Verified Customer Construction End Date: Oct 2016

Second Build with JG King - Would use this company again.

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 21, 2016

Very happy with the service from start to finish.

A few minor hiccups during the build, but they were rectified along the way. Really good trades, however the painter walked off the point toward the end of the job! Not any fault of JG Kings, but as fore-mentioned this was sorted quickly. Finished build way ahead of schedule.

The site supervisor was always more than obliging to answer questions, and fix any problems as they arose.
The soil conditions at Deniliquin are highly reactive clay. Screw piers were used and seem to be working well at this stage.

This is our sixth build in total, including owner builds, and the Second build with JG King. We would, and probably will build again with this company. A work colleague walked through the house and has now changed their plans to the same ours, as they were impressed with the layout of this design. 'copy cat!'

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Mar 2017

We're half way there!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 21, 2016

Being first time builders, we were understandably anxious about who to build with. Several choices and conflicting feedback we wondered if to build at all. However, since signing up with JG King we could not be happier. We have been extremely satisfied with the process so far from signing up (our sales representative was fantastic and helped guide us!), to the contract administrator who was/is always just a phone call away, to meeting our site manager once building commenced (finally, after one of the wettest winters on record!).

We have appreciated our site manager’s professional advice, understanding, attention to detail and patience (lots of!). All our queries/concerns, no matter how trivial, have all been answered efficiently and to our satisfaction. Our site manager is always welcoming us to visit the site during working and non-working hours for us to meet the tradies undertaking the build and to also ensure that the standard of work is to both ours and King’s high standard. It is greatly appreciated as it shows that there is nothing to hide with the build and our site manager is proud to show the quality of work.

We have also been lucky enough to have the area manager visit us at the site on a few occasions to discuss our build personally. Being aware of his demanding position we appreciated him taking the time to meet with us on site to step us through the works being undertaken on our site. This helped to clarify and confirm any questions/doubts what we had raised and ensured our appreciation for him and our site manager.

Only being half way through our build, we look forward to continuing and strengthening our relationship with JG King.

Very exciting times ahead!

August 15th 2017 Update: With JG King - this is home!

Having recently built with JG King Homes we could not be any happier. This is home! As with most first time builders, we had a lengthy list of needs and wants without real knowledge of making our dream come to fruition. That’s where JG King Homes and its wonderful team came in! They helped us realise our dream through their expert planning, knowledge, and workmanship. No request was too menial and our vision was always respected. Throughout the whole process of building our new home we were put at ease with frequent consultations and daily communication. The end result is our new home being even more beautiful than we had dreamed. We cannot express enough our gratitude to JG King Homes and would not hesitate to recommend (and have already!) to others looking at building their first or subsequent home. The whole process from start to finish with the keys to our new home being handed to us personally was an absolute pleasure and we would not hesitate to build with JG King Homes for future projects!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Curlewis, Victoria

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2015

Excellent customer service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 21, 2016

We built a new J G King home through J G King Geelong. We have been in our home for 14 months. During the contract, build, handover and maintenance period, they were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. The new home consultant, office staff, site supervisor and even the trades used were always available to talk to, ask questions and answer any issues arising during this time. The quality of workmanship is excellent. This is our 5th home we have built, and I would recommend J G King to any one intending to build a new home. Their contract was the most informative even listing individual windows and their cost. Even though we were living 1 hours drive away, the site supervisor was always accessible by telephone. Office staff and the site supervisor would ring us at every stage of completion.The three month maintenance went excellent. All issues were resolved in a short time. Nearly 12 months after moving in, we had an issue with two of our taps, two weeks later after sending an e-mail, the taps were fixed.
I would have no hesitation in building a new home with them.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Aug 2016

An Experienced & Customer Focused Builder!!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 20, 2016

At the outset, our build was always going to be challenging as the block of land where we proposed to build was considered to be in an environmentally sensitive zone. Adding to the complexity, we had couple of overlays on our plot – the big one being “vegetation protection overlay” which required protection measure for a 12 metre gum tree inconveniently located near the driveway into the land. To make matters worse the local council officials where the least helpful with unreasonable demands (including a ludicrous demand for a custom bridge in lieu of the driveway!!).

