PARK HOLME. SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 answer
Private message

Date Purchased: Sep 2018

great buy

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 11, 2018

Great reliable product, records 2 programs while watching another, records in good quality, easy to find buttons & the guide is quick & easy to follow for free to air, freeview & any programs for streaming. Have one for the family room & now this one for the lounge room great to have same because we can record on the two products & be able to set them up as a homegroup enabling viewing one program from the family room in the lounge room
Would definitely recommend

Purchased at: Harvey Norman

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Panasonic Official

Hi Marli, thank you for taking the time to provide your positive feedback on your recorders.

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 comments
  • 2 answers
  • 11 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Purchase Date Purchased: Aug 2018

Does The Job But Opportunities Missed

4 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 10, 2018

Video playback reproduction is very good, however audio is somewhat ordinary. EPG is excellent, providing all channels in a single view and both single shows or series recordings can be set from this interface. If manual setting is required, only single or weekly repeat is available - daily, weekday or weekend program settings aren't permitted . This is extremely unusual, a situation I've never encountered before.
On the plus side, the unit has been 100% recording reliable to date. Both timer recording and playback menus are easy to navigate, although the former includes features that most people will never use.
USB playback is mixed. While video reproduction is good, again audio is somewhat sub-par. While a wide range of video formats are supported, advanced audio codecs aren't making the experience quite frustrating. It also doesn't support USB playback during a recording - quite ridiculous really, all in the name of Freeview support I'm guessing!

Overall a good unit at a reasonable price, but I can't help thinking it could have been even better with a few relatively minor tweaks. Opportunities missed!

Purchased at: 2nds World

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Panasonic Official

Hi Jshore, thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback on your product.

Thanks - I'm pretty happy with the unit, although I'd be even happier if you could improve some of the deficiencies outlined above.... maybe with a firmware update???

Sydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 answer
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Jul 2017

Very Happy with It

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 08, 2018

I have simple needs when it comes to recording shows, so this device caters for all I need (and more). It was easy to set-up, easy to program, easy to get to internet options such as iView, etc. and easy to view your recorded list. I can't live without it now. I haven't had any issue with missed shows, etc. The recording quality is very good (can't fault it).

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Aug 2017

Just a PVR

4 out of 5, reviewed on May 01, 2018

it's Ok, I've always been a big fan of Panasonic but of late I don't know where they've gone wrong but Panasonic isn't upto standards of yesterday, this PVR is Ok, it hasn't missed any programs, lets you know when there is a clash of timed programs, better than others on the market but it seems to be missing certain simple features and one that I need is a reminder of when a program is about to start. Other than that it's not a bad product, still believe that Panasonic have dropped their standards.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Brisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 answers
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Mar 2018

Excellent User Friendly Product

5 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 05, 2018

Had a faulty Humax DVR replaced 2 times before finally getting a store credit and paying a little more for this Panasonic DVR . Easy to install and set up . Easy to navigate the menu . Netflix button . Series recording and great storage space . Very user friendly. It’s a twin tuner so records 2 programs at a time which is standard ... if you want to record 4 programs at a time go spend more money and purchase a quad recorder . Not sure what some customers expect for one of the less expensive PVR’s ? Couldn’t be happier after a year trying to get some service and a DVR that worked out of Humax .

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 comments
  • 22 answers
  • 6 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Dec 2017

Not up to today's expected standard.

1 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 25, 2018

Not worth the money. No good, 30 second blackout, program recorded lost yet showed 122 minutes recorded, Panasonic say see page..... Plenty of storage space, unit on time for recordings, but quality not so good. Replaced another Panasonic that dropped FHD channels 6 months after purchase, then could not record 2 programs at once! Navigation was good, should have brought the Samsung. Why do you need to buy a Panasonic TV as well? Because they can talk to each other with their systems.
old john.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Date Purchased: May 2016

not too bad cant formatt hdd

4 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 11, 2018

not a bad unit . my blind housemate wouldn't be without it. but when i tried to formatt the hdd. .. pressing the ok button for 3 seconds doesn't open the delete hdd menu . ive tried everything. i even deleted the recorded programs yet again same thing. im totally lost

Purchased at: Harvey Norman

Was this review helpful? Yes

Moranbah

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Aug 2017

Generally happy with Panasonic Digital Media Recorder but.

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 30, 2018

Has typical Panasonic feature set but its menu are not always intuitive and sometimes confusing. (The LG DVR it replaced had an excellent menu structure.) Netflix button is great and lots of apps to download, Spotify would be a great app to add to available apps, although the tune in radio app is excellent. Connection to the internet was fairly easy and all other connections are straight forward. It was very well priced so I think it is excellent value for money given the brand reputation of Panasonic.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Verified Purchase Date Purchased: Apr 2017

Having weird problems with the timer.

