I used to love Uber

2 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 06, 2018

I was in love with Uber. I now have multiple experiences of cancellation. Uber drivers are displaying all the behaviours I disliked in cab drivers. I will walk and catch trams as much as I can. Never liked cabs. Was so rapt to have Uber around. Cabs now rank above Uber.

Was this review helpful? Yes

annoying text messages

2 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 04, 2018

I keep getting text messages from [number removed] telling me Your Uber code is XXXX. I receive many message at odd times including early hours of the morning.
I disabled the service by replaying STOP but it did not seem to work and a minute later I received 2 texts.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Cancellations

2 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 07, 2018

Over the last few days i have had any awful time with uber. First, the app put my location about 30 mins from where i was, then charged me a cancellation fee. I've now had 2 drivers in a row cancel their ride even though i could see the cars drive past me! There is also apparently no contact support section on the app. I would not recommend this if you have any other options.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer

Went to wrong location and billed me for $10 for not being there

2 out of 5, reviewed on May 03, 2018

May 1st 2018. Hired Uber for a pick up in Sydney. The guy went to the wrong address. OK, these things happen but he couldn't find it so I rebooked Uber and the next driver found it no problem. First guy bills me $10 for the cancellation. I contact Uber through their portal. A sign flashes saying we're going to credit you $10 TOWARDS your next UBER trip. Not happy. Then, no written receipt of that is offered. Once again, not happy. Not the way to do business and YES I understand new Australians are drawn to this line of work and use Google Maps but if they cannot find it, I don't want to pay for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Dodgy driver

2 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 23, 2018

The uber driver that supposed to pick me up on Sunday 1/4/2018, was a dodgy one. After I contact Uber, it was said that he was within 300m from where I live, will came in 3 minutes. But he kept driving around my area for more than 30 minutes. And few times, he just stopped around 1 km from where I live. I tried to call him 2X, and send him message 2X. But no respond. I believe he did it intentionally. He know I need to go to the airport. He only want me to cancel it, so he can get $10 cancellation fee. There was no traffic, around my area, because it was Sunday evening. Finally, I had to cancel my uber, and called taxi, that cost me $60, plus cancellation fee $10.

Was this review helpful? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Overcharging

2 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 13, 2018

Get it right Uber, don't bloody quote one thing then take loads more out. Where can I get in touch with Uber. If the driver this morning did the right thing, he would have known not to take the road he did. I don't believe I should pay for his mistake.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Disgusted with driver

2 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 26, 2018

Could you please get your drivers to Understand English directions. I said 50 Dudley St. He said he was outside that address. He was lying as I was actually living at that address & standing outside waiting
how dare you charge me $8 cancellation fee.
This is fraud & will be reported. What sort of people are you employing. Immigration will be advised re some of your drivers

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Perth

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 helpful votes
Private message

Used to be good

2 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 21, 2018

Used to like uber because they had Australians driving for them, now it's just mohommad and pajeet doing the driving and they're just as smelly and perverted as the ones driving taxis.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Please improve your customer services at Melbourne uber particular reception.

2 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 02, 2018

As customer services worker i humble suggest to improve your front office reception. Staffs a bit arrogant. Thanks you. The registration process should be smoothly as possible for everyone. It is a 2 ways services.

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Very disappointing

2 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 26, 2018

I’m going back to taxis. Arrival time is always later than estimated and actual fare is always well above estimated. This service promises a lot but fails to deliver. Don’t waste your time and money.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Watch Out for No Pick-up Scam to Collect Cancellation Fees

2 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 16, 2018

On many occasions, I will call for an Uber while standing outside in an easy-to-access location - and wait for 10-20 minutes for the driver to arrive, but no one shows. I can often see them on the app, not moving or stopping after travelling only part of the way to my location... And then they wait. I refuse to cancel the ride, so the waiting game continues until it pops up on my screen saying "connecting with another driver" or claims I have cancelled the ride... I then call for a second Uber - if I am lucky they come, but often the above scenario plays out 3-4 times before I get a "real" driver that comes to pick me up. Only recently was I made aware of this scam and told to check my credit card - and sure enough... There are tons of $10 cancellation fees over the last few months where drivers claim I have cancelled my ride and profited from leaving me standing on the side of the road.... How is this even allowed!!!

I just moved to a new country and I call Uber often, so I just became aware that I was being scammed repeatedly and this has come at a considerable expense to me. I try to contact Uber to explain and they force you to attach the complaint to a specific ride and then refuse to acknowledge this as an ongoing issue with previous rides. There is not a way to speak to someone or address issues like this with a support system because Uber doesn't seem to have one.

