From April 1st 2018 Plantation Homes is currently offering a $100 Coles evoucher to customers encouraging either a positive or negative review based on their build experience. It is possible that reviews were written by customers who received such reward. These reviews adhere to ProductReview’s Incentivised Customer Reviews Guidelines and may explain a spike in review numbers. For instructions, on how this incentive is claimed please click here

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Sep 2018

Fantastic project builder

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 17, 2019

Loved working with Plantation, would do it again. Being that it was our first build, I would definitely recommend taking thorough notes at your colour and electrical appointments as the ladies in there aren’t detailed with their words and don’t know the trades as well as the persons applying the trade. Ask every question possible and mark off your check list, if they forget to mention something and you sign your documents then the faults always on you.
We had a great experience with a our building supervisor, he managed to fix up a few mistakes the office girls made.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Brisbane

  • 3 reviews
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Sep 2018

New Home

3 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 15, 2019

The overall experience of building with Plantation was generally good. Our admin person changed multiple times during the course of the build so the experience didn't feel as seamless. The site supervisor was fine - it was just difficult to get a hold of him at times. The house overall was built well, however, there were a few things that made it feel unfinished (e.g. stickers being left on the materials, exposed areas etc). There were also a few issues that we found post construction. The drainage was blocked by gravel and rocks and some of the electrical wires were not connected properly just to name a few. Plantation were quite responsive to handle these issues.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Plantation Homes Official

Hi Jules, Thank you for your review! Its pleasing to read that you felt your overall experience with Plantation was good, and that the team was responsive in handling post settlement issues. Cong... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

So happy!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 07, 2019

We are so happy with our new home!! From the moment we saw the display home we fell in love, and were blown away by the luxury inclusions that come as standard - simply incomparable to any other builder. Our build started August 6th, handover was on November 29th! Our SS was absolutely amazing, always happy to help and available 24/7. Our admin lady was super friendly and helpful also. Management on the whole was exceptional.

The whole build was as pain free as I think it could be - given that home builds are always going to be stressful! There were no hidden costs or nasty surprises. The quality and workmanship is absolutely outstanding, we could not be happier. Thank you Plantation for being there every step of the way.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Plantation Homes Official

Hi Ruby B, We are very pleased to read that you are so happy with your new home and that we were able to make the process so stress free for you. Thank you very much for your 5 star review and ... read more »

Brisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Oct 2018

Plantation Homes Job No 46589

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 04, 2019

The preconstruction process was tedious and bureaucratic and with little flexibility. Builder tended to follow it's own perception disregarded the client's requested site profile as previously agreed with the sales consultant. An initial retaining wall was designed lack of consideration of sufficient access to backyard by the homeowner. As a lengthy process of deliberating and negotiating with the builder, ultimately the client has overspent with time and cost for the redesigned retaining wall. Overall the builder has done a good job in aspects of quality and workmanship despite of some arguments of defects.There was misperception of meaning of defective workmanship by the builder's staff as defined by the common law. As such a defect issue has been submitted to the QBCC for adjudication. As a result of unsatisfactory site profile and the necessity of retaining wall construction, the final cost was 10% more than the estimated cost.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Plantation Homes Official

Hi Chi Y, Thank you for your review, after discussions with management and reviewing the notes in our system we can confirm that yes changes were required to your retaining walls, and this was unfo... read more »

Hi Plantation Homes Team, For new retaining wall proposed in the siting stage, we were briefed with a further clearance from the existing retaining wall of aporox. 200mm only. This was a base on wh... read more »

Plantation Homes Official

Hi Chi,
I am sure every effort was made to lower the cost of the retaining wall for you.
In regards to the laminate flooring and other defects, we will await advice from the QBCC in that case.
Kind regards,
Plantation Homes Team.

