Fares

2 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 17, 2018

Am fed up with surcharges which means Uber often costs more than a cab . I am returning to cabs !!! Those cabbies pay a fortune for their plates and deserve a break. Communicating with uber via email is worse than root canal therapy... it's all too hard... I feel very sorry for the drivers

Was this review helpful? Yes

Pick up your act

2 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 12, 2018

The new rating system is absolutely disgusting if a driver is going to mark me down I want to know why. I am not rude I always thank them and I have been marked down, why ? I am going back to taxis at least they don't RATE us and we are under no obligation to please the poor little dears

Was this review helpful? Yes

melbourne

  • 21 reviews
  • 2 comments
  • 11 helpful votes
Private message

uber eats deliveries

2 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 05, 2018

been doing uber eats for one month money is no big and restaurants and witing fines unhappy customers are part of this driver is alwys to blame after few weeks less job and offers when u start new is ok drivers are no protected we do hard job but no appreciation uber dont care no support

Was this review helpful? Yes

Surge charge

2 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 03, 2018

6.30 pm three cars in the miranda area looking for rides $15.00 job blows out to $28.00. A eleven minute ride...
Rip off as one hour later it was $16.00 return

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer

Non English speaking Uber drivers?

2 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 31, 2018

While my driver was pleasant and the car clean, he barely spoke English and was having trouble following the navigation. Giving him directions was difficult unless it was simple left and right instructions. There is a tricky road feed, merge thing right near my work and I was actually concerned for my safety that he could be hit by a vehicle as he did not understand my warning and clearly did not see the merge coming. Luckily there were no cars at that time. I thought basic conversation English and understanding the nav tools would have been a minimum requirement of Uber. Apparently not.
Richard B

Was this review helpful? Yes

Retrograde step

2 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 29, 2018

The decision by Uber to allow drivers to accept jobs before completing rides is a bad move, inconsiderate of customer service. I booked a car last night and it was 1 minute away. He then headed off in the wrong direction and arrived some minutes later, after I had phoned to find out where he was going.

Meantime several empty cabs went past.

A bad move!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Melbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Uber - I am going back to taxis

2 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 23, 2018

Dear Uber

I am weary of:

- not being able to choose the route taken. One of your drivers proudly pointed out that she had ordered a woman from her car because she wanted to chose the route taken. One driver told me he was going to "educate" me. Another told me to "get out".

- your drivers ringing me up to see where I am going so they can decide whether to take the fare. Am I going to the airport?

- you sending messages to tell me to say hello to your drivers. I always do but I regularly get nothing in response.

- your drivers complaining about their passengers.

- of hearing from your drivers how badly they are paid. And no, I am not going to tip them.

The odd thing is that taxis are lifting their game but Uber drivers are becoming ruder.

I find that I am taking Uber less and less because Uber drivers are just too much trouble.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rating mystery

2 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 12, 2018

An uber driver picked me up today and wondered why my rating was so low. It was 4.09 when he picked me up. The low rating was most likely due to my 16 year old using my account. However after the ride for which I was rated 5, my overall rate decreased from 4.09 to 4.07. How does that work?

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

I used to love Uber

2 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 06, 2018

I was in love with Uber. I now have multiple experiences of cancellation. Uber drivers are displaying all the behaviours I disliked in cab drivers. I will walk and catch trams as much as I can. Never liked cabs. Was so rapt to have Uber around. Cabs now rank above Uber.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

annoying text messages

2 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 04, 2018

I keep getting text messages from [number removed] telling me Your Uber code is XXXX. I receive many message at odd times including early hours of the morning.
I disabled the service by replaying STOP but it did not seem to work and a minute later I received 2 texts.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Cancellations

2 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 07, 2018

Over the last few days i have had any awful time with uber. First, the app put my location about 30 mins from where i was, then charged me a cancellation fee. I've now had 2 drivers in a row cancel their ride even though i could see the cars drive past me! There is also apparently no contact support section on the app. I would not recommend this if you have any other options.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer

Went to wrong location and billed me for $10 for not being there

2 out of 5, reviewed on May 03, 2018

May 1st 2018. Hired Uber for a pick up in Sydney. The guy went to the wrong address. OK, these things happen but he couldn't find it so I rebooked Uber and the next driver found it no problem. First guy bills me $10 for the cancellation. I contact Uber through their portal. A sign flashes saying we're going to credit you $10 TOWARDS your next UBER trip. Not happy. Then, no written receipt of that is offered. Once again, not happy. Not the way to do business and YES I understand new Australians are drawn to this line of work and use Google Maps but if they cannot find it, I don't want to pay for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dodgy driver

