Filter By:

Generation: Vitara - LY (2015-2018) Badge: RT-S Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Aug 2016 Drive: FWD

I love my car

3 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 26, 2018

I love my car it’s my everything but I must say it doesn’t pick up spend well if you are trying to pick up speed on the smallest of inclines the car cannot cope and revs high!! And the fuel economy has not been great after the first 12 months.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Adelaide, SA

  • 82 reviews
  • 64 comments
  • 18 answers
  • 129 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: Vitara - LY (2015-2018) Badge: RT-S Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Nov 2018 Drive: FWD

Excellent car - simple and you cannot beat it for value

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 26, 2018

This car is by no means a performance SUV the 1.6L Is just adequate for city driving and it will not complain if you push it. If you need any more performance than that you need to be looking at the 1.4L Turbo. The price for what you get is hands down the BEST value small SUV on the market. The closest in price was the Mitsubishi ASX but it was thirsty, ancient, heavy and that horrible CVT auto is subpar.

One thing that the Vitara excels at and a lot of people complain about in modern cars is visibility, is that it has excellent visibility all around with big windows! It is so easy to park and drive around the city!

The Suzuki has a good conventional auto and it is an excellent little unit, gear changes are smooth and it is very responsive from the get-go.

It has inclusions that feel ''premium" and most other brands WILL NOT give you in their entry level variants; such as LED running lights, GPS, reverse camera, paddle shifters (for the auto), nice looking alloy wheels, darker privacy rear windows and even LED welcome illumination on the front driver's and passenger's foot wells (Mazda charges over $200 just for the welcome illumination!)

The infotainment is excellent, the touch screen is very responsive and it comes with standard android auto/apple car play. I am comparing this to the horrible MAZDA MZD Infotainment system which is laggy, outdated and the touch screen cannot be used once the car is moving! Oh and they will charge you $500 for Android auto/Apple carplay (Shame on you Mazda)

The speakers are only average but for the audiophiles there is an premium upgrade speaker option!

The interior is very simplistic but very well thought out with ample space for what it is and excellent rear leg and headroom for its class which is better than a MAzda CX-3 or a Hyundai Kona (And those cars are more expensive).

Boot space is also one of the largest of its class (375L vs Kona 361L) which is a plus for a small family and it has the added dual floor for extra storage underneath!

IT has accessories galore and even though a lot are very expensive at least you get the option to customize your vehicle

The warranty is 5 years which is a plus but there is a catch - you need to have all the services done by a Suzuki dealer otherwise it reverts to a standard 3 yr

Service intervals are very short 10,000 or 6 months - for those who do not do many Kms like myself it means I will have to visit the dealership more often and they are not cheap averaging $250 per service which is over $500 per year (However I am a big believer of good maintenance so I find this to be a plus in a way). I think one year or 15,000kms others offer is pushing it for modern engines especially for stop/go city driving which causes extreme wear on the engine.

All in all this vehicle should be selling way more than it currently is however I believe a lot of people do not make informed decisions and get caught up in the hype buying what is ''trendy'' without thinking of practicality. Also a lot of ''expert" review I see online are very unfair on the Vitara as a lot of scores are very low, I used to own a Mazda CX5 and I can honestly say this is a better product, less gimmicks, no istop or other electric crap you don't need and way more practical and easy to drive around the city.vita

Was this review helpful? Yes

melbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 2 questions
  • 3 answers
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: Vitara - LY (2015-2018) Badge: RT-S Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Jan 2016

great car but auto transmission rough changing from first to second

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 17, 2018

2015 rts 1.6 lt have been happy so far car runs a lot better with 95 octane fuel . Only issue i have had is a rough gear change from first to second when driving hard. Wonder if this normal would love to know if anyone else has this issue.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments

Update booked it in to Suzuki dealer they did a software update now its silky smooth again

