Filter By:

Verified Customer Insurance claim made

Rib-tickler in Germany

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 25, 2018

Fell and broke a rib on German tour. SCTI excellent to deal with. Prompt payout with minimum fuss. No hesitation in recommending SCTI.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Insurance claim made

Typical Insurer

1 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 22, 2018

This insurer has greatly reduced their risk with the many exclusions within their PDS, I would not consider using this insurer in the future and would not recommend them to anyone looking for general cover. I would recommend one of the large general insurers who are more flexible, fair and efficient with their claims process.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Tony. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It's really useful for us to collect insights from our customers so we can continually improve our products and service. I'll pass thi... read more »

Peace of mind

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 22, 2018

We have used SCTI three times and fortunately didn't have to make a claim. As we travelled between France and England it gave us peace of mind to know that we were covered throughout our travels.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Hylma. I hope you had a fantastic time in Europe. I'm pleased to hear your trip went without a hitch and you didn't have any reason to make a claim. Thank you for your kind review and continued loyalty. Katie@SCTI

Insurance claim made

Good customer service

4 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 22, 2018

Polite customer service good follow up to questions minor claim paid promptly
Would you you again and recommend to others

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Roger. Thanks for your feedback. It’s great to hear that you were happy with the customer service and claims process. We look forward to covering your next trip. Katie@SCTI

Verified Customer

One of few insurers who would provide cover - thankfully not needed though.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 20, 2018

First time used, but thankfully, did not need to make a claim.
Almost no other insurers would cover me, so am thankful I found Southern Cross.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Lyn. Thank you for the lovely feedback and for taking the time to share this with others. I'm pleased your trip went without a hitch and you didn't have any reason to make a claim. Katie@SCTI

Tammin, Western Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 answers
Private message

Insurance claim made

SOOOO easy to deal with and brilliant with claims

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 20, 2018

I use SCTI every time I travel, my son went to America and ended up have a CT scan, got a bill for $7000
One phone call and boom all sorted. So absolutely easy and BRILLIANT cover
I have used it for when I broke my arm in Bali, they called me several times to check on me AND paid for an extra seat so I didn't bump my arm on the way home
Again BRILLIANT

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Lisa. Thanks for sharing your experiences - it's great to hear your feedback. It’s great to hear you found the whole process easy. We like to keep things simple! Safe travels, Katie@SCTI

Thailand Holiday

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 20, 2018

We have used SCTI 3 times and been very happy with the price and service we have been lucky haven't made any claims but had peace of mind that it was there if we needed will be happy to use SCTI again

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Helen. Thank you for your five-star review and continued loyalty. I’m happy you could travel with peace of mind. We look forward to covering your next adventure. Katie@SCTI

policy seemed Budget Priced

3 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 20, 2018

First time I have used SCTI
With the Royal Commission now going through the insurance sector at present
I would hate to have made a claim? The Industry seems to be tared with the same brush
My guess is that SCTI would have found some way of NOT paying any claim I may have made
Yes I did read the entire policy.
You need travel insurance as directed by DFAT to register for Smartraveller registration
That's the only reason I purchased it.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Bob. Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm pleased your trip went smoothly and you had no reason to make a claim. Katie@SCTI

SCTI is very good for Overseas insurance

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 18, 2018

We have used SCTi since 2012 and though haven't made a claim, we know people who have and are very happy

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Chris. Thank you for your continued loyalty. I'm pleased all your travels have gone smoothly and you have had no reason to make a claim. All the best, Katie@SCTI

Insurance claim made

Very good experience

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 18, 2018

This is the 3rd/4th time we have used SCTI for overseas travel. This last time was the first time we needed to make a claim. The policy was easy to arrange, then when our trip was disrupted, I enquired via phone whether I might make a claim. I was informed during that call that it sounded like a claim was appropriate. Subsequently, the claim process whilst exhaustive, was certainly doable, and what was needed was clearly stated via emails. I was able to provide the requested details and My claim was processed within a relatively short time, and communication was maintained by the claims team during the processing time. The claim was upheld, and paid promptly into our nominated account. Many thanks to all involved, we would recommend this company/product to all. Thank you Barbara

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Barb. Thank you for your kind review and continued loyalty. It's great to hear that our team were able guide you through the claims process to make it as stress-free as possible. Thanks for choosing us. Katie@SCTI

Insurance claim made

Amazing

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 18, 2018

I have used the company few times now travelling and they have been amazing. Really good and helpful and always there when you need to get in contact with them

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Maree. Thanks for sharing your experience - it's great to hear your feedback. I'm pleased you found the service to be helpful. We like to add the person touch! Safe travels, Katie@SCTI

Verified Customer Insurance claim made

Just lost me !

