Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Dec 2017

Nightmare Building with McDonald Jones Home

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 28, 2018

It has been a nightmare building with McDonald Jones Home. It’s now 2 years since contract was signed in July 2016 and there are outstanding items still waiting to be completed. We’ve been through most distressing times as it has taken so long and we’ve tried again and again to chase up the remaining items to be completed. Building supervisor hardly ever reply to our emails or phone calls. Project coordinator is really useless as she never gives us any answers to our questions or solves any of our problems. All she ever did was to forward our emails to other departments or other groups within McDonald Jones Home. She never cared about whether we do actually get a reply from the people she forwarded our email to or whether our problem gets solved. We’ve asked for contact details of managers for lodging our concerns and complaints a few times, but we were never given such information.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Jan 2019

Unnecessary Delays

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 17, 2018

Guys beware when you build your home with McDonald Jones. The build process with them is terribly long. And i now understand why. They take much more work than their capacity and then they rotate their trades to different sites and this ultimately slows down the whole building process.

I know this because my friend lives close to my under construction house and he says most of the days he doesn't see any one working on site. No matter what excuses the builder make, this is the hard truth.

They slow down the building process usually after the Fix out phase (when they receive 90% of the cost). this is when the builder does not care much and your mortgage is very high. I bet this is common for all their customers.

I will NEVER recommend McDonald Jones again to anyone who prefers building at normal expected pace.

When i raised this with the Project coordinator he replied that my practical completion date is in Late Jan. It shows how irresponsible and arrogant they are. this validates my point at least.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
McDonald Jones Homes Official

Hi Jas, We are disappointed to hear this and your comments concern us greatly. If you could please provide you job number and best contact details via private message we would like to investigate this further for you. kind regards

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Apr 2015

Fantastic experience

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 30, 2018

We built our home in 2014-2015. We decided on McDonald Jones after going through many display homes from various builders. Our build was managed very well by our foreman and was ahead of schedule by 1week. Our home has had no issues since our initial build and we are very happy with the workmanship. We had a few minor defects which were fixed by the foreman within 1week of moving in. We had no changes to our contract price.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
McDonald Jones Homes Official

Hi Diesel, thank you so much for the feedback on your building experience a few years ago, we so glad it went well and you are still enjoying your home, we'd love to see photo's of your home a few ... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Oct 2018

Good systems & professional behaviour

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 26, 2018

We had an excellent experience with Rick Harrison, our Sales Consultant, and because we were traveling, he was very flexible in slowing down and speeding up parts of the initial process. The flexibility we had in rearranging the floor plan was considerable, and the cost of doing so very reasonable. We benefitted in the Choices part of the process by the sensible advice of the coordinator there. We had one small disagreement about what was to be included in the base price for the kitchen, and this was resolved quickly and satisfactorily with the support of our Sales Consultant. The only surprise in the process was in the additional site preparation costs. It would be better to be told about these likely costs (retaining walls, extra fill, tiger tails, etc) before the stage of Consolidated Tender.
The Slab Supervisor was excellent and got it poured in good time, despite rainy weather. The first Site Supervisor, Steve, was excellent- but when he had to leave, we had two other Site Supervisors- Clarke- who filled in- and Scott Hamburger who took on the job and has brought it to completion. We were concerned that the change in supervision would slow down the process, but each new supervisor was keen to keep to the original schedule, and in fact, the practical completion- which takes place tomorrow- is five weeks ahead of the date notified for completion at the start. We are delighted, and would recommend McDonald Jones Homes.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
McDonald Jones Homes Official

Hi Jane, Thank you so much for the lovely feedback, we appreciate the time taken to provide this honest feedback and we are so proud of our teams who have supported you throughout your building pro... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Sep 2018

Quality workmanship

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 17, 2018

Our build really became enjoyable from the time we dealt with Kate Murace at our Colours meeting. Robert Wernicke, our site supervisor, promised to deliver us a home in quality that he would live in himself. To this end he delivered! I would recommend McDonald Jones, remembering that building a home is a complex, challenge riddled exercise to which I feel the company has delivered a strong result. Expect difficulties along the way - that's house building. But we are very thankful for our home.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
McDonald Jones Homes Official

Thank you so much Gav for your feedback, the team, in particular Kate and Robert we delighted to receive your feedback! We hope you enjoy your new home and make many happy memories there. We'd love... read more »

Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 1 comment
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Sep 2018

Went way over contract time and hundreds of defects

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 14, 2018

The build of my home went close to five months over time. During this time hardly any trades were on site and communication with both office staff and site staff was terrible. They did not answer emails even after following up and were rude and condescending in their approach.

