Hotondo Homes Questions

75 questions from our users
Hi. Has anyone built with Hotondo Homes Sunshine Coast? Any feedback would be appreciated, good or bad. Thanks BJH

BJH asked on Jan 10, 2018

Answer this

Hi BJH,
We built with Hotondo Homes Sunshine Coast (Matira Dev.) in 2017. I am about to post a full-review so watch this space!

Hi BJH
We have just moved into our new home that was built with Hotondo... I cannot say a bad word about them! We made the move from Sydney to Sunshine Coast & Alyssa & the team at Hotondo made the whole experience very easy! For such a huge move & also building a new home we didn’t feel any stress at all, they helped us make decisions with ease & were always quick to answer any questions we had...
Now that we have moved in we are also very happy with the finished product & love our new home!
It was also a very quick build which helped us get here before Xmas & settle in

Hi BJH
We are currently completing our build with Hotondo Homes (Matira Developments). We are extremely pleased with our choice of builder. The entire process from design to build has been seamless. Alyssa is very knowledgable and consistently goes over and above. We are interstate also and Alyssa has always kept us updated. The quality of the workmanship and fittings is excellent. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them, and will definitely be building with them in the future.

Has anyone built with Hotondo Homes Melton ( Darvale Homes Pty Ltd)? Please share your experiences.

Hafiz asked on Oct 17, 2017

Answer this

I built with Darvale Homes (Hotondo) 3 years ago.
The process was one of the easiest to go through. Darren and Vesna run the business flawlessly. From the initial consultation with Darren, he stepped us through all aspects of the build and also linked us to a mortgage broker. The build itself was extremely smooth with only 1 minor issue that was corrected early on. Darren ensured that all the products used were of a very high standard and overall, we were ecstatic with the result. During the build at frame stage, I requested a change, which was readily accepted and I was able to add my own details as applicable with no issue from Darren. Any and all communication initiated by me was promptly answered to my satisfaction.

I then returned to Darvale 5 months ago to have an addition/modification completed as their quote came under an initial quote from another company. Once again, Darren excelled in delivering a fabulous product.

I have recommended Darvale to a number of colleagues and friends, and will continue to do so. I don't intend on moving any time soon, but if I was, I would definitely be choosing Darvale to build with again. And again!

I moved in to my new Hotondo home built by Darvale Homes in July 2017 ( 3 months ago) I have included my initial review completed after handover. Since moving in I have no reason to change my anything in the review but would like to add that the "after sales service" is also excellent. I did not put an Exhaust Fan in the Butlers Pantry, first time I burnt the toast off goes the smoke detector. Contacted Rob who put me in touch with the Electrician who wired the house, job complete and matched to the existing exhaust fans in the house.


I have never written a review before but believe poor service should be condemned, good service expected and excellent service praised.
The people at Darvale Homes may believe they are in the house building business but in reality, they are in the customer service business and in this instance the service has been second to none.,
I have just moved into my new Hotondo home built by Darvale Homes Melton and the journey through the process from pre contract negotiation to completion has been great.
Anna Maria who understood what I was looking for, found a plan to suit my needs and the block of land to suit the plan. She then put up with me as I altered bits and pieces here and there, offering her suggestions along the way, many thanks Anna Maria.
Darren who is straight up and easy to work with, offering professional advice along the way on many things and going beyond the call of duty to in helping to sort out items I had not considered at contract stage. But most remembered fort the following (Ron if you mix this you will not like the result, referring to my initial plan for the butler’s pantry and he was right the finished product is excellent)
Vesna, quietly in the background, getting progress payments squared away and always willing to take a call when others were not available.
Then these was Rob, Rob the building Supervisor, always willing to take my calls, meet me on site, explain the progress or answer my concerns (I resided 1.2 k from the construction site so was on site just about every week.)
Rob picked up on things I did not see, explained them and had them rectified, I would not like to be the Tradie who tried to short change Rob. How good was Rob, on day of handover at 5pm he would not sign off until the muddy footprints had been cleaned off the driveway so went and got a pressure washer and at 6pm was cleaning my driveway. Thank You Rob!!

Hey Fon,

Really appreciate your time in writing some details.

I have made up mind to go with them. See I go with them and will share my experience later.

