Generations:
Filter By:
Your trust is our top concern. Companies can't alter or remove reviews from ProductReview.com.au.

Melbourne, Victoria

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: 7P (2011-2017) Badge: V8 TDI R-Line Date Purchased: Mar 2015

As good as it gets!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 31, 2017

I traded a V8 Landcruiser for my VW Touareg V8 TDI R-Line. The Touareg in all models is considered the German Jeep. Have now done over 30,000kms of country driving with some heavy towing. Have not regretted purchase for a second. This is the most amazing car I have owned. We use it mainly for long drives from our farm to Melbourne about 1100kms round trip. I really can't think how a large luxury SUV could be better. It is basically the same car, except for the bling and a bit of tweaking, as the Porsche Cayenne S V8 and the AUDI Q7 V8 but much less $. If you don't mind the VW badge (that for me is a plus since it does not attract as much attention). For a luxury high performance German built SUV it is amazing value. To get similar cars with similar power and inclusions in BMW, Mercedes, Range Rover, Porsche or AUDI, you pay MUCH, MUCH more $.

Driving this car is superb. Effortless power. VERY quiet. Smooth as silk. VERY comfortable. Huge interior space. VERY safe. Car has every conceivable safety feature and lots of airbags. An absolute pleasure to drive. Excellent fuel economy. Fully laden with 2 persons regularly get between 7.8 and 8.1 litres/100kms cruising at 100kph using cruise control. Pretend it is a sports car or towing and considerably more.

The specs on this car are amazing. 800Nm torque, adjustable air suspension (can raise as high as my 200 Landcruiser), 6 piston ventilated 360mm Brembo brakes at front (4 piston at rear), 8 speed auto, sport, normal and comfort modes, off road settings, centre diff lock, superb adaptive cruise control, heated seats, heated steering wheel, 360 degree cameras and parking sensors ......

Of course nothing is perfect. I wish it had speed limits on the excellent sat nav - amazing for a car at this price it does not (nor does the AUDI or PORSCHE). Even the base model GOLFs have this? It comes with huge 21 inch wheels. Excellent cornering but not much good off road or if you hit a deep pot hole (an expensive mistake). Also the tyres are hard to get and are expensive but again this is a high performance German SUV so it is part of the deal.

I have a 6 year extended warranty and fixed price servicing. Excellent. No issues or problems. One light globe in rear luggage area was replaced and that is it. I am still running the original tyres (maybe I will get 40-50,000kms?) and have the original brake pads (Last service suggested I replace them and the disks next year. Let's wait and see).

Servicing all good however the dealer was not very familiar with fitting electric brakes for a breakaway trailer (I tow a 2.2 tonne boat). I had to take it back to get it properly wired for the breakaway brakes. I found this surprising considering this is a very good 3.5 tonne rated towing car and over 2 tonnes you need breakaway brakes that require special wiring.

Amazing how much you can fit in the back with the seats down. A real plus it does NOT have a 3rd row of seats. I have never had 5 people in car let alone 7! For long distance cruising it is as good as it gets. It must be the most under rated luxury high performance SUV in Australia. I love it.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

O'Connor

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 1 answer
Private message

Verified Purchase Generation: 7P (2011-2017) Badge: V6 TDI Date Purchased: Aug 2015

Excellent Car

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 13, 2017

The Touareg is a fantastic car to drive, so smooth on the road and very economical. It has plenty of legroom and boot space. It gives you so much information about the car and the navigation system is great. I love the seat heaters couldn't live without them in winter.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Generation: 7P (2011-2017) Badge: V6 FSI Date Purchased: Sep 2014

This is the best family vehicle I have ever drove.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 14, 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes

Generation: 7L (2002-2010) Badge: V6 TDI Date Purchased: Feb 2017

Awesome Vehicle

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 21, 2017

Great vehicle a pleasure to drive extremely comfortable tows our 2.7 tonne caravan with ease, has been averaging around 700 klm per tank of diesel city driving and around 800klm's highway driving.
I would highly recommend this vehicle for towing or general commuting to date I have had no mechanical issues.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Generation: 7P (2011-2017) Badge: V6 TDI Date Purchased: Mar 2017

Touareg, It's a Winner

5 out of 5, reviewed on May 09, 2017

Absolutely one of the best vehicles I have owned and driven. A fantastic vehicle to drive, especially around our rough country roads, the potholes are no longer a problem. Its early days yet but have completed a number of long distance trips and step out of the car feeling relaxed and comfortable. Heaps of legroom and head height for my 1920mm frame, even in the back seat.... a driving luxury

Was this review helpful? Yes

Bairnsdale

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 comment
Private message

Verified Purchase Generation: 7P (2011-2017) Badge: 150TDi Element Date Purchased: Sep 2016

External windows trims faded

2 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 22, 2017

Good things:
The car are solid and handing excellent.

