Verified Customer Construction End Date: Mar 2018

A caring Builder

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 26, 2018

We are Delighted with all aspects of the building process from start to finish the service we received from all suppliers during our selection process was informative and provided in such a way that we all understood what was available and how they worked. The professionalism that was delivered during our design stage was truly fantastic Medallion certainly have a great team. The building supervision was outstanding ( being a retired builder I think I am very qualified to know ) the supervisor gave me a great deal of freedom to visit the and look and chat with the contractors above all he ensured the end product he delivered was stunning.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: May 2016

Top quality finish

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 28, 2018

From start to finish Medallion Homes delivered highly professional service.
The firms which Medallion referred us to for various selections (such as electrical,tiling, plumbing and carpentry) were also of a highly professional standard.
We are extremely happy with the attention to detail and the resulting top quality finish of all aspects of the build. Our building supervisor was at all times receptive and proactive in addressing the issues that we raised with him.
As we are retired we visited the house every three or four days of the build and got to know the subcontractors and most of them had worked for Medallion for many years. It was interesting to hear them tell of "horror" stories of what other builders do in taking "shortcuts" during a build. Clearly those subcontractors were not sales persons and their feedback made us all the more grateful that we chose a quality builder in Medallion Homes.
After hand over there were a couple of issues that need rectification and they were promptly corrected..
Medallion's customer service and support over the whole build was exemplary.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Apr 2017

Adam and Mel - Single Storey Home - Lower Mitcham

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 16, 2018

The workmanship was of a high standard across all elements on our property and the build is at a top quality with key modern features.

Features we love are brick work at the front of the home, highlight windows connecting us to the outdoors in key areas of the home, in-roof storage (fantastic for families) and pelmet lighting in entrance hallway as a feature piece as people enter/exit the house amongst many others.

The build was managed very smoothly, regular communication was a key strength of the build from our site supervisor who was caring, attentive and respectful at all times. Nothing was too much trouble and we always felt at easy knowing that our site supervisor was across everything at all times. All trades were the same and a easy to work with and have discussions about any element we wanted to talk about or questions to ask.

Customer service and support was always timely, consistent and connected to our vision of what we wanted to achieve with our home and the key reasons/drivers for wanting to build the home.

We have no hesitation recommending and endorsing Medallion Homes to our friends, family and associates.

Thank you Medallion Homes for our experience over the journey of the build.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: May 2017

Rosslyn Park - single storey home

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 07, 2018

It is the second time we have built a house, and the first time with Medallion Homes. We were impressed with the company at each stage of the building process, from the first discussions on house design options through to completion and the 3-month maintenance follow-up phase. The staff did a great job of taking us through the various steps, and were fantastic at getting back with answers to any questions we had. The build itself went smoothly, and Medallion demonstrated excellent Project Management, with the completion being achieved in a very timely fashion. We are extremely happy with the final result and highly recommend Medallion Homes.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Sep 2017

Single storey home - Malvern

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 09, 2017

We have now been in our new home for two months. It is beyond our expectations and inline with the style we were looking for. The entire process from the first time we met the entire Medallion team to the finished product could not have been made any easier. All aspects of building a home from design to the colour of the paint was a pleasure. The team accommodated all of our specific modifications and the project manager was extremely easy to work with. The high craftsmanship of all the trades were amazing and the timeline of completion was very surprising. We were also impressed by the quick, friendly and professional communication. We love our home and had been very happy with the choice of builder and would recommend them to all our friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: May 2017

Somerton Park - Two storey home

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 05, 2017

This is our 4th home in 40 years of marriage, but our first build. We had looked at Medallion designs, so were happy to proceed with a Medallion project at Somerton Park. The planning process went well, and Medallion's recommended suppliers were helpful. The house was finished in May 2017, close to the target date set. Most of the contractors who work for Medallion have been doing so for many years, as they get continuous work exclusively with Medallion, and so the standard of work is high.
Testing times come when something goes wrong; we experienced an annoying roof leak that was frustrating as it was intermittent. One of the roofing contractors (now ex-contractor) had cut corners, and it was difficult to find the source of the problem. Medallion took responsibility over several weeks to find & correct the leak. Our overall impression has been a good one.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Jul 2017

Woodville South, Medallion you have delivered what you promised ...thank you

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 23, 2017

First time building and what a wonderful experience. Medallion delivered on everything that we discussed including the handover date. We are extremely happy with our new home, the quality of the build is amazing and nothing was too much trouble . Everyone at Medallion Homes is so professional, and extremely prompt with getting information back to you, their follow up can not be faulted. As we were on site each day it was great to meet the tradesmen working on our house who have all worked for Medallion for many years which in its self tells a story about the company. We would build with Medallion again in a heartbeat. Well done guys

Was this review helpful? Yes

Adelaide

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 1 answer
  • 6 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Mar 2017

1st time build a home

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 17, 2017

Durning the construction period, there were couple incidents happened, but all solved with professional manners.
As the 1st time build a house and we have moved in for 8 months so far, Medallion Homes has given us a quality house and post-handover maintenances were efficient. We are very happy about results and appreciated we have found a professional builder like Medallion Homes in Adelaide.