Caloundra

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: May 2018

Dream Turns Into Nightmare

3 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 03, 2019

Long story short, paint and plaster finish is deplorable. Tap handles incorrectly placed and outside taps put in the wrong place . The exhaust fan which is the focal point of our kitchen is crooked and we have already had the dishwasher replaced and the microwave and oven serviced.
At handover our home was filthy including the windows some of which still had the labels on them . I of course expressed my disappointment at this and requested a clean (including windows) before we moved in. I was told by our building supervisor that it had already been cleaned and that why I was seeing was just dust from building happening around us. I found this hard to believe things were very dirty and some windows still had labels on them?? He finally said he would get the cleaners back before we moved in. A few days later when we arrived to start moving in after being assured that the cleaning had been done this time we were again disappointed. Nothing had been done and there was still a pile of tiles in our en-suite with a Stanley knife lying beside it blade exposed. (Photo attached) Our blood ran cold to think of what might have happened if Dominic, our 2 year old had found it first.
As a result of many emails regarding different matters and requesting that Plantation cover the cost of a clean we finally had an on-site meeting with two of their representatives. Following this some matters have been dealt with, some we have agreed to wait for the 12 months check but they have flatly refused to clean our house. When you spend a small fortune building your dream I think it’s fair to expect it to be clean.
Because of the poor after build service we have received which on occasion has bordered on them being rude I would not recommend building with Plantation Homes.
They certainly failed to deliver on their values of deliver and support and their flippant attitude towards the open knife was appalling.
There were other small issues, these were the main ones

Application does not allow me to upload the photo of the Stanley Knife, happy to supply on request

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Plantation Homes Official

Hi Macca, After investigation and discussions with management, we have determined that all of the above was discussed, and resolved with yourself in late November. If there are any new items that a... read more »

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Dec 2018

Love our dream home!!!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 02, 2019

We are absolutely in love with our Plantation home. We built the Rhodes 33 in Narangba QLD. We had a hassle free build and an amazing site supervisor [Name Removed]. The preliminary stages took a little longer than anticipated but the construction stage was completed in 5 months and we were thrilled to move in before Christmas. The finish is fantastic and quality of build is wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Plantation Homes Official

Hi MKVDG, Thank you very much for providing us with such a great review! It is lovely to hear that you are so happy with your new home! We congratulate you on settling and we hope you create man... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

THE Magestic!

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 29, 2018

The build was well managed and exceeded our expectations right up until the week before handover. The construction supervisor became argumentative (bordering on aggressive), defensive and was only interested in getting the job off his books. He and his direct supervisor tried to make us responsible for a problem with the dishwasher. I needed to throw a HUGE tantrum to make them DO THEIR JOB!

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Plantation Homes Official

Hi Cath,
We are sorry to read that you experienced this in the final stages. We have private messaged you to provide your details so we can review your statements above and look into this further.
Kind regards,
Plantation Homes Team.

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

  • 1 review
  • 2 questions
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Oct 2018

Plantation build beautiful homes

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 26, 2018

This is the second home we have built with Plantation Homes. We were very happy with the first build, which is why we chose them again for the second build. Consistently high quality and beautiful finish. Of course, you need to know what you want and select the right upgrades to get the standard you’re hoping for. You get what you pay for and there are many cheaper builders out there, but we are happy to pay the cost of having a lovely home that will stand the test of time.

Don’t expect the process to be stress free. You need to be very organised in choosing your plan, making any variations and checking the build is progressing as per your plans.

I really like the option of living in the home for 12 months post-handover and making note of any minor defects to be rectified. This allows your house to settle and for you to find out what isn’t working/isn’t to spec.

Overall, very happy with Plantation and if we ever decided to build again, they’d be the first company we look at.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Plantation Homes Official

Hi ashleigh18625, Wow! thank you so much for your glowing review, and thank you for choosing us to build your second home! We are overjoyed to read that you had a great experience with Planta... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Love our new house

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 22, 2018

Overall happy with plantation. Admin process was painful compared to our experience with the other builders. Though we don’t want to blame the whole administration department as it was mainly from one person who dealt with our file. Selection process was very easy and efficient. Sales reps were very helpful.
Overall building quality is excellent. Wasn’t very happy with the cleaning after painting.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Plantation Homes Official

Hi Jeo,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are delighted to read that you love your new home and found the quality of your home to be excellent.

Congratulations on settling in your brand new home.

