This product has been discontinued by Nissan.

Review rating:
Generations:
Filter By:

Sydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: E51 (2004-2009) Badge: Highwaystar Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Jan 2017

great car

4 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 17, 2018

the 8 seaters Nissan elgrand is great (my one is only missing the cruise control ( which is a problem if you drive long distances ) but in general its very very reliable car and great spaces inside. missing one star only for the problem of having the vents of the AC in the boot and if they are covered you have no AC. so you cant really fill the back boot !

Was this review helpful? Yes

BENTLEIGH EAST

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 questions
  • 3 answers
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: E51 (2004-2009) Badge: Highwaystar Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Sep 2008

E51 Serious 3 - 2.5 Engine

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 13, 2018

I have the car for two weeks now, I choose the 2.5 over the 3.5 due to its thirty fuel consumption.
Fuel consumption is around 13L per 100KM, mainly driving to work during peak hour. I've seem 10L per 100KM in a highway. But you need to control your foot to achieve this level of fuel consumption.
And you don't expect any acceleration from the 2.5 engine, but I am happy with that as I am driving under 70KM most of the time.
I am very impressed with the car, the level of equipment and luxury has exceeded my expectation. Auto slide doors, it REC CD, it stores CDs in the hard drive, leather is in good quality not cheap leather, it is very roomy inside with huge boot at the back if you don't use the third seats. All seats are very comfortable.
With the price that I have paid, there is just no competition in the market. As Toyota Alphard is two or three times more expensive than Elgrand with similar age and condition.

The only drawbacks are
2.5 Engine is a bit overpower, but it is enough for daily drive, pick up kids cursing in the high way, but just don't expect to do any overtaking. (3.5 gives you far more power, but the downsize is, it is very thirsty)
It needs 95 or above, it is more expensive to run, as it compares with Honda Odyssey or Toyota Tarago, as both car can use 91.

But this car is flooded with luxury equipments, it is far far far better than my previous Honda Odyssey Luxury, Elgrand has set a new standard in terms of luxury in people mover, the only competition that I could think of is Toyota Alphard, however the price is way more expensive

Was this review helpful? Yes

Grays Point, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 answers
  • 10 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: E52 (2010-2018) Badge: Highwaystar Premium Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Jul 2018

Best Value for Money Luxury MPV

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 31, 2018

I witnessed this type of magic many times over the last 10 years. Most ladies would arrive to test drive Nissan Elgrand reluctantly, forced by their husbands. “ Too big”, “too boxy”, “ugly” – these are just some of the comments written all over their unsmiling faces.

But as soon as that electric door opens softly, ta-daa: an immediate change of attitude.

Elgrand’s unexpected ultra fine interior wins every heart. The quality of the leather is superb. All trims and plastics, knobs and handles are fabulous and very nice to touch… Such luxury is unseen on local people movers even at the highest price tag.

Then ladies take in clever and spacious layout, recliner chairs with leg rests, huge drop down DVD in the middle row, plush tailored floor mats and … they fall deeper in love with it.

By the time I finish going through all the features such as 360 all around cameras, ABS, VDC, Proximity Entry, Keyless Start, Sat Nav, etc., they don’t want to test drive anything else.

A few more key points?

• E52 comes with economic 2,5L and powerful 3,5L V6 engine. Both low maintenance.

• When you are driving E52, you feel like you are inside a sports refined sedan: it rides smoothly and handles extremely well.

• AWD on demand is a hit with a lot of my customers for extra safety on wet or unsealed roads.

• Nissan Elgrand’s average service bill is around $200, twice a year. It is very reliable as long as you put premium petrol and service it regularly. It is one of the cheapest MPVs to run and maintain. Petrol consumption is around 11.5L combined.


• E52 is 1815mm, so its cabin is perfectly comfortable even for very tall people.

• Extra features include premium Bose sound system or equivalent, Radar Cruise Control, Collision Avoidance Assist, and Moving Object Detection.


E52 is not offered brand new in Australia. As of Autumn 2018, average market price for E52 model 2010 - 2012 is $30,000. Some high-end models such as VIP and Rider can go above 40K if mileage is low.

