Metricon Questions

290 questions from our users
Hi Metricon, we are building a Metricon Liberty in Sydney. We are two thirds of the way through the build and have identified significant structural defects in the house. Many elements do not comply with the tolerances in Australia standards and there are significant difference to the contract plans. The slab is not level, the walls and ceilings are not straight, the brickwork is sloppy, the waterproofing is defective, and the site drainage poses a significant risk of slab heave. After dismissive and unsatisfactory responses from Metricon's senior management in NSW over the past 2 months we have involved NSW Fair Trading and are awaiting their inspection. Has anyone else had a similar experience mid build? How did you resolve these problems? Do you have any suggestions to assist us and your senior management in NSW to rectify the defective workmanship? Peter

Peter asked on Jan 14, 2018

Answer this

Hi Peter, thank you for your enquiry. We are dissapointed to read of the issues you are experiencing. Please allow us to seek further feedback for you by contacting us via email to customercare@metricon.com.au referencing your contract number or full Lot address. We look forward to your contact.
Kind Regards,
Metricon Customer Care

Hi Metricon, This question was posted as a review was posted in the 'terrible' reviews section of this website 3 days ago. It was promised it wouldn't take long to be posted. 3 days later it has not yet been approved to go live. Please explain why. Is there filtering out of negative reviews? If so, by who?

Hi Metricon, I refer to the earlier question I asked you about the '6 stage quality assurance process' in your marketing communications. Thank you for listing the 5 building stages. Can you please provide some details about how each building stage is thoroughly assessed to assure ultimate quality. What processes does Metricon conduct within the building stages to assure the quality? Also, what is the 6th stage that is mentioned in Metricon's brochure? (In your response you only mention 5 stages?) Can you please provide some details, or direct me to where I can find this specific information. Please help me to understand what this actually means when my home is being built. How is Metricon different to "other builders" regarding quality. Peter

Peter asked on Jan 12, 2018

Answer this

Hi Peter, It is good you are keeping the lines of communication open. I am learning a lot from you, and it a good thing that everyone talks and communicates. All the best, sincerely.

Hi Metricon, We are building a Metricon Liberty 45 in Sydney. We are two thirds of the way through the build and have identified significant structural defects in the house. Many elements do not comply with the tolerances in Australia standards, and there are differences to the contract plans. The slab is not level, the walls and ceilings are not straight, the brickwork is sloppy, the waterproofing is defective, and the site drainage poses a significant risk of slab heave. After dismissive and unsatisfactory responses from Metricon's senior management in NSW over the past 2 months we have involved NSW Fair Trading and are now awaiting their inspection. Has anyone else had a similar experience mid build? How do you resolve these problems? Do you have any suggestions to assist us and your senior management in NSW to rectify the defective workmanship? Peter

Hi Metricon, We are building a Metricon Liberty 45 in Sydney. We are two thirds of the way through the build and have identified significant structural defects in the house. Many elements do not comply with the tolerances in Australia standards, and there are differences to the contract plans. The slab is not level, the walls and ceilings are not straight, the brickwork is sloppy, the waterproofing is defective, and the site drainage poses a significant risk of slab heave. After dismissive and unsatisfactory responses from Metricon's senior management in NSW over the past 2 months we have involved NSW Fair Trading and are now awaiting their inspection. Has anyone else had a similar experience mid build? How do you resolve these problems? Do you have any suggestions to assist us and your senior management in NSW to rectify the defective workmanship? Peter

I am in very similar situation. Quality suffered, Fair Traiding got involved, huge delays and open ended...so far 4 month delays after the contract ended cost us $150 per day rental =$4500 per month then x4 = $18,000 already extra we had to fork out due to the delays.So if anyone thinks that the house will cost you say 500K then due to the delays it will very quickly becomes a financial black whole that will suck all your money.And this guys will walk away with the murder-you see.

Can anyone good, honest and reliable builders in the Melbourne area, who specialise in sub-dividing / building medium density houses? Many thanks

Brittany S asked on Jan 11, 2018

We are building with Metricon in Sydney Northern beaches. Build started in Nov 2016 and now it 2018. When our house will be completed?

