Verified Customer Construction End Date: Dec 2018

A good build but not perfect

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 11, 2018

We have just moved to our Rawson home. The management of the build was good. We had two site supervisors during construction. The first gave us email communications on weekly basis. We found the second site supervisor (Chris) to be good with progressing the build along and found him to be really professional and a good communicator. The workmanship on the property was really great on the internals. The garage slab set out for under the roller door was a mistake and the patching of the slab terrible. The outside has a few problems with eaves sheeting.This will be fixed under defects. We also have minor cracking across the garage slab. We found Rawsons paperwork and communication to be excellent. In terms of final cost We were slightly over, due to variations but that was anticipated. Overall I would recommend Rawson Homes.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Catherine Hill Bay NSW

  • 1 review
  • 1 comment
  • 5 answers
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Jul 2018

Abysmal

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 10, 2018

Half a million dollars and 15 months since construction commenced with no commitment to a completion date!!! If you are about to sign with Rawson, maybe think twice. Our slab was laid in the first week of September 2017. The frame went up progressively with very little work done for months at a time. Prior to Easter 2018, we inspected the frame due to our concerns that the exposure to the weather had warped the frame. Sure enough, we checked three walls, all three were out by up to 40mm. NSW building regulations allow for 4mm over two metres. Rawson assured us that all walls would be checked and straightened prior to gyprocking. So, after 15 months of incredibly inept quality control and project management, we receive notification that the house is ready for final walk through.
We checked the three walls for plumb and alignment only to find that they essentially had ignored our concerns regarding the straightening of the walls.
We have an extremely long list of unsatisfactory workmanship, too many to list here. The more we investigate and check the property, the more sub standard, unacceptable workmanship we are discovering.
The current situation is that Rawson are in full agreement with our concerns and are stating that they will fix everything. Great, major renovations to a house that is almost at handover. Ripping out completed walls, new plaster, repainting, the list goes on. This will entail, with the lead up to xmas and the xmas break, by our reckoning, a possible completion date of around Easter. Given the performance history of Rawson so far, our expectations will probably not be met. Does anybody believe that at minimum, an 18 month build time is acceptable? Although Rawson are not disputing any of our quality issues, they are refusing to even indicate a completion date. Fifteen months already and no end in site.
This is now in the hands of Fair Trading, and it has gone way beyond concerns with lack of progress and quality.
It has now become a situation where many of the walls, window frames, doorways etc will need to be deconstructed and rebuilt to meet NSW guidelines.
To any people currently in the build process, may i suggest you take a two metre level over your frame or walls and check thoroughly that they are compliant. To those currently making a choice as to who to build with, be cautious, very, very cautious. Be warned!!!!

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Rawson Homes Official

Hello, Thanks for letting us know about your recent experience building with Rawson Homes. We take feedback like this very seriously and are sorry to hear of your concerns. We have private message... read more »

Thee site supervisors and two general managers!!! Not interested in discussions with another Rawson representative unless they are higher up than the general manager!!!

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Dec 2018

Great

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 08, 2018

It was amazing. We had a great experience with Ray. He showed us around the us and pointed out the flaws that he is going to fix. We pointed out something and he was more than willing to help us fix them. The communication process was easy and convenient. The result of the house was genuinely good and clean. We are happy with it.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Rawson Homes Official

Hi Mhy,
Thanks so much for your feedback on Ray. We have a great team here at Rawson Homes and really appreciate hearing from happy customers.
We hope you enjoy your Rawson Home for many years to come.
Kind regards
Rawson Homes

Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Oct 2019

Terrible customer service, high staff turnover and not willing to help

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 07, 2018

As we bought a house and land package we are stuck with Rawson homes. First off they underestimate the time it will take for land to register and provide you with an unrealistic contract start date. Making it an unrealistic time table to get the compliance plans and DA plans completed in time before the projected contract start date so that they are able to charge you an extra 10k to get your project/contract start date extended. As my partner and I don't have experience or knowledge of how this whole process works, we had no choice but to agree to the variation and pay an extra 10k to extend our contract date to July 2019. We are hoping and praying Rawson start building before July 2019, or else they can charge us more money. Rawson has told us they will be building by July 2019 but we are not so sure they might delay it just to charge us extra again. At first they told us they will start building in January 2019, but we just received an email stating that they will begin building February 2019. What's to stop them from emailing again saying we will start building at this time or another time.