3 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 16, 2018

Have used scti for all my family for the last six years at least 12 times and recommended you guys to all my friends . Ease of online purchase , Service , price and the few times I have had to claim they have been excellent . I have just gone to purchase again for next years trip , and the price from when I looked a few weeks ago is now more than $200 dearer. The website is now more complicated and no excess on medical has been replaced so you have to pay extra for no excess on the whole policy. Common medical conditions with no changes for over 5 years ( covered under many other policies as included) now have an added premium . Other add ons as well . I have now googled several other well reviewed travel insurance companies and have found several , much easier and much cheaper . I am very disappointed , but you’ve just lost me and the other 3 policies my family was just about to purchase - sorry guys , going elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Carol. I’m sorry that we’re unable to offer you a more competitive premium on this occasion. I’ll make sure that your feedback about our premiums and the website is passed on to the relevant dep... read more »

Insurance claim made

Excellent cover

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 15, 2018

I’ve used this company for the last 3 years with separate trips. They are so competitive, the NDS is always easy to read and they are extremely helpful with processing. Definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Bianca. Thank you for the lovely feedback and for taking the time to share this with others. We hope to hear from you when you're planning your next adventure. Katie@SCTI

Good price and service

4 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 14, 2018

I found it easy to arrange the policy and thought that the follow up on my return was good inquiring if I needed to make a claim which, thankfully, I didn't. I have only used this insurer once but would use them again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Diane. It’s great to hear that you found the policy easy to set up. We like to keep things simple! Safe travels, Katie@SCTI

Perth

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 comments
  • 1 question
  • 2 answers
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Insurance claim made

Excellent company

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 14, 2018

Southern Cross are the only travel insurance company we have used ( 10 - 15 overseas trips in 11 years). Their Policies are easy to understand and they are very well priced. Up until recently we have been fortunate enough to have issue free holidays and have never had to make a claim.

During our most recent trip we had a family matter back home and had to cut the trip short. Southern Cross were very sympathetic to us, explained the claims process to us. They were quick to reply to us with any questions we had, and best of all, the claim was approved.

We will continue to use Southern Cross for all of our Travel insurance policies.

Definitely recommend them.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Brad. Thank you for your kind review and continued loyalty. Sorry to hear about the circumstances that led to you and your family cutting your trip short, this must have been very upsetting. I'm... read more »

Insurance claim made

Good price and fuss-free claim

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 14, 2018

Had a small claim on the "rental car " portion of our policy . Could not fault the service and prompt resolution.
Will always insure with them from now on.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Alison. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Product Review community. It’s good to hear your experience was a positive one. We look forward to covering your future travels. Katie@SCTI

Verified Customer Insurance claim made

Just keep doing what you do well.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 14, 2018

This is the second time that my family has needed to claim through SCTI. The first time was for cancelled flights in the US and the response was excellent. Prompt and courtious service with none of the usual dramas. The second claim was this year by our daughter. With only a few weeks until her tour started in the USA, the Top Deck tours cancelled the tour leaving her to change all her travel details with additional costs. SCTI deal with the issue effectively and efficiently. That kept her informed of the progress of the claim with a positive outcome. I would recommend SCTI to anyone travelling overseas.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Nicholas. Thanks for sharing both of your families' experiences. It's great to hear that our team were able guide you and your daughter through the claims process to make it as stress-free as possible. Safe travels, Katie@SCTI

Wavell Heights

  • 3 reviews
Private message

Verified Customer Insurance claim made

Great Value, Great Service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 14, 2018

