Date Purchased: Apr 2016

Just OK with poor warranty service

3 out of 5, reviewed on May 10, 2018

Have had it for around two years now. Generally works well but we had to buy the 100 Micron canister as it just dispersed the fine silt. Housing on the robot started to separate and we sent it for warranty repair. Took 4 weeks (literally to the day) and it doesn’t even look like anything was done. Housing is still separating and you can see the styrofoam inside. Warranty seems pretty pointless if the repairs are so poor.

For the record, we also take good care of the machine and always take it out of the pool after running, empty the canister and hose it down with fresh water. I wouldn’t say it does a superior job to our old Onga Hammerhead suction cleaner which was substantially cheaper.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi John, Sorry to hear about the Repair experience. May I ask if you have raised this issue with our Customer Care or if you would like to be contacted? Thanks.

  • 1 review
  • 2 answers
Private message

Date Purchased: Dec 2017

Greatt time saver

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 26, 2018

After 8 weeks of use, I'm very pleased with my VX55. My pool faces the southeast and a rainforest. So leaves are a big issue in the pool. But the VX55 seems to manage picking up the leaves and smaller twigs. I use it every second day for 74 minutes and the pool always looks good and the water sparkles. Best of all, it frees me up to spend more time in the pool etc. I should have bought one years ago!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Suek, Thank you so much for the 5 star review, Happy Swimming!

Date Purchased: Jan 2018

Love it!!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 25, 2018

The Zodiac pool cleaner has really saved me time, as I am having to maintain ie back wash and clean my pool's filter system less often. Hopefully this means the filtration system will have a longer life. The leaves and other debris are collected in the Zodiac and cleaning it is easy. I am a woman and find the Zodiac a little heavy lifting it in and out of the water but apart from that I would recommend it to anyone. A great product.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Thanks for the 5 star review! Happy Swimming.

  • 1 review
  • 3 comments
  • 1 answer
Private message

Date Purchased: Jan 2017

Great cleaner for most

4 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 23, 2018

Handles leaves etc very well but fine dirt isn't it's strength.
If you get a lot of dirt it would be best to pick a different type. We had a barracuda suction cleaner which was must better for dirt. Great for leaves, sand and other small bits but would consider something else for dirt.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi David, Thank you for your review. May I ask if you have the 100 micron Canister? Thanks.

Hi, I haven't tried the 100 micron filter but would be happy to review if you wanted to send me one to test?

Zodiac Official

Hi David, please find the Link to the Dealers that have Demo Units - https://www.zodiac.com.au/vx55-robotic-pool-cleaner/#free-robotic-demos
Thanks!

See all 6 comments

Date Purchased: Jan 2017

Couldn’t be better

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 21, 2018

Perfect result for pool cleaners,easy of use great results , accesses all areas.
EASY ACCESS IN AND OUT OF POOL .Great back up service and assistance .
Having had pools previously with different skimmer operated cleaners this is certainly the most efficient.Cleaning and removal of basket simple great waterline cleaning.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi GD, Thank you so much for the 5 star review.

Date Purchased: May 2016

Very Reliable

4 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 20, 2018

Easy to use and cleaning is easy as. Would recommend to friends. Aaaaa bbb ccc did eee fff ggg he iiii jjjjjj kkk lll mmm nnnnnnn ooooooo powwow rr sss tttt uuu vvvv we xxx yyyyyyyyyyyyyyy zzz qwe rty you pass fog jkl zucchini bum mnb vcxz Liu jog fds spoilt outta tr ewqb.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Glen, Thanks for the 4 stars!

Date Purchased: Dec 2017

Robotic Cleaner

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 19, 2018

Fantastic product. I have battled for years with the conventional skimmer box suction units only to find they pretty much call it a day after 2-3 years, complete waste of money. The Zodiac has proven what I have been missing out on, my pool has never been cleaner, yes a larger investment, but well worth the extra money.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Macca, Thanks for the 5 star review. Happy Swimming!

Date Purchased: Dec 2017

Quite amazing machine. Certainly better than any other I have owned or trialed.

