Booktopia Questions

72 questions from our users
Unfortunately I cannot order from Booktopia as I am overseas where access to Australian authors is extremely limited. (This cannot be helping their circulation.) Can you suggest another site with Australian authors which does send overseas?

S. M. asked on Feb 11, 2018

I've just submitted a review (for the first time use of Booktopia). I don't want my email address published or given to any other agencies and I do not want to be receiving emails from Booktopia about deals. I will contact Booktopia when I need to. Can you confirm this please. Nickname "Nanna" - email address [Email address removed]

Nanna asked on Feb 07, 2018

Answer this

Hi Nanna,

When you post a review of a product on our site we do not publish your email address with it. We actually have a moderating system which prevents personal details like this being submitted on our site.

If you're still concerned, be sure to contact us directly.

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

As I am not very good with technology I couldn't do the 'Proof of Purchase' documentation to go with my review. Is it OK to send copies of my documentation? I would like my entry to have the top status! Charmaine Savage

Charmaine S asked on Jan 22, 2018

Answer this

Hi Charmaine,

Sorry, this isn't something Booktopia can help with but you may be able to contact Product Review directly about this. You can contact them here: https://www.productreview.com.au/brand-manager/platform/contact.html

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

Can I read Booktopia ebooks on a Kindle?

margo asked on Jan 07, 2018

Answer this

Not easily there are web pages that tell
You how to do it easily enough but the kindle is locked to the amazon books so by doing a bit of research you should be able to do it

Hi Margo,

As EvilBigSteve said, Kindle is an Amazon product and so our eBooks don't support this device. You can read our eBooks on an iOS or Android smartphone or tablet, a PC or Mac and most other eReaders such as Sony or Kobo eReaders.

We have some instructions on how to download to each of these devices in our Help Centre here: https://www.booktopia.com.au/helpCentre.ep?p=eBooks&o=reader-app#

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

I have opened my booktopia ebook with the booktopia reader in my iPad. But I also want to open it on ,y laptop with digital editions. It won't let me. It says the licence has been fulfilled by another user. Any suggestions?

margo asked on Jan 03, 2018

Answer this

Hi Margo,

If you downloaded the eBook to your iPad first then the Booktopia Reader would have automatically authorised it to your Booktopia account. It sounds like Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) is authorised to a different account. To fix this up you will first need to deauthorise your computer

1. Open Adobe Digital Editions.
2. Click on Help, then on Erase Authorisation.
3. A window will appear asking if you want to deauthorise your computer. You may need to type in the ID and password associated with the account, then confirm that you want to deauthorise your device by clicking on Erase Authorisation.

And then you will need to reauthorise your computer

1. Click on Help, then on Authorise Computer.
2. Choose Booktopia from the drop down menu as the eBook Vendor
3. Enter the email address and password for your Booktopia account, then click on Authorise.

Once you have done this, download a brand new copy of the eBook from your Booktopia account and open in ADE. If you have any further issues please let me know and I’ll further investigate this for you.

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

I ordered a book and when it arrived the package did not contain anything. I refused delivery (because it was only a piece of cardboard) and then sent a message to booktopia via ebay to let them know the item is being returned. Australia post tracking confirmed the item was returned to Lidcome 13th December but nobody at Booktopia will return my email via the Ebay site. Ebay refuse to help me and said that I should of accepted delivery? Who would accept delivery of a piece of cardboard and how would I prove nothing was inside the package? Clearly from the tracking information you can see the item was returned to Lidcombe but I can't seem to get anyone to send the book or refund my money. Help!

Heather asked on Dec 16, 2017

Answer this

Hi Heather,

Let me look into it for you, could I have the order number please?

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

Hi Jessica I am enjoying my Booktopia Library downloaded to my iPad. But is there a way I can also read from my MacBook Pro?

Geoff B asked on Nov 29, 2017

Answer this

Sorry, no idea !
Technology is definitely not my thing !!!