Their upgrades also cost a lot more when you get a house and land package. The more cost effective way would probably be to buy a land that's registered first and then seek out Rawson as the builder. Then they cannot charge you the extra 10k for a contract start date extension variation and your upgrades for the house may also be discounted if it is not a part of a package.

Rawson have also had a high staff turnover while we have worked with them. We have had two different pre-construction admins and two different internal/electrical admin staff. This has also cost us more money as the staff working did not provide the correct information to the next person. At our first meeting we explained that we want to put in a feature wall like in the display home and she said that she will follow it up. Never got back to me about it. I emailed her about it and she says that because our case has progressed to the next stage we have to pay for a variation admin fee that costs $450. We have to pay this twice as it has happened again on another occasion (with our request to put in extra insulation in the garage).

Also I wholeheartedly understand that once our land has registered that it is our responsibility to maintain/keep clean. Unfortunately we did not get a temporary fence up in time and we experienced quite minimal rubbish dumping but excessive landfill dumping. We asked Rawson to assist with the extra dirt thats on our land, and we didn't even mind paying a bit extra, but Rawson did not even want to help. They just said to call council.

I don't think i'd choose Rawson again. As we have had such little customer support during the pre-construction phase and they haven't even started building yet.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Rawson Homes Official

Hi Rach, Thanks for letting us know about your recent experience building with Rawson Homes. We take feedback like this very seriously and are sorry to hear of your concerns. We have private mess... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Rawson Eden 31 Huntlee

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 30, 2018

All stages in the build have been well communicated.
Design modifications to suit building covenants & personal needs were addressed with ease.
Exceptional customer service from the Newcastle team in relation to the selection process.
Julie has the experience to help you choose internal/external colours & fittings to get the house you want.
Julie comes highly recommended , as does James , Carla and Rodney.
My wife and I are extremely happy with the finished build, we can't wait to enjoy it.
I'm more than happy to recommend Rawson Homes.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Rawson Homes Official

Thanks so much for kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us—and we agree, we are very lucky to have Julie, James, Carla and Rodney on our team! We ... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Good builder can construct good building

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 22, 2018

Before the handover, I was invited to have a walk through inspection for the house. The house's quality was so good that it gave me a magnificent viewing. The manager Joe and Wes helped me find some small flaws, such as the paint was not evenly spread and the cabinet door was loose. When I came to make a handover, these problems have been fixed well. We are quite satisfied with the house building.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Rawson Homes Official

Thanks so much for kind words, Kevin. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us—and we agree, we are very lucky to have Joe and Wes on our team! We hope you enjo... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Dream First Home Perrrrrfect !

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 21, 2018

Dream House, That’s everyone has dreams to have own house.However, some got spoiled if hasn’t chosen correct builder.

Rawson Homes for us, “ You only need your basic bag packs to take with you when you moving in new home build with Rawson Homes as it's covers all necessary in their inclusions with competitive price.”
It's not like attractive low price that could jump back in every steps movement

Our Journey was began in May 2017 and from then till we moved in property we got supportive staff for each movements.

Natalie Waldron - Sales at Elara - She helped us to learn a lingo in details for construction and legal requirement that other might not explain to get business.
Anny Lu - PCA - Took her role very well to make our smooth progress towards construction stage.

Leon Raff - Our SS. A person who better understand customer needs, punctual , available at any time and ready to resolve any doubt concern . Because of Leon our House got ready and handed over before expected. Leon personally feels customer’s emotions about their dream house expectation and deliver as much as he can as per their desire.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Rawson Homes Official

Hi Chetan,
Thanks so much for your feedback. We have a great team here at Rawson Homes and really appreciate hearing from happy customers.
We hope you enjoy your Rawson Home for many years to come.
Kind regards
Rawson Homes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Great build experience great manager

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 19, 2018

I have inspected the house several times before the hand over. The house was quality is good, and the manager Jesse has explained very well and patient about the every detail of the house. and he is really helpful to help us to solve the problems. We are quite satisfied with the inspections, as well as the house building.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Rawson Homes Official

Dear Hong, Thank you so much for your feedback! We’re so glad we were able to be a part of your home building journey. We are sure you will enjoy your new home for years to come.

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Great build experience great manager

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 18, 2018

I have inspected the house several times before the hand over. The house was quality is good, and the manager Jesse has explained very well and patient about the every detail of the house and he is really helpful to help us to solve the problems. We are quite satisfied with the inspections, as well as the house building.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

The excellent builder

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 16, 2018

Rawson Homes provides very standard building service. There are no unexpected variations and extra charges. What we need to do is to pay on time.

