Melbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Dec 2018

The best customer service ive EVER experienced!

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 14, 2019

We originally chose a builder that went into liquidation. Choosing Mimosa after all that drama was a dream as they took the time to take us through EVERY single step, helped us with our colour selection with a professional interior designer (we didnt have this with the last builder that went into liquidation so it was a surprise to us), emailed us every fortnight to update on everything that was happening with the build, even sent us pictures of each stage as my husband and I could not get out to inspect the house until lock up stage. We even changed positions of our master bedroom and front lounge which was no issue with Mimosa and easy to change. And you know what, best decision to date as we are now in our beautiful home and dont regret anything. Even when we had issues with the next door builders using our land for their purpose which took alot of time, our site supervisor quickly fixed that. From who we had originally, to who we went through and now living in our home, its been a great experience dealing with Mimosa and everyone involved in the process to get us to completion!

Only reason for giving 4 stars is because of some minor cosmetic things to be fixed which we're fortunate that Mimosa has a 6 month contract to come and fix all cosmetics issues after handover so no big deal for us, but apart from that i would happily go through and build with Mimosa again, and rave on about them to family and friends!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Mimosa Homes Official

Hi Lunafae, Congratulations on building your new home. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your wonderful review and providing us with your feedback on your building exper... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Marvelous! What a Mimosa ‘masterpiece’ and excellent support

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 08, 2019

From the first time my wife and I walked into the Mimosa Homes display home, we were very impressed. First with the layouts, designs and décor of the homes, then with the amazing customer service of the sales team. Ross in particular was excellent in his service, knowledge, kindness and in particular his genuine care to want to help us build our dream home. The Color Selection appointment was fantastic with every department being very knowledgeable in their field and helping us make some great choices for our home. Our home was part of the Lifestyle range and came with many great inclusions so only minimal upgrades were required.

Building a new home is always a journey from start to end. The journey is often daunting and overwhelming, but choosing a good builder makes it easier and Mimosa Homes is a wonderful home builder. With Mimosa Homes, the process is laid out from start to end, so you have an idea of the steps and the timeline of the build. You move from picking and customising your floor plan, to choosing your house's interior and exterior look and feel, to construction and inspection at each milestone stage, and then to completion and handover. So the plan is set clear by Mimosa Homes.
Helping us through the build process was our customer support and site supervisor, as problems arise or if we had any questions we contacted them. Having a good customer support (Chantelle, Catherine) and site supervisor Luke made the build much smoother as any issues were resolve capably and promptly.

In the end, we cannot be more pleased with the home. Mimosa Homes' build quality is fantastic, with some minor fixes need after handover, which were done promptly. Its been a worth wild journey, made easier with Mimosa Homes. I strongly recommend Mimosa Homes to build tour dream home.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Mimosa Homes Official

Hi MD Anwar Pervez, Congratulations on building your new home. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your fantastic review and providing us with your feedback on your buildi... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Oct 2018

TERRIBLE... If you're looking for a good experience building a home: AVOID

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 02, 2019

We moved into our new home in October. Our plumbing still doesn’t work and our power randomly shuts off throughout the day EVERY DAY. Today (a very hot Christmas Day) we spent the entire day without any power, no air conditioning and no way to cook food for our family. These builders have had every opportunity to fix these problems over the past 3 months and have showed absolutely no care or desire to resolve anything for us. Hopefully they start to take things a little more seriously and deliver us what we have already paid them for.
As for my experience as it stands now, Mimosa Homes should be avoided at all costs if you want to have a functional safe home.