4 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 19, 2018

Picks up most things except long leafy things like palm fronds. Also find that fine particles are dispersed through the water by the powerful ejections of water at rear of the unit only to settle back on the floor of the pool the next day. Other than that a great machine.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Hank, Thank you for your Review, May I ask which Canister you are using? Thanks.

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Date Purchased: Dec 2017

The Zodiac does what it needs to do

3 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 16, 2018

The unit tends to work satisfactorily however my issue is that it needs to be wheeled out, connected, removed and cleaned every time that you need to clean the pool.
We are in a high leaf area and whilst the unit has no trouble collected the leaves, it is a chore to continually connect and remove each time before we can actually use the pool.
I have historically always had a suction cleaner (Maxi Vac style) that was more set and forget than the Zodiac VX55 which is somewhat more labour intensive in comparison. What this means is that we use the pool a lot less as the pool is not actively cleaned each day.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Rob, Thank you for the review. Your feedback has been passed on, Thanks.

Date Purchased: Oct 2017

Perfect for acreage and lots of trees

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 15, 2018

The VX55 4WD has lived up to its expectation, nothing seems to phase it. We have a lot of gum trees and get quiet a lot of gum nuts, large leaves and small clusters of leaves in the pool. The VX55 4WD picks them all up. Two days ago we were hit by a very servere storm, lost the tops off 4 trees in the back yard, had winds over 100km which dumped a lot of debris into the pool. We took the large branches out and the VX55 4WD took care of the rest. The pool is looking great and you wouldn't have thought that two days ago. Yes, for large items like gum nuts, large leave cluster and vertually anything it can scoop up the VX55 4WD handles them well. I can highly recomend this product to anyone who suffers from these.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Thanks for the 5 star review.

Date Purchased: Dec 2017

Better than I hoped

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 14, 2018

The pool sparkles and healthier .It is very easy to operate and store and handels leaves gum nuts etc with ease.Have purchased a solar cover to preserve the original condition and wash with fresh water after each time it is used.The wall cleaning mode is great and the lift mode makes it easy to remove it from the pool

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Dave, Glad to hear the Cleaner has exceeded your expectations, Enjoy!

Date Purchased: Dec 2017

Excellent having been able to get rid of all the hoses from old vacumm

4 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 14, 2018

Much quicker and cleaner than last vacumm . Having no hoses now is a real bonus and now having a trolley for new 4wd cleaner makes it much more easier to move around. Pool is cleaner in a quater of the time the old one took to clean. Even the fine debris are able to be sucked up now

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Thank you for the Review!

Date Purchased: Mar 2017

Love

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 14, 2018

This is a product I could confidently recommend after having given it a real workout over the last almost 12 months. It does a brilliant job, I really could not do without it. It is simple to operate, picks up all the debris on the pool floor, climbs the walls and stairs and has been completely reliable. We live on a farm so there is a lot of debris such as leaves, twigs, grass clippings, insects, dust and pollens from all our surrounding paddocks so it is at work almost every day. Its ability to collect what appears to be a fine sediment, probably caused by the hard bore water is very impressive. I have read some reviews where people have said it won’t do this but I think they simply haven’t left the machine In the pool long enough. Yes, some fine particles go through but they settle and the zodiac picks them up the next time round - it’s simply amazing, go out and buy one! (no I don’t have shares in the company, no I don’t work for them, no I don’t sell them, I really am just a farmers wife)

Was this review helpful? Yes

Date Purchased: Feb 2018

Excellent. Would like it to clean beach area of pool, but it keeps flipping and stopping.

4 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 14, 2018

We have a ionizer pool system This cleaner has resulted in a greater efficiency of this system,especially following rain.Our pool area is also heavily venerated. Foliage includes large elm leaves and a huge angophora, lots of bark and gum nuts. The cleaner is quite efficient, with only minimal debris remaining.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Purchase Date Purchased: Jan 2017

So easy to maintain a clean pool

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 14, 2018

This is such an easy pool cleaner to use and maintain. Our pool collects a lot of leaf litter and this automatic cleaner takes everything in its stride, leaving our pool sparkling clean every time. All the leaf litter, twigs and general debris is vacuumed up in one cycle. Couldn’t live without it now.