The defects I have now in my home total over 300 ... some of which are major. The dwelling is not water tight ... in fact I can see the steel frame through some of the cladding. The workmanship is abysmal. If you are considering building with MJH, please reconsider. This was the worse mistake I have made.

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
McDonald Jones Homes Official

Hi Kitty, we are disappointed to hear this and would like to investigate this for you, if you could provide your job number and contact details via private message we can follow this up for you.
kind regards

I have heard from several people within MJH that they will follow things up and I am still waiting. Phone calls do not get returned and emails remain unanswered. I have a moisture issue throughout ... read more »

McDonald Jones Homes Official

Hi Kitty, we still haven't heard from you to be able to assist you. If you could provide your job number and contact details via private message we can investigate this further for you.
kind regards

Newcastle, New South Wales

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 1 answer
  • 8 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2017

Buyer beware !!!! Home Price Nightmares

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 10, 2018

We signed a consolidated tender with MJH 27th September last year. We had requested the full price of the display home as it stood with all inclusions and made this very clear. We were assured that the price given included coffered ceilings,downlights,the same kitchen,bathrooms,etc. We signed the tender and handed over our $5000 deposit then the price began to change. The base price was $264,000 but to build as per the display home at Homeworld Thornton the price had gone up to $330,000 we were ok with this. Then came additional site costs taking the total to $343,520. Add to this downlights @ $195 each a total of around $7,800, door handles $52 each over $500, TV Antenna $999, flyscreens starting at $55 each. And the list just went on and on. Not to mention the ridiculous prices to upgrade the kitchen and bathrooms,garage door, bricks and the poor selection of tiles and carpet. It was at the My Choice Studio Appointment which took 35 minutes instead of the allocated 90 minutes, when questions were not allowed to be asked, I realized just how expensive this home would become.Before any work had commenced I requested our deposit back as a quick calculation showed this home was going to cost in excess of $100,000 over the price quoted which we would not be able to afford. I was told in no uncertain terms that the deposit would not be refunded and that I should have read the very,very small print on the back page of the contract, which had not been given to me or signed. Then came endless rude and insulting emails from a [name removed] from MJH who stated we should have spent more time reading fine print and that we would not be getting our deposit back. We decided to go with another builder who was excellent, no extra site cost.Our neighbour who commenced building their home with MJH about a month after us still has not moved in, we have been in our new home now for 4 months. Days and weeks have gone by without a tradie in sight and they have advised us of never ending problems with MJH including no drain pipes in their ensuite. If your looking to sign with MJH be very aware of how much your really going to have to pay for your new home and what it does NOT include.

6 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Jan 2018

In progress but job well done to our builder - McDonald Jones Homes

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 19, 2018

My husband and I are first new home owners currently building with McDonald Jones home. Our dream home is close to finish but I wanted to stop in to thank the people that made it all happened. Our Sales representative Daniel King we met Daniel in the showroom in Jordan Springs but hes now based in Kellyville. We live in Penrith but we go all the way to Kellyville just to visit Daniel. My husband and I are so proud of the work hes done from the start for us. He is an extremely amazing person, very helpful, and very good at the role he's in. The second and the third people my husband and I would like to thank are our slab supervisors Michael Stewart and our site supervisor Brent Reid (West supervisors) Both of these men have worked extremely hard to build our dream home to our expectations and we are so grateful for all the work they have done. We would've prob changed our minds to go with another builder if it wasnt for All x3 of them. Brent would have called us every Friday of the week to give us an update of where they are at with building. My husband and I are extremely busy with work and no time to make it to our site but we didnt have to worry because Brent would stay in contact he was great at communications and organisations. Please pass these messages to Daniel, Michael and Brent on our behalf esp to their managers and we do hope that these men will be rewarded for their hard work because they are the reasons why we chose to build with McDonald Jones Homes.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
McDonald Jones Homes Official

Hi TAIQ, thank you so much for this lovely feedback! We are delighted to hear how helpful our Sales representative was and that Michael and Brent have been with providing great updates for you. We ... read more »

Menai

  • 1 review
  • 1 answer
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Aug 2018

Good Choice Mcdonald Jones

4 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 29, 2018

We have had a very good experience building with Mcdonald Jones. Many thanks to Nathan, our Sales Consultant who handled the Tender Phase professionally and his attention to detail was outstanding.