Was this review helpful? Yes

adelaide

  • 3 reviews
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Aug 2017

Two storey dream home - Springfield

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 27, 2017

We are very happy with our new home. The quality of the build is amazing and to have our home ready early was even better. We were extremely happy with the consultation process, working through selections was exciting and we had an awesome building Supervisor. Everyone at Medallion are professional, their communication, honesty and knowledge is perfect. They keep you up to date regularly, and when we had questions we received prompt answers and never felt uncomfortable asking our sometimes simple questions. Being able to visit onsite and to meet the friendly tradesmen was important to us and a lot of them have worked for Medallion for many years. Thank you Medallion for creating our beautiful home we are very happy and comfortable, it felt like home from straight away.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Jun 2013

Glenelg Two Story Home

5 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 03, 2017

The consultative approach between key people at Medallion like the Designer, Building Consultant, the Selections Team, Finance, the Building Supervisor and craftsmen/professional trades throughout our build resulted in our residential home being built ahead of time, within budget and most importantly a home that works for our family, friends and one we are proud of.
Quality products and materials were used throughout. The design features were outstanding. For example once living in the home, design aspects like views from rooms, widths and heights of doorways and ceilings, quality finishes were items we didn't really think too much about before the build however were very important design features that work very well when living in the home and ones we now appreciate as it makes our home work. Many thanks Medallion

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer

Building our dream home

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 10, 2016

The workmanship is exceptional, and we are very happy with the built quality of our new home.
We really appreciate the supervisors care and concerns and keeping in touch every step of the building process,
The team at Medallions are certainly very efficient and very professional and have helped us every step of the way. Our special request and alterations have always been addressed with our satisfaction as a priority.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

North Adelaide

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer

Medallion homes - An excellent and reliable builder

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 12, 2016

This is our second home built with Medallion Homes - and the experience this time was even better than the first! From start to finish, Medallion homes were able to deliver their product which was to become our dream home in North Adelaide. To be able to complete our large double story home together with tennis court and swimming pool plus landscaping within 9 months with no compromise in quality - Medallion Homes - they deliver!

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Adelaide

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer

We enjoyed our Medallion building experience and are daily enjoying a beautiful home.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 22, 2016

Medallion is an excellent builder because of their dedicated and professional staff and tradesmen. The supervisor was detailed in his work and his dedication ensured we had a quality built home. Their project manager helped us choose the right material and colours. Every tradesman that Medallion we met were so positive with Medallion and many mentioned that Medallion always paid them on time, which gave us added confidence that the Medallion tradesmen would ensure that they did the best job they could. The Medallion on going support after we were handed the keys continued their testimony of reliability by fixing any issues we found. Would we build with Medallion again? Without any hesitation we would.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Adelaide

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Love our medallion resort

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 14, 2013

Our Medallion Home was completed in early 2012 and ever since we have thoroughly loved the resort type life style the home and property has offered

Our allotment was unique in that it offered a Northern aspect to the rear with water views and magnificent hills views to the South . The designer at Medallion Homes capitalised on these views and we now have a fantastic outlook from almost every room in the home. Our kitchen/living areas overlook the Northern ( water ) views through a 7.0m long window wall onto a huge timber deck/alfresco area , the upper storey living area has the same views , as soon as you step into the front door you can see the water and all of the bedrooms enjoy hills views , just like a resort every room has a fantastic view .

The Medallion Homes process from start to finish was professional and seamless from the first time we saw their beautiful Display Homes oozing sophistication and elegance coupled with lots of practical ideas ; to the exciting and rewarding Design phase ; to the very transparent pricing phase ( our sales consultant could actually demonstrate to us at their display homes all of the schedule items ie: appliances , toilets , basins , taps , joinery , doors , windows etc. etc he was going to price into our home , the other builders we saw gave us a list of schedule items none of which were in their displays , the fact that we could see these items and that they were obviously of a high quality gave us confidence we were choosing the right builder ) ; to the very helpful,professional and knowledgable Project Managers who worked closely with us to ensure our selections were well coordinated and that all of the minute details were considered and explored , nothing was too much trouble ; to the very approachable site supervisor , we were welcomed to visit the site regularly , all of the trades were very friendly , we were thrilled to learn that most of the trades had worked on the Display Homes and now they were working on our home

