Date Purchased: Feb 2015

Never buying Zodiac again

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 20, 2018

Built in features which stops cell from operating so you have to call a technician out to punch in “the special code”. Unit stopped working at 3yrs, been operating for more than a year without a chlorinator due to cost of replacement, thanks Zodiac for nothing! Replacing the unit now with something more reliable. Thumbs down Zodiac Tri Series.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Vanessa. Are you able to confirm what you mean by Special code as this is not a feature of any of our Products. We do have a Check Cell code however, we share over the phone or online as it is j... read more »

Perth

  • 1 review
  • 3 answers
Private message

Date Purchased: Jan 2015

What does a flashing blue light represent?

3 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 29, 2018

I own a Zodiac tri series chlorinator and the blue light is flashing and yellow light is on. I only placed 3 bags of salt into the pool three weeks ago. I haven’t been able to find out what the error message is? I’m wondering if it has something to do with the cell.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Dave, May I ask if you have spoken to our Customer Care team, we would be happy to go through this with you? Thanks.

Christchurch

  • 1 review
  • 1 comment
Private message

Date Purchased: Dec 2014

Everything does not last and is overpriced

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 21, 2018

Built a new home and had a new pool installed installed with Zodiac equipment. 4 Years later the cell fails(fair enough)purchases another one from Australia- it failed within 1 year- so had zodiac rep around. He put a large cell in our tri chlorine generator instead of a compact and flicked a switch on the back of the unit and said this works? confirmation on this would be appreciated? because before it had a compact cell. So in the end had paid the rep over $1500(including giving the pool a little scrub) for this and now it does not produce chlorine(only for 10 seconds) when it first starts up or when we push the 'low' button. Have now taken the unit to another distributor locally to look into it? If this costs any more we are throwing the whole unit away and getting something that will last and is more affordable for parts. How can you possibly charge $1125NZ for a salt cell especially when they don't last.
This is clear that Zodiac also knows this because their warranties on these are so so low (1 year i think)
This is a complete rip off. Looking at these other reviews we are not alone.
Seriously how can you justify over $1500+ after only 4 years?
And i already know what you will ask- what output are we running at? well we have tried it on 10% right through to 100% and yes had rep around again- he had no idea-(could it be the large cell he put in and the switch on the back adjusted?

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

HI Gazza, This the Australian version of Product review. If you would like to send a DM with your details, I can have the Head Office contact you from the correct region. Thanks.

Hi there, Zodiac equipment is made from in Australia correct? then yes it is very relevant here.Maybe you should disguise where these overpriced products are made to avoid such reviews.

Zodiac Official

We have suppliers in many different parts around the world as we are a global company.

Brisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 7 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Mar 2014

Keeps on breaking down

1 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 12, 2018

Have had a TRI Large for a little over 4 years and it started playing up a little over a year ago, when just out of warranty (how convenient...). First the power outlet to the pump stopped working and then the low salt light kept on coming on even though pool salt levels were in the middle of acceptable range. A year later, it just stops making chlorine a few minutes after coming on. I would expect these things to last more than this for the money.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi, Sorry to hear that you are having these issues. May I ask if you have spoken to our Customer Care team? Thanks.

It’s 4 years old. They told me to take it to a dealer. Not much help really. I have since had it looked at and PCB is fried and cell is dead. I would expect a longer life from these things...

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: May 2014

Would not recommend zodiac

2 out of 5, reviewed on Oct 08, 2018

My pool was built 5 years ago and over the past 3 years I have had nothing but problems with the zodiac equipment it came with. Each time zodiac have said the problem is not warranty covered. Today was the last straw as it seems we are not producing chlorine and similar to another review our self cleaning cell has had most of the centre electrode erode away. These are not cheap devices and should be better supported. Our robot cleaner has twice lost its wheels, our pump shorted out and now this. Not very good.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Dale. I would be happy to look into this for you, however I would need some further details. Could you please DM your email address? Thanks.