Bad things:
after two months we notice the rear window trim start to fade on both side.
we brought it back to Volkswagen dealers, they said we using abrasive product. so warranty won't cover for it.
now all around the other trim start to fade too. showing bare plastic.
poor quality trim.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Melbourne

  • 2 reviews
Private message

Generation: 7P (2011-2017) Badge: Wolfsburg Edition Date Purchased: Dec 2016

Outstanding value and comfort

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 12, 2017

Great car to drive. Outstanding features and value for money. Leading driver safety systems, top end comfort and tier one fuel efficiency with ability to still provide a dynamic driver experience. Stereo and sound system provides quality outputs with ability to source from iPhone, radio, CD, and USB as well as a hard drive. I wouldn't consider going back to a BMW.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Port Macquarie

  • 2 reviews
Private message

Verified Purchase Generation: 7P (2011-2017) Badge: 150TDi Element Date Purchased: Jan 2017

Great quality vehicle

4 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 17, 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes

Hampton , Melbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 answers
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: 7P (2011-2017) Badge: V6 TDI Date Purchased: Jan 2012

EGR can be a problem and expensive

4 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 16, 2017

Excellent car but watch the EGR value /cooler clogging - very expensive to replace. VW told me that it clogs to due city short trip,driving. Hello ? Living in Melbourne what do we do ? OK occasional weekends away but really driving to work /shopping are pretty regular things. VW need to adjust settings to accomodate regular Australian driving. I have made a note to drive the car on the freeway once a month to "clean it out"

Was this review helpful? Yes

Sunshine Coast

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 questions
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Purchase Generation: 7P (2011-2017) Badge: 150 TDi Date Purchased: May 2013

Quality motor vehicle

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 10, 2017

Always a joy to drive with excellent handling, cornering stability, sufficient acceleration with luxury leather interior. Quiet and powerful. Economical to run and service. 7.2 litres per 100k on a long trip Average $350.00 per year for services. Had to change tyres at 45,000 k's
Negative would be the spare tyre which is just an emergency tyre.
Bit tight to enter with the low roof line but got used to it.
Comfy electric leather seats.
Vehicle has been totally reliable so have taken out extended 6 year warranty after the 3 year warranty finished last year.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Generation: 7P (2011-2017) Badge: V6 TDI Date Purchased: May 2016

The Ultimate Four Wheel Drive

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 03, 2017

I have been the owner and driver of numerous 4 wheel drive vehicles, including Range Rovers, Nissans and Toyotas, dating back to the 1970's and I can honestly say that the Touareg is the best vehicle of its kind I have ever owned. It runs quietly, towing our caravan with ease, and handles extremely well in all conditions. Its comfort, safety features and the finish , both interior and exterior, are of a high quality. Added to all of these luxury details it is also economical to run. To sum up, it's my "Super Car"!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Generation: 7P (2011-2017) Badge: V6 TDI Date Purchased: May 2016

Love that Car

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 19, 2017

This car has it all, beautiful to drive, adaptive cruise control is great as is the 360* view, so comfortable.
Panoramic sunroof. I love the way the seats move according to key used to open, the only thing that it doesn't have but should have is air conditioned seats. It tows our caravan like a dream.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Purchase Generation: 7P (2011-2017) Badge: V6 TDI Date Purchased: Nov 2015

Best All-round SUV

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 05, 2017

I heard that VW sell these at a loss and and make up the difference with the Porsche and Audi variants. True or not my Touareg is a fantastic wagon. The performance is tremendous for an SUV through a combination of power (180kw/550nm) and the ultra smooth (8 speed) transmission. Handling is great, that being said, mine is an R-Line with slightly stiffer suspension and larger wheels (20 inch). The brakes are also very strong, too. I tow a 2.5 tonne boat up some steep winding hills (15% in places) and the Touareg handles it with ease. As a tow wa gon it is much better than my Landcruiser. They actually have a larger wheelbase and track than a 200 series Landcruiser which keeps them very stable with a big load. It has many features (keyless entry, etc) and a good gps touchscreen infotainment system, the seats are really comfy and there is plenty of space. If you are looking for a luxury SUV that drives almost like a sports car and tows better than a Landcruiser for a price of a Prado then I suggest looking at one of these. Mine has now done 56,000km and has never had any issues whatsoever.

