JG King Homes Questions

102 questions from our users
Hi can anyone tell me the price difference from H1 TO H2 SLAB for 214 m2 home?

Lisa asked on May 22, 2018

Do they do knock down rebuild?

LukeCollins asked on May 09, 2018

Answer this

I am not sure about it but i think they do

Yes they sure do

Hello all, very concerned about the reviews. Can anyone give feedback on building with JG King in Ballarat? Really want to get some confidence of the group or maybe look for another builder? TIA

Geoff_B asked on May 01, 2018

Answer this

Like wise mate, wouldn't mind hearing from people that have built out of the ballarat office.

My build story JG King.
_________________________________________________________________
I written this post on over the course of my build with an intention of 5 star rating (I am sending it to forums. But will be posting it only 3 months after handover. It’s with JG King now to keep up the 5 star from here as we go into crucial stages of Build.

House: Sage (33.1 Sq) @ Wyndham Vale.
Job Number: 1704MLA586
Construction Start date: October 17
Base Stage: Dec 17
Frame stage: Feb 17
Lockup: Mar 17
Fix out: Apr 17

Given No Driveways, Downlights, flooring , cooling. So expecting a faster finish.

Feedback:
Generally takes a bit of time (I have noticed 3 houses built by JG king) but also depends on your luck (Rocks, Weather and of course tradies)
Quality of construction so far is good (too early to give a credit?) but I like it so far except for the below.
I don’t have much to say about the Carpenter looks like he’s working multiple jobs and working only few hours a day ; made lot of damage to plaster walls while fixing skirting which otherwise is a quality build until then.
In contrary to most feedbacks I will give credit to admin team so far on the responses; I always received a response within 24 hours.

PCI Date: Yet to hear back.
__________________________________________________________________________________
Apr 17 - Booked Deposit

Sales Consultant @ Groove, tarneit was helpful to get the right house of my liking.

I had an irregular block so the sales consultant suggested we can also fit a wide variety of houses and he sent me a list of 7+ designs that would fit on my block. We actually liked the
Sage fit on my block instead though i was thinking of Adelphi 1. Helped me choose the upgrade options carefully with in my budget.

May 17 Contract signing:
Was a good experience i had a list of 20+ items to be changed and the admin consulatnt helped me get all of that and advised few areas where she had concerns.
Ex:
1. Though i wanted a double vanity she advised it will look congested (for few people) on a 33 sq house. But Mrs wanted a double vanity so gone by that.
2. Suggested to get a cavity door for 250$ to avoid visibility WIP as the design had a large open area living for Kitchen , Meals and living.

Signed up for Electricity and Gas with origin with an option i can change it at the end of build and was explained i need to pay for EB, Gas and water during the build.


June 17 Color appointment:
1. Pre-decided from website options and the color appointment was good though I felt a bit rushed but got what I wanted.
2. Changed multiple items with in my budget in during color appointment.

Feedback: Improve online selection tool. Increase color appointment timing. Provide a Visual tool possible for home buyers to see how it looks.

June 17 Further changes:
1. Requested for further changes in electrical and few other options and they were happy to do it as its not structural..
From June to September the fun starts for developer and council Approval. Developer returned the plan more than 5 times to change brick, Facade and Cladding to a point that made me think Who’s paying for the house? In the end I liked another facades and brick (Not an upgrade) so didnt end up in a fight which I was told to be an losing battle as developers guidelines has to be followed.
Developer approval took till September as the approving authority was on vacation. :(
Council approval started shortly after that.
October 17:
All excited for tradies to start which is short lived as we cannot locate the Fourth peg which according to the developer was buried under the fence. But supervisor was not interested taking their words (as mine is irregular block) and wanted the developer to locate the fourth boundary or mark it on the fence else do a re-establishment survey($800-$1000).
Developer was not initially helping saying once the land is settled its my problem and he cant help. But later after product review private compliance they helped but took their time.
My ADVICE TO ANY NEW LAND BUYER IS TO ENSURE YOU HAVE IDENTIFIED ALL 4 BOUNDARY PEGS and no Rocks or Dump on site before you settle your land. After settlement its your problem.

