Bosch WAW28460AU Questions

86 questions from our users
Hi. Which is the best cycle and options to wash vicose/polyester clothing. Currently using the delicate wash on 400 spin but my clothes are still pilling. The same thing for my sons tracksuit pants, these are washed on the mix cycle at 600 spin and the pilling is shocking. I use liquid detergent and turn my clothes inside out. Any and all advice welcome as I'm getting really frustrated with this new machine? Thank you

ClaireM asked on Aug 11, 2018

When we was, there is laundry powder still in the dispenser compartment and the fabric softner compartment is full of water. We have cleaned the holder out multiple times but it still happens. What can be done to stop this?

Anth asked on Aug 11, 2018

Answer this

Hi Anth, thanks for your question. We'd recommend making sure that the blue insert in the compartment is up and pushed back into the container, only have this down when using liquid detergent. If this fails to rectify your concerns please contact us on 1300 369 744 to discuss. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

What is the water consumption for the Bosch WAW28460AU washing machine?

Janie asked on Aug 04, 2018

Answer this

Not sure. When barrel is spinning clothes look wet but there doesn’t appear to be any excess liquid other than what wets the clothes themselves.

I am wondering how many litres of water used in a normal wash Bosch says 57 litres and Choice magazine says 72 litres.

Hi Janie, thanks for your question. You can find a full list of the consumption values on page 34 of the appliance user manual.
The Cottons 60 uses 77L, Mix 40 uses 45L, Wool 30 uses 40L, Easy Care uses 61L.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Thank you very much to the Bosch official. As I am waiting on delivery of the new machine I had no positive answers to my question, now I know. We use tank water so it is very important to know how many litres are used. Thank you again for your reply.

Hello i have just bought a Bosch WAW28460AU Series 8. I keep getting this little red symbol before and at ends of a wash ? Looks like a washing machine drum with a cloud to the left of it. It's causing my macine to not finish a cycle. Any help would be great? Thanks!

Andrew T asked on Jul 27, 2018

Answer this

Hi Andrew T, thanks for your question.
It sounds like the 'foam detection' warning.
If the symbol lights up in the display panel, the washing machine has detected too much foam during the
wash program and it will automatically activate an additional rinse cycles to remove the excess foam.
We'd recommend to add less detergent to the next wash cycle.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Hello Team, I have a Bosch WAW28460au washer and one of the plastic drum agitators has a hole in it the size of a 10 cent piece! I'm worried it will damage my clothes can this please be repaired under warranty??

Dean Alley asked on Jul 23, 2018

Answer this

My opinion would be to try them out to see if they will cover it. But it will depend on the serviceman's opinion, if it has broken because the plastic is too thin in that spot then maybe you will be covered but if he thinks it has broken because a heavy object was in a pocket and has been banging around in the machine and broken it then it would be down to you. You would know if something was in there and if not then stand your ground, maybe it had a crack in it from new. Good luck

Sounds like you’ve used the machine to wash something other than clothes. I think the agitators are made of some kind of rubber/silicon composite material, not plastic as you’ve said. Can’t imagine that they’d damage clothes if one has been perforated by something you tried to wash in the machine.

Hi , does the WAW28460AU have a spin only cycle? I can’t find it in the instruction manual?

Antony asked on Jul 01, 2018

Answer this

Hi Antony,
Thanks for your question regarding your Bosch WAW28460AU Washing Machine.
For a spin only, select the Rinse/Spin cycle and press the rinse plus button to deactivate the rinse function.
If you have any further queries, please feel free to contact us on 1300 369 744 to discuss.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Hi my bosch (which I love) has started beeping constantly and is displaying a flashing E:83 and -00 error, but I'm not sure what to do! Can you help me?

Em Cliffy asked on Jun 25, 2018

Answer this

Hi Em Cliffy,
Thanks for your question regarding your Bosch WAW28460AU Washing Machine.
We'd like to help you investigate, so could you please contact us on 1300 369 744 to discuss further.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Can I wash a king size 520gsm microfibre blanket in a Bosch waw28460au?

