Bosch WAW28460AU Questions

75 questions from our users
How do you use the pre wash function? It is a separate function on the dial but in the instruction manual it says things like cotton plus pre wash. So how do you choose both?

Alisont2429 asked on May 09, 2018

Answer this

Hi Alisont2429,
Thanks for your question regarding your Bosch WAW28460AU Washing Machine.
The pre wash function is in addition to the Cottons function. When selection the program +Prewash, this automatically adds a cotton cycle. When selecting this cycle divide the detergent between the detergent and prewash compartments.
If you have any further queries, please feel free to contact us on 1300 369 744 to discuss further.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

I have a blue plastic detergent measuring aid in my front load washer. When do I need to use this? Is it only for use when performing a pre wash cycle? Any videos on how to use it would be helpful?

Zoe K asked on Apr 28, 2018

Answer this

The blue area is for fabric softener. Main wash detergent goes to the left container. The section to the right is for detergent for pre-wash. Details are on page 21 of owners manual.

Further to my previous answer, not all of these washers have the blue detergent measuring device for liquid. Ours is one of them.

Good Afternoon, I have a Bosch Front Load washing machine which I am very happy with. Recently, I have noticed that the appropriate front load washing machine powder is not dissolving in the drawer during the wash cycle. I have removed the drawer and cleaned it. Can you recommend any other course of action?...there is obviously some type of blockage perhaps" Shaz

Shaz asked on Apr 12, 2018

Answer this

Hi Shaz,
Thanks for your question regarding the Bosch WAW28460AU Washing Machine.
We'd like to help you investigate, so could you please contact us on 1300 369 744 to discuss further. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Hi, We have a Bosch WAW248460 which is approximately 1 year old. It is becoming increasingly difficult to operate the machine given even with only 3 pillow slips in the machine on Cotton mode the machine says it is over loaded. Is there a method of resetting the machine back to factory settings We have to take 10 minutes or more to adjust all settings till it finally allows us to start the machine. Very difficult and frustrating. Appears to be electronics/sensor issue. Any advice appreciated. It is still under warranty. Steve B

AlfredofKSA asked on Apr 04, 2018

Answer this

Hi Steve,

Given that it's under warranty, I'd get onto Bosch or your retailer ASAP. I have the same machine and I absolutely love it. Just out of curiosity, have you given it a "boil" wash & clean? Sometimes that's all it needs to kick things back into order. Place about a teaspoon of detergent powder in the tray, set it on Cottons 95c, use the longest cycle, and let it do its thing. Afterwards, clean out the pin trap on the front (have towels handy!). It's a good idea with ANY front loader to run the hottest cycle at least every couple of months. Because they use so little water, they can accumulate soap scum in the outer drum, so if you have light-coloured towel, chuck 'em in on the hottest cycle occasionally and it will help keep the machine clean at the same time. Hope this helps. Bill.

My honest opinion is a drum of fuel and a match is the only way to fix this machine. Worst investment we have ever made.

Hello I have a Bosch waw28460au which is 15 months old and has only been used by a family of two retired adults. I am having problems with starting the programs small and big washes. On selecting the wash program I add the cloths evenly and no items hanging out machine or in door seal. The machine will not start I remove cloths switch off machine and start again. Still no response. So I remove all cloths and even then with no items in the machine it will not start the wash (once door is close the ||start button is not flashing. Advises over weight. So turn off and come back later. Some times it works later some times not. Other times it will only take TWO normal bath towels to do a 7kg was on Cotton. What is going one.

Diane asked on Apr 01, 2018

Answer this

Hi Diane,
Thanks for the question regarding your Bosch WAW28460AU Washing Machine.
We'd like to help you investigate, so could you please contact us on 1300 369 744 to discuss further.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

I have a sports crazy sweaty kid and a partner that is a tradie so our washing requires cleaning of heavily soiled clothes. Does a Bosch have the ability to properly clean these clothes? If not can you suggest a brand that does. I will not ever buy a Fisher Paykel again, so please don't suggest them. Thank you, Lyn

