Metricon Questions

304 questions from our users
How long do you take to pay liqudated damages after handover? How long to finishe problems in the house that was raised during PCI? Its been 6 weeks and nobody been in touch.

Thomas Verdi asked on Apr 15, 2018

Answer this

Hi Thomas,
Thank you for raising your concerns and apologies if there has been a delay in finalising the liquidated damages. We are following up with the relevant team for you, a member of our team will be in contact to discuss.
Kind Regards,
Metricon Customer Care.

Its just so sad. More promises but no action. Waited whole week so when is the call coming? Hello..

Hi everyone, I would like to know if anyone has built with Metricon using the musket haze bricks. Thanks!

Juan asked on Apr 12, 2018

Answer this

Hi Juan, I used Hebel for external wall.

Has anyone had a gap to the subfloor from the wet room tiles upstairs with Metricon Our friends was 6cm If so how much was it after carpeting Or did they upgrade to get the levels flush between carpets and tiles

real Client asked on Apr 10, 2018

Im interested to hear from people that have been living in their Metricon home for 5 years or more. Has your home stood the rest of time? If not, what issues have you had and how did Metricon assist in resolving them? Thanks!

Amanda C asked on Apr 09, 2018

I currently have a dual occ project with Metricon (pre-contract signing but paid a significant to Metricon to date, including and up to drainage plan costs). As it turns out, I have a buyer that wants to buy the overall site off me with the current (endorsed) planning permit docs. If I sell the property to the buyer, how would they go about proceeding with the build with the endorsed planning permit? Technically, the plans are paid for and owned by me - I have paid for them to date and used Metricon's service to assist to this point. Does the buyer have to proceed with Metricon to build the properties? Can the buyer get another builder if they so chose to do so?

Chris asked on Apr 05, 2018

Answer this

Hi Chris,
Thank you for your query and apologies for the delay in responding as we have been seeking clarification for you.
All our designs and plans are an intellectual property and belongs to Metricon Homes Pty Ltd.
The costs incurred to date covers for the surveys, soil tests, town planning drawings, planner representation etc. that is required for the build. This does not include the purchase or rights to Metricon’s intellectual property. All sites with an approved permit for a Metricon design/plan are closely monitored and our legal rights are reserved where required.
If the new purchaser would like to construct the existing plans they are required to engage with Metricon where we will assist with a new contract through to the construction process.
We hope this has clarified your query and if further information is required, please email customercare@metricon.com.au for us to assist.
Kind Regards,
Metricon Customer Care

How long is warranty on veiwlight downlighting installed in metricon homes???

Jason asked on Apr 04, 2018

Answer this

Hi Jason,
Thank you for your query. Can you please confirm your build location for us to assist with the most accurate information?
Many Thanks,
Metricon Customer Care

Hi Jason,
We are following up on your recent query. If you can provide us with your build location we can follow up accordingly for you.
Kind Regards,
Metricon Customer Care

We built our house with metricon 2.5yrs ago. My bath has started leaking somewhere under neath. Does this come under metricons warrenty?

Fustrated asked on Mar 17, 2018

Answer this

Hi customer,
We hope to investigate this matter further in regards to your leaking bath. If you could please contact our Service & Warranty team on 1300 METRICON, our team will review this item in accordance with our Warranty conditions and assist with your enquiry further.
Kindest Regards,
Metricon Customer Care.

A new Metricon house is being built at Lot 5 Caroline Chisholm Drive in Kyneton. [Name Removed] is listed as the Site Manager for the build and a permit number of 2017088-0 is listed, although whether that is a Metricon permit or the building surveryor, I don’t know. A very large amount of polystyrene waste is being blown along the street from this site. We have it in our front yards, down beside our houses and I’m sick of picking it up, along with coffee cups and energy drink cans. I would really appreciate something being done to remedy this, as polystyrene takes hundreds of years to break down (if ever) and it is going into the drains as well. I am happy to supply photographic evidence should it be required. Kim Bear.

Kim Bear asked on Mar 17, 2018

Answer this

Hi Kim,
Thank you for contacting us via Product Review Q&A and for bringing this to our attention.
Your correspondence has been escalated to our Construction Management team to review your concerns, a member of our team will respond once we have further details on this occurrence.
Kindest Regards,
Metricon Customer Care.

Hi Kim,
Thank you for your recent contact with Metricon.
Our Construction team has confirmed the front gardens have been cleaned along with the removal of all pod debris and waste.
We thank you for bringing this to our attention Kim and for allowing us to resolve this matter.
Kindest Regards,
Metricon Customer Care.