If you are a car enthusiast, looking for a great ride, genuine luxury and want to make every dollar count, please do yourself a favor and bring your better half to test drive Nissan Elgrand E52. You will come across an advanced, refined and high-class vehicle at a very reasonable price.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 questions
  • 3 answers
Private message

Generation: E50 (1997-2001) Badge: Highwaystar Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Jul 2017

E59

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 10, 2018

Wo got this van 2nd hand thinking this world be great for transporting 7 kids and two adults. Seating wise is great, space wise when you have 3 carseats and 2 nappy bags and 1 single seat pram no nor do much having 3 kids under 5 in carseats there doesn't leave much room. While a great van I wouldn't purchase another, I live in SA and the Rego office doesn't like them and transferring to SA Rego from interstate or re registering is a major headache, I brought it from VIC unlicenced and had to get it recomplaince plated for 7 seats as it was only plated for 5 when come into the country have a new carseat bolt installed into the floor before I could re Rego it. SA doesn't like elgrands and makes to do hard to Rego them here. Once they start breaking down or need specialty parts for wear and tear they are hard to get and quiet often need to be imported. I wouldn't buy another one

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: E52 (2010-2018) Badge: XL Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: May 2018

Nissan Elgrand xl

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 01, 2018

Hi there
I'm interested in nissan elgrand 2016 xl
With leather seats and fully options so how much it cost me to order one if the car come with 7 seats or 8 for me it's gonna be to be good it's not important and how i can get the car to come to Melbourne and how lond it take to deliver it ?
.thanks
Best regards
Sargon Dawood

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

AUCKLAND NZ

  • 1 review
  • 1 question
  • 2 answers
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: E51 (2004-2009) Badge: Highwaystar Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Feb 2015

sweet as

5 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 13, 2018

great van amazing to drive great styling interior real comfort and practical there is so much to like about these vans easy to maintain a little thirsty but with great performance and reliability back seats fold up we fit two electric bikes in side highly recommend if u are looking for a great touring vehicle

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Sydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: E52 (2010-2018) No Badge Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Aug 2015

Car rides are so smooth

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 01, 2018

Perfect is all I can say Just absolutely perfect
There is nothing I dislike about this this car only the foreign language written on all of the radio options etc.
I love how the back chairs can be put up, it is very convinient in space
Very reliable had this car for 3 years, the car rides are so smooth, love this family car

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 question
  • 2 answers
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: E51 (2004-2009) Badge: Highwaystar Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Dec 2017

That a perfect car I ever drive

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 17, 2018

I just bought a Nissan Elgrand 2004 Highway star on second week of December 2017 from NSW then I drove this to Perth WA , the trip from NSW to Perth around 4000KM took me 4 and half day to drive , whole the trip all day drive , night sleep in the van with my army sleeping bag that so comfortable even I cooked noodle and coffee in the boot of the van and shower out the van ( of course ) this van so accommodating and reliable for people on the move , all day ran even in the hot weather in some place in Melbourne I didn't think for myself but I care for my car because I just bought it for my first ELGRAND and I really don't know about condition of this car , really don't know at all but I tried to gamble with that , on the way from Melbourne to Victoria my Samsung 7s google map cut off because weather and battery over heat then cut off so I lost so many time then when I go to SA I lost again so the trip 4000KM came up nearly 4300KM ( 97.900KM when I pick up and back home in Perth is 102270KM ) I'm not worry to my health but I really worry for my Elgrand because I pushing too hard for my firth Elgrand but .... unbelievable this car ran like crazy horse with 3.5 V6 engine , drove from 100 to 110 KPH engine sooo smooth never get any problem , checked old and cool water all trip never change even I drove from 8AM to 11PM only rest 30 minutes to get the petrol and for cooling the engine , the cost of premium petrol for this trip around AUS800.00 so that not too bad , it may cheaper then Nissan Patrol , I used so many car from Ford to Nissan Patrol , station wagon to Hilux but this Elgrand is unbelievable and I think my next one will be another Elgrand .

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 7 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: E51 (2004-2009) Badge: Highwaystar Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Apr 2016

Space and comfort especially when travelling

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 22, 2017

Elgrand 2007 yes it is thirsty more than a sedan car but when it comes to people movers it is up there with the best. Elgrand comes on it own and no other vehical can come close to the comfort of an elgrand when you travel long distances. Its power means your car travels without the stress most cars have from constant speed It drives like a dream I took it to ayers rock doing 130 kms an hour the engine wasnt even making a noise. Like a breeze. Granted the stop and go of the suburbs and city does mean more petrol. But i live in the coast so most of my driving is on open roads and highway. To me its perfect

7 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Adelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 17 answers
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: E51 (2004-2009) Badge: Highwaystar Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: May 2017

2008, series 3 model = Perfect!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 10, 2017

Versatile van, easy to park with 4 cameras, full leather interior, DVD player for all regions, rear wheel drive and captains style seating.
I can put all my band equipment like amps, keyboards etc in there with room to spare. Can also carry my 10 ft kayak inside with no problems. On other occasions its used as an 8 seater so its ideal for any situation.
It's a bit thirsty with the 3.5 L engine but can be managed for better economy with careful driving. The pearl white colour looks a treat when washed and seems to attract attention.
Overall its a perfect van for all situations!