Thomas Verdi asked on Jan 09, 2018

Answer this

Hi Thomas,
Thank you for your Product Review Q&A.
Your build time frame would be stated within the documentation of your New Home Contract. Should you require assistance locating this information, please contact your Building Support Coordinator for details of your specific build time frame.
Kindest Regards,
Metricon Customer Care.

Thank you for your reply. Contract says that the build should have ended in Sep 2017. From then we just don't know when is the date of completion will be.

Hi there i built with use 5 months ago I know my 90 day warranty is up but I’m having huge issues with one of my toilets being blocked non stop. Wondering if there’s any way the plumbing company will come out and have a look?

Matthew H asked on Jan 08, 2018

Answer this

Hi Matthew H,
Thank you for contacting us via Product Review Q&A.
We hope to get you in contact with our Service and Warranty team to review your blockage and attend to the matter as soon as possible. If you could please contact customercare@metricon.com.au with your Build reference number and/or property address, we will locate your file and assist in escalating your concerns.
Kindest Regards,
Metricon Customer Care.

Has anyone built with metricon in newcastle?

Georgie asked on Jan 02, 2018

Answer this

No. Sorry.

want to restore the cedar slats on bel-air 37 home. stain or paint and which colour?

Erna asked on Jan 01, 2018

Answer this

Hi Erna,
Thank you for your Product Review Q&A.
We recommend locating your New Home Contract from your Metricon construction to identify the stain/paint and colour type selected in your Studio M appointment. This will assist in matching the colour as close as possible to the original look of the cedar.
Kindest Regards,
Metricon Customer Care.

Is it possible to have a sliding door on the rumpus room for the glendale 45?

Lynbrook italian asked on Dec 27, 2017

Answer this

Hi Lynbrook italian,
Thank you for contacting us via Product Review Q&A.
To discuss your specific requests and requirements in building the Glendale 45, we hope to have you in contact with one of our friendly New Home Advisors who can guide you through the journey of creating your new Metricon home. Please call our office on 1300 METRICON, we look forward to speaking with you.
Kindest Regards,
Metricon Customer Care.

Hello Metricon, Is there any difference between "Practical Completion" and "Completion in accordance with plans and specifications"?

Concerned and Caring asked on Dec 22, 2017

Answer this

Hi there,
Thank you for your Product Review Q&A.
'Practical completion' means when the building works are complete except for minor omissions and defects that do not prevent the building works from being reasonably capable of being used for their usual purposes. "Completion" in accordance with plans and specifications, means when the works have been performed reflecting the information supported in the plans/specifications of your contract.
Should you have any further enquiries, we recommend contacting your Building Support Coordinator for further clarification.
Kindest Regards,
Metricon Customer Care.

Hello, Thank you kindly for your response. Whilst awaiting a response, I read and noted that the Consumer Affairs Victoria website under the Building Contracts section states that the term Practical Completion is an unfair and illegal term if written within a contract, and yet Practical Completion is listed as one of your building stages noted by Metricon below. I remain confused but thank you kindly for Metricon's clarification. Kindest Regards

Hi, Metricon brochures highlight your company's '6 stage quality assurance program'. This is very important in deciding on a project home builder. Can you please tell me what the 6 stages mentioned are? Thanks

Peter asked on Dec 22, 2017

Answer this

Hi Peter,
Thank you for your Product Review Q&A.
Quality Assurance is an important condition we ensure during the Construction of every Metricon home. We have 5 building stages- Base, Frame, Lockup, Fixing and Practical Completion. Each stage is thoroughly assessed to assure ultimate quality. We recommend speaking with one of our friendly New Home Advisors to discuss the many incentives we offer when building a Metricon home and our Quality Assurance program, please call 1300 METRICON to begin your journey. We look forward to speaking with you Peter.
Kindest Regards,
Metricon Customer Care.