Edit: 2/1/19
We were contacted by a very nice man representing Mimosa Homes...
He came to our home and made a list of the current problems to be fixed.
He has assured us that these things will be sorted out quickly.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Mimosa Homes Official

Hi DBZ, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is extremely unfortunate to read that your experience with us so far has been an unpleasant one especially over the Christmas break... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Dec 2018

Excellent customer service and My supervisor Nathan is good man , he did great job. Thanks for all

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 22, 2018

It's bit higher cost than I expect but it's okay because they have done good job. Our supervisor Nathan was good man and Chloe who look after during construction and she update every thing about construction on time and letting me know and making for ready all coming paperwork. Overall everyone have done great job and I got good Christmas gift as beautiful home. Thanks for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Mimosa Homes Official

Hi Sohi, Congratulations on building your new home. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your wonderful review and providing us with your feedback on your building experie... read more »

Melbourne

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Dec 2018

A welcome Christmas present delivered by Mimosa Homes

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 21, 2018

I have to say it's been a great experience engaging with Mimosa to build our new home. The sales process, involved us presenting many changes and Bianca's patience and professionalism stayed steadfast. Bernie was very transparent and thorough at contract signing which left us very clear and reassured. Colour selection was also a fun swift process with Tamara. The main building process, involved more changes to suit easement alterations and again we were all supported with well established procedures and processes. Mimosa have been excellent with their customer engagement throughout, providing regular communication updates and guiding us through the whole journey. We established a good working relationship with all staff encountered along the way, but in particular would like to acknowledge the efforts of our site supervisor (Kim) who was easy to engage with and consistently met our expectations with our different requests and needs.
We pressed for a our custom home to be completed before Christmas and Mimosa met the challenge delivering us a quality built home. We had appointed an independent building inspector for the different completion stages and sure there were some issues identified, but Mimosa dealt with them promptly, professionally and always manage expectations effectively with us.
Christmas will be much enjoyed this year in our brand new house - thanks very much Mimosa!!

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Mimosa Homes Official

Hi Glenn, Congratulations on building your new home. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your wonderful review and providing us with your feedback on your building experie... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Dec 2018

Excellent experience, highly recommend

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 18, 2018

First of all, Huss in Sales, was sensational, he was really patient and knowledgeable. Huge tick. We then had Ria internally deal with next, again sensational. Huge Tick.
The girls in the colour selection studio, really generous with time and guidance and we have a terrific home as we imagined it to be when we started. Huge tick.
We had Jason as our site supervisor, and not that I plan on building anytime soon again, i would enquire where he was working and request him specifically. Very professional and up front, has held up his word from day one. Huge tick.
All costs etc were as discussed, no hidden fees or gimmicks. Mimosa Homes have provided us with a great home and we are very thankful for all the team we have dealt with. Not one complaint.
A company is only as good as the people it has working for them, and Mimosa Homes has terrific people.
Really glad we chose them for this process.

A huge decider for us to go with Mimosa was the quick and attentive responses from Huss on initial enquiries. Other Builders didnt get back to us unless prompted 4 or 5 times.

It was a good vibe we got and we definitely recommend Mimosa Homes, upon completion of our beautiful new home.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Mimosa Homes Official

Hi Dan, Congratulations on building your new home. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your wonderful review and providing us with your feedback on your building experienc... read more »

Wollert

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Dec 2018

Building our family home

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 18, 2018

The build was completed very quickly with minimum of fuss.
The Site Manager (Anthony C) was very good in responding to the numerous queries made by us.
Whilst there was some little things that required fixing we are very happy with the overall experience
The cost was also very good when compared to what others were offering.
Don't have a bad word to say about them and would happily recommend to others

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Mimosa Homes Official

Hi Tyso, Congratulations on building your new home. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your fantastic review and providing us with your feedback on your building experi... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Apr 2016

Worst experience ever for maintenance

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 17, 2018

First they said whenever the cracks will come we will fix it up...one of many door getting struck from last 2 years and if they put towel holder and toilet holder there is no timber behind it and when its come off they gonna say aww that's not bba that's not bba..everything is not in bba....it means when we are going there to build the home they are so good but after terrible....i always recommend my friends to go there for building all have same terrible experience will never suggest anyone again...