Perhaps some techy in the Booktopia team might be able to help? It would be a great advantage if the books I purchase can be read across different devices.

Hey Geoff,

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you!

You can most definitely read it on your MacBook as well, although you do need a different program to read it. You can download a free program called Adobe Digital Editions, there are some instructions on how to get it going in our Help Centre here: https://www.booktopia.com.au/helpCentre.ep?p=eBooks&o=reader-app#

Look for the heading that says "Reading on a PC or Mac Computer, or eReader device".

I hope this helps! Let us know if we can assist any further. :)

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

Hi, I am trying to download the e-books I have purchased onto an Ipad Mini and I keep being asked for the Adobe sign-in. Even though I put in the password for Adobe, I can't get past that. Help please! Thanks, Kahty

Ksthy R asked on Nov 28, 2017

Answer this

Hi Kathy,

It sounds like the eBook thinks it's been authorised to Adobe - we can reset it for you, I just need the order number.

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

Hi booktopia I placed an order Hi There I received a message on 23/11 from australia post saying my package had been delivered? Strange because i was home and had received 2 other packages that same day from else where. I checked the front door mail box etc and no package. Where are my books gone? Tracking number PNB8933622010828. It says delivered at 12.36pm i was standing next to my front door at this time? Please help  Order number 6459297

Rach547 asked on Nov 25, 2017

Answer this

Hi Rach,

I'm so sorry for the delay in getting back to you! It looks like my colleague Mark has sorted out some replacements for you. They're on their way now and should be delivered this week.

Let us know if we can assist any further. :)

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

Hi Booktopia, I placed an order for textbooks on the 5/11, everything said it was in stock in the warehouse and would be shipping in 1-2 business days. It has been 5 days and still no shipping confirmation. I was on hold for ages on the phone to customer service and could never get through so I resorted to chat where whoever I spoke to said this would be shipped today with express shipping. I still have no tracking information and the status of my order has not changed. No one has replied to any of my messages either. As someone who works in customer service for an online retailer, I am absolutely appalled at the customer service I have received! If I do not get this order by Tuesday (12/11) I want a full refund and I will order somewhere else. I need these textbooks for uni. If they said they weren't in stock I never would have ordered them. Can someone please contact me! Thanks.

Eden asked on Nov 10, 2017

Answer this

Hi Eden,

I'm sorry to hear about this! I'd like to look into it further, could I have your order number please?

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

Hi,

Order number 6383895. I just need to make sure this is cancelled please, I spoke to someone on facebook today but have not receive a cancellation email

Hi Booktopia, I placed an order on the 29/10 and it has still not been shipped. I need this textbook ASAP. I have attempted to contact via the website and cannot get through on the phone. I’m at the point where I would like to cancel the order, as the customer service has been non-existent. Can someone please contact me here ASAP. Thanks

Holly M asked on Nov 06, 2017

Answer this

Hi Holly,

I'm really sorry for the trouble you've had getting through to us. Let me look into the order and see what's going on, could I have your order number please?

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

Please help - need assistance with a return. Order number 6282529. Waited over an hour on hold, very poor customer service Booktopia. Thanks May

May asked on Nov 06, 2017

Answer this

Hi May,

I'm really sorry for the wait on the phone, we have been experiencing higher than normal cal volumes.

It looks like you managed to get through to our Live Chat team. Please let me know if we can assist any further.

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

How do I delete Ebooks from my library on my ipad?

Stew asked on Nov 03, 2017

Answer this

Hi Stew,

You can delete the eBook by clicking the trash can icon at the very top of the screen, to the right. Once you've clicked the trash can, just tap the negative sign on the left and the option to delete will appear.

I hope this helps! If you need any assistance with it please do not hesitate to get in touch.