The end result is spectacular , we call it home our friends call it The Resort , it is certainly of the same quality and standard of workmanship we saw at the Display Homes and we have no hesitation in recommending Medallion Homes to anyone contemplating building

- The construction was too quick we were not ready to move in

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Glenelg

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Fantastic result..!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 16, 2013

We've just finished building with Medallion and they couldn't have been more professional, helpful and quality driven. From the outset they worked with us to create the best design for a challenging block. We had a narrow block and even though we were close to the beach, didn't think we could even a glimpse of the sea. It was only Medallion's design that captured views to the sea - and we're thrilled we spoke to them! They then helped us every step of the way with our selections and finishes.

When we first starting looking for a builder, we were attracted to Medallion by their reputation in the industry but also the quality of their display homes - we weren't disappointed with our own home! We now have a gorgeous home and are constantly getting positive comments from our friends and family - I would definitely recommend Medallion Homes to anyone who wants a friendly, customer-focused, quality company who can deliver on price and service.

+ Quality, professional, experienced builder with a great reputation

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Adelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 helpful votes
Private message

Beware of Medallion Homes

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 15, 2013

We built with Medallion Homes and began to regret the decision from almost the time that we signed the contract. All the pleasantries of the sales staff end once you’ve signed the contract.
We expected that a contract and specifications meant something –not to Medallion. Poor project management, inadequate engineering, delivery and installation of lesser quality materials, fittings and finishings became par for the course. We needed to inspect the works and demand the replacement of items – and in the end needed to seek independent advice from building inspectors and engineers. Medallion failed to obtain necessary engineering for an important part of the home – their engineer told us that he ‘just used what he had done for other homes’ …
Medallion also failed to address maintenance items – they fixed anything that was easy but repeatedly ignored or refused to address other items. Their maintenance team was rude to our family both in person and via email. Ultimately, we needed to rectify the matters ourselves.
Recent discussions with others who have built through 2011 to 2013 confirm our experiences. A discussion only this month with an independent builder (not a competitor) offered the view that “the Medallion brand is just a façade – beneath the exterior they can be poor quality, they know it, but don’t care …”.
Medallion Homes was an award winning builder – however those were the days when [name remobed] was involved. Current management trade on the name but don’t deliver on the contract. Challenge them and there’s the threat of lawyers!
It appears that the only customers of Medallion that don’t have a problem are those who don’t know any better. If you don’t understand the building industry, make sure you have a suitably qualified professional watch their every move unless you’re happy to have them take your money and not deliver.
If anyone is seriously thinking about using Medallion Homes.

- Expensive, poor service, failed to deliver to contract

8 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 16 helpful votes
Private message

Reservations with Medallion Homes as your builder

3 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 27, 2012

Built with Medallion Homes 2008/09. Very impressed by their display homes (but beware 'what you see is not what you get'). "Free" 1st design draft & consultation but the final quote could only be given after payment of $6000 of an initial works agreement. My 2-storey house ended up costing $1963/m2 after various non-inclusions and variations (ie. 50% more, than the Grand Manor display home price we modelled & budget on, at ~450m2).
Project managment: Forgotten to submit request for demolition of the pre-existing house. Forgotten to arrange the electrical work to supply cables to the new swimming pool (discovered after paving).
Engineers: Provided 'routine' work. Lack of communication between Medallion and the engineers who ignored the presence of my swimming pool to be built and designed a soakage pit next to it. The engineer did not take into consideration the amount of paving I did to all my backyard. This ended up with diastrous flooding of my block during the heavy rains in 2009. Medallion, the engineers, the plumbers shifted the blame to the Landscapist.
Roof: The roof leaked, damaging and soaking the kitchen (JAG had to replace a set of cupboards) and the plasterboard behind the glass splash-back. Also leaks around the bow window and 2 other spots.
JAG: What would you expect to get when Medallion only paid JAG $20840 (even after our variations to upgrade to Caesarstone top and Glass splashback) to build our entire kitchen. That was 2.4% of the entire building cost we paid Medallion.
Tiling: Suboptimal graded fall in a shower, with one standing in pools of water during showers. The sealant in most wet areas and some non-wet areas got mouldy within 1 year.
Electrical: Was cautious of its previous legal history but turned out to be quite good work.

+ Building on schedule once started building; punctual hand-over (48 weeks as quoted). They responded to your questions. Excellent work from site supervisor, gyprock/plastering/rendering, painter, locksmith, and thereafter the maintenance team.