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Truro

  • 1 review
  • 5 answers
  • 7 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: E51 (2004-2009) Badge: Highwaystar Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Jul 2016

So versatile and reliable!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 02, 2017

Have owned our 2004 E51 Highwaystar 3.5 originally with only 70,000kms on the clock for over a year now and with 3 kids needing 3 different styles of car seats it is more than accomodating in regards to space and comfort. Love the power, smooth acceleration with seamless gear shifts and have never had a single problem with the engine or any aspect of the car. Ride is so smooth and quiet, I was so surprised at first. Feels so solid and safe too. Love the electric side door, makes it very easy for all those school drop offs. And in our hot aussie summers, the air con is soooo good. I previously had a Nissan Dualis and I was always so frustrated at the crappy air con, but the japanese have definitely ticked this box. I do a lot of highway driving and it is a little thirsty at the pump but that is the only negative I can think of and it's a fair trade-off for what you get with the highwaystar, which is a lot! At first it took me a while to get used to driving a 'van' style car but now I love sitting up higher and did I mention the room- there is just so much room! Our eldest sits right in the back - which is so easy with the walkway down the middle - our youngest two in the middle and with one of the back seats sitting up on its side I can literally throw the pram in the back without disabling it, and then still have room to fit shopping or whatever in after it. Too easy. My husband flattened all the seats in once and fit an entire wardrobe in the back. It's pretty versatile, the seats can be configured in so many ways. Takes a while to work out all the japanese lingo on the touch screen, but we ended up buying an english manual for $70 or so which helps a great deal. Otherwise if you're looking for a large, reliable family people mover with plenty of power and comfort, please look no further.

7 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: E52 (2010-2018) Badge: Highwaystar Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Dec 2016

This is the best 7 seat car I have.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 30, 2017

I got it 1 yr. 2012 nissan elgrand 2.5L. this is not the top model. it has half leather seat. the middle row is so many space. the 3rd row can put 2 child seat. cabin space you never have any issue.
I did try targo, Odyssey, elgrand. Quiet. targo> elgrand> odyssey. Stable & comfortable, elgrand > targo > odyssey. cheap running cost elgrand 2.5> targo> odyssey> elgrand 3.0 .
My elgrand 65-70L can run 700-750 km combine. which is cheaper than i guess.
the only complain is the car boost. which is too small. you cannot put a medium size baby plam. But 2014+ version you can adjust the car boost.

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: E50 (1997-2001) Badge: V Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Sep 2011

Absolutely LOVE this van! It is perfect for every day and every activity!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 08, 2017

Bought this vehicle over 5 years ago and it is still fantastic. I have a heap of kids which means a heap of driving and a heap of every where, all the time. This has been one of the best vehicles I have ever owned. I highly recommend this vehicle every chance I get!

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 answer
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: E51 (2004-2009) Badge: Highwaystar Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: May 2017

Great family car, so smooth great for long trips.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 10, 2017

Great car to drive, smooth and comfortable. Only had our 2007 series 3 a couple of weeks but an interstate trip after the first week was a great test. 1200+km vic-nsw coastal run got 10.8lt/100km on one tank and could see us getting more on a straight highway run. Around town, school pickups are worse around 15lt (will need more of this to really know). Fuel efficiency really depends on how you drive, as with any car, accelerate fast = high fuel cost. You don't buy a car like this to drag at the lights anyway, saying this it has power when/if you need it. Comfort is a huge factor in elgrands after 8 hours behind the wheel with only 1 refill stop and 1 lunch stop, I exited the vehicle like I'd driven around the corner. The whole family loves it plenty of room and versatility in seating, the 3D camera is very useful although visibility is good for a car of this size anyway. Getting used to the stereo/DVD system takes a bit but download google translate and get the japanese file to make things easier. Also have some ntsc region free dvd's (you will probably have to burn these) ready if you have passengers wanting to watch movies. Do your research, get the import/de reg papers and you'll be happy, it was the best option we could find in our price bracket.

