Nepal - India - Sri Lanka

3 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 08, 2018

Flights were very badly booked with 25 hour stopovers booked at night when only one night booked. A waste of a day. Tour guides not suitable and not very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

We have just returned from 12 days in China. It was excellent.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 29, 2018

We are older, so it was important for us to feel safe which we did at all times. We were very impressed our guides who spoke excellent English and provided good commentary and information. They catered for the varied needs of whole group very well. The accommodation was good, the schedule interesting and the options excellent.

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

China

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 27, 2018

Just came back from China on a tripadeal holiday. Had a fantastic time, all guides were fantastic. Always on time and very well organised. Thanks to walker, frank, Sam and Emily for an enjoyable holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer

India Golden Triangle + Goa - 2 for 1 deal

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 25, 2018

Traveled November 2018 for 13 days/11 nights including Delhi, Jaipur, Agra & Goa. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip with our tour guide Vivek who was a wealth of knowledge and very articulate, helped us to get great pics and very caring. We covered all the main tourist attractions & were also shown many restaurants that were suitable for our lunch and our wonderful driver Dave did an amazing job at keeping us safe. Tipping**We were advised to tip the guide/ driver prior to travel, however were not advised off all the tipping we had to do each time we visited the toilet, took off shoes at temples, porters, wait staff - while this is not much money - it was a hassle as it is very hard to obtain small denominations - thinking it would have been easier to put money into a kitty so the guide could take care of this **Goa extension** - we had a beautiful time relaxing in Goa however the domestic flights/hotel vouchers are issued in country - only 15kg checked baggage. The local tour company were not great, didn't have correct mobile details, were an hour late in picking us up from our hotel. Wifi** only available in hotels (12hrs at a time) not in public places unless you have Indian sim. Overall a great trip and would most definitely travel with Trip A Deal again

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

India .

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 25, 2018

Last month I got back from my second trip to India this year with TripaDeal . . A very big thank you to the Indian Travel Company" SpecialHolidays" Who were very efficient and reliable . Meet and Greet ..always there on time . Always able to answer questions. The Guides in Delhi , The Himalayas and Varanasi were excellent . Hotels were good . All the Drivers .. Mini Bus in Delhi for the Triangle , Car in the Himalayas , and Mini Bus in Varanasi .. TY to everyone involved ..you rock !! Tripadeal staff are always helpful , online or on the phone . Don't know how you can do such great deals at such a reasonable price .

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer

European Mega Tour had terrible accommodation - that's why price is low

2 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 23, 2018

Most hotels were out of town, at least 30 minutes from tourist spots. Difficult to get around to sight see.
Classic was Venice - hotel was 33 km out of Venice and 4 km from the nearest public transport so needed a taxi.
Or Klagenfurt Austria where we were put up in a new hotel still being completed - temporary stair handrails, no air conditioning and 40 km out of town!
And you have to book and pay first before you find out where your hotels are and then it's too late
Never again with this shonk company

Was this review helpful? Yes

stars

2 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 23, 2018

why give 5 stars when you got run around from tour guide ..that is a nonsense . any time all of you members have to argue about tours it is worth 1 star

Was this review helpful? Yes

Festivals of India

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 23, 2018

I have just arrived home from one of the best holidays in India, thanks to Trip a Deal who provide multiple tours around the world and the Indian Company Special Holidays who organised every little detail perfectly, we upgraded and the hotels were clean and luxurious, our guide was full of very informative information as he had studied history at uni, his organisational skills were perfect. This was a festival trip and I must say the Pushka Camel Festival was amazing, everywhere was a photoshoot, so much colour and we had free time to mingle amongst the locals. But we were also meant to experience the Diwali Festival was a let down, no local festival just kept together in a buffet room in our hotel and all the action was happening outside, fireworks and celebrations all around but not for us unfortunately. This trip was value for money and I would recommend this trip for anyone who wishes to experience a taste of India and all it has to offer.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Tripadeal Come in Spinner