Hi Metricon, Thank you for listing the 5 building stages. Maybe my question was not clear and I apologise. Can you please provide some details about how each stage is thoroughly assessed to assure ultimate quality. What is Metricon's quality assurance program? What processes does Metricon conduct within the building stages to assure the quality? Also, what is the 6th stage that is mentioned in Metricon's brochure? (In your response you only mention 5 stages?) Can you please provide some details, or direct me to where I can find this specific information. I have recently spoken with a number Metricon's friendly New Home Advisors (5 people) and none of them were able to explain what Metricon's quality assurance program actually entails beyond just their words to the effect of "we are different to other home builders, we have the best quality". Please help me to understand what this actually means when my home is being built. How is Metricon different to "other builders" regarding quality. Thank you for your help in advance. Peter

Hi Metricon, We are building a Metricon Liberty 45 in Sydney. We are two thirds of the way through the build and have identified significant structural defects in the house. Many elements do not comply with the tolerances in Australia standards, and there are differences to the contract plans. The slab is not level, the walls and ceilings are not straight, the brickwork is sloppy, the waterproofing is defective, and the site drainage poses a significant risk of slab heave. After dismissive and unsatisfactory responses from Metricon's senior management in NSW over the past 2 months we have involved NSW Fair Trading and are now awaiting their inspection. Has anyone else had a similar experience mid build? How do you resolve these problems? Do you have any suggestions to assist us and your senior management in NSW to rectify the defective workmanship? Peter

Hi Metricon, We are building a Metricon Liberty 45 in Sydney. We are two thirds of the way through the build and have identified significant structural defects in the house. Many elements do not comply with the tolerances in Australia standards, and there are differences to the contract plans. The slab is not level, the walls and ceilings are not straight, the brickwork is sloppy, the waterproofing is defective, and the site drainage poses a significant risk of slab heave. After dismissive and unsatisfactory responses from Metricon's senior management in NSW over the past 2 months we have involved NSW Fair Trading and are now awaiting their inspection. Has anyone else had a similar experience mid build? How do you resolve these problems? Do you have any suggestions to assist us and your senior management in NSW to rectify the defective workmanship? Peter

Can we ask for discount?

Mandeep kaur asked on Dec 21, 2017

Hi I am just wondering anyone hired a crane to build double storey house? I saw many neighbours to build their houses (double storey house) but i haven't seen any crane at the site when they built their houses so i am not sure i need to hire or not. Julia

Jan asked on Dec 17, 2017

Answer this

No we didn’t see any cranes in the building of our house

Our building contract expired on 1st Nov 2017. Our delays are mainly due to pre-contract factor where the drawings given by Metricon had lots of non compliant mistakes which took forever to be resolved. We have requested waiver for the extension to allow demolution of house and get the finance ready, which Metricon had denied as they said when the contract was signed we accepted end of contract date which includes any precontract delays. We now have to pay for their delays and mistakes. Has anyone been in situations who may have been able to get the extension. Thanks Ruku

Ruku asked on Dec 05, 2017

Answer this

Hi Ruku, I suggest you document their specific delays and mistakes, plus other reasons for delay. If, on balance, it is clear that Metricon are mostly at fault then this should be pointed out to them in a written 'notice of dispute' to their 'nominated person' asking for the waiver. If you do this you must follow the dispute procedure in the contract exactly and correctly. Check in your contract that email is an appropriate method of communication, it may not be! Metricon are obliged to follow the appropriate procedure. They should quickly address the issue to your satisfaction. Let us know how you go. Peter

Hi Peter,
Thanks so much for your valuable input. I have already written a letter with the detailed list of non-compliance mistakes made and the time it took to resolve these. Despite this Metricon has dismissed the claim. In June, the operation manager said to get extension he will need to charge for the promos that I did not have to pay for. Recently closer to DA approval, council asked to fix a number of additional non compliance fix which added extra delay. After DA is approved the stamped DA bounced back twice to the council as the council said the mailing address in the application submitted by Metricon was incorrect, so more waste of time. Few days back I was told to sign section 89 as I was made to unnecessarily gloss two windows which overlooks the backyard. Metricon called me yesterday to say construction certificate cannot be applied until section 89 is approved which will take another 6 to 8 weeks which was never explained to me when they knew I was already under so much stress due to pre-DA delays. This means more delays and penalties. I left my initials deposit in Nov 2016 and it is not acceptable to me that construction certificate will be applied in Feb 2018 with late penalties to me. I am in a complete meltdown state now. I have written a signed letter to Metricon to express my concerns. Currently waiting to hear from them.