November 17:
Site Cut , Drainage Pipes, Piers and slab preparation.
Hit 20K worth or rocks and was not happy about it. I would strongly recommend JG King to provide a fixed rock prices in their site cost so new home builders are not worried. Its my view that the customer experience will greatly improve with locked in pricing.

December 17:
Slabs poured on Dec 20.
Frames delivered to site but no work happened till Feb 6th. The tradie that supposed complete framing before christmas did not show up and my supervisor has to find a different one after he came back from holidays.

January 18 :
No Work :(

February 18:

Frames Installed, Roof covering, Pipes run through frames.
March 18:
Brickie started laying but then work stopped for almost four weeks.
Rough in wrap around the house complete, heating ducts , solar panels for Hot water installed.
Noticed and reported to supervisor that sliding windows were not closing properly for which he advised he’s aware of and will be fixed when carpenter comes in for doors.

April 16, 2018:
Supervisor and Accounts team advised that they want reverse lockup which is installing the plaster walls prior to external wall cladding is complete. I was initially reluctant but had no choice as the contract had a special clause condition for reverse lockup.
Insulation and Plaster walls are complete the first week of April. And another brickey started from second week of april and almost close to finishing external brick cladding. (as of 16/04/2018)
Cornices complete and carpenter started cutting for doors and cavity sliding doors, electrical wirings were completed
Waiting for the sliding windows to be fixed.
The quality of construction so far seems good.
My supervisor advised that the house should be completed by End of May if tradies show up as expected or can be delayed for a couple of more weeks. Exciting times. Cant wait for handover.

Apr 20 Update:
Batten light points and switch points were cutout for walls and roof. Getting ready for Painting i assume.

As per SS Kitchen and cabinets should have been in by Apr 18 but still not in.
Tiles for wet areas was scheduled for yesterday. Will drop by today to have a look.


Apr 30th Update:
Got the invoice for fix out ; but still skirting and architraves were not done. After I reported the invoice was void and got a new one on May 2nd.

May 5th update:
Carpenter didnot do a good job in my view lot of gaps in windows and made 50+ dings on the plaster wall while moving the skirting. Now poor supervisor has marked all of them (Painful process i believe for the pre-painting guy to address them).
No other work has been done other than skirtings :(.

Will update how it goes.
May 1st and 2nd week:
Not much going on except stonebenchtop ; was advised pre-plastering work will be completed this week. But no signs of tradies @ site until last evening.
BTW SS on leave from 8th to 31st 
Paid fixout with a trust that build will be completed; with only 20K to pay and # of reviews suggesting delays i'm concerned too.

Pending items to my knowledge to get to PCI; Have low confidence it will be done by End of May.
1. Downpipes for Gutters
2. Alfresco, Portico and Verandah ceiling.
3. Garage door to house internal door not fixed, Ensuite toilet door not fixed.
4. Skirtings not fully finished yet( garage and other small areas)
5. Window architraves for one of the windows need to be adjusted.
6. Tilings not started.
7. Concrete slab for Alfresco, Portico , Verandah
8. Door Handles
9. Sliding doors
10. Painting
11. Facade cladding and rendering.
12. Batten lights for kitchen.

am noticing three houses (Mine, My neighbour and other opposite to my rental current house) and all of them follow a similar pattern. Hope this helps in making a decision.

BTW, My neighbour house finish was good...

Look for another builder,beleive these reviews poor workmanship,dishonest and very stressful . biggest mistake i have ever made

I have built with JG King and extremely disappointed. I'd go with another builder. Just pay an extra couple of grand and have your frames termite treated to H2 level. It's guaranteed for 25 years.

Hi, I built a home 10 yrs ago with JG kings and now I am thinking to extend the house from single story to double. Is it possible?

Juliana A asked on Apr 07, 2018

Answer this

Hi Juliana,

Yes this is possible, however JG King Homes don't do this kind of work.

