• 4 reviews
  • 2 comments
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: TM5 Date Purchased: Mar 2018

How do i give this 100 stars!?

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 19, 2018

I hate cooking,everything about it. Just hate it.
The thermomix has changed my Life! Literally. I have a baby and a very hungry husband who is sick of eating crap on a stick all the time, so I caved in and bought a thermomix. And wow! Cooking and preparing with this doesn't even bother me, I get excited when I use it, which is almost daily and then about 4 times per day on a weekend.
My baby and myself have allergies and be able to whip up something yummy in no time with hardly any effort still surprises me.
It steams, suite's, blends, kneeds, chops, obliterates, it does the lot.
I'm looking every day for new recipes to try and am loving being able to cook everything we can eat.
The time and stress this has saved me is amazing! Being guided through each ingredient and volume is a life saver. I have cooked everything from dinner to dessert and I am loving it!
I just chuck it in the dishwasher when I'm done and voila, all clean. It all to easy!
I can't find any shortfall with this, it's a very superior product.
You just can't go wrong with a thermomix!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Generation: TM31 Date Purchased: Apr 2013

Absolute Joke and ZERO customer service

1 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 18, 2018

Purchased my machine in 2013 and has been a dud since day 1. First my measuring cup and barons lid completely cracked and disintegrated, then it started spraying boiling hot liquid out from under the lid whilst cooking. I was scolded several times. Reported to Thermomix and didn’t even get a response from them at all.

Machine completely exploded in 2016 all over my kitchen. There was spaghetti bolognaise everywhere! Even all over my ceiling! Very lucky no one was near by. Reported to Thermomix and they took it for approximately a week to investigate further. Machine was returned to me with a note accompanying saying it had been serviced and was all in good working order.

It then came out that my machine was part of a faulty batch of serial numbers. A new green seal was sent out to me.

Kept having the same problem even with the new green seal installed and now in 2018 my lid completely undoes whilst the blades are running. I am now too scared to use it. Contacted Thermomix again and has again been sent for testing. Received an email tonight stating that again they found nothing wrong with it and apparently the lid detatching is completely normal.

Very very dangerous machine and the companies moral code and customer service are absolutely non existent! Will never give this company another cent!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Brisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Purchase Generation: TM5 Date Purchased: Oct 2014

Unreliable and poor quality

2 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 17, 2018

My very first day with it, in retrospect, was a perfect indication as to how the following days with it would be. The consultant set it up, turned it on and...nothing. So, I had to wait for a new one to arrive, my actual purchased one never even managing to turn on properly.

Since then it has been in for servicing 2 or 3 times and worked 100% correctly probably for as many days as I could count on two hands. The scales have been recalibrated more than once - despite us following all instructions, they never seem to work accurately more than a few days after calibration. We now use a cheap Kmart set of scales to measure.

We’ve had assorted problems with the machine shutting down mid recipe, the blades not rotating, the lid not closing properly....to the point where we just couldn’t be bothered sending it back each time - especially when it takes them a week to return it (we are less 20 kms from the service centre) after I go and drop it off.

It is great for making soups, purées, stocks and sauces but a good quality blender and a stove top could do the same thing. If I’d known before what I do now about the reliability, quality and customer service, there’s no way I’d buy it again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: TM31 Date Purchased: Jul 2014

Problems with Machine and Customer Service

2 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 13, 2018

I bought the old TM31 literally weeks before the new model came out. They were very happy to sell me this old one at the full price without letting me know about the release of the new model or reducing the price on the old model. I find this extremely unethical. The only and major issue I have had is the small plastic top that sits into the lid to allow the release of steam, pops off during cooking thus any hot liquid spurts out making a complete mess of the kitchen and if you're standing too close, you can get a burn. I have to put a wet cloth over the top to contain any mess when I use the machine but then I have a hell of a clean up of the outside of the machine. As such, I use my machine for cold cooking, chopping and shakes. Sort of makes it not worth the $$$. I just got off the phone from their support line and now have to have a service but I can either, deliver the machine myself, post the machine in a box myself or get a courier. Not only do you get a faulty machine but it's up to you to do all the running around to get things fixed after spending $$$ on the product. I find the company seriously wanting.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Melbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 answer
Private message

Verified Purchase Generation: TM5 Date Purchased: Dec 2016

Excellent Product, well designed, easy to use

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 11, 2018

I have had the TM5 just over a year and use it at least 2-3 times a week. I did not do any cooking prior to purchasing this appliance but I take great pleasure in using it. The quality of the dishes it produces are excellent, my wife has yet to use so I am certainly earning brownie points. It is very easy to keep clean and it reduces the amount of washing up dramatically. A very worthwhile addition to any kitchen.

