Filter By:
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Terrible

1 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 18, 2008

Despite their reputation as Victoria's biggest builder, the way in which they handle their customers is rather average. Empty promises and the inability to act promptly seems to be their trend.
It is difficult to get in touch with your customer representative, and emails do not seem to get replies once you have made a complaint. They are very quick to build the house up to the fixing stage (so they will have collected 90% of the payment), but will hold up the final 10% (finishing) for months on end. This is a big problem, especially if you are renting elsewhere.
Letters of complaint seems to fall on deaf ears, with only a response saying they'll try to fix it for future clients. I sure hope if that is you, that they have fixed their customer service and project management skills.
The site of the home is not secured properly, with big gaps in the gates, and a break in by vandals that cost more time in repairs.
Would not recommend this builder.

+ Designs, pricing

- Customer service, quality, project management, security

28 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Terrible

1 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 13, 2008

Do not build with Metricon!!! They have terrible customer service, you can never get in contact with your site supervisor even when there is a major issue. There quality of workmanship during construction is disgustingly shoddy. I think they hire the cheapest labourers they can find, our house is a total mess, i am not happy with any of the work they have done its terrible.

+ House Design

- Service and Construction

23 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 13 helpful votes
Private message

Build Location: Regional Victoria

Excellent

5 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 25, 2008

We built our first home in Bendigo (Victoria) with Metricon and we found them to be fantastic! After going to all the different companies display homes in Bendigo and meeting all the sales consultants (and taking all that information home!), we found Metricon to have the best valued home designs (way better standard inclusions than the other guys too!). But what really separated Metricon from all the other builder's was their consultant. We dealt with Travis Penbrook from the Bendigo office from our first visit onwards. From the start he offered us so much more help with things we had no idea about (like site costs!). Travis helped us source the best land to build on and explained things like sun orientation and cheap extras to add to get the best re-sell value (which was stuff we had never thought about!).
Once we had signed the dotted line with Metricon, we went through the normal process of building but Travis kept updated with us and personally addressed the few concerns we had. We know from friends that have built with other companies that once the consultant gets your deposit that's the last you hear of them. Travis made sure all our paperwork and building times we kept to what he had promised and we got in 3 weeks before the scheduled finish date! What really appealed to us as well was they bring in an independent quality assurance guy to check the house at regular intervals to make sure everything is up to standard and it gets fixed if its not.
I suppose the motto of the story is, if you find the right person to deal with and the company is reputable the rest will fall into place. Having heard some negative experiences from colleagues/friends/family over the years about building a new home, we thought we would add a lighter note to reflect our positive experience with Metricon. We will definitely build our next home in Bendigo with Metricon.

+ House designs, Best Standard Inclusions, Price, customer service

- That we didn't build with Metricon sooner!

13 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Bad

2 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 01, 2008

very dissappointed with customer service and continually chasing them for answers to our questions. Still in the process of building after signing contract last Sept. Getting the runaround now just to get a completion date from anybody. We would not recommend their service to anyone. Hopefully we will be happy with the building workmanship when we finally get there.

+ house designs

- slack service

17 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Build Location: Queensland

Terrible

1 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 29, 2008

Do not build with Metricon QLD. they do not have enough contractors to carry out their work. This is what my supervisor is telling me . Their customer service standards are so poor that when i asked Metricon QLD's Construction Manager to call me, he delegated it to one of his staff. They gave me a program of work (called Mico managing) and it is already three weeks behind.

+ THeir sales staff were excellent.

- The customer service of construction staff is very poor in Queensland.

25 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Terrible

1 out of 5, reviewed on May 15, 2008

Our house is a disgrace!! Crooked windows, gaps in the roof, holes in the render. Too much to mention. Yes, Constuction manager(qld)useless, buck passing and downright rude. Takes no responsibility for building supervisor (rude,lazy) who tells us EVERY week (if we are lucky enough that he answers his phone (he won't return calls)that all will be fixed next week. If you call their head office to talk to someone else you are told by their reception staff you have to talk to your building supervisor and no one else can help you. Never ever again will we build a metricon home!!! Advice to others...check out some Metricon homes being constructed or just finished and compare the quality to their display homes. You will be horrified. We will be happy to show people ours...if we ever get to handover.

+ Designs. staff member-Natalie- brilliant!Studio M -Cheryl- Brilliant. Some other company should employ these two girls.

- Total disatisfaction! Rude, slack, incompetent construction and customer service staff.