Purchased at: Volkswagen Dealers

Was this review helpful? Yes

brisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 comments
  • 2 answers
  • 10 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: 7P (2011-2017) Badge: 150 TDi Date Purchased: Sep 2016

Touareg 2016 V6 TDI

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 08, 2016

Bought my Touareg new in September 2016 after owning 2 Nissan Navara utes for the last 8 years. I wanted something more comfortable than the ute and it needed to be able to pull our caravan. Unfortunately Nissan no longer make a diesel wagon that will tow 3 - 3.5t. I drove a Fortuner - too noisy and a hard ride. Drove the Pajero Sport and would have bought one if the dealer had wanted to do a deal. The Touareg however is in another league. Very comfortable, well equipped and plenty of torque for towing and grunt for overtaking from the lovely s ix cylinder diesel. To drive, you wouldn't know it was a diesel as its so quiet. Fuel consumption averages 7.4 litres/100km but on the highway i can get down to 6.1 and over 1000km from a tank full. Towing our 2.8t van, it drops to 13 - 14 litres/100km.
With the seats folded down, i got a full sized hot water tank in it so plenty of carrying space. The rear seats slide forward to increase the boot space, but they also slide back and recline to improve passenger comfort. Never thought heated seats were an attractive option in Queensland but they are great for a bad back. Its done 11,000km now and so far so good. Hope the servicing from VW is as good as the service i received from Nissan. Watch this space for an update.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Generation: 7P (2011-2017) Badge: V6 TDI Date Purchased: Sep 2014

Best car I've ever owned.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 29, 2016

Have been driving euro cars for many years including Mercedes ML320 and BMW X5 and can honesty say the Touareg is in a class of its own, not that it doesn't have its niggles, but very minor. Powerful and smooth with amazing fuel consumption, have now covered 50,000 Kim's with an average fuel consumption on the highway around 7.2lts per 100 Kim's, best was 6.8lts, that has to put a smile on your dial. Seats and interior is comfy with easy to use instrumentation, Service costs are actually cheaper that my Father in laws Mitsubishi ASX. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Generation: 7P (2011-2017) Badge: 150TDi Element

Comfort, Drive, Practical

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 13, 2016

I spent a long time researching and test driving cars before selecting this one. My major requirements was to have a large comfortable interior size for family touring yet still be small enough for city driving and parking. Other options were Mercedes GLC which had better tech but was smaller, Q5 smaller, Volvo xc60 smaller, X3 smaller and expensive when optioned, X5 was nice and good size but more money than budgeted, Kluger ticked boxes but did not handle or drive as well as the others.

Positives: Quality build and soft touch surfaces all
well laid out. Instrument cluster and dials look great. All the interior and exterior lighting is great and the newly designed DRL's are one of the sexiest on the road. For me the seats are probably the most comfortable I've tested right up there next to Volvo's. Kids will like the back seats as they have vents and good visibility out the windows. It has a great turing circle and drives and handles tight and precisely. When pushed it's exciting to drive and you can almost feel it's shared Porche Cayenne DNA. Boot space is large and easily swallows prams, ikea boxes etc

Negatives: The central RNS 850 computer infotainment system is good but a step down in tech compared to whats in some of the more newly designed volkswagens. The stereo system sound is above average but not exceptional and VW Australia doesn't offer the Dynaudio upgrade that other countries get. Whats I find bizarre and a little frustrating is that VW doesn't subscribe to live traffic updates in australia and they don't support DAB+ radio which for 2016 is odd when you can get that tech in many cheaper japanese cars.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Orange

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 comments
  • 1 question
  • 2 answers
  • 8 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: 7P (2011-2017) Badge: V6 TDI

Nice car? But I will never buy another one!