Kind Regards,
JG King Homes

I have a question I stated a jg king build when I stated I was told about a $500 variation fee for changes now I’m getting told that John g king him self has changed it to $1500 is this true also your staff have no idea simple question they are unable to answer or guess then I’m left to check have no confidence in any of you staff very one sided they can change what they like but you won’t to Chang something and it’s the end of the world and I should have checked but when they won’t to change something it’s have to because bla bla transliteration they didn’t do there job I’m at frame stage and I can see it’s a fight to the end now I’m getting independent building inspection and not accepting your poor workmanship dogie dogie work

Taylor asked on Apr 03, 2018

How can I search from Contruction mid or finished after today's date? All the postive reviews I can find are only from sales person with contruction end date like end of the year? That is like giving 5 star feedback on someone that has not finished solving an problem you have

Patrick asked on Mar 13, 2018

Answer this

Hi Patrick,

We have many 5 star reviews post construction. If you select 'excellent' under the review rating, you will find them all there.

Please let us know if we can assist you further.

Kind Regards,
JG King Homes

Yes but this only sorts by newest to oldest, which the newest have construction end dates of late 2018
Which is not a fair review when all that is done is the paperwork

When we were building with jgking we searched the reviews and found the same thing. Makes you wonder why anyone would review a product before its finished. Aside from this we found that most people including ourselves were happy with the sales but then got to contract stage and discovered most things the sales person said was somewhat incorrect and mostly lies. When you start reading all the reviews they have many things in common. 1. Sales tell you everything to make you happy 2. Go to colours and their consultants are not up with the latest ideas and you start finding out what the sales said is not so accurate 3. Contract stage is a nightmare. Most people start saying they're unsure if they should sign or walk away. 4. All say build is slow to start and many delay, 5. Very few happy with contractors work 5. Site supervisors never seem to help the customer and many say they're rude. 6. Some are happy with final product the other half not. 7 most say never build with them again.

I'm very grateful JGKing pulled out of our build. It was a nightmare after the sales lol do yourself a favour and steer clear.

What warranty do you have on your homes ? Eg brick work / plastering inside I understand the warranty with appliances

Maree asked on Mar 12, 2018

Answer this

28 days I guess

have to sign papers in april what we are concerned about is everything is subject to bank finance, land and house but don't get answers about if finance not granted how much are they going to bill me. I have already paid $2000 to them, standard contract saids 5 day cooling off period from signing but they won't give us papers for bank until we sign them and bank will take up to two weeks how do we cover ourselves would like a clause saying subject to bank finance for land and house but carn't get answer except we wont build if you carnt get money can anyone advise please?

pam asked on Mar 08, 2018

if you sign with them and then carnt get finance what sort of money do you have to pay them?

pam asked on Mar 08, 2018

Answer this

Hi Pam,

You don't have to pay us to cancel your contract. In addition to this, you won't receive a full refund of your deposit depending on what stage of the process you are at and how much work we have already produced.

Kind Regards,
JG King Homes

Well this is a massive contradiction to my current situation with you guys JG king as you are refusing to refund my promotional refund ($1500) with zero cost occurred to you guys even after being told by regional managers I had no probe in getting that back as no site works etc were even started!!!!..I only paid the $1500 to hold the promotion then as it was our situation changed, so answer that JK king ??..was told this morning 14/4/18 that I’m sorry but our policies have changed in last week quiet questionable when this post posted 2 days ago, quiet happy to take further now after reading this

Hi There, Anyone knows how long it will take to get hand over stage since fixing stage is completed? My house with J G Kings taking long time to see completion stage from fixing stage. Poor customer service and hard to reach out them. Thanks

Rammy asked on Feb 12, 2018

Answer this

Rammy it can take 8 months for Jg King to finish a house so I wouldnt hold your breath. Slowest builder ever.

Thanks Candy for your reply, yes you are right very slow process and also my bad time dealing with 4th supervisor since my construction started this is another pain not a dedicated supervisor. Do you know they will clear all debris, dirt , weeds and cement around the house at hand over time?

Rammy make sure they clean it all up before your last payment and make sure you have a walk through and turn taps on and flush toilets if not working properly make sure they fix it before you get your keys. I know how your feeling I am extremely stressed with this build with them and will never recommend them to anyone.
Good luck.