Hello Metricon, may I ask which tile has been used in Metricon Bordeaux Greenvale? Thankyou

Helen asked on Mar 16, 2018

Answer this

Hi Helen,
Thank you for contacting us via Product Review Q&A.
The beautiful tile selection showcased in our Bordeaux Greenvale display is 'TIMELESS ARMANI GREY' from Beaumont Tiles.
We hope this assists with your enquiry.
Kindest Regards,
Metricon Customer Care.

HI! can you please help me please. I was going to build my home with ABC (metricon) but havent signed any contract, however, i paid 1000$ to lock the prices. The amount is been deducted from my account by Metricon company. Now after 2 days my circumstances are changed, i want to an buy established home rather building it as I cant wait for two years due to my situation. can I get my refund? please help me with this enquiry if there is any cooling off period? and how can i request the refund. please reply back to me ASAP. Thank you for your assistance in advance.

Ikram asked on Mar 07, 2018

Answer this

Hi Ikram,
We understand you have contacted our Customer Care team last week regarding this matter, your request is currently being reviewed by Management. Our internal team will contact you directly once an outcome has been determined regarding your refund.
Kindest Regards,
Metricon Customer Care.

By law, anything you purchase in Australia you have a 10 day cooling off period for change of mind or other circumstances, so that needs to be refunded in full to you.

Ps. Metricon you should have disclosed this in your answer above.

My double storey house is built by Metricon in 2005 Melbourne. I have a water leakage detected even after changing the cisterns and taps in my house. The meter keeps running even after the mains have been shut down. Please help. Ms. Fernandes.

Isabella asked on Mar 04, 2018

Answer this

Hi Ms Fernandes

I have almost similar issue before, but this was related to Rainwater tank that keeps filling up water from the mains and found out the cover was hitting the lever.
If you have Rainwater tank installed check this as well.
Thanks

Hi Isabella,
Thank you for your Product Review Q&A.
Please provide your Metricon Contract Reference Number and/or property address to customercare@metricon.com.au so we can further assist with your leaking concerns. This information will allow us to escalate the matter immediately to the appropriate Service & Warranty team.
Kindest Regards,
Metricon Customer Care.

Hi Isabella,
We are yet to receive your details in order to identify your build and assist further. Please email customercare@metricon.com.au wiith your Metricon Contract Reference Number and/or property address so we can address your concerns.
Kindest Regards,
Metricon Customer Care.

Is the Somerset 59 available to build in QLD?

kf93 asked on Feb 25, 2018

Answer this

Hi kf93,
Thank you for your interest in our homes. Yes, the Somerset is available to build in Queensland, please visit the following link to find out if we build in your specific area: https://www.metricon.com.au/services/where-we-build.
For more information on the Somerset and other Metricon designs, be sure to visit our website, the Somerset 59 can be viewed via the following link: https://www.metricon.com.au/new-home-designs/qld/somerset?category=facades&photo=somerset_45_details.jpg&floorplan=59
To start your building journey, please feel free to contact our friendly team on 1300 METRICON ( 1300 638 742 ).
Thank you and Regards,
Metricon Customer Care.

Hi, the Duxton that is on display in Mernda, can I please have the external colours on the facade?.....thank you

Fitnat asked on Feb 22, 2018

Answer this

Hi Fitnat,
Thank you for your interest in our homes. The colour of the brickwork on the Duxton display home is " Oak Velour " supplied by Boral.
Render to front facade is " Sandfly Point Double " and Feature Render to Sitting/Leisure is " Mt Eden " from Dulux Paints.
For more detailed information kindly visit our display home or contact 1300 METRICON ( 1300 638 742 ).
We hope this information comes in handy for you.
Regards,
Metricon Customer Care.

When will the Bentleigh 48 be available in Brisbane?

Lynbrook italian asked on Feb 18, 2018

Answer this

Hi Lynbrook,
Thank you for your interest in our homes.
The Bentleigh is not currently available to build in QLD and therefore we don't have plans to build a display home for this design in the near future.
Be sure to check in to our Website for the latest information on our products.
Kindest Regards,
Metricon Customer Care.

That’s really a big shame

Can someone share their experience of using Metricon (Signature or Designer) in the Willoughby area? Thanks