1 out of 5, reviewed on May 22, 2016

I have the 2012 180Kw with 4Motion, the performance and drive of this car is great, noise within cabin is great and the Audio system is awesome, but the reliability of the car is very poor for a $100K plus car, and the general support from VW customer care is not good enough. You may ask why I rate the car so poorly, the motor has come out three times for oil leaks, (the second removal and repair lasted 11 days before it was leaking again) the computer system has failed and had to be replaced, taking 3 weeks for the dealer to recode the system. The car continues to fail, safety systems work when they want to, cruise control "what is this feature?" this has been one of the most unreliable features in the car, as soon as any safety system does not work correctly, the cruise control shuts down. I've also lost count how many times the central locking system has failed, and the auto function on the windows, now don't use the navigation system for anything that requires you to get there on time as its logic is useless. Now if VW Australia had taken the time to listen and support their customers when something goes wrong then this story would have not gone so badly but to have a car off the road for 26 weeks in VW workshops is not good enough. #Touaregs fail in big ways

5 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments

Update on the Touareg, its now leaking for the fourth time and has two new oil leaks, Confidence in the dealer network is very low, considering the servicing dealer did not notice the latest oil le... read more »

Update, Touareg was at VW head office for 14 weeks, and had motor replaced, car returned and broken down within 4 hours, car was then taken to another VW dealer to fix new faults and investigate el... read more »

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: 7P (2011-2017) Badge: V6 TDI

An excellent touring vehicle with genine off-road credibilty

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 21, 2016

I have 2014 4XMotion fitted with the 8 speed low range gearbox, diff locks and adjustable air suspension. This is an extremely capable off-road tourer with torque to burn especially when pulling a van. Great silent comfort and a top performer. The off-road software works extremely well in concert with the adjustable suspension and will embarrass many noted off-roaders. A terrific car with lots of class.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments

An update to this submission. I have just completed a 4700km off-road trip to Birdsville and Innamincka and then down the Birdsville track to Wilpena Pound in some appalling weather towing a 2 ton... read more »

Mackay

  • 1 review
  • 1 comment
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Generation: 7P (2011-2017) Badge: V6 TDI

As comfortable as a mobile lounge chair with great performance and road handling.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 04, 2016

Can drive this car all day and finish with no tiredness or aches. The multiple seat adjustments allow all types to find the perfect position for driving. As a tall person, the large seats with lots of legroom make driving a pleasure. Relations of mine commented how quite and smooth the car drove down the highway.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments

Our Touareg has now completed 65000 ks without any problems. We are now using it to tow a 2.8 tonne caravan, which it does with ease The car is not troubled by the wind from passing semi trailers ... read more »

Melbourne

  • 19 reviews
  • 2 comments
  • 5 answers
  • 12 helpful votes
Private message

Generation: 7L (2002-2010) Badge: R5 TDI Luxury

Nice care but the R5 diesel a bit under powered - Get the V6 (much better)

4 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 07, 2016

What a very nice car, loaded with every luxury you could think of, and the only option mine didn't have that would have been nice was the air suspension. It drove beautifully, handled well, had manually selectable hi/lo ratios and diff lock and performed well off of the tarmac. The leather seats were lovely and comfortable, had loads of adjustments and were heated too which was great on cold mornings. I have only one criticism and that was the power output of the R5 diesel engine which was a little under powered and also a tad on the noisy side . The 3.0 V6 Touaregs are much better and I would have been happier with one of those as we tow a caravan. Servicing costs were not outrageous for this size of car, but spare parts were! I had to replace the compressor for the air con and VW wanted close to $2000 for the part. I bought the same compressor from Europe for $600 and had it posted to me and then VW kindly fitted it for me. My car had done over 250,000kms but reliability overall was good. Would I buy another one........hell yeah......but it would be a 3.0 diesel V6.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

1 of 2 pages


Questions & Answers

7L (2002-2010)

Has any other Touareg owners experienced a jack failure? The poorly designed half scissor jack supplied with the Touareg snapped on the screw rod whilst in use. This caused my vehicle to fall from a raised position, luckily the jack failed whilst the wheel was still fitted to the vehicle, but this could have been much worse causing the user serious personal injury or even death. The jack was positioned correctly-both on level ground and the wheels were chocked. The jack did not slip in any way, it just simply snapped on the screw rod.

shanexu3 asked on Apr 29, 2017

7L (2002-2010)

Just wondering if anyone has any reviews on the 2005 Touareg 4x4 luxury model and towing horse floats? thank you

Shaz asked on Mar 13, 2017

Answer this

I have a 2012 model and it pulls my campervan really well - you hardly know it is attached. V6 diesel

7P (2011-Present)

Just wondering on the rline v8 touregs ability at off roading nothing too extreme but if I was wanting to take it out to the tommy tourist places on the way to Alice or Darwin would it handle it..and do they come with the 4xmotion I've been hearing about? Thanks

Davdav asked on Dec 15, 2016

See all 10 questions about Volkswagen Touareg

Your question will be specific to the model that you've selected.


Product Details