Hafiz

Hi Hafiz. Did you end up going with Hotondo Melton? If yes then how was your experience? Thanks, Sam

Hi Sam,

I have signed up an initial contract and we are at the early stage. Construction has not started yet, and doing design, soil test etc. However, my experience with Hotondo Homes Melton (Darevale Homes Pty Ltd) is going okay. Annamaria is well communicative person, hears from me, tries to understand what am after and goes quickly bottom of it, while Darren oversees the whole. I would write another review after completion of construction and share more about my experience.

Thanks
Hafiz

Hi what's the lowest price house you can offer in blue mountains area ie how much to build basic house ?

Fiona J asked on Oct 12, 2017

Answer this

Hi Fiona,
Thanks for getting in contact with us. Because we are a national building franchise you will need to speak to the local builder directly. You can contact Colin Duncan and his team by visiting http://hotondo.com.au/home-builders/penrith-lithgow-blue-mountains/
Thanks - Rose

Hi Could u answer me this is it NORMAL to reach end of contract and still haven't reached lock up stage ???? Is it normal to take 290 days and end of a contract yet lock up stage is still not complete ???? With very poor communication and still haven't received the answers we need and contract expires in a weeks time and builder still hasn't completed lock up stage is this normal hotondo ?????? Do all your builds turn out like this ???? Which now has caused financial hardship and stress on a family Is that normal hotondo answers needed !???? Hotondo

Schaff asked on Sep 09, 2017

Answer this

Hi Schaff,
We take this feedback very seriously and would like to know more information regarding your build. Could you please contact our Customer Care team by emailing customercare@hotondo.com.au or by calling 1800 677 156. They will be able to assist you further.
Thanks - Rose

Has anyone built with Hotondo in Sydney Hills area(baulkham hills and castle hill)? Can you please share your experiences? Thanks

Sam asked on Aug 15, 2017

Has anyone built with Hotondo in Port Macquarie? I could not find any reviews for this area. It is so difficult to judge without any previous feedback. Since it is a franchise system, i believe the experience would be different for every area, depending upon the local builder. I will certainly post my detailed review if i go with them but if anyone has had any experience with them in Port Macquarie, please share.

amby asked on Aug 07, 2017

Answer this

Yes we have built with Hotondo in Port Macquarie and found them outstanding. What can be a very stressful experience was made easy. We had absolutely no issues at all in the build. Fiona and Andrew were great to work with. They were on top of everything from day 1. They communicated thoroughly with us at every step. The contractors were excellent. Very polite, on schedule and great standard. We are more than happy to recommend Hotondo Port Macquarie to anyone. In fact our experience was so positive our son is building a new home with them.
Peter and Julie Jones

Looking at buying house and land package with hotondo homes mid north coast. For a standard 4 bedroom 2 bath house off the plan, does anyone have any idea the time frame we are looking at for the build? 6months?

Brodie L asked on Jul 24, 2017

Answer this

Sorry, I can't help with this one as we built a duplex and had outside hold ups. So can't really give a proper time frame

Hi Brodie L,
Thanks for getting in contact with Hotondo Homes. It is best to speak to your local builder regarding their house and land packages. They will be able to answer any questions you may have. You can find them by visiting hotondo.com.au
Kind regards,
Hotondo Homes

Hi Beth and Brodie
I think Beth has built with Hotondo South Coast not Mid North coast (Port Macquarie)
Please see another link to a review for Hotondo Port Macquarie
https://www.productreview.com.au/p/hotondo-homes/3.html

Hi wishing to built a home with Hotondo homes in Melton just wondering if anyone else has built in this area recently and can give any advice thank you.

Barbara asked on Jul 01, 2017

Answer this

Hi we built our first two storey house with Darren and his team and we are very happy with the final outcome. He's very responsive and reasonable during the planning stage. He brought in Rob as a new supervisor towards the end of the project and that made a significant difference and left a good impression and high note from us. We been living in the house for more than 10 months and the post turnover support and experience is great. Rob is very switch on and responsive with the minor issues we pick-up and further clarification or advise we need. We started looking at big builders initially but later pulled out. We have couple of friends who build with big known builders in the same area and almost the same time if we compare the value and final outcome of our project to theirs, we can only look back and grateful with our final decision to build with Darvale (Hotondo). It was not all smooth and there were issues at the earlier stage of the construction mainly some delays but Darren is mature and open to hear my displeasure with the progress and he demonstrated his commitment to make up on some of the delays by working on some weekends. Overall we are happy with our experienced and final outcome. Cheers Albert