2 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 23, 2018

The uber driver that supposed to pick me up on Sunday 1/4/2018, was a dodgy one. After I contact Uber, it was said that he was within 300m from where I live, will came in 3 minutes. But he kept driving around my area for more than 30 minutes. And few times, he just stopped around 1 km from where I live. I tried to call him 2X, and send him message 2X. But no respond. I believe he did it intentionally. He know I need to go to the airport. He only want me to cancel it, so he can get $10 cancellation fee. There was no traffic, around my area, because it was Sunday evening. Finally, I had to cancel my uber, and called taxi, that cost me $60, plus cancellation fee $10.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Overcharging

2 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 13, 2018

Get it right Uber, don't bloody quote one thing then take loads more out. Where can I get in touch with Uber. If the driver this morning did the right thing, he would have known not to take the road he did. I don't believe I should pay for his mistake.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Disgusted with driver

2 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 26, 2018

Could you please get your drivers to Understand English directions. I said 50 Dudley St. He said he was outside that address. He was lying as I was actually living at that address & standing outside waiting
how dare you charge me $8 cancellation fee.
This is fraud & will be reported. What sort of people are you employing. Immigration will be advised re some of your drivers

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Perth

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 helpful votes
Private message

Used to be good

2 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 21, 2018

Used to like uber because they had Australians driving for them, now it's just mohommad and pajeet doing the driving and they're just as smelly and perverted as the ones driving taxis.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Please improve your customer services at Melbourne uber particular reception.

2 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 02, 2018

As customer services worker i humble suggest to improve your front office reception. Staffs a bit arrogant. Thanks you. The registration process should be smoothly as possible for everyone. It is a 2 ways services.

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Very disappointing

2 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 26, 2018

I’m going back to taxis. Arrival time is always later than estimated and actual fare is always well above estimated. This service promises a lot but fails to deliver. Don’t waste your time and money.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Watch Out for No Pick-up Scam to Collect Cancellation Fees

2 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 16, 2018

On many occasions, I will call for an Uber while standing outside in an easy-to-access location - and wait for 10-20 minutes for the driver to arrive, but no one shows. I can often see them on the app, not moving or stopping after travelling only part of the way to my location... And then they wait. I refuse to cancel the ride, so the waiting game continues until it pops up on my screen saying "connecting with another driver" or claims I have cancelled the ride... I then call for a second Uber - if I am lucky they come, but often the above scenario plays out 3-4 times before I get a "real" driver that comes to pick me up. Only recently was I made aware of this scam and told to check my credit card - and sure enough... There are tons of $10 cancellation fees over the last few months where drivers claim I have cancelled my ride and profited from leaving me standing on the side of the road.... How is this even allowed!!!

I just moved to a new country and I call Uber often, so I just became aware that I was being scammed repeatedly and this has come at a considerable expense to me. I try to contact Uber to explain and they force you to attach the complaint to a specific ride and then refuse to acknowledge this as an ongoing issue with previous rides. There is not a way to speak to someone or address issues like this with a support system because Uber doesn't seem to have one.

This should be illegal to enforce fees that people can exploit - and provides no proper way to rectify it. This needs to be addressed because the good few drivers are going to pay for the bad ones that repeatedly scam the customer.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

sydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Bring back authentic uber

2 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 02, 2018

I’ve always loved Uber but lately every time I book them there’s a 1.5 surcharge so I cancel and use a cab knowing they’re cheaper. Bring back authentic Uber! I know you can do it!!!

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

1 of 4 pages


Questions & Answers

How do u get an Uber for 2 people?

Michelle J asked on Aug 09, 2018

Answer this

I am assuming that you mean one car and two passengers. If so it is like getting a taxi (one car+2 passengers) except you book via the Uber app.

Yep 1 Uber car for 2 ppl. Only $5 cheaper than a taxi and poor service

Has anyone got a uber from brisbane entertainment center into the city and do the prices go up if there is a event on ??

Courtney C asked on Jul 22, 2018

Answer this

I can’t claim to have made that trip but
1. I used the front of the app to get a quote of $25-$35 (UberX)
2. I used the HELP section of the app and got a quote of $35-$45 (UberX)
Obviously it depends on variables as listed in the app including exact destination, traffic, road conditions etc.
Also listed in the app you would have seen ‘dynamic pricing’ (aka surging) which relates to demand which then causes price changes.. so yes I believe events impact prices.

Sometimes, if you find you are in a surge area, walking a block or two away from the venue will make a huge difference to the price. If you can't for whatever reason, get an uber to the next suburb, then get out and call another. Very unlikely to get a surge in the next suburb

Do Uber have maxi-taxis on the Gold Coast or cars capable of carrying 5 adults?

Magic asked on May 29, 2018

Answer this

The answer is in the app.

See all 29 questions about Uber