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Mimosa Homes Official

Hi Harpreet, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is extremely unfortunate to read that your experience with us so far has been an unpleasant one. I have sent you a private mes... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Exciting journey to build our first home

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 15, 2018

Journey to build our house with Mimosa started a year and half ago meeting Huss. Huss as the new home consultant understood our wishes and presented different options to satisfy them. He was very helpful and provided optimized options before locking us with the deposit. Colour selection process was pretty average with consultant running short of time to complete some of the actions. Mimosa should focus on assigning more time during the colour selection or have some pre-preparation done to avoid going through duplications and obvious items.

Ria was helpful to finalize the estimates, contracts and pre-site preparations. She was up to date and prompt with all the queries and did a smooth transfer to the Customer Support Officer (CSO).

Construction phase lasted for more than 8 months which was a major concern we had. We did see that Mimosa team didn’t quite manage the tradie dependencies and other delays. Nick, our supervisor was a very nice individual who was good in his work and always had quality in top of his list. This was great as we always knew the end product would be of high quality despite the challenges. He was providing updates frequently and worked with us during the inspections to get things right.

The person who handled our pressure along the journey was Kristen. She as the CSO, did a fantastic job in managing expectations and providing us with frequent updates. She was able to reduce the tension for us by providing updates and working with Mimosa management to speed things up.

In overall, it was a nice journey to get our dream house built. We've moved in few weeks ago and quite happy with the standard and quality of work. Mimosa has a good team to move into next level with some tweaks to the process.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Mimosa Homes Official

Hi Hisny, Congratulations on building your new home. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your great review and providing us with your feedback on your building experience ... read more »

melbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 comments
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Apr 2016

Maintenance department

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 14, 2018

After I moved in from 2 years ago. I had problems with the kitchen tap was leaking and they sent some one to fix it but they had so long time until they came as it wasn't argent job for them then they had taken some photos. I kept Following up with them what is happening. After long long time they said they have to order new tap at the end they had replaced. After while I had the same problem again and they had taken long time to send someone to fix it again.
And now I am still have the same problem again and the water leaking everything where on the beanch I called the maintenance department to fix what they did and the same problem again and again I do not know what they did.
They told me it is not covered now it is not construction problem you can call Plummer or the home insurance.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Mimosa Homes Official

Hi Lydia, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is extremely unfortunate to read that your experience with us so far has been an unpleasant one. I have sent you a private messag... read more »

I didn't receive any private message

Mimosa Homes Official

Hi Lydia,

I have received your lot details via a private message, thank you.
I have passed your concerns to our Maintenance Department so they can assist you further.

Regards,
Anne-Marie

See all 5 comments

Melbourne

  • 1 review
  • 1 comment
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Pleasant build journey, excellent customer service and building

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 14, 2018

Pre-Build: Tyler was amazing. She was very patient in all discussions to ensure we get the best deal with all the add-on's we needed. We changed our mind on various things many times and always found her to be prompt with providing us updated drafts of the plans.

Comparing to other builders: Before finalising Mimosa as our builder, we did a lot of research and must have visited dozens of builders' display homes, as well as went to see their gallery/showroom for their product selection. One of the main reasons to go with Mimosa was that many 'upgrades' in other builders were 'standard' with Mimosa and esp. some of the specific bricks/tiles/stone benches etc. that we needed were available in Mimosa's emporium as standard. Overall, when we compared costs and products values, Mimosa came out on top.

Contract process: After deposit, colour selection was scheduled promptly. We had already made number of visits to emporium but still the final selection can be stressful. Luckily, our consultant Seta was very accommodating and patient, and gave us good advice. Mimosa has other consultants too, and on Saturdays you can visit the emporium and talk to the consultants, they can give good advice (we utilised one excellent advice from another consultant and were very happy with the choice). Contract documents will be provided for pre-read etc. and the process is very smooth. Mimosa was again very accepting of our requests for changes even up until the last moment before the contract and we really appreciated that.