This should be illegal to enforce fees that people can exploit - and provides no proper way to rectify it. This needs to be addressed because the good few drivers are going to pay for the bad ones that repeatedly scam the customer.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Bring back authentic uber

2 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 02, 2018

I’ve always loved Uber but lately every time I book them there’s a 1.5 surcharge so I cancel and use a cab knowing they’re cheaper. Bring back authentic Uber! I know you can do it!!!

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Forestdale, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 25 comments
  • 1 answer
  • 21 helpful votes
Private message

Account Hacked - Not Secure...

2 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 30, 2018

7 unauthorised transactions, account has been hacked, over $600 taken...uber account is not secure, personal information is compromised...do yourself a favour, stay away from uber...save money on trips but risk your personal information...

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Uber claims it’s busy

2 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 25, 2018

Don’t you hate it when Uber says it’s busy and there are 4 cars 3 minutes away it’s. Fake reporting and charging 1x5 when coogee is like a goast town is only upsetting your customers and hurting your own name remember you will get opposition one day.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Sydney

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Hit and miss

2 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 27, 2017

We've had 3 trips with Uber while visiting Sydney. The first trip involved good service and a pleasant driver. The second saw us taken kilometers out of our way resulting in an exorbitant fee as well us being late for our appointment. The third trip never happened. The driver couldn't find us and then cancelled the ride. We will think twice before going Uber again.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Sydney

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 19 helpful votes
Private message

Sydney airport uber terrible experience (over and over again)

2 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 21, 2017

I am a big fan of uber and use it regularly without any issues. The reasons I do this is because the cars are cleaner and the drivers are nicer.

However, there is one part of Uber which is a terrible taxi-like experience and that is ordering an uber after arriving into Sydney airport. The drivers often call to ask where you are going and if they don't feel that is far enough then they will just cancel the job. I don't tell the drivers out of principle but Uber has to stamp out this taxi driver like behaviour. Plus there is no way to report these drivers as the cancelled order never shows up.

Uber definitely has smart programmers that could look for a sequence where the driver a) accepts a job, b) makes an outgoing call to the passenger and c) cancels the job within 1 min of the job starting. These should result in an automatic 1 star rating for the driver as that is the most likely rating the passenger would have given for the terrible experience.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Brisbane

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Stop ripping people off with exorbitant surcharges!

2 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 27, 2017

I have been a loyal customer of Uber for the past few years over cabs. But ive noticed surcharges increasing and far more frequent... over 3.0 most weekends its ridiculous! This is not an affordable service anymore. I feel like boycotting Uber now which is sad but feels like you're being greedy now. What happened to putting the users first, and offering an affordable service! This is absolutely rubbish Uber! Not happy :(!

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Brisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 comments
  • 10 helpful votes
Private message

Uber! no more

2 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 14, 2017

October 14th I booked an Uber from Hamilton Qld to Paddington around 6pm = $21.90 return trip Paddington to Hamilton around 11pm = $45.63. the wait time was about 5 mins for both cabs. I accept there is a different rate in the evening but, double the rate and more?.
Sept 28th evening I booked an uber from the Marriott Brisbane and waited for quite some time and when the driver turned up he wasn't sure who had booked him so he suggested I cancel my trip with uber and pay him $30 cash to drive us home. I cancelled, was charged $9 fee and my friend paid cash at the end of the journey.
I wont be using uber again. I have no control over how much they are taking out of my C/C and to follow up after the event is hassle I dont want.
No more Uber!

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

1st time user and probably last

2 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 03, 2017

Driver advised Jetstar domestic and international departures at same terminal. WRONG!! I have bad hips and had to find the international terminal. Very painful walking. I expect a lot better.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Sneaky overpricing

2 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 31, 2017

Booked an uber, guide price $14-18, and with no prior warning of a price increase, the receipt for $28 came 15 minutes after I'd got into the car, and possibly even after the ride ended. I was checking the app just before the driver came, and there was no notification this would be higher. Ridiculous price for a 10 minute journey.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

1 of 4 pages


Questions & Answers

Do Uber have maxi-taxis on the Gold Coast or cars capable of carrying 5 adults?

Magic asked on May 29, 2018

Answer this

The answer is in the app.

I'm from the country n we don't have uber and I'm going to Canberra hospital tomorrow and last time taxis cost me heaps, so when I need a driver do I download the uber app and choice a driver or what's the easiest way please?

Scotty asked on Mar 07, 2018

Answer this

Download and register then tap on the 3 bars at top left of screen and read all the sections to get all your answers.

If you need a ride, state which area you're at and at what time and your destination. I can almost guarantee there will be drivers willing to go there

hi its davinder.....my bro have a omnibus license and we have a comprihensive insurance can i use that car for uber?

Davinder asked on Jan 31, 2018

Answer this

Answer removed for inappropriate content.

Yes you can

See all 27 questions about Uber