Best wishes,
Plantation Homes.

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Dream Build

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 21, 2018

The construction process of our new home went amazingly well. Each stage was completed to schedule to a high standard. We were impressed by Plantations quality assurance checks and they identified and readily rectified some defects that I may have never found myself. The construction time exceeded our expectations, partly due to good weather, but also good project management. The design/planning phase seemed slow, but the good planning paid off in the construction phase. We would gladly recommend Plantation.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Plantation Homes Official

Hi Scott, Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to read that you had a good experience with us overall, and that the construction of your home exceeded your expectations. Con... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Dec 2018

Beautiful family home

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 21, 2018

We had looked at many homes to build, but Plantation always had the best designs that suited our lifestyle. The initial process went well, choosing the deign and signing up. There were delays with the block of land we had purchased and the soil testing, but this was Stocklands not Plantation. The greatest drama was signing the final contract. Plantation had designed the facade of our home for covenant, however also in the covenant was the required location of the driveway. We had also missed this requirement, but as our home was designed specifically to our needs, we could not simply flip the home. In addition to this, the Plantation surveyor had drawn the “North” orientation arrow upside down, further complicating the situation. We only discovered this dilemma the night before we were meant to sign the contract. Unfortunately our Administrator seemed completed disinterested in solving the matter, instead apportioning blame to other company areas. As we still wanted to build with Plantation following a year of tweaking our design, we asked to submit our plans to covenant for approval before signing. I believed it was owed to us, and I did not want to sign something that we weren’t going to be able to build, or pay huge fees for approval afterwards. We were instead told we had to sign first, then do colours and electrical, and only then could we submit to covenant. They were pressuring us to sign, but I stood my ground and after 2 attempts had the approval for driveway on the other side. I was amazed by the pushback from Plantation on this. We were about to spend $430k with them, and were treated as an insignificant party.
Once this was solved, the remaining process was great. We had a very capable Site Supervisor who was on time or early at every stage of the build. His coordination and repore with his trades was great. We are happy with the final result. There are some attention to detail things that are disappointing, and felt a bit “precious” bringing up at final walkthrough, but overall the finish is great. The cost kept rising, especially in electrical and colours, where we spent $30k extra and could have spent a lot more! But once we signed contracts, everything went so well. We definitely love our home!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Plantation Homes Official

Hi Rebecca, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We are pleased to read that after a tedious pre site process, you are happy with the final outcome and are settling into your b... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Aug 2019

Customer service hit and miss. Long drawn out process. Hope construction is better

3 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 20, 2018

We have had a bit of rough start from sales rep and some administration staff. There are way too many people involved and there is a lot of time waiting. The documents have had lots of errors that we would not have picked up if we didn’t spend time checking over each document each time. Please check all your documents even if they say they didn’t change something before you sign. It has been 6 months and we are just about to start construction in the new year. Construction team has been friendly by contacting us so far so fingers crossed the rest of the build process goes smoothly. It has been very stressful and long drawn out process. Will keep everyone posted.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Plantation Homes Official

Hi Cat, Thank you for reviewing your experience so far. The Pre Site phase is generally the most tedious part of the process, and the most frustrating for majority of clients! We are positive tha... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Dec 2018

Great Job!!! Plantation!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 20, 2018

The construction of my house was commenced in mid July, and it was handed over this Monday. That is a very amazing speed as my house size is quite decent. They do not only build fast, but also build good. Be honest, I am a very pick customer, but i am generally happy with the finish level of their work. Only minors defects found by professional house inspector. Majority of the defects were rectified within a week. Lastly, Karl is the best site supervisor.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Plantation Homes Official

Hi Sam Chai, Wow! Thank you very much for your 5 star review. Our efficient build times, whilst still maintaining display home quality, are something we are extremely proud of and it is wonde... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Thank you Plantation