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

Hi, I tried calling your customer service but wasn't able to get through. Order 6290155. I got a message from Australia post saying my order has been delivered. It hasn't. I've tried contacting them to complain and they have done next to nothing. They say they have a signature but won't show me what the signature was, they say only the sender can see it. I was the only one home at the time, plus my husband didn't sign for it. They must have delivered to the wrong address. Can you please launch a complaint with them? It looks as though the item is missing. Thanks

alex383 asked on Nov 03, 2017

Answer this

Hi Alex,

I'm so sorry to hear about this! We can definitely investigate this with Australia Post, hopefully we can recover the parcel. I've sent you a direct email about this.

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

Thanks Jessica! I've replied to your email and appreciate the effort on your part. Alex

I ordered on the 11th of October, the 10 days business days period has passed and nobody is replying me on the website or answering the phone. I want to know why is it delaying to ship my order?

Lucas P asked on Oct 31, 2017

Answer this

Hi Lucas,

I'm sorry to hear about this! I'd like to look into this further and see what's happened to your order. Could I have your order number please?

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

Thank you for replying fast. My order number is 6261450.

Hi Jessica, thanks so much for your informative answer! Just one more question: are you able to check whether my order #5596269 has been embargoed and a rough estimate on its arrival? I only ask because I'm on a bit of a time-crunch and would love to prepare accordingly. Thanks again!

Ren asked on Oct 05, 2017

Answer this

Hi Ren,

Sorry for the delay in responding!

It looks like the book you've purchased doesn't have any embargoes on it. The stock is on the way from the UK and expected to arrive sometime next week - this means it won't come on the day of publication but we'll make sure your copy is shipped ASAP. :)

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

I preordered a book that, according to your website, will be released on 12/10. Just wondering if this means it'll leave your facility on this date or that you'll endeavour to have us receive the book on this date..? Thanks in advance!

Ren asked on Oct 04, 2017

Answer this

Hi Ren,

Thanks for contacting us! We do everything in our power to ship pre-ordered items on the date of their release however in some cases the publisher will have an 'embargo' on the title.

An embargo is a strict agreement to leave the box unopened until the date of publication, and in some cases a certain time as well, which means our suppliers need to wait before they can send the goods. With embargoes, travel time and invoicing, some pre-ordered titles can take up to a week to get to arrive in customers hands.

Otherwise, if the stock is released to us ahead of time, we can ship the item ASAP. You will receive a Shipping Notification email once the parcel has been dispatched from our warehouse, which will contain a tracking number. This number is also listed in your Booktopia account.

I hope this information helps. If you have any other enquiries please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

Hey Booktopia, I ordered a book I need urgently on September 25 and the status said that it was out of stock and you guys would be expecting more copies of it on October 2. However 2 days passed and the status never updated. I left you 2 messages on the website which were not replied to. I called 3 times and each time I was put on hold. Could you please arrange a cancellation of my order (6194558) and refund? I really can't wait forever. Cheers.

C Li asked on Oct 04, 2017

Answer this

Hi C,

Sorry for the trouble you've had getting in touch with us! I can see that my colleague Edinel has cancelled your order and requested a refund for you. You'll receive an email as soon as the refund has been issued.

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

I placed an order #6097527 on 22/08/2017 and have not received 2 books. I've been on hold for 20 minutes now, I just need this order cancelled at this point as her birthday has passed. Any help?

Jonatan asked on Sep 19, 2017

Answer this

Hi Jonatan,

Sorry for the delay in answering this! I can see that you got through to my colleague Coral and she advised that the order had been shipped.

If you have any other enquiries please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

Hi how can I change my credit card details? I have ordered books and forgot my credit card has been changed since my last purchase. Have been trying to change details on your site but cant. Been on the phone for 45 minutes. All I want to know how to change details as so I can put my order through again. Thanks

Marisa P asked on Sep 18, 2017

Answer this

Hi Marisa,

Sorry for the delay in answering this! To remove a credit card from your account, you will need to sign into your account and go to the Account Settings tab. Then select Manage Credit Cards. Here you’re able to remove any stored cards by selecting the Forget This Card option.

I hope this helps. If you have any other enquiries please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,
Jessica
Customer Service

1 of 4 pages