Post contract and build: The progress was very fast. All paper work (permits, etc.) were done timely, we were kept well informed and slab was soon laid (in June). It was amazing and quite surprising how fast things moved after the slab and soon frame and fix stages were done as well. However, things then slowed down a bit and then slowed down even further - from a point where based on the fast progress we were excited for a handover by end of fourth month (Sep) to a point where it slowed down much that we actually got handover by end of sixth month (Nov). Six month is normal I guess, we didn't mind getting it in November, but the earlier fast pace had just gotten us excited and raised expectation I guess.

Private building surveyor/inspector: We hired one (despite the costs - you have to pay the surveyor, plus Mimosa charges 250$ per inspection). However, the surveyor was highly impressed and remarked on the high quality of the build with almost no issue. We were very pleased of course and our trust in Mimosa's built increased a lot.

Final inspection and handover: We did a very detailed/thorough inspection, noted some items which were mostly cosmetic really, and most of them were fixed by handover date. Site supervisor was excellent throughout and he took us through all the details on the handover date. Mimosa sends out a gift hamper as well, which is a very nice touch. Few items were pending to be fixed at handover date and a couple of others we noted after we moved in. Mimosa was very prompt in getting these fixed immediately. So far we have no complains at all.

Overall communication and customer service: Communication was excellent throughout. You can expect same day response most of the times, or at max a next day response. I do not remember any communication where a response was delayed. They are always very polite, professional and explain everything very well. Ellie, Chantelle and Renee took care of us from Mimosa's side and were all amazing. Site supervisor was Rob, who was very professional and we liked how thorough he was, and with great attention to detail and very much personally on top of everything. He kept us informed, was always willing to meet with us on site and explain things, and a great guy overall. No faults with communication, customer service, or the way the build was managed.

Costs; There were no cost overruns, or any additional site costs, etc. or anything of that sort. We paid the fix price we had agreed at the start. No hidden charges. (The build contract will specify that you have to pay connection/usage charges for utilities, plus the 250$ for private inspectors visits - so we paid that other than the contract price. Everything is transparent and noted in contract.)

One tip: This is a general tip, not just with Mimosa. If you make upgrades or changes to floor plans, make sure you look at every aspect of it, don't assume builder will, by default, blueprint it in the same way it's in your mind. For e.g., we added a study table in our study nook. We never checked the height in the floor plans. We only noticed how very high it was once it was installed. In Mimosa's display homes, it's not as high, and we merely assumed they would have kept a 'standard' height, but they had actually kept it higher and we never really checked how high it was noted on the floor plan. Also, with the windows - these are generally aligned on top with the doors in a standard ceiling/door height scenario. However, if you go with higher ceilings and doors, do not automatically assume the windows will be moved up a bit as well to continue to align with the doors at the top. This didn't happen with us and again, is something we missed in the floor plan and only noticed how awkward it looks having the windows lower than the door (you don't have to increase window height, it's just that they need to start at the top at same line as the doors). Don't assume the builder will advise of the best aesthetics or practicality in case where you make a custom change. So always be careful with that.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Mimosa Homes Official

Hi Ali, Congratulations on building your new home. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your wonderful review and providing us with your feedback on your building experienc... read more »

Thank you Anne-Marie. The team was indeed very nice and the build was very high quality as certified by our inspector as well. So big thanks to Mimosa :)
Cheers!

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Love the house

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 13, 2018

Mimosa homes have very professional staff who loves to help their customers from sells to handover of house. I had very positive experience with Mimosa homes during my first home, 5 years back, which led me to build my another home with them. Build quality and workmanship are always of good quality and the same have been expand to my home too. There were not much fuss during construction and staff have always kept me updated with work progress. There was not much difference in final cost compared to estimated cost, other than few changes required to meet with 6 star energy rating for house.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Mimosa Homes Official

Hi Chintan, Congratulations on building your new home. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your wonderful review and providing us with your feedback on your building exper... read more »

  • 1 review
  • 1 question
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Our Dream Home Complete with the Help of Mimosa