Purchased at: Australian Outdoor Living

Was this review helpful? Yes

Date Purchased: Nov 2017

Very Good but not perfect

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 13, 2018

To date it has done a marvelous job with leaves etc my only problem is remote control being difficult to handle especially when trying to remove from the pool. The caddy is also very frail with plastic part already cracked needs to be more sturdy . Having said that the pool has never been cleaner.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Mick d, thanks for the 5 star review. However it is not good to hear that a part of the caddy has cracked. We would be happy to replace this for you. Could please send a photo of the broken part... read more »

Date Purchased: Dec 2017

I Now Enjoy My Pool

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 13, 2018

Wanted to buy sooner but previous pool guy talked me into something else that was a disaster. Constant cleaning, mega money in chemicals. All because he was going to get a kick back and thought I'd be spending all that money in his store . This cleaner has made all the difference and saved me so much in wasted chemicals for a cleaner that just wasn't suitable.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Chook, great to hear that you can now enjoy your pool thanks to the VX55 4WD! Happy swimming :)

Date Purchased: Mar 2017

Make your life easier

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 12, 2018

It works great, is easy to use and cleanup afterwards. Does well on all debris I've had.
I was worried with my first pool that I'd spend too much time hooking up to the filter and cleaning. Now I just put it in and come back at the end, clean machine and put away until next clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi First Timer, great to hear that you are happy with your VX55 4WD! :)

Date Purchased: Jan 2017

It does the job very well, it's just fantastic ...!!!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 12, 2018

The product has helped my pool a lot and every time I need it. It's easy to use, easy to store away, easy to operate. It cleans exceptional well. I just loved it so much and I would recommend to my friends and families who have a pool. It was my first pool cleaner and we chose it right.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi pool man, thanks for the 5 star review. Happy swimming :)

Date Purchased: Nov 2017

Cleans pool well

4 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 11, 2018

Does a very good job of cleaning the pool. Have not had to spend as much on chemicals already which offsets initial outlay. I only really use it to clean bottom of the pool -my pool is kidney-bean shaped so does not go up the sides probably as efficiently as would in a square pool

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Fincat, thanks for the 4 star review. Have you tried changing the pool shape setting on the control box? There is an option for "rectangle pool" and a second option for "freeform" or kidney sha... read more »

1 of 2 pages


Questions & Answers

How many brushes does the VX55 have? We converted our pebblecrete pool to a swimpond with underwater shelving holding pots of waterplants. We have crystal clear water but the plants create algea. We need a cleaner with brushes that can remove the algea on the pebblecrete floor and walls.

Debbie S asked on May 05, 2018

Answer this

Hi, it has double rubber scrubbing brushes on the front. You can set the cleaner to wall and waterline only, it the creeps up and down the wall to the waterline scrubbing. Only problem with algea is that sometimes it is so fine and powdery that it can go straight through the filter on the cleaner back into the pool. Unless you can vacuum to waste then get your pool back in balance you may be fighting an uphill battle.

How does the cleaner manager with swim-outs?

cssaus asked on Apr 28, 2018

Answer this

My pool only has a seating bench along 2 sides. The Zodiac handles these without any difficulty.

We have, I think, a VX55. It's about two years old, so I assume out of warranty. I order for any lights to come on the controller box I have to turn it off 'at the wall'. Often this will help, but sometimes only for a few minutes. I've tried it in different plug sockets in the same location and others. Any ideas of what I should be troubleshooting, or possible solutions? TIA

ChrisS asked on Mar 30, 2018

Answer this

Sorry, I've only had my VX55 for 4 months and not encountered this problem. However, my VX55 has a 3 year warranty, so perhaps you may wish to follow up this issue with your supplier. Good luck! SueK

Hi VX55 has a 3 year warranty. Can you please call us on 1300 763 021 and we can help from there. Thanks.

See all 14 questions about Zodiac VX55 4WD

Product Details

Type Robotic