BLAKEHURST

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 comments
  • 2 answers
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: Vitara - LY (2015-2018) Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Jan 2018

complete city sub compact SUV

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 29, 2018

bought after having grand vitara for six years. only issue with grand vitara was fuel efficiency and my vitara is the answer for that. not a 4 wheel drive but fun to drive and easy to park. and good with goodies like reverse parking and sat nav. its fun to move around city. i manage to get 15 km / liter on my way to work and back and 13-15 km/liter on busy sydney roads and 17-19km/liter on highways. negative point is its not a car for over take or speedy moving but its worth the cost. and very soft on wallet by seldom trips to fuel station

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: Vitara - LY (2015-2018) Badge: S Turbo 2WD Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Oct 2017

The car quality is very poor and Oakleigh customer service is worst

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 22, 2018

Wrongly decided to buy this car as the quality of material is very poor. Some of the parts broken as soon as i bought it. Went to the service center to get replaced and they were not happy and raised the issue with Suzuki Australia. Then the service center agreed to replace but after few weeks the same part broken again. I am fed up making complaint again.

Purchased at: Gary J Smith

Was this review helpful? Yes

Adelaide

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 answer
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Purchase Generation: Vitara - LY (2015-2018) Badge: RT-S Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Sep 2017

Best Value SUV Out There

5 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 12, 2018

Had been looking for some time for a replacement vehicle for my wife’s old car which would be mainly used for work commuting so fuel economy was more important than power. With a budget of around $25k we searched the market for a SUV type vehicle and after many hours of research on various motoring websites we narrowed down our choice to 3 models. After inspecting and test driving our choices at the dealerships without doubt the Suzuki Vitara represented the best value for its size, features and warranty(5 Years but note: warranty conditions stipulate that it must be serviced every 6 months but it is fixed price servicing) The Vitara is economical, offers a comfortable ride and after 12 months of daily use we have no problems at all. The only slight disappointment is that despite having an excellent rear view camera there are no audible sensors when you are reversing so watch out for unwary pedestrians in car parks.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Melbourne

  • 1 review
  • 2 answers
Private message

Generation: Grand Vitara - JB (1999-2008) Transmission: Manual Date Purchased: Oct 2010

GV problems

2 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 05, 2018

Engine light on. Replaced two sensors. No change. Suzuki found oil residue over timing chain etc. Replaced chain, vvt unit, tensioner etc. 200km later, bad overheating. Cracked cylinder head. Replaced and now engine light on again. Suzuki blamed our mechanic for the oil sludge! Top quality oil used. Servicing well within suggested limits. Suzuki Aus not interested in covering timing chain costs. Cylinder head cracking appears common for this motor. Recall in the US. Why not on Aus?

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: Vitara - LY (2015-2018) Badge: RT-S Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Sep 2017

Really happy with it

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 30, 2018

For a fairly inexpensive small SUV I'm happy. It drives smoothly, but sometimes takes a second to turn on. Really annoying that the lights don't automatically go off when I turn the car off. The handling is good. Pretty noisy to drive on the freeway and not a lot of guts but it's a small engine and very petrol efficient to that's to be expected.

Purchased at: Suzuki Dealers

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 10 reviews
  • 7 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: Vitara - LY (2015-2018) Badge: Sport Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Apr 2011

Love it... Great Family Car

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 24, 2018

Perfect size to drive in the busy roads with the added advantage of good with Fuel.
We drive the car every day to and from work, picking up kids and as our weekend car.
Plenty of space to fit 2 car seats in the back.
2 car seat comfortable fit. Plenty of leg room in the back.
We love the large boots to fit anything...
Low cost maintains and low cost to run...
Great family car

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Canberra

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 9 answers
  • 13 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: Grand Vitara - JT (2009-2015) Badge: Prestige Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: May 2009

Perfect Car For my Needs

4 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 23, 2018

My Suzuki GV is the prestige model so it has all the fruit, full leather, sunroof, keyless entry and start etc. It's a great looking car, very reliable, easy to get in & out of, easy to park. It's a bit heavy on fuel for a 2.4 litre motor but I love it, so does everyone who drives it. With 140000 klms on the clock, so far it's proved to be super reliable. I use it as a 4x4 and it'll keep up with the big boys....for a lot less. I've towed a small caravan around Australia, easy as. Returned 12.8 l/100 klms overall. It's a great Car.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: Vitara - LY (2015-2018) Transmission: Manual Date Purchased: Apr 2015