37 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Terrible

1 out of 5, reviewed on May 27, 2008

We have had enough of Metricon. Don't build with them. The sales & marketing is slick, but once you have signed expect to wait a long time. From quote, to drafting, to approvals & finally construction there are long delays.

We know three other families that have had similar experiences. Looking through the feedback on this web site, most people have had the same experience.

We signed up in October 06 & it took a full 13 months before we moved in for a straight forward low set house. Another 6 months later, we are still trying to get things finished. Thankfully the outstanding issues are only minor now, but Metricon's care factor is close to zero once you have made that last payment and we have had to hound them every step of the way.

Drafting took 10 weeks!!(including a 3 week shut for Xmas) for an off the shelf design with minor changes.

The construction period was aweful. 4 different building supervisors. The first one was a nice guy, but disorganised, the second one was useless. 13 times I rang him without a returned phone call. Eventually they sacked him. The third one walked out after only two weeks on the job. The fourth building supervisor was the area manager, again, he meant well but failed to deliver. At one point he was building 100 homes.

At each change of building supervisor the house stalled. At one point a whole month went by with a total of about 3 hours work being done.

Eventually we had had enough, demanded practical completion. Metricon then have two weeks to get everything finished before you move in. Of course, this didn't happen & we moved in anyway. Unfortunately you have to make the final payment before they give you the keys. After that it took a lot of phone calls to get the house completed.

Even now, trying to get the last couple of minor issues finished is hard going.

We are now at the 6 month defects stage. God knows how long that will take.

At no point has there been an apology or offer of some form of compensation.

In summary, there is no way we would recommend Metricon to anyone.

+ Nice designs, Stratus electrical, M studio.

- Everything else

33 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 15 helpful votes
Private message

Excellent

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 29, 2008

Very happy to recommend Metricon Homes. They built us an excellent quality home that will stand the test of time. We paid extra for the Ascent facade which ensured our home looked the best in the street. Have very much praise for their people, processes & finished product. Our only gripe was not enough funds to build the Soho as displayed but feel we still recieved incredible value for money at around $8400 per square including all the floor coverings (timber & carpet), concreting, decking & high end timber window shutters. We were very impressed with Metricon's ability to deliver a truly fully finished home to a super high standard - We have built before with 2 other volume builders & walked into Metricon with much trepidation about building again. Thank You Metricon - we would definitely build again with you.

+ Metricon designs, displays & people were a revelation when compared to their competitors in metropolitan Melbourne. Sales person was very professional & quickly transposed our wishes onto paper in a timely excellent way. Very smooth seamless process, Their colour centre was excellent & their staff were most helpful & informative. The construction process was a delightful surprise to my wife & I in a world of bad builder publicity doing the rounds. Have been in our Soho now for around 8 weeks & could not be happier. We really do "love where we live"

- No real dislikes - We lost a little construction time due to a stone benchtop error (20mm instead of contracted 40mm). Our only real issue & rectified quickly. Construction could have been quicker (around 23 weeks) but we wanted quality, not a shodilly built home.

15 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Gold Coast, Qld

  • 120 reviews
  • 11 answers
  • 163 helpful votes
Private message

Terrible

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 16, 2008

Do NOT sign on that dotted line! Do NOT build with Metricon unless you read all these reviews first! If then you choose to go ahead with them, don't wonder why you are having so many drama's later as we will all tell you...I TOLD YOU SO!!!

+ The designs of Metricon homes suited our needs more than other 'project home' builders and the salesman who helped us with changes (minor) off the plan along with all other enquiries we had was fantastic! He really is an assett to Metricon as without people like him working for them, they would not even exist in today's supposed world of fair trade!!!!