3 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 01, 2017

Having weird problems with the timer.
(1) We have "+1" channels that repeat programs 1 hour later. Some (only some) programs record off both channels which ties up the tuner so other programs can not be recorded. Delete it off the main channel and it also deletes it off the +1 Channel.
(2) Also very frustrating is the extra time added to the program (even when edited off) which means 2 programs recorded one after the other on the same channel, ties up both tuners, which prevents other recordings.
(3) The auto timer is one minute earlier than the TV stations, so need to adjust timer settings. Solved it by setting time manually, but this needs to be reset if the unit is unplugged.
(4) (Bad software design) When recording and watching the same channel, cannot do live pause. A bit of thought and Live pause could default to the HDD, but some initiative lacking. Altogether Not a patch on my old analogue Pioneer model bought 7 years earlier for less money.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 comments
  • 1 question
  • 6 answers
  • 6 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Oct 2017

Panasonic DMR-HWT260 - Even the wife likes it!

4 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 19, 2017

Idiot-proof, so even I can use it! What I do not like so far is the Program Guide with its white letters on a white background. Am one of the wrinklies and it is a big distance to TV. Index in manual is a bit sparse. Cannot find an update for this DMR-HWT260, no GN suffix. So hopefully everything works OK. Have not managed to use wireless connection from Telstra broadband modem to Panasonic, but iView, etc. works with a long Ethernet cable instead. Managed to talk Harvey Norman to accept $350 for this unit.

Purchased at: Harvey Norman

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Toodyay

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 question
  • 1 answer
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Purchase Date Purchased: Sep 2017

Thumbs up.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 08, 2017

I've been using it for 4 to 5 weeks now. It does everything it's supposed to do without a hitch.
Only one thing I didn't like, Panasonic in their wisdom changed the positions of the buttons on the remote control
compared with a previous model. Can be annoying when pressing the wrong one.
Otherwise no problems.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Newcastle, New South Wales

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 11 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Feb 2017

THIS ONE IS A LEMON.

1 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 30, 2017

Bought on-line from The Good Guys in February 2017. Right from the start it was a problem. Would not stay turned on when turned on with the remote. Kept shutting itself off and showing "No Signal". The assigned repairer(Custom Electronics) said that there was a problem with the remote. Tried again and it still kept turning itself off, took it back to the repairer who said he then replaced "The board". I also changed the lead from the PVR to the Television. I got it going but half way through a movie, it blacked out again and showed "NO SIGNAL". I am waiting to replace the HMDI cable, but I am getting sick of carting it to and from the repair shop. If the new cable does not fix it, will be seeking either a new one or my money back.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

PERTH

  • 9 reviews
  • 17 answers
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Date Purchased: Sep 2017

Great features and easy to use, but poor USB backup facility

3 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 19, 2017

Bought this a few weeks ago to replace my old Topfield PVR which suddenly died. The new Panasonic has some great features like built-in Smart TV converter, great slideshow facility for photos on USB and the ability to read in other videos stored in a huge number of formats. Unfortunately it has one strange design flaw - you can READ in just about anything (via USB) but to WRITE to an external drive, the new drive has to be "registered" by the machine. This involves wiping out anything already on there and converting the external drive into a format not recognized by Windows. (It's probably Linux). So even if you do backup your favorite movies you won't be able to read them if the unit ever fails.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: May 2017

PVR's everyone should have one!!

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 26, 2017

User manual not bad to understand. Storage space ample. Recording quality is great. Seems to be reliable so far.
Haven't bought a Panasonic unit before, so still learning!! Love the thinness of it. It is a little different to our last one.
Love the series recording feature. Easy to set up and record tv programmes. Simple to play back.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Sydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 answers
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Purchase Date Purchased: Apr 2017

Good product that works (so far) as advertised

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 21, 2017

I purchased this product to replace an older Panasonic PVR (purchased in 2006) which had a damaged antenna input (the product had otherwise worked very well). My experience so far is very good.

If you are already used to a Panasonic PVR, the device is easy to use and navigate. The unit itself is compact. Responses times are good. There are a few differences from my old PVR, most of them for the better.

One of the best features is the Anytime/Anywhere TV feature, which allows you to set and watch recorded TV programmes from anywhere in the world where you have a reliable internet connection. I recently tested this on an overseas holiday and it works quite well. The Netflix and internet features are also well integrated and the response times are good.

Some of the recording options are restrictive (eg. for recording a "series" you are limited to vary the start and end time by 10 minutes, which is often not enough for commercial TV channels that regularly do not keep to their advertised schedule).

Overall, an excellent product.

