HAAN Multi Purpose Floor Steamer SI-A70 Questions

Haan offered a free gift to their customers on or about February 2014 to encourage them to write a review. It is possible that reviews during the term of that offer were written by customers who received such a reward.

43 questions from our users
My unit will not turn on. I only have a red light. This is a new unit. I have used different plug-ins and other products work in them. Any suggestions. I got this as a gift and unfortunately no recept.

Bandit asked on Nov 14, 2017

My water tank broke while attached to the handheld mop, and the cap is stuck in it with the broken bottle neck. I have already purchased a new water tank, but have been unsuccessful removing the cap from the mop. Is there any way that I could remove the cap and start using my mop again?? I had just started to like the steam mop and then this happens!! Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Saki asked on Oct 27, 2017

Answer this

I can't answer definitively however a few times it has been tough to pull my tank free. This maybe caused by calcium build up causing high pressure and heat between the rubber suction of the cap contact. Maybe push down and use a solvent.. C-L-R or WD40 good luck. Descale ur mop.

PLEASE HELP! Can anyone tell me which steam mop Choice named as the best pretty please? I can afford a subscription and can't afford to have to buy another mop if the one I pick is crap. I'm a single mum and had save like mad to be able to get one. I'm thinking the haan?

Koda asked on Jul 31, 2017

Answer this

Haan is good, though heavy and wieldy. I can't remember what the Choice number one pick was, but the number 2 was the Kmart steam mop at about $45. I have got one of these and it is better than the Haan or the Wertheim. There are good write-ups on this on product review. Good luck.

Wow really? Thanks so much suzley!

Where do you purchase this from?

Lam asked on Jun 17, 2017

Answer this

Can't be exact. Bought it online.

Hi. You can order online - www.haanaustralia.com.au

Is this appliance able to stand or does it have to be propped up against a wall etc?

suegar asked on May 29, 2017

Answer this

From what I recall, it is not freestanding, but has to lean up against something.

Thank you for your prompt response. I would find that annoying.

It can stand on its own with the large pad holder in place although it leans forward very slightly and I would be concerned on the pressure on the pad holder plate if it was standing all the time so I lean it against the wall.

Thank you Robk. It doesn't seem too much of an inconvenience to not have it freestanding. I appreciate your feedback.

What steam mop is good for cleaning grout and using on rough tiles thanks

Rosey asked on Feb 01, 2017

Answer this

HI Rosey
I would not be able to answer that question for you as I myself have not come across a good cleaning steam mop for grout..
You may look into commercial mops for rough tiles.
Cheers and good luck..!!

Hi Rosey I subscribe to CHOICE magazine and while they review them they also say none clean the grout. Personally I buy Long Life grout cleaner from Bunnings, a long handled type toothbrush and spray it on leave for a minute and wash off. It works a dream, even tho labor intensive. It is usually just in kitchen area. I have a friend who has an electric scrubber but again it is not crash hot on the grout. Hope this helps.

Anyone cleaning the shower with the hand held unit, do you suggest that the extended nozzle is required?

Julie49 asked on Dec 30, 2016

Answer this

I have throught about this, but have not done it

Like the last writer, I have not done it neither. However, I did use it to clean our glass dining table and buffet table, the result were perfect!

Can this unit be used on carpet and if so how good are the results?

Tammy Edwards asked on Nov 06, 2016

Answer this

Yes it can be used on carpets. It does refresh the carpet/rug but it does not remove stains of any sort.

It sanitizes with a glider attachment, but doesn't clean

Which of these mops would be best to clean grout?

Ruth Grant asked on Nov 14, 2015

Answer this

I am not sure as I have only used the mop on a newly laid kitchen/family room tiled floor. But it does leave it clean and not streaky.

I don't know what other mop you are asking about, all I can say is I am extremely happy with my Haan as it gets into every corner with it's rotating head and does keep your grout looking new, if the grout is a bit off as mine was before I purchased my Haan, clean it first with plain cheap white vinegar and tooth brush (well worth the effort), since then my Haan has kept the grout lovely and clean, you must also take a bit of care yourself as these mops are domestic and not professional, if you get a bit of a grubby spot you just leave the steam there a bit longer, I did a lot of research before I bought mine, looking at all steam mops, I chose Haan and glad I did because it really works have had mine for over 2 years and still does the job beautifully, and Haan really looks after there customers, hope this answers your question.