- Almost everything! Where do I start? Mmmmm, perhaps with the first day...well they couldn't even read the plans correctly and it was all pear shaped from there. The problems we encountered are endless....I don't think we will ever be totally happy with our home as we know exactly where they cut costs and repair work in such a dodgy manner that it is just absolutely unbeliveable. If it wasn't so serious, it would be laughable, unfortunately we all have to work a lifetime to pay off our 'dream home' yet Metricon just take a lifetime to build your home (if you can call it that!) If it's not the lies and total b...sh.. the supervisor's (so called) feed you, it's the cover up's, dodgy workmanship, re-work on top of re-work and then there's the weeks that go by without any sight of them and forget trying to call them...well ya get lucky sometimes, but that is only after taking caller I.D off your phone so they don't know who's calling. They told us their cleaner was going on an unexpected trip oversees and it set them back two weeks to find a new one, however I happened to run into the cleaners that went to the house to clean and they said that unless Metricon were buying them an oversees ticket, that they weren't going anywhere...only one of the many many lies that I can tell you about without being here all day and night. The supervisor's put all the blame on not having enough good tradesman out there to do the work correctly in the first place, but the supervisor's NEVER check the work after each tradey has done their bit and then the next one does his bit, and so on, and after all that they find it should never have got to the next stage without the err's being fixed...not just once but several several times. Fortunately for us, we still look forward to turning our dodgily and cheaply constructed house (if ya can call it that?) into our loving (hopefully long lasting) dream home. Yeah...funny as it sounds I know, but we still hold that hope. You have to look on the positive side of things some times otherwise you would just go mad! Sorry to hear those people whom have chosen to sell their home due to all the problems they have had. I can really understand exactly why they feel that way and we have come close also to feeling the same, but at the end of the day...we love where we live!...just not the house we live in, but we'll just have to work on that!
I would really like to hear from ALL persons whom have chosen Metricon to build their 'dream home' and what experiences they have had as I am very keen to do some more research and hopefully help people make a more informative choice when it comes to building their home. I just hope more people take the time to write their reviews here as I am sure it will help save a lot of people from a lot of heartache!

23 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Build Location: Queensland

Bad

2 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 10, 2008

Our experience is in Brisbane QLD. The salesperson was very professional (he's now left to work for a competitor!), the office staff in Robina are on the whole helpful and efficient. Our main problem and complaint is once they're on site they seem to have two speeds dead slow and stop!! We were intially caught by not disputing the build time in the contract and we signed up for a build time of 280 days (9 months !!) It's a pretty standard 2 storey home Laguna 38 and since they started we have witnessed other houses in the neighbourhood progress much much faster than ours, all Metricon say when questioned is 'well we are still on programme' well you would be you've got 9 bloody months I could almost build it myself single handed in that time.
The frustrating thing is the amount of days that there is nobody on site, the organisation of different trades is appalling there is simply no project management or scheduling that I can see. I also suspect that they pay such poor rates that most tradies would prefer to work somewhere else and apparently do most of the time.
Enough moaning for now - the actual quality of building is not too bad but it wouldn't be top of the tree either.

+ Good designs, reasonable prices, excellent sales staff

- Very slow once on site, very long build time, no urgency to complete on time, absolutely pointless amount of damages for late completion of $15 per day (no incentive at all)

22 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 8 reviews
  • 9 helpful votes
Private message

Excellent

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 27, 2009

So far there is nothing to complain about. We have done all our Tile and Colour selction appointments and have found all people very willing to help you make the right choice if you are un sure of what you want. We have been kept in the loop the whole way along at this point. Every letter, form needing signing has been email to so we have it while it has been coming in the post. We did not know where we were going to build at first and had looked at many blocks and every time we found a new one we sent a copy of the block to [name removed] to see what house would fit on that block. Each copy of the contact was explaind to us before signing (perliminary and final contacts) and each time we went through the plans to make sure nothing was missed which it was but it was only 2 doors which were meant to be stacker doors not just normal sliding doors.
Will come back and let people know how the build is going which should hopfuly start in the new few weeks.

+ They have such helpful staff, always keeping us in the loop with what is happening, even if it is not good news! Great houses and extramly helpful salesmen, special thanks to Troy at the Heathwood QLD display centre.

- Nothing at this stage, plans are in with the certifiers now with one slight problem but nothing that is going to hold us up too much.

5 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Terrible

1 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 02, 2009

I would never recommend Metricon Victoria to anyone.Our house was completed in July 2008 and to date (Feb 09) we are still waiting on items to be fixed... I found the staff to be so unhelpful and senior managment nothing but arrogant.
Yes there displays look great, but dont expect your home to look like them! expect a sloppy paint job, joins visble in plaster,paint split on carpet,windows that wont open,door frames bent,showers that leak.... the list goes on.
They are only interested in getting you to sign that contract once thats done dont expect anymore Customer service as they could not give a crap once they have your money.Metricon leading home builder what a joke!

+ The design of the house

- Where do I start!!!!!!!!

