Excellent service and equipment

5 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 28, 2018

I had arranged to hire a caged trailer for an intercity transfer of my furniture. On the day it was raining. When I went to get the trailer the sales assistant swapped it to an enclosed trailer at no extra charge. He then attached the trailer to my car for me and gave me several very helpful tips about driving with the trailer and how best to pack my stuff into it. He also checked that all the lights were working. Later that day I rang the same branch and talked with the same man that had served me. I requested to extend my hire for another half day, he easily lengthened my hire and gave it to me at a discounted rate. I would recommend Kennards.. particularly Bibra Lake site to all my friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Kennards Hire Official

Hi Ash, Thank you so much for your kind words! Im sure the guys at the branch particularly the staff member who served you, so we have passed on your compliment to the branch along with their a... read more »

Terrible service.

1 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 14, 2018

I was very disappointed in how all members of the staff of the place I went to to hire and I was charged for days I didn't even ask for. I was greatly angered and will never recommend. Terrible service and I was not happy.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Kennards Hire Official

Hi James, Thank you for your message, we sincerely apologise for the service that you have received from one of our branches. We would really like to investigate this matter to make sure that i... read more »

sydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 comments
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Charged for their Mistake and no follow up or call back

1 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 09, 2018

Hired a Small earth mover for 1 day, when we drove the mover from the trailer one of the hydraulic tubes got caught on the tracks and came off. I immediately called Kennards at Moorebank and told them the situation and decided to keep the mover as it did not affect my need. The next day when we returned the mover, the staff apologized to us and said that the tube should have been strapped on properly and assured us that the repair will not be charged to us. Well, one month later my CC got charged. Called the head office and Moorebank with no help. Still chasing them, but for some reason the guy that signed it off is just never at work.

All i got from them is we will look into it and get back to you. 1. From the head office 19th Feb. 2. From the branch who told me i won't be charged 20th Feb, and now from here 6th March.

At least just tell me that you guys don't care, it's better then keeping a customer waiting for feedback.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments

I have continued to chased them both the head office and the local branch, and yet i got the same thing. We will get someone to contact you. These guys are a joke. I have sent a complain to fair trading.

Another update, the store manager Nathan finally called me back and have finally rectified the problem. I just hope Kennards Hire would communicate better with their customers to avoid so much headache.

  • 1 review
  • 1 comment
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Dreadful!!

1 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 22, 2018

We hired a port a loo from Kennards in Lambton. I was given a weekly hire fee, pump out fee and delivery/collection fee. Loo arrived, covered in dust on the inside and was in low working order. Barely used it. Advised office to collect (2wks later). Was told I needed to have it pumped out before collection, spoke with someone else (within 5 mins), advised incorrect as I would then have to pay 2 pump out fees and was advised that I would receive a phone call re: balance owing. Loo collected. Check my credit card statement and a fee had been debited without my knowledge. I phoned Kennards (who really need to check the meaning of Customer Service) asked if I received an Invoice which I hadn't. Under the Electronic Funds Transfer Act, it is actually termed as an unauthorised transaction. So, I want a credit of $80.00 that was debited without consent. Never will use nor recommend Kennards again.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Kennards Hire Official

Hi Lyn, Thank you for your message. We sincerely apologise for the frustration that this matter has caused you and we would really like to make this right. If you could please private message... read more »

Seems to be Kennards standard reply, but shall contact you.

perth

  • 21 reviews
  • 4 comments
  • 6 questions
  • 41 answers
  • 14 helpful votes
Private message

they used to be good..

1 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 06, 2018

Kennards used to be good (at least the branch near me did) But now they have no understanding of people skills or service. On hiring a machine recently, it broke, causing me a significant amount of grief. Manager offered no help, did not try to work with me to resolve the problem, just bluntly informing me if l didn't bring everything back, l would be charged for it. It also didn't work as it should but it was too much trouble to take it back to exchange. When l informed the manager of this, he told me everything was checked before leaving and l was basically lying.
I will never hire from them again. It's too risky, insulting and stressful. It's a shame as it is convenient and l like to do these things myself. I will have to look at other options in future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Kennards Hire Official

Hi There, Thank you for letting us know of the bad experience that you had with one of our branches. We sincerely apologise for the frustration, inconvenience and service you received, we would... read more »

Verified Customer

Great service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 23, 2018

Hired a log splitter from Kennards Bibra Lake just before Christmas. The staff were great, very helpful and demonstrated how to operate the (very scary) machine safely. Would hire from them again. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Kennards Hire Official

