Filter By:

Verified Customer Insurance claim made

Exactly what you want from travel insurance

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 13, 2018

I have used SCTI many times however this trip was my 1st claim.
My adjoining flight to the main international flight overseas got delayed so I missed the international flight and had to buy tickets to get back home in excess of over $1,000. The claim process through SCTI was easy and straight forward, provided you have proof and it is not within your control what happened then the claim is very quick.
Will be using again in future. A+

Was this review helpful? Yes

Insurance claim made

Very Happy with the service Provided, no hasse claim process and successful payout

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 13, 2018

Recent trip to UK via Thailand with 2 young children. Had one of our connecting flights cancelled which led to a flight change cost of over $2800. Claim process was straight forward and i submitted a comprehensive and detailed explanation of events to SCTI. Less than 2 weeks later i received an email telling me that the claim would be paid in full (less the excess). Very happy and will continue to use SCTI in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Insurance claim made

Claim with STCI

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 12, 2018

Had my wallet stolen in Rome very pleased with STCI claim was done and outcome very good most definitely insure with STCI again

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Briza. I'm very sorry to hear your wallet was stolen in Italy - how frustrating! Thank you for the lovely feedback and for taking the time to share this with others. We look forward to covering your next trip. Katie@SCTI

Insurance claim made

Cancelled trip and insurance claim made easy! Very satisfied

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 11, 2018

We had never thought we’d need to claim on our insurance, however due the sudden poor health of a family member we needed to cancel our trip. STI were great to deal with, assisted us with our claim and processed it within 10 days of receiving our claim.
Very happy with the outcome.

Already telling all my friends that when travelling, use Southern Cross Travel insurance.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Danpav. I'm so sorry to hear about the circumstances that led to your claim. It's good to know that our team were able to guide you through the process to make it as stress-free as possible. All the best, Katie@SCTI

Verified Customer

First time.

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 10, 2018

This was the first time we used SCTI. I was advised to use SCTI by another traveller and when checking out online other travel insurance companies, I found SCTI to be as good or better than the other travel insurance offers. I would use S.C.T.I. again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Vietnam 18, thanks for choosing us! It's great to hear you'll be using us again for your future travels. All the best, Katie@SCTI

Southern Cross are very personable who treat you like a person and not just a number. They are readi

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 10, 2018

Second time I have used Siuthern Cross and will always use Southern Cross for travel insurance. Ivan highly recommend Southern Cross for travel insurance

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi John F. Thanks for the feedback - we like to add the person touch! Safe travels, Katie@SCTI

This was perfect

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 07, 2018

This was the first time we used S.C.T.I. I went online and checked out the other travel insurance company and found out this was the best travel insurance company. I would use S.C.T.I. again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Love My Shutters. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Product Review community. We look forward to covering your next trip. All the best, Katie@SCTI

Insurance claim made

Bali

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 07, 2018

At least 4 possibly more and have needed to claim twice with no problems. I’ll be back if ever needed

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Geoff. Thank you for your kind review and continued loyalty. We hope to hear from you when you’re planning your next adventure. Safe travels, Katie@SCTI

Verified Customer Insurance claim made

This company is great!!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 04, 2018

This company is great!
I have used them twice now.
Recent claim resolved efficiently and payment very prompt.
I will definitely use them for our future holidays.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Nicola. Thank you for the lovely feedback and for taking the time to share this with others. We hope to hear from you when you’re planning your next adventure. Katie@SCTI

Good service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 04, 2018

I called from overseas about a minor matter (a potential claim) and the operator explained to me clearly and quickly the rules and what I have to do. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Milos. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Product Review community. It's great to hear that our team were able to guide you through the process to make it as stress-free as possible. Safe travels, Katie@SCTI

Insurance claim made

Great experience

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 03, 2018

Used SCTI for the first time and found them very helpful. My claim was processed quickly and I was reimbursed with just the excess to pay. Will certainly use again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Niftyniv. Thank you for the lovely feedback and for taking the time to share this with others. It’s good to hear that you'll be using us in the future. Safe travels, Katie@SCTI

Insurance claim made

Great value

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 01, 2018

I have use SCTI 5 times now. They definitely provide value for money. I haven't made a claim but my daughter did and she was well reimbursed for her loss

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Nat. Thank you for your five star review and continued loyalty. It’s great to hear that you found it value for money. I hope we've helped put some extra spending money back in your pocket! We ho... read more »

Verified Customer

Second time using Southern Cross

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 30, 2018

This is the second time we have used Southern Cross Insurance. I happily used them again after our last positive experience where we had to visit a dentist for emergency treatment in Finland, once home we were reimbursed promptly. Thankfully we didn’t need to use it this time, however I felt confident should something go wrong. This will definitely be my go to travel insurance company to use.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Tracey. I hope you had an amazing time in Finland, despite the dentist visit! It’s great to hear that you had a positive claiming experience with SCTI. We look forward to covering your next adventure. Katie@SCTI