Ste Cecile du Cayrou, France

  • 1 review
  • 2 comments
  • 1 answer
Private message

Date Purchased: Mar 2017

Great when it works but.....

4 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 22, 2018

TRI 35 bought winter 2017 (replacing older model which ran for five years with generally no problems), ran great all summer 2017. Brought in for the winter, re installed in May 2018, all fine until early July when it quit producing chlorine. No error message, no salt alert (but verified salt anyway, all ok). Put the pool on chlor tabs and was away rest of summer. On return, decided to clean (though self cleaning, the calcaire) and gave it another try, still not producing chlorine. BUT I discovered it IS producing chlorine if I use "Boost" . Anyone have any idea what that might be? Product was not bought locally so to have service I must mail to distributor who then sends back to Oz for diagnostic. Hoping that the very peculiar problem may ring a bell with somebody

Purchased at: Amazon

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi, May we ask what output your Unit is at? Thanks.

Screen says 10% but it’s producing nothing. Before at same 10% one could see the cloud of Chlor

Zodiac Official

Thank you. What is your salt level in ppm? and where are you located? Thanks.

See all 5 comments
  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Purchase Date Purchased: Aug 2018

Not overly impressed

1 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 12, 2018

I have just replaced my unit as the cost to replace was more cost effective than repair. My previous unit worked okay for a while but I wouldn't classify the experience as brilliant. If it fails again I will be definitely looking at other options/suppliers not only for this piece of equipment but for my other Zodiac products (eg pool heater).

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Rover. May I clarify the details of your Review? Is this regarding your new Unit from August 2018? Thanks.

  • 1 review
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: May 2018

My experience

3 out of 5, reviewed on Jun 01, 2018

This review is posted at the request of Zodiac after I completed a "How is your replacement electrode" survey they emailed me.

When working properly, the tri is a great device - just sits there and does its job. However the four year mark seems to be a common theme here.
I have samples of pool water tested regularly at my local Zodiac-approved pool shop. I also clean the (supposedly self cleaning) cell every year when taking the pool out of winter mode). In the last year, some water samples returned a zero chlorine content, but randomly. It was clear that my tri was developing a mind of its own as to when it feels like producing. Some months after this started happening, the display lost its backlight and several rows of pixels, and started giving false low salt, no flow and flashing blue power light indications. Then several weeks ago it lost its time and settings memory. I reset it, but it did the same two days later. I reset it again and two weeks later it had still retained its settings. At this point, water sampling indicated that it had not been producing chlorine for some time. I inspected the cell and found that the centre plate had around 5cm missing - corroded away.

So I took the unit to the Zodiac dealer and was told it required a new cell and a new PCB that holds the backup battery, as the battery is an integral part of the PCB. The latter is an obvious design flaw - the backup battery should be easily accessible and a simple user-replaceable item. The biggest shock was the cost - $445 for the cell and $275 for the PCB. I cannot imagine how these parts could cost so much, even allowing for reasonable margins. They are all simple, basic technology and manufacture.

I just hope it lasts!

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Phi, Thank you for your review. If we can help you in the future, please contact us directly, Thanks.

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: May 2015

Big heap of junk on the market

1 out of 5, reviewed on Apr 17, 2018

Have had the Tri large saltwater chlorinator and cell for 3 years and its been back for warranty repairs 4 times. Now its showing a no flow fault
The cell has been cleaned and there are no blockages.

My previous chlorinator lasted 10 years with a single issue. Zodiac is pure rubbish so don't waste your money!!!

June 2nd 2018 Update: Piece of crap

For a new unit to have issues within its first year is a bad sign.

Its been back for a replacement of the flimsy power inlet 3 times in the first 2 years.

The backup battery is hard wired and can't be easily replaced without open heart surgery.

Its simply a very bad design.

Don't buy this rubbish!

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Brisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 2 answers
  • 8 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Nov 2013

Internal battery died after 4 years. Bad design.