In this circumstance, we could not have succeeded in our home construction project without a capable and customer focused building company.

It is at this point that we engaged JG King and what a choice it turned out to be!!

First and foremost, the number of home design and inclusion available from JG King is extensive!! Hard to imagine a specification that cannot be catered to by JG King.

Second, the price – absolute value for money!!

Third – Who can refuse a steel frame house, especially when the house is going to be in a termite prone area.

If the above reasons are not sufficient … JG King have a fantastic team of capable, experienced and customer focused people!!

To elaborate, the kind of support and advise we had over the months in dealing with the council was superlative – A standout is [name removed]!!.

After much trials and tribulations, we were finally on site to start construction. At this point we were introduced to our building supervisor – [name removed]!

The block of land we were building on is in an established suburb, at the end of a cul-de-sac with a host of issues – lack of electrical and water connection, site access, tree protection, fencing issues, etc. An endless list of problems.

[name removed], clearly was equal to the task. I note the exceptional customer focus in understanding our concerns and addressing them promptly. I will also commend [name removed] for his tireless energy!!

The same came to fore when are handover we ran in to the expected defects when any home is built. The diligence and attention to detail demonstrated by JG King and [name removed] is particular is commendable.

Overall a challenging experience that came to a successful conclusion!!! This could only have been achieved with building company such as JG King!!

Well done, JG King Team and thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Jul 2017

Getting Ready to Build

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 18, 2016

We are currently in the process of signing our Contract and choosing our colour scheme for our home, the assistance we have received up to this stage with [name removed] far has been excellent, any questions we have she is only to happy to assist with and [name removed] has explained the process very clearly to us in this short time, therefore hoping the complete process will be as good as what we have received at present.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: May 2016

Wonderful build!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 18, 2016

Working with the team from JG King was so easy! No question was too difficult and anything we asked was followed up so quickly if required. Organising the build was so quick and we made a lot of changes to our home but they were never too much effort for the staff. Everything was organised so when the building started, it all happened so quickly. Any issues, which was very very minimal, we discussed and solved in a flash. The build of the home itself was fast and we were able to complete a walk through when ever we requested. We moved in a lot earlier than predicted and haven't had any issues since.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Jun 2016

We would use JG King again

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 18, 2016

This was the second home we built in three years. The other was through another building group who we wont use again. The whole process from start to finish was excellent. We didn't have any issues that caused us stress at all. From walking into the sales office right from the start to walking into our new home at takeover was a dream. We were lucky to have [name removed] & [name removed] at the office to go through everything with us and our site supervisor [name removed] who gave us an update call every week and was very fussy and made sure everything was up to his and JG Kings standard. The tradesmen used were very good as well. We have been in the home for just over 4 months and we love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments

We have been in our home for over 12 months now and not a single issue. No cracks or movement, everything is working as it should and we absolutely love our home.

JG King Homes Official

Hi Gavin, Thank you for your initial review and for your update! We are so pleased to hear that you are loving your new home and your second building experience has been so positive. We hope you ... read more »

Melbourne

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Oct 2012

Impressive Quality

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 17, 2016

Our experience with JG King Homes was impressive

The Striking feature of JG King projects is 50 year Structural guarantee from Blue scope steel

The planning process was made easy with [name removed] at the Epping - Aurora display office, who was friendly, honest and upfront, which was refreshing coming from talking to so many other building companies. Having to build, we were concerned about site costs, lot selection, slope etc but in this area [name removed] was knowledgeable and able to give us realistic costings (like site costs). This put us greatly at ease and made it easier to budget and decide on what home plan we were going to build . His helpful input and time and effort he put into working with us to make sure that we could achieve our dream home design was unfaultable, no matter how many queries or changes we made it was never a problem to him.

