Booktopia Questions

81 questions from our users
How do I increase text size on the booktopia reader app? I have bought an ebook in epub format and the text is too small to read on my phone.

Ekmandy asked on Jun 08, 2018

Answer this

Hi Ekmandy,

To increase the font size of a book, open the eBook on your device then tap the screen once to bring up the menu. Once you’ve done this, click Settings (this should look like a cogwheel on IOS). There will be section called "Text Size" and a plus and negative sign that will increase or decrease font size respectively.

Tap the plus sign a few times and the font size will increase. If the plus sign goes grey then you're not able to increase the size any more. Once you’ve done this, make sure you click Save to save the changes.

If you have any other enquiries please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

I work near your distribution centre. Am I able to pick up an order from there or do I have to have it posted?

Andrew asked on Jun 03, 2018

Answer this

Hi Andrew,

I'm sorry but we don't offer collection, the way we distribute orders doesn't really allow for it. Plus it becomes an OH&S issue having customers on site.

We do often have Free Shipping promotions which we only send to customers signed up for our Newsletters. We have a promotion going on right now which expires midnight on the 13th of June, the codeword is EOFYS and can be entered in at the final stage of checkout under the Gift Certificates, Store Credits and Promotion Codes heading.

I hope you'll consider ordering with us in future and taking advantage of our promotions. Be sure to get in touch if we can ever assist. :)

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

how do I increase text size on booktopia?

Shona L asked on May 27, 2018

Answer this

Hi Shona,

Just to clarify, are you using our Booktopia Reader app to read an eBook or do you want to increase the size of our website while you make purchases?

Let me know if you're on the site or using our Booktopia Reader app and I can help you with this.

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

I need access to my account while overseas. While in Aust I bought a lot of books from you so that I can read them while overseas (where I am now). From here though, I cannot access your site or my account on it. Please help. Pip

Pip asked on May 16, 2018

Answer this

Hi Pip,

It sounds like you're referring to eBooks. eBooks can only be downloaded in Australia however once downloaded you can access the eBooks anywhere and without an internet connection.

Did you download the eBooks and open them while in Australia? What device and software/program did you install to your device?

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

I just ordered 3 books giving only payment as credit card,but you did not ask me the number of my master card .I used your side before once,is it enough???probably no! I buy almost everything on line . Thank you for answering me.

Maciek asked on May 03, 2018

Answer this

Hi Maciek,

You do have the ability to store your credit card details in your account and so it's possible a stored card has been used to pay for the order. I'd be happy to check for you, I just need your order number.

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

I got an error when tried to download a book. It shows that 'this item is originally download with different user account'

Rahul asked on Apr 12, 2018

Answer this

Hi Rahul,

Sorry to hear this. We need a little more info from you regarding the issue. If I could grab your order number I'll send you a direct email.

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

Hi Booktopia, I recently purchased and downloaded a book from you. It works fine except for the fact that some pages have illustrations and I can,t see the whole picture. I.ve tried decreasing the text size which works to get a bit more of the picture but not in its entirety. The diagrams and pictures are important. Can you help? Thanks Nicky

Nic G asked on Apr 05, 2018

Answer this

Hi Nicky,

Sorry to hear about this! We'll need to get a few screenshots from you so we can raise it with the publisher. If I could grab your order number I'll send you an email.

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

Thanks. Order number is 7124361

Hi Nicky,

Thanks for that, I've sent you a direct email asking for some screenshots.

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

Hi, Can I print my ebook? Because ebook is not always comfortable to read.

AkhymbekM asked on Mar 03, 2018

Answer this

Hi there,

No sorry, eBooks are intended to only be read on a digital device. You can read the eBook on a smartphone, tablet, computer and most eReaders.

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

How long from purchase to door on delivery please?

Tracy Lee L asked on Feb 27, 2018

Answer this

Hi Tracy,

The time it takes to be delivered to you depends on the availability of the item you're after and what state you live in. If you could let me know which item you're after and what state you live in I can give you a delivery estimate.

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

Unfortunately I cannot order from Booktopia as I am overseas where access to Australian authors is extremely limited. (This cannot be helping their circulation.) Can you suggest another site with Australian authors which does send overseas?

S. M. asked on Feb 11, 2018

Answer this

Hi S. M.

We've made the decision to focus on our Australian and New Zealand customers, but there are a number of International re-shipping services that you may be able to take advantage of. Be sure to get in touch if we can ever assist you with pacing an order.

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

I've just submitted a review (for the first time use of Booktopia). I don't want my email address published or given to any other agencies and I do not want to be receiving emails from Booktopia about deals. I will contact Booktopia when I need to. Can you confirm this please. Nickname "Nanna" - email address [Email address removed]

Nanna asked on Feb 07, 2018

Answer this

Hi Nanna,

When you post a review of a product on our site we do not publish your email address with it. We actually have a moderating system which prevents personal details like this being submitted on our site.

If you're still concerned, be sure to contact us directly.

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

As I am not very good with technology I couldn't do the 'Proof of Purchase' documentation to go with my review. Is it OK to send copies of my documentation? I would like my entry to have the top status! Charmaine Savage

Charmaine S asked on Jan 22, 2018

Answer this

Hi Charmaine,

Sorry, this isn't something Booktopia can help with but you may be able to contact Product Review directly about this. You can contact them here: https://www.productreview.com.au/brand-manager/platform/contact.html

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

Can I read Booktopia ebooks on a Kindle?

margo asked on Jan 07, 2018

Answer this

Not easily there are web pages that tell
You how to do it easily enough but the kindle is locked to the amazon books so by doing a bit of research you should be able to do it

Hi Margo,

As EvilBigSteve said, Kindle is an Amazon product and so our eBooks don't support this device. You can read our eBooks on an iOS or Android smartphone or tablet, a PC or Mac and most other eReaders such as Sony or Kobo eReaders.