Hi Nicole, Thank you so much for your great review! We will be sure to pass on your message to the team at Bibra Lake along with their area manager so that they can all see what a great job the ... read more »

Kennards Hire Official

Hi Nicole, Thank you so much for your great review! We will be sure to pass on your message to the team at Bibra Lake along with their area manager so that they can all see what a great job the ... read more »

Kennards Hire Official

Hi Nicole, Thank you so much for your great review! We will be sure to pass on your message to the team at Bibra Lake along with their area manager so that they can all see what a great job the ... read more »

See all 6 comments
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 comment
Private message

Amazing service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 13, 2018

I was in there this morning.
Tom and Sean serving were fabulous, with lots of product knowledge, and eager to assist.
Great work guys....

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Kennards Hire Official

Hi Kon, Thank you so much for your fantastic review! I'm sure Tom and Sean, would love to hear your kind words, so that we can send it onto them and their branch and area manager, can you please ... read more »

Tom and Sean were from the Richmond branch and were fantastic but we also recently used the south Melbourne branch and they were great to. Kind regards
Kon

Kennards Hire Official

Hi Kon, Fantastic! Thank you for that! We will make sure that both branches get the praise they deserve, thank you again for your kind words!! We really appreciate it! if you need anything in the ... read more »

Verified Customer

Excellent Customer Service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 10, 2018

Bit tardy in writing this review, however we rented a room between June and October 2017. The folks @ Thornleigh could not have been more helpful, particularly Nicole with whom we had most contact. Nothing was a problem and some of her suggestions were most appreciated. Unit was pristine and access simple. Could not have been happier. Sure we could have done it cheaper elsewhere, but suspect not with the same level of service all around. Thanks again Nicole.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Kennards Hire Official

Hi Raiway, Thank you for your kind words! Even if its a bit "tardy" we always welcome the fantastic positive feedback such as yours! We are sure the team at the Thornleigh branch will be so happy... read more »

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 comment
Private message

Excellent Service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 08, 2018

I hired a unit expecting the normal service that]t I had received from other companies. Not so. Their service was first class, from a secure, clean unit, which became to small for me. I was offered a larger unit close by and transferred all my gear, plus some, without losing my fee from the small unit.
A lot of organisations could take a leaf from this company, and their staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Kennards Hire Official

Dear Dave, Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so happy to hear the great experience that you had with us. Its not very often that we hear the good feedback, so we really appreciate the... read more »

You are welcome. Only too easy to complain. No one seems to say “Thank you”

Adelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Absolutely AMAZING!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 16, 2017

I had the best experience with my hire from Kennards last Saturday. I had problems arranging my booking so I got assistance from a lovely lady called Tess Clappison (Customer Service Agent) who arranged the whole hire for me, including the best location for pickup as not all stores had the heavy equipment I required. I then had to change my booking due to illness in the family and she as quite happy to make the changes for me with absolutely no fuss. The staff in store were extremely helpful also and helped us pick up the equipment quickly and with no issue.

As it turns out, I needed more than 1 day with the equipment and am going to go again next weekend and Tess has arranged it all again for me with the store. The absolute best in Customer Service! I highly recommend Kennards for all your rental needs and hope you are as lucky as me to have your hire handled by the amazing Tess. :)

Thank you Kennards!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Kennards Hire Official

Hi There, Thank you for your kind words! Its always great to hear feedback from our customers especially the positive ones such as yours. We really appreciate the time and effort you took to let ... read more »

No problem at all. It was well deserved. I try to make sure I provide positive feedback where warranted as it's human nature to only provide feedback when you have a poor experience. :)

Amazing Service And Equipment!!! Lifesavers

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 07, 2017

I had booked a stump grinder through another hire company. When i arrived on the day to collect they had hired it out to someone else even though i arrived half an hour early.
Feeling very let down, i googled stump grinder hire and Kennards Hire appeared in my results.
I called the local branch and the person who answered the phone was amazing. Polite, informative and friendly. I didnt feel like just a number.
I explained my situation and although they did not have one at the time they advised me of another local branch that did have one availble and booked it in for me.
I arrived at the branch to find the staff busy but extremely helpful and attentive.
I was able to complete my job after all.
Kennards really do make your job easy.
Thank you to Kennards and all your staff.
Oh and by the way, being open 7 days - definately a plus!!!
Would recommend to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Kennards Hire Official

Hi Kay,

Thank you for your kind words, we really appreciate the time you took to let us know of your experience and the service you received from us. Its always great to hear we're doing a great job.