The house was handed over on time and hence my first home building experience wasn't fussy but a quite rewarding experience. I won't be hesitating to give them a call if I want to build another house in future.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Melbourne

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Feb 2017

Attention to Detail

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 16, 2016

Our choice of builder was made easy the day we met the Sales Consultant at JG King Homes. His friendly service and enthusiasm won us both over and felt that it was mean to be...... After the purchase of my block we had decided to look around all the builders to find a home that suited my small block. This was proving difficult due to the setback issues and restrictions associated with the block. We were hoping to build a large home and many builders did not offer the right product.
When we sat down with the consultant he had a thorough understanding of the restrictions on my block and found that JGK did not have a standard design to suit. The consultant did not give up and offered us a solution that suited our requirements. He slightly modified the standard design to accommodate our blocks requirements. We were over the moon!!! Not to mention we were getting a steel frame home for a cheaper price than a timber frame home...... How does that work??
From the day we deposited to the day we started on site our journey with JGK has been very pleasant and enjoyable. We have been kept in the loop with everything so we have a clear understanding of what we are to expect. Being our second build with have found this journey thus far more enjoyable and stress free.

Currently we have just had our gutters, facias and roof installed on our home meaning our next stage payment will be the lock up stage..... Our home is starting to really take shape very quickly!! Great work guys!!!!

We would highly recommend JGK to all of our family and friends and anyone else that is considering building a new home.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Jul 2015

Excellent

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 15, 2016

I would recommend JGKing homes to anyone looking to build new home,Good quality of materials and work man ship in most areas. however suggests to do building inspection on every stage which will help Supervisor to be more cautious of work doing
The sales consultant([name removed]) was so helpful to chose right plan and required extras, I would like to thank him for his all assistance
Final inspection finished without much problems and during and after maintenance period ( first 3 mths)the maintenance supervisor arranged to rectify all small problems that come out without delay, thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Oct 2012

Overall Excellence

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 15, 2016

Great experience from start to the completion. JG King built us a great quality house. The service they provided us throughout the process had been wonderful. The sales consultant (Mathew) had been a great guy to work with. He had provided regular communication of the progress and went beyond his requirements to provide us with a great service and product. Thank everyone at JG king for their outstanding service and quality. They have excellent customer service. Our site supervisor had been very cooperative with us from the beginning, reporting to us everything week by week.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Apr 2013

excellent

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 14, 2016

First of all, i would like to greatly appreciate our consultant who took the initiative to help us in our decisions and choices. Thanks to him, we were able to work out the best plan for us. JG Kings was definitely an approachable building enterprise as their service was of high standard and their building process was very efficient. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2016

Great Result!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 14, 2016

My wife and I decided to write up a review of our experience building with JG King homes Mildura .
For anyone looking to build a new home in the Mildura region we'd highly recommend them.
We've recently moved into our second home built by JG King homes and we are very happy with the outcome .

As with our first build (and any build) there were a few minor issues along the way which were dealt with in the utmost professional manner and rectified very quickly to our satisfaction.
I can tell you now I'm not easily pleased and can be quite fussy at times but they've come through with a good end result.

The building supervisor that's worked with us on both occasions is dedicated to his job and in my opinion second to none.

Toward the end of our build a second building supervisor came on board the team which worked in with us also with great communication and all of our questions answered promptly ( there were quite a few)
From our experience in the build process communication was of great importance to us and they didn't once let us down, from building supervisors to the girls in the office everyone has done a great job!

Another pro of building with JG King is the steel frame which had me sold from the start. There isn't many steel frame builders in this region and for a termite prone area seems strange. It was an easy choice for us having spoken with a few other builders before building our first and second homes, some were rude others weren't forthcoming on pricing as we wanted upgrades on certain things and wanted to know what we'd be up for pre contract.
On one occasion we had three meetings with another local builder which we could not get an accurate price out of !

JG Kings pricing is crystal clear and listed with each plan , no secrets and no hidden costs (try getting that elsewhere!)
With kings they don't rob you blind for upgrades as other builders seem to .

