Enviroswim ES3 Questions

8 questions from our users
Hi. I have a salt water pool and I am considering my chemical free pool options. Would I need to drain the pool and refill with fresh water, as from the information provided any salt in the pool will be converted into chlorine, which I want to eliminate. Thanks Violette

Violette asked on Sep 01, 2017

Answer this

Hi Violette, Yes, in order to get the freshwater benefits you will need to dilute the pool. If you can send us your current salt levels or total dissolved solids level (tds) we can better advise. Please email us these directly to info@enviroswim.com or call on 1300888457

Hi Violet you would need to have around 25% of the old water present as part of the process as a small amount of salt is required. You need to test this level once you do the change over to ensure the right balance. They provide test kits etc and it is an easy process. Ours has been a very successful change over with no issues since we converted and the water is balanced perfectly.

Hi Violette,

I basically emptied 2/3rds of my water just before the wet season (in Cairns) and let the rain do the rest.

Personally, the long term benefits (virtually no chloride, cheap to run, less chemicals) makes the original pain worth it.

Cheers
Pete

Hi without giving away trade secrets, can you please specify what levels of silver is in the pool water ( as you have for copper), and other chemical composition, whether oxidation product or whatever. I think it is more than reasonable to know what environment we might be swimming in and potential for toxicity. Reassurance of government funding is not synonymous with "safe" . Impressive bacteria kill rates means that there is toxicity to bugs and therefore potentially humans. We know salt is innocuous in pool water and chlorine,whilst objectionable in many ways, has been around for a long time and therefore its safety record known (for better or worse). Cheers Samson

Samson asked on May 13, 2017

Answer this

Dear Samson,

We believe we have made it clear what we will and won’t discuss on a public platform. Years of research and development has gone into Enviroswim, competitions can do the same and work it out for theirselves.

What we can confirm is that the silver levels are less than than the World Health Organisation and EPA’s non - enforceable recommendation for silver levels in drinking water of 0.01 mg/L for a lifetime exposure to drinking water. Please refer to this link www.wqa.org/Portals/0/Technical/Technical%20Fact%20Sheets/2015_Silver.pdf

Most bathers do not drink copious amounts of pool water but even if they did drink it over their lifetime, there are no known health concerns or limits for residual levels of silver in drinking water.

Traditional copper/silver ionisation systems are well documented. Enviroswim copper and silver residuals are much lower than a common pool ioniser.

It should also be noted that the government funding was used to have the system tested to NSW Health Departments protocol for the introduction of a new sanitiser (adopted by other states) where it proved to be far more effective than chlorine. In addition, similar tests were conducted in the USA for our US customers by NSF International which resulted in certification as a complete sand alone sanitised system. We don’t know of another Australian system or manufacturer who has conducted any efficacy/toxicity tests to provide these customer assurances. There is no requirement for this type of approval other than electrical safety certification. In addition, Enviroswim’s copper/silver electrodes are registered and approved with the government body responsible for the approval of pool chemicals.

If you require more information please contact our office. We have other doctors who are now happy Enviroswim customers.

Thank You

Enviroswim

Hi, Q1 Does the ORP generator produce chlorine as an oxidiser, other oxidisers (if so, what?); or do tests produce a *false reading* for chlorine when using the ORP? NB This is a separate issue to some chlorine inevitably being produced by electrolysis if some NaCl (salt) happens to be in the pool water. Q2 Is the Enviroswim system compatible with fiberglass pools, cartridge vs sand filters Q3 Can Magnesium salts be added if desired and will this produce chlorine? Q4 The safe levels of copper have been discussed, what about silver ions? Q5 what is the comparartive cost to a conventional salt water system? Cheers and many thanks Samson

Samson asked on Apr 23, 2017

Answer this

Hi Samson,

Thank you for your enquiry.

Q1.
A. Unfortunately, we do not reveal or discuss our patented IP, what we can say is that our innovative technology qualified for Federal Government funding to help develop and commercialise the Enviroswim system. In government laboratory testing to NSW Health's Department protocol for the introduction of a new sanitiser, the bacteria kill rate that Enviroswim was able to achieve in thirty seconds took chlorine nearly fifteen minutes to do the same during back to back lab testing.

A good analogy we have used in the past is;

"If a drag car can do a 1/4 mile in 8 seconds you don't have to see under the bonnet to prove that it can do it!"

In regard to chlorine production there is a small amount of chlorine produced due to a low amount of chloride reacting with the electrolysis process of the water, as mentioned on our websites FAQ page.

Q2
A. Yes, Enviroswim is suitable for Fibreglass pools. We supply most of the major fibreglass pool suppliers in Australia. It works with both cartridge and sand filters. We have heard of some customers using Magnesium salts with no reports of problems however these salts were no used during our independent certifications and testing. Magnesium salts will certainly produce chlorine, in fact Magnesium pool systems are 100% chlorine sanitation. The salt level in an Enviroswim pool is so low that whatever salt is used will have minimal effect in the overall efficacy of the sanitiser. A salt chlorinator would not work at the residual salt levels used in the Enviroswim freshwater system.