JosephS asked on Feb 14, 2018

Answer this

Hi JosephS, We have a contract for construction of a new house with Metricon in Killara. The house is about 70% complete. In November 2017 an independent building inspector identified many serious defects, some are structural. It was quite fortunate we had organised an extra inspection at this point. Most people would not do this and would be unaware of major defects until the final handover time, if at all. Our experience suggests Metricon’s contractors’ work is not adequately supervised or checked for quality. Metricon seems hurried in moving from one step to the next without checking their contractors workmanship. If any defects are found early on, to keep the job moving Metricon promises they will be fixed later to allow them to issue the next progress payment invoice. It's more likely most customers will only identify defective workmanship just prior to completion in the ’Pre Completion Inspection’, and many others will not notice anything. By this stage, unfortunately, customers are in a vulnerable position, anxious to move in, possibly having nowhere else to live, and their finances stretched. Metricon will promise to fix everything later under warranty and require the customer signs a ’Practical Completion Form’ before they can move in. It seems getting things fixed properly before or after handover can be very difficult and time consuming. Metricon will employ all kinds of questionable tactics to avoid fixing things properly. Our experience with Metricon is similar to 5 other customers in the local area who have have identified defects and asked Metricon to fix them. We suggest thinking very carefully about Metricon’s organisational culture, conduct and ethics before signing up and, during your build, inspecting their workmanship regularly and carefully - both by yourself, as well as using an independent inspection service. If you would like more details please private message me. Peter

Thanks Peter. Can I ask: what range was this build (e.g. Deigner, Signature), and what was the nature of the structural issues?

Thanks.

Hi JosephS, The house is a Liberty 45 designer series. Structural defects notified formally to Metricon at pre fixing stage 3 months ago were brickwork not straight and plumb, brickwork overhanging slab, frame not straight and plumb, roof not watertight, most lower floor windows damaged, window openings incorrectly sized, floors out of level. Now 3 months later nothing has happened yet to rectify these issues. We have experienced various tactics such as avoidance, frustration, misleading advice about BCA standards, bluff, threats of stop work, post dated contract document 'slip ins', and misquoting of conversations later in email 'confirmations'. I have spoken with 5 other Metricon customers in the area who have experienced similar issues and behaviours and are now pursuing Metricon in various ways such as escalation, NSW Fair Trading, and legal action to get them to do things properly. Peter.

Hi Joseph,

We are also building liberty 45 designer home.Not far from you in Dee Why area. What Peter is saying is absolutely true. Just read my reviews/updates. I wouldnt do signature home with M. if they cant do their basics right-dont expect a candy! This gjys will break your balls.

Cheers!

Thank you Thomas and Peter. Shocking and very disappointing. Metricon is being very short sighted in allowing your issues to go on unaddressed - their reputation in this area is being destroyed.

Hi Peter and Thomas, I am about to start my construction. I have engaged Houspect to QA Metricon's workmanship. If the key defects are detected by the independent party, can you hold off the payment until all major defects are fixed or do you have to pay Metricon despite the defects are not fixed. I appreciate if you can share you experience.

Thanks,
Ruku

Hii before we wanted to built home with metricon now we r not building t!we want to refund it !we gave in starting 1500 dollar !is it possible to refund?

Pari asked on Feb 09, 2018

Answer this

This 1st ~1500 dollar fee is standard across builders and they usually don't refund it.

Hi Pari,
Thank you for your query in relation to your deposit. Depending on the signed agreement at the time of deposit and the stage of your file, you may be eligible for a full or partial refund. For further information, please contact your New Home Advisor / Sales Consultant.
Thank you for contacting Metricon.
Kind Regards,
Metricon Customer Care

What is the “Timber “ you refer to in your current promo package? I’d like to look it up. Also is it expensive to upgrade from standard bathroom floor tiles? I’ve heard you guys charge a LOT for this kind of thing? Thanks

Ollicat asked on Jan 28, 2018

Answer this

Hi Ollicat,
Thank you for contacting us via Product Review Q&A.
We currently have multiple promotions offered by Metricon Homes and would need to confirm which promotional offer you are referring to. Pricing of our items are dependent on your build location, selected house design, sizing and the category range of your home. We recommend speaking with one of our friendly New Home Advisors to discuss our ranges and the difference between our standard inclusions and luxury upgrades. Please contact 1300 METRICON, we look forward to speaking with you soon Ollicat.
Kindest Regards,
Metricon Customer Care.

Hi Metricon, we are building a Metricon Liberty in Sydney. We are two thirds of the way through the build and have identified significant structural defects in the house. Many elements do not comply with the tolerances in Australia standards and there are significant difference to the contract plans. The slab is not level, the walls and ceilings are not straight, the brickwork is sloppy, the waterproofing is defective, and the site drainage poses a significant risk of slab heave. After dismissive and unsatisfactory responses from Metricon's senior management in NSW over the past 2 months we have involved NSW Fair Trading and are awaiting their inspection. Has anyone else had a similar experience mid build? How did you resolve these problems? Do you have any suggestions to assist us and your senior management in NSW to rectify the defective workmanship? Peter

Peter asked on Jan 14, 2018

Answer this

Hi Peter, thank you for your enquiry. We are dissapointed to read of the issues you are experiencing. Please allow us to seek further feedback for you by contacting us via email to customercare@metricon.com.au referencing your contract number or full Lot address. We look forward to your contact.
Kind Regards,
Metricon Customer Care