Lyn asked on Mar 28, 2018

Answer this

Hi Lyn,
Thanks for your question.
Please have a look on our website http://www.bosch-home.com.au of our range of washing machine that has the sportsware and soiled clothes cycle.
If you have any further queries, please don’t hesitate to contact us on 1300 369 744 to discuss further.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Hi - I have the blinking tap indicator come up - this is only recently. Not sure if theres an issue with the tap or the hose? I tested the tap and water comes out fine at high pressure without the hose. Any assistance is greatly appreciated?

dp10 asked on Mar 17, 2018

Answer this

Hi Dp10,
Thanks for your question. We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your Bosch WAW28460AU Washing Machine.
We'd like to help you investigate, so could you please contact us on 1300 369 744 to discuss further.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Hi, I have a Laundry Cupboard which is 700mm deep - I just want to confirm that this is enough to fit this washing machine? I know the dimension says 59cm deep, but does this include door and outlets? Thank you.

Ali O asked on Mar 09, 2018

Answer this

It's probably closer to 65cm deep including outets and the door if it isn't pressed shut.

Hi this is my second Bosch and have been happy BUT I I use the various cycles and all my clothes are coming out so wrinkles and after time my clothes are losing elasticity, this is concerning. My towels are rough and clothes being ruined - why is this happening? Is it the bigger paddle inside?? Please advise how I can fix my problems - also how do I see the weight of each cycle every time I choose my cycle. Thanking you in advance for your reply :)

mazza asked on Mar 05, 2018

Answer this

Hi Mazza,
Thanks for the question regarding your Bosch WAW28460AU Washing Machine.

To solve this problem we would suggest a few things:

1. Reduce the amount of detergent in the wash. Overdosing detergent will also cause hard stiff clothes, not just towels.

2. Make sure you use front loading only liquid/powder.

3. Reduce the spin speed on the cycle to about 700 - 800 as a higher spin will squash the pile on the towel as they hit the drum.

4. When the towels are taken out of the machine, give them a good shake to fluff up the pile again before you put them on the line.

5. Try not to leave the towels in direct sunlight on the line as this can scorch the fibre and make the towels even harder.

6. If you have a Dryer at home, you can try putting them on a low temperature for a few minutes and that should bring them back to life.

These suggestions should improve the quality of the wash for your towels.

If you have any further queries, please feel free to contact us on 1300 369 744 to discuss further.

Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

All of the above but also regarding elasticity, try choosing a cooler washing temperature.

Hello, please can you tell me whats the difference between the WAW28460AU & WAW28790AU also are they made in Germany THanks

Gillian asked on Mar 02, 2018

Answer this

28790 has a feature called Active Oxygen. Once activated as part of the wash cycle it produces a substance that kills 99.99% of germs and bacteria from your clothes. Excellent for baby clothes, shirts, sheets, towels. Activating the feature as part of a wash cycle adds 15mins each side of the normal wash program.
You also have a stand alone Active Oxygen program which refreshes clothes not only killing 99.9% germs and bacteria but also refreshing clothes eliminating most smells and odors.
All achieved at low washin temperatures.
28790 is also a 9kg machine made in Germany.
Hope this helps.

Hi I'm after the times of washes is there a 1 hr or 1 1/2 hr wash or are they all 2 hr plus cycles and does it depend on weight as well

asked on Feb 13, 2018

Answer this

Hi, thanks for your question.
The cottons 20 degrees is 8kg at 2.5hrs
The easy care 40 degrees is 4kg at 2hrs
The mix 40degrees is 4kg at 1.25hrs
You can find the full details in the appliance user manual under 'Consumption rates' page 34.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

When i purchased this machine about a month ago, i noticed that it should the recommended weight of the load for the different washes. I now can't seem to make this show up in the display - is there anything that i would have done to make the load recommendation disappear from the display?

Berniepoos asked on Feb 12, 2018

Answer this

I had this problem too and found it displays the weight with the door open but not when it's closed.

I had this problem too and found it displays the weight with the door open but not when it's closed.

I just took delivery of a Bosch WAW28460AU washing machine. The guys that set it up for me mentioned that there is a missing component for the detergent dispenser. He reckons that there should be a BLUE plastic flap at the back of the detergent dispenser drawer. Can you please enlighten me on this. Thank you so much Eng

simec asked on Feb 07, 2018

Answer this

Hi Simec,
Thanks for your question regarding your Bosch WAW28460AU Washing Machine.
We'd like to help you investigate, so could you please contact us on 1300 369 744 to discuss further.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

How do I use a spin cycle only? I have model WAW28460AU .