Our build was started Nov16 with a completion/handover date of 8/8/17. It is now February 2018 & still no end in sight. We have already completed one rental lease & our second rental lease runs out at the end of the month. We have just rented a serviced apartment in Geelong for the month of March out of desperation as our daughter starts University on March 5th & we are out of options. So far J G King's incompetence & total disregard for our health, well being & financial circumstances has cost our family over $20,000 in extended rent payments, travel expenses & solicitor/barrister costs and indescribable stress & emotional despair. So in answer to your question - they will take as long as they please with no thought whatsoever to the damage they will inflict on you & your loved ones.

OMG Joey this is disgusting how can they get away with this? I completely understand your stress my husband and I have wanted to walk away from this build with JG King so many times but in the end we are the only ones that will lose. We started our build in October 17 and we are only upto fitout stage which started today apparently. My husband went to our house today and all they did was put the down pipes up???? What happened to a number of tradies working at once. So down pipes today and Im sure that wouldnt have taken all day so who knows what the rest of the week will bring. This build has also cost us a massive amount of money in rent and the stress we both have been through is an understatement. Im at my wits end with this house we now are thinking we may sell it once its completed. Just to let you know too once our slab was fown we had to wait 5 weeks for the frame as there was a delay

OMG Joey this is disgusting how can they get away with this? I completely understand your stress my husband and I have wanted to walk away from this build with JG King so many times but in the end we are the only ones that will lose. We started our build in October 17 and we are only upto fitout stage which started today apparently. My husband went to our house today and all they did was put the down pipes up???? What happened to a number of tradies working at once. So down pipes today and Im sure that wouldnt have taken all day so who knows what the rest of the week will bring. This build has also cost us a massive amount of money in rent and the stress we both have been through is an understatement. Im at my wits end with this house we now are thinking we may sell it once its completed. Just to let you know too once our slab was fown we had to wait 5 weeks for the frame as there was a delay.
I wish you all the best and hope you get into your home soon .

Thanks Candy and Joey for your kind reply. Sorry to hear from Joey what happened with your experience with JG Kings. I have signed up for another house now I may have to think to proceed or not.

Hi I am also building with JGKing in bridge rd Officer signed the contract 2 years ago and now having trouble getting finance due to split loan contract.. I have broken my rental lease to go monthly because JGKing kept giving me false completion dates.. I wish I never signed up now I don't know what will happen my finance guy is trying everywhere to get me a loan

Thanks Phil for your reply, mine also same situation my current house sold again i took extention for 3 weeks hoping these guys will give me hand over.

We sold our home to finance the build with cash. Jgking told us we only needed to rent for 6 months as our house would be ready. We rented for 13 months and nothing had started! On the 13th month and lots of start dates that came and went they pulled out of our build. 13 months of renting for nothing.
I hope people reading all of these heed the warnings and go elsewhere. Protect yourself and your investment. This is not a reputable builder.

We are looking at purchasing a JG King Home that is 5 years old in Torquay. The building inspectors report shows leaks around the upper level windows, and where the upper deck connects to the wall. There is also evidence of water damage in the ceiling below the upper level ensuite. Will JG King Homes honour their builders warranty and fix these problems after settlement if we purchase this home? Thanks in anticipation, S&D.

SandD asked on Feb 06, 2018

Answer this

Well - that’s a great question. Based on my struggles with them with a new home they built I would anticipate they would do everything they could

I sincerely doubt it. JG King is already 8 months OVER the completion date for our new home & the property sits deserted & untouched week after week after week. The block looks like a dump with rubbish & weeds everywhere. When we contact them or send a legal letter there will be a call from a supervisor with a litany of excuses followed by activity at the site within a week & then everything stops again. We live 3 hours away so for us to check on our new home means a very long round trip always ends in tears of frustration & anger. On one such visit we noticed with dismay that there were NO WINDOWS fitted in the upstairs window frames! This was AFTER we had been charged for Lock Up! It was raining & sheets of rain were just falling through the empty frames straight into our house. Their excuse? "That's how the frames were delivered & then the scaffolding was removed so now we need to get the scaffolding back so we can fit the actual windows once they're delivered hopefully next week". We said but what about all the rain that's pouring into the house??! "Oh yeah I suppose we better get some plastic sheeting up". We said but the floor boards will be saturated surely?! Their answer? "Nah it'll be right". ZERO CARE FACTOR.