5 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 6 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: E51 (2004-2009) Badge: Highwaystar Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Jan 2017

Fantastic piece of machinery to drive.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 22, 2017

However I only got 530km per tank but that is through the Snowies,mud mountain passes gravel roads included.
I converted to a camper with an awning and 19" higher profile 45's tires which gives an overall height of 2030mm so
I can still get into undercover parking. On my 10,000km trip I had 1 puncture, am busy planning my next trip

6 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Perth

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 answers
  • 8 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: E51 (2004-2009) Badge: XL Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Jun 2015

Exceptional Family Car

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 01, 2017

We were having another addition joining the family and our budget was under $20,000 for a car. After reading reviews on this website, I researched and finally found a dealer and went for a drive test. I didn't want a big car but this car ticked all the boxes, the visibility is amazing, reverse camera, a portable TV and of course its thirst because is a big engine though is perfect if you have young kids using car seats and capsules because there is a walk way in the middle. It drives quite smooth and the acceleration is amazing. I tell all my family and friends about this car and I cant fault it in any other way.

5 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 1 question
  • 10 answers
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: E51 (2004-2009) Badge: Highwaystar Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Dec 2016

one of the best Vans I have driven, besides Toyota customs

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 10, 2017

This van is an exceptionally fine appointed car. Can compare with any sedan and high prised car. All electric windows, air-conditioning sliding doors open and close on the press of a button and driving as smoothly and quiet as you wish. It has plenty of power and excelleration is very fast.
Legroom is sufficient if not a bit short for a tall driver and because of the low body the doors can jam on a curb and the skirting on the bumperbars can be damaged easily if you are not careful.
I find it rather heavy on petrol. It uses about 16 liters per 100 km (in town) and some more with air conditioning running.
Verdict.:
I would buy it again because the ride is fabulous.

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: E51 (2004-2009) Badge: VG Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Jun 2016

Should Have Bought One Sooner

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 04, 2017

Forget the 400-450kms to a tank, the Japanese keep the best for themselves. Yes there are issues rear cats get blocked by front ones after they disintegrate but all elgrand mechanics now this. So find someone who knows these great minivans. I have now got 147000kms on the clock on my 2002 and may have to replace the starter soon no big deal... but even now you can find cars at the wreckers so parts are available, as well as sharing parts with the old pathfinder. Up until now i used my elgrand as a tradie van as dollar for dollar it was way ahead of a hilux for the same price.and more comfortable. so nice is it to drive that my wife wants to give me the toyota aurion so she can drive the kids around in the elgrand. At the end of the day its a Nissan so reliability is good and even our low spec model has 7 seats dvd with aftermarket unit, electric rear doors swivel rear seats the list goes on.
We used to have a 2000 chrysler voyager which was good and spacious but these e51 are far superior.the new e52 is rebadged american minivan and way smaller so when the time comes we will get a series 2 or 3 E51.

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 13 answers
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: E50 (1997-2001) Badge: Highwaystar Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Mar 2016

Does exactly what I want

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 31, 2016

Might / will be...
a tad hungry around town stop start driving, but she's a big unit & 3.5 petrol only has the 4 speed auto ,.I get around 550 +kms per tank on open road driving, I find it is not a lot thirstier than my 2005 outback on trips,...I have removed all rear seating and use it as a weekend camper for two,.. and mountain bike gear,. has absolutely tons of room ,tons of power and tons of comfort ,we totally love it

5 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Gold Coast

  • 1 review
  • 10 answers
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: E50 (1997-2001) No Badge Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Sep 2013

Fuel Tank Capacity

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 20, 2016

I love my Elgrand
Mine is low profile, a problem, it scrapes on street kerbs, etc
I am a retired farmer. It cops a lot of abuse, overloading, now more a work vehicle than a handsome people mover. Yes I would buy another one.
My fuel tank holds exactly 72 litres to the lip. how about yours/

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

1 of 2 pages


Questions & Answers

E50 (1997-2001)

Why does the radio and clock switch off and comes back on?

Celia asked on Oct 08, 2018

just purchased a Nissan elgrand e51 and noticed the the light on the gear selector does not work in the night time, is that normal?

Mick D asked on Sep 27, 2018

E51 (2004-2009)

The fm am radio has a fairly consistant static when radio on. Comes ina and out. Is there a better arial for the 2005 model?

Mark asked on Sep 24, 2018

See all 163 questions about Nissan Elgrand

Your question will be specific to the model that you've selected.


Product Details