Hotondo Homes Questions

86 questions from our users
Hi, I understand that each Hotondo builder is different, but I was just wanting to get an idea of how Hotondo house and land packages are usually paid for? Because it is a house and land package, is it an initial deposit, and then a lump payment once construction is finished, or is it like a regular construction with progress payments? Thanks

SeanM asked on Jul 09, 2018

Answer this

Hi Sean,
Thanks for getting in contact with us. When purchasing a house and land package the transaction consists of two contracts, one for the purchase of the land and another for the construction of the home. The land contract would be prepared by the land developer or land sales agent, the home construction contract would be provided by your perspective builder. A deposit is payable to hold the land which would require a lump sum payment to secure. Following this, you would need to pay a deposit to the builder and a building contract would be prepared. If you proceed with the contract a further payment is required and then regular progress would begin.
I hope that helps!
Kind regards,
Rose

Why doesn’t Hotondo itemise tenders? Why would you pay hundreds of thousands of dollars to a building company & not know what your paying for? Very weird as our previous builders gave us the costs to most of the build.

Leigh asked on Jun 23, 2018

Answer this

Hi Leigh,
Thanks for getting in contact with us. We'd like to hear a little more about this so we can assist. Could you please get in contact with our Customer Care team by emailing customercare@hotondo.com.au?
Thanks,
Rose

Hi Rose, I've sent an email through to customer care & have had no response.

Hi. My mother wants to build a big single story house (around 400-500 sqm) which has a parent retreat with kitchenette. Would you do a custom design/building? Cheers, Boram.

PLM asked on Jun 20, 2018

Answer this

Hi PLM,
It's best to discuss this with your local Hotondo Homes builder, I'm sure they would be able to assist. Where are you looking to build?
Cheers,
Rose

Hi Guys , Has anyone built with Hotondo in Warragul Vic 3820? Can you please share your experiences? Thanks

Vajira asked on Jun 09, 2018

We supplied our own soil reports and survey, Hotondo gave us a credit of less than a thousand dollars. Now considering those two things cost way more than $1000 for us to have done, this feels to me like a rip off on their part. I would like to know who is doing their soil and surveys for less than $1000 and has anyone ever had this and questioned them. Just wanting to see if this has happened to anyone else and could possibly explain the credit to us before we get back to Hotondo?

Sunshine25 asked on May 29, 2018

Answer this

Hi Sunshine25,
Thanks for getting in contact with us. We have a national partnership with an engineering company who complete a range of work including the soil investigation and feature surveys. This partnership enables us to have reduced rates compared to what the general public or other small builders would receive. This is why the credit will be less than what you would have paid with your own company. I hope this has clarified things a little more, however if you would like to discuss this further you can contact our customer care team by email customercare@hotondo.com.au.
Kind regards,
Rose

I'm considering building a house with the Hotondo team in Canberra, however there do not appear to be any reviews. Is anyone able to provide any information or relay their experiences with Hotondo Canberra? Thanks.

Croozer asked on May 22, 2018

Answer this

Bruce and Katina from Hotondo is the best and most honest builders we have ever dealt with, nothing is a problem, they are always willing to go the extra mile to satisfy a client! Even after we moved in they came back and fitted a door to an area underneath a room to create a storage basement, this was done without us requesting this and at no cost! We recommend them highly! Carl & Johanna Botha, 0408403177

Thanks Hantie for your response, much appreciated.

Are currently in the process of building with Hotondo, tender was signed 4 months ago. Going through variation costing and colour selections. All of a sudden Hotondo have told us there has been a 7k price increase thrown in our face. Pretty pissed off at the moment and ready to walk away from the whole build. Can we request our deposit back that we paid to lock in the tender?

Josh M asked on May 21, 2018

Answer this

Hi Josh,
Thanks for getting in contact with us. We'd like to discuss this with you further, could you please get in contact with our Customer Care team so we can look into this. You can email them directly at customercare@hotondo.com.au.
Kind regards,
Rose

Josh have you had a resolution to your problem and which area were you building with can i ask?

I would also like to know this too about a refund??

Please contact Dominic Rego [contact detail removed] [address removed] 2 storey 4 bedroom rear lane double garage and granny flat. Scope: Knock down existing fibro house and new build DA approved plans by architect Looking for a reliable competitive builder Modern design with lightweight building materials Aim to start building end of 2018 Please let me know if this fits your scope?