- See above. Have major reservations re: their transparency, and value-for-money. Hopefully their new management style (and logo) helps.

16 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 14 helpful votes
Private message

Excellent

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 01, 2012

i have built twice with Medallion and both times the experience was great. they not only did what they said they would do but they actually finished ahead of time. the sales consultant was honest from the start about price. i did my homework on Medallion and there oposition and found that Medallion where by far the most transparent and best value for money in the market. i would not hesitate to build with them again.

+ Quality is second to none

14 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 12 helpful votes
Private message

Excellent

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 01, 2012

I consider Medallion Homes to be a safe and transparent builder . My wife & I are discerning people and Medallion met all our needs . The construction process was efficient & enjoyable. We had our hand over 4 weeks earlier than estimated. The final product is exceptional with all finishes equal to their display homes. A very professional and enjoyable process . I have recommended Medallion to my sister as well as a work colleague . They have recently signed contracts.
We absolutely love our Medallion Home.

+ Very transparent process, the specifications where clearly demonstrated in the display home . My fixed price contact came in on budget as clearly estimated by my very professional building consultant .

- It took approx. 5 weeks to get my fixed price contact. It was well worth it in the end as my site works where included.

12 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

Loving my medallion home.......

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 01, 2012

One word..... Excellent
We are not very far away from handover, and I must say this full experience has taken me by complete surprise.
I was recommended by a few fellow work professionals, but also 'put off' by tales of bad experiences.
My husband and I, both discerning, took the gamble and signed with medallion. I can only describe what has happened since then as a whirlwind. We have never built before but were surprised at how organized the selections process was. We received a 'selections programme' from our PM (project manager) - which the previous 'blogger has described perfectly.... Very knowledgeable - and from that moment in time we have been looked after ever since..... Our site supervisor, although not much of a talker, offers the same level of knowledge and help we received from our PM, and looks to have complete control of our build! The trades? Well... I have never met such a professional group of people - you often here stories of builders and tradesmen from hell - the guy who was installing our plasterboard for example actually told me that out of all the homes he likes 'doing'.....it's medallion, as the next trade will appreciate what job he has done, and he appreciates what the guys have did before him!
I also like the fact, that although not included in our contract, medallion have allowed us to construct our pool and even some landscaping during the build - this makes things so much easier!

I cannot thank my PM, site supervisor and all the trades enough - along with my sales consultant, who if it wasn't for him we would not be were we are today, as this experience has been one never to forget.
I really can't recommend medallion enough - I wish I could do it all again, but for the time being, I am Soooo looking forward to moving in to my medallion home

+ Beautiful homes / kind, approachable and knowledgeable staff / first class trades

5 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

1 of 2 pages


Questions & Answers

When did you build with Medallion? We have been thinking of building with them and they have seemed very attentive to detail etc. We haven't signed a contract yet. Did you build one of their designs or did you have them design you something different?

Cheffanie asked on Jul 18, 2013

Answer this

We have recently built a home with Medallion. We have one of Medallion exisitng design/display home (Urbis) tweaked to suit our personal preferences and size of the block. Our experiences with Medallion Homes are:
Positives:
Project completed on time;
Responsive to our questions/requests from Sales, Project Manager & Site Manager
Quickly rectified problems and issues (both raised by Site Manager and ourselves)
Good quality in some trades but not all trades.


Negatives:
Building costing- we have problems with the transparency of costing. There were many instances where we would have lost money either because they forgot to account for our initial deposit, charge for cost which have been included in the build contract had we not perused the costing in details. We had many variations to include extra items which are not in the spec.
Quality issue- There are a few issues relating to fiitings (eg wrong door handles installed), painting (doors are not completely painted, underside of doors in wet areas), doors contracted after installation and required replacement. We had a water leak inside the bathroom after the tiles were installed requiring extensive rework.
I visited the building site almost everyday to make sure I am happy with the work. One plus here is that the site manager responds to these issues quickly.
Post hand-over maintenance. It has certainly taken a long time. House was handed over in Feb 2012, we have not all maintenance issues rectified as at Sept 2013.

Overall, we are happy with the final products as we have followed the construction process to make sure we get what we pay for. We think it's expensive as we pay for the Medallion Homes Brand.

Be very wary of Medallion - we built with them in 2012 and know of 2 others who had the 'Medallion experience' in 2013. Very poor quality in both - plumbing needing to be replaced, ceiling redone and electrical problems. One removed Medallion from site and is still resolving problems. There's a growing number of very unhappy customers. Just ask Medallikn when they last won any of the building awards - back under previous ownership. Check out Alsn Shepard Homes, Scott Salisbury or even Metricon for a better experience.