Felt confident with cover

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 29, 2018

First time I’ve used Southern Cross Travel Insurance. Covered medical conditions without much extra cost. Very comprehensive. Will certainly use again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Lynne. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Product Review community. We look forward to covering your next adventure. Thanks for choosing us! Katie@SCTI

Will continue to insure with SCTI in the future

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 29, 2018

Have used SCTI quite a few times over the past 12 years and have always found the cost reasonable and the service pretty good. We haven't made a claim but another relative did and found the claim process easy and prompt.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Wayne. Thank you for your kind review and continued loyalty. I'm pleased your travels have gone smoothly and you haven't had any reason to make a claim. We hope to hear from you when you’re ready for your next holiday. Safe travels, Katie@SCTI

Insurance claim made

Accident while on travel

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 29, 2018

First time using this insurance,had a accident while on travel.Try to claim for lost income, but it comes up can't find my cover .

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Jen. I'm very sorry to hear you had an accident overseas and hope you're making a speedy recovery. If you haven't already contacted us to appeal the claims decision, details on how to appeal and... read more »

Very happy with the service!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 29, 2018

First time we have used SCTI & we fortunately didn't need to make a claim. Health conditions were disclosed & I was pleasantly surprised that the policy cost was very reasonable! After buying the policy I needed to make changes as my son had his appendix removed suddenly. The consultant I spoke to was very helpful & he also notified me that my son was actually still a dependent & was therefore covered by my policy! However due to his surgery we needed to include this in the policy in case there were any problems whilst we were travelling. I thought the policy would increase substantially, however this wasn't the case, there was no increase from what I had initially paid when I had paid for two adults!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Jenni Lou. I hope your son is making a speedy recovery from his surgery. Thanks for sharing your experience - it's great to hear your feedback. Safe travels, Katie@SCTI

Happy

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 25, 2018

First time we have used SCTI.....the trip overseas included a cruise, thankfully didn't need to make a claim....price was o.k. and covered an existing medical condition. Would be happy to use them again!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Ian. Thanks for sharing your experience - it's great to hear your feedback. I'm pleased your trip went without a hitch and you didn't have any reason to make a claim. We look forward to covering your next trip. All the best, Katie@SCTI

Verified Customer

Happy too!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 23, 2018

First time we've used SCTI and did not need to make a claim. Satisfied with the price and covering an existing medical condition was not much extra.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Trev. Thanks for the five star review. I'm pleased your trip went smoothly and you had no reason to make a claim. We hope to hear from you when you’re planning your next adventure. Safe travels, Katie@SCTI

Sydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 comments
Private message

Insurance claim made

Happy Customer

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 22, 2018

I have used SCTI for 6 trips and have always been happy with their product. Price, ease of setting up, paperwork and claims pocess (and result) have been easy and professional.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance Official

Hi Paddy. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Product Review community. It’s good to hear that you're happy with our product and service. Safe travels, Katie@SCTI

1 of 124 pages


Questions & Answers

I've going overseas from Australia for a about a month and covering 2 countries before I get back to Australia. Can I get travel insurance only for my duration of stay in the first country, and NOT the second?

Rishi S asked on Dec 07, 2018

if insured with you and passed away overseas would body be returned home under your insurance

wiley asked on Dec 06, 2018

In the event of hospitalisation overseas does SCTI pay for all costs directly to the hospital and doctors fees .? Kathleen . .

Kathy asked on Nov 13, 2018

Answer this

Sorry i am not sure all i know is they were great with my situation.

They must settle all accounts direct. All hospitals we used were chosen by SCTI. We have been home just on a month and no accounts have come to us. I was in 3 hospitals across South America, and air lifted with a medical team X3 times, and initial transfer was X3 different modes of transport, all coordinated by SCTI. Again no accounts. My wife lodged receipts from the stay outside of what SCTI had paid for accommodation, and that also was refunded, eg taxis to and from hotel to hospital to support me. They have been great.

Hi Kathleen,

Thank you for your question.

If you had to visit a hospital overseas due to an unexpected event, you or someone acting on your behalf must contact our Emergency Assistance team as soon as possible.

They'll be able to review your claim, organise emergency evacuation if necessary, provide the hospital with a payment guarantee so you don’t have to pay up-front (subject to you meeting the terms and conditions of your policy), and keep your family back home informed of your situation.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, you're welcome to give us a call on 1800 196 484 or email us at info@scti.com.au. We would be more than happy to help.

Safe travels,

Katie@SCTI

See all 459 questions about Southern Cross Travel Insurance