Was this review helpful? Yes

sydney

  • 18 reviews
  • 5 comments
  • 6 answers
  • 10 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: TM5 Date Purchased: Oct 2014

Wonderful machine, mediocre quality, terrible customer service

3 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 30, 2018

I've had my TM5 for 3.5 years and I use it more than twice a day. I LOVE it and absolutely RAVE about how wonderful it is. It saves me so much time and has enabled me to produce quality, preservative free meals, and venture into DIY cosmetics and household products. I hated cooking before, and now I am seriously a wanna-be Nigella Lawson.

The concept of the Thermomix is genius, the way it works is simple and easy, and it turns cooking into something that is achievable for people who don't have a passion for it. I now cannot live without it. When I recently went overseas for 4 weeks I was lost without it, and hated purchasing packaged, preservative and chemical-ridden foods from the supermarket that I would usually whip up at home with fresh ingredients.

It has paid for itself in time savings, quality of health and money (I make so many products for a fraction of the commercial equivalent) many times over. The initial outlay is a lot, but with 12 months interest free it's easily budgeted.

However, over the 3.5 year lifespan of my machine(s) it has been to a service centre 4 times and replaced entirely once, making the quality extremely questionable. The plastic housing on the front of the machine has been replaced 4 times after cracking, and has now recently cracked again.

I have always sat the Thermomix on my bench in the same place. It is well vented and the machine doesn't get overly hot. It is not covered, or in a small gap. I have had a consultant view the area that I place it in and send photos to head office, and have been advised that the issue is not where it is placed.

Each time it cracks I'm advised that there was a faulty batch of these front housings created and I am just unlucky in receiving a replacement from this batch each time, but that last time it was replaced was 2 years ago, and it's now cracked again. This tells me that it's a manufacture or design fault, not bad luck.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Perth

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 4 answers
Private message

Generation: TM5 Date Purchased: Mar 2018

Cookido functionality extremely poor

3 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 23, 2018

This machine is good but save your money and don’t bother buying it. You can buy the TM31 for less than half the price with the same outcomes. You simply need to follow a paper or iPad recipe instead of using the screen on the TM5. The ongoing costs of cookido subscription will be another cost saver for you.
So, the smart money is on the old model. All the functions you want without ongoing costs or functions that are technologically extremely limited.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Preston

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: TM5 Date Purchased: Dec 2017

Amazing, at a price

5 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 22, 2018

It's hard to say anything that hasn't been said. Taking the price out of the equation the only issue I can find is the difficulty of getting food out of the bowl can be troublesome. The product is really an all-round fantastic addition to any Kitchen. But be ready to open your wallet

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: TM31 Date Purchased: Oct 2017

It’s a good processor and a pot....get over it

1 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 09, 2018

The fhermomix is a food processor and a pot. All of the things you make with it can be done very easily and for less $$$.
You need to clean it 7 times every meal.
With any chilled meal it ends up like slip.
Amy cooked meal ends up as slop.
Risotto is butchered by the stir function and pulverized by the blade function.
Chicken and meat are shredded when stirred or cut turning it into shaved pieces of meat.
I would not recommend this product to anyone ever.
But at your own risk

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 answer
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: TM31 Date Purchased: Jan 2011

EDIT: From Bad to Great - How Thermomix turned it around.

4 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 27, 2018

After all the drama below Thermomix turned things around. Acknowledging the delays and stuff ups and getting things sorted quickly. I have a lot more faith in upgrading one day. I was surprised how reasonable the quoted repair costs were.

tried to get our thermomix repaired. Its sitting in our entrance now for 9 days and still no collection. Yet if i call and say i would like to buy one i get 10 sales people harassing me.
Over inflated pricing should at least see reasonable customer service. if you arent spending money, they arent interested

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: TM5 Date Purchased: Sep 2017

Best kitchen investment ever!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 21, 2018