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 13, 2018

The completed cost was an extreme shock to us as it didn't come close to other builders. Was a lot less. So very happy. And so many more inclusions that other builders didn't include. We enjoyed every step of the way and our supervisor Nathan was phenomenal. Along with Bianca front first point of contact at meeting her at a display home. The only thumbs down is not knowing we didnt have a TV antenna included in our build and no one giving us the option to have one or not. Just unhappy that no one told us it wasnt included.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Mimosa Homes Official

Hi Kim, Congratulations on building your new home. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your great review and providing us with your feedback on your building experience wi... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Great experience

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 12, 2018

This was my third experience building a home (two prior with different company).
I chose mimosa because of feedback from a friend and they were willing to modify the house because of our difficult block, the promotion they had running and the fixed site costs.
The basic range is great so you don't need to upgrade everything when you reach colour selection and price of upgrades are very reasonable, in comparison to other builders.
The customer support and the site manager updated me regularly on the progress of the build, and the timeframe it took to construct was reasonable.
The final inspection went smoothly and the only issues that came up in PCI were paint defects.
Overall had a fantastic experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Mimosa Homes Official

Hi Ayesha, Congratulations on building your new home! Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your fantastic review. We are so pleased to read that your experience has bee... read more »

Manor Lakes

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Fantastic experience with Mimosa Homes :)

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 11, 2018

I am very happy with my build from Mimosa Homes. Building is a highly stressful time, and I had read a mixture of reviews for Mimosa before deciding to build with them. Some of the negative reviews seem to have come from impatient people who I envisage moan and leave negative reviews about lots of things online in their spare time.. so don't let that put you off!

Danny at the Jubilee sales office was up front, honest and came across trustworthy from the very start. Once I came across the Johanna 240 retreat floorpan I knew I'd found the one!

I'd recommend going to the colour selection place before your actual appointment; that way you can just finalise decisions rather than trying to decide on things in a shorter time frame. I am very happy how my colours turned out. I only opted for a few upgrades in the colour selection process (undermined sink, lowered ceiling in kitchen etc) as my colour specialist was very honest about what was cheaper to do myself after handover. I very much value that kind of honesty, and it definitely helped create a feeling of trust towards the team at Mimosa Homes.

I hired Darbecca as independent inspectors and they inspected 4 stages of the build (the only one they didn't was the pre pour). They found minor things at each stage, so I would recommend getting independent inspectors from the perspective of having another set of eyes look over everything.

My site supervisor changed twice, and my contact in the office changed about 3 times I think! Whilst it was a little annoying, I appreciate that it's just the nature of the job (again, some people might feel inclined to leave a negative review because of something like this). I always received polite and prompt respondence from whoever I was contacting at Mimosa Homes.

Jason, my final site supervisor, was only ever a text/call away. Super helpful, honest and up front. He walked me through every defect fixed in the independent inspections, and made sure I was happy with everything. He was a star!

Electricity and water usage estimates during the build were almost exact. I am also very happy that Mimosa offer fixed site costs (me neighbour had to pay almost $40,000 to remove the rock in their build, and I didn't pay anything, despite being told there was a LOT of rock on my land).

Overall, I am super happy with my build and would thoroughly recommend Mimosa Homes! :)

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Mimosa Homes Official

Hi Hannah, Congratulations on building your new home! Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your fantastic review. We are so pleased to read that your experience has bee... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Dec 2018

Allmost everything good - Except defaced facade :(

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 06, 2018

Build was managed well but continuous change in coordinator was very frustrating. Workmanship we never faced but build quality bit of average, the façade on my property is defaced. I didn't like it at all. it is not as I was presented on schematics. During final key handover inspection we disagree on the all works completed to satisfaction. Someone from the higher management must look in to contracting person who did façade work, the paster sheet is arched, render is uneven. Any dumb person can say, this is very unprofessional finish. However by saying that, I am not condemning last supervisor L**e, he is a gentleman and did help us as much as he can. I appreciate his dedication and honesty. You need more people like him. But Mimosa must review whosoever they subcontracting and pay attention to details. Customer pays best price for best work not crap work. In our case we did receive crap façade work.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Mimosa Homes Official