Beryl asked on Jan 27, 2018

Answer this

I'm sorry - I haven't yet had to do this so I have no idea. I've just had a quick look and don't see it either. It looks as though you have a rinse/spin option but not spin on its own. Seems weird. Perhaps give Bosch a call? If you find out, please let me know too :-)

I think I worked it out. Choose Rinse/Spin on the dial and then on the panel on the right, press Rinse Plus. You’ll see that there is a dash that disappears. Press it again and it’s back. This must indicate Rinse and its absence means it just Spins. I just tried it out with a couple of dry items and they weren’t wet at the end. So choose Rinse/Spin on the dial, press Rinse Plus on the panel on the right to remove the dash from the display, modify the spin speed if necessary on the right panel and that’s it. :-)

What is the difference between the WAW28460AU and the WAW28441AU please?

Greg M asked on Jan 20, 2018

Answer this

Not sure. One would HV to put their specs side by side to know the difference. They are both priced at the same price.

Not sure just got WAW28460AU and did not like it.

I have a 10 month old Bosch front loader WAW28460AU. Working perfectly until today when I went to press "start" and it seems the control panel is frozen? No noise when I press and will not start. The dial to select the wash cycle is fine. No warning lights are flashing. Child lock not engaged. Door is closing ok. I've switched off at the powerpoint but has not helped. Any ideas?

emmatt asked on Jan 16, 2018

Answer this

Hi Emmatt,
Thanks for your question. We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your Bosch WAW28460AU Washing Machine.
We'd like to help assist you further so can you please contact us on 1300 369 744 to discuss.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

The program lights are all lit up red around the dial and I cannot select a setting. It will not power off by pressing the button. I switched the machine off at the power point and left a bit and turned back on - now when I press the button no lights come on. No fuses are blown and the power point is working. This has happened twice now. What can I do? Machine is 3 months old. Bosch WAW28460AU

Luc asked on Jan 11, 2018

Answer this

Hi Luc - all the lights on my machine are lit up when I turn it on - I then turn the dial itself to the program I want to use - then on the right of the machine I select the water temp etc by touch screen. I've found a couple of times I've been too gentle trying to push the dial button in to turn on/off & need to be a bit firmer. Have you tried contacting BOSCH? Sorry I couldn't be of more assistance! Cheers Kaye.

Sounds like the on/off switch is not working. try pushing a bit harder. either way you will need to call Bosch helpline. Machine is under warranty. Cheers Andy

Thanks for the info. What I meant to sat was that the program lights all lit up red and would not change so was not able to select a program. Pressing the on/off switch had no effect. I left it overnight and was ok the next day but keeping an eye on it.

hi i have a waw28620au washer its stars a cycle but doesn't finish it can you help?

barbs asked on Dec 24, 2017

Answer this

No, I'm sorry, I've never had that happen to mine. You'll have to contact the manufacturer and explain the problem and hopefully they can help you. Make sure you're not accidentally pausing it, though. I did that a couple of times before I realized what was happening.

WAW28460AU I have the above model machine and generally use the "cotton" cycle - why doesn't the fabric softener get used during the wash cycle? Its all still sitting there at the end of the cycle. Thanks Val

David asked on Nov 08, 2017

Answer this

Sorry, can't help. Only use pre-wash and liquid soap, both of which are taken into the wash. . I am sure someone from Bosch will see your question and respond...

Hi,
Thanks for your question regarding your Bosch WAW28460AU Washing Machine.
It sounds like the fabric softener compartment may be blocked, we'd recommend removing and cleaning this as per the instructions in the appliance user manual. This should resolve your issue.
If you have any further queries, please feel free to contact us on 1300 369 744 to discuss further.
Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

I have a Bosch Front Load Washing Machine Model No WAW28460AU and it is showing a key on the display panel which indicates it is locked. The door is open and the selection dial won't change from the cycle it was on before it locked. How do I unlock it please? I have already turned it off and on and that didn't work.

phmPR asked on Oct 31, 2017

Answer this

Hi phmPR, Thanks for your question. We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your Bosch Washing Machine. We'd like to help you investigate, so could you please contact us on 1300 369 744 to discuss further. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

1 of 4 pages