We are not satisfied with jgk either, bad job quality,commenced 09 Aug 2017,still waiting for hand over.

Hi all we are very confused at the moment and were considering JG King for a H6 4 Bed Geelong area. These reviews have really put me off signing with them. Anyone Building in Geelong? How are you finding the build. Thanks.

Leon C asked on Feb 04, 2018

Answer this

I haven't built with them in Geelong but did receive contact from someone who was doing so, who was having similar issues to the ones I had with my build.
Psych 1

Honestly if given another opportunity for me to choose another builder I will definitely not go with JG King again .. never ever

Building with them at the moment. Our slab was the first to go down in our street and our neighbors are now well ahead of us almost move in stage. We go there everyday and we have had weeks without any progress made at this stage we just have plaster. It has been the worst experience of our lives and would highly recommend staying clear unless you are happy to wait eight months for completion.

DO NOT BUILD WITH THESE PEOPLE. DON'T DO IT. It will prove to be one of the most demoralizing & costly decisions you will ever make. Heed the warnings in these reviews! Our home & the one behind ours have both been abandoned for months now. Our home is 8 months past the handover date & they do not care. Drive around our estate & you will see JG King signs appearing on temp fences outside vacate blocks everywhere! They can't even finish our home after all this time & yet they are obviously committing themselves to contract after contract after contract. They cannot possibly have the resources to do any of those new builds justice - so why take money from all of those poor unsuspecting people??! Why???

Hi we are building with JGKing at the moment It's been a slow process so far My question is we are very disappointed with the Quilty of the workmanship in relation to the shirting boards and architraves ,they don't seem to line up to well and have slight gaps where they meet at the corners Are we with in our rights to ask that these be removed and redone to our expectations?

Seymore asked on Dec 24, 2017

Answer this

Yes.
Better to do it now.
Also get a professional handover inspection done before accepting keys

Did JG King use a lower quality volume subsidiary JG King Direct to build NRAS units in Bendigo North as the carpet is very poor quality and lifting in my unit that is approx only 4 years old. Was the lower quality build clearly declared to buyers as I thought I was building a property under your trusted brand and quality that goes with it. I have tried to have the carpet corrected by your business and you will not help me. I thought I would ask the question before putting it on a review. Disappointed customer MARC

MarcMarc asked on Dec 21, 2017

Answer this

Dear Marc
Not sure I can answer your question as I am a victim of jgking’s incomoetence and poor quality workmanship too. I had Jgking as the builder of my new house and can say with all honesty that it was the most stressful time I have experienced in a long time. Currently, They are completely uninterested in correcting anything if it wasn’t noticed prior to handover, or was noticed after the 3 month check.

The overall quality of the build was appalling as well - their tradesmen are hopeless at their jobs and have no pride in their work. Perhaps it was all done by apprentices - certainly seems that way.
Good luck with it.
Trish

Thanks Trish for your response. I guess if we can’t make them fix or compensate their issues we need to highlight on these type of sites and hopefully others won’t be duped and their business will suffer

We are right on the edge of buying a new home from JG King in Ballarat. Unfortunately we have not been able to find a single good report on this company for builds in the Ballarat area. Are we missing something or is that just the way it is, there isn't any?

LordC asked on Dec 19, 2017

Answer this

No very slow started a SMALL 3 bedroom home

Hi LordC,
There are a couple of recent reviews specific to the Ballarat area posted on the 1st Sept 2017.
Check them out, they may help put your mind at ease.

We are currently building just out of Ballarat, it’s been a slow start, now the Xmas break, our frame was meant to be up this week, so far no progress so we will see.
Our slab was poured on time, and no issues yet. l have spoken to quite a few who have built in Ballarat and all have been happy, so really hoping we will be another happy customer.