I drove this car since new it was a pig

2 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 16, 2018

This car was was in need of wheel alignment but was told by Crick's service it was OK
Wrong . I get services done by auto leaders now cheaper and better. This car now goes well
Better services and wheel alignment. It took 3 years to have a decent car but will never recommend susuki

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 answers
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: Grand Vitara - JT (2009-2015) Badge: Prestige Transmission: Manual Date Purchased: Dec 2010

Keep away from Suzuki and their incompetent dealer network

1 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 28, 2018

Westpoint Indooroopilly not consitant with servicing cost$138 for oil filter,when asked to check rattle in rear told it was toebar,charged$128 for privlage.3 days latter glow plugs failed,repaired by Bundaberg dealer and informed the rear diff bushes broken repaired under warrenty at 90000kms engine light kept coming up , booked in to Keema Mt Gravatt. Crankshaft broke on way ,informed by SUZUKI new crankshaft 2 conrods would have engine back to new,after 8 weeks the vehicle was driven home only to discover cooling system had not been filled over heating engine as temp sensor was not covered by coolant,sent back on tow truck ,next time coolant hose to back of engine came off ,no clamp installed,next time clutch failure due to hose not clamped on,next time brake failure due to pipe not correctly installed ,next time oil leak due to poorly installed oil seal and sump gasket,next time oil leaks and vechile could not be driven at100kms hr due to severe vibration,informed by SUZUKI tyres out of balance nothing wrong with vechile,next same problems and the engine block was found .to be severly cracked SUZUKI agreed to install new engine Keema was asked to make sure clutch was ok Keema was asked to trade on new vechile offered$3000 a 99%lost in 2yrs After new engine installed dpf fault, loud noise through transmission,taken to Moorooka Suzuki at request of Suzuki,wrong oil installed by Keema and clutch found to be broken should not have been reinstalled Next problems starter motor failure due to only 1 not 3 bolts installed,front drive shafts failure due to only 2 bolts installed,continuing engine faultsleading to engine failure due to inlet manifold not correctlyinstalled 100%LOSS

Purchased at: Westpoint Autos

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Newcastle

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 answers
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: Vitara - LY (2015-2018) Badge: S Turbo 4WD Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Mar 2016

Love it

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 21, 2018

A great car. Very zippy and easy to get around town in and comfortable for longer drives as well. I love the techninc rear parking camera and sensor and the entertainment system. Boot is a little small. Feels bigger inside than it looks. A stylish car, good for kids .

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

melbourne

  • 1 review
  • 1 answer
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Purchase Generation: Vitara - LY (2015-2018) Badge: Sport Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Nov 2016

Love it

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 15, 2018

Ours is a Vitara 2016 turbo plenty of power and easey to drive.
Have not had any trouble with it, service cost are very reasonable
Would recommend it to anyone looking for this size car.
My wife and I love driving it. Suzuki seams to be a company that fly under the radar

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Perth

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: Vitara - LY (2015-2018) Badge: S Turbo 2WD Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Sep 2016

Beautiful to drive!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 06, 2018

This is the car of my dreams! It is an absolute joy to drive and I actually enjoying driving when I am in this car! The leather interior is stunning and has all the bells and whistles you could dream of! Extremely reliable so far while being fuel efficient and cheap to service as per the Suzuki service plan!

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Perth

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: Vitara - LY (2015-2018) Badge: S Turbo 2WD Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Sep 2016

Great Car with loads of power

4 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 06, 2018

We purchase the Suzuki Vitra Turbo in 2016 and absolutely love the car! The car is very smooth and easy to handle with a great turning circle - which is rare on cars that size these days.


Positives:
- Great fuel economy
- Good value for money
- Great boot space
- In built GPS and Carplay
- Looks impressive
- Great parking sensors
- Reasonably priced servicing

However....