Dom Rego asked on May 16, 2018

Answer this

Hi Dominic,
Product Review removes personal details in order to protect their users. However you can make your building enquiry at www.hotondo.com.au/contact/. Hope that helps. Kind regards, Rose

Hello everyone, Has anyone has experience with Hotondo Homes in Albury/Wodonga?

LandB asked on Apr 30, 2018

Answer this

Hi there. My partner and I built with Hotondo Homes in 2015 and could not have been happier. They helped us find a block and the display home was really what we got in our house, no guess work. The price was genuine and fixed with no nasty surprises. We got cheaper prices from other builders but found hidden things or under allowed for that would add to the cost. We definitely appreciated their honesty and integrity, not just giving us a cheap price to win us over. Maintenance was carried out about 3 months after we moved in and they even touched up the marks in the wall that happened when we moved furniture in :) The supervisor kept us informed during the build and was happy to show us through when ever we wanted to take a look. Could not speak higher of the whole team, everyone cared about us, our house and made the process so much fun.

We took delivery of our brand new Hume 263 last week, and are 110% satisfied customers. The builder is long established in Albury Wodonga and have long term links and trust of all their trades. Their level of workmanship and pride in their work is exemplary and the service provided by all team members - management, sales, admin and trades, was brilliant.

We were located in Canberra during the build, so only got to inspect progress on site 3 or 4 times. We were constantly updated with photos and phone calls from the supervisor, so there was no guess work as to where the build was up to. As potential issues were identified we were consulted with recommendations, and the solution was implemented without ever becoming a problem. We are now reaping the benefits!

We would not hesitate to recommend Jim, Julie and the team - We won’t go past them if we are looking to build again in the future.

Hi. Has anyone built with Hotondo Homes in Newcastle area? Please give us feedback thanks.

Munish Goyal asked on Apr 24, 2018

Answer this

Yes I have!... I just moved into my New Home at Easter. My husband and I are very happy with our home and the service Stephen and his team provided us. We built a complete custom design home and from the very beginning they answered all our questions and made sure we got exactly what we wanted. Would totally recommend them!

We have built at the Beaches Estate at Catherine Hill Bay with Hotondo (Cherry Road Constructions at Gateshead), My husband and I were having terrible trouble trying to find a builder who would be able to give us something out of the box, something different. At Hotondo we discovered people who listened, were invested in helping us achieve our Dream Home within our budget. We dealt directly with the builder Stephen and his site manager Scott. We felt that they knew our expectations, they communicated effectively throughout the process, they were on hand to answer our questions and take us through on site inspections. There were no problems that Scott could not deal with quickly without any hassle which made the building process very comfortable. From the first sit down with Ashley, in the office, we were confident that this builder was the one we were looking for. We have built in the past and we knew that it is not always the easiest thing to do. But with Stephen and the team we found a small company that offered a personalised approach, and they built what we wanted. Our new home is just what we imagined only better. Having talked to other residents who have built at the estate with big companies, we heard many stories that would turn anyone away from building ever - and we are thankful that was not our experience. We would thoroughly recommend Hotondo but especially Cherry Road Constructions, we could not be happier with their service and expertize. Their phone number is 0249207211 - call them now, it will be the best decision you will make!

Thanks Alyson and Kathleen

Wondering if anyone had built with Hotondo Thornton/Raymond Terrace? We are happy with design concepts and the staff have been amazing. I'm sure the contractors will be great to, but would value any feedback. Thanks

Aldo asked on Mar 15, 2018

Answer this

.

Aldo did you decide to build with Hotondo Thornton?

Has anyone built with Hotondo logan central and surrounds?

buildingahome asked on Mar 07, 2018

Answer this

Sorry, no. I built with Hotondo Homes Central Coast in NSW. Good luck!

Hi, we built with Mark Uzzell, Hotondo Logan. Moved in just on 6 mths ago now, was a brand new build on our land at Grange. The house is beautiful, we are very pleased with the outcome. We found Mark to be easy to deal with, suggested some good ideas, focussed on the detail and as such have referred his work to a couple of locals also.

Hi. Has anyone built with Hotondo Homes Sunshine Coast? Any feedback would be appreciated, good or bad. Thanks BJH

BJH asked on Jan 10, 2018

Answer this

Hi BJH,
We built with Hotondo Homes Sunshine Coast (Matira Dev.) in 2017. I am about to post a full-review so watch this space!