16 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 12 helpful votes
Private message

Terrible

1 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 06, 2009

WOuld have never built with Metricon is we knew they were this bad. Have had to send letters and complaints as we can't get through to anyone. they dont make our weekly contacts as promised, they havent been paying out $250 late penalty payments as they say it can only be paid at the END of building, which has taken over 15 months. ALl they can say is that 'we are very busy' when i ask WHY they havent gotten back to me. TERRIBLE DONT BUILD!!!!!!!!!

+ the design of the home

- everything. bad communication, the quality of the work is appaling, absolutely disgusting, can't get through to the supervisor, our customer serv rep or the manager .. EVER..problems after problem.. they have taken 15 months to build our home, and STILL building!!! Just wanted to warn everyone! DONT BUILD WITH METRICON!!!!!!!!!!

12 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Terrible

1 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 19, 2009

Don't do it, use their ideas but go somewhere else, they couldn't run a tap. Building with metricon was by far and away the very worst customer service experience I have had in my life. They got EVERYTHING wrong, lucky for us there was the odd mistake in our favour but basically they were a shambles from the customer service rep to any of our 6 supervisors (one who got sacked after he allowed our roof to go on with some trusses not built...) They were months late on handover and our 6 month maintainence took 10 months to get done, I think they hope you just give up in the end but we didn't. It's a pity their service doesn't match up to their design because they are quite ok. Consider going somewhere else but be VERY WARY of metricon

+ That it is over

- Building with metricon was by far and away the very worst customer service experience I have had in my life. They got EVERYTHING wrong, lucky for us there was the odd mistake in our favour but basically they were a shambles from the customer service rep to any of our 6 supervisors (one who got sacked after he allowed our roof to go on with some trusses not built...) They were months late on handover and our 6 month maintainence took 10 months to get done, I think they hope you just give up in the end but we didn't. It's a pity their service doesn't match up to their design because they are quite ok. Consider going somewhere else but be VERY WARY of metricon

14 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Build Location: Regional Victoria

Good

4 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 01, 2009

We moved in to our new home in regional vic in Jan 08. Building with these guys was great from the 1st encounter in their office to the finished product their staff were great and helpful and the site supervisor was easy to deal with. I checked the house regularly and he was happy to answer any questions. Only critcism is the time to complete maintenance list. all issues were minor and rectified except for a faulty smoke dectector we have been now waiting 12 months to have an electrician fix.

+ Good product, well built no hassles

- time to complete maintenance

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 33 helpful votes
Private message

Excellent

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 04, 2009

Have not started construction yet but Customer service has been beyong great. We have been informed about costs and inclusions along every step of the way and even when we were once quoted a price for a variation, they came back to us to say that they have overpriced it and it was actually less even though we had originally agreed to the original quote and it was taken off from the total price of the house- rare to find this level of honesty! Of course I am expected a few teething problems throughout the process however have every confidence that they will be resolved in an efficient manner.

+ Great displays, fantastic customer service, great standard inclusions and those that are not standard are reasonably priced

- None so far

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Build Location: Queensland

Terrible

1 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 07, 2009

I had originally written about 10 times more in the "cons" but thought I should try to summarise better so as to keep people interested. Please realise that what I have said above is only a summary, the detailed story is far far worse, even comical at times..
So OVERALL...
From my experience I have to say "stay away from metricon", the sales women we had was the only positive, after you are finished with her it is all downhill. Most of the Head Office staff are rude and/or inept, and as you go up the chain of command for answers they have good intentions but in the end do not deliver on promises made. Honestly you are taking a gamble with Metricon, you might get lucky and get a great supervisor and have no problems, of the 7 that we had 2 were worth their salt the others were laughable, disgraceful, disrespectful, rude and mostly importantly incabable of getting the job to progress, the good ones left because they got fed up with Metricon politics. In my area I see some new Metricon houses going up and they appear to be faster than us ours if that means all is now good in my area I am not so sure. In my experience Metricon is a disgrace to the building industry and from what I have found in this forum, which prompted me to finally speak out, I am not the only one who is having a nightmare with them and that means that they are not learning from their mistakes. What is even more sad is that from what I have now heard they had these problems in Melbourne back in the boom time there many years ago but have not come to Queensland and fixed up their act, if I had known that along with all the things in this forum over 2 years ago I would have stayed away from these jokers.

+ Not many "pros". Perhaps that their Displays are some of the "best in business". But this becomes a con later on as you will be sorely disappointed when your dream home falls short of the display in quality.