Hi Kiran, Congratulations on building your new home. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your review and providing us with your feedback on your building experience with u... read more »

Hi Anne, we didn't agree on the points of final inspection and asked our supervisor to organise Mimosa to rectify the defaced façade. I don't see the value of money when i look at the façade. Also,... read more »

Mimosa do not deliver what they showcase and that is "Perfection"

See all 7 comments

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Oct 2018

Highly recommend Mimosa!!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 06, 2018

Our experience with Mimosa is very positive. We received an excellent and satisfied service from Mimosa throughout our building process. Huss our sales representative is amazing and helped us with all our queries and encourage us to go with Mimosa homes. At the administrative level our administrative consultants Donna, helped us a lot and explained things to our satisfaction and provided us with frequent updates. Whenever we had a question we got a quick reply from Mimosa by email or call. Our construction supervisor Jason did a fantastic job in the construction process. There were no issues during handover and the build quality was good. Overall, we were very happy with everything so far. Would definitely recommend Mimosa!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Mimosa Homes Official

Hi Amit, Congratulations on building your new home. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your great review and providing us with your feedback on your building experience w... read more »

Melbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Aug 2018

My first home was worst.

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 19, 2018

Worst experience and now warning my other friends that they should learn from my horrible experience.
It started with first thing when my work was started and slab was there. There were some finances issues and they said I should show them bank statement, which I did within few hours but they didn't read my mail and stopped my work. I again called them and they start the work.

Then their customer service is horrible. After lockup stage they told me that by third week we will do the PCI. After the lock up stage there were few problems regarding my switches i.e. theatre room didn't had TV socket instead it was installed in lounge, the family room network point was installed near sink instead of next to tv point and my centre bench kitchen switch height was visible. I spoke to my customer service and she said ok, your site supervisor will do this, when I asked him, he told me that he will do it on the day of PCI. After that I kept emailing them that it should be done and for 2 weeks they didn't replied me and they said my CSR is on vacation, before 2 or 3 days of PCI, I got email that my CSR has been changed, so I emailed her asking her to complete my work before PCI but no response.

When they gave me the date of the PCI, I sent them email on the same day about independent inspection they told me that you have to give us 7 days notice, I said ok I will not do it on the same day and will do it later on as there are some work left; they didn't replied me. Then on the day of PCI my site supervisor told me that no he couldn't do that as it's not on your plan, I called the new CSR, she said that my old CSR has left the company and there is no written that she agrees to do that, I asked her then how come my site supervisor has agreed to do this things on the day of PCI on SMS. After arguing a lot, I said I will do the independent inspection and won't sign the PCI. The site supervisor shouted at me and said that I have wasted his time and should at least sign the attendance of PCI and do not sign that house is complete. I signed that and after that asked my CSR to give me date to do independent inspection, they said no you have signed the PCI and now they won't allow me to do independent inspection until hand over and after that they are not responsible to do everything, its independent inspector opinion.

I made the complaint in VIC consumer affairs DBDRV, but they said they will get back to me in 70 days. Obviously I couldn't wait for that long, I asked them to do the handover. They called me and gave me this Friday date to get the handover. I was trying to get the fence before the appliance installation but couldn't get any tradies to work on weekend. So I called them and asked them to install the appliances not on friday and hold for few days. They clearly declined this and said if I don't come on handover time then it will be done and we will not be liable.

I came as instructed and to my surprise the work wasn't done, still the plumbing guys haven't come which I asked you it should be done before the handover and also the cleaning and the cooling/heating guys weren't there.

Beside this my site supervisor has signed the document and said they will come within 1 hour, I said ok I will roam around but they should come by that time and he said yes they would and also give me a call.

When I was about to leave he again asked me for my keys as their keys weren't working and they couldn't open the main door, so he asked for my keys again.

After couple of hours I came back and to my surprise the work was still being done and the GARAGE was also open!I tried to call my site supervisor multiple times and there was no response, beside trying multiple times and both plumber and heating/cooling guys were working there.