We have some instructions on how to download to each of these devices in our Help Centre here: https://www.booktopia.com.au/helpCentre.ep?p=eBooks&o=reader-app#

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

Sorry to post here!..

Hey Jessica,

I made a purchase because I thought 'e-reader' would include a Kindle. I can't deal with reading off backlit screens... I got a store credit.. but now I know Kindle isn't possible, any chance of getting a refund do you think?

I have opened my booktopia ebook with the booktopia reader in my iPad. But I also want to open it on ,y laptop with digital editions. It won't let me. It says the licence has been fulfilled by another user. Any suggestions?

margo asked on Jan 03, 2018

Answer this

Hi Margo,

If you downloaded the eBook to your iPad first then the Booktopia Reader would have automatically authorised it to your Booktopia account. It sounds like Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) is authorised to a different account. To fix this up you will first need to deauthorise your computer

1. Open Adobe Digital Editions.
2. Click on Help, then on Erase Authorisation.
3. A window will appear asking if you want to deauthorise your computer. You may need to type in the ID and password associated with the account, then confirm that you want to deauthorise your device by clicking on Erase Authorisation.

And then you will need to reauthorise your computer

1. Click on Help, then on Authorise Computer.
2. Choose Booktopia from the drop down menu as the eBook Vendor
3. Enter the email address and password for your Booktopia account, then click on Authorise.

Once you have done this, download a brand new copy of the eBook from your Booktopia account and open in ADE. If you have any further issues please let me know and I’ll further investigate this for you.

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

I ordered a book and when it arrived the package did not contain anything. I refused delivery (because it was only a piece of cardboard) and then sent a message to booktopia via ebay to let them know the item is being returned. Australia post tracking confirmed the item was returned to Lidcome 13th December but nobody at Booktopia will return my email via the Ebay site. Ebay refuse to help me and said that I should of accepted delivery? Who would accept delivery of a piece of cardboard and how would I prove nothing was inside the package? Clearly from the tracking information you can see the item was returned to Lidcombe but I can't seem to get anyone to send the book or refund my money. Help!

Heather asked on Dec 16, 2017

Answer this

Hi Heather,

Let me look into it for you, could I have the order number please?

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

Hi Jessica I am enjoying my Booktopia Library downloaded to my iPad. But is there a way I can also read from my MacBook Pro?

Geoff B asked on Nov 29, 2017

Answer this

Sorry, no idea !
Technology is definitely not my thing !!!

Perhaps some techy in the Booktopia team might be able to help? It would be a great advantage if the books I purchase can be read across different devices.

Hey Geoff,

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you!

You can most definitely read it on your MacBook as well, although you do need a different program to read it. You can download a free program called Adobe Digital Editions, there are some instructions on how to get it going in our Help Centre here: https://www.booktopia.com.au/helpCentre.ep?p=eBooks&o=reader-app#

Look for the heading that says "Reading on a PC or Mac Computer, or eReader device".

I hope this helps! Let us know if we can assist any further. :)

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

Hi, I am trying to download the e-books I have purchased onto an Ipad Mini and I keep being asked for the Adobe sign-in. Even though I put in the password for Adobe, I can't get past that. Help please! Thanks, Kahty

Ksthy R asked on Nov 28, 2017

Answer this

Hi Kathy,

It sounds like the eBook thinks it's been authorised to Adobe - we can reset it for you, I just need the order number.

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

Hi booktopia I placed an order Hi There I received a message on 23/11 from australia post saying my package had been delivered? Strange because i was home and had received 2 other packages that same day from else where. I checked the front door mail box etc and no package. Where are my books gone? Tracking number PNB8933622010828. It says delivered at 12.36pm i was standing next to my front door at this time? Please help  Order number 6459297

Rach547 asked on Nov 25, 2017

Answer this

Hi Rach,

I'm so sorry for the delay in getting back to you! It looks like my colleague Mark has sorted out some replacements for you. They're on their way now and should be delivered this week.

Let us know if we can assist any further. :)

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

Hi Booktopia, I placed an order for textbooks on the 5/11, everything said it was in stock in the warehouse and would be shipping in 1-2 business days. It has been 5 days and still no shipping confirmation. I was on hold for ages on the phone to customer service and could never get through so I resorted to chat where whoever I spoke to said this would be shipped today with express shipping. I still have no tracking information and the status of my order has not changed. No one has replied to any of my messages either. As someone who works in customer service for an online retailer, I am absolutely appalled at the customer service I have received! If I do not get this order by Tuesday (12/11) I want a full refund and I will order somewhere else. I need these textbooks for uni. If they said they weren't in stock I never would have ordered them. Can someone please contact me! Thanks.

Eden asked on Nov 10, 2017

Answer this

Hi Eden,

I'm sorry to hear about this! I'd like to look into it further, could I have your order number please?

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

Hi,

Order number 6383895. I just need to make sure this is cancelled please, I spoke to someone on facebook today but have not receive a cancellation email

Hi Booktopia, I placed an order on the 29/10 and it has still not been shipped. I need this textbook ASAP. I have attempted to contact via the website and cannot get through on the phone. I’m at the point where I would like to cancel the order, as the customer service has been non-existent. Can someone please contact me here ASAP. Thanks

Holly M asked on Nov 06, 2017

Answer this

Hi Holly,

I'm really sorry for the trouble you've had getting through to us. Let me look into the order and see what's going on, could I have your order number please?

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

1 of 5 pages