Purchased at: Harvey Norman

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 answer
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Oct 2015

Lasted 18 months

2 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 30, 2017

Worked great for 18 months then pop and a burning smell and it died. Could push for warranty but can't wait that long. Worked reasonably well when working but sometimes did not record. Will not buy another one will look at something different for the new one.
A a A

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Manilla

  • 3 reviews
  • 9 answers
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

A very good well programmed PVR

4 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 17, 2017

You only get what you are prepared to pay for. This unit is far superior to the cheaper versions on the market don't waste your money on anything less. After mucking around with a cheap poorly programmed unit for 12 months this unit is a dream to operate. From a 1 out of 10 to a 9 out of ten.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Hastings, Victoria

  • 21 reviews
  • 10 comments
  • 2 questions
  • 13 answers
  • 38 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Dec 2016

Easy to use and simple to set up - moron proof !

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 11, 2017

This is the second unit I have purchased in the last 12 months. It`s simple to use and has great quality recording. It`s only as good as the what the TV stations put on their guides and I usually add 10 minutes sometimes both sides (start and finish) as some channels (10 Melbourne) never run on time according to their guide.
Took me less than 10 minutes to set it up and another 10 to work out how to operate it correctly.
I also like the fact that I can punch a code into the remote control and it will operate my Sony TV (Just basic functions)
My first ever venture into HDD recorders was an early model LG which was total rubbish whereas this machine is a breeze to operate.
It has a 1 terabyte hard drive and I`ve yet to fill it.
It has no facility to playback blurays or DVDs or record onto them but nowadays why would you even want to as it`s obsolete technology !
If you want a basic twin tuner HDD then you can`t go past one of these units and a solid 5 out of 5 from me !

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

erwick

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Jan 2017

Disapointed in the new Panasonic HDD recorder

3 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 27, 2017

I recently bought a Panasonic DMR HWT260 to replace my old Panasonic DMR XW350. I do like the ability to record a series with 1 click. The recording quality and ease of use are still good, however the new model has some features I do not like.
1, You can only download copied material to a registered HDD device.which can then only be played on the original machine. On the old machine I downloaded content to DVD which I could then play in any computer or DVD player, very handy when cruising the middle of the Pacific.
2. When selecting a program to record, I used to be able to adjust the times so I 2or 3 consecutive programs could be recored as one, Thus saving the number of recordings used.
3. When selecting programs the times cannot be freely adjusted by the user,but only by a pre set 10-15 minutes. With TV stations over running constantly it means I often miss the end of a recorded program.
4. The machine does what it wants, not what I want. A progam appearing say at 8,30pm on Wednesday then repeated at 10.30am the next morning can only be recorded at the first time, even if you select the second.

Purchased at: Harvey Norman

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 21 reviews
  • 5 comments
  • 9 answers
  • 26 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Nov 2016

This HDD Recorder DMR-HWT260 is a very smart unit.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 06, 2016

I purchased a Panasonic DMR-HWT260 HDD Recorder Nov. last year to replace a Panasonic Blu-Ray Disc Recorder DMR-BW850 (which I have had for over 10 years and still going strong) mainly for the series recording advantage. The DMR-HWT260 is a fantastic recorder, it has smart TV connection and is very easy to operate also has brilliant picture reproduction. I'm very impressed with the automatic setting for series timer recording so as to never miss a forth coming episode of a TV series. This model does not have a DVD for playing the old CD's but it does have a USB slot which suits me just fine. The picture quality from a USB stick or external hard drive is brilliant.

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments

In the time I've had and used this recorder I am even more impressed of how brilliant it is. Well done Panasonic, you certainly are smart people.


Questions & Answers

Hi, 1. Why is the disk running when the unit is showing the time and therefore in stand-bye mode? 2. Why has SBS on Demand stopped working, but ABC iView still works? Help! Regards Dominic Wild

domwild asked on Nov 17, 2018

After not being used for a few days or weeks, the video signal is not getting to the TV - sound is OK but no picture. Any help?

ATT asked on Nov 03, 2018

Answer this

I haven't experienced such a problem, although I haven't left my unit idle for any longer than a day. I'm assuming you've checked your connections - aerial, HDMI, power cord/outlet. I suggest you contact Panasonic support.

What do you need to hook up the machine? Do you connect it to the areal or tho the TV set? Do you need any other parts, like a splitter or an adapter ?

jacob asked on Oct 12, 2018

Answer this

Hi Jacob, you will need to connect the unit to an antenna and the TV set. You shouldn't need anything additional. If you have further queries, please contact Panasonic customer service team on 132600.

The above answer is correct, they even supply an HDMI cable for the TV connection.

See all 18 questions about Panasonic DMR-HWT260GN

Product Details

Price (RRP) $549
Internet Connectivity Wi-Fi
USB Ports 2
Height 41.5mm
Width 430mm
Depth 179mm
Type Blu-ray Player
3D Capable Yes