2 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 22, 2018

12 Day 2 for 1 China
What initially starts off as a bargain buy turns out to be a tour with many hidden costs. $150 ITOF fee (In Country Transport Operator Fee paid to one of the tour guides for the second passenger) $12 per day per person for tipping the guide and up to $800+ on additional optional tours.(Be aware that these addons are charged at double the normal price....the Mag Lev train was 150Yuan Trip a deal cost, normal price 80 Yuan) Do not pay the tip if you do not do an optional tour as you have not used the guide.
Be prepared for hard selling behind closed doors: Silk, Tea and Traditional Chinese Medicine. Also the Terracotta Factory, Pearl shop and Jade shop all want your hard earned dollar for products that are way over priced with no guarantee of the quality or their true value.
Early starts 530 am some days and late arrivals to hotels is the norm with many hours on the bus and the one night unpack and repack is tiring.
The guides were full on with their info on their country but reluctant to really help if it was out side the square of the itinerary, for example where to go to a shop or when we would have lunch sometimes not until 3pm.
Do not be pressured into doing any extra paid tour it is your choice and not all extras are that wonderful. The planned free time is limited to a minimum if you do all the options this means you are put on a time frame sometimes as little as half an hour to do any shopping or lunch.
If you leave early be prepared for bread, warm milk and a banana and a jam portion NO hotel breakfast.
Strenghten your leg muscles before you leave as the public amenities have very few western facilities and no paper more could be said but politeness is in order here.
Highlights: The Mag Lev Train 431kms per hour is mad. High speed rail 300kms per hour is still fast.
Shanghai at night is amazing and the variety of diverse designs in high rise buildings across the cities visited is inspiring.
That was China but wish it had not been Tripa(triple)dealed.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Gold Coast Australia

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

12 days Beauty of Japan

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 22, 2018

The Japan part of the trip was very good. Trip a Deal arranged a full itinerary and made sure we saw the best of Japan. Full days and evenings at leisure, which was good as some nights we were too tired to go out. Our tour guide Chimoneyi was very good with the history of Japan, but she didn’t point out many things along the way. She also never seemed to know where we were. Going through China was a nightmare, and I would advise anyone doing this to obtain a Chinese visa before you go. We stood in a queue for 3 hours to obtain the 24/144hours visa.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 question
  • 1 answer
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Have had great communication though

3 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 21, 2018

So sad, booked a 12 Day 2 for 1 China deal for $1998, not long after a deal comes out for 15 days with Hainan Island Included for $150 cheaper, not able to change tour even though dept dates are the same :(

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Burleigh

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer

Disappointed to discover our Speedboat was changed to a Ferry so big they drove Semi-Trailer Trucks

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 19, 2018

Trip a Deal. 15 day island hopping (explorer) of Greek Islands With island transfers on a speedboat. Gave me images of traveling in luxury with the wind in my hair.
Imagine my surprise to arrive at the Santorini port to find no speedboat but we were booked on a ferry so big, they were driving semi-trailer trucks and cars onto it. Hundreds of people queued to board. This change had not been communicated to us by Trip a Deal or any of their suppliers.
Well things happen right! So you put it behind you and get on with your holiday to Paros. On departure of Paros again we discovered our next speedboat had also been changed to a ferry also so big again we watched semi-trailer trucks and cars drive on while hundreds of people queued to board. Again we were not notified of this change.
One change in a type of transport being changed I could accept happens from time to time, but when all our speed boats were changed to massive ferries I felt short changed.
On this Island hopping trip they dropped us off at each island and left us to discover the island ourselves. The itinerary had us arriving in Paros at 1.45pm, but due to the change in transport it was 8.00pm before arriving in our Hotel in Paros leaving no time to prepare our exploration for the following day. This was a considerable loss of time. With only a few days on each island our time was valuable.
Our hotel in Mykonos was on an area of the island where they were closing for the season. Even the local little supermarket was already closed. Each day there we had to travel by bus into the town of Mykonos for sight seeing. This location was inconvenient and I thought a travel Company would be aware of this unless of course they do not research their products. Even worse they do research their products but still put us there.
The final disappointment came when I arrived in Dubai for a lengthy stopover and discovered they had not provided me with a voucher for the lounge which was on my flight itinerary. I was unaware a voucher was required.
On a recent correspondence a Trip a Deal customer relations officer said
“I do understand where you are coming from, however, as per our Terms and conditions, itinerary changes are subject to change based on availability and other external factors beyond TripADeal’s control”.
I think the least they could have done is provide good customer service and advise Customers by phone or email or even through their supplier that there was changes to my itinerary. Showing up at a port to find such a dramatic change was a very disappointing experience and then just a bitter feeling on the second occasion.
Trip a Deal offered us $50.00 for one transfer that was changed from a speedboat to a ferry and nothing for the second. They did offer me $50 for not providing me with the voucher for the lounge. My travel companions and I felt this offer fell far short of fair compensation for suppling such an inferior product and such poor communication.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Adelaide