I would like to know if this steam mop is suitable for high gloss porcelain tiles? I have a large area and anything I try is yet to leave a clean and shiny surface!

Julie Durazza asked on Sep 08, 2015

Answer this

I am using it on a very large area as well. We went for lower gloss tiles but it does not leave steaks on the high gloss porcelain we have in the entrance..

DON'T BUY A WERTHEIM!!! About five years ago I bought three Wertheim SM1000 steam mops from Godfreys at Northlakes. I got one for myself, one for my daughter and one for my son. None of us has used the mops on many occasions because they are inefficient, cumbersome to use and don't even produce much steam, always leaving us with a very wet floor. My daughter was so frustrated with the poor performance of her mop that she threw it in the rubbish bin. My son uses his occasionally and says it still produces some steam, I have just attempted to mop my vinyl floors with my mop and the best I can get is a luke warm cleaning pad with no hope of heating up to steam temperature! I ended up with a water logged floor which I had to clean up with a normal Woolworths type foam pad mop. So, my Wertheim SM1000 still looks brand new but certainly does not or never has performed as new. I find that this product is a total waste of money

DON'T BUY A WERTHEIM!!! About five years ago I bought three Wertheim SM1000 steam mops from Godfreys at Northlakes. I got one for myself, one for my daughter and one for my son. None of us has used the mops on many occasions because they are inefficient, cumbersome to use and don't even produce much steam, always leaving us with a very wet floor. My daughter was so frustrated with the poor performance of her mop that she threw it in the rubbish bin. My son uses his occasionally and says it still produces some steam, I have just attempted to mop my vinyl floors with my mop and the best I can get is a luke warm cleaning pad with no hope of heating up to steam temperature! I ended up with a water logged floor which I had to clean up with a normal Woolworths type foam pad mop. So, my Wertheim SM1000 still looks brand new but certainly does not or never has performed as new. I find that this product is a total waste of money

Hi! Just wondering if the power cord has to be attached while using or is it rechargeable and can be used cord free? If can go cordless, how long does it take to be fully recharged and how long can it work for before battery runs out? Thanks!

Bei Li asked on Sep 08, 2015

Answer this

The model I purchased has the cord attached. But it is a long cord that winds up nicely.

Looking for a steam mop that has pads with long fibres to reach into the deep grouted tiles I have in my house. I'm currently using a vax steam mop and it's fine cleaning flat surfaces but the pads just don;t reach deep enough and leave the grouted areas still dirty. Any suggestions? please.

krem8tor asked on Jun 03, 2015

Answer this

Hi....The Haan has a normal flat microfibre pad, so not sure if it will be suitable for your 'deep grouted tiles'. It does have the steam nozzle though that may help with the grout. Maybe check out their website to see if the nozzle might be what you are looking for. Cheers Tam

I've had my mop for just a little over two years and today it just didn't want to work for me. It is very well looked after but today the steam just fizzled out to eventually nothing. I ran the provided cleaner through it and left it to steam out. (Very little was coming out). When I came back I discovered no steam was coming from it at all. I un-clicked the handheld attachment to discover that it was extremely hot, it took more than 10 mins to cool down. I'm just wondering if anyone else has had an issue with their mop? Is it the water pump not working properly? Is there a way to fix this rather than replacing the whole mop? I use filtered water and am sure it's not a calcium build up. Cheers Ena.

Ena asked on Apr 08, 2015

Answer this

We haven't had ours long enough to encounter a problem such as this. We do, however, use filtered water, as we do in our kettle and coffee machine. We do not experience scaling in either of those.

Thanks Biffo. I too use filtered water.

I had that same problem. Unit was broken. Sent it for repair and got a new one, after many many weeks and a complaint. Happy in the end.