Thanks Metricon, As suggested we have contacted your customer service by email last week. So far we have not received their acknowledgement of this mail. Our recent experience has been that Metricon does not acknowledge or return emails, faxes, letters or phone calls. Many other Metricon customers we know of have had this experience. Frustrated about this, we sent an email last week directly to Metricon's Joint CEO asking him to assist Metricon's NSW team resolve their defective works. This email was received by him and was forwarded to Metricon's NSW General Manager, who has since acknowledged the communication and has promised some action involving your Executive Building Manager. We are advised that his role is to 'clean things up' Peter

Sadly I am not surprised to hear this about your experience in your location

Hi Metricon, I refer to the earlier question I asked you about the '6 stage quality assurance process' in your marketing communications. Thank you for listing the 5 building stages. Can you please provide some details about how each building stage is thoroughly assessed to assure ultimate quality. What processes does Metricon conduct within the building stages to assure the quality? Also, what is the 6th stage that is mentioned in Metricon's brochure? (In your response you only mention 5 stages?) Can you please provide some details, or direct me to where I can find this specific information. Please help me to understand what this actually means when my home is being built. How is Metricon different to "other builders" regarding quality. Peter

Peter asked on Jan 12, 2018

Answer this

Hi Peter, It is good you are keeping the lines of communication open. I am learning a lot from you, and it a good thing that everyone talks and communicates. All the best, sincerely.

Hi Metricon, We are building a Metricon Liberty 45 in Sydney. We are two thirds of the way through the build and have identified significant structural defects in the house. Many elements do not comply with the tolerances in Australia standards, and there are differences to the contract plans. The slab is not level, the walls and ceilings are not straight, the brickwork is sloppy, the waterproofing is defective, and the site drainage poses a significant risk of slab heave. After dismissive and unsatisfactory responses from Metricon's senior management in NSW over the past 2 months we have involved NSW Fair Trading and are now awaiting their inspection. Has anyone else had a similar experience mid build? How do you resolve these problems? Do you have any suggestions to assist us and your senior management in NSW to rectify the defective workmanship? Peter

Hi Metricon, We are building a Metricon Liberty 45 in Sydney. We are two thirds of the way through the build and have identified significant structural defects in the house. Many elements do not comply with the tolerances in Australia standards, and there are differences to the contract plans. The slab is not level, the walls and ceilings are not straight, the brickwork is sloppy, the waterproofing is defective, and the site drainage poses a significant risk of slab heave. After dismissive and unsatisfactory responses from Metricon's senior management in NSW over the past 2 months we have involved NSW Fair Trading and are now awaiting their inspection. Has anyone else had a similar experience mid build? How do you resolve these problems? Do you have any suggestions to assist us and your senior management in NSW to rectify the defective workmanship? Peter

I am in very similar situation. Quality suffered, Fair Traiding got involved, huge delays and open ended...so far 4 month delays after the contract ended cost us $150 per day rental =$4500 per month then x4 = $18,000 already extra we had to fork out due to the delays.So if anyone thinks that the house will cost you say 500K then due to the delays it will very quickly becomes a financial black whole that will suck all your money.And this guys will walk away with the murder-you see.

Hi Peter,
Thank you for your Product Review Q&A.
Our "6 Stage Quality Assurance program" for Metricon Homes located in New South Wales include six individual quality inspections completed by either a Site Manager, Construction Manager or a representative of our Quality Assurance team. The six stages involve assessments of the quality for slab, frame, pre-plaster, brickwork, fixing stage and a final inspection within 3 days to Practical Completion. Our unique Metricon program ensures quality for each stage during the progress of your build. Thank you for allowing us to clarify the Metricon process during the construction of a dwelling.
Kindest Regards,
Metricon Customer Care.

Hi Metricon, Thank you for your response that quality is assessed 6 times for each stage of the build, and Metricon's unique program ensures quality for each stage during the progress of the build. Given this process, can you please explain why our concrete slab has variations in level of up to 20mm over a 2m straight edge, why the plasterboard ceilings in all rooms show variations of up to 20mm over a 2m straight edge, why the walls have 10mm variations from straight over a 2m straight edge - all of which far exceed the tolerances allowed in Australian building standards and as agreed in our contract. Please explain why plasterboard was fixed to the building's frame which which is not straight, yet Metricon now proposes to paint it before inspecting as part of the QA process. Why would Metricon plan to paint plasterboard wall and ceilings which will subsequently need to removed and replaced when the frame is straightened? Is this action to facilitate claiming the 'fixing stage complete' progress payment with defective work still in place?

Can anyone good, honest and reliable builders in the Melbourne area, who specialise in sub-dividing / building medium density houses? Many thanks

Brittany S asked on Jan 11, 2018

1 of 16 pages