  • 1 review
  • 1 answer
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Two for one China 10 day tour with Terra Cotta warrior extension

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 16, 2018

My wife and i just did the above mentioned trip.
Arrived in Shenzhen with immediate transfer to Chengdu.
Had first problem here. Itinerary said visit conservation district etc etc etc, and then have the rest of the day free, (or do the optional tour). Guide said we had to do the 150 yuan (each) optional tour or sort ourselves out for the entire day. After much arguing (not just us, but other people as well), we were told "ok" a bus will pick you up and take you there and back for free. We said that it was definitely included in our itinerary.
Hotel was fantastic, with friendly helpful staff, but virtually no western food.

Next day was onto the high speed bullet train to Yichang. No problems here.

Next got onto the China Goddess 1 (itinerary said China Goddess 2 - a newer boat). Boarding was a complete shambles. Tour guide was somewhat uninformed a about process, but did her best to help.
Got onboard about 9:30pm. Got told to just wait. Couldn't hear much as it was so noisy.
Tripadeal didn't mention the "options" that had to be sorted out before a room could be allocated.
Options included room upgrades, food upgrades, drinks packages.
We opted for the room upgrade/food upgrade/drinks package. Drinks package said beer, wine, softdrinks, juice, alcohol all day long. Went to get my first bourbon and coke, and was told that it wasn't included. Apparently, alcohol meant Chinese wine. Had to go back downstairs and sort out the more expensive package that did include spirits (still cheap by Australian standards, only $45 per day per person)
The food upgrade just meant that you could eat at one of the quieter places that only held about 30 people. Food was exactly the same everywhere. The "non upgraded" buffet was like a war zone at every meal time. Highly recommend the upgrade.
Eventually got our room key (the room itself certainly wasn't an upgrade, but was ok). All rooms had a balcony.
Then told that we had to book the next day optional tours by 10:30pm or miss out. Another shambles, but eventually got it done. They wouldn't give us tickets, we had to go back and line up for tickets the next morning.

The 4 night cruise (after initial check in difficulties) was absolutely worth doing. Beautiful scenery and lots to do (if you bought the optional day tours). Tours were pretty cheap, and were great. Tour guides spoke near perfect English and were very helpful.
The boat itself was ok, but with nothing to do onboard unless you liked playing cards. All good, no problems for just 4 nights.
It is only a bit of an inconvenience if you don't like or eat Chinese food. Pretty well no western food at all. Make sure that you bring your own if this applies to you.
Most of the crew only knew a few words of English, but were so willing to try and help in any way that they could. One incredible lady even used her phone to show on screen questions and answers in English.
They were all so lovely, and deserved to be treated nicely. It was very irritating to see a few ignorant passengers getting angry with them from time to time. There was not one crew member who deserved that sort of passenger response.

Disembarkation (in Chonquing) was very organised and simple.

Next, was the transfer to Xian by train.
Did the optinal tour in the morning, (not much choice, as this was the bus taking us to the train station).
Tour guide was very helpful at getting us onto the bullet train, and it was "smooth sailing" from then.

Arrived in Xian and checked into another beautiful hotel.
Next day was the Terra Cotta Warriors. Worth seeing, and our tour guide made it easy to do.
Spent another night in Xian, with time to do some site seeing. A beautiful interesting place.