Has anyone built with Hotondo in Mirador Merimbula? Can you please share your experiences. Thanks

Tenant asked on Jun 27, 2017

Answer this

We built in Tura Beach with Hotondo in 2016. Looked at opposition but very happy that we went with Hotondo. Build started within a week of getting council approval and finished about 5 months later. Mark and Paul could not have been more helpful before, during and after! We were granted access to site for pool installation, landscaping quotes etc. during the build which we know isn't common. Quality of work is very good. Local tradesman used which makes it even better. Karen and Ash at Mirador office also made the whole process easy. We would highly recommend Mirador Hontondo to anyone.
Comment that stuck from Mark - We are building a home for you not a house for us!

We are currently building with Hotondo from Mirador.
This is a first time for us so the idea at first was daunting to say the least but the guys at Hotondo have been brilliant, Karen & Ash were bombarded with questions constantly & always replied with assurance. Mark & Paul have also been great to work along side of and I say this because this is how it is
From the get go you are included, updated every step of the way.
The build started straight away once council approved.
Local trades & businesses are used.
I would recommend Hotondo from Mirodor to anyone wanting to build.
We can't wait for the next few weeks to go by.

My Husband & I built our first home with Hotondo Homes in 2015, it was such a smooth, hassle free process. I would recommend anyone looking to build in the bega valley area, contact Hotondo Homes Sapphire coast. The team at merimbula are phenomenal & are always going out of their way to assist you in any way possible. They are a one stop shop, you wont be disappointed!

We recently finished building our custom design home with the Hotondo team; 2 weeks ago. The team is very professional and provide the best service,advice and quality finishes; we would build again with the Hotondo team tomorrow ; they make the building process a pleasure and stress free.

We built our family home with hotondo homes mirador in 2016/17. Every process was simple and easy. From the council da through to the certificate of occupancy they dealt with council. Yay. We absolutely love our family home. So great to have had such professional and dedicated people to build our forever home.
Thank you Tony, Karen & Ash. (Sorry about my thousands of questions.)

.

Please advise % break down for Progress Payment Schedule, I have a building wanting 50% up to Frame,when my understanding it should only be 35% ? Is this a front heavy contract and how do we negotiate to get it correct as the banks wont approve the building ?????

shan mcnamara asked on May 19, 2017

Answer this

Hi Shan,
Thanks for getting in contact with Hotondo Homes. Builders have the ability to change the progress payments dependent on the schedule and contracts they are using. It is best to discuss this with your builder if the banks will not provide approval.
Thanks - Rose

The builder will not budge is it fair to ask for 1/2 the money when only 35% will be completed by Frame ?

Hi there,

I recently just built with Hotondo Homes and the contract progress payments were as follows:

Deposit on signing contract - 5%
Bulk excavation - 10%
Concrete slab and footings - 10%
Frames and trusses - 15%
Brickwork complete and roof installed - 20%
Plasterboard complete - 15%
Lock up and fix out complete - 10%
Painting and tiling complete - 10%
Practical completion - 5%

I hope this helps.

Cheers, Gray

Hi Shan,
Have you enquired with a Hotondo Homes builder? If so, which one?
Thanks - Rose

Hello, We are thinking about building and have a few questions, i understand your a franchise however - What areas do you have a franchise/build in? - how many single storey designs do you build? - how many double storey designs do you build? - do you let us customise the design? - when I get the quote from your consultant, are site costs such as rock fixed? or can things change at contract - How long is your structural guarantee? - do you offer a guaranteed site start/finish? We may have to relocate soon, what areas of Australia do you build in? - What is the initial deposit to start building? Thanks very much!!

James asked on May 17, 2017

Answer this

Hi James,
Thanks for reaching out to us. I'll be able to answer some of your questions but others you'll need to contact your local builder directly. We have a number of builders located across QLD, NSW, VIC, ACT, TAS and SA. You can visit our website www.hotondo.com.au to find the closest one to where you're looking to build. Alternatively, I'd be happy to direct you to them if you're happy to let me know where you're planning to relocate to. We have over 90 floor plans in both single and double storey across three home ranges which you can see at our website. All floor plans are flexible and can be tailored to suit your needs, your builder will be happy to work with you on this. As per the HIA, structural guarantee is seven years. In regards to the quotes, fixed costs and guaranteed site start and finish you will need to contact your local builder as this may vary from franchise to franchise.
I hope I've helped answer a few of your questions!
Thanks - Rose