Our supervisor Steve Austin did a great job for us. In the handover, he explained the details one by one. For any touch up jobs, he finished it efficiently. He replied to our request very quickly.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Rawson Homes Official

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience with us Helena, we love hearing positive stories like yours! Thank you for sharing and we hope you’re having a fantastic time in your new Rawson home.

Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Aug 2018

Satisfactory level of work

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 05, 2018

Chris is a switched on supervisor and kept constant communication. Was careful with his updates - under promised and over delivered. Construction experience with him was largely smooth until walkthrough when the issue with bifold door flyscreen came to light. Rawson should have been a bit more careful as it was a special order. Glad it was fixed. More attention required by painters as there are a lot of rough surfaces.
External and kitchen consultants are not good at explaining the choices. Not happy about being charged for prewiring for overhead cabinetry down lights as its a half a job done with no wires and very useless for the future. Management is not very responsive. Still no resolution.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Sep 2018

Le windsor estate

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 01, 2018

Well organize building procedure.
Good quality and well installed.
The property cost reasonable as estimated.
Several inspection and each time will update by Rawson .
Well communication by email and phone call. Very satisfied with their patience service.
All small details issues were solved after inspections.
Good experience with rawson homes, hope the whole project will settle as soon as possible.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Oct 2018

Happy as Larry!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 30, 2018

Chris was our site manager and the job was managed very well and went smoothly. He was easy to communicate with and happy to help where he could.

In an overall sense, we are happy with the build quality and finishes in most areas are quite good. I think a little more attention to detail from the painters (since it is one of the major finishing trades) could go a long way. A little more time spent on a such a visual product/trade can make a big difference.

We only really had one major issue during the build which was resolved in the most practical way but I believe it should not have had to come to this if the plumbers are held more accountable from the beginning during design stages. Due to the location of their pipe in the ground/slab, this meant we were forced to run an additional 110mm pipe externally. My understanding is that if the pipe that was initially installed in the ground/slab was 500mm further towards the front of the house, the stack work would have been able to be contained within the external wall as documented.

The costs were originally slightly over what had been predicted until we received a couple of credits after site measurements had been taken.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Aug 2018

Thanks Steve, Mal and the whole ACT Rawson team

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 27, 2018

From the beginning we felt super comfortable with giving Rawson the go ahead to build our first home. Mal was thorough and easy to contact and with the plans, they were flexible which made us extremely happy as we got to expand the designs to suit us and the block size. Fran made it easy for us to choose all the fittings and fixtures and was able to preempt any issues we raised, which saved many arguments! Steve was the final piece in the puzzle and enabled us to relax along the way while the build took place. Steve picked up errors and advised us of things we had missed in the plans which for us novices made us so much more comfortable. Steve was in control the whole time of all the labour and ensures that we got at least a weekly update to let us know what was happening for the week and got us on site regularly to review work to date and if we were happy with the progress. We have now been in the house for 2 months and could not be happier. So thank you to the whole Rawson team but a special thank you to Steve as you have built us our dream home.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Sep 2018

Great handover

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 26, 2018

The build was good and Jessie had good attention to detail and a will to complete for settlement. Handover process was very smooth and trouble free. The process could not have gone any better. There were many things that needed to get done from landscaping appliances paint touch up and all other finishing touches and cleaning Jessie was responsive and got it done

Was this review helpful? Yes

NSW

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Aug 2018

Great site manager made it perfect !!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 23, 2018

Building house always have many problems, delay and painful process. It cause a lot of stress to the home owners.
My home is not the exception but the most important thing is how and who can fix the issues with right solution and attitude.
Myles and Jesse are great site managers and did their best to resolve all outstanding issues properly.
Especially, Jesse helped us from settlement, moving and all warranty service.
Our family have impressed with his 'Yes and can do and try to do' attitude so we can move to the dream home successfully.
I would like to say thank you to Rawson, Myles and Jesse to provide us happy experience and lovely home.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Apr 2018

Very beautiful home

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 23, 2018

This is our first home in Australia, and glad we decided to go ahead with Rawson homes. We were initially impressed by Mr Paul their sales representative, who gave shape to our dream home in just 2-3 meetings and finally Mr Jesse, who turned it to reality...in less than 6 months, The project was smooth and quick far beyond our imaginations.
I would also like to add a note of special thanks to the gentleman(John) who changed our Project Supervisor from David to Jesse who was so arrogant and rude in the beginning and at one stage made us rethink that if we have made a right choice going ahead with Rawson Homes or not..??
Well a Special thanks to Jesse for being so understanding and accommodating every little request which made the entire experience so wonderful.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Oct 2018