I had to go so I tried calling Site supervisor but no answer so I asked them that you don't need to go inside and they said no.

And the next day my agent called me that there has been break in and my kitchen white goods have been stolen and there is mud and mess everywhere, she thinks they came through garage and then left from alfresco.

But when I went there I found no damage to the garage, to the locks just found one fly screen broken but no damage to window lock.

I have made a complaint and let see how they respond, but due to my previous experience, I have no hope with them but please do consider these things while building your home

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Mimosa Homes Official

Hi Syed, We appreciate your feedback as it is important to us. We are, and always have tried to resolve your queries & concerns by working with you in accordance with the signed contractual docu... read more »

Yes, your team has responded after DBDRV intervention and I am happy with your representative response. Now hoping for that my issues will be listened and we will reach some middle grounds.

MELBOURNE

  • 1 review
  • 1 comment
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Aug 2018

Great experience with Mimosa

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 15, 2018

Our building experience with Mimosa was mainly good. The salesman at Point Cook, Jay, was very pleasant to deal with and was helpful and courteous. We looked at various builder's plans but the plan we chose from Mimosa - Johanna 24 is unique. It has wide entry, open hallway and plenty of lights. We were looking for bedroom at the back as well as children bedroom next to it and this plan provides both. The base price was reasonable so we could take the liberty to upgrade a lot. Mimosa also provided fixed site cost. Once the job started, they had everything planned. We often passed by and there was always trades working there, We had a couple of minor issues, the job supervisor chased the trade and made sure it was fixed.

The colour selection process can be improved. The person we dealt with initially had no idea of pricing which made it inconvenient for us. Good thing is she is no longer there. We had to take time off work a few times and drive 45 minutes to their office each way, each time as during ordering of materials, Mimosa found some items were discontinued. I suggest Mimosa creates an online portal so customers are better informed before they attend for the colour selection and can also browse and select if a product is not available.

Overall, we are satisfied customer and are happy to recommend Mimosa.

Once the six months inspection is done, I'll provide further feedback on the quality and after sales service.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Mimosa Homes Official

Hi Disgruntled5252, Congratulations on building your new home. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your great review and providing us with your feedback on your building... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Oct 2018

Straight forward build

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 15, 2018

Construction began 14/05/2018 - Completed 31/10/2018 (Handover date). Archie design, Stanley façade.
Sales:
Initial consult with Tyler was great, she was very helpful and professional up until I went to colours. There was minor errors through engineering plans etc in which they rectified once told, everything was finalised and correct on the final version(s). Tyler was probably one of the main reasons I chose to build with Mimosa, as well as the savings of site costs, she was always there to talk to and help and made you feel at ease (especially being a first time build). I had to make the Archie plan smaller as my block was only 14 x 28 so there was a charge for that roughly $4000 from memory, however I asked Tyler if she could make it wider as well as I found it a little narrow which helped, and for no extra charge.

Colours:
I pre-selected and pre-quoted a lot of items prior to my colours appointment as I was aware that it was a relatively short appointment and once off appointment (had to pay for any additional appointments), so I was prepared. Olivia was great and understood the style I was going for as well as Naomi (who I also had on the day of my colours appointment). They made the process quite fun. I second guessed a lot of the decisions I made (on a weekly basis), but they all paid off in the end.
Pre-site / Contract:
There were a lot of pages and things to review with a fine tooth comb, so if this is a first time build then either be prepared to spend your time understanding and learning about the process and legalities or take it in your stride. I learnt as much as I could from the people that I spoke to but was open minded in the fact that we would face (hopefully) minor issues.
There was a change in both head office contact and site supervisor, which can be a little frustrating as you build your relationship with the previous officers and then have to do it again, however the head office staff where all quite helpful and Chloe always provided me with regular updates.
Construction:
Unfortunately - you are restricted from viewing your house at leisure (which is really difficult, when you just want to see every nail go in!) and it is quite difficult to get regular walk throughs however I tried to organise catch ups whenever possible. I learnt of some errors the tradies made during those catch up, which I probably otherwise wouldn't have known, so it is definitely worthwhile to make you feel a little more at ease, as you're spending a fair bit of time, money (and stress) in the build. Foster a good relationship with your supervisor because they are your biggest contact during the build.