Q3 The silver levels are well within drinking water standards.

Q4 The comparative costs are discussed on our website. Every pool is different when it comes to operating costs depending on bather load, environmental conditions and surroundings. A quick look at the testimonials page will highlight the overall savings most owners see when changing to Enviroswim.

Thanks Enviroswim

Hi and thanks for the feedback.

I would stress I am not after patented secrets. I am interested as a potential customer. A doctor by background I had to study organic chemistry but spent most of my time playing billiards (organic chemistry is boring ;-) ). Oxidation/ reduction relates to electrons transferred bewteen molecules so presumably this somehow produces an oxidation product that acts as a sanitizer. As a doctor and a potential customer I want to know what I am bathing in, its just that simple. I accept that it kills bugs but that is not the question.

Re silver levels can you specify those levels?

I am guessing the upfront costs are likely more expensive but the longer term savings will compensate. Is that a fair assessment?

Cheers
Samson

Hi I have the same question, for the same reasons. I have a new 60 M³ pool in France and wish to minimise chemicals in the water compatible with rasonable protection. (I am also a Dr. so have some understanding of organic chemistry). Since your system is patented around the world you should be able to answer these basic questions.

Hi There Have the enviroswim system and love swimming in what seems like fresh water with a minimal amount of Chlorine. We are however experiencing black staining on the glass pool Interior jewels for Pools. We have had the water tested and added a few chemicals recommended by our pool contractors but the staining is still there. The water looks and feels fantastic but would be really appreciative if anyone has any ideas or come across a resolution to this issue?

Swarzebear asked on Apr 20, 2017

Answer this

Hi Swarzebear, If you can call us 1300888457 or send a contact number to info@enviroswim.com we would be happy to help. All pools are susceptible to staining and most pool shops stock a selection of stain removers but the first call is to try and identify the stain origin.

Thanks, Will Email the Info@enviroswim email address

Hi, Q1 Re your quote "A chlorine test also tests the redox of the water and an electronic orp metres test the orp (oxygen reduction potential) of the water as we highlight in the manual. ...etc." Are you saying that the ORP generator :does or does not produce chlorine as an oxidiser, some mixture of chlorine and other oxidisers (if so, what?); or that tests produce a *false reading* for chlorine? NB This is a separate issue to some chlorine inadvertently but inevitably being produced by electrolysis if some NaCl (salt) happens to be in the pool water. Q2 Is the Enviroswim system compatible with fiberglass pools, cartridge vs media filters Q3 Can Magnesium salts be added if desired and will this produce chlorine Q4 The safe levels of copper have been given and referenced, what about silver ions? Q5 what is the comparartive cost to a conventional salt water system? Cheers and many thanks Samson

Samson asked on Apr 11, 2017

We are looking to put a pool in during this winter in Sydney. So the question is Enviroswim or Magnapool and why. ??? Tim

Tim asked on Mar 05, 2017

Answer this

Can't speak for Magna Pool, but my Enviroswim pool does what the website says. In colder climates, I believe you can run the pump for less time or on a lower setting due to the algacide being copper, which stays in the pool for a while. This means it may be even cheaper to run down there then up in Cairns.

i had heard the opposite - that enviroswim works better in places like qld where the temperatures are quite constant. does anyone with enviroswim live in Vic?

morss asked on Mar 01, 2017

Hi. I'm in the process researching the enrivoswim system for new pool I'm considering. Like with most things everyone has an opinion. A local pool shop was telling me that this system is "better suited" for the nsw and Victorian climates over the QLD(brisbane). Can anyone confirm or deny?

Marksad asked on Jan 28, 2017

Answer this

I really can't answer that question but I'm in Brisbane and no real problems with my system. Also the company headquarters are in Qld at Nerang so ???

Thanks Noel. Could I give you a call to discuss your system? Thanks Adrian

Hi Mark,

Contrary to what the pool shop told you, the Enviroswim system copes better than chlorine in hotter climates. Unlike chlorine, which is a gas that escapes to the atmosphere faster, the hotter the conditions, the ions used in the Enviroswim do not evaporate and are not effected by heat.

Enviroswim's pilot testing was conducted in Arizona where ambient temperatures commonly reach the mid 40's C and had no trouble coping with the hot conditions. Enviroswim is sold and operating in far warmer places than Brisbane example Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia, ....and locally FNQ and Darwin.

Some pool shops are not up to speed on Enviroswim and believe it is a pool ioniser rather than a complete patented stand alone sanitising system. Keep in mind that Pool shops derive an income from selling chemicals, Enviroswim derives an income by minimising chemicals.