I procrastinated for so so long. I wish I hadn't. I wish I purchased this machine years ago when my kids were tiny; when I was time-poor, uninspired with meal-cooking and wondering how on earth to best get early foods into them. This machine is used every day, if not three or four times a day. We are eating like I would never have believed possible - so much flavour and not a pre-made jar or paste in sight and made in a fraction of the time I would have anticipated for such meals. The Cookidoo concept is extraordinary; I will continue this subscription beyond my initial 6-month free trial (which came with the Key). Aside from Thermomix-tested recipes, there are so many blogs, websites and social media pages with countless opportunities to recipe test and which provide continual inspiration. The machine's power and quality blows me away and I love that I can weigh directly into the jug. Clean up is a breeze but ideally I would like a second jug and blade-set- I'm saving my pennies for those. I simply can't imagine going back to a kitchen without a Thermomix. Like all things however, you will get out of it what you put in. If new to thermal cooking be prepared for something of a learning curve. My confidence was quickly soaring between the Recipe Community, the Basic cookbook and the consultant spending some time helping me get going; that and the machine is exceptionally user-friendly out of the box. This baby sits pride of place on my bench-top never to be put away, I can't get enough!

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Mareeba

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 answers
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: TM5 Date Purchased: Sep 2015

The best

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 05, 2018

I've had both the tm31 and the new one, the tm5. Loved both. The tm5 is definitely more user friendly for kids and husbands haha. With Step by step instructions on the touch screen cooking can't get any easier then this. Love the hands free cooking. Can feed my family of 4 men and myself easily

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Sale

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 1 question
  • 4 answers
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: TM5 Date Purchased: Jun 2016

The mrs loves it

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 25, 2018

We have two kids who are flat out all day so it makes cooking real easy when it comes to meal times. Breaky, smoothies, dinner, desserts, snacks, you name the thermo mix will produce the goods. Our kids are fussy eaters but we throw every vegetable and anything healthy into it and they just scoff it down. It’s that simple to use, even I could work it out

Was this review helpful? Yes

Wollongong

  • 1 review
  • 3 answers
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: TM21 Date Purchased: Jan 2016

Ripoff

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 25, 2018

My machine has only been used a couple of times since purchase 3 years ago. I have not found enough recipes to warrant getting the machine out. The scales are unreliable and the plastic lid has already been replaced twice. I now find an 888 error which means I can throw this 2000 dollar appliance in the bin. I am soo annoyed and sorry I ever bought into this scam . Please think twice before forking out soo much money for such an inferior product. Shame Thermomix.
☹️☹️☹️☹️☹️

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Generation: TM5 Date Purchased: Jul 2015

I use it everyday!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 22, 2018

I nearly use my thermomix everyday! I cannot live without it. I use it to chop, blend, steam, fry, mixing etc I basically rely on it! I know that they are expensive but I personally think it’s money worth spending. I have 2 children and I think it’s easy and fast to use. Especially the cleaning!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Melbourne

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: TM5 Date Purchased: Jan 2017

Excellent machine, need more recipes translated into English

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 17, 2018

I purchased this thermomix a few months ago now. Not long after I purchased it, the scales broke. Was so disappointed. After contacting thermomix directly (a number given to me my the lady to sold the thermomix to me), they were very helpful and I wa able to have my machine fixed within a couple of days.

I would like to be able to use my thermomix more, but am struggling to find enough recipes in Chinese for a non Chinese reading asian (embarrassing I know...), as I know there are a lot of asian recipes out there but I can’t use them as they are not translated and google translate gives me gibberish for some of the ingredients.

I did not sign up to the cook-key for this reason as a lot of the recipes from other countries are not translated into English.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 answers
  • 9 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: TM31 Date Purchased: Nov 2017