As an up date it’s now the end of March, our home is progressing very slowly, it’s is now up to fit out stage. The main issue is reliable tradies several booked in have not turned up, and one in particular has put us behind by 3 weeks, we now missed our painting slot, so this is very frustrating. Our supervisor is doing his best, and just as frustrated as us. There is a general shortage of tradies everywhere. The hardest thing is seeing houses started after ours nearly finished. We will be in major strife if our house is delayed by much more as are homeless in 2 weeks, and having to live in a caravan with 5 dogs and run two businesses.

Have just put down a deposit on a home near Geelong. After reading these reviews I'm very hesitant to continue on. The complaints are all in the same theme of lost time and poor quality. We are paying for a brand new house, meaning brand new quality and nothing less. What types of assurances do we have that the complaints made here won't happen to us or that you would take steps to rectify them? Are negotiations on the liquidation penalty possible? How will your company ensure that the trades they hire put care and pride into their work in contrast to what many of these reviews state? I would really like to continue on with your company and await your reply.

Mitchell asked on Dec 11, 2017

Answer this

I have just built with JGK and wouldn't recommend the firm to anyone. My house started in Febrary and is still not up to scratch and no matter how many times they come back it is still not complete. I was treated rudely and disrespectfully. The sales people appear fantastic but they are not the tradies or the supervisor and these people have no real problem solving or customer service skills to deal with the issues.
I will probably sell the house after a short period of time as I have not enjoyed the process at all.

Where did you build Lisa?

We are building in the Geelong region. Day 420 of a 267 day contract.

Hi Mitchell, J G King has three divisions operating in the area, JG King Projects, JG King Homes (Regional) and J G King Homes (Metro), all competing with EACH OTHER for the same trades and labour. You got guys travelling from Ballarat to work in Geelong. People going from Geelong to Bacchus M, people going from Ballarat or Bacchus or Geelong into Melbourne. Guys scrambling from western suburbs to anywhere and everywhere. You get the picture. If you want to build a house in the Geelong area, don't use this builder, go with someone else.

Just put a deposit down for a build in Charlemont Rise near Geelong. Not many positive things on here, but keeping in mind positive reviews are less likely to be made than negative ones. Anyone have any experiences with JG King in the Geelong area before its too late for us to switch builders?

Mitchell asked on Dec 11, 2017

Answer this

Recently spoke to someone building in the Geelong area who was having a similar experience to mine.

Our steel frame was delayed 5 weeks then sat there for another week.

Hi everyone. My husband and I are thinking of building with JG King homes. Have seen many bad reviews and a couple of good ones. Looking at building in Woodlea estate in Melbourne's west. What are your honest opinions?

Kim N asked on Nov 19, 2017

Answer this

Hi Kim,

All I can say at the moment is that Jg King are very professional and very helpful.

I am yet to build as our land doesnt settle untill june 2018. Compared to other builders they were the ones that answered all our questions and helped us out from the word go.

We have signed our contracts and so far everybody that I have dealt with are very professional and easy to get hold of if you need them.

At the end of the day it's totally upto you and who you feel comfortable building with. I'm more than happy to reccomend JG King to family and friends.

Goodluck with the build

Hi Kim.
Based on my recent experience, I would never build with them again! Things were fine until it was time to start building - it was all downhill from there.
Up to you of course though.
Trish

Yep. Good luck with that one. I wish you a better experience with them than ours!!!!

I would never build with jgk again.

So we are looking at building in country victoria (kerang) so will the people building the house (tradies/site supervisor) be locals or will they come from somewhere else? Will it take longer because we are not in a city area?

Kes A asked on Nov 06, 2017

Answer this

Hi Kes A,

Thank you for contacting us. Building in Kerang will not effect your build times. We have dedicated supervisors who work in the Kerang area and many other clients who build here. Would you like us to put you in contact with our Sales Consultant in the area? If so, please email promotions@jgking.com.au

Kind Regards,
JG King Homes

how long do you warrant your slabs from defects for (cracking in bricks)?

boss asked on Nov 01, 2017

1 of 6 pages