We did not return to Australia from Xian as the itinerary said, but flew on to Guangzhou and stayed the night there (at the airline's expense). Got put into a 5 star hotel, incredible. Flew back to Aus the next day.
China Southern Airlines were absolutely fantastic. Great in flight service, happy smiling flight attendants, heaps of leg room, always on time.

All in all was a fantastic holiday at a great price (even with the Aus $400 each optional tours).
A few minor hiccups, which could be sorted out with a little more input from Tripadeal.
Tripadeal needs to "educate" the cruise company (even though it is not really their job) on how to improve check in and tour booking methods, therfore minimising customer annoyances and frustration.
Tripadeal could do better by informing it's customers about "check in" options, and improve the details of the cruise formalities.
It could also provide information on the cruise room/food/drink options to allow customers to assess what they might want to do, or could afford.
The hotels used were all first class, but, it would have been nice if they had a couple of choices of western food.
Tripadeal could do a little more homework on the itinerary. Not all optional tours were listed, the sequence of each day's events was not entirely accurate (only a problem with the incident that i mentioned in this review).
This was our second trip with Tripadeal, and yes, we would definitely use them again without hesitation.
The few minor negative comments that i have made, are only a very small price to pay for such a value for money trip.
I am sure that the few minor difficulties encountered were caused by the tour operators that Tripadeal use, and not by Tripadeal themselves, but, Tripadeal could maybe add a few "rules or requirements" to these operators.
Great job Tripadeal, looking forward to our next one.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Terrible service on the phone

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 16, 2018

Called for a refund, took 7 business days of being stuffed around but 4 different people, every time i called no one knew what was going on. No one wanted to deal with it, staff kept mixing up their stories and going back on their word. Will never use this place again, what a joke.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Japan Trip

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 13, 2018

The tripadeal Japan tour was well-organised and included some of Japan's most well-loved spots. I was totally amazed at such a beautiful country and we were blessed to have seen Mt. Fuji in all its splendour. Accommodation was comfortable and clean. The Drivers were highly professional and made sure our trip was smooth. Our tour guide Cindy was wonderful, hospitable and funny and made the experience truly memorable. We loved Japan and can't wait to return. Our transit through China however, was both unnecessary and frustrating. We were astounded at how much we could fit into such a short stay with out feeling rushed.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Excellent value, exceeded our expectations. Yangtze River Cruise 2 for 1

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 11, 2018

We booked a 12 day Trip A Deal holiday which included a 4 day Yangtze River cruise with China Goddess 2, which includied Beijing, Xi’an and Chengdu in October 2018. The river cruise was fabulous and breathtaking, the ship much better than we thought. All had a balcony room and was much bigger than a usual big cruise liner. We were offered an upgrade on arrival to a better room, choice of 3 restaurants and drink package. The room upgrade wasn’t worth it as not too much bigger coasting 1500 Chinese money for room ($300 Aud). We choose the middle upgrade which was 300 each Chinese and included beer and wine each meal and was on the 3rd floor of the ship only housing about 50 people. The 700 Chinese each upgrade was for deck 5 restaurant with full drink package and restaurant only seated about 30. All 3 restaurants served exactly the same food menu, but we felt the middle upgrade was worth it as quieter and more intimate. We did our own Chinese Visas in Brisbane which cost us $109 Aud each and was efficient taking only 4 days (Trip a Deal offer a courier service to do your visa for you but was more than double each). The Brisbane Chinese Processing Centre answer emails but not phone calls. We booked an appointment online and were in and out in 10 minutes. The collection date given was correct, they say unless you receive a call then all is ok to collect on the 4th business day, which only took a short time to collect. This was our our first trip with Trip A Deal and we would highly recommend them. From booking the holiday to post holiday everything was perfect and great value for money, everything explained in advance. Excellent English speaking tour operators. Weather was fabulous and China exceeded our expectations. It was clean, friendly and everything on steroids. The tour was full on but we knew that when we booked it, so be prepared and if you struggle walking, then there is opportunity on every tour to only do as much as you can. For a small fee on some tours a person will turn up with a wheelchair, especially the walking tour like the Terra Cotta warriors and Forbidden City, which can have long walks. The Great Wall can still be seen without having to walk it, there are coffee shops at the base to wait whilst other members walk it. The optional tours were good be not forced. Golden Mask show excellent and worth going if you like that type of thing. The fast speed trains are comfortable and airports massive and efficient, despite the extra security, however long walks but luckily escalators are available everywhere and lots of time between the itinerary. All hotels were excellent standard and exceeded what we thought, even though the beds were hard, surprisingly they are extremely comfortable. Breakfasts are good however a suggestion would be to have a microwave available as the food is not hot enough, but think that is how the Chinese like it. Our Chinese guide organised a couple of Chinese massages in our hotel room, which were excellent and only cost $60 Aud for 90 minutes. Make sure you don’t have any type of battery, phones, battery packs etc in your main luggage, ok in hand luggage. We didn’t realise that Facebook and google banned in China so be mindful about this. All hotels offered free wifi. You always get a couple of negative people on a tour, which we did, however they were not justified and probably whinge on whatever tour they were on. You get what you pay for, however our 2 for 1 trip was great value and still was excellent, worth every penny and more. Thank you Trip a Deal for a great trip and we will definitely use you again.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