JudyM asked on Jun 20, 2018

Answer this

Hi JudyM,
Thanks for your question regarding your Bosch WAW28460AU Washing Machine.
This is an 8kg machine so in terms of weight, there shouldn't be an issue. The machine can take up to 16 standard size towels, this should give you a guideline as to the size capacity. If you have any further queries, please feel free to contact us on 1300 369 744 to discuss further.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

What is the difference between the waw28460au and the waw28441au?

Margaret G asked on Jun 18, 2018

Answer this

WAW2841 is sold by Good Guys ONLY and has a drum light and 2 points leak detection in cold water hose where WAW28460 is sold by everybody else. Otherwise they are the same and both Made in Germany.

Hi, We are looking at buying Bosch WAW28460AU while looking at the specs I could not see an option of drum cleaning. What is the procedure or cycle that can be used for cleaning the drum?

Rach asked on Jun 11, 2018

Answer this

https://www.bosch-home.com.au/experience-bosch/living-with-bosch/fresh-reads/brilliant-ways-to-use-your-washing-machine-more-efficiently

Thanks for the question Rach.
The instruction manual supplied with the machine explains this on page 26. Use chlorine free cleaning agent, do not use steel wool.
If there are odours in the machine or to clean the drum, run the COTTONS 90 degree C programme without laundry Add washing powder.
There is also a paragraph on descaling below on the same page but should not be necessary if the detergent is measured out correctly.
My machine is still new and I haven't had to do this yet and in fact never had to do that with my previous machine of over 20 years (Asko).
Cheers mectec.

Thank you Mectec.

Thank you Mectec.

Can you do a spin only cycle, i e for wet hand washed garments?

Pam asked on Jun 04, 2018

Answer this

Hi Pam,
Thanks for your question regarding your Bosch WAW28460AU washing machine. please contact us on 1300 369 744 to discuss further.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Is it worth having a new door seal on a 14 year old Bosch washing machine?

Jill asked on May 29, 2018

Answer this

I recommend you find out how much it will cost to replace the door seal. From a quick online search I'm guessing a new door seal could cost anywhere between $50-175 approx. (depending on the model). 14 years is an amazing life for a washing machine btw, but to be honest, if it cost closer to $150 or more, I would be inclined to buy a new machine.

I suggest you to find out the price for the door seal for your model and cost of fixing. If you can fix the seal yourself don't worry about the cost of fixing. If door seal (and the cost of fixing if it is applicable) is less than $200.00, I recommend you to fix it rather than go for a new machine.

How do you use the pre wash function? It is a separate function on the dial but in the instruction manual it says things like cotton plus pre wash. So how do you choose both?

Alisont2429 asked on May 09, 2018

Answer this

Hi Alisont2429,
Thanks for your question regarding your Bosch WAW28460AU Washing Machine.
The pre wash function is in addition to the Cottons function. When selection the program +Prewash, this automatically adds a cotton cycle. When selecting this cycle divide the detergent between the detergent and prewash compartments.
If you have any further queries, please feel free to contact us on 1300 369 744 to discuss further.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

I have a blue plastic detergent measuring aid in my front load washer. When do I need to use this? Is it only for use when performing a pre wash cycle? Any videos on how to use it would be helpful?

Zoe K asked on Apr 28, 2018

Answer this

The blue area is for fabric softener. Main wash detergent goes to the left container. The section to the right is for detergent for pre-wash. Details are on page 21 of owners manual.

Further to my previous answer, not all of these washers have the blue detergent measuring device for liquid. Ours is one of them.