Hi BJH
We have just moved into our new home that was built with Hotondo... I cannot say a bad word about them! We made the move from Sydney to Sunshine Coast & Alyssa & the team at Hotondo made the whole experience very easy! For such a huge move & also building a new home we didn’t feel any stress at all, they helped us make decisions with ease & were always quick to answer any questions we had...
Now that we have moved in we are also very happy with the finished product & love our new home!
It was also a very quick build which helped us get here before Xmas & settle in

Hi BJH
We are currently completing our build with Hotondo Homes (Matira Developments). We are extremely pleased with our choice of builder. The entire process from design to build has been seamless. Alyssa is very knowledgable and consistently goes over and above. We are interstate also and Alyssa has always kept us updated. The quality of the workmanship and fittings is excellent. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them, and will definitely be building with them in the future.

Hi BJH,
We recently built with MATIRA Developments and were very happy with the process as well as the final product. We originally started with another builder and had some major issues but as soon as Alyssa (from MATIRA Developments) came on board the project got back on track right away. Alyssa provided excellent advice and communicated throughout the whole process very well. The build itself was efficient and of great quality. I would strongly recommend MATIRA Developments to anyone looking to build on the Sunshine Coast.

Hi BJH,
We built with Hotondo Homes South Sunshine Coast and have had a great experience with them. Alyssa was very attentive to our needs throughout the entire build. When we had any concerns we receive timely and informative replies this meant we formed a great working relationship with Alyssa and our home was just as important to her as it is to us.

Has anyone built with Hotondo Homes Melton ( Darvale Homes Pty Ltd)? Please share your experiences.

Hafiz asked on Oct 17, 2017

Answer this

I built with Darvale Homes (Hotondo) 3 years ago.
The process was one of the easiest to go through. Darren and Vesna run the business flawlessly. From the initial consultation with Darren, he stepped us through all aspects of the build and also linked us to a mortgage broker. The build itself was extremely smooth with only 1 minor issue that was corrected early on. Darren ensured that all the products used were of a very high standard and overall, we were ecstatic with the result. During the build at frame stage, I requested a change, which was readily accepted and I was able to add my own details as applicable with no issue from Darren. Any and all communication initiated by me was promptly answered to my satisfaction.

I then returned to Darvale 5 months ago to have an addition/modification completed as their quote came under an initial quote from another company. Once again, Darren excelled in delivering a fabulous product.

I have recommended Darvale to a number of colleagues and friends, and will continue to do so. I don't intend on moving any time soon, but if I was, I would definitely be choosing Darvale to build with again. And again!

I moved in to my new Hotondo home built by Darvale Homes in July 2017 ( 3 months ago) I have included my initial review completed after handover. Since moving in I have no reason to change my anything in the review but would like to add that the "after sales service" is also excellent. I did not put an Exhaust Fan in the Butlers Pantry, first time I burnt the toast off goes the smoke detector. Contacted Rob who put me in touch with the Electrician who wired the house, job complete and matched to the existing exhaust fans in the house.


I have never written a review before but believe poor service should be condemned, good service expected and excellent service praised.
The people at Darvale Homes may believe they are in the house building business but in reality, they are in the customer service business and in this instance the service has been second to none.,
I have just moved into my new Hotondo home built by Darvale Homes Melton and the journey through the process from pre contract negotiation to completion has been great.
Anna Maria who understood what I was looking for, found a plan to suit my needs and the block of land to suit the plan. She then put up with me as I altered bits and pieces here and there, offering her suggestions along the way, many thanks Anna Maria.
Darren who is straight up and easy to work with, offering professional advice along the way on many things and going beyond the call of duty to in helping to sort out items I had not considered at contract stage. But most remembered fort the following (Ron if you mix this you will not like the result, referring to my initial plan for the butler’s pantry and he was right the finished product is excellent)
Vesna, quietly in the background, getting progress payments squared away and always willing to take a call when others were not available.
Then these was Rob, Rob the building Supervisor, always willing to take my calls, meet me on site, explain the progress or answer my concerns (I resided 1.2 k from the construction site so was on site just about every week.)
Rob picked up on things I did not see, explained them and had them rectified, I would not like to be the Tradie who tried to short change Rob. How good was Rob, on day of handover at 5pm he would not sign off until the muddy footprints had been cleaned off the driveway so went and got a pressure washer and at 6pm was cleaning my driveway. Thank You Rob!!

Hey Fon,

Really appreciate your time in writing some details.

I have made up mind to go with them. See I go with them and will share my experience later.

Hafiz

Hi Hafiz. Did you end up going with Hotondo Melton? If yes then how was your experience? Thanks, Sam

Hi Sam,

I have signed up an initial contract and we are at the early stage. Construction has not started yet, and doing design, soil test etc. However, my experience with Hotondo Homes Melton (Darevale Homes Pty Ltd) is going okay. Annamaria is well communicative person, hears from me, tries to understand what am after and goes quickly bottom of it, while Darren oversees the whole. I would write another review after completion of construction and share more about my experience.

