Uber - Opaque and Distant

2 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 05, 2018

Uber is becoming a victim of success and also taking customers for granted. Their website has been set up to make it damn hard for a proper complaint to be quickly dealt with. Rude, lazy drivers have no place, yet they truly exist, especially and sadly more so in Australia, than in my experience in the US or UK. So you complain at a driver who expects you to walk miles and then wont help you with your case, swears at you and then cancels. He then charges you $10 to cancel. Bloody disgrace! Then to add insult to injury you get a credit after jumping through hoops to complain and not a refund to your CC. Arrogant and a very sharp way of holding onto cash, especially if you decide never to use them again!
great idea being ruined by greed and forgetting the customer.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Melbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

"Driver is completing a job nearby"

2 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 04, 2018

This endlessly annoying aspect of Uber has meant that I have been late for appointments, trains, planes, etc. Most frustrating has been when I have canceled and had the SAME driver take the fare when I try again - still completing the job nearby. I like Uber and I understand that the desperate drivers are working for peanuts but this makes it impossible to use.

Was this review helpful? Yes

perth

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Missed flight no uber driver turned up

2 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 27, 2018

Book ride day before for Trip to airport for 0500 am flight, No driver turned up at scheduled time and I missed the flight, Uber are very unreliable out of the normal working day hours for pickups.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Fares

2 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 17, 2018

Am fed up with surcharges which means Uber often costs more than a cab . I am returning to cabs !!! Those cabbies pay a fortune for their plates and deserve a break. Communicating with uber via email is worse than root canal therapy... it's all too hard... I feel very sorry for the drivers

Was this review helpful? Yes

Pick up your act

2 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 12, 2018

The new rating system is absolutely disgusting if a driver is going to mark me down I want to know why. I am not rude I always thank them and I have been marked down, why ? I am going back to taxis at least they don't RATE us and we are under no obligation to please the poor little dears

Was this review helpful? Yes

melbourne

  • 21 reviews
  • 2 comments
  • 11 helpful votes
Private message

uber eats deliveries

2 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 05, 2018

been doing uber eats for one month money is no big and restaurants and witing fines unhappy customers are part of this driver is alwys to blame after few weeks less job and offers when u start new is ok drivers are no protected we do hard job but no appreciation uber dont care no support

Was this review helpful? Yes

Surge charge

2 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 03, 2018

6.30 pm three cars in the miranda area looking for rides $15.00 job blows out to $28.00. A eleven minute ride...
Rip off as one hour later it was $16.00 return

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer

Non English speaking Uber drivers?

2 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 31, 2018

While my driver was pleasant and the car clean, he barely spoke English and was having trouble following the navigation. Giving him directions was difficult unless it was simple left and right instructions. There is a tricky road feed, merge thing right near my work and I was actually concerned for my safety that he could be hit by a vehicle as he did not understand my warning and clearly did not see the merge coming. Luckily there were no cars at that time. I thought basic conversation English and understanding the nav tools would have been a minimum requirement of Uber. Apparently not.
Richard B

Was this review helpful? Yes

Retrograde step

2 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 29, 2018

The decision by Uber to allow drivers to accept jobs before completing rides is a bad move, inconsiderate of customer service. I booked a car last night and it was 1 minute away. He then headed off in the wrong direction and arrived some minutes later, after I had phoned to find out where he was going.

Meantime several empty cabs went past.

A bad move!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Melbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Uber - I am going back to taxis

2 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 23, 2018

Dear Uber

I am weary of:

- not being able to choose the route taken. One of your drivers proudly pointed out that she had ordered a woman from her car because she wanted to chose the route taken. One driver told me he was going to "educate" me. Another told me to "get out".

- your drivers ringing me up to see where I am going so they can decide whether to take the fare. Am I going to the airport?

- you sending messages to tell me to say hello to your drivers. I always do but I regularly get nothing in response.

- your drivers complaining about their passengers.

- of hearing from your drivers how badly they are paid. And no, I am not going to tip them.

The odd thing is that taxis are lifting their game but Uber drivers are becoming ruder.

I find that I am taking Uber less and less because Uber drivers are just too much trouble.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Rating mystery

2 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 12, 2018

An uber driver picked me up today and wondered why my rating was so low. It was 4.09 when he picked me up. The low rating was most likely due to my 16 year old using my account. However after the ride for which I was rated 5, my overall rate decreased from 4.09 to 4.07. How does that work?

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

I used to love Uber

2 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 06, 2018

I was in love with Uber. I now have multiple experiences of cancellation. Uber drivers are displaying all the behaviours I disliked in cab drivers. I will walk and catch trams as much as I can. Never liked cabs. Was so rapt to have Uber around. Cabs now rank above Uber.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

annoying text messages

2 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 04, 2018

I keep getting text messages from [number removed] telling me Your Uber code is XXXX. I receive many message at odd times including early hours of the morning.
I disabled the service by replaying STOP but it did not seem to work and a minute later I received 2 texts.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Cancellations

2 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 07, 2018

Over the last few days i have had any awful time with uber. First, the app put my location about 30 mins from where i was, then charged me a cancellation fee. I've now had 2 drivers in a row cancel their ride even though i could see the cars drive past me! There is also apparently no contact support section on the app. I would not recommend this if you have any other options.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer

Went to wrong location and billed me for $10 for not being there

2 out of 5, reviewed on May 03, 2018

May 1st 2018. Hired Uber for a pick up in Sydney. The guy went to the wrong address. OK, these things happen but he couldn't find it so I rebooked Uber and the next driver found it no problem. First guy bills me $10 for the cancellation. I contact Uber through their portal. A sign flashes saying we're going to credit you $10 TOWARDS your next UBER trip. Not happy. Then, no written receipt of that is offered. Once again, not happy. Not the way to do business and YES I understand new Australians are drawn to this line of work and use Google Maps but if they cannot find it, I don't want to pay for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dodgy driver