Well it turned out that my motor was damaged somehow. I contacted Haan customer service about it and they were really fantastic. They provided me with a postage paid label to return just the handheld part of the unit. They assessed it and informed me that they could not fix it and recommended buying a new handheld part only. At the same time they asked if I would be willing to accept a used demo handheld which was in perfect working order. So I did and it arrived within a few days. They were excellent with their correspondence and they really did surprise me with the replacement of my handheld unit.

Hi I'm currently researching steam mops.i need it mostly to clean my terracotta tiles ,especially the grout,can anyone advise me on its performance,I also want to use it in my showers? Thankyou Elaine

Elaine asked on Oct 31, 2014

Answer this

Hi I've only had my steam mop a short time but i am delighted with the job it does on my tiles. As long as the tiles aren't those very rough non slip type I think you will be pleased. The item came as it said in the catalogue, was easy to put together and the two pads are easy to clean by hand. I just put them in the spin cycle of my washing machine and they dry quickly. Good luck

Hi, I'm thinking of buying and just wandering if the extended flexible nozzle is useful at all? Thanks, Eva

devadanu asked on Sep 08, 2014

Answer this

Hi Eva,
I have found that the flexible hose is an absolute "Must Have" as it offers the flexibility to do a whole lot more jobs around the house, easily and efficiently such as, Cleaning windows, Steaming clothes while still hanging in the closet (not having to remove them from their hangers). The reason for this is because you can work above head hight without having to invert the machine (hold it upside down) which makes it work less efficiently. It also greatly reduces the water surge (spitting) when the steam first starts coming through the hose as the heavier water droplets fall to the bottom of the U bend in the flexible pipe. The detachable flexible hose and additional smaller head (included in the SI-A70 Kit is one of the big selling points for me, for the reasons I have mentioned above.
I hope this helps answer your question and gives you the confidence to go forward?

Hi Eva
thanks for the question
alas we did not order the flexible hose with the order but like warwick i think it would be a valuable extra and we will be ordering it at a later stage
as warwick pointed out the detachable head is a great option
My wife has used it for cleaning grouting in the kitchen area with the bristle brush
eva you will not be dissapointed with the SI-A70
we are fussy buyers
good luck
cheers
max

Can I use the HAAN SI-A70 for steam cleaning heavy, flat roman blinds. if not can you recommend a suitable steam cleaner? Darryl

Darryl Allingham asked on Jul 09, 2014

Answer this

Sorry I have not used it for cleaning blinds, I have only used for quarry tiles, bathroom tiles and glass and carpets and it works great! The next thing I am going to use it on is a wool upholstery lounge. Maybe its worth a try on the blinds. Good luck!

I have only used the mop on tiles and mirrors / shower screen and was very happy with the results. Sorry I can't help with your query. I didn't purchase it for carpets or upholstery. Hope someone can help you :)

Does it use tap water?

Mardi asked on Apr 18, 2014

Answer this

Yes. It is the best steam cleaner you can buy

I only use tap water and its ok.

Can this be brought anywhere else but on line?

life asked on Apr 10, 2014

Answer this

Hi, if you living in QLD or VIC, please visit to Kleanking stores below
(34 Compton Road, Woodridge QLD 4114 Tel: 07 3208 1333 / 1/46 Smith Street, Southport QLD 4215 Tel: 07 5532 2342 / Unit A1/2A Westall Road, Clayton VIC 3168 Tel: 03 9543 6021).
Otherwise, it is available from online only.

I didn't check. On line was easy and delivery time was very short. Its a great product.

Thank you for your quick responses to my question I thank everyone very much. I will have to check how far Southport is from Cairns. The only reason I'm not to keen on buying on-line is if anything goes wrong with the steamer is it would have to be sent away to get fixed & that would also add to the cost.

Does it clean vinyl??

penny asked on Jan 08, 2014

Answer this

Hi Penny, yes it will clean all floor surfaces. We are extremely happy with ours.

Hi Penny, I do not have vinyl, but it cleans my tiles very well. I assume it would be good for most floor surfaces.

Is the heat setting adjustable on the mop?

CocoDee asked on Nov 12, 2013

Answer this

The heat setting is not adjustable.

No. Its either steam or its water.

1 of 3 pages