Vicki our Colours Consultant was extremely helpful in assisting us with our design palette. We included the flooring in the build and we were very happy with the finished product.

Project Co-ordinator Sandy, ably guided us through the pre build and contract management phase in a professional manner, keeping us in the loop and our paperwork in order.

Unfortunately, during construction we had a number of Building Supervisors.

However, Paul Andriske, came on board and reassured us that everything was on track. Paul was always professional, knowledgeable & approachable throughout the process.

The "construction clean" was adequate and the handover paperwork folder could have been a lot clearer and more professionally presented.

Overall, we had a very good experience building with Mcdonald Jones. There will be some items addressed during the 13 week warranty period, but these are not show stoppers.

Thank you to Mcdonald Jones and especially Karla and Jacinda the Customer Service receptionists, as they always made us feel very welcome and answered any queries promptly.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
McDonald Jones Homes Official

Hi Peter, Thank you for the feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to provide honest feedback that can help us improve, we are currently updating our Handover material to help provide m... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Aug 2018

MJH built our dream home!!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 27, 2018

MJH truly lived up to their slogan and have built our dream family home.
Our whole experience has been wonderful throughout the whole journey from the initial contact and design with Xavier, to the colour choice selections with Kiara and the contract process with Brett. It has all gone so seamlessly due to the professionalism and friendliness of the staff, with the house being simply wonderful and amazing in every way.
We owe a great deal to our building supervisor, Dean Thompson who is a real asset to MJH. His approachability, clear articulation of the process and knowledge have been exemplary since we first established contact. He has helped us along the way seamlessly removing any potential stress, answered our queries, provided regular progress reports and has continued to help us since we moved in to help us to get settled.
We would recommend MJH to anyone wanting to build there own home and will take great delight in all our friends and family enjoying our new home as much as we are.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
McDonald Jones Homes Official

Hi Roy and Kerry, thank you for the wonderful feedback, we are so proud of the team who have provided you with such a wonderful building experience and we will be sure to pass on your lovely commen... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Apr 2019

MJH are a professional and quality company but owners need to be vigilant

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 26, 2018

Cassandra was very prompt and professional in responding to questions.
Occasionally a call would have been ideal instead of an email when critical response was required but other than that she was onto everything.
We had non-compliance issues with building and landscape plans which caused us to lose around 3 weeks in progress. We probably placed too much reliance that MJH would pick these up and we missed them too. A lesson learnt for us to take more ownership.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
McDonald Jones Homes Official

Hi Kate, thank you for taking the time to provide this valuable feedback, we would like to investigate the points you have raised further, is it possible for you to provide your job number to assis... read more »

Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 1 comment
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Aug 2018

Fast journey!!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 21, 2018

Customer service is very good. We got quick response from the team whenever we have query regarding our build.Awesome Project coordinator by explaining all the preconstruction process in detail and by replying all our emails promptly.she is very helpful and friendly.Management team is quick in all the preconstruction steps.Amazing sales consultant too. He has given more useful suggestions for our build. we had positive experience so far.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
McDonald Jones Homes Official

Hi Poornima, Thank you for this lovely feedback, we're pleased to hear our team provided you with quick responses, all the information you needed, plus good customer service. We'd love to let the t... read more »

604572.Thanks.

McDonald Jones Homes Official

Thank you, we'll pass on the feedback to your team. Have a great day!

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Aug 2018

Great Experience with MJH

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 20, 2018

We have just enjoyed an excellent experience with MJH in the building of our beautiful new home. Their commitment to quality service and product was consistent right throughout the process and we would have no hesitation in recommending MJH to anyone considering a new home build.