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 18, 2018

Happy to have our first build completed with Plantation. The whole team has been very professional all the way thru. Leanne has made our tender and contract procedures a lot more smoother with her excellent professional knowledge of building. Emily was really helpful on the color selection to guide us step by step. Our site supervisor Nathan is such an easy going guy to communicate with, which makes our building journey a wonderful one. Thanks everyone for your assistance and patience from Plantation Team. Hope the settle down will be going all good after we move in, and will definitely get back to you with more feedback in a couple of months' time. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Plantation Homes Official

Hi Ben Feng, We are very pleased to read that all the staff throughout your entire journey have been professional and helpful, making your experience such a positive one. Thank you for your... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Dec 2018

New house

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 18, 2018

Overally, we are satisfied with the construction process as well as the quality of materials have been used in the building. Although we have observed some issues post construction, the supervisor is making efforts to fix the trivial issues.
The most satisfactory part was related to our bills. We have observed a decrease in our last bill Which proved your trustworthy and loyalty towards your clients.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Plantation Homes Official

Hi Sara,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us, we are very pleased to hear that it was a positive one!

Congratulations on settling in your new home.

Best wishes,
Plantation Homes.

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Dec 2018

My New Home

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 17, 2018

Four months and three days from start to finish. This was by far the most painless build of a house. The workmanship is wonderful as is the end result. Couldn't be happier with the end result and would recommend Plantation to any future homeowners. Such a smooth process throughout the entire build. The quality and fixtures that you get to choose are just wonderful. Looking forward to many happy years in my new house.

January 16th 2019 Update: Carmelle 31

This was by far the easiest house I have ever built. The site manager was very approachable at any time i needed to discuss anything with him. The workmanship is great with no issues at this point. The house did not go over budget which I was very pleased about. Plantation is a very professional company to build with. Would recommend them to anyone looking at building.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Plantation Homes Official

Hi Julie Gislingham, We are delighted to read that you had such a great experience throughout your build and that you couldn’t be happier with the end result! We congratulate you on settling... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Oct 2018

Perfect! 2018 build

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 15, 2018

We were overall extremely happy with the communication, process, service and quality of our new Plantation home. All staff from selections to site supervisor were better than expected.

Out of all the builders consulted over 12 months of looking, Plantation provided the best variety of plans to choose from as well as very reasonable prices and sales for extra inclusions.
They were very accommodating to our numerous aesthetical and structural changes, with everything completed exactly as planned (except for the odd power point out of place).

Because of the cheaper base price we were able to upgrade almost every aspect of our build and still remain within budget. Don't expect for Plantation homes to be the cheapest, but for the extra spend you will get a better over all fit and finished product.

Overall build was quick, with no surprises or extra costs.
We will be building with Plantation again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Plantation Homes Official

Hi Jacob L, Thank you for your 5 star review! We are very pleased to ready that you were happy with your overall experience with Plantation and that our service exceeded your expectations. ... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Oct 2018

New 2 story House build

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 13, 2018

The build period was as expected with no unforeseen charges; as a matter of fact, during the tender stage they provisioned for 7k worth of stuff that was not undertaken throughout the build so it was a nice little cash surprise. The workmanship is satisfactory, the products plantation use are very good and give a luxury feel, however, the spray on paint is thin and makes the wall quality look low, I build with them 8 years ago and used rollers which looked so much better. We did have some issues after hand over with plumbing and electrical, it took a couple of weeks, but eventually the tradies came out and fix all issue satisfactorily. The reason we decided to build with Plantation is because of the cost, I'm more than happy with the bang for ya buck ratio you get with Plantation Homes, I've built with them twice now and have been satisfied each time.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Good start, bad colour & electrical selection and good building

3 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 08, 2018

The sales rep was wonderful from start to finish. She even email to congratulate and asked how the whole process went after we moved in. Other company's sales rep would wiped their hands off after we sign the contract. YES, Clarendon homes im talking about you.... Thanks [name removed]

The tender/contract process was good, she helped us out lots, she was very patience and understanding. Thanks [name removed]