Thanks
Hafiz

Hi what's the lowest price house you can offer in blue mountains area ie how much to build basic house ?

Fiona J asked on Oct 12, 2017

Answer this

Hi Fiona,
Thanks for getting in contact with us. Because we are a national building franchise you will need to speak to the local builder directly. You can contact Colin Duncan and his team by visiting http://hotondo.com.au/home-builders/penrith-lithgow-blue-mountains/
Thanks - Rose

Do not build with Hotondo in the Blue Mountains - abhorrent!

Hi Could u answer me this is it NORMAL to reach end of contract and still haven't reached lock up stage ???? Is it normal to take 290 days and end of a contract yet lock up stage is still not complete ???? With very poor communication and still haven't received the answers we need and contract expires in a weeks time and builder still hasn't completed lock up stage is this normal hotondo ?????? Do all your builds turn out like this ???? Which now has caused financial hardship and stress on a family Is that normal hotondo answers needed !???? Hotondo

Schaff asked on Sep 09, 2017

Answer this

Hi Schaff,
We take this feedback very seriously and would like to know more information regarding your build. Could you please contact our Customer Care team by emailing customercare@hotondo.com.au or by calling 1800 677 156. They will be able to assist you further.
Thanks - Rose

Hi Schaff

My husband and I are in the same boat and truly apppalling. Our dream has become a nightmare and wish we could pull it down and walk away.

Good luck!

Has anyone built with Hotondo in Sydney Hills area(baulkham hills and castle hill)? Can you please share your experiences? Thanks

Sam asked on Aug 15, 2017

Has anyone built with Hotondo in Port Macquarie? I could not find any reviews for this area. It is so difficult to judge without any previous feedback. Since it is a franchise system, i believe the experience would be different for every area, depending upon the local builder. I will certainly post my detailed review if i go with them but if anyone has had any experience with them in Port Macquarie, please share.

amby asked on Aug 07, 2017

Answer this

Yes we have built with Hotondo in Port Macquarie and found them outstanding. What can be a very stressful experience was made easy. We had absolutely no issues at all in the build. Fiona and Andrew were great to work with. They were on top of everything from day 1. They communicated thoroughly with us at every step. The contractors were excellent. Very polite, on schedule and great standard. We are more than happy to recommend Hotondo Port Macquarie to anyone. In fact our experience was so positive our son is building a new home with them.
Peter and Julie Jones

I second this answer. There are no negatives when dealing with Fiona and Andrew at Hotondo!

Looking at buying house and land package with hotondo homes mid north coast. For a standard 4 bedroom 2 bath house off the plan, does anyone have any idea the time frame we are looking at for the build? 6months?

Brodie L asked on Jul 24, 2017

Answer this

Sorry, I can't help with this one as we built a duplex and had outside hold ups. So can't really give a proper time frame

Hi Brodie L,
Thanks for getting in contact with Hotondo Homes. It is best to speak to your local builder regarding their house and land packages. They will be able to answer any questions you may have. You can find them by visiting hotondo.com.au
Kind regards,
Hotondo Homes

Hi Beth and Brodie
I think Beth has built with Hotondo South Coast not Mid North coast (Port Macquarie)
Please see another link to a review for Hotondo Port Macquarie
https://www.productreview.com.au/p/hotondo-homes/3.html

Hi wishing to built a home with Hotondo homes in Melton just wondering if anyone else has built in this area recently and can give any advice thank you.

Barbara asked on Jul 01, 2017

Answer this

Hi we built our first two storey house with Darren and his team and we are very happy with the final outcome. He's very responsive and reasonable during the planning stage. He brought in Rob as a new supervisor towards the end of the project and that made a significant difference and left a good impression and high note from us. We been living in the house for more than 10 months and the post turnover support and experience is great. Rob is very switch on and responsive with the minor issues we pick-up and further clarification or advise we need. We started looking at big builders initially but later pulled out. We have couple of friends who build with big known builders in the same area and almost the same time if we compare the value and final outcome of our project to theirs, we can only look back and grateful with our final decision to build with Darvale (Hotondo). It was not all smooth and there were issues at the earlier stage of the construction mainly some delays but Darren is mature and open to hear my displeasure with the progress and he demonstrated his commitment to make up on some of the delays by working on some weekends. Overall we are happy with our experienced and final outcome. Cheers Albert

1 of 5 pages