Thank you again!

-Kennards Hire

No idea maintaining equipment, rude and uneducated

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 04, 2017

So I have 3 electric fryers to run for an event. One 1200 and two 2000. I have a 2 kva for the 1200 and hire a 6.5 for the 2 x 2000 (only run a generator at 70%) the 6.5 would not run the 1200 as the "retro fit" circuit beaker has been over loaded. Old mate from kennards oak flats comes with a replacement 7kva and this one runs both 2000 and so I turn off my 2 kva and it handles all 3 ... I later get charges total $260 for the hire as I "over loaded" the original (incorrect as standard maths) and have to put up with idiots on the phone talking over me and continuing to say it was "load tested and working fine" which means it's to be sent out as is again to another customer!! Idiots, load testing with a tester and plugging in a few real life tools in the hire shop will give a very different result, just ask NASA about simulators ... Rude, ill informed, idiots ! And yep the faulty tool coat me a coupe of grand in sales ...

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Kennards Hire Official

Hi Josh, We are sorry to hear about your experience with our Oak Flats Branch. We appreciate customers that advise us when things are not quite right. So that we can investigate further, is it po... read more »

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Completely wasted my time

1 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 19, 2017

Kennards Hire completely wasted my time. I was due to pick up a small item, and having booked it checked on the website what ID was required.
I turned up to pick up the item, which was located 90 minutes away from my job site, only to be told that my UK driving licence would not be valid, even when I offered proof of address, credit card. I even offered to have the entire value of the item withheld from my credit card, but they still wouldn't budge. So I then had to drive another 90 minutes back and book through another company, who incidentally had me sorted out within 5 minutes. I wasted 3 hours+ going to Kennards, who never apologised. I won't ever return.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Kennards Hire Official

Hi John, Thank you for letting us know of your recent experience with us. As you can understand we need to know the identity of the person hiring the equipment in case the equipment comes back da... read more »

Canberra

  • 3 reviews
Private message

Top notch team and expert advice

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 02, 2017

Josh and his team at Kennards Queanbeyan NSW were fantastic! Hired a wood chipper for my property last week and they addressed all my concerns and provided expert advice on best machine to use and operate.
Will definitely be heading back there to hire again as its a good opportunity to 'try before you buy' as well i.e. looking to purchase a ride on mower but want to hire one first to check appropriate size for the area.
Thanks again guys. Truly professional.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Kennards Hire Official

Hi Brett,

We're so glad to hear that our Queanbeyan team were able to help you with the wood chipper! We've sent your compliment to their managers so they can see the great work the team has done. Thank you for the kind words! - Kennards Hire

A Better Experience

3 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 26, 2017

I recently posted a poor review about a bad experience I had with Kennards Hire when I rented an outdoor heater which we were unable to use, due to the heater not being very user friendly at all and not being provided with any instructions on how to get it going.

I have since been contacted by the Assistant Manager from the Girraween store which we hired the heater from and was offered a full refund and an apology which I gladly accepted. Thank you for taking and the time and the effort to make this right. I thought the representative I spoke to today was quite understanding, professional and genuinely wanted to resolve my issue.

The item we hired may not have worked but after this turn around I would go back and give them another chance.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Kennards Hire Official

Hi Jarred, Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to make things right for you. We've let Dane (Assistant Manager to Girraween) know about your review and what an excellent job he's do... read more »

Terrible Service

1 out of 5, reviewed on May 16, 2017

I hired a simple thing like a ladder, and was quoted $167 for hire + $45 delivery/ collection each way for a weekend hire (Friday to Monday morning). They not only didn't collect the ladder on the Monday after I called them and took a call from them where they confirmed the ladder would be collected that day. They failed to arrive. As I don't work in the office I got a call from one of the staff members saying that the ladder hadn't been collected yet. Staff told me that they'd received a call mid week from Kennards to say that they couldn't collect the ladder but would collect on Thursday but again never showed up.
I called on the following Monday to arrange collection and was slapped with a $288.98 invoice for a weeks hire and a failed pick up charge. I had to fight to get the failed pick up charge dropped and was told that my staff had refused collection on the Friday. I checked with my staff and nobody had been notified that anyone was collecting the ladder or had even received a call for Kennard to gain access to the office to collect the ladder. This is disgusting behavior from a company, how many other people are they over charging and getting away with it???