We had extremely bad colour and electrical selection. The colour rep was pushy on what she wanted instead off of helping and understanding what her customer wanted. She stuffed up a few of our selection. NOTE: Take photos of what you have chosen. Luckily, my wife took photos of our selections otherwise we would have to accept what we didn't choose. All they would say afterward is what we chosen was what the rep noted down. She stuffed up out tapware, shower grates and didnt put a toilet allowance for a toilet room, yeah that's right.....
Also, we were told that we didn't need to go to Beaumont tiles because all the tiles available were onsite at Plantation headoffice. Thats a BIG lie, there are a lot more tiles available at Beaumont to chooses. Thanks [name removed]
Electrical selection was just as bad, she put the main alarm box that was meant to be in the main bedroom WIR near the front door. She later blamed us for requesting it to be placed there. What i asked was to put the "key panel" near the front door and she placed the "main panel" there instead. Thanks [name removed]
The electrician somehow place 6 light fixtures near or between wood and other metal struts, even though the electrical plans clearly state the it will be downlight after hand over. They wouldnt take responsibility but the supervisor will help fix their stuff up.
The 2 stacker doors were place in the wrong way, they couldnt read the building plan i guess... we wanted the stacker doors to open from the middle out but they had the doors open from outside in.
The electrical and colour selection slow down the completion date by 2 weeks because they stuffed up.
The Building process was very good and some issues but the supervisor did help to solve them and still fixing some issues atm. Thanks [name removed]
A bit disappointed with the house (holes in ceiling) and the colour & electrical selections experienced. Those experiences made the process sour to what was a very good start.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Dec 2018

Very happy

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 07, 2018

Overall I have been very happy with the final outcome of my build. Dean our supervisor was on top of everything and always accomodating. He fixed any issue or query without a fuss and always contactable.
There were a few questions I should have asked in the sales process that would of reduced some of the stress through the colours consultation and probably should of been explained better by sales however that is only minor and by no way distracts from the final product. Also credit to management for being open to solutions when some issues came up with the design getting through covenants. I really enjoyed the experience with plantation overall and will use them again if I get the chance.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Plantation Homes Official

Hi James F, Wow, thank you very much for your review! We are so delighted to read that you have been very happy with your overall experience with us, and found our team to be accommodating an... read more »

1 of 13 pages


Questions & Answers

we recently bought one or your Homes from the original owner and was advised it's still under new home warranty. we have recently discovered quite a few new cracks opening up in the ceiling plaster and found that the rainwater tank pump dosent work on the toilets or washing machine. were assuming that its stuck on mains water not using rainwater. the chrome on certain tap ware is blistering and most tower mixers are loose and not fixed down properly. how do we find out what's covered and even if we are still covered under the warrants.

Herbie79 asked on Jan 07, 2019

Answer this

Hi Herbie, The New home warranty is only valid for the original owner of the home, especially for non structural items which you have mentioned above. If you would like to email us on customercare@plantationhomes.com.au with the details of the home we can assess whether we would be willing to send someone out to have a look based on the age of the home. This does sound like maintenance in which the home owner would need to address, or the supplier of the product. Thank you, Plantation homes team.

Hi, would like to know who/which brand of furniture are using in your display house?

Xiaojea asked on Nov 22, 2018

Answer this

Hello Xiaojea,
We use many different brands, it would be best to go to the display home that you like and ask the assistants there.
Thank you

Hi we have just received our revised sale quote and been told the price is fixed on this, has anyone's build cost gone up after this point? Feeling a little nervous as we are at our max budget..

siobhan asked on Aug 01, 2018

Answer this

It depends on your colour and electrical appointments. If you upgrade any fixture then the price will go up. If you have been given a fixed price by your sales rep then it has to do with the site costs. Irrespective of what your soil type is you will be charged fixed price quoted on your sale contract. This is what I had understood from our sale rep.

Hi Siobhan,

I have passed on your query to our office, and a member of the Sales / Pre-Administration team will be in contact with you to further explain this quote.
They will be able to give you the correct information regarding any possible changes to the quote based on selections in the next stages.

We are excited that you are moving into the next steps towards your beautiful new home.

Best wishes,
Plantation Homes.

We have now booked our colour appointment, does anyone have a timescale for how long it takes once building has started to completion? We are building the Sahara 34

See all 61 questions about Plantation Homes