3 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 05, 2018

Works OK but the backup battery died after 4 years. Cannot remember the time anymore and every time the power goes out (on off-peak tariff) it will reset time to 0:00 and worst... it will set the output to 10%. This is annoying - why the default output is 10% anyway??
Turned out the battery is hard wired on the PCB. Yep great - Who the heck design this? No battery last forever!
I believe some pool shops will say you need a new PCB and happily slug customers hundreds of dollars just to actually replace the battery.

5 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Anthony, Thank you for your review, The Backup Battery is apart of the Board. I can certainly pass this feedback on for you.
Are you able to use the Boost function? Thanks.

Can use Boost but sometimes it gives me 'Output Fault' and it just stop working until I power cycle it manually, or the off-peak power turned off. I already figure out the battery type and waiting... read more »

  • 1 review
  • 1 comment
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Dec 2014

If it's not one thing, it's something else

2 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 05, 2018

There seems to be a common theme in these reviews; 3 - 4 yrs (amongst other things). The screen is constantly indicating low salt, regardless of the level in the pool. We have come to expect seeing the red light on. AND NOW... it is short-circuiting, blowing fuses and tripping the house safety switch. I cannot believe the trouble. Not only is it the cost of the unit, it's the chemicals to bring the pool back to scratch after the filter has been in operable and out of action. I think I will run the other way if I see a Zodiac sign out front of a pool shop.

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Jay, Sorry to hear that you are having those issues. Your review date says that the Unit was purchased in Dec 2014 and has a 3 year warranty, we would be happy to help you with this. Please PM your details if you would like to discuss, Thamks.

Unfortunately another look has shown it is 3mths out of warranty.

Zodiac Official

Hi Jay, If it is only just out of warranty, we would be able to offer you some assistance. Could you inbox us your details on Facebook? We dont ask for personal details on this form, Hopefully, we can help. Thanks!

Coffs Harbour

  • 1 review
  • 1 comment
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Oct 2017

EI Series Cell Error

2 out of 5, reviewed on Mar 04, 2018

I purchased a new cell last year and this year have had trouble with the colour of our pool. We now have a cell error, and is now saying 'Testing Cell'. We have done a full clean of all pool equipment and pump is running well. There is cloud in the cell when running so it is producing chlorine, but still have an error saying 'testing cell'.

Purchased at: Zodiac

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Lou, Could you please confirm which Product you have? There are 2 Products mentioned on this review, just so we can make sure we give you the right information, Thank you.

It’s for an ei chlorinator

Zodiac Official

Hi Lou, The TEST CELL message on your chlorinator is not a fault, it is simply to remind you to check your equipment from time to time. It comes up when your cell has done 9000 hours or more. To ... read more »

  • 1 review
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Jan 2014

same drama with mine

1 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 14, 2018

Have had my tri for around 3 years always been a problem with constant lack of chlorine generated and having to constantly clean the cell. Each time the cell needed cleaning i had to remove plumbing as there was no way the cell would come out of housing was told that this is the zodiac that on some that was a problem and you would need to remove plumbing. Noticed pool going green so went to pool shop and no chlorine in pool .thats good news we have a heat wave this weekend. Its going in bin and i going for another rand or back to lm3

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Brisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Aug 2014

Not robust. Replacement parts expensive

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 29, 2018

Have had the Zodiac Tri 35 for 3.5 years and it is not a great unit. Have had a logic board replaced (under warranty) after 2 years and now have had to replace the cell. The middle plate was completely corroded. If you buy this unit you will have to budget to spend $650 every couple years to replace the cell. Next time the cell packs it in will go to another brand.

Purchased at: Swimmart

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Slow, Sorry to hear that you have had issues, We have taken note of your Feedback, Thanks.

Melbourne

  • 1 review
  • 1 comment
  • 3 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Jun 2010

Salt water tri chlorinator

2 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 24, 2018

Had my chlorinator for 7.5 years and it stopped output of chlorine. Rang the service line they said to take cell to their authorised dealer and he would test free of charge. The guy had no idea tried to sell a new one. We bought a new cell problem still occured. Took the chlorinator to our pool repairer he sent ot to Zodiac had it repaired got it back yesterday still not working I HAVE SPENT $800 TRYING TO REPAIR IT. Never will i buy another Zodiac

3 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi, Sorry to hear about these issues. May I ask if you have spoken to us directly? Thanks.