Do not deal with this franchise. While the good reports are good, the bad ones are really bad. Our experience is still ongoing so have not written about it...yet. They accept little/no responsibility for wayward builders (see platitudes offered in the reviews) enabled by the separation between themselves and the builder by this type of business model. As they say in business, 'the fish rots from the head'. They are all about strategy and sales, sales and more sales, with too little attention afforded operations by way of best practice in relation to communications, processes and procedures (which would mitigate much of the issues raised by those poor souls above). Sadly, our experience has been similar to these. The builder has behaved unprofessionally, is disorganised and dishonest (e.g. refusing to disclose their margin/mark-up, not providing invoices when requested where items exceeded base price, blaming delays on others, the weather and even us! e.g.delay of kitchen install blamed on the weather! go figure? along with many other 'tricks' and 'concealments' aimed at shifting costs or increasing their margin (thank heavens for the internet in providing the information needed to alert us to these deceits!). Mistakes were made due to the builder working beyond their capacity in the presence of poor process and limited skills in project management. We are not done yet and our experience pales next to those above. However, even as we near completion, what I find completely unacceptable is the reckless disregard for the truth and the fact that the builder seems to have forgotten that it is someone else's money and well-being that they are messing with.This alone is why I would say stay clear from this franchise and it franchis-ies who conspire in culture of concealment and deceit to procure a profit. The building industry is a crowded place with plenty of players. Take the advice of one of those poor people above. Shop around for a company knows how to make a profit and do so honestly.

Do not deal with this franchise. While the good reports are good, the bad ones are really bad. Our experience is still ongoing so have not written about it...yet. They accept little/no responsibility for wayward builders (see platitudes offered in the reviews) enabled by the separation between themselves and the builder by this type of business model. As they say in business, 'the fish rots from the head'. They are all about strategy and sales, sales and more sales, with too little attention afforded operations by way of best practice in relation to communications, processes and procedures (which would mitigate much of the issues raised by those poor souls above). Sadly, our experience has been similar to these. The builder has behaved unprofessionally, is disorganised and dishonest (e.g. refusing to disclose their margin/mark-up, not providing invoices when requested where items exceeded base price, blaming delays on others, the weather and even us! e.g.delay of kitchen install blamed on the weather! go figure? along with many other 'tricks' and 'concealments' aimed at shifting costs or increasing their margin (thank heavens for the internet in providing the information needed to alert us to these deceits!). Mistakes were made due to the builder working beyond their capacity in the presence of poor process and limited skills in project management. We are not done yet and our experience pales next to those above. However, even as we near completion, what I find completely unacceptable is the reckless disregard for the truth and the fact that the builder seems to have forgotten that it is someone else's money and well-being that they are messing with.This alone is why I would say stay clear from this franchise and it franchis-ies who conspire in culture of concealment and deceit to procure a profit. The building industry is a crowded place with plenty of players. Take the advice of one of those poor people above. Shop around for a company knows how to make a profit and does so honestly.

Carole34 makes some very important and salient points. We were misled initially which led to us being left vulnerable to exploitation by the manner in which the Hotondo South Morang Franchise dealt with us going back to our initial call and much that followed. We were lucky, we got out without sustaining too much loss and ended up elsewhere (thank goodness). Don't believe much of what you hear about estimated costs prior to demolishing your Home. If its wrong (and in our case out by about 35%) they will move the staff member you are dealing with on and then blame them for everything that happens thereafter (which won't help you much by then with an empty block and not too many options).

Has anyone built with Hotondo Belmont? How was the experience and the result?

adiarora asked on May 09, 2017

Has anyone built with Hotondo Kempsey?

VICKI asked on Apr 27, 2017

Answer this

We have started to proceed with our own design and whilst things were going ok the initial price based on square m2 increased buy approx $100,000 . Seems like a bit of a suck in to get us to start the process and spend some money. Luckily enough its $1600 for geotechnical reports which are ours to keep anyway and $3000 for initial plans. Getting in contact with them though after christmas has been really bad and they are very slow to even reply to an email.
Not really sure now whether to continue or find another builder.
Hope this helps

Hi what is your starting price for a double storey house with 5 beds (2 on ground level) 4 baths 2 car park on 396 sqm land? Full brick house.