Negatives
- Doors are hard to close
- Would have preferred all leather seating options
- We have had several issue with the in car display disconnecting, freezing or going static-y

5 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Margate

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Purchase Generation: Grand Vitara - JB (1999-2008) Transmission: Manual Date Purchased: Feb 2017

Engine failure at 130000km

2 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 23, 2018

At 130000km the JB 24 Engine failed, my grand daughter had brought the grand vitara 2008 model, 11months ago and has done 15000km, when the engine started to make rattle noise, she stopped the car turned off ignition waited then tried to start the car again, would not start. Towed to repairer told the Engine had a mechanical failure, not worth pulling engine appart, ordered a second hand motor at cost of $8700 installed.
The Trader "Charles Jansen Cars" "Jansen 4 x4" Moorabbin Victoria Australia.
The trader would not have anything to do with the failure and hung up, very bad, where to now I dont know except that it going to cost $8700.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Brisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Purchase Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Sep 2017

All features of costly cars in Economical price

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 19, 2018

I love Japanese cars...They are great. So while buying a car, I choose a couple of card like Nissan Juke, Qashqai, Kia Sportage, Honda CRV, Mitsubishi Outlander/ASX but finally landed getting a good deal and good car 3 months ago which is SUZUKI VITARA 2017 GL AUTO.

I will mention PROS and CONS of it as below.

PROS -

1. Very economical price
2. Great fuel economy (7.5 litters for 100 km)
3. Inbuilt Garmin GPS
4. Inbuilt Apple Car play
5. Spacious inside
6. Great Boot space
7. Overall great look
8. If you service twice a year then 5 years warranty and if you service once a year then 3 years warranty

CONS
1. Inbuilt GPS is sometimes taking long route so I prefer mobile google GPS sometimes
2. Engine power is not that great compared to other cars
3. Interior plastic quality is cheap quality

Overall. if you want all the features in your car with less price, then this is absolutely no doubt, great car.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Purchase Generation: Vitara - LY (2015-2018) Badge: RT-S Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Nov 2016

Great little SUV.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 01, 2017

I purchased this almost 1 year ago. so good on fuel in town and quiet and smooth on the highway. I have never had an issue with in. I like how you can personalise the inside to match the outside. Suzuki are great reliable cars and this is one of there best.

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 answer
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: Vitara - LY (2015-2018) Badge: S Turbo 2WD Transmission: Automatic Date Purchased: Feb 2017

A happy year

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 22, 2017

We bought the car 10 months ago and have congratulated ourselves constantly since.
We bought the turbo and she is light, economical and when you put your foot down, she lifts her skirts and goes!
Drivers height good. Access good. Servicing costs good. A few cute custom options available. We chose the inside trim accents. Plus the turbo comes with leather trim seats.
Plenty of room front and back. Seats are comfortable.
My single complaint is that the steering wheel obscures the indicator/light lever. But as everything is automatic, life is good.
Best car I've owned. Suits small family or people with pets.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

1 of 7 pages


Questions & Answers

Grand Vitara - JT (2009-2015)

Can a manual J24B be fitted to a automatic vehicle?

sid asked on Nov 21, 2018

Vitara - LY (2015-Present)

Has anybody else found that the auto can be rough when changing from 1st to 2nd when driven hard?

con asked on Nov 18, 2018

Answer this

I saw your review and my 2018 auto is excellent all the gears are silky smooth even when the car is cold. I would definitely take that back to the dealer to have it looked at.

Hi just thought i would update the post. I booked the car into the Suzuki dealer and they did a software update now changes are silky smooth again.

I have 2003 grand Vitara and the management system has a full memory and the light comes on and when rest it go's off for small amount of time. I have been told you can not clear the memory. So how do I get over this ?

N B asked on Oct 20, 2018

Answer this

Can I suggest you post on the Auszookers forum. They seem to have very knowledggable prople on board. I have seen figures that suggest there are 10% of vehicled driving with the check engine light on. From my experience this seems a bit low. You may have to bite the bullet and go to Suzuki. Good luuck.

Thank you for your help.

See all 68 questions about Suzuki Vitara / Grand Vitara

Your question will be specific to the model that you've selected.


Product Details