Date Purchased: Apr 2014

Not working anymore

3 out of 5, reviewed on Sep 10, 2018

We have had this cleaner for a few years now. It has also just stopped working...
This is the second time this has happened.
We went back to our local pool people & they said they we would probably need to buy another.
Not happy !!
When you pay this type of money for a cleaner you would think it would last longer then this.....

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Noy. If you have not already, please call us directly on 1300 763 021 and let the Team know we asked you to call. Thanks.

Verified Purchase Date Purchased: Jun 2018

Quite disappointed, no value for money

2 out of 5, reviewed on Aug 13, 2018

I read a lot of reviews on various pool robots that are on the market and this one seemed one of the best, although quite expensive. So I had high expectations. After 2 months I can say I am quite disappointed. There seems to be a "leaf evasion" switch that I can't find and turn off. Every time the robot comes near a leaf it stops, turns around and blows the leave away with the motor. There seems to be no logic in the path the robot chooses; it won't go straight for more than 1 meter on end, before it turns around again and goes in another direction. But, I hear you say, there is a remote control with which you can direct the robot where you want it to go. However, there is a 3-10 second delay between the direction you point the remote and when the robot responds, so by the time you think you are pointing the wrong direction, you move the remote and away the robot goes again.
Don't use the wall and floor cleaning function at the same time either, as it will only do walls and will never come near a leaf on the floor again. In summary, it does not live up to leaf cleaning expectations at a very steep price. Not recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

HI Rick. May I ask if you have spoken to our Customer Care team? If there is an issue with your Cleaner, we can have one of our Techs look at this for you? Thanks.

Date Purchased: Jun 2014

Don't waste your money!

1 out of 5, reviewed on Jul 29, 2018

We used the vacuum for 4 years and we loved it until it just stopped working one day. We were always careful to treat it as suggested and never left it in the pool for an extended period. The store we bought it from said the problem is likely the cord and the motor and not worth repairing because it will cost $800 and we paid $1100. For $1100 I expected more than a 4 year lifespan!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Lynn, Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that the cleaner is not working. May we ask if you had a quote done or a tech look at the Cleaner to give you this costing information? Thanks.

Date Purchased: Apr 2016

Just OK with poor warranty service

3 out of 5, reviewed on May 10, 2018

Have had it for around two years now. Generally works well but we had to buy the 100 Micron canister as it just dispersed the fine silt. Housing on the robot started to separate and we sent it for warranty repair. Took 4 weeks (literally to the day) and it doesn’t even look like anything was done. Housing is still separating and you can see the styrofoam inside. Warranty seems pretty pointless if the repairs are so poor.

For the record, we also take good care of the machine and always take it out of the pool after running, empty the canister and hose it down with fresh water. I wouldn’t say it does a superior job to our old Onga Hammerhead suction cleaner which was substantially cheaper.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi John, Sorry to hear about the Repair experience. May I ask if you have raised this issue with our Customer Care or if you would like to be contacted? Thanks.

  • 1 review
  • 2 answers
Private message

Date Purchased: Dec 2017

Greatt time saver

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 26, 2018

After 8 weeks of use, I'm very pleased with my VX55. My pool faces the southeast and a rainforest. So leaves are a big issue in the pool. But the VX55 seems to manage picking up the leaves and smaller twigs. I use it every second day for 74 minutes and the pool always looks good and the water sparkles. Best of all, it frees me up to spend more time in the pool etc. I should have bought one years ago!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Suek, Thank you so much for the 5 star review, Happy Swimming!

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Date Purchased: Jan 2018

Love it!!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 25, 2018

The Zodiac pool cleaner has really saved me time, as I am having to maintain ie back wash and clean my pool's filter system less often. Hopefully this means the filtration system will have a longer life. The leaves and other debris are collected in the Zodiac and cleaning it is easy. I am a woman and find the Zodiac a little heavy lifting it in and out of the water but apart from that I would recommend it to anyone. A great product.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Thanks for the 5 star review! Happy Swimming.

  • 1 review
  • 3 comments
  • 1 answer
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Date Purchased: Jan 2017

Great cleaner for most

4 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 23, 2018

Handles leaves etc very well but fine dirt isn't it's strength.
If you get a lot of dirt it would be best to pick a different type. We had a barracuda suction cleaner which was must better for dirt. Great for leaves, sand and other small bits but would consider something else for dirt.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi David, Thank you for your review. May I ask if you have the 100 micron Canister? Thanks.