Enjoying my windfall gadget

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 15, 2018

I received an unexpected bequest from my uncle and I decided to buy a Thermomix, more or less on the spur of the moment, because I saw one for half price on Gumtree. Because it was a windfall, I didn’t feel the need to justify spending $1000 on a piece of gadgetry. The woman selling the machine said it belong to her sister who had only used it about 12 times. It was so clean, and still in its packaging, that it was hard to believe it’d been used at all. However it was the old model, the TM 31 which got some bad press for scalding people.
I had never been to a Thermomix presentation so I had no real idea how it worked (apart from watching a very funny skit by the two Kates on You-tube). However there are tons of really great demonstration videos online and I got up to speed pretty quickly.
One of the first things I made was parsley sauce. You put the three ingredients in the jug, measuring as you go. When you press all the buttons and wander off. What comes out the other end is perfect parsley sauce. After that, there is no going back. So almost instantly I started using it for everything. Chicken pate, tapenade, hummus for a party that I was having. Perfect Hollandaise sauce to go with the poached salmon. Vanilla custard and fresh fruit jelly for a trifle. I love the fact you can weigh things as you go. Also its capacity to clean itself afterwards is useful, although you still have to wash it after you’ve been making sticky things and it’s a bit tricky taking it all apart and putting it together again.
However, there have been some failures. Some are probably failures in the recipe, the Pavlova was a disaster and I found myself having to make a new one on Christmas morning with my old electric beater. Some are the result of bad design. I followed the recipe for mashed potatoes and suddenly had boiling milk pushing up the lid and spurting out into the air like a volcano. This didn’t overly worry me. If you jam the lid down with a Chux cloth you can stop that. But I would never make that recipe again anyway, I would boil the potatoes in the microwave or pressure cooker at a third of the time it takes in the Thermomix and then mash it in the machine.
I think the problem with all the recipes is an attempt to use the Thermomix for absolutely everything. So, the logic goes, you can throw away all your other gadgets. The answer to this is you can’t. I still need my food processor for when I want to grate carrots for instance, or slice things. I need my electric beater because things like beaten egg whites can come straight out of the bowl, unlike the Thermo mix where you have to work it from between the blades with a spatula. And I can steam things just as effectively and probably quicker in the microwave.
Overall though, I am really enjoying having it. And I’m really enjoying the huge range of recipes online. So if you’ve got the money, I would say go for it!

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Brisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: TM5 Date Purchased: Apr 2017

Love it.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 13, 2018

Purchased this last year.

Love love love it.

I like to cook but having two small kids makes cooking from scratch hard. Since having a thermomix in my clutches i cook many many things from scratch with ease. Drinks, pasta, soup, desserts (steamed a cheesecake the other day).

We love ours and use it every day

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Ballarat

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 answers
  • 13 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: TM5 Date Purchased: Aug 2015

Servicing Centre is a Joke

3 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 09, 2018

The machine started off being amazing, now it is a couple of years old and after being used every day needs a bit of a service- sometimes it just stops working and most of the time it runs loudly and roughly. I called the service centre in the hope of getting a general service and basically I got a "no" unless I send in videos of what it is doing... I mean really... videos? Just accept the damn machine and fix it. If I had have known it was this much effort to service, I would never have bought one in the first place.

Purchased at: Gumtree

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: TM21 Date Purchased: Jan 2018

Review demonstration

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 05, 2018

My hobby is serious cooking done with passion I can cook most of cuisine recipes popular Thai Chinese Mexican Italian Asian Indian etc
I am confident that Thermomix will be very good and we have bought it for my son who does not know how to cook the machine is excellent tool for starters professionals and also it precise time and temperature cooking method We need to use BBQ Oven Charcoal grill and wok on certain times Thermomix covers most of cuisine I will write one more review after we use it I am retired from work and as after 2 years we plan to relocate from Australia so Thermomix will be good easy for two people or four

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

1 of 32 pages


Questions & Answers

TM5

I have purchased a second hand TM5 am I able to connect to a local consultant to learn how to use it? Thanks

Rebecca S asked on Apr 10, 2018

Answer this

If you contact Thermomix they may be able to point you in the right direction.

Contact Thermomix direct, they will give you contact details of consultants in your area. As a potential customer they should be pleased to talk to you.

TM5

Hi, In my thermomix Recipe chip is not working, means it is not displaying me the built-in recipes.is this a technical issue.?

SSH asked on Mar 17, 2018

Answer this

Yeah I think so. Call head office or your consultant. I haven't ever had a problem with my chip

TM5

I'm looking at buying a second hand TM5. How important is it that I have the order number from the previous owner? I want to be able to get in touch with a consultant so as they can help me learn about it etc.

Jess asked on Mar 03, 2018

Answer this

Having the original owners name and the name of the original consultant will help when processing for any repairs.

The Serial Number will also assist and is on the Screen in Settings/About Thermomix. If you contact Thermomix they can put you in touch with someone local to assist.

See all 92 questions about Thermomix

Your question will be specific to the model that you've selected.


Product Details

TM5 TM31 ** TM21 **
Price (RRP) $1939 $1939 $1939
Capacity 2L 2L 2L
Motor Power 500 500 500
Release Date Sep 2014 Oct 2008
Replaced By TM5 TM31

** Replaced by another product