Filter By:

Pakenham

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 answers
Private message

Verified Customer Insurance claim made

A Lifesaver

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 14, 2018

We have always used SCTI and never had to use them until September 2018 when I had an unfortunate accident, fracturing my leg.

Everything was taken care of, no fuss, no bother. We are so grateful for the lifeline extended to both of us while we were in South America for the subsequent 4 weeks recovery, before being evacuated back to Melbourne with our clinical escort.

We will continue to use SCTI, with confidence, and grateful for their care and supp6

Was this review helpful? Yes

Perth

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer Insurance claim made

Easy Purchase, Cheap Policy & Painless Claims

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 14, 2018

I have used SCTI 13 times since 2013. Every time I have purchased a policy I have always done a comparison for pricing and found them to be very competitive but not always the cheapest. The level of cover vs the cost of cover is a perfect balance for me. The one trip that I did need to make a claim the process was straightforward and took less than two weeks to have the money in my bank. SCTI have been a pleasure to deal with on the phone, I've had to modify a policy before a trip and they just allowed me to pay a small fee to increase the cover of the exiting insurance I had. I continue to use them as their product is still easy to purchase, well priced and offers a good level of coverage and I know if I needed to claim the process would be fast and professional.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollongong

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 answers
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Insurance claim made

Fantastic Experience

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 14, 2018

I can't reccomend this company more i had a claim for a camper van damage excess once i had lodged the paper work my claim was paid imediately and the premium was very resonable.
Best experience i have had with travel insurance.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Insurance claim made

At last! An insurance company that is a pleasure to deal with!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 14, 2018

I have been using SCTI for the past few years for our travel and that of our family (children and grandchildren). During that time we have made two claims, one minor and one for a more substantial amount. In both instances our claim has been handled quickly and satisfactorily without any hassles or unnecessary requests for additional information. I would certainly recommend them based on our experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Bookworkm. Thank you for your five-star review and continued loyalty. It’s great to hear that you were happy with the way your claims have been handled. We hope to hear from you when you’re planning your next adventure. All the best, Katie@SCTI

Melbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 1 answer
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Insurance claim made

I'll buy a more expensive policy next time

3 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 13, 2018

I had to make a claim for medical expenses due to a severe ankle sprain. SCTI covered the expense incurred while overseas, but my doctor advised that I needed physiotherapy on my return to Australia to regain the normal use of my foot. The need for physiotherapy was caused by the accident that was covered by insurance, but SCTI does not cover expenses paid for in Australia. Medicare does not cover physio costs, so I am considerably out of pocket for my rehabilitation. I'll be looking more carefully at the fine print of policies in future!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Jane. I'm so sorry to hear you sprained your ankle and hope you're making a speedy recovery. Our TravelCare policy is designed to provide cover for travellers who are overseas, so apologies for ... read more »

Easy to apply online even with medical conditions

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 12, 2018

We chose this insurance when we went overseas for over two months because we could apply for it online easily even with various medical conditions and receive cover for them with additional payment where others required phone interviews or medicals and some just would not cover my heart condition.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Chris. I hope you enjoyed your two months overseas. Thank you for your feedback on our medical assessment tool. It's great to hear you found it easy to apply online. We hope to hear from you whe... read more »

Verified Customer

Peace of mind

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 12, 2018

Twice I have used SCTI and found the process easy and fast. Travelling to India and Fiji I did worry about health issues but their service alleviated my worries even when I double booked Insurance through my own error they were wonderful in the cancellation. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Terryl. Thanks for sharing your experience - it's great to hear your feedback. I’m happy you could travel with peace of mind, knowing you were covered by SCTI. Safe travels, Katie@SCTI

Insurance claim made

Great service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 12, 2018

I was faced with a return business class trip for my fathers funeral.
Great service and very understanding with no quibbles about the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Henry. I'm sorry to hear about the circumstances that led to your claim. Thank you for the lovely feedback and for taking the time to share this with others. All the best, Katie@SCTI

Insurance claim made

Efficient and helpful

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 12, 2018

I have used Southern Cross Travel Insurance three times and recently needed to make a claim. A phone call to SCTI from overseas was efficiently handled and provided clear information about what I needed to do. I found the processes outlined on their website easy to follow and my claim was handled expeditiously.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Lindy Lou. Thank you for your kind review and continued loyalty. It's great to hear that our team were able to guide you through the process to make it as stress-free as possible. We hope to hea... read more »

