beginning,the build process was very good. We had a 'average' foreman and a very good administrator throughout the build. There seemed to be a lot of staff changeover through our build but the new regional manager Rory Nelson went out of his way and was very approachable from the get go. We would definitely build with JG King Albury/wodonga again in the future.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Dec 2015

First Home Builder

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 27, 2016

This is our first home and we have decided to build with JG king because of its known quality designs and themes. We had a very helpful and supportive sale person ([name removed] @ Melton Display) who helped us make the right choices on the designs. He was very encouraging and was always prominent with his job to guide us with building our new home. Also the selection process was very smooth, we had a very good interior designer from JG king who constantly helped us with the designs for our home. Our financial advisor (Victoria Finance) from JG King was excellent and had an outstanding service of making this process quick and easy.

Overall the management team was terrific but when it came to the building phase, we had many issues with the contractor on the quality of the house. Our major problem we had was that we selected the mortar colour to be pure white and when the contractors were up to this process in the building phase, they have put the grey mortar instead of the white mortar. I confronted the building supervisor about this issue and he said that it is supposed to be like that and the colour of the mortar would change when it dries. Unfortunately the colour has not changed at all. We arranged a private building inspector and he said that the colour would not change because as from the beginning itself the contractor did not put the right sand. We had asked them for a solution to this problem which was to render the front side of the house and they said that this could not be possible. We are devastated to hear this because we had chosen a very expensive and upgraded bricks and the overall finishing of the exterior of the house is very bad quality.

The box gutter near the façade is not professionally fixed and this issue also we mentioned to the maintenance team but we have not received any information, we are still waiting for these problems to be resolved.


Terence and Nissy

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Oct 2016

Second Build with JG King - Would use this company again.

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 21, 2016

Very happy with the service from start to finish.

A few minor hiccups during the build, but they were rectified along the way. Really good trades, however the painter walked off the point toward the end of the job! Not any fault of JG Kings, but as fore-mentioned this was sorted quickly. Finished build way ahead of schedule.

The site supervisor was always more than obliging to answer questions, and fix any problems as they arose.
The soil conditions at Deniliquin are highly reactive clay. Screw piers were used and seem to be working well at this stage.

This is our sixth build in total, including owner builds, and the Second build with JG King. We would, and probably will build again with this company. A work colleague walked through the house and has now changed their plans to the same ours, as they were impressed with the layout of this design. 'copy cat!'

Was this review helpful? Yes

TARNEIT

  • 1 review
  • 1 comment
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Jul 2015

Excellent

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 15, 2016

I would recommend JGKing homes to anyone looking to build new home,Good quality of materials and work man ship in most areas. however suggests to do building inspection on every stage which will help Supervisor to be more cautious of work doing
The sales consultant([name removed]) was so helpful to chose right plan and required extras, I would like to thank him for his all assistance
Final inspection finished without much problems and during and after maintenance period ( first 3 mths)the maintenance supervisor arranged to rectify all small problems that come out without delay, thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments

Hi
Maintenance team is good
Every time for the last 3 years they were quick responsive even a small problem to come and look at it and correct it where required
Thanks

  • 2 reviews
  • 17 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Sep 2008

Best thing to happen to Kings

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 07, 2016

Eight years ago we built with Kings and had the worst time ever and have spent a lot of time, money and energy fixing these issues due to very bad customer service people employed by them in the Albury Wodonga area. But this year that has changed and they have a new area manager, [name removed], (Kings you are stupid if you remove his name as he is what is saving your reputation in this area). He has been fantastic to deal with and is fixing things the right way and been nothing but highly professional and a great help. Would have been great to have had [name removed] around right from the start.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Sep 2016

So happy with our new home

4 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 11, 2016

I was so concerned about building a home again was but totally happy with outcome of the house the level of workmanship was very good
Our sales guy was execellent in giving us advice on changes we made to house and our supervisor was so helpful in all stages of the build and after he is one person that made building the house enjoyable
Our only concern was some of the office staff just weren't helpful and supportive

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer

Well Built Home!!

4 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 03, 2016

We first went into another builder and felt pushed to pay a deposit. This turned us straight off! I stopped in at JG King as I hadn't heard much of them before besides them having a steel frame.

The Sales Consultant was busy with another customer but still took the time to say hello.

We found the display in Geelong to be similar to what we needed but ended going to the Craigieburn Display. This was exactly what we were after and worked well with the views we have from our block.

My Husband and I were happy to wait and requested information which lead to a quote. Before we knew it we had paid our deposit and started the process.

The only down fall to date was the paperwork took some time but in saying that we did make a few design changes which probably delayed things.

Now that we are underway on site, we are more comfortable to post our experience for others.

Thank you to JG King and the team in Geelong!

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

1 of 2 pages


Questions & Answers

Most of the recent 5 star ratings are Pre build experience. I haven't seen any 5 star rating for Build and post build experience. People who have already completed the build phase can you please share your feedback?

Vijay Pratap asked on Jan 16, 2019

We're looking to build in the Bendigo area, potentially with JG KIng Homes, but these mostly negative reviews are scaring me off...Does anyone have any experiences building with JG in the Bendigo/Strathfieldsaye area and if so was a positive or negative experience?

Luke B asked on Jan 09, 2019

Answer this

Our experience is poor customer service and adverse response from management. I hope this is not isolated to us only, but do your own research of course.

I got handover on my house last oct 26,2018 untill now they didnt finish the shower screen on bathroom and ensuite, the supervisor said to me its already booked with the tradies to do the job, is this true?

Jun asked on Dec 20, 2018

Answer this

I found 2 of my site supervisors were quite bully. One supervisor said to me he remember my plate threatened me with quitting my job. I guess they are trying to bully you and take full advantage.

See all 108 questions about JG King Homes