Yes... eventually got it working. But believe your 'agents' require training

Zodiac Official

Thank you for your Feedback.

  • 1 review
  • 2 questions
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Nov 2014

Didnt last long enough

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 27, 2017

This unit gave up the ghost after 3 years and two cells the quote for the repair was going to cost me near new price to get it fixed after shopping around I decided to go back to basics and got an analogue unit with less digital stuff to go wrong and I'm quite happy with it.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi, The Tri Chlorinator has a 3 year warranty so if you would like us to help you further, please contact us on 1300 763 021, mention that we asked to call, Thanks.

Cooroy

  • 1 review
  • 2 answers
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Jun 2013

Power light flashing no gas in cell salt light on when heaps of salt in pool

2 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 23, 2017

Should last more than 4 years for how much it cost. Don't know whether I would spend that amount on another one and only get 4 years out of it. Anyone got good reviews on another brand. Was happy with the way it kept the pool but 4 years come on

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Vanuatu

  • 1 review
  • 4 answers
  • 4 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Purchase Date Purchased: Apr 2014

Great when it works - Breaks frequently

2 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 18, 2017

A superb unit plagued with issues. At six months old the display board failed... replaced under warranty. Another six months later the replacement display board failed.... replaced under warranty. At three and a half years the main power board has failed. It really should be better than this! Kept and maintained in optimum conditions so not a user problem. Very disappointing. We are in a remote location and every problem is a major drama!

4 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Melbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 comment
  • 2 answers
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Jan 2009

Internal battery replacement

3 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 03, 2017

Hi there. I have to replace the batteries also. Can anyone tell me what voltage they are and where to buy them from? It seems silly that you need to use a soldering iron for something that obviously requires replacing at some point. Also is there a way of measuring the salt ppm with out having to take a sample in?
Thanks

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Simon, The Battery is not a separate part, it is a part of the Power supply. You can use home testing Kits to measure your Salt but the Machines in store give you the PP readings. Please call us... read more »

A couple of more questions for you! The salt light is on even though I have 4500ppm. Where does the chlorinator read the salt from? And if the salt light comes on, does it stop producing chlorine?
Thanks
Simon

Zodiac Official

Hi, In the warmer weather you might like to increase your salt to 5000ppm. Can you confirm if there is a gas cloud in the cell housing when the unit is running? Thanks.

Sydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Date Purchased: Jan 2010

Issues occur

3 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 24, 2017

I have got a Zodiac TRI-M-22 App No V080744 and the chlorine generator. My property's previous owner bought it so I am not sure the exact purchase date.

The Issue is it sometimes shows 'output fault XXX' on its screen while the blue power light keeps flashing, and then at the same time the chlorine generator stops generating white cloud/mist. I suspect that the TRI-M-22 controller's circuit board is somewhere damaged thus it doesn't output properly permanently.

The chlorine generator is quite young so I may only need the TRI-M-22 controller and I am not sure where to get the part or replacement. I live in Pennant Hills, NSW.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi, Sorry to hear that you are having issues, if you havent already, please contact our Customer Care team on 1300 763 021, we can help you from there, Thanks!

1 of 4 pages


Questions & Answers

I have a tri mid cell and although i have cleaned it, it is not producing any chlorine at all, is there a way to clean the bits that plug onto the points?

Sarah asked on Dec 10, 2018

My tri chlorine generator is not keeping the time. I have to keep resetting the next morning. Any ideas?

Karen asked on Dec 08, 2018

It is possible to replace a mid salt cell with a large salt cell. zodiac tri ..

Jaco asked on Dec 08, 2018

See all 322 questions about Zodiac TRi Series Salt Chlorine Generator