Our house was actually completed two weeks ahead of schedule which is literally unheard of in the home building game. The open communication line throughout the process and constant updates kept us clearly in the picture as to where things were at which just put our minds at ease over the entire build. Very please with the final result!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
McDonald Jones Homes Official

Thank you so much for the lovely feedback David, it's reassuring to know our teams have provided you with a beautiful new home and quality service throughout your building journey. Congratulations ... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Mar 2019

A good experience

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 12, 2018

We are now ready to build- VERY pleased. Just want to thank our project manager Ashley Lynas for helping get us to our construction stage. We have had a complicated subdivision and DA and so we particularly appreciated Ashley's support. She is highly professional, very knowledgeable and was always available when needed. I think we might have given up if not for Ashley.
We also have had a very positive experience with our colour consultant Jessica who was delightful coping with the family wishes and wants, and a fun and productive time with our electrical consultant.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
McDonald Jones Homes Official

What lovely feedback Lindy - thank you! We're so pleased you had a fun and productive time choosing your colours and electrical items and Ashley was so great and supportive to help you get through ... read more »

Sydney

  • 33 reviews
  • 6 comments
  • 1 question
  • 2 answers
  • 22 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Aug 2018

Excellent from start to finish

4 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 10, 2018

Sales process was excellent. Sales rep answered all our questions and was available for reply outside of business hours. Went the extra mile to ensure we got the best deal possible. Without this awesome sales rep, we would have gone with a competing builder.

Pre-construction. First CLO was slow to respond to email queries (if she did respond at all), but was quick to respond when it came to payments. Once she was replaced, everything was a lot smoother. The new CLO responded quickly and displayed expertise and professionalism. She was very transparent on issues outside of her control and ensured each step was met in a timely fashion to the best of her ability.

Construction. Site supervisor was satisfactory throughout, without being spectacular. Did a good job to ensure the house was complete to a satisfactory standard - our private inspectors found no major issues throughout. Minor issues were fixed. SS could be more prompt in responding to emails/sms. Overall, did a good job.

Very satisfied with MJH over the last 2 years and 3 months. Would definitely build with them again if given the opportunity. Their houses are of high quality and very customisable, albeit, more expensive compared to other builders. But given the quality, it was money well-spent.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
McDonald Jones Homes Official

Hi Cisco, thank you for this great feedback, we are pleased to hear our Sales team were available to assist you when you needed and went the extra mile! Also glad to hear your CLO was so responsive... read more »

GERRINGONG

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Oct 2018

Very happy so far with our build process.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 17, 2018

McDonald Jones started work on our house last March 2018. The house is not completed yet. The experience has been a wonderful one so far. Sandy at Shellharbour Office is responsive, caring and I would recommend her to any prospective customers. Our two site managers, Paul and Luke have been extremely friendly, helpful and obliging. Nothing is ever a problem with our site supervisors. We like their trades people as well.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
McDonald Jones Homes Official

Hi Eng Lee, thank you for the wonderful feedback, we will pass this onto your team. We look forward to watching your new home come to life. Please feel free to share photo's if you like also. Kind regards

Blaxland

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Feb 2019

Excellent journey so far

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 12, 2018

So far we have just begun the construction stage of our build and we've had a great experience with MJH to date. We went with MJH because they were able to offer us an affordable home with a number of impressive inclusions. Being not only first time home builders but also first time homeowners we felt very fortunate to receive guidance and support from the staff at MJH, in particular Daniel King and Rani Morris. We loved making all of the selections for our home and felt like we were well prepared because we took up several opportunities to explore the MyChoice Studio and were supported along the way from the very professional interior designers that work at the Norwest office. They also understood that we had a somewhat limited budget and never pushed us beyond our means. To date, we have had excellent communication with all staff members from MJH and have been very impressed with their expertise and professionalism. Being first time builders/owners we've had a lot of questions, which have been warmly received and answered by all MJH staff that we've dealt with. I would highly recommend MJH.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
McDonald Jones Homes Official

Hi Bree, thank you for the wonderful feedback, we are so excited to be able to help you build your first home and watch it come to life! Our team, especially Daniel and Rani, were so happy to hear... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Aug 2018

What an exciting journey

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 11, 2018

We chose MJH because they had the best display homes and designs. Building for the first time was daunting but we were guided through the colour selection by knowledgeable and experienced people. During the build the guys kept us informed and could answer all our queries, nothing was a problem for all the MJ people even when a couple of bulls decided to visit the tradies on site! Its been fun and I would do it all again with MJH in a flash.