Hi, I am just wondering if anyone has negotiated their liquidated damages for late completion clause in Metricon's HIA standard contract to a more realistic amount then $30 per day? In Melbourne and Sydney the accommodation costs if a build is delayed would be around $150 per day. Peter

Peter asked on Nov 26, 2017

Answer this

$150 per day should be imposed by the government and consumer law. With $150 a day liqudated damages Metricon with would simply saved me thousands of $$$. 4 month late and we still are not notified as per clause 19.2 in the contract which states that Builder must give owner in writing the reason for delay and the extention of time. HERE IS A BIG LEGAL ISSUE MetriCON and somebody will have to answer sooner or later!!!

Oh dear, can the authorities who might read this shed some light on this? This is a home, surely comfort, security and peace of mind for the client takes priority in the right circumstances? How sad is all this.

Hi Metricon, Is this clause in your contracts negotiable before signing? What rough % of customers have different amounts agreed? Peter

Hello Peter, Are you referring to Australian Contract Law? I'm not sure. Do you have any written notes in the contract next to these clauses so that you were able to make an informed decision and so that you were able to understand as to whether they were negotiable or not when you signed? I'm not sure.

oh my goodness!! i havent been to this website for a while and just went to see if any prayers have been answered by Metricon. Just see more frustrating customers getting vocal about their frustrations. I have sent legal letter via registered mail to M office 2 weeks ago, no response. still not sure when the house will be complete and there is no control of employees in this company. they all do what ever they like there (basically no one is taking responsibilities- just quiting) one after anothet. HO in Sydney stopped taking any calls besides the reception lady.

Hey there Thomas, I express my compassion for what you are going through. I'm dismayed that you and your significant other/s are not in your home at this time. Once you move in, let us all know as we are all sincerely hoping the best for you.

Thank you Guys for your support! I have recived a letter from M today stating that the house ready for Handover and to pay the rest of the money.When i've called to arrange the PCI walk, CM said that the house is not ready for another 4 weeks. WT??? Nice try to get my money. Very sneaky.... show must go on!!!

OMG!!! I would advise obtaining a written list from Metricon as to exactly what needs to be ready over the next four weeks. Keep up the written communication with them, this is your home Thomas. And I am sure you will need a huge rest after all you and you significant other/s have been through. Four weeks of work needs to be clarified in writing from the builder. That is my opinion. You are nearly there!!!!!

And be very, very, careful of anything you may be asked to sign Thomas.

When taking on building a house with demolition would you be able to give a fixed price?

Rob asked on Nov 21, 2017

Answer this

Hi Rob,
Thank you for your query.
This is certainly an option we can offer. There is a process in getting a fixed quote which involves obtaining all relevant site specific information. We hope this helps with your query. If we can be of further assistance, kindly contact our team on 1300 METRICON ( 1300 638 742 ).
Thank you and Regards,
Metricon Customer Care

Hi can I get the name of the interior wall colour for the Vantage 48 display home at the Providence estate in Greenvale please?

Rush017 asked on Nov 20, 2017

Answer this

Hi Rush017,
Thank you for your query. The main interior wall colour for the Vantage 48 display home in Greenvale is called DULUX GHOSTING from Dulux Range.
We hope this is helpful to you and feel free to contact our team on 1300 METRICON ( 1300 638 742 ) for any other queries.
Kindest Regards,
Metricon Customer Care.