Now:
We're in our house and it is beautiful. I went with Mimosa because I saved on site costs and was able to spend more on upgrades and get the things I wanted inside the home. It looks great inside and it is of quite a high standard and the upgraded items i.e. high ceilings/doors, upgraded concrete tiles, upgraded stone, taps, standalone bath etc - really do make a BIG difference. I hear all of the horror stories about building, and to be honest did take quite a gamble, because you never really know what to expect even if you do all of your research, and I would say it paid off in the end. We weren't delayed with any time frames, I maintained good relationships with everyone and the whole process was straight forward and a great learning experience for myself and can use in the future and if I ever decide to build again. I would make a few changes if I could've done it all over again, but that is all part of the learning process. Our neighbour (who is building with another builder) is having a horrible time, and I am grateful that mine has been quite pleasant!

Build cost was approx. $267,000 - there were additional charges like a double bricked internal wall required in our garage ($1200), woodchips required around the house during build (after contract signed) for the brickies due to winter and mud ($550), additional charges to meet energy requirements - so I would allow around $5000 for random additional charges through the process and fingers crossed site costs don't escalate as that is potentially the biggest variable e.g. if they hit rock... If you have land and want to build - lock in one relatively quick as the base prices go up pretty vastly.

Hope this helped someone and good luck!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Mimosa Homes Official

Hi EB2018, Congratulations on building your new home. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your fantastic review and providing us with your feedback on your building expe... read more »

1 of 7 pages


Questions & Answers

Mimosa, Will you be sticking to Technika on the new year or will you have Smeg as an option for appliances upgrade?

Ccc asked on Dec 09, 2018

Is anyone else out there having trouble getting Mimosa to start their house? We've been "drip fed" with request after request, each one "not going to delay the commencement" yet here we are, three months after settlement, still without even so much as a builder's fence! Staff don't respond as promised when you raise concerns with them, and when you do get a response, they contradict each other so you don't know what's true and what's not. Very very frustrated at this point, and wondering if we are alone in this?

Suzanna asked on Oct 09, 2018

Answer this

Hi Suzanna. Which area are you building and who is your customer service person? Ask Mimosa to give you either Renne or Katrina as a customer service person. Myself and the family have built 10 homes with Mimosa in Arnolds Creek and Woodlea and building another 3 now and we had no issues.

Yea same thing here, not answering my calls not replying emails. Causing delays ,just to let Christmas holidays come so that they can start after new year. I’m building in lara .My land is titled in August and still didn’t started anything yet. People are halfway and we didn’t even started yet . My friends are laughing on me .Someone’s name Jayde taking care of my file , she is very slow ,taking ages to reply.
Not happy at all with mimosas, wouldn’t suggest anyone else

I'm considering Mimosa for my build soon, but wanted to know about getting custom electrical and data work done. Can I get a 3rd party involved during the build if Mimosa are unable to assist?

Jon M asked on Sep 13, 2018

Answer this

From my experience so far they don’t allow 3rd parties only allow people to come to do things like blind measuring but not to do any works during construction.

Bear in mind they now charge a fee to have private inspectors if you wish to use them

They don’t allow third parties to come on site during the build...so unless Mimosa can assist you will have to do it after handover!

Hi Jon M,
If you decide to build your home with Mimosa Homes, once you have an appointment with one of our Sales Consultants to discuss the details of your home/land you can advise them of the electrical items you wish to place into your home. Our sales consultants can check with our head office/electricians to see if your additional requests can be accommodated and then these items will be added to your contract for our electricians to complete for you.
We do not allow for third parties to be involved in the construction process and any works outside of your contract will have to be conducted after the handover of your home.

Thank you,
Anne-Marie

Customer Care - Mimosa Homes

See all 4 answers
See all 47 questions about Mimosa Homes