Kayla, Warren, Dean and all the tradies thanks heaps

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
McDonald Jones Homes Official

Hi Terry, Thank you for taking the time to provide this great feedback! Your building team was delighted to received this great feedback. We hope you make many happy memories in your new home! Feel... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Mar 2018

So far so good.... really happy

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 11, 2018

If I ever build again, I will be going with Mac Donald jones again. Very professional and the team knowledge is great. Poured the slab in 2 weeks. Guys, seriously these guys know what they are doing and as my friends recommend me by saying that they don’t hang around, that’s right. Good work Mac D. Can’t wait to get the house keys

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
McDonald Jones Homes Official

Hi Vick, thank you for this great feedback! We can't wait to build your new home and you can get those keys too. We hope you make many happy memories in your new home too.

Cheers from the MJH Team

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Jul 2018

We have the best house!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 06, 2018

The workmanship was great. We can't fault it - other than the few minor fix ups required after Practical completion.

The management of the build was fine. Besides wanting to get into our new home "yesterday" from day one, everything went well.

I would encourage liaising with Energy Providers and AUSGRID about location of private power poles before location of meter boxes are set in stone. That was one issue that really held things up for us. To connect power underground in the shortest route possible is a right pain in the proverbial. For home owners to be expected to put a solid driveway to their garage and have the power going under this is pretty poor planning on AUSGRIDS part. We were lucky our shared fence with one of our neighbours is not on the boundary and the pole was put on their land, not ours. Otherwise to relocate the pole would've been at our cost. Thankfully a request to connect to the transformer (like it had been the previous 40 plus years) was allowed and we could put our power nearer to the meter box without having to go under our driveway. Big relief.
The customer service and support was great. Our site supervisor kept us informed of how we were progressing and we appreciated that. He is a credit to your organisation.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
McDonald Jones Homes Official

Hi HZH, thank you so much for your lovely review! We are very glad to hear your journey was positive and that the Site Supervisor did us proud. We take on board your advice about having a close rel... read more »

1 of 5 pages


Questions & Answers

Has anyone had experience with the upgrade luxury package and is it worth it? A sales person told us recently if we purchase the house we like we get this package included and its worth up to $50,000. I later read we pay about $12,000 for the upgrade. A clear table comparing the cost of stand items to the luxury items woul clarify the above. We were also told the alfresco area would be included in the deal even though it said optional on the plan. I doubting this would be built for free. We are sitting on the fence to purchase a Mcdonald Jones property but if we feel we are being lied too we will walk.

Scott asked on Nov 22, 2018

Answer this

This is a new package that they've introduced recently. The one before this was really different. It's worth paying the money for the package. We signed in June and are glad we got the upgrade package.

With the alfresco we got ours during a 'free alfresco' promotion. Get them to put it all in an estimate where it is written on paper with all costs. Then they can't jerk you around. An estimate is free and you are not locked in. All sales staff with every builder are misleading - it's their job to get you to buy. We went through three builders before we settled on MJH but have had estimates etc from well over 15 builders. Its all the same crap everywhere unfortunately.

Are the luxury upgrade packages worth it? During consultation the sales pitch is sold as you get this for free along with the alfresco area but when you read in to it your still paying close to $12,000 for the package. It sounds like your getting $50,000 worth of items for free. However im assuming the basic items would still cost a fair bit! Has anyone had experience with this. Maybe a clear table of the items included in in the luxury package compared to the standard items would clarify the above.

Scott asked on Nov 22, 2018

In the display homes, the pantry doors and others have “GIB Closers”. I was told by the staff at Gledswood Hills that these were standard. Apparently that is not true. I am try8ng to source them in Sydney withou luck. Can MJH help me with this please?

JJSH asked on Nov 14, 2018

See all 105 questions about McDonald Jones Homes