Verified Customer Insurance claim made

Good customer service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 09, 2018

I used SCTI recently and we had our flight cancelled at the end of our holiday. They paid out the difference in airline refund and flight costs, accommodation and meals in good time and even adjusted the payment when I found out the airline would not reimburse accommodation and meals as originally advised. I would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Stacey. I'm sorry to hear your flight was cancelled - that must have been quite annoying! I hope you got to at least enjoy the additional time spent overseas. Thanks for the feedback, we really appreciate it! Katie@SCTI

Peace of mind

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 09, 2018

Worked overseas for 8years in 9countries with insurance paid by the boss. Now retired this is the first time I needed to pay, but deem it vital for peace of mind, and happy to hve it.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Mike. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Product Review community. We hope to hear from you when you’re ready for your next holiday. Safe travels, Katie@SCTI

Had the best holiday knowing southern Cross Travel had our backs xxx

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 09, 2018

This was our first trip overseas and was more than comfortable doing it with Southern Cross Travel having our backs . Will So use them again and tell friends to as well as our family already do xx

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Motherduck. I hope you had a fantastic first trip overseas! It’s great to hear you could travel with peace of mind, knowing you were covered by SCTI. We look forward to covering your next adventure. Thanks for choosing us. Katie@SCTI

Insurance claim made

Return customer

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 08, 2018

I have used Southern Cross twice for my partner and I when travelling Europe, Canada and Central America. We had to make a claim after accidents requiring surgery or stitches and damaged personal belongings during said accidents. The staff were helpful and friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Nique. I'm so sorry to hear you needed surgery overseas, and hope you're well on the mend now. Thanks for the feedback on our friendly and helpful staff. I hope we could take some of the stress ... read more »

So easy to use

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 07, 2018

Thankfully I didn’t have to use my SCT insurance on my last trip overseas but I was so glad to have it. I find the older I get the more I worry about health and potential accidents whilst travelling. I’ve used SCT for ten years now with an average of two overseas trips each year. I did make a claim years ago when I found myself in hospital in Austria. I had no problems claiming back those expenses. I will continue to use SCT for any future trips and if they make a profit on my premiums, then I’m happy, because nothing happened and I had peace of mind.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Julianne. Thank you for the lovely feedback! I'm pleased your trip went without a hitch and you didn't have any reason to make a claim. We look forward to covering your next adventure. Thanks for choosing us! Katie@SCTI

Verified Customer Insurance claim made

Great Service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 06, 2018

The 5th time used SCTI. found very easy to get the policy using their website, had a medical problem on a cruise, forwarded all relevant accounts and paperwork to them, yes it took them 8 working days to ok it after receiving all the paperwork and always keep in touch with me, shame a few other companies are not as proficient. Thank you for your service and would recommend highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Grant. Thank you for your kind review and continued loyalty. I'm very sorry to hear you had a medical problem on your cruise ship and hope you've made a full recovery. All the best, Katie@SCTI

Verified Customer Insurance claim made

Outstanding Service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 06, 2018

Made a claim for lost glasses and passport whilst in the UK. Provided the relevant details to SCTI and the claim was settled promptly and without fuss. Would have no hesitation n recommending SCTI.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Doug. Sorry to hear you lost your glasses and passport on your trip to the UK. That must have been very frustrating! It’s good to hear that you were happy with the way your claim was handled. All the best, Katie@SCTI

Verified Customer

Great to have peace of mind after heart surgery

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 06, 2018

This is the 1st time I have used SCTI, I tracked them down after I had Heart surgery and needed cover to go to the USA, Staff on the phone were extremely accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. I purchased on line and the process was simple, I have also purchased a policy for a cruise I am going on at Christmas time.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Neil. Thank you for the lovely feedback and for taking the time to share this with others. Have a fantastic time on your cruise over Christmas! Safe travels, Katie@SCTI

Insurance claim made

Highly recommend for any overseas travel

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 05, 2018

Had to make a claim after my US trip after flight company cancelled flights and SCTI were fantastic, very easy to deal with and claim was processed quickly. Price is within range of other companies but I would highly recommend them

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Elissa. Sorry to hear your flights were cancelled on your recent trip - that must have been very frustrating. Thank you for your feedback on our quick and easy claims process. We hope to hear fr... read more »

Verified Customer

Didn't have to claim, so all was good....