2 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 23, 2018

The uber driver that supposed to pick me up on Sunday 1/4/2018, was a dodgy one. After I contact Uber, it was said that he was within 300m from where I live, will came in 3 minutes. But he kept driving around my area for more than 30 minutes. And few times, he just stopped around 1 km from where I live. I tried to call him 2X, and send him message 2X. But no respond. I believe he did it intentionally. He know I need to go to the airport. He only want me to cancel it, so he can get $10 cancellation fee. There was no traffic, around my area, because it was Sunday evening. Finally, I had to cancel my uber, and called taxi, that cost me $60, plus cancellation fee $10.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Overcharging

2 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 13, 2018

Get it right Uber, don't bloody quote one thing then take loads more out. Where can I get in touch with Uber. If the driver this morning did the right thing, he would have known not to take the road he did. I don't believe I should pay for his mistake.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Disgusted with driver

2 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 26, 2018

Could you please get your drivers to Understand English directions. I said 50 Dudley St. He said he was outside that address. He was lying as I was actually living at that address & standing outside waiting
how dare you charge me $8 cancellation fee.
This is fraud & will be reported. What sort of people are you employing. Immigration will be advised re some of your drivers

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Perth

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 helpful votes
Private message

Used to be good

2 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 21, 2018

Used to like uber because they had Australians driving for them, now it's just mohommad and pajeet doing the driving and they're just as smelly and perverted as the ones driving taxis.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Please improve your customer services at Melbourne uber particular reception.

2 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 02, 2018

As customer services worker i humble suggest to improve your front office reception. Staffs a bit arrogant. Thanks you. The registration process should be smoothly as possible for everyone. It is a 2 ways services.

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

1 of 4 pages


Questions & Answers

Can I pay cash to the driver in Melbourne Australia?

Blossoms asked on Oct 31, 2018

Answer this

I am not aware of any way to pay the driver cash if you use the App to order a ride. However if you arranged for him to pick you up without using the App (call him/her privately) you could probably get him/her to quote you for the trip and pay him cash. They are not supposed to do it but many do. I am not sure of the insurance arrangements in these cases.

As far as I know (and the procedure I followed) was to book the uber through the app upon which you include your bank details. Once your journey is completed uber bills you through your bank account and this is how they collect the money.
The downside to this is, for my ride the driver did not arrive for over 20 minutes and I was charged a 10AUD cancellation fee which I have disapproved.
Further I had to cancel my bank card and have a new card issued by my bank to prevent any further deductions from my bank account by uber.
Giving bank details to unknown parties are tricky and something I choose to avoid.
Uber is not any cheaper than taking a silver cab or a 13cab (some drivers do not know their way around Melbourne - watch out that your fair is not increased due to this)
Uber hires any person who wishes to drive for them, they lack professionalism and I would not use the uber service in the future
Hope this helps :)

Thank you for the information. I too dont like giving my credit card details. Sometimes I have missed important apointments dueto the delay òf the taxi more than 45 mins

Has anyone found a phone number that you can call to speak to a human being if you have an issue you can't fix through the App? The 1300 number on the site, even though it says 24/7 rider support turns out to be only support for the drivers.

Peter asked on Oct 24, 2018

Answer this

Read both your review and this question.

My family and friends have been using Uber extensively for nearly 3 years and have never been able to find any reference to Rider phone support. Please provide the relevant Rider web link you mentioned.

Research of their website only mentions Driver phone support.
(..Got questions about driving with Uber?
Driving with Uber...
5 Ways to Contact Uber for Help
Whether you’re on the road or taking the day off, drivers can contact Uber for support whenever they need to — 24 hours a day, 7 days a week...
4. Phone support..)

Drivers main feedback is about riders who forget phone, sunglasses etc. Typically Drivers get abused, threatened, assaulted and receive no monetary compensation. I guess it is not surprising then that some items are tossed out (or taken by a subsequent rider).

Also not surprising, given hacking etc, that Uber refuse to help when a rider can’t provide correct account details.

Anyway there are a number of additional documented ways to contact Uber and specifically include lost items.

A friend forgot their phone in a taxi. Rang the taxi company and provided all the trip details etc. If you guessed the phone was returned you guessed wrong. New Phone=$1100.

If you do locate an Uber contact number, find a ‘phone contactable company’ or get your phone back please share here. Thanks.

I happened to be a passenger in a car and I spotted a very large building with an UBER sign on it. I went in and the staff there were very helpful. It was a Driver centre where they processed applications for new drivers. I explained my problem to the young man at the counter who said one of the support staff could help me. After about 15 minutes a young lady listened to my story again, took identification, found the driver and called him. He had the phone. He subsequently dropped it into the Driver Centre where I will pick it up today. Happy (if very lucky) ending. Write down your user name and password as if you get them wrong you haven;'t got a chance.

More interesting is that the driver still had it.

In this instance you solved the issue by visiting their office which contradicts with your ‘no chance’ comment above !?

I assume you were mistaken about the Rider contact number.

Did you give a ‘Lost Item Return Fee’, for YOUR inconvenience to the driver, as listed in the Help section of the app?
Hint - your phone is worth more than $20 :)

See all 4 answers
How do u get an Uber for 2 people?

Michelle J asked on Aug 09, 2018

Answer this

I am assuming that you mean one car and two passengers. If so it is like getting a taxi (one car+2 passengers) except you book via the Uber app.

Yep 1 Uber car for 2 ppl. Only $5 cheaper than a taxi and poor service

See all 31 questions about Uber