- Dislike everything after first deposit stage.Brief time frame of our job. We built in Bayside area of Brisbane.First Deposit paid Oct 06, Contract Signed April 07 (Yes 7 months to get to contract!), Build start July 07, Delivery of Frame delayed additional 2 months. Build finish August 08 (Yes 13 months for build of 32sq low set). We had 7 site supervisors, last one being the actual area construction manager it got that bad, he left though 1 week before handover. Handover was a total disgrace and joke but after 22 months (from initial deposit) had had enough and just wanted to move in, we were paying rent and financially could not wait for them to fix everything, we could have been waiting another 6 months at the rate it had all gone pear shaped in the final weeks. In the months since last August, maintenance has been back sporadically to do things, but mostly in a half interested manner. Our 6 month "maintenance" letter arrived 2 months ago and this sparked interest from head office but in the end the maintenance people don’t follow up as promised, you have to chase them EVERY time.

25 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 6 helpful votes
Private message

Bad

2 out of 5, reviewed on May 06, 2009

This review is and update on my previous review dated November 29 2008. We have been living in our house now for several months and the final issues have ALL now been addressed. Our home is now of a standard that i would have expected on handover several months ago. We have had some jobs done 4 times to get it right like the replacement of 4 front doors and 2 Front Door Frames, but approval was given from higher up and they did it, and all outstanding issues have now all been resolved without the need for the building commission or VCAT. This has been a huge battle for myself and my wife and son and it has taken its toll on both myself and my family. I would not build with them again if i had a choice, In saying that if i had no choice but to choose a volume builder in geelong then i would use them again due to the fact that all work was completed in the end to the required standard, however "next time i would do it myself"

If you are building and dont have any issues with your builder i would still give this unqualified advise - "its just my way of thinking"

1. Make sure you put everything in writing and get a written response every time, never accept verbal when there is a problem
2. Keep running files for each contact with all correspondence in each file
3. Take lots of photos, they dont lie ( i took over 7000 in the end )but it was worth it
4. Be 100% truthful and honest with your builder, if you lie you will lose, honesty is the best policy
5. Be fair in what you ask for
6. Be prepared to do your research - you must understand what you are asking for if you want something fixed
7. Believe in yourself and never give up if you know your right, no matter what
8. Admit when you are wrong - you will be wrong sometimes :)

We paid our first $1000 early 2007 - moved in around mid 2008 and The last issue is completed at the start of May 2009 - its way too long in my opinion.

I will finish by saying that we are now happy with our house and it has now become our home at long last - we can now enjoy it and move on with our lives and put all this behind us.

If you have just read this, then "good luck with who ever you may choose"

+ Great sales staff - lovely display homes - all great till the building started - Able to resolve all issues in the end

- Poor workmanship till near the end - lack of support at first - constant stuff ups that i always had to pick it out myself - and worst of all is they think there good - Not

25 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 6 helpful votes
Private message

Build Location: Metropolitan Melbourne

Good

4 out of 5, reviewed on May 13, 2009

We have built the Aspen 28 in Caroline Springs Vic. Our Customer Service Co-Ordinator [name removed] was awesome!! I believe [name removed] made our experience with Metricon that little bit more enjoyable. [name removed] was fantastic, he was knowledgeable and always willing to help. On the construction side of things.... all went pretty well considering. There were a lot of small mistakes made,wrong size window, wrong front door, wrong spa, etc which we have taken in our stride. Mistakes are bound to happen. Our Site Manager [name removed] and Customer Service Co Ordinator [name removed] were great to deal with through construction. We had our 'final walk through' 5 weeks ago. A lot of small things and final touches were documented. We expected these improvements to be finalised within 2 - 3 weeks max. Settlement is due in 2 days time with a few items still outstanding.
The one comment I would like to make is how disrespectful tradies are of your home. They leave tools on your benchtops leaving scratches on them which then have to be replaced and also we found a lot of the tradies left our house open even at the final stages. All in all Metricon were great to deal with.

+ The Metricon name, great design, helpful staff, great offers

- extras, extras, extras. Also a lot of small mistakes made through the construction period

6 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Good

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 16, 2009

Only 3 wks into building the grandview 27, everything is running along very smoothly and quickly.
We fell in love the Metricon homes. Looked through other homes, nothing measured up the Metricon display homes. Being first home buyers, I felt the sales office rushed us, didn't explain things thoroughly, I felt this is needed especially to first homes buyers and first homes builders. After the process was finished with the sales office, it now moved onto the head officer, where our customers service liason officer, was excellent, took the stress out of everything, explained things thoroughly, always returned my calls and emails. Was very happy with the service at head office and with studio m. met with site supervisor - explained things well, very friendly. Always phones every week with updats. Going into the third week of construction, roof trussels should be fixed with roofing to be finised at the end of forth week.
Happy customer so far...
:)

+ Design, quality & head officer and builder customer service

- Only con so far would be the customer service in the sales office.