Hello Metricon, I note the 1044 "excellent" reviews and 173 "good" reviews which equals 1217 reviews for these two categories. There are 155 "terrible' reviews, which is around 10%, even more if you add the "bad" reviews. Assuming 10%, and multiplying by a factor to take into consideration that these "numbers" are also families affected (I assume), this concerns me greatly given this involves lives, happiness, and emotional and financial stability and shelter. If anything were to go wrong with the building process, can I ask what percentage of the "10%" get resolved to the satisfaction of the client and their families/children? Kind Regards Concerned and Caring

Concerned and Caring asked on Nov 17, 2017

Answer this

Hi Concerned and Caring,

We are currently building a Metricon House. An independent inspection has identified many defects and some very poor workmanship. In addition, there are are errors with design and specifications which will have come to light now and will require rectification. I am positive however! We will be asking Metricon to demonstrate to us 'The Metricon Difference' claim made in their marketing material and by their salespeople and correct all the issues. Will keep you posted how we go. Peter

Hi Concerned and Caring,

Thank you for your query.
Due to the nature of building a home and the manual workmanship involved, there may be items that require extra attention. Here at Metricon, we are committed to resolving all customer issues in accordance with the terms and conditions of the building contract and ensure the quality of the home complies with industry standards.
We are unable to supply a percentage of concerns resolved to the customer's satisfaction as every case has its own merits. However, customer satisfaction is our priority and Metricon will ensure that every concern is addressed accordingly. We hope this has assisted with your concerns.
For any other queries, please kindly contact our team on 1300 Metricon ( 1300 638 742 ).

Kind Regards,
Metricon Customer Care

Hi,

I am one of customers that have given M a bad review. Actually i am still sending updates. M is so overdue with constructions at Sydney Northern Beaches its beyond the joke. Everybody is screaming here. Weve been promised our house to be completed in July, then Sept , then October. After that we can not get any dates from them. With emotional and financial drama caused we are just devastated. Quality is not any better then any other company. in fact they saficate you with delays and push you to accept all the bad workmanship. Our hebel is like Frankenstein, no one can fix it. 7 Site managers changed so all who promise you today - will not be there to deliver tomorrow. That is my current life. Cheers!

Hi,

I am one of customers that have given M a bad review. Actually i am still sending updates. M is so overdue with constructions at Sydney Northern Beaches its beyond the joke. Everybody is screaming here. Weve been promised our house to be completed in July, then Sept , then October. After that we can not get any dates from them. With emotional and financial drama caused we are just devastated. Quality is not any better then any other company. in fact they saficate you with delays and push you to accept all the bad workmanship. Our hebel is like Frankenstein, no one can fix it. 7 Site managers changed so all who promise you today - will not be there to deliver tomorrow. That is my current life. Cheers!

Hello Metricon , What is the difference between your category 1 bricks and other category? Is it just appearance difference or quality difference as well?

Purvi asked on Nov 15, 2017

Answer this

Hi Purvi,
Thank you for your query. The difference between each category are mainly around the finish and/or brand/range of the product. Our bricks are all of the same quality. We hope this is helpful. For any other queries, kindly contact our team on 1300 METRICON ( 1300 638 742 ).
Regards,
Metricon Customer Care

The only real difference is the bloody price

Hi, after signing the contract for a Metricon home, how long does it take Metricon to apply for developer approval on the house plan and colour schedule?

Don asked on Nov 13, 2017

Answer this

Hi Don,
Thank you for your query. This process can vary depending on your location and other aspects of the build. The approval time is also determined by the developer. Please refer to your contract and/or direct your query to your current Metricon contact. If you are looking to build with Metricon and require further information, kindly contact our team on 1300 METRICON ( 1300 638 742 ) and we will put you in contact with a local New Home Advisor.
Thank you and Regards,
Metricon Customer Care

Hi, Does anyone know about Metricon's balcony construction. Is it normal to use plywood as the base under tikes rather than outdoor, waterproof cement sheet? Has anyone experienced problems with alignment of kitchen cupboards and shelves relative to windows? Any experience with cleaning bricklayer's mortar left on bricks, window glass, frame and sills? Floating foor installation, with skirting or scotia strips to hide edges? Looking forward to any advice, thanks

Peter asked on Nov 11, 2017

Answer this

sorry we don't have a balcony.

1 of 15 pages