Hi, I haven't tried the 100 micron filter but would be happy to review if you wanted to send me one to test?

Zodiac Official

Hi David, please find the Link to the Dealers that have Demo Units - https://www.zodiac.com.au/vx55-robotic-pool-cleaner/#free-robotic-demos
Thanks!

See all 6 comments
  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Date Purchased: Jan 2017

Couldn’t be better

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 21, 2018

Perfect result for pool cleaners,easy of use great results , accesses all areas.
EASY ACCESS IN AND OUT OF POOL .Great back up service and assistance .
Having had pools previously with different skimmer operated cleaners this is certainly the most efficient.Cleaning and removal of basket simple great waterline cleaning.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi GD, Thank you so much for the 5 star review.

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Date Purchased: May 2016

Very Reliable

4 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 20, 2018

Easy to use and cleaning is easy as. Would recommend to friends. Aaaaa bbb ccc did eee fff ggg he iiii jjjjjj kkk lll mmm nnnnnnn ooooooo powwow rr sss tttt uuu vvvv we xxx yyyyyyyyyyyyyyy zzz qwe rty you pass fog jkl zucchini bum mnb vcxz Liu jog fds spoilt outta tr ewqb.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Glen, Thanks for the 4 stars!

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Date Purchased: Dec 2017

Robotic Cleaner

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 19, 2018

Fantastic product. I have battled for years with the conventional skimmer box suction units only to find they pretty much call it a day after 2-3 years, complete waste of money. The Zodiac has proven what I have been missing out on, my pool has never been cleaner, yes a larger investment, but well worth the extra money.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Macca, Thanks for the 5 star review. Happy Swimming!

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Date Purchased: Dec 2017

Quite amazing machine. Certainly better than any other I have owned or trialed.

4 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 19, 2018

Picks up most things except long leafy things like palm fronds. Also find that fine particles are dispersed through the water by the powerful ejections of water at rear of the unit only to settle back on the floor of the pool the next day. Other than that a great machine.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Hank, Thank you for your Review, May I ask which Canister you are using? Thanks.

  • 1 review
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Date Purchased: Dec 2017

The Zodiac does what it needs to do

3 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 16, 2018

The unit tends to work satisfactorily however my issue is that it needs to be wheeled out, connected, removed and cleaned every time that you need to clean the pool.
We are in a high leaf area and whilst the unit has no trouble collected the leaves, it is a chore to continually connect and remove each time before we can actually use the pool.
I have historically always had a suction cleaner (Maxi Vac style) that was more set and forget than the Zodiac VX55 which is somewhat more labour intensive in comparison. What this means is that we use the pool a lot less as the pool is not actively cleaned each day.

2 people found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Rob, Thank you for the review. Your feedback has been passed on, Thanks.

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Date Purchased: Oct 2017

Perfect for acreage and lots of trees

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 15, 2018

The VX55 4WD has lived up to its expectation, nothing seems to phase it. We have a lot of gum trees and get quiet a lot of gum nuts, large leaves and small clusters of leaves in the pool. The VX55 4WD picks them all up. Two days ago we were hit by a very servere storm, lost the tops off 4 trees in the back yard, had winds over 100km which dumped a lot of debris into the pool. We took the large branches out and the VX55 4WD took care of the rest. The pool is looking great and you wouldn't have thought that two days ago. Yes, for large items like gum nuts, large leave cluster and vertually anything it can scoop up the VX55 4WD handles them well. I can highly recomend this product to anyone who suffers from these.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Thanks for the 5 star review.

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Date Purchased: Dec 2017

Better than I hoped

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 14, 2018

The pool sparkles and healthier .It is very easy to operate and store and handels leaves gum nuts etc with ease.Have purchased a solar cover to preserve the original condition and wash with fresh water after each time it is used.The wall cleaning mode is great and the lift mode makes it easy to remove it from the pool

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Dave, Glad to hear the Cleaner has exceeded your expectations, Enjoy!