In conclusion a steel frame home and in my opinion very good value for money in the current climate , good overall finish and great people to work with throughout the building process .

We always see reviews from people who were unsatisfied with things and people who sit behind a keyboard and rubbish others for a poor job but not so often people take the time to say well done good job!

We hope this helps others out there when deciding on a local builder and hope you have as good an experience as we did with JG King Homes Mildura.

Repeat customers Mark and J.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 answer
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: May 2013

Excellent Value, Build & Customer Service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 12, 2016

I have also previously built with two other builders (major and minor) and have to say, "generally" speaking, the end result of the homes are the same. However, what sets JG King homes from the rest is the value for money you get when you build. I am generally strict and concluded that you get better value for money, and the upgrades aren’t greedy compared to the others. A big plus is the steel frame and all JG KING homes come with a BAL rating of 12.5 value inclusive which in turned is an extra cost you would incur if you constructed with timber frames (other builders). The Ballarat team were flawless, straight forward and professional. (as it ought to be)
I would highly recommend JG KING Homes and currently planning on building again with JG KING’s Up Collection.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
JG King Homes Official

Hi James, Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear of your positive experience and the high level of customer service that was delivered. We would love to have you back, to build you... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Sep 2016

Life is great

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 11, 2016

We couldn't be happier with the whole process of the construction of our newly built home. From paying our deposit throughout the administration process was an absolute delight and pleasure to work with the Shepparton team. The Construction time in building the home was awesome to say the least and the end result is amazing. Thank you to the entire team in Shepparton.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2013

A professional quality build

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 10, 2016

After 3 years of lived in experience no faults in workmanship or build quality have been revealed in our J G King home. The effort into custom design was significant and paid off, all the trades produced competent work, some glitches in the supply of electrical appliances and the fitting of gas appliances were addressed quickly, landscaping work was integrated into the overall build comfortably, and the building retains its crisp new look. We are very pleased with the result.
Much of this outcome can be attributed to a good site manager who was at the site enough to manage both his trades and his finicky clients very well. The build was completed on time.
There were Council and site related issues which were handled by J G King and required some meetings at head office. Customer management, service and support were good. We expected some grief and there was, but overall the build was a rewarding experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Apr 2016

Slow Start but Brilliant Ending

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 08, 2016

Our sales consultant was informative and very helpful and easy to deal with. We had some issues through plans and contracts, we ended up having to change our house design to work on our block better. If you can get past contracts you'll be able to get through the whole build. After reading the reviews on here I was very dubious about the quality of home we would receive, these fears ended up being unwarranted.

I first met our site supervisor [name removed] at the block and he pointed out the fencers had put the fences in the wrong spot making our block smaller than the plans. I found him extremely well informed, professional, organised and very personable. Throughout the entire build, he was great organising the trades and always checking in to ensure the quality of work. He was always readily available to answer any questions or concerns that I had, if he wasn't able to answer the phone he always rang back.

As expected with all builds we did have small issues along the way that were handled extremely professionally.

Over all I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Shepparton office. The girls in the office are delightful to deal with. My husband, my children and I are extremely happy in our new home.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Melbourne

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Sep 2016

Very grateful

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 08, 2016

My husband and I are very pleased with our home and decision to build with JG King.
We first came across JG King after visiting a display village and speaking with several different building companies sales reps.
The reason we chose Jg was due to the fact we could show them our site plan and they could digitally overlay their home plan onto our land. Having this professional visual allowed us to see yes, this home will fit on our land even though we have 3 metres of easement. Hooray! We were able to walk away with peace of mind.
Our satisfaction continued when it came time for the office admin. We were extremely impressed with our office contact whom answered every question promptly. This was our first time building so the amount of questions and the quality of questions went beyond reasonable, yet all were answered and again we had the peace of mind.
Then we were onto the build and again we were still happy and raving about our building experience. We were so thrilled at how quickly our quality home came up. We accredit this to our site supervisor. Before each step had finished he was onto the next. His planning and time/people management was really what got us here in our lovely home so promptly. Possibly the one thing we are most grateful about as this helped us financially as this meant paying less rent and mortgage.
So here we are 2 months on in our home feeling like we've been here forever.
Have we contacted Jg since? Yes but not to report any faults but to let them know how happy we are and again to ask the silly questions of someone who has never built a house before. Thank you to all who were involved in the building of our home!