China

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 11, 2018

We did China with tripadeal. My husband kicked and screamed as he did not want to do it. Trust me he changed his mind. Great tour and we'll run. Only thing not enough free time so maybe add a day into tours and some of hotels too far out of cities

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Yangtze Cruise 2 for 1 not recommended

2 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 11, 2018

We just returned from the Yangtze cruise 2 for 1 and wouldn't recommend it. While the scenery and optional tours were good and well organised, the food on the vessel was dreadful, and many on the tour got sick with gastro. Our flight schedule was horrendous as we had to fly first to Sydney and then via Beijing which added a good 10 hours flying time, although there are direct flights from Brisbane. Everyone else on the tour flew via Guangzhou including those from Brisbane and Sydney. Unfortunately, there is no option to alter flights, you're pretty much stuck with what they book for you. This was our third trip with Tripadeal and the first two to China and India were much better.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sri Lanka and Maldives

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 10, 2018

We just returned from Sri Lanka and Maldives.
What a lovely holiday. Tour leader Sammy was wonderful funny, and informative .
Accomodation brilliant, everything ran beautifully.
Great value. Will definitely do another holiday
With trip a deal, very professional company.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Melbourne

  • 1 review
  • 1 question
  • 1 answer
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Worst travel agent ever

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 10, 2018

Accidentally paid tripadeal funds for our next holiday booking as we had used tripadeal before (horrible experience) spoke to three different people, because you can never get to speak to the same person. All three tripadeal representatives told us that our accidentally paid funds to them would be returned in 5 days. Guess what contacted them on the fifth day and a new representative told us “oh no you have been misinformed we only refund cancellations (which this is not) every 14 days.
We travel frequently and our warning to anyone using tripadeal is that they are the most dishonest travel agent we have ever come across, to the point of telling outright lies .. which we had already raised with them on our previous holiday booking with them.
We have reported them to AFTA for their Dishonesty in the hope they may take action against this company.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

1 of 24 pages


Questions & Answers

Is there any feedback on the African related trips? many thanks.

GDEE asked on Nov 29, 2018

Answer this

Hi we did south africa in 2017 with trip a deal and had a fantastic time we had 8 game drives included at mabula game lodge everything from pick ups to teansfers were awesome. Also the included tours were top knotch

Hi anyone done Taste of Taiwan? Did you need visa for overnight stop in China? Thanks Chris

Chris M asked on Nov 28, 2018

Answer this

Hi doing Taiwan in April. Will keep you posted

Phoned TripaDeal in regards to China visa. They said no as we are in transit.

Much appreciated. Enjoy your trip.
Chris M

Anyone done the mongolia trip?

Jan asked on Nov 25, 2018

See all 148 questions about Tripadeal