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Date Purchased: Dec 2017

Excellent having been able to get rid of all the hoses from old vacumm

4 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 14, 2018

Much quicker and cleaner than last vacumm . Having no hoses now is a real bonus and now having a trolley for new 4wd cleaner makes it much more easier to move around. Pool is cleaner in a quater of the time the old one took to clean. Even the fine debris are able to be sucked up now

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Thank you for the Review!

Date Purchased: Mar 2017

Love

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 14, 2018

This is a product I could confidently recommend after having given it a real workout over the last almost 12 months. It does a brilliant job, I really could not do without it. It is simple to operate, picks up all the debris on the pool floor, climbs the walls and stairs and has been completely reliable. We live on a farm so there is a lot of debris such as leaves, twigs, grass clippings, insects, dust and pollens from all our surrounding paddocks so it is at work almost every day. Its ability to collect what appears to be a fine sediment, probably caused by the hard bore water is very impressive. I have read some reviews where people have said it won’t do this but I think they simply haven’t left the machine In the pool long enough. Yes, some fine particles go through but they settle and the zodiac picks them up the next time round - it’s simply amazing, go out and buy one! (no I don’t have shares in the company, no I don’t work for them, no I don’t sell them, I really am just a farmers wife)

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Date Purchased: Feb 2018

Excellent. Would like it to clean beach area of pool, but it keeps flipping and stopping.

4 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 14, 2018

We have a ionizer pool system This cleaner has resulted in a greater efficiency of this system,especially following rain.Our pool area is also heavily venerated. Foliage includes large elm leaves and a huge angophora, lots of bark and gum nuts. The cleaner is quite efficient, with only minimal debris remaining.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Purchase Date Purchased: Jan 2017

So easy to maintain a clean pool

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 14, 2018

This is such an easy pool cleaner to use and maintain. Our pool collects a lot of leaf litter and this automatic cleaner takes everything in its stride, leaving our pool sparkling clean every time. All the leaf litter, twigs and general debris is vacuumed up in one cycle. Couldn’t live without it now.

Purchased at: Australian Outdoor Living

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Date Purchased: Nov 2017

Very Good but not perfect

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 13, 2018

To date it has done a marvelous job with leaves etc my only problem is remote control being difficult to handle especially when trying to remove from the pool. The caddy is also very frail with plastic part already cracked needs to be more sturdy . Having said that the pool has never been cleaner.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Mick d, thanks for the 5 star review. However it is not good to hear that a part of the caddy has cracked. We would be happy to replace this for you. Could please send a photo of the broken part... read more »

  • 1 review
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Date Purchased: Dec 2017

I Now Enjoy My Pool

5 out of 5, reviewed on Feb 13, 2018

Wanted to buy sooner but previous pool guy talked me into something else that was a disaster. Constant cleaning, mega money in chemicals. All because he was going to get a kick back and thought I'd be spending all that money in his store . This cleaner has made all the difference and saved me so much in wasted chemicals for a cleaner that just wasn't suitable.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Zodiac Official

Hi Chook, great to hear that you can now enjoy your pool thanks to the VX55 4WD! Happy swimming :)

1 of 3 pages


Questions & Answers

Hi. Have had the VX55 for 2 years and it has been superb. I'm finding now that it keeps on flipping over and becoming stuck on its back. Is there anything I can do to prevent this or is this a bigger issue? Thanks.

James B asked on Oct 21, 2018

Hi, the motor driving one of the wheels has stopped working. Roughly how much would it cost to repair or is it a case of having to buy a new machine?

Dave asked on Oct 20, 2018

Answer this

Hi Dave, Unfortunately, we couldnt tell you how much this would cost without looking at the machine. May I ask how old the unit is and where you are located? Thanks.

How many brushes does the VX55 have? We converted our pebblecrete pool to a swimpond with underwater shelving holding pots of waterplants. We have crystal clear water but the plants create algea. We need a cleaner with brushes that can remove the algea on the pebblecrete floor and walls.

Debbie S asked on May 05, 2018

Answer this

Hi, it has double rubber scrubbing brushes on the front. You can set the cleaner to wall and waterline only, it the creeps up and down the wall to the waterline scrubbing. Only problem with algea is that sometimes it is so fine and powdery that it can go straight through the filter on the cleaner back into the pool. Unless you can vacuum to waste then get your pool back in balance you may be fighting an uphill battle.

See all 16 questions about Zodiac VX55 4WD