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Oct 2016

First time build, very happy!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 07, 2016

As i had never built a home before, I was filled with trepidation at the outset of the process. After looking at lots of different displays i chose JG King Homes based on the plans being best suited to my needs. From the get go, the whole process was made easy as the staff kept me well informed about the steps along the way. I was kept well informed by administration at each step and no question that I asked Kirsten and Tegan, (Administrator & Construction Administrator) and there were a few, were too much trouble! My building supervisor, Andrew Simmie made the experience an absolute breeze and I couldn't recommend him highly enough. As too with the Area Manager, Rod Dellar, I felt comfortable in the knowledge that my home was being built to the highest standard as the two seemed to be very knowledgable and ensured all of the processes were followed to the letter. I was impressed with the speed of my build with no compromise to the quality! I recommend JG King Homes to anyone looking for a fabulous new home!

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 2 reviews
  • 16 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Sep 2008

Best thing to happen to Kings

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 07, 2016

Eight years ago we built with Kings and had the worst time ever and have spent a lot of time, money and energy fixing these issues due to very bad customer service people employed by them in the Albury Wodonga area. But this year that has changed and they have a new area manager, [name removed], (Kings you are stupid if you remove his name as he is what is saving your reputation in this area). He has been fantastic to deal with and is fixing things the right way and been nothing but highly professional and a great help. Would have been great to have had [name removed] around right from the start.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

5 of 11 pages


Questions & Answers

Hi we are building with JGKing at the moment It's been a slow process so far My question is we are very disappointed with the Quilty of the workmanship in relation to the shirting boards and architraves ,they don't seem to line up to well and have slight gaps where they meet at the corners Are we with in our rights to ask that these be removed and redone to our expectations?

Seymore asked on Dec 24, 2017

Did JG King use a lower quality volume subsidiary JG King Direct to build NRAS units in Bendigo North as the carpet is very poor quality and lifting in my unit that is approx only 4 years old. Was the lower quality build clearly declared to buyers as I thought I was building a property under your trusted brand and quality that goes with it. I have tried to have the carpet corrected by your business and you will not help me. I thought I would ask the question before putting it on a review. Disappointed customer MARC

MarcMarc asked on Dec 21, 2017

Answer this

Dear Marc
Not sure I can answer your question as I am a victim of jgking’s incomoetence and poor quality workmanship too. I had Jgking as the builder of my new house and can say with all honesty that it was the most stressful time I have experienced in a long time. Currently, They are completely uninterested in correcting anything if it wasn’t noticed prior to handover, or was noticed after the 3 month check.

The overall quality of the build was appalling as well - their tradesmen are hopeless at their jobs and have no pride in their work. Perhaps it was all done by apprentices - certainly seems that way.
Good luck with it.
Trish

Thanks Trish for your response. I guess if we can’t make them fix or compensate their issues we need to highlight on these type of sites and hopefully others won’t be duped and their business will suffer

We are right on the edge of buying a new home from JG King in Ballarat. Unfortunately we have not been able to find a single good report on this company for builds in the Ballarat area. Are we missing something or is that just the way it is, there isn't any?

LordC asked on Dec 19, 2017

Answer this

No very slow started a SMALL 3 bedroom home

Hi LordC,
There are a couple of recent reviews specific to the Ballarat area posted on the 1st Sept 2017.
Check them out, they may help put your mind at ease.

We are currently building just out of Ballarat, it’s been a slow start, now the Xmas break, our frame was meant to be up this week, so far no progress so we will see.
Our slab was poured on time, and no issues yet. l have spoken to quite a few who have built in Ballarat and all have been happy, so really hoping we will be another happy customer.

See all 91 questions about JG King Homes