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

1 of 77 pages


Questions & Answers

Hi Metricon, we are building a Metricon Liberty in Sydney. We are two thirds of the way through the build and have identified significant structural defects in the house. Many elements do not comply with the tolerances in Australia standards and there are significant difference to the contract plans. The slab is not level, the walls and ceilings are not straight, the brickwork is sloppy, the waterproofing is defective, and the site drainage poses a significant risk of slab heave. After dismissive and unsatisfactory responses from Metricon's senior management in NSW over the past 2 months we have involved NSW Fair Trading and are awaiting their inspection. Has anyone else had a similar experience mid build? How did you resolve these problems? Do you have any suggestions to assist us and your senior management in NSW to rectify the defective workmanship? Peter

Peter asked on Jan 14, 2018

Answer this

Hi Peter, thank you for your enquiry. We are dissapointed to read of the issues you are experiencing. Please allow us to seek further feedback for you by contacting us via email to customercare@metricon.com.au referencing your contract number or full Lot address. We look forward to your contact.
Kind Regards,
Metricon Customer Care

Thanks Metricon, As suggested we have contacted your customer service by email last week. So far we have not received their acknowledgement of this mail. Our recent experience has been that Metricon's NSW senior management and customer service team do not acknowledge or return emails, faxes, letters or phone calls. Many other Metricon customers we know of have had this experience. Frustrated about this, we sent an email last week directly to Metricon's Joint CEO asking him to assist Metricon's NSW team resolve their defective works. This email was received by him and was forwarded to Metricon's NSW General Manager, who has since acknowledged the communication and has promised some action involving your Executive Building Manager. We are advised that his role is to 'clean things up' Peter

Hi Metricon, I refer to the earlier question I asked you about the '6 stage quality assurance process' in your marketing communications. Thank you for listing the 5 building stages. Can you please provide some details about how each building stage is thoroughly assessed to assure ultimate quality. What processes does Metricon conduct within the building stages to assure the quality? Also, what is the 6th stage that is mentioned in Metricon's brochure? (In your response you only mention 5 stages?) Can you please provide some details, or direct me to where I can find this specific information. Please help me to understand what this actually means when my home is being built. How is Metricon different to "other builders" regarding quality. Peter

Peter asked on Jan 12, 2018

Answer this

Hi Peter, It is good you are keeping the lines of communication open. I am learning a lot from you, and it a good thing that everyone talks and communicates. All the best, sincerely.

Hi Metricon, We are building a Metricon Liberty 45 in Sydney. We are two thirds of the way through the build and have identified significant structural defects in the house. Many elements do not comply with the tolerances in Australia standards, and there are differences to the contract plans. The slab is not level, the walls and ceilings are not straight, the brickwork is sloppy, the waterproofing is defective, and the site drainage poses a significant risk of slab heave. After dismissive and unsatisfactory responses from Metricon's senior management in NSW over the past 2 months we have involved NSW Fair Trading and are now awaiting their inspection. Has anyone else had a similar experience mid build? How do you resolve these problems? Do you have any suggestions to assist us and your senior management in NSW to rectify the defective workmanship? Peter

Hi Metricon, We are building a Metricon Liberty 45 in Sydney. We are two thirds of the way through the build and have identified significant structural defects in the house. Many elements do not comply with the tolerances in Australia standards, and there are differences to the contract plans. The slab is not level, the walls and ceilings are not straight, the brickwork is sloppy, the waterproofing is defective, and the site drainage poses a significant risk of slab heave. After dismissive and unsatisfactory responses from Metricon's senior management in NSW over the past 2 months we have involved NSW Fair Trading and are now awaiting their inspection. Has anyone else had a similar experience mid build? How do you resolve these problems? Do you have any suggestions to assist us and your senior management in NSW to rectify the defective workmanship? Peter

See all 5 answers
Can anyone good, honest and reliable builders in the Melbourne area, who specialise in sub-dividing / building medium density houses? Many thanks

Brittany S asked on Jan 11, 2018

See all 290 questions about Metricon