I always take out travel insurance whenever we book a trip overseas, and have used Southern Cross a few times in recent years because they offer a good product at a reasonable price. In planning my next trip to Europe in 2019, I jumped in early to book airfares at the cheapest rates, only to find that that a planned tour was no longer operational. I booked an alternative tour but this required making flight changes which cost a considerable amount in change fees (one of cons against some cheap airfares online). Having taken travel insurance with Southern Cross after booking the original flights, I made a claim to recover my costs. They were excellent to deal with and allowed the claim with no fuss. I will continue to use them for future travel insurance.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Bill. Thank you for your feedback on our claims process. I'm pleased we could refund your costs without any hassle. We hope to hear from you when you’re ready for your next holiday. Katie@SCTI

Great Service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 13, 2018

We had no need to claim under the policy. Competive cost, handy tips before travel and post trip follow up is certainly not the norm from our experience and most appreciated.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi John. I'm pleased your trip went smoothly and you had no reason to make a claim. Thank you for your feedback on our competitive prices and email communications - glad you enjoyed receiving them. All the best, Katie@SCTI

Affordable cover

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 13, 2018

I have used SCTI several times in the past but have never had to make a claim. Very affordable insurance!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Helen. Thanks for the awesome feedback! I'm pleased your travels went without a hitch and you didn't have any reason to make a claim. Rest assured that you can count on us to be there if the unexpected does happen. Katie@SCTI

1 of 119 pages


Questions & Answers

Hi there, I have looked into your cover for my upcoming trip in Nepal in which I will be trekking to Everest Base Camp. I will be going as a group with some friends, with a tour guide organised with a licensed tour operator in Nepal (Trekking Mart). Just confirming, that as long as I am just trekking (no professional equipment will be required) that I will be covered up to 6,000m (or is it with no restriction on altitude level or snow condition)? This also includes all medical and helicopter (air) evacuation off the mountain in the case of an emergency? Thank you.

Kat asked on Sep 19, 2018

Answer this

Hi Kat,

Thanks for your question. Sounds like you have an exciting trip planned!

We're unable to offer you cover for altitudes of more than 3,000m. So as you're trekking to 6,000m, our policy may not be the best option for you.

I understand that this may not be the answer you were hoping for, however, for alternative insurance options you could try the Insurance Council of Australia (http://www.findaninsurer.com.au) or the NIBA’s website insurance broker (http://www.needabroker.com.au).

Have a fantastic time in Nepal.

Katie@SCTI

Are there any circumstances when I would have to pay a greater excess than the $100 quoted? I am 81 and have had medical operations for conditions not specified in the past 12 months. I am not on medications and have no problems in regard to these operations.

Sorad asked on Sep 01, 2018

Answer this

Hi Sorad,

Thanks for your question. There are no circumstances where you would have to pay more than the excess that is quoted at the time you purchase your travel insurance.

During the application process, you'll need to complete an online medical questionnaire to declare your pre-existing medical conditions. Once you've done this, we'll let you know the cost of having these conditions covered, however, it's up to you whether you choose to cover your pre-existing medical conditions. You can find more information here: https://www.scti.com.au/what-we-cover/pre-existing-conditions/

If you have any other questions, please feel free to call us on 1800 196 484.

Safe travels,

Katie@SCTI

Thank you for your prompt reply. It has been very helpful in choosing my travel insurance as some companies quote up to $3000 excess for claims from pre existing complaints, making it hardly worthwhile to take out insurance for a short holiday.

Hi, My wife and I will be travelling to Europe this coming September 24 upto October 15. Will going around Europe, Prague > Vienna > Munich > Zurich > Amsterdam > Berlin. From the country of destination selection, can you choose any of these countries and your will be cover all over Europe? Is the quote for the single trip is premium? Thanks and Regards, Bernard

Bernard asked on Aug 24, 2018

Answer this

Hi Bernard,

Thanks for your question - sounds like you have an exciting trip planned!

When you enter the countries into the destinations box, you'll see a link beneath the box that will show you all the other countries you're covered for, as well as Austria, Czech Republic, Netherlands, Germany and Switzerland.

The quote on our homepage is for a Single Trip, but you also have the option to buy our annual cover: https://www.scti.com.au/our-policies/annual-trip-insurance/.

If you have any other questions, please feel free to call us on 1800 196 484.

Safe travels,

Katie@SCTI

See all 452 questions about Southern Cross Travel Insurance