3 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 05, 2018

Have used Southern Cross the last couple of times I have traveled. Prices are competitive, and easy to apply via the website. Have not had to make a claim, so can't comment on that.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Therese. Thanks for sharing your experience - it's great to hear your feedback. I'm pleased your recent trips have gone smoothly and you haven't had any reason to make a claim. Safe travels, Katie@SCTI

Verified Customer

Did not need to - but I was prompted to submit a claim after the trip

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 05, 2018

First time using this company, and did not need to make a claim. Price and cover was good, and they won me by reminding me to submit a claim if I needed to, after the trip....small point....but the contact was appreciated.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Nipo. I'm pleased your trip went without a hitch and you didn't have any reason to make a claim. It's great to hear you were happy to receive our emails. Thanks for choosing us. Katie@SCTI

1 of 122 pages


Questions & Answers

In the event of hospitalisation overseas does SCTI pay for all costs directly to the hospital and doctors fees .? Kathleen . .

Kathy asked on Nov 13, 2018

Answer this

Sorry i am not sure all i know is they were great with my situation.

They must settle all accounts direct. All hospitals we used were chosen by SCTI. We have been home just on a month and no accounts have come to us. I was in 3 hospitals across South America, and air lifted with a medical team X3 times, and initial transfer was X3 different modes of transport, all coordinated by SCTI. Again no accounts. My wife lodged receipts from the stay outside of what SCTI had paid for accommodation, and that also was refunded, eg taxis to and from hotel to hospital to support me. They have been great.

Hi Kathleen,

Thank you for your question.

If you had to visit a hospital overseas due to an unexpected event, you or someone acting on your behalf must contact our Emergency Assistance team as soon as possible.

They'll be able to review your claim, organise emergency evacuation if necessary, provide the hospital with a payment guarantee so you don’t have to pay up-front (subject to you meeting the terms and conditions of your policy), and keep your family back home informed of your situation.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, you're welcome to give us a call on 1800 196 484 or email us at info@scti.com.au. We would be more than happy to help.

Safe travels,

Katie@SCTI

Hi. I am travelling to Costa Rica next year. What are your conditions regarding missed connections. Is there a specified transit time you need to have before it is covered for missed connections? Also does it matter if the flights are on a different ticket? Look forward to hearing from you. Regards Margaret

Porsta D asked on Nov 11, 2018

Answer this

Hi Margaret,

Thank you for your questions. Please find answers to these below:

1. What are your conditions regarding missed connections?
If you miss a connection due to an unexpected event, and you're delayed overseas for more than 12 hours, we'll pay or reimburse you for either your additional costs OR any unused prepaid costs. You can find the conditions of cover on page 19 of our policy wording under the heading 'Travel interruption'.

2. Is there a specified transit time you need to have before it is covered for missed connections?
We ask that you allow a reasonable amount of time between flights to ensure you can make the connection but there is no specific time. We recommend you check with your airline to get a recommendation on how much time to allow between flights.

3. Does it matter if the flights are on a different ticket?
No. It's worth noting that if you do miss a flight, you'll need to submit a claim through your airline in the first instance, as they may be able to offer you a refund or credit note.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, you're welcome to give us a call on 1800 196 484 or email us at info@scti.com.au. We would be more than happy to help.

Safe travels,

Katie@SCTI

I'll be travelling for five months. My first two months are in the UK that has a reciprocal health cover with Australia. I don't need cover. My next three months are in the USA and Belize where I do need cover. I would like to take the annual multi trip policy. Also, am I covered if I'm working while there?

Jim asked on Oct 15, 2018

Answer this

Sorry not sure I have only used this for holidays ,they are very approachable drop them an email

Hi Jim, Best to give them a ring on 1800 196 484

Hi Jim, A couple of things to consider. Travel insurance covers more than just medical so having reciprocal health cover might not be a full reason to not take out cover. Also reciprocal health cover is basic cover only (bit like Medicare). I would check carefully that you are covered for recreational accidents (i.e. skiing injury).

See all 5 answers
See all 457 questions about Southern Cross Travel Insurance