Good Afternoon, I have a Bosch Front Load washing machine which I am very happy with. Recently, I have noticed that the appropriate front load washing machine powder is not dissolving in the drawer during the wash cycle. I have removed the drawer and cleaned it. Can you recommend any other course of action?...there is obviously some type of blockage perhaps" Shaz

Shaz asked on Apr 12, 2018

Answer this

Hi Shaz,
Thanks for your question regarding the Bosch WAW28460AU Washing Machine.
We'd like to help you investigate, so could you please contact us on 1300 369 744 to discuss further. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

I am having the very same issue. Our fabric softener compartment also gets full of water.

I am having the very same issue. Our fabric softener compartment also gets full of water.

Hi, We have a Bosch WAW248460 which is approximately 1 year old. It is becoming increasingly difficult to operate the machine given even with only 3 pillow slips in the machine on Cotton mode the machine says it is over loaded. Is there a method of resetting the machine back to factory settings We have to take 10 minutes or more to adjust all settings till it finally allows us to start the machine. Very difficult and frustrating. Appears to be electronics/sensor issue. Any advice appreciated. It is still under warranty. Steve B

AlfredofKSA asked on Apr 04, 2018

Answer this

Hi Steve,

Given that it's under warranty, I'd get onto Bosch or your retailer ASAP. I have the same machine and I absolutely love it. Just out of curiosity, have you given it a "boil" wash & clean? Sometimes that's all it needs to kick things back into order. Place about a teaspoon of detergent powder in the tray, set it on Cottons 95c, use the longest cycle, and let it do its thing. Afterwards, clean out the pin trap on the front (have towels handy!). It's a good idea with ANY front loader to run the hottest cycle at least every couple of months. Because they use so little water, they can accumulate soap scum in the outer drum, so if you have light-coloured towel, chuck 'em in on the hottest cycle occasionally and it will help keep the machine clean at the same time. Hope this helps. Bill.

My honest opinion is a drum of fuel and a match is the only way to fix this machine. Worst investment we have ever made.

Hello I have a Bosch waw28460au which is 15 months old and has only been used by a family of two retired adults. I am having problems with starting the programs small and big washes. On selecting the wash program I add the cloths evenly and no items hanging out machine or in door seal. The machine will not start I remove cloths switch off machine and start again. Still no response. So I remove all cloths and even then with no items in the machine it will not start the wash (once door is close the ||start button is not flashing. Advises over weight. So turn off and come back later. Some times it works later some times not. Other times it will only take TWO normal bath towels to do a 7kg was on Cotton. What is going one.

Diane asked on Apr 01, 2018

Answer this

Hi Diane,
Thanks for the question regarding your Bosch WAW28460AU Washing Machine.
We'd like to help you investigate, so could you please contact us on 1300 369 744 to discuss further.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

I have a sports crazy sweaty kid and a partner that is a tradie so our washing requires cleaning of heavily soiled clothes. Does a Bosch have the ability to properly clean these clothes? If not can you suggest a brand that does. I will not ever buy a Fisher Paykel again, so please don't suggest them. Thank you, Lyn

Lyn asked on Mar 28, 2018

Answer this

Hi Lyn,
Thanks for your question.
Please have a look on our website http://www.bosch-home.com.au of our range of washing machine that has the sportsware and soiled clothes cycle.
If you have any further queries, please don’t hesitate to contact us on 1300 369 744 to discuss further.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Hi - I have the blinking tap indicator come up - this is only recently. Not sure if theres an issue with the tap or the hose? I tested the tap and water comes out fine at high pressure without the hose. Any assistance is greatly appreciated?

dp10 asked on Mar 17, 2018

Answer this

Hi Dp10,
Thanks for your question. We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your Bosch WAW28460AU Washing Machine.
We'd like to help you investigate, so could you please contact us on 1300 369 744 to discuss further.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Hi, I have a Laundry Cupboard which is 700mm deep - I just want to confirm that this is enough to fit this washing machine? I know the dimension says 59cm deep, but does this include door and outlets? Thank you.

Ali O asked on Mar 09, 2018

Answer this

It's probably closer to 65cm deep including outets and the door if it isn't pressed shut.

1 of 5 pages