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Kennards Hire Official

Hi Kim, Thank you for letting us know of the service you received. We also received your online query regarding you experience yesterday, and proceeded to send this to the Branch Manager and Area... read more »

ROSEMEADOW, NSW 2560

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 comment
Private message

Verified Customer

Business/customer relations Campbelltown hire branch very poor experience.

1 out of 5, reviewed on May 04, 2017

Due to a business hire relations at Campbelltown branch is due to not being flexible with a 30 days terms payable account on which they have done a cancelled the invoice number:18272735 of $791.40 for a boom lift 10.4m.

Also have decided of closing my account down to this relations with this branch of the supervisor was not around every day.

Trying to hire once again the boom lift 10.4m for a week but he decided to cancel it until it is pay for first $791.40.

Please do not go this branch. Very poor experience at all times.. specifically with business/customers....

0/10

May 11th 2018 Update: try to hire material hoist on 1st January 2018 new years day was open.

try to hire material hoist on 1st January 2018 which was new years day and was open on that day, but when tried to hire the branch manager rejected me from hiring again. so bad business still..

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Kennards Hire Official

Hi Luke, Thank you for your message. Anyone can encounter a sick day or have time off from work due to extensive work hours. Our branch managers have several responsibilities, some requiring t... read more »

it was for the april tax invoice 2017 not may 2017.... end of story telling now.

Money hungry retailer, no customer service

2 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 18, 2017

Son in-law hired a demolition saw fromm kennards hire @ wetherill park on easter sunday lunch time, it stopped working after 4 hours by which time kennards were closed.  Son in-law got sick overnight and took it back the next day 1-2 hours late,  staff told him it was his fault that it broke down as it was in working order when he hired it,  however we as the public hire it good faith that it should not breakdown.  They kept his deposit,  charged him extra for returning it late regardless that he was sick.  Going by other reviews this seems to be the normal way kennards treat customers and don't recommend them to anyone. Wish we checked other reviews first before we hired it

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Kennards Hire Official

Hi Jeff, We're sorry to hear about your experience with one of our branches. So that we can investigate further into this, we would appreciate if you could please send us a private message or a... read more »

Poor service

2 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 29, 2017

Money hungry pigs. Won't hire anything again. Returned something that was hired took them 4 working days to contact us and tell us what we owed. Should have contact the person who hired the machine asap if there was a problem!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Kennards Hire Official

Hi Nunya, We're sorry to hear about you recent experience with Kennards Hire. So that we can further investigate what occurred, could you please send us a private message with your hire schedule,... read more »

Poor customer service.

1 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 29, 2017

We had a generator delivered for an event and it stopped working after 5 minutes. We got another one delivered after 1.5 hour which delayed our work and we weren't ready to trade by the time we should. We had to send 2 emails asking for a percentage of refund to finally receive a call from a guy who said they have been pretty good sending a new one and he complained we left it exactly where they delivered it not taking any responsibility about the poor service they provided. They are very expensive and with an arrogant, poor customer service. Will never use them again

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Kennards Hire Official

Hi And, We apologise for the experience your receive. So that we can investigate further, we would really appreciate it if you could please email csc@kennards.com.au the schedule number for the b... read more »

1 of 3 pages


Questions & Answers

What is your policy on delivery drivers hitting peoples cars ( there are several witnesses and the driver admitted it when I managed to talk to him 3 hours later) and driving off without leaving any details ? How do I go about having my car repaired when the management and driver at your Fyshwick store have constantly lied, stalled and ignored me and my request for your insurance details?

Dale asked on Mar 01, 2018

Answer this

Hi Dale,

Thank you for your question. Can you please email us at csc@kenanrds.com.au with your full name, contact details and any information about the incident so that we can investigate and get to the bottom of this for you? We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience and frustration this matter has caused you and we would really like to get to the bottom of this for you.

-Kennards Hire.

Are you able to hire in Qld and return in Nsw?

monica asked on Mar 08, 2016

Answer this

Hi Monica,

We realise you've posted this a long time ago but we never responded. You can return your vehicle or trailer to any Kennards Hire branch within the same city. This incurs a relocation fee which is available on application. We don’t do one way vehicle and trailer hire between cities or interstate. We do have weekly and long term rates on vehicles and trailers for those longer trips if you’re planning to return to your hiring branch or area.

Apologies for the severe delay in our response, but hopefully this will help you and others with future plans.