DJJ asked on Apr 21, 2017

Answer this

Hi DJJ,
As we are a national building franchise our prices vary depending on the area you're looking to build in. It is best to speak with your local Hotondo Homes builder who will be more than happy to help. What area were you looking to build in? Alternatively you can visit http://hotondo.com.au/home-builders/
Kind regards,
Hotondo Homes

Has anyone built with Hotondo Lilydale, Vic? Would like to know what has been the experience and level of satisfaction, overall service and perception of quality in workmanship.

Fab asked on Mar 17, 2017

Answer this

My fiance and I built with Hotondo Homes Lilydale and they were fabulous!! They even still answer any questions I have now (and we moved in 7 months ago). There was always someone to answer any questions we may have had and nothing was a silly question to them. Organising to go in and meet with them was easy and they worked around us as much as they could as I worked about an hour away from the office. Planning meetings, colour selection, house selection, amending the plans - nothing was a problem. The team there is wonderful down to earth people and we felt comfortable with them straight away. They were upfront about costs and worked with us to keep our budget on track. We were kept informed through the whole process and even finished early!! We love our Hotondo built home and if we were had our time over we would choose Hotondo Homes Lilydale every day of the week. Their workmanship and quality is a very high level also and we are VERY happy! In our subdivision of 8 blocks of land 3 of the homes are built by hotondo lilydale! As well as that our neighbours did not have any complaints while our house was getting built and they are very respectful of their surroundings. If you are looking at building please do yourself a favour and go and speak to the team at Hotondo Homes Lilydale. Brad, Janet and the team are fantastic and will help you every step of the way. You will not be disappointed!! Hope this helps! :)

Thank you very much for your response to this. It is comforting to read such a positive review and appreciate rapid response. Regards

Has any body built with hondo homes or Clara don't batemans bay area? melanie

Mel c asked on Feb 27, 2017

Answer this

Remember if you build with Hotondo you are building with an independent builder - Hotondo take no responsibility for any problems you may have and will tell you to take your problems to the Master Builders assn or legal avenues. You may be better off with a company that takes responsibility for its builders work.

Has anyone built with Hotondo Box hill? Thank you.

Martin asked on Feb 21, 2017

Answer this

Hi Martin,
We have two builders who operate in the Box Hill area. Do you know the name of the builder you've enquired with?
Kind regards,
Hotondo Homes

Has anyone built with Hotondo in the Illawarra region? The local build is Brian Roby and I can't seem to find any feedback. Would anyone be willing to share what their experience was like? Any major issues? Thanks in advance!

Julie asked on Feb 18, 2017

Answer this

Just remember the builder is a Hotondo franchisee - as such Hotondo do not warrant any of his work and will not step in to help if you have problems - you are on your own! We built with Hotondo in Victoria and when problems occurred were told by Hotondo they could do nothing to help - we were advised to take the normal channels you would against an individual builder (master builders association, VCAT, legal avenues). I would nowadays use a major builder that has control over its workers and actually oversees the work.

We are currently building a dual occupancy in stages with Brian Roby. The first house is being clad and roof fitted and we expect occupation by winter. We have had no problems with Brian Roby and found him meticulous in his attention to detail and his sub-contractors have all been very pleasant and do a great job. We would be happy to recommend him.

Yes. 3 words. Don't do it.
We're building now. Huge regrets. Have built with other cos before now. Would never use this franchise again.
Happy to share the disappointing and costly details, if yr interested.

Hey, can you share more about your experience. I m planning to build in Melton South, VIC 3338.

Where was your one? Give me some details.

Has anyone built with Hotondo Central Coast NSW- Toukley?

CCrider asked on Feb 09, 2017

Answer this

We have built a Kirkby267 in Wadalba which we are about to move into.From land settlement late september John and Lindsay Clarke have been amazing,recomended a fantastic broker did the colours and materials in their office and then all we have had to do is sign papers and answer yes or no,and watch it rise up from the ground.We would recommend John,Lindsay and the Hatondo team to anyone who wants a top build and a pain free ride to the final product.very happy customers,Harold,Cherie and Samantha Toia.

Thanks so much for your prompt reply. Did you have a lot of amendments to the original design? If so, how was that whole process?

Has anyone built with Hotondo Maitland ?

Ree asked on Feb 08, 2017

Answer this

Wouldn't recommend the port Stephens franchise. Cant speak for the maitland franchise but port stephens have a display home at homeworld thornton. Highly recommended to stay away. Nothing but issues and poor quality.

1 of 4 pages