Awesome site manager Jesse M & quality work

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 22, 2018

I am quite impressed with the progress and outcome. Nothing came to my concerns as I have been communicated via email and message. Quality work comes from years of profession and experiences. I know this is a great team work (thank you) but just have to express my special thanks to the site supervisor Jesse. He has eagle eyes as he ensures my property triple checked and polished before putting up the show for me. He has great attitude as he makes feel comfortable and very welcome. He is just awesome. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Murrumbateman

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Sep 2018

First build with Rawson at Murrumbateman

2 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 18, 2018

This was my first build with Rawson. Along the way there were a number of issues. I will let my husband handle that side of the discussions however, I do need to tell you what really turned me off Rawson. During a walk through inspection, both toilets (off ensuite and powder room) had faeces in them! It was revolting (even though a portable toilet was on site)!!! Also, the carpet was stained at handover, there were solid objects in various places under the carpet so you crunched on them when you walked in two bedrooms. That's just not acceptable! Also, the windows and walls had various hand marks and it was grubby in many places on the walls. The new house at handover looked like a dirty rental. I'm very house proud so my heart sank when I accepted the keys to a poorly presented house. The structural issues will be addressed in a second review but readers you need to know that the tradies contracted for the build are not supervised regularly and dirty your home! We paid about $380k for a house that literally had crap in it! How would you feel if this was your new home???

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Rawson Homes Official

Hi Tamara,

We're so sorry to hear about your experience, I've sent you a private message if you would be able to reply so we can do an investigation, that would be great.

Thanks,
Rawson Homes

Schofields

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Oct 2018

Everything is good

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 15, 2018

The building supervisor is very responsible, very patient to solve each defect in the first inspection we found, he had fixed all the problems before the final inspection and settlement date. We are very satisfied with his job.and settlement was so thoughtful, thank you for the gift from rawson homes. More importantly,we are happy with my house built by rawson homes.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

1 of 16 pages


Questions & Answers

Is it typical for a standard build in the ACT to take 2 months past the end of contract date to finish?

L C asked on Nov 30, 2018

Answer this

I am under heavy stress due to 3 months delay in completion. Site managers had been changed 3 times since 9 months construction. They have many excuses to cancel jobs at last minute such as the contractor had flu and death of the carpenter's family member. Also cancel site inspections at last minute due to site manager illness and his car broken down on the way...etc. The delay is due to their bad management and unrealistic design (eg. Window facing to backyard 1.7 meters above the floor in master bedroom)

That's what happens when you build with Rawson.

They have a lot of fake reviews on this site & give incentives for positive reviews, but people really need to pay attention to the negative stuff because that is the real side if the story.

Others (like yourself) need to actually rate them as opposed to posting (somewhat) meaningless questions.

Wait until you get to the warranty period & they start attempts at rectification (they actually start damaging your house more!).

Good luck with the rest of the build.

Try 16 months since the slab was laid, now we are looking at a further three to four months minimum to rectify sub standard workmanship!!!

My house is one and half years new in schofields, and the roof of the garage is leaking now and getting worse, I can't find the builder now, I think it still in warranty, who I should call, anyone can help me? thanks

Nicloe asked on Nov 28, 2018

Answer this

Hi Nicloe,
Sorry to hear about your experience. Thank you for answering our direct message with your details, our warranty department will be in touch with you.
Kind regards
Rawson Homes

Hi, is there anyone build Evoke 25/30 from Rawson, if yes, howz your experience? After seeing good and bad reviews in here, what are the key things we need to consider during the process of signing up with Rawson (i.e how to avoid pitfalls).

shome asked on Nov 22, 2018

Answer this

Never go with Rawson Homes as they cannot fulfil their commitments. I am under heavy stress due to 3 months delay in construction and completion. They don't care you and ignore your needs once you have signed up with them. Skip Rawson Homes if you want to avoid pitfalls.

Simple - Rawson homes are dodgy!

Why would you even consider doing business with such an unethical/immoral company?

We thought that we had considered all of the pitfalls etc, but don't forget you are up against a company that specialise in this area. The regulators won't help when things go bad as they need dodgy companies like Rawson to build houses during periods of growth like we are currently experiencing.

I hope you find a better builder to do business with.

See all 78 questions about Rawson Homes